Blau Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Blau Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Barcelo Arenas Blancas

4.1 based on 66 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015

Blau Varadero  

Carretera de las Morlas km 15, Varadero, Matanzas

"Overall, one great hotel"
Posted by: George on Oct 20, 2014
see all reviews

Blau Varadero Reviews
Blau Varadero Pictures and Information
Blau Varadero Varadero Cuba

#24
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.5

Based on 23 reviews

Blau Varadero Information


Emerging from the sand, sun and warm waters of the Caribbean, hotel Blau Varadero is meant to be the tallest and most majestic in Varadero, whose elegant bedrooms offer a view of sea and sky.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Varadero Reviews

Blau Varadero Review: 4.5 of 5 23 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  6
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (10)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 23

"si mangia mallissimo"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  giuseppe  on Feb 12, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Feb, 2009
342 people found this review helpful

prima cosa il personale della cucina sono molto maleducati epoi si mangia malissimo e poi non si esce in fuori dalla cucina con lo stecchino in bocca o con le mani inbocca davanti i clienti poi di italiani in questo albergo cene sono pocchissimi perche sono tratati male io sono apena tornato il.10/02/09

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very nice resort but food 2 star quality!"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Aileen  on Jan 30, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1074 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Blau for 2 weeks from January 7th to January 21st, 2010.
We are a couple in our mid and late 50's that enjoy the Varadero beach.

Your Arrival:
Bus ride was nice and we arrived at the Blau just before lunch time. Even though check-in is 4:00, we were very pleased to find out our rooms were ready.

Rooms:
Our room was 735 which was the front of the resort view. We found that this room had a nice view of the ocean but not the beach view. We found that it came in handy to be on this side which I will explain later due to the weather conditions we experienced during our stay. The girls did a great job keeping us supplied with towels and changed our sheets whenever we requested. You receive 2 cans of coke, 2 cans of beer and 1 large bottle of water daily in your refrigerator. The safe was located in the closet and was free of charge.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet restaurant was always clean but the food was only 2 star quality. Very repetative and meat was always very chewy. You always found something to eat but it may have been burger and fries. A la carte restaurants were a bit better. Pool bar was a great location but poorly stocked liquor and food. Everyone we spoke with complained about the food and we are not really picky eaters, but this was pretty bad.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was the best as always in Varadero. Always found chairs. Pool was clean and the grounds were well kept. There is plenty of grounds with nice grass were some people perferred to lie on their chairs instead of the beach and pool areas.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Blau had many activities during the day and the entertainment was the usual that you find in Cuba.

Other Comments:
Not the fault of the Blau, but our weather for about 2 days into our vacation was extremely cold because of the earthquake in Haiti. This cold weather lasted about 4 days. We were in our turtlenecks and winter jackets all 4 days and put a damper on our vacation. The sauna was well used and enjoyed for warmth. The resort lost alot of money during these days because there was nothing to do but eat and drink and we ended up doing alot of this. As mentioned before, our room was located on the front side of the resort and the sun was always there, even when it was cold. We found that if we sat in the corner of our balcony, we could sit with our bathing suite on and tan without any cold wind.

The Blau over booked for the first weekend we were there and so they offered a free overnight trip to Havana but we had to actually check-out and leave our suitcases in a room location at the Blau and pack an overnight case for Havana. We were taken on a tour of Havana the first day and had a wonderful man named Jerry, who was our tour man, talked to us the entire 2 hours to Havana about the sights and history of Cuba and Havana...he did a wonderful job, he was very knowledgable. We were taken to a 4 star hotel in Havana which was located by the ocean for a beautiful view. After dinner we were taken to the Topicana where we enjoyed the nightly show with champaigne, rum and a cold platter. We were returned to the hotel and in the morning had breakfast and a tour again and returned to the Blau for 4:00 check-in. All was completely free....it was a nice break from the sitting around in the cold weather and the weather started to warm during this short trip. This time when we checked-in, we were give a beach view and it was wonderful. The weather was absolutely wonderful for the remainder of our trip and we were home with nice tans.

Servers and Hotel Staff:
The servers and most of the hotel staff were extremely friendly and always helpful and cheeful. The front desk staff was another matter. They were grumpy, unfriendly, not helpful. They do not look or think outside the box. If you are wanting to use the internet, make sure you go directly to the money exchange person at the front desk for a internet card which will cost you 8 pesco for 1 hour. If you go to any of the other persons at the front desk, you will not only limited information but sometimes, the wrong information This was hard to get used to.

Overall:
Overall, we had an enjoyable time. It was a very nice resort but they need to get their menu revamped because most people were not pleased. Not only will we not return to the Blau, we are not returning to Cuba. We have been 6 times and we have had enough.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alana  on Oct 22, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
522 people found this review helpful

An amazing time was had by all. Nine of us total. The beach was great, the pool even greater, lots of seating, but not lots with shade. The fancier of the two a la cartes was excellent, the cuban a la carte, well, don't really remember the food, as we were too busy fending off mosquitos and scratching bites. The buffet had quite a variety, but as known by anyone that has visited cuba, you don't go there for the food. Very bland, but always something to choose from. The resort itself was wonderful,very clean. The staff was the best I have encountered so far. Took us in like old friends. The animation crew was absolutely fantastic. Next trip I take to Cuba, Blau Varadero it is!!!

Room Number:
408

Arrival:
Arrived at 11:00 pm, therefore checkin was very smooth and quick. Not too many people at that time.

Rooms:
The rooms are large and very clean. Washroom has all necessary amenities with the exception of wash cloths.
An update on the televisions wouldn't hurt. But I didn't really watch a lot of t.v. anyway. Air conditioning worked great, fridge was stocked daily with beer, soda, and water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent service. Food bland, but always something to choose from. Bartenders are very generous with the alcohol.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Everything very clean. Beach raked each morning, water in pool just sparkled. Grounds very well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities galore. Water volleyball, aquabics, darts, archery, shooting, croquet, ring toss, shuffleboard, dancing lessons, and spanish lessons. Always something to do.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A super hotel in Varadero"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Erik  on Oct 2, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Oct, 2007
3233 people found this review helpful

Last summer we stayed in this super luxuory hotel with fine air conditioneded rooms and a very friendly staff. Even the entertainment crew was great and did they're best to entertain all the guests during the whole day and evening. Thanks for my fantastic vacation on Cuba. Greets Erik
Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"good rooms with sea view "

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  faith  on Jul 21, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
297 people found this review helpful

This hotel is a typical example of do not judge a book by it’s cover because if you do that, you will miss out on the great service and features of this hotel. From the outside, the beauty is hidden but on the inside, you could tell it is top notch. The interior makes up for the ugly exterior and I call that good hotel strategy. I had a room with a sea view and it was outstanding and beautiful. The rooms are quite massive and really clean, the mini fridge in the rooms is restocked every day and the air condition was not faulty. The entertainment here was really good as the entertainment team made sure of that. The food was excellent although I think they can add more to the buffet for more choices but all the same, it was great. The a la carte restaurant and the Mexican one should be booked before you visit it; the main hall restaurant has different themes every night which I think is very creative. I love that the staff are genuinely nice to you not for the tip you will give to them, they take their job very seriously and they were extremely helpful and friendly. The beach here is beautiful, the sea is calm and you will always find umbrellas to sit under and just enjoy the rest of your day. The lobby area is clean and beautiful and overall, the hotel is worth the money, you should try it and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Place"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Graham  on May 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
519 people found this review helpful

Travelled from Nova Scotia via Sunwing. Travel to was on time and travel on return 45 mins early.

Your Arrival:
We arrived at the hotel close to noon and waited until 2:45pm for our room. Luggage was locked up until required. Check out is noon and check-in 3:00pm.

Rooms:
5 star rooms. Best water pressure yet and hot. The quietest air conditioner I have experienced period, yet alone in Cuba. King size bed very comfortable. TV had CTV Edmonton to catch up on hockey scores and news back home.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was good but not the best I have experienced. Nver a problem getting tables.
The 2 a-la-cartes were 1) Las Adelfas which is a day grill conversion. Nice atmosphere but I wouldn't recommend this one for the food. 2) Palma Real is a wooden stand-alone building. Very classy and food was great.(Try the beef)
The day/night grills were great as they were more buffet/self service rather than sit down and order. The food here is great and from Noon to 3:30pm you can grab ice cream cones.
Never a problem getting a drink and service was good at the bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This hotel is located in such a location that you get a great beach for walking, nice sandy entrance to beautiful waters. Lots of chairs and huts. This is the first hotel I've stayed at in Cuba where all the lounge chairs were blue meshed material and not just plastic(same at pool). You can also get cushions at pool. We heard others before this trip who stayed elsewhere in Varadero as well as some of the people we picked up from other resorts who said they got bitten alive. Not at the Blau. We had no bugs at all.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not take part in any activities but there appeared to be lots going on.

Other Comments:
This is a very modern architecture style building. Not something you would expect in Cuba. It is a tall complex with glass exposed elevators. We had heard that the elevators were very slow here but we didn't find it out of the normal for Cuba. We did get stuck our first day going up with our luggage and had to be rescued. With the glassed elevator we were able to signal for help plus use the phone. No big deal. They were OK for us after that.
The staff here speak English very well. There is a niced grassy area between the pool and beach with lots of Palm trees. This is used for people who just want to be left alone, read or stay in the shade but it is a nice option. It is a fair walk to the beach but great wooden bridge type walkway. The only complaint I had was the smoking on the beach and around pool. Had to suck it up a few times or else moved. I hadn't been to Varadero since 2006 and found it getting more westernized. More western music heard being played in bars and even a Shania Twain CD played on bus back to airport. Not a plus for me. No offense Shania. When I go to Cuba I want to experience Cuba not hear the stuff I went to Cuba to get away from.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's Beautiful!!!"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  MARTIN SENDRA  on Dec 16, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Dec, 2006
2631 people found this review helpful

It seems to me a very pretty hotel, the location is something that is against some fare away but the rest is very good!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Opinión"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. Maria Piedad Gutierrez Lozano  on Jul 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Jul, 2010
771 people found this review helpful

El hotel está muy guapo y las habitaciones (por lo menos la nuestra) era enorme. Lo peor la distancia a Varadero, aunque allí dentro tienes de todo. Lo mejor la gente que atiende el hotel, muy amables, recuerdos a Ismary, muy dulce, bueno y todo el personal, en general. Espero volver.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall, one great hotel"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  George  on Oct 20, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
341 people found this review helpful

This is one amazing hotel. The hotel itself, it is not too big, and with that it is pretty easy to find your way around it. This is not the most luxurious hotel that you can find in Cuba, but it is a great place for both relaxation and party.

The staff is very nice, they are always there to help you and to show you anything that you need. The rooms are very nice and clean. They are big and the thing that I personally liked the most is that the beds are really nice and comfortable. There are not too many hotels that have beds that won't make your back hurt all the time.

The only complaint I have about the room is about the toilets. The shower was broken when we got there, but the people that work there helped us. Nevertheless, the shower broke several times while we were there. My overall rating for the room is 4 and for the staff is 5+.

The food - the restaurants were overall ok, the preparation was really good, but I didn't like the tastes as much. It was clean, the waiters were more than nice with us and my overall rating for the food and restaurants is again, 4.

The beach is more than beautiful, just amazing. Clean, enough room, everything was amazing. I have nothing more to say. A+

The entertainment was also great, there were a lot of shows, concerts and so on and me and my friend, both loved it. There is an open bar all night, so no matter if you want a midnight snack or something to drink, you can get it at any time of the day or the night. The overall rating for the entertainment is 5.

I would love to come back in this hotel, it is a great place to have your vacation or stay there if you are on a business trip. I would recommend it to anyone that is going to Cuba. My overall rating for this hotel is 4.5, there is still room for improvement, but I am going to give it 5 stars (flowers) because it really deserves it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great People"

Blau Varadero
User Rating:  Blau Varadero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Feb 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
506 people found this review helpful

My son and I had a great week enjoying the sun as well as getting to know the people at Blau Varadero. We were very impressed with the service as well as the staff and would recommend this resort as your next vacation stop. Lots of great Canadians of course to. Very clean Hotel

Room Number:
820

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube