Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Blau Marina Varadero Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2017

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Blau Marina Varadero Resort  

Autopista Sur final Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"Not as advertised"
Posted by: Susan on May 24, 2015
see all reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Pictures and Information
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Varadero Cuba

#17
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 31 reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Information


Prime beach location, next to Marina Gaviota, genuine feeling of exclusiveness.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  8
Average
  7
Poor
  6
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (17)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
11 - 20 of 31

"Awesome vacation!"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  cathy  on Jan 4, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
744 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014. When we arrived the view from the lobby was just gorgeous! We were greeted by very nice hotel staff and were taken care of promptly. The staff at this hotel were above average and never had a problem with getting their help. The beach was quite large and was never packed as this resort is on the tip of the peninsula. The suggestions I have would be take MOSQUITO spray as I was bitten quite a bit. Also if you like ketchup bring that as well.food is typical cuba food, but we didn't starve! we hung at mostly at pool 3 which I don't think many people knew about. we are partiers and brought a stereo with us and had that plugged in at the swim up bar. The bartender there was awesome! I am looking to rebook this February and cant wait!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Still Great!!"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Josh  on Jul 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
708 people found this review helpful

BMP Review

This past March my mother, brother, and grandmother and I went to the Barcelo Marina Palace for an all-inclusive vacation with a Nolitours package. This was my second time at the resort and my mother’s third time visiting this same resort. My mother and brother and I have been to Cuba many times but it was my Grandmothers first visit to Cuba. Each time I travel to Cuba a make a point to review the resort I stay at because there are so many negative reviews out there. I think that my reviews provide a nice even view of the resort and the area. I am not super demanding but I do expect a certain level of comfort and I am super observant. The following is my review of the BMP in early 2011.

Trip Central – Our service with Trip Central was great. We normally choose to go with a local agent but everyone was discouraging us from going to this resort because of bugs. The Trip Central Agent stated that it was up to us but did warn us of the bug issue (not really an issue, but I will get to that later). So we booked. The price went up the day we booked but she called Nolitours and got them to give us the day befores price.

Nolitours – Nolitours was good. The only issue that I have with Nolitours and Air Transat is that from Halifax they use Canjet and the planes are so small with so many people jammed in. Typical charter though. The tour rep in Varadero and the BMP is great, really friendly French guy that will bend over backward to make you enjoy your trip or if something goes wrong.

Canjet – Seats are tiny, service is okay, food is just barely okay, it makes for a long 4 hour flight.

Varadero Airport – When we arrived there were a few other flights from Montreal and other places arriving, they had been delayed. The airport was crazy busy. People everywhere, waiting hours for luggage. Varadero airport is not normally like that however. Border stuff is super easy and you just get your luggage and go out to the awaiting buses. BMP is a big enough resort that your bus will likely take you directly to the BMP not stop at a million resorts on the way. The bus drivers and the Cubanacan hosts are very nice and make the bus ride seem shorter.



Arrival:
Arrival/Lobby – To arrive at the hotel in the day time is wonderful. You drive up to the covered lobby area only to see the white sand and crystal clear blue water beyond. One of the most memorable things of this resort is the arrival in the daytime. Check in is quick and painless and a golf cart will be awaiting to take you to your room.

Rooms:
Room – Our room was ocean view and it was wonderful. My mom and grandmother shared a room and my brother and I shared a room. There are no room with two bed in this hotel, to my knowledge, however the bed is large enough that my brother and I could share an bed and not bother each other through the night. Our fridge was restocked each day and I left a note saying that we would like more water and pop and left a peso and our request was granted every day. The room was nice and clean, they are seeing a little bit of age, mildew and the like, the climate is very hard on them, and they are very nice despite this. Our rooms were close to the pool, lobby, beach, and buffet restaurant.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food – The food at this resort is good. Not the best, but good. It gets a little bit repetitive. I can always find something to eat. If you like fruit, bread, cheese, and things like that you will be fine they are always on the buffet. There is pizza and meats and pastas as well. The ice cream is the best!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach – The beach at this resort is the best part. It is long and large. You will never fight for space on the beach at the BMP. There are also almost always palapas and chairs available. Not usually a need to get up early to reserve a spot. The water is nice and warm and there is usually a breeze to keep the hot Caribbean sun from frying you. (It will still fry you)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excursions – Go on the trip to Havana you will not regret it. Have a mojito at the bar where Hemmingway wrote (and drank). Excursions are great for the price charged. Another great one is the river boat tour and snorkelling.

Other Comments:
Service – Serivce at this resort has really improved over the years, everywhere but the buffet. The lobby staff, bar staff, pool staff, beach staff, and cleaning staff are all wonderful. Flowers for the ladies almost every time we went out. One issue I found was the buffet, it was hit or miss in the service department. I found sometimes the staff in the buffet area were not attentive nor did they even really want you to sit in their section. Other that the buffet service was superb and has gotten better of the years since my last visit.

Weather – This trip was in March, however I have been in February, and mom has been in April as well. All times are great for weather. In February you might get some cool nights and in April the rain begins to be a problem sometimes. Okay so the warning that was given to us was that the bugs were out of control at this resort. Each time we have been to this resort that bugs have NOT been an issue nor were they this time. The time that mom was there in April it rained a few days and the bugs came out after that. So perhaps if it rains the bugs may be an issue. But they are NOT if it doesn’t rain.

Past Review – As I mentioned I have been t this resort before and I wrote a review of the resort on my previous visit. I sent this review to the hotel manager and he said that he very much appreciated my feedback and I really felt like he did. So they do listen and it shows in the improvements since my last visit.

Final Thoughts – This resort if wonderful. I recommend it just as much now as I did in 2007 when I first visited. The service has improved over the years and there still are some improvements to go. Overall I would very much recommend this resort.

Feel free to contact me with questions - jmack_2001@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gread deal"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Josh  on Oct 23, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
710 people found this review helpful

Outstanding hotel and facilities. I have decided to go to Cuba for the first time in my life that I even have some experience with the other Caribbean countries nearby. I was there with my future wife and all I can say is- this place is absolutely amazing and I'm so thrilled by the condition of the hotel, the service and the price also. It is a bit hard to find all those things in one offer, and because this year we were lucky to get this after I consider me and my future wife so lucky.
Even from outside the hotel looks very nice and it provides you the feeling that this is going to be the ideal holiday from your dreams. Only few minutes after we arrived at the lobby, some of the personnel took our bags and show our room. The employees were very nice and helpful all the time, no matter if it is day or night, or which day of the week it is. The room was clean and big enough for two of us. The hygiene standards were also high, we could easily see that from the very beginning. There was hot water all the time and the air-conditioning was working great.
From the other facilities I must mention the pool, because that was the area that we spend a lot of time swimming, sunbathing and doing all the other things that we could imagine. It was nice to have such a great accommodation with great employees and with affordable price. That combination is hard to find, and we were happy to use it. It was that good that we expand our vacation for a new 4 nights at the hotel.
All in all it was pleasant memories and a lot of fun, because there is almost everything that you could possibly need at the hotel and in case you want to do some activities outside the hotel property, you could choose from various of options available. So my advice is to book a room and enjoy your flight with your friends or family.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nov 14 - 21 vacation"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Roger Burak  on Nov 24, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2005
2686 people found this review helpful

This is the newest resort in Varadero and the facility is beautiful. However, the food is so-so, limited variety of fresh vegetables. Bar service is very slow, bring a thermal mug and fill up when you do get someone to take your order. Learn some spanish - you'll get better service. The evening shows were very good and the local musicians provided constant music during the meals. Tips are always expected.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"vacation 2005"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  ruth ann beals  on Jan 20, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
559 people found this review helpful

we were there just 2 years ago with 2 other couples.we really liked it,found it very clean but alot of walking in the heat from one building to the other.the food was great at the buffet;s,the a la carte;s were just so ,so running out of stuff at times.we arrived to the hotel late upon arrival and after we checked in we went to the 24 hour which had barely anything to eat and it was like we were inconveniencing them.during the day their noon selection was good but the girls serving on the tables were not very friendly and in fact sometimes rude.the beach was great,entertainment very good but could have had more variety as much of the same.we were bit by insects we could not see or feel and saw some many people with pretty nasty bites.one of the couples with us developed water blisters and was put on antiobiotics and was off work for 6 weeks when came back home.we were all nurses except for our spouces.the wait at the lobby bar was long and for the size of the resort there should have been more.we would defintely go back once more to see if things have gotten improved.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5 star more like 3.5 or 4"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  SeA  on May 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
932 people found this review helpful

When we checked in at night we had to wait over 15 mins for our luggage finally it arrived and the guy insisted a tip we hadn't exchanged our Canadian to pesos yet so he assured he would return the change....never heard from him again!

We had to wait over 20 mins everyday for clean towels and the maid hardly changed our sheets we noticed she put the same sheets back on, and we dipped her daily everyday then it started to get a little better...staff were sketchy we met two guys from Toronto and the staff followed us around the pool asking us for their Lacoste slippers.

The food was another story !!!! We ended up having to pay the itallian el la carte lady 5 dollars everyday to let us in...it was the only restaurant that served normal food for picky eaters since I'm a vegetarian the first 3 days I lived off of bread and cucumbers...the fries were hard so I didn't eat.

The beach is amazing hands.

The entertained never did anything after the show or advertised the disco in the resort...us 4 grabbed people and made it fun, by the end of our vaca everyone knew us we made many new friends from Toronto Brampton Woodbridge and Hamilton.

We never left the resort, we met many sketchy men on the beach asking us to hang out with them at night, so that scared us off.

Over all we had fun, but it's more of a family or older ppl resort not reccomended for young adults, we kind of regret going there...but we made the best out of it...it's deff not a 5 star....

I stayed at melia varadero the yr before much better resort and food more to do.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"En somme, nous avons fait un beau voyage"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  Sophie  on Feb 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
405 people found this review helpful

ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alexis  on Mar 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
525 people found this review helpful

We spent a week at the Marina Palace and enjoyed the property and staff. But...we came home with many bites from mosquitos. I would recommend the property but not to anyone prone to bites because you will get them. Too bad... I would return except for tha problem. Heed the reviews if you are considering this resort please!

Your Arrival:
ok

Rooms:
Building 22 ground floor was great!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was just ok but it's Cuba!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Loved the pool by buildng 22...and the staff was wonderful there...treated us great!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very nice...busy all the time...love that about Veradero...you can go to town and fill your day shopping aand sightseeing...love Cuba

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mosquitoes"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dorothy  on Apr 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
692 people found this review helpful

The resort looks beautiful. Everything you could imagine the beach and turquoise water just like a picture postcard.
This is our fourth time in Cuba but the first time in the Marina Palace.
Everything was fine until we went to the buffet for dinner. I have
honestly never seen so many mosquitoes in my life. This was the only night I wore a dress for the duration of the holiday. My legs were covered in bites
although I had the strongest "Deet Off" on all over me including my legs.
I am extremely allergic to bites so I thought I would need to fly home the next day. We visited the American Plaza by taxi as everything is very far from this hotel. The pharmacist gave me calamine lotion and cortisone cream which relieved the itch. It was still very painful. The holiday was spoiled because I couldn't go out at all at night.

Your Arrival:
Everything went very smoothly.

Rooms:
Our room was very clean and comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurant near the beach where we ate breakfast and lunch was very nice.
The food was alright. Some of the staff were friendly.
The staff at the bars were very friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very far from everything. Enjoyed the catamaran and the dancing lessons.

Other Comments:
Would not recommend because of the mosquitoes.
Will not go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was all right"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  MJ  on Apr 10, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
618 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Barcelo Marina Palace in the Cayo Libertad section in April 2010. This was my 4th trip to Cuba and certainly won't be my last. However, we thought the resort was just okay but we would be unlikely to return.

Your Arrival:
The transfer from the airport was in a standard Havanatur bus - no issues. Barcelo Marina Palace is the very last resort on the peninsula so naturally we were the last ones to get off. Even so, the transfer only took about 55 minutes. We were dropped off at the main entrance and a porter on a golf cart came and delivered us to the Cayo Libertad lobby where we had a private check in. Our room #3204 was not ready at 1:30 p.m. when we arrived so we had to wait a couple of hours by the pool (since the towels are exchanged in the room by the maid, we had no beach towels...however, I liked not having to deal with the towel exchange routine every day so in my mind, the slight inconvenience was not a large issue). Eventually the very friendly porter came back and showed us to our room at around 4:30 pm.

Rooms:
Our room was excellent, and I doubt there are any bad rooms in the Cayo Libertad section. However, I noted while walking through the main part of the resort that I wouldn’t want a room on the bottom floor of some of those buildings because the footpaths go right through the building past your door and I’m a light sleeper. The balcony in our room was huge, with padded wooden loungers and a drying rack for towels and swimsuits. The room itself has an entry area with a little table, and there was a bottle of rum and some Cuban chocolates waiting for us on arrival. There is a bar fridge (including a tiny freezer) that is stocked with water, soft drinks, individual rum bottles and beer. The TV is basic, with satellite service carrying about 20 channels, a few of which are English. There is a DVD / CD player. The bed was not great – rather lumpy, and instead of a king-size bed, it was 2 twins pushed together and made up separately, not exactly the most romantic configuration. The pillows were almost completely flat – you would have to use 3 of them to get one regular pillow. The bathroom was spacious, with double sinks and a large tub with shower. The toilet is in a separate room, and there is also a walk-in closet including a safe and bathroom scales. There are no drawers in the room but there are a few shelves and a suitcase rack. There is a 115V outlet in the bathroom and 220V outlets elsewhere with the type of opening that allows either the European or North American style of plug to go in (nice feature that I haven’t seen in other resorts). We also had a look at the Grand Palace Villa, which was close to our room and was absolutely gorgeous, with private pool etc. It was unoccupied for most of the time we were there. I saw a sign saying it's $300 per night to upgrade but I’m not sure if that’s per person or if that’s on top of the extra you pay for a Cayo Libertad room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was a disappointment and normally we enjoy the food in Cuba. However, what seemed to be missing were the traditional Cuban foods – i.e. rice and beans, ropa vieja and other stewed meat, pork of all kinds including ham, good bread… The El Penon restaurant on the island tried so hard to be complicated and stylish but usually some ingredient was unavailable and the menu descriptions were quite deceptive. The best things were the simplest - grilled meat and seafood. And the bread products throughout the resort were really not that good and tended to be undercooked and doughy, which shocked me because usually the bread products in Cuba are excellent. There was no toast at El Penon the entire time we were there – apparently the toaster had broken. Most of the fish and meats were overcooked although we did have a lovely lamb dinner one night. However, the coffee at El Penon was probably the best coffee I’ve ever had in my life. One of the waiters there deserves special mention – Michael. He is one of those instantly likeable people who has a special ability in the service industry and he would be able to hold his own in any good restaurant in a big city around the world. We also ate at the main buffet restaurant a few times and it was fine, and that has the advantage that you can see what you’re getting without having to rely on a menu description. The supply issues were also present there, though. Hamburgers with no buns or ketchup, salad with no lettuce, etc. The pasta bar was good, and the cook who ran it was entertaining. More seriously, there were issues with food temperature control and I experienced a bad bout of food poisoning on the last day (more on this later).

We loved the cigar bar! It was a lovely, uncrowded place to have a drink in the evening and relax while listening to a very talented pianist. The restaurant bar at El Penon was also very good, as was the pool bar by the Cayo Libertad pool. We didn’t care for the main lobby bar – very noisy and crowded, and hard to get served. Those were the only ones we tried.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort is sprawling, not compact. The Cayo Libertad section is more efficiently laid out. The landscaping is still quite young, and many areas need to be “finished” (i.e., there are areas with construction debris and areas with no grass). The buildings are quite attractive in all areas of the resort.

The beach is not as nice as the main beach in Varadero (few beaches can rival that) but has the advantage of being private, in fact almost deserted. However, sand fleas were a huge problem and even though I only went to the beach for a total of about 2 hours, I ended up with huge itchy welts all over my legs (I’m very allergic to their bites). We saw a few mosquitoes but they were a minor issue next to the sand fleas. They fog the property from time to time with a chemical smudge on the back of a truck – if you see it coming, go the other way. One surprising thing was that in order to get to the beach from El Penon, you have to basically pick your way through a field of sharp twigs and rocks and even some construction debris. It is unbelievable that they wouldn’t build a walkway down there since it is a very common place for people to walk barefoot.

The Cayo Libertad pool was a good size for the number of rooms it served, and it wasn’t a problem to get a lounger. The water was too cold for much swimming when we were there but it was refreshing to take a dip from time to time. We didn’t spend any time at the other resort pools. Beach towels were provided in our room and changed each night by the maid – no need to deal with towel huts or cards.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I’ve taken the Havana day trip twice before so I didn’t do it again this trip. It’s great, though. This time I decided to do the Matanzas – Camaguey tour, which is only 28 CUC (7:45 a.m. to around 2 p.m.) It included a stop at a pharmacy museum in downtown Matanzas, a visit to one of the markets where locals buy their groceries (a real eye-opener), a drive through the countryside past lots of farms and a stop in Camaguey to get a drink before heading back to the hotel. It was a really good value and gave an opportunity to see interesting things. We also took the beach bus all around Varadero – it was packed in the morning but the crowd thinned out in the afternoon. They were also offering a free transfer to Havana and an overnight stay at another Barcelo hotel one night while we were there - I would have liked to do that but it happened to fall on my husband's birthday and he wasn't keen on it.

Other Comments:
The service had some highs and lows. Usually in Cuba, it’s not very hard to find someone who speaks fluent English. At this resort, not so much. We were surprised that the staff at the Cayo Libertad check-in area spoke very little English or French, since that is where most people will naturally go for assistance and a large proportion of them will probably know little Spanish. We had a problem with our door lock and it was really difficult to communicate about it. The guys who drive the long golf-cart type luggage buggies are really friendly – you can flag them down and get a drive with them if they happen to be passing by while you are walking. One of those guys, whose name I forget now, had much better language skills than the desk staff. Another time, we were offered cigars by a staff member and when we declined, we were hit up for money or gifts (first time this has happened to us in Cuba). The currency exchange always seems to have a very long queue. However, when I got very sick on the same day I had to fly home, I had to get the resort doctor to come to our room and she and the nurse accompanying her were wonderful. They didn’t have any injectable Gravol or antibiotics on hand so they personally went out to the pharmacy to get them for me and brought them back within an hour. I was not in great shape on the return flight but thanks to their efforts I managed to keep it together enough to get back home. Our maid was also quite good and kept everything in order. We tipped her a couple of pesos per day and left behind our unwanted toiletries, etc.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube