Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Blau Marina Varadero Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2017

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Blau Marina Varadero Resort  

Autopista Sur final Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"Not as advertised"
Posted by: Susan on May 24, 2015
see all reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Pictures and Information
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Varadero Cuba

#17
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 31 reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Information


Prime beach location, next to Marina Gaviota, genuine feeling of exclusiveness.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  8
Average
  7
Poor
  6
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (17)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
21 - 30 of 31

"Adequate but not great"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Eugene  on Apr 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
725 people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to Varadero, but the first stay at the Marina Palace. I can confirm almost everything the next immediately following reveiwer has written. The resort and facilities are very nice - like most of the those on the Varadero hotel strip - but the organisation and some of the service leaves much to be desired. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful, but the Reception Desk and the Gift Shop staff can do with some PR training. Food is plentiful and varied but most "hot" buffet dishes were almost cold because they were not covered up.

Your Arrival:
Arrived about midnight after 1-3/4 hour bus trip from the airport. (several stops en route to drop off guests at other hotels.)After check-in were told to "wait for porter" without explanation that our room was in a building about 1/2 km away. Waited 20 minutes. Were not issued with a map of the place which we later found was available.

Rooms:
Very luxurious and clean. Unfortunately facing the road where local busses turn around and revv-up early in the morning. Friendly and efficient maid-service.

Restaurants and Bars:
Friendly staff, good variety of food especially at the main buffet restaurant. But at both of the á la carte restaurants the meat was tough and inedible. Alternatives were offered but not used.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Main beach clean, others so-so. Pools were fine. In all locations there were insufficient chaises and umbrellas. It was a first-come-firs-served situation. People "reserved" a place even if they were then absent for long periods.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Poorly advertised and often no location indicated. Show was excellent even if music a bit too loud for our taste

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"needs to improve"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  lorraina  on Jul 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
794 people found this review helpful

During my visit to this hotel, I think it was undergoing repairs because most of the a la carte restaurants were not open so it was rather disappointing but that does not mean that it is any less of a hotel. The hotel is located at the end of the street so it may be hard for you to go out in the evenings and nights because I don’t know how safe this place is. The rooms do not have ocean views because the beach is located across from the hotel. The beach is always crowded so you hardly find an umbrella or shade to stay under. The evening entertainment was great but not that good, I don’t know why but the hotel needs some energy, it is a great place but it is kind of dull and I don’t like such environment for my holiday. The staff was nice and tried to please the guests and made them feel comfortable and at home, it was a nice gesture. The price is good for what you are getting, the food was amazing and probably the best thing I liked about the hotel. The rooms are great, nice and clean and very comfortable just not with ocean view. I think that lots of locals come to this hotel mostly during the weekends and it kind of makes the place to become crowded. I may come back here again and I hope it becomes better and improved by them for a better review from me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not bad except for mosquitoes and the dampness of rooms"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  maria  on May 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
769 people found this review helpful

There was a pond right in front of the resort (not the entrance) which attracted mosquitoes. Some people had to see the doctor to get medication for mosquito bites. We all looked spotty and couldn't stay out for long. There was also the smell and feeling of dampness (no I did not experience it anywhere else). The staff was polite and kind. The meal wasn't that good. Coffee was heavenly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"week of aug.21-28"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Danie  on Sep 15, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2005
3018 people found this review helpful

EVERYTHING WAS SO PERFECT UNTIL MY FAMILY GOT SICK, STRONG STOMACH DISORDERS, THEN A LOT OF PEOPLE STAYING AT THE HOTEL WERE SICK ALSO. I SAW EMPLOYEES FROM THE BUFFET FILLING UP THE EMPTY BOTTLE WITH LOCAL WATER, THEY GAVE US WATER SERVED IN THE BOTTLES OF THE BOTTLE WATER THEY GAVE US IN THE ROOM. THERE WERE ALSO A LOT OF MOSQUITOS AT NIGHT, IT WAS REALLY BAD, THEY WEREN'T SPRAYING (FUMIGATION SYSTEM) UNLESS WE'D ASKED THEM TO. IN ORDER TO GET SOMETHING WE ALWAYS NEEDED TO ASK. I AM REALLY DISAPOINTED WITH WHAT HAPPEN BECAUSE I LIKED THE PLACE, IT WAS SO CLEAN AND THE EMPLOYEES WERE KIND, THE WOMEN WHOM WORKED AT THE MINI-CLUB WERE AMAZING. CONGRATULATIONS LADIES!! TOO BAD IT DIDN'T MET MY EXPECTATIONS BECAUSE WE TRAVELED 3 TIMES A YEAR AT LEAST!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay at the Hotel"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ellen  on Feb 25, 2006  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
3035 people found this review helpful

I have just returned from a week at this hotel. This hotel is based on an open concept thus on the cool days you did need a jacket or sweater. The rooms were very spacious, but were a fair distance from the main attractions. Very few bars, and no bars on the beach or entertainment. The food was just average and again the fruit was at a minimal. They are still doing construction which was quiet. Gift shop only one and a few tables at the other end of the hotel, which were only opened a few hours each day and closed on the weekends. There was only one bank teller which caused a lot of people to be upset having to wait up to a half hour. As usual the staff were very friendly and accomodating.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay Away"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Fatima  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
505 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Arrived on Jan 22nd, 2010 with a large group and second group arrived on Jan 23rd (total members 140). Had the orientation in a large room, cards with the room number were handled out to group but no keys. Keys were to be handled out to group around 3:00 – 3:30; instead the last couple received their key's at 6:00 pm with a few of us doing their work and running around checking the buildings to confirm rooms were cleaned for check in. No communication with the cleaning staff and the front desk staff. Our members were very frustrated just sitting around waiting to receive their key, so they could go to their rooms and rest.

Rooms:
Members complained, when they checked into their rooms, that the sheets were not changed as they felt the beach sand in the bed.
- Rooms not cleaned, dirty, two members cleaned their own toilets
- A member of the group killed two cockroaches in their rooms
- A couple on the group had an accident in the bathroom as the member fell and hit his head which during the fall some hardware was broken. They had to move rooms and it took them a whole day without a room and only received their key to the new room at the end of the following day with a lot of intervention to get this couple their key.
- Sometimes they didn't drop water off to your room, called the last day as I needed a bottle of water, I'm still waiting for the water.
- Took 2 ½ days, to get them to come and reset the safe code, with numerous phone calls and visits to the front desk, and this particular visitor was one of the VIP members in our group which were designated as VIP at the resort.
- Took 3 days, to receive additional pillows, again VIP.

Restaurants and Bars:
- Eating at the buffet, we had halos of mosquitoes around you head, you were constantly spraying.
- The only a la carte restaurant that we used, was the seafood restaurant and unfortunately we got our dinner an hour later after the appetizers
- The juices at breakfast were very water down, very disappointed as I love the fresh squeezed juices in Cuba.
- No customer service or acknowledgement, you were at the bar for about 20 minutes, while bartender, would be filling orders, but never acknowledging you and saying they would be with you in a minute, but if someone else came to the bar, they would serve them and just ignore you, God how frustrating that was that I blew up the last night at them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
-The pools were clean and nice
- The grounds and landscaping was impeccable, the gardeners were very diligent at keeping it all very neat and manicured.

Other Comments:
I have been to Cuba around 10 times and have been in 8 different resorts, and this one hands down the worse that I have experienced. We normally get absolutely great service as we take a large group of members and are treated extremely well with all the staff being exceptional great, unfortunately I have to say, staying at this resort was the worse experience I (we) encountered. The majority of members of our group, all indicated that they will never go back to this resort, me included. They were obviously not equipped to handle a large group and didn't have the resources. The funny think is that this resort is considered a five star, that's only because at the other end of the resort they accommodate to the wealthy and they just leave the regulars to fend for themselves. In speaking to other tourist that were staying at the resort had encountered the same issues as we did, even if you were standing at the front desk to taIk to someone it took forever, for anyone to acknowledge you. I have to say, I've stayed at two Barceló's in Varadero and I've not been that impressed with them, this one by all means is the worse. I've never posted any reviews, but I'm taking the time to review this one so others know exactly what they are getting into, especially due to the mosquitoes which is a huge health issue for those who have allergies.

- Some of the staff was really nice, very few, but those one's made up for the remainder of the staff. i.e. Frank the manager was awesome, Carlos, the bell boy, was great and made a point on remembering peoples name, Dalay and Dasay, (hard names and not sure if I'm spelling them correctly) I called them D.D. were great and so was their team at the buffet and some of the chef's were also very pleasant



Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Rat in the room!"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mark  on Mar 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
537 people found this review helpful

By no means do we want to discourage anyone from going to Cuba. We had a fabulous time in Havana! Amazing city, rich with culture. A must to visit if in Cuba but the Barcelo Marina Palace is a disgrace!
We have traveled to many tropical all-inclusive resorts and never have we experienced what we encountered at this Barcelo resort. Rude and belligerent staff. Yes they do run out of wine. A la carte restaurants - no comment. Mosquitoes are welcome at this resort and other bugs as well.
Our first night there I got up at 2AM to use the washroom and encountered an eight inch rat in our room. Their reaction to the rat was unbelievable. They did not apologize in any way but rather made us feel terrible for the inconvenience we had caused them. After more than two hours of negotiating, we were moved from a king bed/ocean view room to a double bed room facing an extremely noisy road.
It should have been a week of R&R with family but who can relax when you don't feel welcome.
Thank goodness for the "fantastic six" that traveled with us. We would not have survived without them!
Visit Cuba, especially Havana, but don't make the mistake we did by staying at the Barcelo Marina Palace.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Pig with Lipstick"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Steven  on Apr 5, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2015 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
701 people found this review helpful

The lack of clean linens and towels ruined it for us. Bring sheets, towels, pillow cases and febreeze if you stay here. Be warned: Food handling practices are third world, the pools have slime problems and the beach is a wader's beach, not a swimmer's beach.

On the upside, the bar and entertainment were good.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not as advertised"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on May 24, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2015 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
754 people found this review helpful

We arrived on a Thursday Air Canada Vacations Checked in at 1;30 ish am found our room by ourselves,lucky for us we had a small flashlight. Where do I Begin ,no hot water or water pressure for 41/2 days ,dirty room , dirty sheets lack of towels and my personal favorite BEDBUGS ,they may have come from the old metal cot that took 2 days to be removed Our Air Canada rep spoke to hotel staff and our room was fumigated ,but the bugs persisted, our bed sheets were never changed,the housekeeper said there was a problem in the laundry, Our in room coffee pot did not work. the washroom (female) adjacent to the main buffet restaurant , had four stalls ,two of the toilets lacked toilet seats and the floors were always very wet. I ate fish 80% of the time as meats were not refrigerated and would sit in the open on trays, salad dressings were not refrigerated either. There were massive amounts of cigarette butts and plastic glasses littering a Beautiful beach. Most resorts rake the beached at night to remove debris, and a lot of the beach chairs were broken. On our last day we packed up our belonging sealed the plastic bags in our suitcases. for our trip home. This was our third trip to Cuba and will most likely be our Last

Room Number:
1016

Arrival:
Have someone help guests to there room if it is a late arrival Have more staff on to meet with arriving flights

Rooms:
Clean them, and not with dirty rag mops in dirty water,Clean sheets, clean floors, appliances that will function. Patio doors with working locks or at least a bar to make sure there is no unauthorized access. Make sure the hot water is working and with water pressure is there for your guests. Guests shouldn't have to complain to their Vacation Reps to be taken seriously by Resort staff. I wasn't expecting chocolates on my pillow, I was expecting basic ammenities I was not expecting bed bugs in our room,I was not expecting hotel staff to attribute the bites on my face and head and arms as sand fleas,I am not an Ostritch,

Restaurants and Bars:
The serving staff was excellent. the food was mot what one would expect from a 4 star resort Cleanliness, refrigeration keeping mayonnaise based sauces cold is a basic in food preparation, I ate fish I did not think that it was safe to eat meat or egg products . Sweet Potatoes are also known as Yams, not white potatoes in white sugar sauce. Orange juice is not a powdered fruit drink. Coffee /Tea should be served at all meals, not just at breakfast.
Sewage lagoons should not be placed, where guests have to traverse them, to arrive or leave at the main Buffett area, the odor in the air at 25degrees celcius is overwhelming and nauseating

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean the beaches ,they are not giant ashtrays, Pick up plastic cups or at least provide garbage cans/ashtrays.
Remove broken beach chairs, prove to you guests that you really care about their well being and want them to have a positive opinion of your hotel. Have one designated Adult pool where there is not excessive alcohol and swearing. I don't like playing lifeguard to strangers children'

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"**Warning** This place is infested with bed bugs"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bryce  on Feb 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
522 people found this review helpful

My parents thought it would be a great stress reliever to visit the island of Cuba. They booked their trip through a local travel agent at the Barcelo Marina Palace in hopes that it would offer the 4.5 star quality rest and relaxation one might expect on a trip of this sort. Instead, my mother was badly infested with bed bugs. My father also contracted bed bugs from this place, but my mothers case was far worse. She went to the front desk to tell them what was going on and was told to relax and go back to bed, that it was only mosquito bites. She tried, but the bites were causing her pain so she went back to the front desk asking for a different room. They insisted it was mosquitos and even mocked her for thinking it wasn't.

Eventually through persistence they were able to secure another room. The bed bug infestation continued. She started developing sores that looked like welts and went back to the front desk where they told her they had an in house doctor. The doctor told her it was a reaction from MOSQUITOS, and when asked directly if it was bed bugs he said "no".

The condition got worse, so she visited a different doctor. She got a different prescription (Benydryl) and was told to sleep it off. The condition worsened to the point where she couldnt walk around with out people pointing out the sores and locals were telling her it was clearly bed bugs. The hotel did nothing.

Apon returning home they both tried sleeping but couldn't, and made appointments with their family doctor the following day who immediately diagnosed the problem as...you guessed it...bed bugs. My fathers condition may clear up in a few days with proper medication instead of the idiotic presciption the "house doctor" provided, but my mother is requiring far more serious treatment.

All of their clothes, luggage and bedding (from home) had to be destroyed because bed bugs are known to travel on personal belongings.

They've contacted the travel agent they used who is asking if they want to use insurance to cover their lost clothing.

You should consider yourself well warned, this just happened at the beggining of February 2010 and you can see on this site and many others that this place has had multiple reports of cockroaches and bed bugs since as early as 2008 and it's still taking place 2 years later but this hotel is somehow able to continue doing business and calling itself 4-4.5 stars.

Stay at your own risk.

Rooms:
INFESTED WITH BED BUGS!!! MORE THAN 1 ROOM and more than 1 bed in the room.

Other Comments:
I can't believe North American travel agencies could have the nerve to sell packages to this bug infested hole.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube