Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Blau Marina Varadero Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2017

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Blau Marina Varadero Resort  

Autopista Sur final Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"Not as advertised"
Posted by: Susan on May 24, 2015
see all reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Pictures and Information
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Varadero Cuba

#17
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 31 reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Information


Prime beach location, next to Marina Gaviota, genuine feeling of exclusiveness.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  8
Average
  7
Poor
  6
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (17)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 31

"Paradise"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Albert Helgber  on Jun 3, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
3037 people found this review helpful

The lobby of this hotel is breathtaking...You see an beautiful sand dune and the....the beautiful turquoise ocean. The hotel is bran new, rooms are very nice. I know the hoteks of Varadero and I know the biggest problem in the hotels is the food, well you won't have that problem at the Marina Palace. The food is very good and there is a large choice. The staff is incredible, specially at the front desk. We loved it and will go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved the Barcelo Marina Palace"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lauren Tyler  on Jun 5, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
2995 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Barceló Marina Palace May 22-29, 2005. Rooms: We checked in late at night and were greeted at the lobby desk with a delightful welcome drink. Our ocean view junior suite was beautiful, large, and clean and we had a crib for our baby girl and cot for our 2 ½ year old son. We had asked for the ground floor and it was unavailable, to make up for it we were upgraded the next day to a fabulous ocean view suite-it was spotless-as this is a new hotel, it seemed that we were probably the first guests in this room. The suite had 1 ½ bathrooms and the master had separate shower, tub and separate toilet area all behind doors leading to the master bedroom, truly wonderful. Food: We had heard before hand not to expect too much from the food in Cuba. Therefore, it was not too much of a shock to find that most of the food was very bland, lacking flavour, spices. The bread was always fresh and delicious, baguettes, little rolls. The breakfast is very good, there is a station for eggs, omelettes, and crepes made fresh for you. Lunch grill is quite good, large selection, great if you like cold cuts and various unidentifiable items. Drinks: The drinks were great, the lobby bar offering the best pina coladas. Never a problem getting a drink and no shortage of cups as we had read in an earlier review. Staff/Service/Daycare: The staff was great, very courteous and friendly. The animators for dance classes, activities, volleyball are great. The staff at the daycare is wonderful: look for Oxana, Liuddy, and Mayeline. Weather: The weather was perfect the entire time we were there-in fact it was too hot….sunny and 32 degrees daily. Do not forget to bring plenty of sunscreen as you can burn easily and it is hard to find lotion there and it is very expensive there. Pool/Beach: The pool is great very shallow all around great to bask in the sun while relaxing. The Beach is uphill then flat (apparently hurricane protection) but beautiful after the climb, calm water, clean. When the second phase opens there will be another pool that is deeper. Overall: We had a fantastic time at Barceló Marina Palace. It is a perfect family resort and is very relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"week of aug.21-28"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Danie  on Sep 15, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2005
2840 people found this review helpful

EVERYTHING WAS SO PERFECT UNTIL MY FAMILY GOT SICK, STRONG STOMACH DISORDERS, THEN A LOT OF PEOPLE STAYING AT THE HOTEL WERE SICK ALSO. I SAW EMPLOYEES FROM THE BUFFET FILLING UP THE EMPTY BOTTLE WITH LOCAL WATER, THEY GAVE US WATER SERVED IN THE BOTTLES OF THE BOTTLE WATER THEY GAVE US IN THE ROOM. THERE WERE ALSO A LOT OF MOSQUITOS AT NIGHT, IT WAS REALLY BAD, THEY WEREN'T SPRAYING (FUMIGATION SYSTEM) UNLESS WE'D ASKED THEM TO. IN ORDER TO GET SOMETHING WE ALWAYS NEEDED TO ASK. I AM REALLY DISAPOINTED WITH WHAT HAPPEN BECAUSE I LIKED THE PLACE, IT WAS SO CLEAN AND THE EMPLOYEES WERE KIND, THE WOMEN WHOM WORKED AT THE MINI-CLUB WERE AMAZING. CONGRATULATIONS LADIES!! TOO BAD IT DIDN'T MET MY EXPECTATIONS BECAUSE WE TRAVELED 3 TIMES A YEAR AT LEAST!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nov 14 - 21 vacation"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Roger Burak  on Nov 24, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2005
2511 people found this review helpful

This is the newest resort in Varadero and the facility is beautiful. However, the food is so-so, limited variety of fresh vegetables. Bar service is very slow, bring a thermal mug and fill up when you do get someone to take your order. Learn some spanish - you'll get better service. The evening shows were very good and the local musicians provided constant music during the meals. Tips are always expected.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay at the Hotel"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ellen  on Feb 25, 2006  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
2855 people found this review helpful

I have just returned from a week at this hotel. This hotel is based on an open concept thus on the cool days you did need a jacket or sweater. The rooms were very spacious, but were a fair distance from the main attractions. Very few bars, and no bars on the beach or entertainment. The food was just average and again the fruit was at a minimal. They are still doing construction which was quiet. Gift shop only one and a few tables at the other end of the hotel, which were only opened a few hours each day and closed on the weekends. There was only one bank teller which caused a lot of people to be upset having to wait up to a half hour. As usual the staff were very friendly and accomodating.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful vacation"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  karen thornton  on Mar 11, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006
2328 people found this review helpful

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful vacation! This hotel is still new and so clean and luxurious. We really loved the people (staff). People leave their stressful lives for a week or two and want to go somewhere where they can kick back and relax at a slower pace. It amazed us to see some people who were extremely uptight and demanding. Poor them and poor staff! Service was fine unless of course you have a drinking problem and require huge glasses of alcohol every 30 seconds.

We found the food to be delicious! Always a good variety to choose from. Some of the food tasted different but then we were in a different country so it was fun to be a little adventerous! Always good pasta, bread, seafood and grilled meat. It seemed to us that many people went with a superior attitude. Arriving with an attitude of "impress me" I was ashamed of some of my fellow Canadians and their treatment of staff.

The locals there have so little yet they love to talk about their country with such pride, very genuine and loving people. We could all take a cue from them. Amenities were great, beautiful rooms and beach. Wonderful natured people. We would definately go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"vacation 2005"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  ruth ann beals  on Jan 20, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
391 people found this review helpful

we were there just 2 years ago with 2 other couples.we really liked it,found it very clean but alot of walking in the heat from one building to the other.the food was great at the buffet;s,the a la carte;s were just so ,so running out of stuff at times.we arrived to the hotel late upon arrival and after we checked in we went to the 24 hour which had barely anything to eat and it was like we were inconveniencing them.during the day their noon selection was good but the girls serving on the tables were not very friendly and in fact sometimes rude.the beach was great,entertainment very good but could have had more variety as much of the same.we were bit by insects we could not see or feel and saw some many people with pretty nasty bites.one of the couples with us developed water blisters and was put on antiobiotics and was off work for 6 weeks when came back home.we were all nurses except for our spouces.the wait at the lobby bar was long and for the size of the resort there should have been more.we would defintely go back once more to see if things have gotten improved.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Buffet was wonderful"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Spunky  on Mar 1, 2008  >  6 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2008
205 people found this review helpful

March 17-24, 2008 On Air Canada Vacations. On time. Bus and Beer waiting. Bus was free.

Rooms::
Got the exact building and room we wanted.
First building after the lighthouse, 2nd floor, ocean view facing east. A little smokey from the last visitors; was cleaned and ready 20 minutes after telling the desk. Maid service was great. Towel art and all. We left gifts.
Remember the drink refill guy needs a separate note than your maid. Lots of drinks, water and beer all week.

Restaurants and Bars::
Buffet was wonderful. I'm adventurous with food and found the choices great.
Italian was good and Spanish OK. Missed the seafood one.
Noel was great at breakfast; waiting at our favorite table and set it up with juice and champagne while we got custom omelets.
Lobby bar was the best. Lighthouse bar is very handy. Bubba's are also currency there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach was cleaned every morning. Lots of Palapas and help getting a lounger.
We used the beach every day but the pool at the lighthouse was clean and the groundskeepers made sure there were freshly cut coconuts.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Went to the stage show on two nights. Good fun. 5CUC for the bus pass was nice but the weather was too nice and we only went down town one day for a couple of hours.

Other Comments::
Except for the odd bad review about food, this place is pretty much what other reviewers said. We traveled with some picky eaters who would have preferred to live on burgers and fries rather than try ANYTHING new.
We were prepared for the windy conditions (2 days) and the mosquitos (evenings when the wind was calm) but loved the long, clean beach walk to the Libertad at the end of the resort.
Met another couple and had drinks at their Libertad suite. Nice digs but a long way to travel back to the main buildings.
We would go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marcie Warford  on Jan 2, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
1594 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 1 week stay at the Barcelo Marina Palace. Dec 21/08 This a beautiful place to stay. No problems at all with the hotel or the staff. Most staff speak 3 languages and are quite friendly. There was nightly entertainment as well as a disco. We were concerned about the food before we went but this concern was put to rest as there was a huge selection at the buffet and we found lots to eat. We tried 3 of the al a carte restuarants italian, spanish & cuban/seafood. All were fine. The beach was very nice as were the pools. We did a couple of tours one into Havana (great choice) as well as a catamaran tour (highly recommend). We also took the bus into Veradaro to explore the markets which is also a must. Don't be afraid to try the different food or drink.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Eccezionale"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cristiano  on Jan 20, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Jan, 2009
348 people found this review helpful

Bellissimo resort, organizzazione impeccabile, molto accoglienti e simpatici. Resort da tornarci.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube