Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Blau Marina Varadero Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2017

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Blau Marina Varadero Resort  

Autopista Sur final Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"Not as advertised"
Posted by: Susan on May 24, 2015
see all reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Pictures and Information
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Varadero Cuba

#17
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 31 reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Information


Prime beach location, next to Marina Gaviota, genuine feeling of exclusiveness.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  8
Average
  7
Poor
  6
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (17)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
21 - 30 of 31

"Still Great!!"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Josh  on Jul 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
632 people found this review helpful

BMP Review

This past March my mother, brother, and grandmother and I went to the Barcelo Marina Palace for an all-inclusive vacation with a Nolitours package. This was my second time at the resort and my mother’s third time visiting this same resort. My mother and brother and I have been to Cuba many times but it was my Grandmothers first visit to Cuba. Each time I travel to Cuba a make a point to review the resort I stay at because there are so many negative reviews out there. I think that my reviews provide a nice even view of the resort and the area. I am not super demanding but I do expect a certain level of comfort and I am super observant. The following is my review of the BMP in early 2011.

Trip Central – Our service with Trip Central was great. We normally choose to go with a local agent but everyone was discouraging us from going to this resort because of bugs. The Trip Central Agent stated that it was up to us but did warn us of the bug issue (not really an issue, but I will get to that later). So we booked. The price went up the day we booked but she called Nolitours and got them to give us the day befores price.

Nolitours – Nolitours was good. The only issue that I have with Nolitours and Air Transat is that from Halifax they use Canjet and the planes are so small with so many people jammed in. Typical charter though. The tour rep in Varadero and the BMP is great, really friendly French guy that will bend over backward to make you enjoy your trip or if something goes wrong.

Canjet – Seats are tiny, service is okay, food is just barely okay, it makes for a long 4 hour flight.

Varadero Airport – When we arrived there were a few other flights from Montreal and other places arriving, they had been delayed. The airport was crazy busy. People everywhere, waiting hours for luggage. Varadero airport is not normally like that however. Border stuff is super easy and you just get your luggage and go out to the awaiting buses. BMP is a big enough resort that your bus will likely take you directly to the BMP not stop at a million resorts on the way. The bus drivers and the Cubanacan hosts are very nice and make the bus ride seem shorter.



Arrival:
Arrival/Lobby – To arrive at the hotel in the day time is wonderful. You drive up to the covered lobby area only to see the white sand and crystal clear blue water beyond. One of the most memorable things of this resort is the arrival in the daytime. Check in is quick and painless and a golf cart will be awaiting to take you to your room.

Rooms:
Room – Our room was ocean view and it was wonderful. My mom and grandmother shared a room and my brother and I shared a room. There are no room with two bed in this hotel, to my knowledge, however the bed is large enough that my brother and I could share an bed and not bother each other through the night. Our fridge was restocked each day and I left a note saying that we would like more water and pop and left a peso and our request was granted every day. The room was nice and clean, they are seeing a little bit of age, mildew and the like, the climate is very hard on them, and they are very nice despite this. Our rooms were close to the pool, lobby, beach, and buffet restaurant.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food – The food at this resort is good. Not the best, but good. It gets a little bit repetitive. I can always find something to eat. If you like fruit, bread, cheese, and things like that you will be fine they are always on the buffet. There is pizza and meats and pastas as well. The ice cream is the best!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach – The beach at this resort is the best part. It is long and large. You will never fight for space on the beach at the BMP. There are also almost always palapas and chairs available. Not usually a need to get up early to reserve a spot. The water is nice and warm and there is usually a breeze to keep the hot Caribbean sun from frying you. (It will still fry you)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excursions – Go on the trip to Havana you will not regret it. Have a mojito at the bar where Hemmingway wrote (and drank). Excursions are great for the price charged. Another great one is the river boat tour and snorkelling.

Other Comments:
Service – Serivce at this resort has really improved over the years, everywhere but the buffet. The lobby staff, bar staff, pool staff, beach staff, and cleaning staff are all wonderful. Flowers for the ladies almost every time we went out. One issue I found was the buffet, it was hit or miss in the service department. I found sometimes the staff in the buffet area were not attentive nor did they even really want you to sit in their section. Other that the buffet service was superb and has gotten better of the years since my last visit.

Weather – This trip was in March, however I have been in February, and mom has been in April as well. All times are great for weather. In February you might get some cool nights and in April the rain begins to be a problem sometimes. Okay so the warning that was given to us was that the bugs were out of control at this resort. Each time we have been to this resort that bugs have NOT been an issue nor were they this time. The time that mom was there in April it rained a few days and the bugs came out after that. So perhaps if it rains the bugs may be an issue. But they are NOT if it doesn’t rain.

Past Review – As I mentioned I have been t this resort before and I wrote a review of the resort on my previous visit. I sent this review to the hotel manager and he said that he very much appreciated my feedback and I really felt like he did. So they do listen and it shows in the improvements since my last visit.

Final Thoughts – This resort if wonderful. I recommend it just as much now as I did in 2007 when I first visited. The service has improved over the years and there still are some improvements to go. Overall I would very much recommend this resort.

Feel free to contact me with questions - jmack_2001@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nov 14 - 21 vacation"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Roger Burak  on Nov 24, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2005
2607 people found this review helpful

This is the newest resort in Varadero and the facility is beautiful. However, the food is so-so, limited variety of fresh vegetables. Bar service is very slow, bring a thermal mug and fill up when you do get someone to take your order. Learn some spanish - you'll get better service. The evening shows were very good and the local musicians provided constant music during the meals. Tips are always expected.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"vacation 2005"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  ruth ann beals  on Jan 20, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
483 people found this review helpful

we were there just 2 years ago with 2 other couples.we really liked it,found it very clean but alot of walking in the heat from one building to the other.the food was great at the buffet;s,the a la carte;s were just so ,so running out of stuff at times.we arrived to the hotel late upon arrival and after we checked in we went to the 24 hour which had barely anything to eat and it was like we were inconveniencing them.during the day their noon selection was good but the girls serving on the tables were not very friendly and in fact sometimes rude.the beach was great,entertainment very good but could have had more variety as much of the same.we were bit by insects we could not see or feel and saw some many people with pretty nasty bites.one of the couples with us developed water blisters and was put on antiobiotics and was off work for 6 weeks when came back home.we were all nurses except for our spouces.the wait at the lobby bar was long and for the size of the resort there should have been more.we would defintely go back once more to see if things have gotten improved.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Albert Helgber  on Jun 3, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
3129 people found this review helpful

The lobby of this hotel is breathtaking...You see an beautiful sand dune and the....the beautiful turquoise ocean. The hotel is bran new, rooms are very nice. I know the hoteks of Varadero and I know the biggest problem in the hotels is the food, well you won't have that problem at the Marina Palace. The food is very good and there is a large choice. The staff is incredible, specially at the front desk. We loved it and will go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good hotel"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Attard Anthony  on Dec 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) MALTA
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
867 people found this review helpful

it was the best hotel in cuba for me
very good

Room Number:
1411

Arrival:
27/11/2011

Rooms:
good

Restaurants and Bars:
good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good

Other Comments:
good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Eccezionale"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cristiano  on Jan 20, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Jan, 2009
451 people found this review helpful

Bellissimo resort, organizzazione impeccabile, molto accoglienti e simpatici. Resort da tornarci.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice and confortable"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  giovanni rigo  on Aug 3, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
580 people found this review helpful

Very nice place to stay, pity for the kid-garden not adequate for our baby (2 years), as the low-season period not all the facilities were disponible

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved the Barcelo Marina Palace"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lauren Tyler  on Jun 5, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
3092 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Barceló Marina Palace May 22-29, 2005. Rooms: We checked in late at night and were greeted at the lobby desk with a delightful welcome drink. Our ocean view junior suite was beautiful, large, and clean and we had a crib for our baby girl and cot for our 2 ½ year old son. We had asked for the ground floor and it was unavailable, to make up for it we were upgraded the next day to a fabulous ocean view suite-it was spotless-as this is a new hotel, it seemed that we were probably the first guests in this room. The suite had 1 ½ bathrooms and the master had separate shower, tub and separate toilet area all behind doors leading to the master bedroom, truly wonderful. Food: We had heard before hand not to expect too much from the food in Cuba. Therefore, it was not too much of a shock to find that most of the food was very bland, lacking flavour, spices. The bread was always fresh and delicious, baguettes, little rolls. The breakfast is very good, there is a station for eggs, omelettes, and crepes made fresh for you. Lunch grill is quite good, large selection, great if you like cold cuts and various unidentifiable items. Drinks: The drinks were great, the lobby bar offering the best pina coladas. Never a problem getting a drink and no shortage of cups as we had read in an earlier review. Staff/Service/Daycare: The staff was great, very courteous and friendly. The animators for dance classes, activities, volleyball are great. The staff at the daycare is wonderful: look for Oxana, Liuddy, and Mayeline. Weather: The weather was perfect the entire time we were there-in fact it was too hot….sunny and 32 degrees daily. Do not forget to bring plenty of sunscreen as you can burn easily and it is hard to find lotion there and it is very expensive there. Pool/Beach: The pool is great very shallow all around great to bask in the sun while relaxing. The Beach is uphill then flat (apparently hurricane protection) but beautiful after the climb, calm water, clean. When the second phase opens there will be another pool that is deeper. Overall: We had a fantastic time at Barceló Marina Palace. It is a perfect family resort and is very relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marcie Warford  on Jan 2, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
1694 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 1 week stay at the Barcelo Marina Palace. Dec 21/08 This a beautiful place to stay. No problems at all with the hotel or the staff. Most staff speak 3 languages and are quite friendly. There was nightly entertainment as well as a disco. We were concerned about the food before we went but this concern was put to rest as there was a huge selection at the buffet and we found lots to eat. We tried 3 of the al a carte restuarants italian, spanish & cuban/seafood. All were fine. The beach was very nice as were the pools. We did a couple of tours one into Havana (great choice) as well as a catamaran tour (highly recommend). We also took the bus into Veradaro to explore the markets which is also a must. Don't be afraid to try the different food or drink.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Buffet was wonderful"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Spunky  on Mar 1, 2008  >  6 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2008
313 people found this review helpful

March 17-24, 2008 On Air Canada Vacations. On time. Bus and Beer waiting. Bus was free.

Rooms::
Got the exact building and room we wanted.
First building after the lighthouse, 2nd floor, ocean view facing east. A little smokey from the last visitors; was cleaned and ready 20 minutes after telling the desk. Maid service was great. Towel art and all. We left gifts.
Remember the drink refill guy needs a separate note than your maid. Lots of drinks, water and beer all week.

Restaurants and Bars::
Buffet was wonderful. I'm adventurous with food and found the choices great.
Italian was good and Spanish OK. Missed the seafood one.
Noel was great at breakfast; waiting at our favorite table and set it up with juice and champagne while we got custom omelets.
Lobby bar was the best. Lighthouse bar is very handy. Bubba's are also currency there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach was cleaned every morning. Lots of Palapas and help getting a lounger.
We used the beach every day but the pool at the lighthouse was clean and the groundskeepers made sure there were freshly cut coconuts.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Went to the stage show on two nights. Good fun. 5CUC for the bus pass was nice but the weather was too nice and we only went down town one day for a couple of hours.

Other Comments::
Except for the odd bad review about food, this place is pretty much what other reviewers said. We traveled with some picky eaters who would have preferred to live on burgers and fries rather than try ANYTHING new.
We were prepared for the windy conditions (2 days) and the mosquitos (evenings when the wind was calm) but loved the long, clean beach walk to the Libertad at the end of the resort.
Met another couple and had drinks at their Libertad suite. Nice digs but a long way to travel back to the main buildings.
We would go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube