Cubanacan Colonial Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Cubanacan Colonial reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2014

Melia Cayo Coco

4.2 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 28, 2014

Cubanacan Colonial  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Morón, Ciego de Avila, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"Best part was leaving"
Posted by: Mr  on Oct 26, 2014
see all reviews

Cubanacan Colonial Reviews
Cubanacan Colonial Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Colonial Cayo Coco Cuba

#1
of 10 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 75 reviews

Cubanacan Colonial Information


This All Inclusive beach resort has a delightful village feel to it, with colourful courtyards and "roads" leading to restaurants, sports facilities and guest rooms.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Colonial Reviews

Cubanacan Colonial Review: 3.7 of 5 75 reviews
Excellent
  26
Very good
  21
Average
  14
Poor
  7
Terrible
  7
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (53)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (11)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (35)
Solo
1 - 10 of 75

"Pay 5 star prices for a 1 star holiday"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  DannyVikkiUK  on Jul 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
79 people found this review helpful

I read the reviews of this resort before choosing to stay here and cannot believe that 95% of the people who gave good reports actually stayed at the same place as me.
I read the reviews of this resort before choosing to stay here and cannot believe that 95% of the people who gave good reports actually stayed at the same place as me.
On the first night we went to the buffet restaurant and found that most seats and tablecloths were filthy and looked like they had not been cleaned this year.
The rooms were of a good standard but my wife and I didn’t go to Cuba to stay in our room.
The nightclub was dark and dingy and contained the pool table which was short of balls and would have needed to be aluminous anyway, had a three foot pool cue, no triangle and no chalk. Whilst waiting for my turn to play I could not sit at the sofa as they were damp and smelly.
The snack bar had an extensive choice, however you could only have the cheese and ham sandwiches that everyone raves about. (If cheese and ham sandwiches are what make your holiday get a life). Even these became a rarity on day 3 as the resort ran out of bread.
The Yarey bar, now that’s a sight to behold, very unhygienic.
Pool was in a state of disrepair and not fit for use.
The themed restaurant was closed, that may have been a blessing.
Half of the resort was closed for restoration. No work was in progress and I believe it has been closed for economic reasons and will fall down shortly and could become a place of Cuban historic interest.
This was to be a 2 week holiday but I formed an escape committee on day four after been served Pork that must have been hung like a pheasant for a month before cooking.
All in all not a place I would recommend for anyone to stay unless you looking to pay 5 star prices for a 1 star holiday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Staff was very slow and not friendly at all"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Helen08  on Dec 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2007 | Leisure | With Group
66 people found this review helpful

I would not recommend this resort.
Went went with a group for New Years Dec 29-Jan 3rd
No hot water-Some times of the day there was no water at all
No tiolet paper in public restrooms
Gotta wonder how the staff was washing their hands before preparing our food------
Looks like no renovations have been done
Staff was very slow and not friendly at all
What happened to the great caribbean hospitality?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very expensive waste of money"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  JulieScotland  on Jul 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2006 | Leisure | Family and Kids
77 people found this review helpful

We booked this trip in January from the Thomas Cook website after studying all the available hotels in Cayo Coco. We picked this one as it seemed to tick all our boxes - 4*, Kids Club etc etc. By no means was it the cheapest so we expected a high standard.

Food:
The food is atrocious! It was very difficult to create a recognisable meal with the choices at the buffet - sprouts & French fries for breakfast and sometimes the previous night's leftover beef & carrots. Our 10 year old barely ate all fortnight as there was hardly anything there that would appeal to a child - he lived on burgers and spaghetti.
The staff in the buffet restaurant expect to be tipped so unless you tip them for your first drink, do not expect a refill.

Entertainment:
The entertainment is beyond a joke. You get the same old salsa trash every night by the same 6 teenage dancers. They come into the restaurants to interrupt your dinner to remind each and every one of you that the show begins at 9.30pm in the Disco - whatever you do don't go. I've seen better shows at my son's primary school.

Bars & Restaurants:
The Piano Bar is nice and cool and was a haven from the humidity but even that became boring as the grand piano has been kitted out with an electrical device to play the same tune over and over and over..... Yoel the barman was great though!

The Italian Restaurant was unlike any Italian I've ever had before. The traditional pasta dishes were worse than the budget frozen ready meals in a low end supermarket. The remaining dishes were all served with frozen veg and Smash (instant mash potato)!!! The head waitress was the grumpiest and most rude person we encountered the entire holiday.

The pool bar served lunches and there was salads and desserts left out for you to help yourself. You'd be insane to do so as there is flock of birds who hang about this area and at every opportunity swoop in to stand in the food as they pinch it. Nothing is done to prevent this and I wouldn't be surprised if this was the source of the illness everyone had whilst we were there.

Illness:
Without exception, everyone from Britain we spoke to on both the Manchester & Gatwick flights had lost several days of their holiday to illness. This ranged from nausea, fever, the squits!! And vomiting and left you bed-ridden. When the rep was approached to ask why so many of us were ill - his response was "What do you expect, your in Cuba!" Nice one Fran Garcia!

Kids Club:
There was no Kids Club there of the kind you would expect in European resorts. The Mini Club was run by one teenager and aimed at toddlers. Our 10 year old was bored out of his mind once the novelty of the pool had worn off. DON'T GO HERE WITH KIDS IT JUST ISN'T SUITABLE. The trips organised through your rep are run by the Cuban travel agent Cubacan. The "Colourful Cuba" trip was perhaps one of the worst experiences of our holiday. The first part was fine but then you get taken to Moron (the nearest town) for a sightseeing tour in a horse drawn carriage. Sounds lovely but is the beginning of your exploitation! At every opportunity, you are hounded by beggars. They are relentless and it is very unpleasant. The Cuban travel reps do nothing to warn you of this and nothing to protect you from it. Don't waste your money it is so depressing as the deprivation is beyond expectations.

Trip:
Another trip we paid for was the speedboats in Cayo Guillermo. The bus did not turn up for us so we were rebooked for another day - the trip was then cancelled but we were not told by any rep and only after standing outside in the blistering midday sun for over an hour did someone come to tell us. The tour operators had known about it since the morning but did not bother to let us know.

Conclusion:
Overall the holiday was a very expensive waste of money. Go to Europe and save yourself the 8.5 hour plane journey and jet lag!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Long line ups and cool food"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  M&MCanada  on Mar 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
94 people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Blau Colonial from March 4th to 11th 2007,
Paid for a super saver room and got what we paid for, tried to get them to bring a coffee maker to our room but they said they could not because we did not have a plug for one?
Hotel is in need of a serious makeover, there were several issues that should be looked into.
We had no hot water or waterpressure for the first 3 days we were there, after complaining to the front desk of being tired of taking a cold trickle of a shower, we returned to our room and had hot pressure that could blow you right out of the tub? Go figure where that came from?

Buffet was limited and often long line ups and cool food, never had anything really hot all week. Barbeque at the pool restaurant for lunch, was extremely slow and not always available, if ordering from the menu there the portion were extremely small that my husband ended up ordering three different meals and he is not a big eater!

Staff not overly friendly, got down right nasty at us, when we seated ourselves at the seafood restaurant one night, not a pleasant dinner.... Beach was nice, but we had hurricane type wind almost all week and could only enjoy the beach 2 days of the whole week, pool was nice and sheltered from the wind, but we are beach people and therefore somewhat disappointed. We also had 2 1/2 days of pouring rain, which is unfortunate but out of our control.

All in all definitly not a 4 star but rather a 2 star at best, we will not be returning to the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were quite disappointed"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  MirelaMontreal  on Jun 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2006 | Leisure | Family and Kids
90 people found this review helpful

Our family (my husband, two daughters age 5 and 8 and myself) just spent a week at Blau Colonial, June 3-10 2006. We were quite disappointed. I understand it’s not peak season for the resort, but we have already been to Cuba, to a 4 star resort, this time of year (Iberostar – Cayo Guillermo, last year) and had a wonderful time, can’t even compare it to Blau, as if it were not at all the same category.

Blau Colonial:
First of all, let me get al the positive things out of the way. The beach is beautiful, clean, and wide, water clear and surprisingly deep close to the shore. On the other hand, the beach towels, chaises and cabanas are literally falling apart. All that’s left of the cabanas (the beach and the poolside as well) is the construction. There are no palm branches on top, so they’re pretty useless when it comes to shade (or protecting you in case of rain).

The room:
The room and the bathroom were very nice (we had booked a standard room), very spacious, clean, comfortable and in working order. However, the promised bathrobes, slippers, ironing table were not there (no big deal, who wants to iron on vacation anyway) and all “the fully stocked mini bar” really is three cans in your mini fridge, and if you wanted them replaced you had to call a certain phone number between 10:00 and 13:00 (when you normally wouldn’t be in the room).

Food & drinks:
The food was OK, not as many choices as we have seen elsewhere, but what was there was decent. A la carte restaurants were nice too. Piano bar was not open.
The drinks were really small, and they’d fill that already small cup halfway with ice. I had asked for a margarita, a daiquiri, a mai tai, and was told every time “We don’t make those” WTF?!

Kids Club:
The kids’ club literally had no activities; it may have as well not been there. Zero, zip, nada.

Entertainment:
The entertainment, especially during the day, was almost non-existent. Those few animators that were there completely lacked enthusiasm, you could see them hang out near pool bar, play table tennis, take a dip in the pool, watch TV, sometimes even drink or smoke on poolside chaises, as if they were on vacation. They didn’t even have uniforms, they wore swim trunks.
When I read one day there was going to be a beach party11:00-2:00, I was glad. At Iberostar, they would do that, bring music, organize games and dancing, set out a mini buffet and bar, used to be fun. Not at Blau, their beach party was at 11 at night. Obviously, the families were not as important guests as young partying bunch.

Arrival:
Upon our arrival, at about 22:30, we were pretty much left alone trying in the dark to find out where the reception area was, nobody was there to greet us (at Iberostar they’d greet us with a welcome cocktail, non alcoholic, very refreshing for a tired traveler). Reception area was dark; gentleman there was not very helpful. We had requested a room on a superior level when we booked, but they gave us one on street level (and yes, it’s a street, we had cars and buses pass in front of our door at all times of day and night, couldn’t let the kids leave the room on their own, there was traffic, not to mention the noise) and refused to give us different room at that time. As well, we were not given beach towel voucher, or the key to the safe, I quote “Come back tomorrow, if I did that for everyone tonight, I’d have to be here till 1!”

We constantly had to ask questions:
Generally, the information we’d find useful was really hard to get and was never volunteered. We constantly had to ask questions, and way too often the answer was “I don’t know”, “Go ask there” or “It’s written over there”. And then:
- The operating hours for a lot of services mean nothing
- The doors must be very thin, we’d often be awaken by guests returning to their rooms under influence
- The advertised “15 min from the airport” is really a lot more when your bus goes to two different hotels first
- We wanted to take a kayak and were asked for two pesos “deposit”
- Service got a lot worse when soccer championship started, you could stay at the bar for a long time before somebody would come to serve you, they’d be watching TV.

Conclusion:
I’m sure young people enjoy that kind of atmosphere, most of them were drinking all day, walking around with half gallon mini kegs, and seemed quite happy. Overall, we would never return to Blau nor would we ever recommend it to anyone. For the same price you can get so much better service elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best part was leaving"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr  on Oct 26, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | With Group
7 people found this review helpful

Food was terrible, the begging and scams were the worst I have seen in 12 trips to cuba.
Safety was not a priority, fences broken on a bridge, no attempt to secure a wet area in lobby so nobody slips on a ceramic tile floor and someone fell and broke wrist no lights in stairwells during night
al a cartes not open
swim up bar pool was disgusting
bars constantly ran out of beer
Pool activity wasn't wanted and they would not leave you alone
Noise was unbelievable


Room Number:
15something

Room Block:
15

Arrival:
check in ok

Rooms:
some ok
others not so much, leaking and noisy a/c

Restaurants and Bars:
food terrible

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach ok
grounds littered

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
off for a price as usual
forget going to Moron very depressing
scams by guys telling u they are cook or work at resort and they having a baby want money to guide you up and down the street

Other Comments:
Don't bother
worst trip to cuba I ever had

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Food quality went down since 2006"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nabil09  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
98 people found this review helpful

My 4-year old son and I were at Blau Colonial from Feb 10 to 17, 2009. The reasons I chose this resort over others in the Caribbean are mostly to accommodate my son’s needs, plus I prefer to be in Cuba than say Dominican Republic or Mexico (safety, culture, music, friendly people, no peddlers' nuisance).
I speak fluent Spanish and so I had the opportunity to talk to staff and have conversations beyond the ‘hola’ and ‘buenos dias’.

I felt disappointed:
We were there in Feb 2006 the first time, and I remembered some of the good things about the resort, such as supervised daycare, availability of babysitting, great beach, and generally good food and service.

However, this time I felt disappointed, and this is not a reaction to one detail but my conclusion when I think of the shortcomings of the place. Here are real examples of what was wrong with the resort:

Supervised daycare:
was moved from the big thatched room beside the pool (under renovation) to a smaller room, which did not have much in terms of toys and things to do. The sandy playground at the back of the room had very little shade, so a parent would have to ensure the child is not spending all the time in the sun, one way or another. Staff did not totally stick to the printed schedule.

Hot Water:
no hot water for 2 days. The staff did not know when the repair can be made to the hot water broken equipment. The courtesy rooms offered at the main building, where the lobby is, were all taken when I actually went to give my son a shower. The staff did not know when one will be available.

Food and Food Queues:
the overall food quality went down since 2006, and this was confirmed by some of the Buffet staff. There were line ups taking more than 10 minutes to get some food items such as pasta, seafood, and waiting for orange juice and milk in the morning, while my son is sitting alone and waiting for me. At one time he panicked and started crying and was walking around looking for me. The grill by the beach had a line up with 30 to 40 minute waiting. I got tired of all that waiting. Other than the morning watered-down orange juice there was no juice of any kind anywhere or any other time. I was surprised to find Cubans think it is OK to give pop to a 4-year old. There was one type of white wine and one red, both are not better than “cooking wine”.

Mini-Club:
kids show started at 8:30 pm. This is too late for most kids coming from outside Cuba, and my son would be getting ready to sleep by then. The music was very loud to the point he was scared of the noise (heavy base). Once I cajoled him to watch and plugged his ears with rolled tissue to reduce the sound level.

Adult Show:
poor and not interesting. I have been to at least few other resorts where shows and night programs are much more interesting and engaging.

Snack:
kids eat snacks at different times that those when the Buffet is open. What was available at the 24-café did not come close to a fair choice for such a resort (this is a 5 star resort after all). Sometime only ham and cheese sandwiches were available, and on one occasion I had to wait 15 minutes for it.

Room and Bed:
the room was fine. The twin beds were not comfortable at all. They caved in and I am only 160 lbs. I have slept on much better beds at almost any other place including B&Bs, motels, hotels, other resorts. I would say the beds needed to be replaced, period.

Conclusion:
In conclusion, would I go there again, the answer is NO. Would I recommend this resort to others, even qualified recommendation, the answer is NO.
Is this place suitable for some tourists? Perhaps, if they mainly care about the beach and the proximity to the airport and the relatively short flight time from major Canadian cities, and the general architecture of the resort, and not food, activities within the resort, bed comfort, kids' program, and showers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Visit to cuba"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  alfonso  on Jun 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
336 people found this review helpful

The service in general was not what i expected, food was not what i expected, I expected much better. I recomend the Dominican Republic.

Room Number:
226

Arrival:
Good on time and welcome very nice.

Rooms:
Not what i have seen in th Dominican Republic.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
dirty and exposed wires around the places.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The buffet often did not have bread for breakfast"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christian08  on Feb 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Feb, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
94 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from one week at the Blau Colonial at Cayo Coco. This was the first time since they have re open; we had been during the time when the Colonial was owned by previous investors.
This time was disappointing from the point of view of the service, everyone appears to lack management to direct them to perform their responsibilities, during the week in our room bedding was not change once, in the room table top, counter toilet and everything else was not or poorly clean resulting for my wife to wipe everything before using the amenities in the room.
The buffet often did not have bread for breakfast and many of the food trays were simply not replenish making the buffet looking rather abysmal.
Worker at the at the pool (So call life guard are lacking stamina or are simply lazy, even their look is of poor taste need more supervision so they will look ready to help or at least not be half of sleep).
Again for another time vacationing at Blau Colonial it will be unlikely due to poor service development.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will not be going back to CUBA"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  JamesPortColborneOntario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
96 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Conquest with Air Canada was great, lots of room on the plane and the trip to the resort was very fast. 20 min.

Rooms: The room was very nice and clean. It was very quiet around the area and not very many people were out and about. Most of the 1 week we were at the resort did we see more then 10 people walking around. The one thing we did miss was the water. We had no hot water to shower with six of the seven days we were there. Many other people we talked to had the same problem. When they moved they still had no water. We had enough cold water to wash with from the sink, but that was it. We have traveled some and are not very hard to please, but it was bad.

Restaurants and Bars:
The one Buffet was clean but not much of a choice of food. Breakfast was cold and the coffee was not the best. No one offered coffee at the table for three days, we had to get own. The bars were not opened until they were ready. Some days at 10:30, other days at 11:30am but they closed around 4:30pm. Only one 24hr. bar at the far end of the resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We spent one afternoon at the beach. The water was 72F but it was very windy. The rest of the week the wind was 40km and the water was to rough to swim in. The one pool was very cold and not many people used it. The beach towels you had to pay 15 Pesos each. The grounds were not keep up well. They did not seem to think that was very important to us.

Other Comments:
We will not be going back to CUBA

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube