Barcelo Arenas Blancas Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Barcelo Arenas Blancas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Barcelo Arenas Blancas  

Calle 64 e/ 1ra Ave y Autopista, Varadero. Matanzas. Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Very pretty place but not clean."
Posted by: Beverly on Mar 3, 2015
see all reviews

Barcelo Arenas Blancas Reviews
Barcelo Arenas Blancas Pictures and Information
Barcelo Arenas Blancas Varadero Cuba

#3
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 66 reviews

Barcelo Arenas Blancas Information



This family hotel is located in the best coast line of Varadero beach, not far from downtown. Its infrastructure is a combination of both modernity and comfort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Arenas Blancas Reviews

Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 4.1 of 5 66 reviews
Excellent
  31
Very good
  21
Average
  5
Poor
  8
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (27)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (10)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
11 - 20 of 66

"We had a blast"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  terry  on May 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
353 people found this review helpful

We stayed at Barcelo Arenas Blancas and we had a blast the staff was great and the food was great we had a very good time for our first time going cant wait to go back next year.

Room Number:
5333

Arrival:
when we arrived we were will greeted and i did not have to wait for our room it was great

Rooms:
rooms were always clean and very nice rooms with a nice big bed and bath room was very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
the food was great and the staff were osem the bars were very good and the sirvice was great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pools and beaches and the grounds were very clean

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very poor room cleaning"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gerri  on Mar 23, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
314 people found this review helpful

Stayed at the arenas blancas for two yrs. and still no change.The room floor was never wash or swept while we were there.Towels never changed nor any cleaning of tub,sink or vanity.I don't mind the hotel is old and dated but it does not take much to sweep and dust.Our glasses were rinsed out and just turned upside down on vanity.
I love the friendly people there and that is why we went back but no more.the Solymar owns the Blancs so I heard but all the renovations and money seem to be put in that hotel.
If we go back to Cuba it will be at a different resort unless there is a complete overhaul done.

Room Number:
4206

Arrival:
WE arrived on the 13th of March/12 and hd to wait until after 5pm to get a room.Laundry was not ready for room because of trouble in the laundry.

Restaurants and Bars:
No problems

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
some gooming at beach but nothing major at either

Other Comments:
If rooms are cleaned every day and clean towels every second or third day would be a big plus.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a blast at Arenas Blancas !!"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
331 people found this review helpful

Great Location.
Building itself could use upgrades. But it's an older resort. The are noticeably working on projects.
Everyday, all day activites for all age groups.
Food, I had no complients. Stick to things that you like and have had before.
Fresh buns and bread. Fruit, Veggies. Chicken, beef, fish, eggs, pastas, rice. Many, many thongs to choose from.

Room Number:
In the 5200s

Arrival:
Quick check in. Nice desk staff.
Ask questions about what you'd like to know, they are helpful.

Rooms:
Comfy and clean.
Tip your maid, and she'll give special attention, that will pay off.

Restaurants and Bars:
Nice waitresses/waiters. And hosts.
Bar tenders bend over backwards for you.
The guests keep them busy,busy.
Tip them. They deserve it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Amazing beach!
Awesome beach staff. Security / Life guards.
2 "sides" to choose from.
"music/ volleyball beach" or "relax" beach. Hey Baywatch! ;)
Both great beaches.
Clean enough. Doesn't gel that tourist throw garbage around.
It's a shame people leave their manners at home on their vacations.
That would help a great deal, If people just picked up after them selves.
Same with ciggeratte smoking! Just because you can smoke eveywhere in Cuba, doesn't mean you have to.
And use a damn ashtray !!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"j ai beaucoup aimé ce site surement je vais y retournée en 2012"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  claire  on Jan 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
259 people found this review helpful

arrivée le 11 décembre avec ma belle-fille nous y avons séjournées jusqu au 18 décembre beau soleil nous y avons fait de belles rencontres. mario terry nicolas marc paméla et bob et surtout un nommé denis dont je n ai pas pris le é-mail et dont je regrette un peu car il était tres gentil mais nous nous sommes rencontrés seulement le dernier soir.........peut etre la prochaine fois qui sait? électricien a la retraite il demeurait environ a 1 heure de québec et moi a tremblant dans les laurentides. pour ce qui est du site la plage est a faire rever ils ont bien raison de dire que c est la plus belle plage de cuba. bonne nourriture bons drinks toujours avec les amis rencontrés nous allons y retournées c est sur.... moi j adore cuba et je repars en janvier le 16 au sol cayo santa maria pour la quatrieme fois c est une magnifique destination tres tres tres bonne bouffe et elza ainsi que yosvani sont des employés supers accueillants et souriants alors viva cuba salute claire

Room Number:
1

Room Block:
500

Arrival:
bien accueillies

Rooms:
biens

Restaurants and Bars:
bonne bouffe bons drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
plage a couper le souffle

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I love Cuba but will never stay at this resort again."

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  C.  on Apr 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
348 people found this review helpful

I just returned from a 3 day holiday in Cuba and was very disappointed with this resort. Thank goodness for the services of its sister hotel the Barcelo Solymar next door. I have never been anywhere with such poor customer service. Even from the bartenders. There were some people on staff that were nice, mainly in the main dining room, the bell hops and the animation crew. Very few aside from that. The simplest request was met resistance or outright rudness. The Solymar next door had wonderful staff that were always friendly and polite. I'm so glad that we had a chance to spend our days there or our trip would have been ruined.

Room Number:
4011

Arrival:
April 20/11

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was hit and miss. The quality was not as good as the Solymar. I've had better and more variety at the 3 1/2 star Grande Caribe Puntarenas than at either of the Barcelos resorts. The biggest problem at the Arenas Blancas is that there were flies everywhere.

The drinks were okay but I found the bartender to be very rude. They were nicer at the Solymar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
No complaints here. Beautiful and clean. The whirlpools didn't work which was too bad but the beach made up for it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't go out.

Other Comments:
I will offer one example of the rudeness I am referring to- We were given 3 beach towels upon arrival, one for each guest. Our room didn't have a balcony as we were on the ground floor so we had no where to dry the towels.
The first day, they were wet so I left them on the floor for the maid as they requested for the other towels. They were not picked up so the next day I went to the front desk and asked if I could get fresh towels as ours were wet. I was told no. That those towels would be the only ones that I would get for the remainder of my stay. I told them that I had no where to dry them and was told that was too bad but I could not get any more towels. Since we couldn't take any of the white towels out to the beach we were basically stuck with dirty wet towels for most of our trip. I'm glad that this was not my first time in Cuba and that I knew what the serviece is usually like.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"bad experience"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie and David  on Apr 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
348 people found this review helpful

The weather, the beach and the pool were beautiful but the resort is very run down. Even though we had a renovated room it still needed work. We had a fantastic view from our room and the resort was o.k. but the service was terrible. We had to check everyday to see if we had been left clean towels and drinking water. There was no water pressure on our wing and we lost the water all together some days and couldn't even flush the toilet. Our fridge leaked. The day before we left our room didn't get made up so had to go to the service desk to report it and request it be done,with clean towels. The elevator didn't work half the time so we had to use the stairs and we were on the 5th floor. There was only one computer and the system was down more then it was up. We stood in line ups everyday to try and book our a la cartes' only to be told to come back later, the system was down. Check in time was suppose to be at 4:00 P.M. but our room wasn't ready until 4:30-4:40 P.M. We arrived at the hotel that morning at 10:10 A.M.and we were not met by a Sunwing rep. It was a bad experience and a real disappointment for our first vacation.

Room Number:
4404

Arrival:
When we arrived at 10:10 A.M.we were told our room would be ready at 4:00P.M. and it wasn't ready until 4:30-4:40 P.M. It was a long day.

Rooms:
Poor water pressure

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was terrible.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I miss this place already. =("

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jasmine Amanda  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
383 people found this review helpful

I just came back from arenas blancas yesterday. I really had a blast. I was expecting a lot but I definitely got more of what I was expecting. The staff members at arenas blancas are so nice and warm. They're also always there to help you. I went for spring break with my mom and they really had nice night activities for the kids. It was called mini disco.. the little kids loved it. Also after that at around 9:45 every night they had a group of professional dancers that danced on the stage (arenas blancas or solymar)and they were amazing and so nice. That's probably my favorite thing of the trip.:) When it comes to the food well... I am a very picky person I don't like a lot. But maybe for others the food was excellent. I have to say that I'm not use to this kind of food so that's probably why I wasn't to crazy about it. One last thing that amazed me it's that the cubans are all so talented. I realized that :)
I would definitely go back (I didn't even wanted to leave from there) any time soon. HOPEFULLY!

Room Number:
4117

Room Block:
?

Arrival:
The arrival in Cuba, Havana was really nice. They really open there arms for you and make you feel comfy after a long plane ride. Then the arrival at Arenas Blancas was normal, you go check in. s

Rooms:
The rooms were nice and comfy. I really liked it.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurant/ buffet was okay but the bar WOW I loved it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beyond beautiful. I loved it. There wasn't anybody coming up to you and bothering you to buy something (like in other counties) they would just stay in their corner. The pool was nice, big and very clean. The grounds... WOW. I loved everything.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I don't really know because I didn't do any activities out of the resort excepting for swimming with the dolphins. I loved swimming with them. It's amazing how fully trained they are but I have to admit that at first I was really scared but after a while I got used to it and would definitely go back and swim with them.

Activities on the resort: The activities at the hotel (arenas Blancas) were a lot of fun. I loved it and loved the people animating them. I practically love the people in Cuba.

Other Comments:
I LOVE THE PEOPLE IN ARENAS BLANCAS/SOLYMAR RESORT. I would go back anytime soon! :D

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Off the hook"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  nick  on Feb 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Party | Family and Kids
317 people found this review helpful

I stayed at arenas blancas in january 2011 it was the best time of my life. i met the sexiest cuban woman ever . she made my trip very memerable.
the food was exelent ask for the entertainer tricky nicky he will make sure you have the best crabs in cuba

Room Number:
189

Arrival:
jan 9 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Trip"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Allyson  on Feb 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
301 people found this review helpful

Our first trip to Cuba (previous trips to Jamaica and Mayan) and would recommend this resort; the Arenas Blancas joined with Barcelo Solymar which makes the grounds expansive with three wonderful pools, lots of restaurants and bars. Food acceptable, something for everyone and the room was just fine for all the time you spend in it. Coffee is amazing. Scooter rental big hit, roads not very busy and Veradero markets fun with unintrusive vendors.Banking very convenient in Arenas. Communication does not seem to be their strong point but you're on holidays so take time to figure it out yourself! Would recommend Havana day trip and the Catamaran trip to Cayo Blanco was a blast.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a wonderful time."

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy  on Jan 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
309 people found this review helpful

I can only assume that things have changed for the better since some of the previous reviews were written, because we had an excellent time at Arenas Blancas from December 30, 2010 to January 6, 2011. The rooms were clean, the elevators reliable, the food was decent, and the staff personable. We were fortunate to have had great weather. There were items in our room that could use repair, but nothing was so bad as to be unacceptable. We did not get clean towels in our room until the last day, but fresh good-quality beach towels could be obtained from the pool kiosk. I think attitude is an important factor in Cuba. To have a good experience you need to embrace the positives (beautiful beach, safe surroundings, clean bed, interesting culture and people talking to one another instead of texting on their cellphones) and let go of the little irritants. I will return.

Arrival:
Bring a bathing suit or change of clothes in your carry-on. You may need to wait for your room. Check out the bar or the town.

Rooms:
Clean, somewhat in need of repair but basically okay. Hotel staff were willing to fix things if they could. Be polite. Nice view from oceanside fourth floor balcony.

Restaurants and Bars:
Always something to eat. Good strong coffee. Not the same as home or anything I wanted to gorge on, but that's a good thing, isn't it?

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach, pool and grounds. The ocean was warmer than the pool. The Solymar hotel part of the beach was more lively, the Arenas Blancas more laid back.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Hit and miss. The band Neptuno and dancers performed on several evenings and were absolutely great!

Other Comments:
Great location, walking-distance and minutes from the town of Varadero.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube