Melia Las Antillas Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Melia Las Antillas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Barcelo Arenas Blancas

4.1 based on 66 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015

Melia Las Antillas  

Carretera Las Morlas, km 14, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"misplaced money & wallet was found & given to security by a bar waitress."
Posted by: Kathryn on Aug 2, 2015
see all reviews

Melia Las Antillas Reviews
Melia Las Antillas Pictures and Information
Melia Las Antillas Varadero Cuba

#13
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.2

Based on 36 reviews

Melia Las Antillas Information


The MeliĆ” Las Antillas spreads over six hectares of exotic Caribbean gardens with water features and exuberant plant life. The Resort is a true paradise offering some of the most comfortable accommodations in Cuba, delicious gourmet meals, and land and water sports. Recommended for nautical sports enthusiasts, couples, weddings and honeymoons.

For adults only (guests aged 16 and over)

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Las Antillas Reviews

Melia Las Antillas Review: 4.2 of 5 36 reviews
Excellent
  26
Very good
  2
Average
  1
Poor
  4
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (27)
Party (4)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (22)
Solo
1 - 10 of 36

"What a let down"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Devon  on Dec 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
193 people found this review helpful


The four star rating is a joke I think they should get one of their lazy staff to go remove a star or two from the sign

Room Number:
5123

Arrival:
Reception throughout our stay was rude, and pretty much useless.

Rooms:
Our room was old and outdated and honestly not very clean. I worried about the shape of the linens and mattress for bed bugs or anything else. we were kept up every night by two bands playing at once the first from the pool area and the second from the lobby bar. I wouldn't normally complain about something like that but the music and entertainment was incredibly lame.
There was no fan in the room, It did have a coffee maker but no grounds or filters and drinkable water only made it into your room if you left at least a few pesos kickin around for them to pocket.

Restaurants and Bars:

The food al a carte was pretty good with good service as well. The buffet was a joke unless you like dry tasteless meat and saugy frozen vegetables. Sometimes we would go a whole meal without anyone coming by to offer us a glass of water.
The beach was great but as stated on a different post there is no beach bar and the one in the bush wasn't even running.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool smells or sewage, and the hot tubs was broken

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities on the resort were really lame. We ended up leaving the resort to have a good time

Other Comments:
I spent my time hear avoiding the place. Eating in other restaurant and exploring cuba. I would never in a million years recommend this place, not even to my worst enemy if they won a free trip

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Deception"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  marie  on Oct 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
259 people found this review helpful

What a dispapointment!!!!! rated 4 + stars ???? except the extreme kindness of the staff. This hotel smell mildew in the rooms, bathroom sink cracked, curtains dirty, mini bar not replenished regularly, even the bottle of water was not delivered every day as it should have been, dirty garden, dirty plates at the buffet, etc..... Will never go back

Room Number:
6505

Arrival:
Oct. 14th

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"HEY HONEY, WHAT'S THAT SMELL?"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy  on Dec 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
267 people found this review helpful

Ok. This was not a 4+ star resort as stated in the ratings. Our room was also musty smelling. When i walked in the room, i thought, what did i just waste my money on. The first night, i slept with my sheet covering my face to difuse the smell. I don't mind cats, but there were so many in the courtyard, that when we went to the "fancy" seafood restaurant that we had to book two days in advance,there were cats walking throughout the restaurant begging for food. We too smelled the rotten eggs at the one side of the pool. There were birds everywhere in the lobby, and all of the restaurants, leaving droppings everywhere. We also had maids coming into our room after leaving the do not disturb sign up. Hotel staff was very friendly. We loved the beach. We hope veradero has much more to offer than what we experienced.

Room Number:
6505

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

""Not going back to Antillas""

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gabriel Ferreira  on Feb 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
250 people found this review helpful

Sorry to say, but I can not recommend this resort to anyone. The hotel needs a facelift, the elevators often didnot function, the bathroom was almost unusable, the hotel on a whole was extremely outdated.
Not what you would expect of a 5 Star Hotel. Very often there was no bottled water supplied to the room. Limited shower towels, the linens and towels were not clean or disenffected, and the towels smelled like rotten eggs.

Although I found the food to be resonably good, they did have fresh fish to grill and large variety of meats, it was very hard to get a reservation for the restaurants, and unfortunately there were cockaroaches seen on the table of the cakes.

I wish there was a pool bar, the shows at night were ok.

The beach was the best I have ever seen.

The staff was very friendly.



Arrival:
Feb 15 2012 to Feb 25 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Was not as good as I thought it would be"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Margaret  on Aug 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
289 people found this review helpful

In fact, the first night one of the staff just opened the door and walked into my room. I was told they just wanted to make sure that everything was okay. This was after the room was cleaned and it was around 9 in the evening. I was planning on wearing a particular blouse for my birthday. It turns out that my blouse was stolen out of my suitcase, which I didn't think I had to keep locked in my room. After that I always locked up my suitcases. First time, I've ever had anything stolen from me in a hotel. I didn't complain to the hotel cause I wanted to check my clothes at home to make sure that I actually did pack it. I did and it went missing in the hotel. I would go back to Cuba to visit but not this hotel.

Room Number:
5121

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was fantastic

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food is garbage."

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mich and Matt  on Aug 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Party | With Spouse/Partner
216 people found this review helpful

We just got in from our 3 night 4 day adventure. Let's break it down..

Loved: The beach and the pool. I read some of the below reviews and do agree there were at times a smell of rotten eggs, but it seemed very contained and we avoided that one small area. The water was clear and warm, in both the pool and the ocean.

Loved: The staff. Friendly and at times over excited, but very fun. We even spent two night drinking and smoking late into the night with the buffet staff. We plan to stay in touch with them. Service especially good at the buffet and bar pool.

Liked: The room. Nice enough. Big bed, but it seemed like it was grainy, or dusty. Mini fridge and water not staffed as hoped, but we had a great view of the gardens and it was quiet and well air conditioned.

Liked: Wildlife. Fish pond clean and well stocked, birds everywhere, and lizards of all shapes and sizes. The wild cats were cute, but unfixed and they fought a few times. They were big time mooches, but we are big time cat lovers.

Meh...: The disco, the size of the drinks (too small), the plastic chairs on the decks, and the bar hours by the beach and pool, the pool hours, the impossibility of getting restaurant reservations, the cigarettes, the wine served at dinner, no water coolers/self serve water.

Hated: The food. Will not ever, EVER go back because of how poor the food was. Everything tasted the same, and we assumed everything we ate was simply some synthetic food byproduct pressed into food shapes. It was absolutely disgusting. Not to mention the grill guy served me raw chicken. And who the heck deep fries a hot dog? We are foodies and this was simply atrocious bad.

What you can eat if you do go... Eggs, olives, chicken on the bone, bread, fruit, raw veggies, rice, pasta, turkey (just the dark meat), ice cream, pizza, hamburgers (just ok), french fries, pringles.

Room Number:
2125

Arrival:
Mid August

Rooms:
Decent.

Restaurants and Bars:
Poor.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Amazing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Decent.

Other Comments:
Try St. Lucia or Nasau.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great beach, disgusting food"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Peggy  on Sep 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
721 people found this review helpful

First trip to Cuba and stayed at the Melia Las Antillas for one week Aug 28 to Sept 3, 2010. This resort was rated as a 4+ but given our experience this is not at all accurate. Although the resort and rooms were clean and OK, they were showing their age and could use updating, especially the bedding and upholstery. The beach was fantastic, the best I have ever seen. The one pool was a good size, no swimup bar and lucky the resort was not very full. Now the reason for the two flower rating - the food. All I can say is disgusting. We are frequent travelers to the Caribbean and know that we can't expect the same quality as home but this was in most cases inedible. For example, the bacon may have seen the pan for two or three seconds but that was it, totally white and fatty. I had lobster on two nights, the first was still cold in the middle and the second was so overcooked it was like rubber.

Even with this we had a great time, met some great people but would not return to this resort and could not recommend it to others.

Peggy

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would not recommend Malia Las Antillas"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ronaye  on Oct 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
386 people found this review helpful

We arrived and was given a poor room overlooking the garbage dump. We were moved the next day by 4:00 PM, so in fact wasted a good day. The pool smelled so bad of rotten eggs it was hard to walk around the one side. There was a men's toilet out of order by the pool and wasn't fixed the entire week we were there and therefore the men began to use the women's washroom. The pool the fish swam in was so low and had such a film of scum that it was not appealing to look at. The food in the buffet was disgusting and when we sat to eat you had to have one hand on your fork and the other to swat the million flies from your food. We had a difficult time getting reservations as the 3 restaurants at the resort but when we were successful they were never even half full? The food was no better at these restaurants. I learned to survive on ice cream as this was the only food item in the resort.

They played music such as Michael Jackson, Johnny Cash, Elvis...where was the latin music that we went to enjoy. There were no activities at this resort so found it terribly boring and the week went by very slow. The evening show was not worth the effort as it was loud and boring. We only attended half of one show and never returned. I could hardly wait to leave.

However on that note, most of the staff were wonderful especially Ramone. I can't say enough good things of the people we met there and we did manage to meet some great people, but we all had the same bad experience at this resort and all agreed that to go back to Cuba we would never stay here again. We did manage to sneek into another resort and found that to be so beautiful that a return visit to Cuba is in our future, but we will pay the extra to stay at a 5 Star next trip.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was great.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Resort"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  edwina  on Jan 30, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Leisure | With Group
245 people found this review helpful

We traveled to Cuba, Melia Las Antillas, for 50th Birthday celebrations. I posted a good review on Trip Advisor, but I am so disappointed to read the negative reviews written by so many people. My fellow French Canadians are overall a negative sort of people, I hated to watch how they treated the staff as servants, no tips only demands. Discarding their cups beside their chairs and cigarette butts and ashes where they may fall.Not trying to paint all with one brush but most negative impressions came from french speaking people. I have come to Cuba for many years because of the people, they are amazing. This resort , like others, I have visited, are here to please us.The workers are amazing, please treat them with respect, as they deserve it as much as we do on a daily basis!

Room Number:
6306

Arrival:
jan17

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"misplaced money & wallet was found & given to security by a bar waitress."

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kathryn  on Aug 2, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
188 people found this review helpful

About the fourth day of our stay at Melia Las Antillas, Veraderro Cuba during the last week of Feb/2015, I inadvertently left my money & wallet on a chesterfield outside of the hotel bank. I'd stopped to convert $ to pesos & was distracted by my cousin. When I discovered that my money was missing, I immediately went to the front desk to report the missing money & wallet. The front desk staff reported to me that it had been found. She immediately called security & the gentleman arrived & counted the money out for me. Not one $ was missing. Please ensure that the hotel manager, a Lovely hard working man is commended highly for instilling the pride of honesty in his staff. As well the front desk staff, security and most of all Yaine Trujillo Rodriguez who found my wallet & money and handed it in to the front desk staff. Yaine works at the bar in the lobby and is certainly a valuable asset to your organization because of her honesty, friendliness & hard work ethic. I would really appreciate if you could arrange to have the staff receive extra money & a public commendation for this special gesture of honesty in helping to make my stay more rewarding. I can certainly vouch for the fact that quite unlikely my money would have been returned if this had happened locally or in any larger city here in Canada or USA.

Room Number:
unknown at this time

Room Block:
unknown at this time.

Arrival:
no delays

Rooms:
cleaned expertly on a daily basis

Restaurants and Bars:
excellent service & food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean, but biting sand flies at beach

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube