Melia Las Antillas Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Melia Las Antillas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Barcelo Arenas Blancas

4.1 based on 66 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015

Melia Las Antillas  

Carretera Las Morlas, km 14, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"misplaced money & wallet was found & given to security by a bar waitress."
Posted by: Kathryn on Aug 2, 2015
see all reviews

Melia Las Antillas Reviews
Melia Las Antillas Pictures and Information
Melia Las Antillas Varadero Cuba

#13
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.2

Based on 36 reviews

Melia Las Antillas Information


The MeliĆ” Las Antillas spreads over six hectares of exotic Caribbean gardens with water features and exuberant plant life. The Resort is a true paradise offering some of the most comfortable accommodations in Cuba, delicious gourmet meals, and land and water sports. Recommended for nautical sports enthusiasts, couples, weddings and honeymoons.

For adults only (guests aged 16 and over)

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Las Antillas Reviews

Melia Las Antillas Review: 4.2 of 5 36 reviews
Excellent
  26
Very good
  2
Average
  1
Poor
  4
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (27)
Party (4)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (22)
Solo
21 - 30 of 36

"Lovely time at Melia Las Antillas"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Stephen  on Mar 6, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
240 people found this review helpful

Myself and my wife travelled to Melia Las Antillas from Feb. 22-Feb. 29 and thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Check in was simple and quick, we were given a ride to our building and the bell boy brought in all our luggage for us. We had a garden view room in the villas and we did get our fridge stocked with soft drinks and beers. The staff were all very pleasant and there to make your stay enjoyable. The staff at the lobby were very friendly, especially Roni. Choice of drinks and snacks good all day, also liked the fact that it was an adult only hotel which made the pool area and the restaurants very relaxing.
We went on the catamaran trip which was fantastic.
Will definitely go back, maybe we were just lucky, but definitely different experience from some of the other reviews.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Home away from Home"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marco  on Jan 5, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
246 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at that resort for the second time as this place has something special.... the People! They recognized us right away from our first stay and everyone is amazing! The rooms are always clean, food is great everywhere on the site (Romantico, Don Peperone, Conuco and Taino buffet). The site is beautiful and very well kept by the gardeners. We will definitely go back!

Room Number:
6316

Room Block:
habitacion 6300

Arrival:
at our arrival, the front desk personnel recognized us and as usual with a big smile welcomed us and asked the bell boy to bring us a cocktail, so special!

Rooms:
Room always very clean and the mini fridge filled daily, our room lady Lily always makes sure we're not missing anything.

Restaurants and Bars:
All a la carte restaurants and buffet have such a variety of food, food is great, tasty and everyone, including waiters & waitresses are amazing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach is the most beautiful at that hotel, very spacious and animation team having many games/music are great.

Other Comments:
We recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a great time, relax and be treated like royalty. Honestly, People are amazing at that place. It is a 16 + resort which makes it perfect for us who want to truly relax on a vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What a let down"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Devon  on Dec 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
193 people found this review helpful


The four star rating is a joke I think they should get one of their lazy staff to go remove a star or two from the sign

Room Number:
5123

Arrival:
Reception throughout our stay was rude, and pretty much useless.

Rooms:
Our room was old and outdated and honestly not very clean. I worried about the shape of the linens and mattress for bed bugs or anything else. we were kept up every night by two bands playing at once the first from the pool area and the second from the lobby bar. I wouldn't normally complain about something like that but the music and entertainment was incredibly lame.
There was no fan in the room, It did have a coffee maker but no grounds or filters and drinkable water only made it into your room if you left at least a few pesos kickin around for them to pocket.

Restaurants and Bars:

The food al a carte was pretty good with good service as well. The buffet was a joke unless you like dry tasteless meat and saugy frozen vegetables. Sometimes we would go a whole meal without anyone coming by to offer us a glass of water.
The beach was great but as stated on a different post there is no beach bar and the one in the bush wasn't even running.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool smells or sewage, and the hot tubs was broken

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities on the resort were really lame. We ended up leaving the resort to have a good time

Other Comments:
I spent my time hear avoiding the place. Eating in other restaurant and exploring cuba. I would never in a million years recommend this place, not even to my worst enemy if they won a free trip

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food is garbage."

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mich and Matt  on Aug 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Party | With Spouse/Partner
217 people found this review helpful

We just got in from our 3 night 4 day adventure. Let's break it down..

Loved: The beach and the pool. I read some of the below reviews and do agree there were at times a smell of rotten eggs, but it seemed very contained and we avoided that one small area. The water was clear and warm, in both the pool and the ocean.

Loved: The staff. Friendly and at times over excited, but very fun. We even spent two night drinking and smoking late into the night with the buffet staff. We plan to stay in touch with them. Service especially good at the buffet and bar pool.

Liked: The room. Nice enough. Big bed, but it seemed like it was grainy, or dusty. Mini fridge and water not staffed as hoped, but we had a great view of the gardens and it was quiet and well air conditioned.

Liked: Wildlife. Fish pond clean and well stocked, birds everywhere, and lizards of all shapes and sizes. The wild cats were cute, but unfixed and they fought a few times. They were big time mooches, but we are big time cat lovers.

Meh...: The disco, the size of the drinks (too small), the plastic chairs on the decks, and the bar hours by the beach and pool, the pool hours, the impossibility of getting restaurant reservations, the cigarettes, the wine served at dinner, no water coolers/self serve water.

Hated: The food. Will not ever, EVER go back because of how poor the food was. Everything tasted the same, and we assumed everything we ate was simply some synthetic food byproduct pressed into food shapes. It was absolutely disgusting. Not to mention the grill guy served me raw chicken. And who the heck deep fries a hot dog? We are foodies and this was simply atrocious bad.

What you can eat if you do go... Eggs, olives, chicken on the bone, bread, fruit, raw veggies, rice, pasta, turkey (just the dark meat), ice cream, pizza, hamburgers (just ok), french fries, pringles.

Room Number:
2125

Arrival:
Mid August

Rooms:
Decent.

Restaurants and Bars:
Poor.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Amazing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Decent.

Other Comments:
Try St. Lucia or Nasau.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

""Not going back to Antillas""

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gabriel Ferreira  on Feb 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
251 people found this review helpful

Sorry to say, but I can not recommend this resort to anyone. The hotel needs a facelift, the elevators often didnot function, the bathroom was almost unusable, the hotel on a whole was extremely outdated.
Not what you would expect of a 5 Star Hotel. Very often there was no bottled water supplied to the room. Limited shower towels, the linens and towels were not clean or disenffected, and the towels smelled like rotten eggs.

Although I found the food to be resonably good, they did have fresh fish to grill and large variety of meats, it was very hard to get a reservation for the restaurants, and unfortunately there were cockaroaches seen on the table of the cakes.

I wish there was a pool bar, the shows at night were ok.

The beach was the best I have ever seen.

The staff was very friendly.



Arrival:
Feb 15 2012 to Feb 25 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Love it !!!!"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Denitsa  on Feb 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Party | Solo
256 people found this review helpful

Oommmggg i just came back,and i want to go againnn ..... i love u melia las antillas!i will come back next year!

Room Number:
6215

Arrival:
7.02.2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"HEY HONEY, WHAT'S THAT SMELL?"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy  on Dec 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
268 people found this review helpful

Ok. This was not a 4+ star resort as stated in the ratings. Our room was also musty smelling. When i walked in the room, i thought, what did i just waste my money on. The first night, i slept with my sheet covering my face to difuse the smell. I don't mind cats, but there were so many in the courtyard, that when we went to the "fancy" seafood restaurant that we had to book two days in advance,there were cats walking throughout the restaurant begging for food. We too smelled the rotten eggs at the one side of the pool. There were birds everywhere in the lobby, and all of the restaurants, leaving droppings everywhere. We also had maids coming into our room after leaving the do not disturb sign up. Hotel staff was very friendly. We loved the beach. We hope veradero has much more to offer than what we experienced.

Room Number:
6505

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Hotel Ever!!!!"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  R & M  on Nov 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
286 people found this review helpful

When i first came to the hotel i was speechless is was such a beautiful place to be in. The food was amazing especially the deserts. The deserts my husband and I ate were nothing we have ever teasted before in any other resort.The resort was rated a 5 stars but for the food i must say i would rate it a 6 stars. The weather wasn't the best we only had 2 day of sun but the hotel(Mellia Las Antillas) was what made the hole situation so much better. I would recommend everyone one to experience going to varadero, Cuba and staying at the best hotel Mellia Las Antillas and the service was the best there too everyone was very friendly and kind. Can't wait to go there again!

Room Number:
2111

Room Block:
main

Rooms:
rate 1-10 i give it 8.5

Restaurants and Bars:
the restaurants were the best
Rate 1-10 i give it a 10!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach 1-10 i give it a 9
pool 1-10 give it a 8

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the activities were very good many activities to do
rate 1-10 i give it a 10

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Deception"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  marie  on Oct 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
259 people found this review helpful

What a dispapointment!!!!! rated 4 + stars ???? except the extreme kindness of the staff. This hotel smell mildew in the rooms, bathroom sink cracked, curtains dirty, mini bar not replenished regularly, even the bottle of water was not delivered every day as it should have been, dirty garden, dirty plates at the buffet, etc..... Will never go back

Room Number:
6505

Arrival:
Oct. 14th

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Was not as good as I thought it would be"

Melia Las Antillas
User Rating:  Melia Las Antillas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Margaret  on Aug 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
289 people found this review helpful

In fact, the first night one of the staff just opened the door and walked into my room. I was told they just wanted to make sure that everything was okay. This was after the room was cleaned and it was around 9 in the evening. I was planning on wearing a particular blouse for my birthday. It turns out that my blouse was stolen out of my suitcase, which I didn't think I had to keep locked in my room. After that I always locked up my suitcases. First time, I've ever had anything stolen from me in a hotel. I didn't complain to the hotel cause I wanted to check my clothes at home to make sure that I actually did pack it. I did and it went missing in the hotel. I would go back to Cuba to visit but not this hotel.

Room Number:
5121

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was fantastic

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube