Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Blau Marina Varadero Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2017

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Blau Marina Varadero Resort  

Autopista Sur final Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"Not as advertised"
Posted by: Susan on May 24, 2015
see all reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Pictures and Information
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Varadero Cuba

#17
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 31 reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Information


Prime beach location, next to Marina Gaviota, genuine feeling of exclusiveness.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  8
Average
  7
Poor
  6
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (17)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
11 - 20 of 31

"Mosquitoes"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dorothy  on Apr 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
617 people found this review helpful

The resort looks beautiful. Everything you could imagine the beach and turquoise water just like a picture postcard.
This is our fourth time in Cuba but the first time in the Marina Palace.
Everything was fine until we went to the buffet for dinner. I have
honestly never seen so many mosquitoes in my life. This was the only night I wore a dress for the duration of the holiday. My legs were covered in bites
although I had the strongest "Deet Off" on all over me including my legs.
I am extremely allergic to bites so I thought I would need to fly home the next day. We visited the American Plaza by taxi as everything is very far from this hotel. The pharmacist gave me calamine lotion and cortisone cream which relieved the itch. It was still very painful. The holiday was spoiled because I couldn't go out at all at night.

Your Arrival:
Everything went very smoothly.

Rooms:
Our room was very clean and comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurant near the beach where we ate breakfast and lunch was very nice.
The food was alright. Some of the staff were friendly.
The staff at the bars were very friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very far from everything. Enjoyed the catamaran and the dancing lessons.

Other Comments:
Would not recommend because of the mosquitoes.
Will not go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Adequate but not great"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Eugene  on Apr 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
653 people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to Varadero, but the first stay at the Marina Palace. I can confirm almost everything the next immediately following reveiwer has written. The resort and facilities are very nice - like most of the those on the Varadero hotel strip - but the organisation and some of the service leaves much to be desired. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful, but the Reception Desk and the Gift Shop staff can do with some PR training. Food is plentiful and varied but most "hot" buffet dishes were almost cold because they were not covered up.

Your Arrival:
Arrived about midnight after 1-3/4 hour bus trip from the airport. (several stops en route to drop off guests at other hotels.)After check-in were told to "wait for porter" without explanation that our room was in a building about 1/2 km away. Waited 20 minutes. Were not issued with a map of the place which we later found was available.

Rooms:
Very luxurious and clean. Unfortunately facing the road where local busses turn around and revv-up early in the morning. Friendly and efficient maid-service.

Restaurants and Bars:
Friendly staff, good variety of food especially at the main buffet restaurant. But at both of the á la carte restaurants the meat was tough and inedible. Alternatives were offered but not used.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Main beach clean, others so-so. Pools were fine. In all locations there were insufficient chaises and umbrellas. It was a first-come-firs-served situation. People "reserved" a place even if they were then absent for long periods.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Poorly advertised and often no location indicated. Show was excellent even if music a bit too loud for our taste

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"needs to improve"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  lorraina  on Jul 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
649 people found this review helpful

During my visit to this hotel, I think it was undergoing repairs because most of the a la carte restaurants were not open so it was rather disappointing but that does not mean that it is any less of a hotel. The hotel is located at the end of the street so it may be hard for you to go out in the evenings and nights because I don’t know how safe this place is. The rooms do not have ocean views because the beach is located across from the hotel. The beach is always crowded so you hardly find an umbrella or shade to stay under. The evening entertainment was great but not that good, I don’t know why but the hotel needs some energy, it is a great place but it is kind of dull and I don’t like such environment for my holiday. The staff was nice and tried to please the guests and made them feel comfortable and at home, it was a nice gesture. The price is good for what you are getting, the food was amazing and probably the best thing I liked about the hotel. The rooms are great, nice and clean and very comfortable just not with ocean view. I think that lots of locals come to this hotel mostly during the weekends and it kind of makes the place to become crowded. I may come back here again and I hope it becomes better and improved by them for a better review from me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not bad except for mosquitoes and the dampness of rooms"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  maria  on May 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
695 people found this review helpful

There was a pond right in front of the resort (not the entrance) which attracted mosquitoes. Some people had to see the doctor to get medication for mosquito bites. We all looked spotty and couldn't stay out for long. There was also the smell and feeling of dampness (no I did not experience it anywhere else). The staff was polite and kind. The meal wasn't that good. Coffee was heavenly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"En somme, nous avons fait un beau voyage"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  Sophie  on Feb 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
331 people found this review helpful

ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome vacation!"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  cathy  on Jan 4, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
618 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014. When we arrived the view from the lobby was just gorgeous! We were greeted by very nice hotel staff and were taken care of promptly. The staff at this hotel were above average and never had a problem with getting their help. The beach was quite large and was never packed as this resort is on the tip of the peninsula. The suggestions I have would be take MOSQUITO spray as I was bitten quite a bit. Also if you like ketchup bring that as well.food is typical cuba food, but we didn't starve! we hung at mostly at pool 3 which I don't think many people knew about. we are partiers and brought a stereo with us and had that plugged in at the swim up bar. The bartender there was awesome! I am looking to rebook this February and cant wait!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gread deal"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Josh  on Oct 23, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
580 people found this review helpful

Outstanding hotel and facilities. I have decided to go to Cuba for the first time in my life that I even have some experience with the other Caribbean countries nearby. I was there with my future wife and all I can say is- this place is absolutely amazing and I'm so thrilled by the condition of the hotel, the service and the price also. It is a bit hard to find all those things in one offer, and because this year we were lucky to get this after I consider me and my future wife so lucky.
Even from outside the hotel looks very nice and it provides you the feeling that this is going to be the ideal holiday from your dreams. Only few minutes after we arrived at the lobby, some of the personnel took our bags and show our room. The employees were very nice and helpful all the time, no matter if it is day or night, or which day of the week it is. The room was clean and big enough for two of us. The hygiene standards were also high, we could easily see that from the very beginning. There was hot water all the time and the air-conditioning was working great.
From the other facilities I must mention the pool, because that was the area that we spend a lot of time swimming, sunbathing and doing all the other things that we could imagine. It was nice to have such a great accommodation with great employees and with affordable price. That combination is hard to find, and we were happy to use it. It was that good that we expand our vacation for a new 4 nights at the hotel.
All in all it was pleasant memories and a lot of fun, because there is almost everything that you could possibly need at the hotel and in case you want to do some activities outside the hotel property, you could choose from various of options available. So my advice is to book a room and enjoy your flight with your friends or family.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Have travelled to Cuba some 12 times. First time at this resort and was pleasantly surprised."

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Apr 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
850 people found this review helpful

Overall a pleasant experience, would certainly want to go back. For the $ paid, we were very satisfied.

Room Block:
11

Arrival:
Good friendly quick reception, bellboy took our bags within 3 minutes and drove us to our rooms.

Rooms:
The rooms were good, nice balcony and nice little seating area in mini-suites, very clean, bed was firm but the pillows were small. AC worked very well, and there was a ceiling fan over the bed. There was always lots of hot water and good pressure for showers.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was quite adequate overall, we always found something to eat. Breakfast was very good (but bring your own peanut butter if you want it!). The buffet included serving stations for eggs (omelets) and crepes. But juices were very weak, no fresh-squeezed here!

Lunches at the buffet were okay (good pizza) and dinners were pretty good. There was always a decent selection, and the thin-crust pizza (to which you could add anything) was always super. Grilled meats (especially the chicken) and fish at the buffet were very good, and there was always some roasted meat available. Other food was usually just okay, and usually luke-warm. Desserts were disappointing.

Spanish, Italian and Cuban restaurants were all very pleasant, with some music entertainment. It was nice to get away from the buffet atmosphere. Don't eat the steak (I have never had a tender steak in Cuba!)

Capuccino from the lobby bar was great. Beer just fine, but margaritas not good.

We did leave small tips at meals and occasionally at the bar, and found the servers very appreciative and attentive.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:

Beach was amazing, very wide, and the water was clear. A real Cuban beach. The pools were okay, sometimes sandy (not all showers around the pool were working, so people couldn't rinse off coming from the beach). These are shallow pools, super for kids.

Construction project across the street from the resort resulted in some noise, which you couldn't hear from the beach. There were lots of huts on the beach and plenty of shade and sun around the pools.

Lots of people spent in the lobby, and there was usually some form of live entertainment, and always a nice breeze.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We were looking for a quiet vacation, but were aware that there were activities available, although we did not partake.

Other Comments:
This is a large property - excellent for people who like a good walk on the beach.

This resort needs new chairs around the pool, some were pretty old and "saggy". A little paint would improve the look of the hotel.

No wifi available, and internet very very slow.

We did encounter some mosquitos, but had a couple of very breezy days which took care of that.



Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Exceeded Our Expectations !! Very Good Hotel"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Richard  on Dec 4, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
865 people found this review helpful

Overall We can honestly say that after reading about all the negative reviews about this good resort,we were stunned to find it was overall very good for 'Cuban standards'. It deserves it's four and a half star rating. Rememember the resort is 10 plus years old.however we found our room,the grounds and area very well maintained. A solid Four Stars !!!!!!!!!!

Room Number:
1405

Room Block:
Nolitours

Arrival:
Seamless,professional. Arrived in the AM and was quickly checked in by the very polite and professional english speaking staff. The bellman was right there to help us move without delay to our building and room block. It was a room bottom level behind the main pool. Quiet area in our opinion.

Rooms:
Very suprised! Excellent quality and conditiion. Well maintained,no obvious chip marks or damage. New paint quality. A beautiful lime green very spacious room with ling bed and extra twin bed for our daughter. 15/16 channel color tv,good central air conditioning. Lots of closet space and a big chest for storage. To close the sliding glass door simply use the top leftchain lock.
What I liked the most!!! The water in the bathtub/shower WAS ALWAYS HOT,HOT
in our two week holiday.Usually a bit of an oddity in Varadero.

Excellent quality sleep for us three. again very impressed at room. One call to service and our battery was quickly replaced when electronic safe did not work.

Restaurants and Bars:
This is important !! The TRUTH about the FOOD here !!!!!!

First the best for us was the italian a la carte. Good appetizer of soups,etc.
Second course of delicious pasta dishes or great homemade thin crust itilian pizza wood oven cooked in four choices and incredible size for each. You do not go hungry. Main course was good. either a medium thin entrecote steak with veggies,grilled chicken or three large grilled shrimp main.Pretty good tirimisu for dessert.
The BUFFET:
You must take your time and be creative. I found it got better and better
through the holiday. Gained five pounds.Especially good for the fresh cooking stations: Fish and Grill: Every night thick red snapper grilled with olive oil and fresh herbs on the BBQ.Grilled thick chicken breasts,or thin grilled steak.Pasta Station; Loved this!! Three kinds of pasta reheated hot with choice of great fresh toppings;Fresh tomatoes,suasage,bacon,onions,sweet peppers,green peppers,mushrooms cooked hot and fresh in a pan sauteed with oil olive each order. Also some nights three separate fresh herbs: cilantro,
dill etc. The' piece de resistence ' was the delicious imported Fresh italian parmesan cheese wheel from italy.Carve out any amount you want.
Also fresh thin crust pizza station. Tip: go to buffet and add 10/20 extra ingedients to be cooked to order for a deluxe fully topped pizza.
Also 20/30 tasty veggie options at salad bar.For us better than just salad crap. Also a carving station with alternating Delicious Roast pork,Roast Turkey and red whole snapper.make sure you ask for bigger portions if needed.
10/12 main buffet items a little limited but sometimes quite good.Great breads and rolls with toaster and butter.Fresh omlette/crepe station in morning.Only complaint: the fries were always cold. Otherwise 4/5.
Sausage/hamburger/hotdog grill BBQs behind main pool and beach both good.
Do not forget the a la carte 24 hour lighthouse restuarant for very good pizza,pastas,fish and small but tasty salad bar.Amazing sundried tomatoes !!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best widest beach in varadero. Also spaced out and quiet unlike all other resorts to the north which are packed.Shallow gradual sandy water to ocean. Quite warm. Somes days paradise and calm. Some days too rough to swim.

The three pools were absolutely GREAT,GREAT and more GREAT !!
The big activity lagoon pool was always fun. Excellent entertainment staff
in the afternoons. Really great genuine people. Many of us could learn off them since we are obnoxious,rude and too demanding.

Two great tranquil pools too with waterfalls,fountains and lack of crowds.
total nirvana. for us well maintained grounds,beautiful flowers and well maincured.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great caring Kids club 'teachers' and kids playground.An excellent ,fast waterslide in main pool for excilirating kid and adult fun slides. #1 slide in varadero strip !!

Great evening shows with professional dance troup,amazing beautiful women and male dancers,singers,acrobats and magicians.

Main lobby nightly entertainment before main theatre show with music bands,cartoon characters,mimes,flamenco dancers etc. Every night for us.

Other Comments:
This is Cuba folks. Do NOT compare it to five star mayan riveria,mexico or jamaica.There you pay double and yes the food is better etc.but for the price/quality/cuba foods standards and quality this resort DOES rate
4 or 4.5 /5 for cuban standards.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5 star more like 3.5 or 4"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  SeA  on May 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
810 people found this review helpful

When we checked in at night we had to wait over 15 mins for our luggage finally it arrived and the guy insisted a tip we hadn't exchanged our Canadian to pesos yet so he assured he would return the change....never heard from him again!

We had to wait over 20 mins everyday for clean towels and the maid hardly changed our sheets we noticed she put the same sheets back on, and we dipped her daily everyday then it started to get a little better...staff were sketchy we met two guys from Toronto and the staff followed us around the pool asking us for their Lacoste slippers.

The food was another story !!!! We ended up having to pay the itallian el la carte lady 5 dollars everyday to let us in...it was the only restaurant that served normal food for picky eaters since I'm a vegetarian the first 3 days I lived off of bread and cucumbers...the fries were hard so I didn't eat.

The beach is amazing hands.

The entertained never did anything after the show or advertised the disco in the resort...us 4 grabbed people and made it fun, by the end of our vaca everyone knew us we made many new friends from Toronto Brampton Woodbridge and Hamilton.

We never left the resort, we met many sketchy men on the beach asking us to hang out with them at night, so that scared us off.

Over all we had fun, but it's more of a family or older ppl resort not reccomended for young adults, we kind of regret going there...but we made the best out of it...it's deff not a 5 star....

I stayed at melia varadero the yr before much better resort and food more to do.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube