Barcelo Arenas Blancas Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Barcelo Arenas Blancas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Barcelo Arenas Blancas  

Calle 64 e/ 1ra Ave y Autopista, Varadero. Matanzas. Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Very pretty place but not clean."
Posted by: Beverly on Mar 3, 2015
see all reviews

Barcelo Arenas Blancas Reviews
Barcelo Arenas Blancas Pictures and Information
Barcelo Arenas Blancas Varadero Cuba

#3
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 66 reviews

Barcelo Arenas Blancas Information



This family hotel is located in the best coast line of Varadero beach, not far from downtown. Its infrastructure is a combination of both modernity and comfort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Arenas Blancas Reviews

Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 4.1 of 5 66 reviews
Excellent
  31
Very good
  21
Average
  5
Poor
  8
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (27)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (10)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
21 - 30 of 66

"Inolvidable y maravilloso"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sra. MIRYAM VELASQUEZ  on Oct 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: Oct, 2010
613 people found this review helpful

Es maravilloso, sus instalciones son preciosas, nuestra estadía estuvo comprendida entre el día 10 de octubre de 2010 y el día 15 del mismo mes, realmente quedamos fascinados con la atención y calidad humana de todos sus empleados, andan muy pendientes de los turistas, recordamos mucho al grupo de animación sus shows nocturnos, son muy talentosos, así como los que atendían tood lo relacionado con los licores con los snakcs y fianlmente la piscina es bien grande.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very dissapointed"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joe  on Sep 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
315 people found this review helpful

I will be as honest as possible. The only nice thing about this hotel was the touristsi met and the pool was gorgeous. I was there from Sept 13 2010 to sept 20 2010. When i checked in i had to wait at least 1 and a half hours for 1 towel. i just wanted to take a shower. the buffet was pathetic. I have videos and pictures to prove my point. There was absolutely no variety.At most there were 3 trays with hot food, the rest was salads or vegetables.We ate out every lunch and dinner. Even the employees agreed that the food,and i use the word lightly was non existing. The security staff who are suppose to make sure that onlt the hotel guests could get in were caught on video (which i have) sleeping on there watch. The front desk girl aswell was fast asleep on her desk.(again i have videos)The hotel was infested with cats. In the 7 days i was there we witnessed 2 kittens dying. It took the staff 5 days to finally discard of one of the kittens which i had wrapped in a napkin,"so that the kids would not see this".
I was injured on a scooter accident, nothing major but the hotel nurse who was suppose to be in at 8:30am showed up 2 i repeat 2 days later to finally dissifect my cut and put a bandaid on it. The only good thing that the staff was good at was pressuring people to give them there personel belongings before they left. I had about 10 staff members ask me for my nike running shoes? It was a very unconfortable feeling. The power went out twice for about 2 hours.The surrounding hotels had power. Beleive it or not at about 5:30 am you can witness all the staff collecting plastic glasses from the garbage and the pool area to wash them and reuse them.I have video of this aswell?Ive stayed in different hotels in Varadero, usually 3 stars and the quality of the food and service was much better than this so called 4 star hotel.I was looking forward to leaving this place that i did not even wait for the bus on the departure day. I taxi'd it with the friend i was with. This was my 7th trip to varadero and i can easily say that i have never regretted a hotel stay as much as this one. I honestly regret going to this hotel. The 24hr snack bar closes often for hours at a time??

Rooms:
The room was nice.I had pressure in my shower and did not see one insect in my room, my friend rarely had pressure and no hot water

Restaurants and Bars:
The bar was ok. Staff there tried there best to serve us right

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Gorgeous beach but that has nothing to do with this Hotel.

Other Comments:
I Would not recommend this place

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't believe all you read from reviews"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dan  on Aug 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
337 people found this review helpful

We have stayed at this resort 5 times and they treat you well,food is cuban and good.
A little respect to the people goes a long way as they are very polite and courtious.
Any one who wants the ritz should stay home, go and enjoy the people and the country.

Arrival:
fast and courtious

Rooms:
clean and good size

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet always has something for everyone unless you are a picky eater.
alacartes are very good. Bar staff are friendly if you know how to say please and thank you

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
wonderful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very good

Other Comments:
we love this country and the resort treats us very good and the staff are friendly. Don't believe all you hear.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"we had a great time"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Uthaya  on Jul 26, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010
651 people found this review helpful

We was at Arenas Blancas from July 19th to July 24th. my kids enjoyed their time very much at the sandy beach. the pool is huge and clean. food is ok. clean. but they will close the lobby bar at nights. but pool bar is open 24 hours. some staffs are very friendly but most of them having a communiction problem. this is the second time for us to be at cuba. last year we was at cayo co co. very friendly people. almost every one of them there was friendly. we was little disappointed about that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Anne  on Jul 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) DENMARK
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
275 people found this review helpful

I Love it!

Arrival:
Very good

Rooms:
Good

Restaurants and Bars:
Good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good

Other Comments:
A very nice place!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DO NOT STAY HERE - WORST RESORT EVER !!!"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  William  on May 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
254 people found this review helpful

Do not stay at this Resort. Just trust me.....it is horrible!!!! Everything was nasty!!

Your Arrival:
Awfull............No Reception Staff

Rooms:
Keep the lights on. Spare the toilet paper....or bring your own!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Service horrible, flies everwhere, cats in heat with broken legs wandering in and out.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not maintained....I had to clean the cig butts out of the sand for my child to build a sand castle. Broken glass everywhere...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Even though its adviertised..it does not exsist.....deadbolts and chain on the childrens activity door...

Other Comments:
Food - Even for Cuba, it was worse than dog food. If I fed it to my dog he would not even eat it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Waste of time and money"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rachel  on Apr 30, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
255 people found this review helpful

I just came back from Arenas Blancas 4 days ago and unfortunately it was the most horrible resort my group had ever seen.
When we got there it took them over 4 hours to have our rooms ready, in that time we were forced to stay in our travel cloths (hot track pants) and leave our bags in the lobby because they refused to store them for us.
When we actually did get our rooms, we found 2 double beds when we requested 1 king size bed, the t.v was broken,we had a huge rust stain in our bathtub,the pictures on the wall had broken glass in them.
Not a "4 star resort"
They say that what is in your mini fridge is "complementary" mean when that's gone..that's it. We drank all our water within the first 24 hours and they threw away our bottles so we could not refill them, the bar doesn't provided bottled water and the hotel refuses to provide anymore bottled water.
The food was the most vile crap I have ever encountered.
If someone served it to me in Canada I would throw it at them!
We tried to book a la carte restaurants the day after we arrived and they told us we could only book 1 of the 3 because they were all booked, i don't know when they expected us to book these restaurants but.....welcome to Cuba..where the customer is always wrong.
Once we got to the a la carte restaurant we quickly realized it was the exact same gut wrenching food they serve at the buffet only now at least there's good service.
You can't sit in the buffet with being nearly carried away by flies.
Late one night we found cockroaches coming from the snack bar (the only decent place to eat)
The grill, pasta bar, and any other cooking utensils are absolutely filthy!
If you have any type of food allergy or sensitive stomach..stay away from this resort..
they have cross contamination like you would not believe.
"What do you mean you don't want raw fish on your raw chicken"
We tipped every service person we came into contact with and they were still rude!
I work in the service industry and typically you get a tip when the service was good-excellent.
The Cuban people act like assholes at best and still think they deserve a tip!
Our towels and sheets were not changed at all through the week.
By the end of our trip we might as well slept in the sand, which might not be such a bad idea since my boyfriends extremities are completely covered in bites from god knows where from this filthy resort!
We came home and he has not been able to work for 4 days due to the horrible bites and staph infection he acquired at Arenas Blancas.
Because of my groups experience here it's safe to say I wouldn't send my worst enemy to this resort.
I think anyone who liked this place must have severely low standard and/or sniffing glue.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We are going back 4th time"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Carole  on Apr 1, 2010  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010
586 people found this review helpful

We are counting down the days, We are a family of 4 two adults & 2 kids, ages 14 and 8, This will be our 4th time to AB and this time we are staying for 2 weeks, WE CANT WAIT, We feel like we are going home. Looking forward to seeing our friends that we have made over the years... If anyone has recently come back, can you tell me if, Antuanet and Karaina, Dianna are still there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Arenas Blancas has gone downhill"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ken  on Feb 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
238 people found this review helpful

We just returned from Arenas Blancas on Jan 30. This hotel has gone downhill since the last time we visited 2 years ago. Lets start with the food. The food was disappointing at the least. Not much variety, unless you like fish, which seemed to be served at almost every meal, except breakfast. Now, I know you don't go to Cuba for the food, but at least you should have some variety. The best part of each meal, was the bread.............its incrediable There is a lot of theft on this resort. I left a $250 pair of sandals of the beach, while we were helping the beach guy stack the beach chairs. We walked away and I remembered them about 20 minutes later. I walked back to the beach and the guy never saw them. ............yeah right. I offered a reward to the pool and beach staff to get them back, but it never happened even though you could tell by talking to them, that either they had them or they knew who did. I met a lady that had left her sunglasses on the table in the buffet, she walked to the elevator about 100 feet away, remembered them, went back, and they were gone and the staff never saw them. Tourists would never steal sandals or sunglasses as they usually bring their own.

Your Arrival:
Our arrival was ontime and very friendly.

Rooms:
rooms were decent. Very old mattersses and fixtures. If you want a nice shower, forget it. The water pressure is non existent and it is iffy if you can regulate the temperature. At one point, our room was full of ants, which the chambermaids didn't care about and either did anyone else. We had to put up with them

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant was a big disappointement.
The food was way below the quality we enjoyed 2 years ago. If you like fish, its the place to go. There was no quality or selection to any of the dishes.

We tried the Italian restaurant twice, which was a big disappointment both times. The food was cold and bland both times. Don't have the soup, unless you like it cold as was the case with all the dishes including the Canneloni, lasagna, pizza, etc. We kept trying to order the lobster pizza, but it was never available.

The Internnational restaurant was fantastic on our first visit. The lobster was terrific even though there was an extra $12 charge for this, even though it was only a $10 charge for the same lobster being served out the back door of the same restaurant to the beach bar.

Our second visit was a disappointment as we got an inexperienced waitress who messed up all 8 of our orders, then brought a dish that no one at the table had ordered, so, she just left it anyway. The waitresses were supposed to remove the lobster tail meat from the shell, which is a very simple task but being inexperienced, she totally shredded the meat, leaving a pile of shredded lobster on the plate, which could have been used for the lobster pizza in the Italian restaurant.....lol. The other 5 people in our group had no problem removing it. They don't give you any dipping butter, as you don't need it, because of the way its cooked. When done right, its amazing.

The downfall at each of the restaurants is the tipping. You are expected to tip at every meal, regardless of the quality. The more you tip, the better service you recieve. You also have all the staff trying to sell you either coffee beans, or rum, stolen from the restaurants and bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is amazing. All 20 kms of it is groomed every night and the water is clear and clean. You have the lifeguards trying to sell you cigars which are either stolen or made from bannana leaves. You can buy them single or by the box. The problem with buyiing them by the box, if you are thinkng of taking them home, is you had better have a reciept if you get stopped at customs on the way home. The pool is kept clean . the only problem with the pool is they have way too many lawn chairs around it. You are side by side and have no room the move. They don't have pool bar service or recreational entertainment during the day

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are no activities on the resort that we saw in the 2 weeks that we were there. They would announce different activities by the pool, but they never developed. We didn't see any activities on the beach. The only children's activities that we saw were feeding all the cats that hang around the buffet restaurant. That kept the kids busy after each meal.

Other Comments:
This hotel has gone downhill since the last time we visited 2 years ago, It doesn't matter where we went in Varadero, everyone was trying to rip you off. From trying to charge you tax, which doesn't exist in Cuba, to removing price tags if they see you looking at something, then raising the price when you ask about the item, they are all out to try and rip you off, which is very disappointing to say the least, and is the main reason we will not be visiting Cuba in the near future

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"AMAZING TIME...I'M GOING BACK NEXT YEAR!!!!"

Barcelo Arenas Blancas
User Rating:  Barcelo Arenas Blancas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Jan 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
246 people found this review helpful

...

Your Arrival:
Bus picked us up...everything was simple.
Must change money into cuban convertible pesos for the tipping.

Rooms:
Rooms were fine. There was absolutely nothing wrong with them. They were clean and completely bug free. The only thing was the lack of heat but that was due to the very cold weather which was unusual. Be prepared for little hot water in showers.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet food was good. I loved the international restaurant...service was great there. The Cuban and Italian weren't as good. I heard so many bad reviews about the food that i was really worried but when i got there, there was always something good. The snack bar by the pool had hamburgers, hotdogs, and french fries which were all yummy :)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and pool were GORGEOUS. UNBEATABLE.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The animators were great...except when the weather was cold they seemed to have disappeared lol. After the show that starts at around 10, the animators announced which club was popular for that night and would invite anyone who wants to go to meet in the lobby at 11:30 ish. If you go to varadero to have a fun time...which me and my friends did...then you have to go to the clubs outside the hotel. Every night was a different club and they were all so much fun filled with both tourists and cubans. The streets are super safe so no worries there. The clubbing made the vacation absolutely amazing!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube