Cubanacan Colonial Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Cubanacan Colonial reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2014

Melia Cayo Coco

4.2 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 28, 2014

Cubanacan Colonial  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Morón, Ciego de Avila, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"it has a ice location"
Posted by: ray on Jul 31, 2014
see all reviews

Cubanacan Colonial Reviews
Cubanacan Colonial Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Colonial Cayo Coco Cuba

#1
of 10 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 74 reviews

Cubanacan Colonial Information


This All Inclusive beach resort has a delightful village feel to it, with colourful courtyards and "roads" leading to restaurants, sports facilities and guest rooms.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Colonial Reviews

Cubanacan Colonial Review: 3.7 of 5 74 reviews
Excellent
  26
Very good
  21
Average
  14
Poor
  7
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (52)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (11)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (35)
Solo
1 - 10 of 74

"it has a ice location"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  ray  on Jul 31, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
7 people found this review helpful

It is a quiet place to stay for your vacation. The location is perfect and i had an amazing time there. The staff is really amazing because they were really amazing and tried to be available for whatever it is they asked for. The rooms were very clean and it was usually just cleaned out daily, the bed was really comfortable and the sheets were clean. There was constant supply of hot water and the shower was working very well, the air conditioned functioned well as well. The food was really good and of high quality and was really delicious. The resort is big and has two pools, the food was amazing but there wasn’t enough staff waiting on the guests so you had to wait for quite some time before someone attended to you. The beach was busy and also narrow even though the resort is a quiet place. The guests I met here during my stay were mostly the Canadian ones but I don’t mind, it even made me feel more The animation team was very energetic in making sure that the guests were not bored and given good entertainment just that I feel that the team is small. This is really a nice place to stay that is quiet, if you need a holiday resort where you can go to and have peace and quiet, then this is the place for you. Awesome beach and environment, I will be back here for another good vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Solid 3 1/2 star with potention but also problems"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Doug  on Jan 29, 2013  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
139 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
3137

Room Block:
31

Arrival:
Got a great last minute deal with Air Canada Vacations. First time with ACV and I am happy to give up cheap wine and food of the rest for more leg room and seat back screens that ACV flights have. We had a mid afternoon departure from Toronto and late evening arrival at Colonial which suited us just fine.

Arriving in the dark is not the best at any Cuban hotels but I've never had one you had to search for the reception desk. Buildings are labelled with a name but why is there no number on the sign. Even with a map and a flashlight, it's a bit of a challenge.

Rooms:
The rooms are 3 1/2 stars for Cuba. We paid an extra $20 pp for oceanview and got a second floor room in Bldg 31 which has an awesome view of the palm trees and beach within 100'. No musty smell, a/c is quiet and worked well, lots of closet space and a free electronic room safe. The patio door is the older wood door style which is a plus as many Cuban rooms have sliding patio doors which are often broken.
However,there are a few problems. There is no door into the bathroom and only a 6' high glass shield between the toilet/tub/shower and the rest of the bathroom. It was not a biggie for us but some people would not accept the lack of privacy. There was also large gaps between the window frames. They were large enough to put in your fingers, which meant that our room (and we heard of others) had mosquitoes in the room each night. That's not something we expected. You should not have to wear deet when you go to bed.
The bed was hard, as expected, but old so it was hard and soft at the same time. Not comfortable at all.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is Cuban 3 star, no more no less. I've been to 4 stars in Cuban and if I could have found a deal, I would have returned to one. The selection at the buffet is OK, better than 2 1/2 star but not nearly the selection and care in preparation we see in a 4 star. This is the first resort I have been to in Cuba where the fish was not good. We love fish but it was overdone, mushy and oily, every time we tried it, whether it was the buffet or a la carte.
There was no problem running out of food but if you arrive late, expect to set your own table. They are great at clearing tables but not at resetting them. When you try to do it yourself, the servers complain.
They did have shrimp skewers at one grill but they were shell-on and next to inedible. We sat with 4 others who had shrimp and all of us tried them, then left them.
The a la cartes were the same as the buffet except better service. Food is not prepared fresh, it all comes out of a steam table, just like the buffet. We had chicken twice, once was OK, once was super tough.
The Colonial pizza at the Yarey Grill is outstanding. Open after 12:30 and only for lunch, it is the best pizza we have had in Cuba and even better than any we've had in Italy. Well worth a visit but order Colonial, not other pizza varieties.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is very nice with a long stretch for walking. The beach at Tryp is narrower for a short stretch but Tryp has a much more gradual entry which is better for kids and better for calm water if you have windy days. The big problem when we were there was that at Colonial, they raked the seaweed, then dumped it behind the palapas. That's where the sand fleas are and I got bitten badly on the legs because I put my lounger under the palapa to avoid getting burned. Should have applied more deet. Tryp did not seem to pile up the seaweed and not have sand fleas. The beach is not as nice as Cayo Santa Maria but not far behind.

They have a salt water plus a fresh water pools. I didn't use them but they all looked clean. I'd rate the beach and pools as 4*, just take your deet in case.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was a piano bar, 24 hr. bar, 2x pool bars, lobby bar, disco bar, beach bar and they all had pleasant, accommodating bartenders who knew their job and did it well. They made good drinks and were very willing to make it as you requested. Everyone seemed to enjoy the entertainment and we loved a quiet night in the piano bar with very good musicians who played any requests. One night there were 2 former former musicians visit from Tryp and that night was one of the most memorable ever. Truly amazing music. The bars are 4* both for staff and entertainment.
I'm not a disco or animation guy but everyone seemed to enjoy the show. I've watched really good animation performances and this is not in that class but it is good.

Other Comments:
Other problems: There is no Cadeca so you are forced to change $$ at reception. When we were there, they were paying 94 CUC per 100 Cdn. Yet, people have reported that the same week, Tryp was 97. That bugs me.
They also ran out of money many days at noonish and it wasn't replenished until 3:00 pm. I went up one day after lunch to get CUCs and the reception guy was standing there with his hands full of CUC bills and said to me, 'sorry, no money' After protesting at customer relations, they suddenly 'found' CUCs for me. That bugs me too.
They also ran out of internet cards. Maybe not their fault but still a PITA. I like to be able to email back home upon arrival just to let family know our room number.

What separates this from a 4 star resort: the 24 hr. grill has a very limited menu and they run out of burgers some nights. We've been to 4* resorts with much more extensive selection and nicer seating. As stated, 4*s have a much nicer main buffet and far superior staff in the buffet. It wouldn't take all that much to boost this 3 1/2 star up to 4 but from what I've been told by regulars, it's actually gone down since Blau management left. We saw a lot of great staff but time and again, it seemed management needed to be upgraded.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First time to Cuba and the Blau and we're booked to go back march 2013!!!"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mona  on Jan 11, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
155 people found this review helpful

This was just the kind of place we needed to unwind and get our energy back. Being avid bird watchers, we were in heaven. the grounds surrounding this hotel are filled with mature trees, royal palms filled with coconuts, flowering bushes and a lagoon...just what the birds love to hangout in.
The staff were so helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome.
The evening entertainment was amazing as the dancers were professional and so talented!
Nucay band's music was a pleasure to listen to and filled the evenings with a feeling of romance and old world charm.

Room Block:
1540

Arrival:
Smooth and relatively fast with a short ride from the airport where we saw flamingoes along the causeway.
Our bags were carried to our room for us after our checkin. The lobby has the most beautiful natural atrium with plants and water flowing.

Rooms:
Our room was large and we wanted oceanview. We got a large wrap around balcony one side facing the ocean and the other towards the garden and lots of palm trees everywhere. The front balcony faced the pool where we watched the dance lessons etc. Our week was a very windy one so no kayaks or snorkeling excursions but it kept the bugs away! Loved that! We were able to keep our windows open and no mosquitoes!
Huge bed but yes it was hard...we survived. After a long day of sun, beach, playing in the waves, dancing rugga rugga and watching an amazing show, drinking piña coladas under the stars, we slept well!

Restaurants and Bars:
We are not big drinkers so I enjoyed some delicious piña coladas, cappacinos and some other recommended sweet drinks, while my boyfriend had beers and coffees that were enjoyed. The bartenders were fun to talk to and really fast to keep up with the demand. Still made time to smile though. The coconut bar was a favorite... Fresh and delicious! We ate at the buffet mostly as we loved sitting outside and fill our plates with what we wanted. The variety kept us happy. Yes it was the same foods at every meal but what do you expect from a buffet! Go to a Chinese buffet in Montreal for breakfast lunch and supper for 7 days in a row and you will get the same things too!!!
We ordered from the grill so we watched it being made and found enough good food never to be hungry. We were lucky and did not get sick even once.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Turquoise water, white sand, sunrises and sunsets, starry nights, birds, royal palms, romantic ambiance, friendly staff always trying to please... what more can I say!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did the half day trip to moron croc farm, banana plantation, speedboats through the mangroves etc. Worth the money! Try it.
Dance lessons by the pool were fun to do or watch. Massages, hair braiding, Spanish lessons, bird watching and so much more. Nightly entertainment amazing!!! Different theme of dance show every night. would pay big bucks to see them in Montreal! And a down to earth atmosphere so relaxed, don't have to dress up fancy if you don't want to.
Unfortunately the winds were unusually high that week so no water sports kayaks etc. But we had our own snorkeling equipment and played in the waves anyways. Sunny warm days and great exercise walking the long beach.

Other Comments:
look for good and you will find it...look for the bad and you will find it too!
It is how you look at life. I look for the good in everything and am not blind to the negatives, but choose to make the best out of every situation.
Life is all about what we make of it. This is Cuba where the people who live there work very hard and make do with very little compared to us in Canada. We are blessed here in Canada. Remember how little you pay for your vacation? Take off the taxes and the price of a flight and notice how little is left for them to feed us all you can eat, drink as much as we want, and what does that leave fir them to make?! Not much! And people complain!!!??? Gimme a break!

Go to this hotel and have a great vacation. We can't wait to go back march 19th. We will celebrate Doug's 60th birthday there!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Relaxing Easter 2012 at Blau Colonial"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jen  on Apr 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
216 people found this review helpful

My first trip to Cuba from April 7 - 14th, 2012 exceeded my expectations (weren't that high to begin with). The Blau Colonial had nice colourful small buildings spread across the fairly large resort. Yes, the food did have flavour...not too much variety, but there was fresh fish and seafood everyday, grilled meat and dishes made right in front of you at the buffet. The rooms were large with newly renovated bathrooms, which were cleaned daily. The beach was beautiful, turquoise water and white sand and best of all it wasn't crowded. There was plenty of chairs and shade for everyone. The pools were clean. The people were nice and there were lots of families...the resort if very safe. The live band at dinner and in the evening was very entertaining. The cappuccino in the front lobby was fantastic; in fact the Cuban coffee in general is the next best thing to Tim Horton’s in Canada! The best part of the trip was a man I met from Montreal that I had a real connection with (building 16 I think)...didn't get to say goodbye as he left earlier that morning...if you see this (hope you do), email me: cu_soon1013@yahoo.ca.

Arrival:
Arrived in the evening. The bus ride to the hotel was quick and checking in was fast. The hotel was dimly lit, so I wasn't sure how we were going to find our way to the room...but the map they provided when checking in was easy to follow. The bellboy brought our luggage to the room just in time...we were just about to leave to find something to eat, when he arrived with our luggage.

Rooms:
Large, clean, nice chairs in the rooms, great balcony. Bathrooms had a badet..weird!

Restaurants and Bars:
Didn't try the a la carte, but the buffet was good. The snack bars only has burgers and fries for the most part.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The salt-water pool is nice. The kids pool goes from 30m and gradually gets deeper.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not too many day-time activities on the resort, fairly quiet.

Other Comments:
Great price...what more can you ask for: sun, sand, ocean and a pool!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lindo lugar, mala comida"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  MARCOS LOPEZ  on Feb 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
221 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
2939

Room Block:
29

Arrival:
la atencion es cordial, tuvimos inconvenientes con la reservacion ya que de 4 plazas que habiamos comprado online solo habian recibido 1

Rooms:
comodos, con un balcon

Restaurants and Bars:
El lobby y los bares tenian buena atencion y bebidas, el buffet esta ok pero es como el de un hotel 3 estrellas. Lo que es muy malo es el restaurante de pescados y mariscos, habia que reservar la mesa desde la mañana y cuando llegamos de un menu con 3 entradas de una no quedaba nada y de otra solo dos porciones, nos fuimos y terminamos en el buffet

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
el agua es bien cristalina, las piletas son buenas y amplias

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent resort in colonial setting- A blast from the past"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shams  on Jul 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
348 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
3161

Room Block:
31

Arrival:
Transfers were very well organized. A person was there to guide us to the bus as soon as we exited the airport. Once in the bus it took about 30 minutes before we departed as they were waiting for one person who took his sweet time exiting the airport. Please note do apply insect repellents before you exit the plane as you will be swarmed by the deadly neighborhood mosquito gangs. LOL. Spouse was bitten on every exposed area- luckily had taken after bite with us in our hand bag. I quickly exchanged C$50 at the airport as I wanted to see what the exchange was. There are 2 places where you can do the exchange. First is just in between the departure door and the arrival doors while the second place is inside the departure area. I got 45.50 CUC.
Arrival at Blau Colonial just took 15 minutes to get to the resort. The person who was the official receiver in the bus spoke the whole way about Cayo Coco and the 15 minutes just flew by. As we were the first people in the bus our luggage came out last. Some resort staff were there to greet the regulars and it was nice to see this kind of welcome. While I was getting the bags out, my spouse went to the reception. I had requested an ocean view room on the third floor 2 weeks before we departed and our request was honored. By the time I got there she already had the electronic keys to the room and the a-la-carte booking slips. I again exchanged another C$50 to see the difference between the airport and the resort and I got 45 CUC here. So there is not much difference. If you have time get the exchange done at the airport and if not get it done at the resort. They have a CADECA (bank) behind the reception area which I presume is open till 9 pm and once closed the resort reception does the transaction.

Rooms:
The bell boy was ready near the reception to take our luggage to our room which was a distance from the reception. He put our luggage in an electric vehicle and we sat next to him. Within 7 minutes we were in our room. He carried our 2 bags for us to our room and that was the most tiring part. This is where I gave my first tip. He explained stuff related to our room to us and left us as there were other patrons to be tended to in the reception lobby. The room was beautiful with colonial styled bed and an up to date washroom. The bed consists of 2 double beds pushed together. The bed was neither too soft nor too firm. Perfect for a good night’s sleep. Also present was a bottle of rum with a generic letter from the general manager addressed to us with timings of all buffet and grills that were open. The bar fridge was filled with a can of beer & a cola plus a bottle of water. Also ready was a coffee maker with cups and all necessary ingredients. Many people say the bathrooms need work with them in their reviews but all I can say that ours was in great shape. Cuba is not a rich country and I wasn’t expecting a state of the art modern washrooms but what I saw was beyond my expectation. There was a shower, bath, toilet and biday, all very clean. Also there was a hair dryer and a phone in the washroom. Our hair dryer didn’t work but as we were never going to use it I didn’t care. Shower pressure was also good not weak as I had read in the reviews. The only tip I can give you here is that make sure you check the shower head is secured. It seems that the cleaning maid did a good job in cleaning the washroom but did not properly secure the shower head and while I was checking the hot/cold taps to set the temperature the shower head came hurling down to my head. That hurt so secure the shower head before you turn the water on. The shampoo and conditioner left in the washroom is not of the greatest quality so bring your own. Soap can be used to wash your hands but limit it to that. Moisturizing cream is too left for us. While taking a shower make sure the curtain edges are put inside the tub and press them. This will prevent water from flowing outside. Safe is in the washroom area and is free.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is not the best but every attempt is made at the buffet to please your taste. A-la-carts are not all the same. We hated the food at the sea food place but loved the Caribbean and Italian place. It’s just a hit and miss at the restaurants. Sometimes there was no fish or sometimes no beef. As it was off season all the dinners were at the Italian restaurant. We took all our Popeye, KFC and Taco Bell sauces with us. We are fussy eaters but hey this is CUBA, who goes there for food. Just take your condiments. Staff there love our BBQ sauces and Heinz ketchup. Leave that behind and they will love it. Cuban Ketchup doesn’t taste the same as what we get here in the Western world. I left behind all the hot sauces and had to ration them out as everyone wanted them. The grill at the pool side makes wonderful veggie pizza and cheeseburgers. The only problem is getting the server to take your order and get the food takes eternity. The 24 hour grill makes the best toasted cheeseburgers. There is also a piano bar in the Italian restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Could see staff cleaning the beach from our balcony but the weeds would keep coming in. There was too much garbage left behind by tourists who litter the beach and the staff try to keep up with cleaning it. They were always patching the huts with fresh palm leaves and would appreciate it if you can get them a drink from the beach bar. There are people who sell coconut water with rum for 3 CUC on the beach. On a busy day like weekends make sure you reserve the chairs in the morning otherwise you will have the chair but not under a shade.
Gardeners make sure the place is well maintained with beautiful plants everywhere. There is a pond which houses 2 ducks, a few turtles and lots of koi and goldfishes. Every evening insecticide is sprayed to keep the grounds free of mosquitoes.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Tennis, Volleyball, pool volley ball, tennis etc. Excursions to Pilar beach, to Moron and Ciege de Avala, horseback riding, catamaran kayaking, boat peddling. etc.

Other Comments:
Blau has some wonderful staff that touches your heart. One of the best bar man I have ever met is Liber who works in the main lobby. Kathy who works with him is a jewel of a person and Saily who is a student makes the best ‘mojito’ you can drink. Then there is Edulida and Yunia at the buffet. Edulida always kept the table clean and was always there if we needed something. Yunia knew that we didn’t eat pork and made sure that no pork came close to our omelette. Then there is Ricardo who always helped no matter where he was as a server. One of the gardeners’ Yemini would always help you get the coconuts from the tree and cut it for you. A lot of people never tipped him but he would still never say no to anyone. Also Dayami, Tito and Michel in Public relations were always there to assist you or to give you company. Jackie at the main reception is always helpful. Kelly and her entertainment team were great.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Visit to cuba"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  alfonso  on Jun 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
317 people found this review helpful

The service in general was not what i expected, food was not what i expected, I expected much better. I recomend the Dominican Republic.

Room Number:
226

Arrival:
Good on time and welcome very nice.

Rooms:
Not what i have seen in th Dominican Republic.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
dirty and exposed wires around the places.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"la plus belle semaine de ma vie"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Marie-Hélène  on Nov 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010
678 people found this review helpful

Je suis allée au blau colonial et j'y ai passer la plus belle semainde de ma vie. J'ai fait la connaissance des plus beau cubains(les lifeguard) Nous étions 3 filles et nous avons pu décrocher completement de notre routine. L'endroit est magnifique. Fermez les yeux et imaginez vous en train de vous faire masser sur le bord de l'océan wow.....c'était génial. Tout le personnel est symphatique. Mon plus beau souvenir est les journées a la piscine, où tout les géo venait me saluer et m'embrasser.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We got what we paid for...."

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Jun 7, 2010  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
427 people found this review helpful

I was part of a group of six (five matured ladies) on our annual 'Gals get-away'. As usual we booked a 'last minute sell off' and so were quite happy with what we got. However, most of us being 'repeat visitors' to Cuba, in retrospect were glad we did not pay full price for the 'Cameleon Gold Package'offered by Nolitours; While it was a great package to have we found it was only really worth the $605.00 we paid at 'sell off' (some people paid even less).

Trip down to Cuba:
We were booked to travel down late in the afternoon of May 29th by Canjet however due to mechanical problems with the original carrier, after about an hour and a half wait, we ended up traveling by Air Transat; the flight was fine as it was a larger plane (so we actually had leg-room), however the sandwiches they served were terrible (stale), but we were offered a complementary drink of 'Champaign' (so that we wouldn't complain about the delay or food).

Your Arrival:
Arrival in Cuba:
This again was a delight as we were greeted by one of the 'service people' who have worked at the airport for years (yes, they will remember you if you have treated them well). Going through Immigration was a breeze even for the one traveling companion who was not traveling on a Canadian Passport, she was required to answer a few more questions than those of us with Canadian passports, but everything went well. WE WERE NOT ASKED FOR ANY PROOF OF HEALTH INSURANCE even though we all carried proof of the new mandatory health insurance. We did our 'money exchange' at the airport; this is a good idea as you will then have the correct currency to 'tip' your service people at the airport. PLEASE DO NOT TIP IN CANADIAN COIN (loonies or toonies). No International Banks (including Cuba) accepts coin from any other country, so foreign coin is useless to a local. If you are really serious about tipping.....then do it in the currency of the country.

Rooms:
The rooms and amenities (clean linens, bath robe, slippers, beach towels, stocked bar)were all as presented in the brochure.... the rooms were all updated, clean, and attractive; lots of hot water and complementary bath products; every day we had 'house keeping' who replenished our linens and re-stocked our mini bars. In our package we received our beach towels on the first day in our rooms (no deposit required), it was then up to us to do the 'towel exchange' every day; however on the last day we simply had to leave them in our rooms (not take them back to towel exchange which is what is generally done).
The first room I was assigned faced the 'lagoon' which I didn't like as I could 'smell it' (it was very humid the night we arrived). I requested a change of room, and the next day I was re-assigned to an ocean view room. This may have been easy for them to do because this is the 'off season' and there may have been a surplus of rooms available. UPON ARRIVAL, IF YOU ARE NOT SATISFIED WITH YOUR ACCOMMODATION PLEASE SPEAK WITH YOUR 'TOUR REP', THE FRONT DESK PEOPLE ARE SIMPLY ACTING ON THEIR INSTRUCTIONS, do not take out your frustration on them, to do that would be like screaming at the kid on 'cash' at McDonalds if you get a bad burger.

Restaurants and Bars:
This was my seventh visit to Cuba, fifth to Cayo Coco and first to the Blau. I can honestly say, this is the best food I have had in Cuba, both in the buffet and in the a la carts; because I do not generally go to Cuba for the food, I was pleasantly surprised. Other than what is offered on the menus in the a la cart you can also request special orders like we did in the Sea Food Restaurant where we were able to get a delicious lobster (much larger than anything we can get in Canada) for only $15.00.
A heads up here, for those of you who love exotic flavored 'pasta' stir fried dishes' do like we did, take along a bottle or two of your favorite 'sauces' (we took a ginger teriyaki and a lobster sauce), the chef in the buffet will be only too happy to add it to your 'custom made' pasta dish; in addition you will have a very grateful chef when you tell him that he can take the rest of the sauce home to create the same dish for his family.
The bars were stocked with 'the usual' in both foreign and local drinks. The bar in the main building in particular had a nice 'slush' machine, wish they had them at all the other bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach in Cayo Coco was as usual.....superb, the best in Cuba I think.
The Life Guards on 'beach duty' also double as 'beach assistants' and are quite happy to assist you with setting up beach lounges (which are very heavy) once you choose a palapa (beach shade); again please 'tip' these people when you can as they do go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay with them. The Blau now has a nice connection of salt water pools which run the entire length of that part of the resort now being accommodated (part of the resort is still being renovated). There is the usual 'swim up bar', pool and beach grills and washroom facilities, so food, drink and anything else needed is always not more than a few steps away.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
WE did go in the 'Off Season' and so were not expecting to see many activities going, however, again we were surprised .... There were the usual 'pool games' most days (as long as people will participate, they will do them). We arrived on a Saturday night and both that night and Sunday night there was very little going on, however from Monday on there was a live show every night at the Disco (with audience participation some of the time), then dancing for anyone who cared to stick around. In addition our package entitled us to attend the 'Nolitours' cocktail hour every day at the 'Pink Tower'...this was just a 'mix and mingle' with entertainment for the gusest of Nolitours. Trips off resort were available through both the 'Tour Reps' and by 'private employees' who also ran tours on their 'day off'. Whenever possible we booked with the private employees HOWEVER, their prices are not always the best.... so check both sorces.

Other Comments:
All in all this was not a bad hotel to be at; they did deliver everything they said they would. I would recommend this resort, if you are an adult looking for a nice quiet get-away; in this off season it was not particularly inviting to families with young children as there was no 'kids club', this area was still 'under construction'; if you are planning to take younger children, I would check to see if those facilities are now up and running.
In addition, unlike their neighbors at the Tryp Cayo Coco, I found the staff to be not very warming or friendly, not too many of them smiled at you or greeted you, you had to make the first move, you had to really reach out to them before they 'warmed up' to you, however once you 'made the connection', then they were fine.

CAUTION: This entire resort is designed to look like a Spanish Village; every exterior surface through the resort is paved in 'cobble stones' of various sizes, shapes, textures and designs. These surfaces are not suitable for anyone who may be physically challenged or require the use of a mobility device to get around i.e. a cane or walker; it is even very hard on luggage with wheels; as such I opted to have the Bell Boy carry my luggage on a dolly rather than ruin the wheels on the cobble stones by dragging it along.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laurie  on Mar 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
384 people found this review helpful

The Blau is the oldest resort on the island but it is clean, modern and very close to the beach. We went over Ontario March Break and while the other resorts were overrun by out of control drunk teenagers, the Blau, with its mix of families of all sorts was relatively quiet and low key. I think other times of the year, the Trypp and DH would be fine. They are more modern than this one and seem to have more activities on an ongoing basis.

Other reviews commented on the poor food. We found to our pleasant surprise that the food was just fine. I particularly liked the grilled shrimp at dinner and ice cream became a favourite every night.

Your Arrival:
Travelling from Ottawa direct to Cayo Coco was a delight. Our Signature rep met us at the airport. There is a big push to book the VIP room at the airport for the way back, but we had no problem with the main airport departure lounge instead. The shops actually had better souvenirs and cheaper with a money exchange right there.

Our rep gave us a good briefing on the morning after our arrival and was very helpful throughout the trip. There is also a Canadian working there, Mango, who can help you with any challenges you have. Front desk was also very good.

Rooms:
Our rooms were in the main pavillion which was very convenient looking over the plaza, but also noisy as we were next to the disco which played into the wee hours. With closed windows and good air conditioning, there was no problem sleeping however. The rooms were clean and the maid service very good. Other reviews had talked about bed bugs but we had none and saw no bugs other than mosquitos. The resort sprayed a smoke screen of sorts morning and night which kept the mosquitos down to almost none. I did hear that other resorts had lots of mosquitos.

Restaurants and Bars:
We enjoyed the buffet. Tried the Italian restaurant but with few waiters and lots of customers, did not like it very much. We were actually happy to get back to the extremely good service at the main buffet. The wines served at meals were quite good. The boys (12 and 14) really liked the hambergers grilled at the beach bar and the fries at the salt water pool were good as well. Our real treat every night was the Churros served up to order with a variety of delicious toppings. Another treat was the Spanish coffees from the main bar. Many of the tropical drinks were very sweet but the rum and coke and the cold cervasa at the beach were always great. A Timmy mug is good for keeping your drink cold at the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Spent very little time at the pools with the beach so close. Good to get there in the morning to grab a shade hut for later in the day. A beach boy will get you the lounger and set you up. The water is beautiful and was warm due in part to the shallow water. It was usually pretty windy so there were waves but that just added to the fun for the boys. You can sign out kayaks and snorkling masks from the boat house. Did not see paddle boats. The Hobbie Kats were sailed for you.

Next time would bring own snorkling mask and bougie boards to take advantage of the waves. Get your towels on arrival by getting a paper at the front desk and taking it to the towel hut. Towels can be exchanged daily.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We really enjoyed the glass bottom boat that we waded out to from the beach. For 20 CUC, it would take you out to the reef for a good half hour or more snorkling. Before getting to the reef, they go along the beach and pick up people from the other resorts and it is fun to exchange stories. We went on it twice. We also really liked (especially the boys) the boat adventure. We only took the 2 hour tour and it was enough. The snorkling is pretty good and getting there in the little boats is great fun.

My mom took the two day overnight to Havana and couldn't say enough about how good it was. She particularly liked the hotel.

We also took the all day catamaran but because of wind, were not able to snorkle on the reef. Pretty good anyway, but not the best because of that.

Do NOT recommend the horseback riding. Too much trotting on very skinny horses. Very hard for beginners and even experienced riders.

The shows are quite good and the staff had everyone in stitches. My boys have now downloaded the theme song and are still dancing to it.

Other Comments:
Bring Canadian money and enough to tip - as you would at a resort in Canada. I spent a lot of unplanned money in tips. Bring bug spray and extra sun screen. You go through a lot of sun screen and to buy one at one of the shops was $20 Pesos or about $25 Cdn.
To book excursions, they covert the money to US then to Canadian (and I think Pesos are in there too). If you can plan your excursions roughly ahead of time, I recommend you pay in Pesos, not by credit card. They will only take Canadian bank credit cards (Visa). No bank machines were seen.

We also brought things like toothbrushes/toothpaste/toiletries. I even gave one shop lady a package of boys underwear. Also, they like Canadian stuff. Always greatly appreciated by the polite and pleasant staff.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube