Blau Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Blau Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.7 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 3, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 2, 2012

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.2 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 5, 2011

Barcelo Arenas Blancas

4.1 based on 64 reviews
Last reviewed May 18, 2013

Blau Varadero  

Carretera de las Morlas km 15, Varadero, Matanzas

"Excellent location & Employees"
Posted by: Louise on Jun 30, 2014
see all reviews

Blau Varadero Reviews
Blau Varadero Pictures and Information
Blau Varadero Varadero Cuba

#22
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.5

Based on 21 reviews

Blau Varadero Information


Emerging from the sand, sun and warm waters of the Caribbean, hotel Blau Varadero is meant to be the tallest and most majestic in Varadero, whose elegant bedrooms offer a view of sea and sky.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Varadero Reviews

Blau Varadero Review: 4.5 of 5 21 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  5
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 21

"Excellent location & Employees"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Louise  on Jun 30, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
6 people found this review helpful

My spouse and I resided at the Blau Varadero from May 25th to June 1st.. Check in was quick and efficient. During our short wait, we were offered a nice cold glass of sparkling wine. Our room (9th floor) was nice & clean. The maid service was excellent & always replenished (fridge & bathroom items...) when needed. The food was very good at all the locations we ate: Buffet (wide variety of meats, pastas, breads, fruits/vegetables, ice cream, deserts, etc...) , lunch restaurant near pool & at Beach bar + hot dog/hamburger/fries stand next to pool. We went to the International restaurant and enjoyed it. We did not try the Mexican restaurant. The service at all the bars was excellent even the vacationers who did not tip received their service with a smile. The pool was always kept clean. We really appreciated the locations of all the washrooms. The one near the pool was used by many pool users which relieved the fear of some not leaving the pool.... The washroom at the beach was also well located and appreciated. All washrooms were always kept clean. There did not seem to be any problems for anyone to obtain a Palapa/long chairs at the beach. We usually got there early after our breakfast and always had one. The location of the Blau Varadero is ideal for beach walkers. You can walk either way (East/West) for a very good distance. The Beach is amazing. We only went to two night shows. The Circus and the famous Michael Jackson show which we really enjoyed. The guests are mostly from Europe and Canada. All were pleasant and respectful of others. The hotel is quiet, no loud music/noise at night. The gym is small but there is enough exercise equipment that are all functional. The Spa is nice. I enjoyed a relaxing one hour massage. The hard working hotel personnel are ALL wonderful, friendly & always give you an excellent service. On many occasions we observed the Hotel Manager (Jose) walking the grounds to ascertain everything was always perfect. My spouse and I will definitely return to the Blau Varadero as we had an excellent vacation. This was our 7th time in Cuba, and overall the Blau Varadero was the best hotel/resort we resided at so far.

Room Number:
906

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great People"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Feb 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
220 people found this review helpful

My son and I had a great week enjoying the sun as well as getting to know the people at Blau Varadero. We were very impressed with the service as well as the staff and would recommend this resort as your next vacation stop. Lots of great Canadians of course to. Very clean Hotel

Room Number:
820

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alana  on Oct 22, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
223 people found this review helpful

An amazing time was had by all. Nine of us total. The beach was great, the pool even greater, lots of seating, but not lots with shade. The fancier of the two a la cartes was excellent, the cuban a la carte, well, don't really remember the food, as we were too busy fending off mosquitos and scratching bites. The buffet had quite a variety, but as known by anyone that has visited cuba, you don't go there for the food. Very bland, but always something to choose from. The resort itself was wonderful,very clean. The staff was the best I have encountered so far. Took us in like old friends. The animation crew was absolutely fantastic. Next trip I take to Cuba, Blau Varadero it is!!!

Room Number:
408

Arrival:
Arrived at 11:00 pm, therefore checkin was very smooth and quick. Not too many people at that time.

Rooms:
The rooms are large and very clean. Washroom has all necessary amenities with the exception of wash cloths.
An update on the televisions wouldn't hurt. But I didn't really watch a lot of t.v. anyway. Air conditioning worked great, fridge was stocked daily with beer, soda, and water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent service. Food bland, but always something to choose from. Bartenders are very generous with the alcohol.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Everything very clean. Beach raked each morning, water in pool just sparkled. Grounds very well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities galore. Water volleyball, aquabics, darts, archery, shooting, croquet, ring toss, shuffleboard, dancing lessons, and spanish lessons. Always something to do.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Definite value for money"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Igor Kovacevic  on May 15, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
324 people found this review helpful

The hotel is in an excellent location. We were given a room facing the sea which is a must! All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Although food and drinks were included in the daily rate, we didn't expect alcohol to be free as well! Since everything is paid for, we were compelled to tip staff as they really deserve it.

Room Number:
1132

Arrival:
Served a cocktail, staff were prompt and friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool has excellent size but would prefer the sea any day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Tried the kayaking in the sea, which was a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely amazing, One of the best holidays I've ever been on."

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ella  on Feb 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
374 people found this review helpful

Between me, my family and our friends, we had three rooms, they were very spacy and comfortable, the maids were extremely friendly and did a great job!
The food was good and the staff were exceptional,really helpful. The Cuban experience is not one to miss. The weather is pretty amazing and I would go back to Blau Varadero any time.

Arrival:
At arrival our bags were taken to the main desk where we were given wrist bands to show that we were all inclusive.The only problem was the lifts but they didnt really affect us much. We found our room got ready and went straight to the pool.

Rooms:
Perfect size,
room to store clothes, miny fridge stocked with cool drinks, bathroom double bed balcony, great views.

Restaurants and Bars:
great food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
brilliant, pool, the grounds have a football court,
the ground is beautiful and the reseraunts were great.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"fantastico"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Teresa Muro  on Nov 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010
600 people found this review helpful

One of the best hotels in Cuba. The staff is courteous and always smiling. The food was excellent, so many choices. If anyone complains about there food that means you can never please these type of people. I will for sure go back to this hotel......salud

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Opinión"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. Maria Piedad Gutierrez Lozano  on Jul 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Jul, 2010
498 people found this review helpful

El hotel está muy guapo y las habitaciones (por lo menos la nuestra) era enorme. Lo peor la distancia a Varadero, aunque allí dentro tienes de todo. Lo mejor la gente que atiende el hotel, muy amables, recuerdos a Ismary, muy dulce, bueno y todo el personal, en general. Espero volver.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Blau Varadero Hotel"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Sylvia McKee  on Jul 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Jul, 2010
678 people found this review helpful

My husband & I stayed at the Blau Varadero hotel for two weeks commencing June 4th 2010. This was an excellent holiday, the staff were wonderful the hotel impressive, the food choice excellent, in fact this was one of our best holidays yet. Hope to go back to this hotel again next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fun for everyone at the Blau"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marlene  on May 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
386 people found this review helpful

Hotel - Super Clean - Comfortable - Spacious - Beautiful.

Staff - Super Nice - Welcoming - Outgoing - Happy.

Food - Delicious - People should learn to give a little bit (one Pesos can go a long way) especially when the cook is making the hot food! Simple things as giving them a cold glass or two of juice while waiting for your omelet to cook can go a long way too.

Even though it was an all-inclusive week vacation, one must remember to give too and not always get :)

My heart goes out to all of the staff.

Your Arrival:
Courteous - Warm Welcome - Beautiful and must not forget the champagne and orange juice that awaits you in the reception area (All day - everyday)...nothing is a problem :)

Rooms:
Spacious - Clean - Comfortable

Once again, acknowledge the staff that take care of you; they'll go an extra mile + if you simply recognize them too.

Restaurants and Bars:
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM - All you can eat buffet filled with loads of goodies - something for everyone "GUARANTEED"! Our 21 year old said he felt like a King and ate like a King too! His friends told him other stories about the food etc. and let me tell you, he came back and talked so much about his great vacation (place, food, drinks, people.....EVERYTHING)!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean - Easy to Get Around - Super Safe

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Water polo, Salsa dancing by the pool which I miss so much, Volleyball, Croquet, Soccer, Other Games, fashion show, water ballet shows and of course must not forget the Musical Quiz every night around 8:30pm followed by another show which we watched all everynight that we were there!

Other Comments:
BLAU - BLAU - BLAU - GO ONCE AND YOU'LL WANT TO GO BACK AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN :)

EXCELLENT WORK TO ALL!

Our boys 13 & 21 and both were ALWAYS ON THE GO!

Unfortunately, we couldn't go snorkelling because the waters were too rough the day we wanted to go however we will go next year because we've heard nothing but good for that too. Go with the people at the ocean and it'll only cost $20.00 Pesos/Person and only about 6 people are on the special boat (katamaran).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Place"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Graham  on May 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
416 people found this review helpful

Travelled from Nova Scotia via Sunwing. Travel to was on time and travel on return 45 mins early.

Your Arrival:
We arrived at the hotel close to noon and waited until 2:45pm for our room. Luggage was locked up until required. Check out is noon and check-in 3:00pm.

Rooms:
5 star rooms. Best water pressure yet and hot. The quietest air conditioner I have experienced period, yet alone in Cuba. King size bed very comfortable. TV had CTV Edmonton to catch up on hockey scores and news back home.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was good but not the best I have experienced. Nver a problem getting tables.
The 2 a-la-cartes were 1) Las Adelfas which is a day grill conversion. Nice atmosphere but I wouldn't recommend this one for the food. 2) Palma Real is a wooden stand-alone building. Very classy and food was great.(Try the beef)
The day/night grills were great as they were more buffet/self service rather than sit down and order. The food here is great and from Noon to 3:30pm you can grab ice cream cones.
Never a problem getting a drink and service was good at the bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This hotel is located in such a location that you get a great beach for walking, nice sandy entrance to beautiful waters. Lots of chairs and huts. This is the first hotel I've stayed at in Cuba where all the lounge chairs were blue meshed material and not just plastic(same at pool). You can also get cushions at pool. We heard others before this trip who stayed elsewhere in Varadero as well as some of the people we picked up from other resorts who said they got bitten alive. Not at the Blau. We had no bugs at all.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not take part in any activities but there appeared to be lots going on.

Other Comments:
This is a very modern architecture style building. Not something you would expect in Cuba. It is a tall complex with glass exposed elevators. We had heard that the elevators were very slow here but we didn't find it out of the normal for Cuba. We did get stuck our first day going up with our luggage and had to be rescued. With the glassed elevator we were able to signal for help plus use the phone. No big deal. They were OK for us after that.
The staff here speak English very well. There is a niced grassy area between the pool and beach with lots of Palm trees. This is used for people who just want to be left alone, read or stay in the shade but it is a nice option. It is a fair walk to the beach but great wooden bridge type walkway. The only complaint I had was the smoking on the beach and around pool. Had to suck it up a few times or else moved. I hadn't been to Varadero since 2006 and found it getting more westernized. More western music heard being played in bars and even a Shania Twain CD played on bus back to airport. Not a plus for me. No offense Shania. When I go to Cuba I want to experience Cuba not hear the stuff I went to Cuba to get away from.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube