Cubanacan Colonial Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Cubanacan Colonial reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2014

Melia Cayo Coco

4.2 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 28, 2014

Cubanacan Colonial  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Morón, Ciego de Avila, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"it has a ice location"
Posted by: ray on Jul 31, 2014
see all reviews

Cubanacan Colonial Reviews
Cubanacan Colonial Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Colonial Cayo Coco Cuba

#1
of 10 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 74 reviews

Cubanacan Colonial Information


This All Inclusive beach resort has a delightful village feel to it, with colourful courtyards and "roads" leading to restaurants, sports facilities and guest rooms.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Colonial Reviews

Cubanacan Colonial Review: 3.7 of 5 74 reviews
Excellent
  26
Very good
  21
Average
  14
Poor
  7
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (52)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (11)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (35)
Solo
1 - 10 of 74

"Definitely would return"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  J. Graham  on Aug 4, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2005
2052 people found this review helpful

June 2005 Before my husband and I went to Cuba, we had read many reviews, some good and some bad. We weren't sure what to expect, and we pleasantly surprised. We went in the low season, so there were not too many people there. We were very impressed with the large, spacious and very clean rooms. Everything looked well cared for. When we arrived, the staff were very helpful and eager to please. Their english was surprisingly good and communication was not a problem. Our vacation rep was helpful and informative. We went on a dolphin tour, which was a half hour flight on a 40 seater propeller plane to the city of Cienfuegos on the west side of the island. We spent most of the day watching a dolphin show, swimming with the dolphins and they also provided lunch. We then went into the city of Cienfuegos where we could shop and explore the city. We returned to the island in time for the evening meal. We also went on a Jungle Tour, which was a 2 hour speed boat and snorkelling trip. It was amazing, there were hundreds of fish that would eat bread right out of your hands. They were so colorful and tropical, it was incredible! The food at the resort was alright. We never went without having something good to eat. The fruit was delicious, and there was always a variety of foods to choose from. The a la cartes were great! We had a seafood, cuban and Itallian night, and they were all wonderful. The staff was always friendly and would visit with you and answer any questions. They went out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The entertainment was good, with something different every night. There was also bands that played and lunch and at dinner, and although they played the same songs every day, they were great. We bought CDs of both bands and listen to them often at home. it takes us right back to Cuba! The beach was quite clean and always quiet. Since it is on the East, we saw an amazing sunrise over the Atlantic...highly recommended! We also spent a lot of time in the pool which was always clean and never very busy. It was a great way to spend a hot afternoon! We definitely would recommend staying at the Blau Colonial, and we would love to return there again soon! Happy holidaying!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Blau Colonial Is Great!"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Danny  on Sep 1, 2005  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2005
1944 people found this review helpful

Basically..all you need to know is that Blau Colonial is a great hotel. ITs BEAUTIFUL! I went with my two children (16 and 9)and we had a great time. The food is great!. The beach is the best part of it all. The pools are nice if you have little kids. The people there are also very nice and they are extremely friendly. The rooms are great! The place is just gorgeous! Go there if you want a good vacation. BLAU COLONIAL HOTEL IS GREAT!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Blau Colonial Hotel is amazing "

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  sammy Morack  on Oct 6, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2005
1909 people found this review helpful

Any one who is thinking of going to this fantastic hotel should definaltely make it happen, i have never been there before but i hear that it's amazing!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My First and the Best Trip!!!"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sue  on Oct 14, 2005  >  10 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2005
1763 people found this review helpful

This was my first time in Havana, Cuba. Little did I know that this was going to be a life time experience. I went with 3 other girls we're all aged in our 20's and this is exactly what we were looking for. It was quite, peacful and very relaxing. The hotel was absolutely awesome, the beach...words can't describe and the pool was just wow!! The resort was kept very clean and it was just beautiful. The weather was HOT, but I loved every moment of it. We plan on going back after they are done with their renovations next year again. I would definately recommend Blau Colonial and the resort, it was absolutely phenomonal.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BLAU COLONIAL"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  mr eric leach  on May 9, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2006
1777 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Blau Colonial from the 16 until the 30 of april 2006, we had a great time, hotel food and staff all good, rooms clean, beach wonderfull, no shortage of sun beds. PROBLEM getting your frigde stocked every day we would return here met some great people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  mark Chipping  on May 11, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2006
1852 people found this review helpful

Sue and I had a wonderful holiday, we stayed at the Blau Colonial, all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Mayleen was our maid she kept our room spotless and the bed was made creatively a lovely lady.

Leber well what can we say, he has a bar above the fish resturant, hes so funny great evenings up with him and all the lovely Canadian people we met. The pool/beaches great, swimming with dolphins such an experiance we cant discribe you have to do this its amazing. The a la carte resturants are very good, breakfast had so many choices something for everyone.

Would we go again yes is the answer Sue wants one of lebers brandy alexanders well maybe six. Go and see outside the cayos into Cuba what a contrast, but for what the people may or may not have they are happy people, which showed wherever we went.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Blau Colonial is great - will be back next year"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  sue morris  on May 15, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2006
1880 people found this review helpful

Just got back from Cuba on May 4th - this hotel was fantastic - very relaxing, clean, great food - the weather was wonderful!!!! We plan to return next year and fit in 3 days in Havana to get a feel of the real Cuba - If you want a peaceful getaway from it all holiday in paradise this is the hotel for you!!(Dont forget to go and see Leber in the Seafood restaurant bar - he's great fun!)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Blau"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rachel and Colin  on May 21, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2006
1885 people found this review helpful

Well what can i say, the hotel was lovely, clean and the staff were great so polite and Leber was fun. The food was great, lots of choice in the buffet as well as in the restaraunts. We did Havana overnight which is a must, just to see the real Cuba and we did the dolphin over night which is also a must. Snorkelling on Flamingo beach is great, you will be a bit puzzled with the beach when u get there as its a bit deserted but for snorkelling its great. Weather was excellent but be warned we had one night of rain and the flying ants come in your room to hide and im not talking one or two. Overall a top holiday, we will go back definately.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were quite disappointed"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  MirelaMontreal  on Jun 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2006 | Leisure | Family and Kids
88 people found this review helpful

Our family (my husband, two daughters age 5 and 8 and myself) just spent a week at Blau Colonial, June 3-10 2006. We were quite disappointed. I understand it’s not peak season for the resort, but we have already been to Cuba, to a 4 star resort, this time of year (Iberostar – Cayo Guillermo, last year) and had a wonderful time, can’t even compare it to Blau, as if it were not at all the same category.

Blau Colonial:
First of all, let me get al the positive things out of the way. The beach is beautiful, clean, and wide, water clear and surprisingly deep close to the shore. On the other hand, the beach towels, chaises and cabanas are literally falling apart. All that’s left of the cabanas (the beach and the poolside as well) is the construction. There are no palm branches on top, so they’re pretty useless when it comes to shade (or protecting you in case of rain).

The room:
The room and the bathroom were very nice (we had booked a standard room), very spacious, clean, comfortable and in working order. However, the promised bathrobes, slippers, ironing table were not there (no big deal, who wants to iron on vacation anyway) and all “the fully stocked mini bar” really is three cans in your mini fridge, and if you wanted them replaced you had to call a certain phone number between 10:00 and 13:00 (when you normally wouldn’t be in the room).

Food & drinks:
The food was OK, not as many choices as we have seen elsewhere, but what was there was decent. A la carte restaurants were nice too. Piano bar was not open.
The drinks were really small, and they’d fill that already small cup halfway with ice. I had asked for a margarita, a daiquiri, a mai tai, and was told every time “We don’t make those” WTF?!

Kids Club:
The kids’ club literally had no activities; it may have as well not been there. Zero, zip, nada.

Entertainment:
The entertainment, especially during the day, was almost non-existent. Those few animators that were there completely lacked enthusiasm, you could see them hang out near pool bar, play table tennis, take a dip in the pool, watch TV, sometimes even drink or smoke on poolside chaises, as if they were on vacation. They didn’t even have uniforms, they wore swim trunks.
When I read one day there was going to be a beach party11:00-2:00, I was glad. At Iberostar, they would do that, bring music, organize games and dancing, set out a mini buffet and bar, used to be fun. Not at Blau, their beach party was at 11 at night. Obviously, the families were not as important guests as young partying bunch.

Arrival:
Upon our arrival, at about 22:30, we were pretty much left alone trying in the dark to find out where the reception area was, nobody was there to greet us (at Iberostar they’d greet us with a welcome cocktail, non alcoholic, very refreshing for a tired traveler). Reception area was dark; gentleman there was not very helpful. We had requested a room on a superior level when we booked, but they gave us one on street level (and yes, it’s a street, we had cars and buses pass in front of our door at all times of day and night, couldn’t let the kids leave the room on their own, there was traffic, not to mention the noise) and refused to give us different room at that time. As well, we were not given beach towel voucher, or the key to the safe, I quote “Come back tomorrow, if I did that for everyone tonight, I’d have to be here till 1!”

We constantly had to ask questions:
Generally, the information we’d find useful was really hard to get and was never volunteered. We constantly had to ask questions, and way too often the answer was “I don’t know”, “Go ask there” or “It’s written over there”. And then:
- The operating hours for a lot of services mean nothing
- The doors must be very thin, we’d often be awaken by guests returning to their rooms under influence
- The advertised “15 min from the airport” is really a lot more when your bus goes to two different hotels first
- We wanted to take a kayak and were asked for two pesos “deposit”
- Service got a lot worse when soccer championship started, you could stay at the bar for a long time before somebody would come to serve you, they’d be watching TV.

Conclusion:
I’m sure young people enjoy that kind of atmosphere, most of them were drinking all day, walking around with half gallon mini kegs, and seemed quite happy. Overall, we would never return to Blau nor would we ever recommend it to anyone. For the same price you can get so much better service elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pay 5 star prices for a 1 star holiday"

Cubanacan Colonial
User Rating:  Cubanacan Colonial Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  DannyVikkiUK  on Jul 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
78 people found this review helpful

I read the reviews of this resort before choosing to stay here and cannot believe that 95% of the people who gave good reports actually stayed at the same place as me.
I read the reviews of this resort before choosing to stay here and cannot believe that 95% of the people who gave good reports actually stayed at the same place as me.
On the first night we went to the buffet restaurant and found that most seats and tablecloths were filthy and looked like they had not been cleaned this year.
The rooms were of a good standard but my wife and I didn’t go to Cuba to stay in our room.
The nightclub was dark and dingy and contained the pool table which was short of balls and would have needed to be aluminous anyway, had a three foot pool cue, no triangle and no chalk. Whilst waiting for my turn to play I could not sit at the sofa as they were damp and smelly.
The snack bar had an extensive choice, however you could only have the cheese and ham sandwiches that everyone raves about. (If cheese and ham sandwiches are what make your holiday get a life). Even these became a rarity on day 3 as the resort ran out of bread.
The Yarey bar, now that’s a sight to behold, very unhygienic.
Pool was in a state of disrepair and not fit for use.
The themed restaurant was closed, that may have been a blessing.
Half of the resort was closed for restoration. No work was in progress and I believe it has been closed for economic reasons and will fall down shortly and could become a place of Cuban historic interest.
This was to be a 2 week holiday but I formed an escape committee on day four after been served Pork that must have been hung like a pheasant for a month before cooking.
All in all not a place I would recommend for anyone to stay unless you looking to pay 5 star prices for a 1 star holiday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube