Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Memories Caribe Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.8 based on 52 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 30, 2014

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba

"it wasn't perfect but okay"
Posted by: clare on Jul 29, 2014
see all reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews
Memories Caribe Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Memories Caribe Beach Resort Cayo Coco Cuba

#6
of 10 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.5

Based on 39 reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Information


Situated on one of the most beautiful beaches along Cayo Coco Memories Caribe Beach Resort provide fabulous scenic locations cozy accommodations, 24hrs food and beverage service an array of amenities for every interest. Our tropical architecture offers spacious for couples, families and friends. A perfect backdrop for creating lifetime vacation memories.


Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  15
Average
  7
Poor
  5
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (4)
Leisure (35)
Party (3)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
1 - 10 of 39

"it wasn't perfect but okay"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  clare  on Jul 29, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
14 people found this review helpful

I canít really say that the place was perfect but it was okay and you can visit it if you can tolerate the bugs so basically what I am saying is that I have mixed feelings about the place. I had a nice time here just that I wished that someone would have told me to come along with some bug spray. Words canít describe how amazing the staff at this wonderful resort are, they are really nice people, always willing to help out. The staff is friendly, kind and very polite and always wore smiles to make you comfortable, I feel like apart from the bug problem in the rooms, the place is a really nice site to crash while in town for vacation or whatever other reason that might have brought you into town. It is a pleasure to walk around these very adorable premises because of the beautiful flowers and palm trees around it. The white sand beach is amazing; the sand is soft to walk on and usually just walked the beach. There was no hot water flow for some time and I complained to the front desk, it took time but it was eventually fixed that was just few days to when I left. The evening shows organized by the animation team were good. I had a wonderful time and if the bug problem was cleared, I will definitely come back if not, itís a no for me. The food was great by the way, I loved it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing Vacation "

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lexi  on Jun 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
28 people found this review helpful

I travel to Cuba once a year with my family, and I can say that Memories Caribe Beach Resort in Cayo Coco, Cuba has the best beach, entertainment and memories!

The Rooms
We stayed in two rooms that had a joining door. The room was huge and was very clean. The furniture was a bit outdated but who really cares! Our room was close to all the amenities and the beds were quite comfortable.

The Food
Usually people say that the food in Cuba is not the greatest, however for 10 years of traveling to Cuba, I have never experienced bad food at any hotels. Memories Caribe had a variety of food for sea food lovers, meat cravers, vegetarians and the kids.

The Bars
There were a number of bars which served fantastic drinks. Some advice for new Cuba travelers: The cups they give at the beach/pool are quite small, so we brought mugs that we refilled instead. Its a good idea, and they keep your drinks nice and cold and sand free!

The Pool
The pool was clean, and really nice. There was a swim up bar and a volleyball area. There was also a bridge to walk over to get to the other side of the pool. HIGHLIGHT: A chef making these amazing treats was poolside everyday. These treats are to die for, so eat as many as you can before leaving! Truly amazing.

The Beach
The beach was by far the best part of the vacation. The water was warm and shallow. In the morning, the water would be a bit deeper, however after 12, you could walk for miles in shallow water. Right before the deep blue sea water, there was a very shallow bank where you could see fish and shells. You can take canoes, and paddle boats out too. There was a beach bar and beach grill on the sand as well. A volleyball court was available too. Music and entertainment surrounds you on the beach, and I can say that the beach is the most amazing I have ever seen and experienced. I would come every month just for the beach. This beach is worth every penny.

Entertainment
Just like any all inclusive cuban resort, there is entertainment throughout the day and at night. Music, and lots of dancing all day! There are some amazing acrobatic and circus acts as well.


I would recommend this hotel for families, couples and people who are looking for a relaxing yet super fun vacation! You will surely be happy when you get into the cuban atmosphere!!! I know that im going back during the summer!!!!

Room Number:
2

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Probably will not return"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joy  on Oct 23, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Leisure | With friend
80 people found this review helpful

It's hard to write a review, in some areas, the service was amazing with present staff who took notice like at any other 4 star hotel. On the other hand, you have staff who begrudgingly helped you if you deviated from anything but the norm. A lot of the staff were very expectant of tips simply just for talking to you.

It was hard to get information, they really should have a flyer with info like how to book a spa appointment, tours, hours of the gym and various bars.

The beach was beautiful, absolutely my favourite part of the trip. Crystal clear water, lots of seating and shade or sun. The snack bar and bar were great, staff were awesome there.

Room Number:
1112

Room Block:
1000

Arrival:
The arrival and departure were amazingly efficient. I was very relieved to get checked in and taken care of so quickly. Yohn at the front desk was very helpful throughout the trip, the others, not so much.

Rooms:
Well the first night we arrived, we saw a cockaroach. Enough said.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were fairly good, the coffee bar and lounge was a great place to get a good coffee, as was the snack bar. Definitely not the buffet which served the same food daily and it wasn't very good. The al a carte restaurants you have to book way ahead of time and the one we went to had such terrible service I didn't leave a tip, which is something I have never done in my lifetime.

The food was definitely not great. The last meal we had they served beef, what part of the cow they used I don't know, but I suspect it was heart and it was awful.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were in great condition. A lot of it is wetlands, so definitely bring some off repellant. The beach was gorgeous. The pool area was relatively tidy. The biggest problem is people leave their cigarette butts everywhere.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to the town of Moron, which is something I wouldn't do again. Not a lot to see and people really giving you a hard sell. On the plus side, they also haggle. Was immediately picked out and followed by several people.

The entertainment was fun. My friend went to the gym and said half the equipment wasn't in working condition. The spa needed to be booked out by the beach, which is at the opposite end of the resort.

Other Comments:
It was my first trip to Cuba, I'm not saying I won't return at all, but likely not that resort, and will spend a bit of time searching for greener pastures in the Caribbean first.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Memories Caribe Beach Resort - More Party then Leisure"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Corey  on Jan 31, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
105 people found this review helpful

Cuba is a party place, plain and simple, there is more expensive places where adults can go; you shouldn't go to Cuba and expect it to be peace and quiet like Bora Bora. I'm 18, so im going there to have a good time, I had a great time, drinking, dancing, and all that. The employees were great, they were nice and always wanted you to have a good time. I made good friends with the bar tenders and the human resources woman.

I met some young ladies, and did what "kids" go there to do. Which is have a good time, I do have to say the music was really loud in the club, and was uncomfortably loud when you weren't having a good time, and drinking. But if you were dancing and having a good time, which I what most people go there to do then it was great. The resort was a far size, and going out in the ocean was fun, there was a sand bar probably 30+ meters out, where you could find sand dollars and what not. But also a good place to relax and get away from the beach havoc and have your own little place.

So to sum it up, it is a great time and is a nice place, with great employees and good times. If you want more of a quiet place, you should keep looking especially around late February to early March that's when all the younger people go to have a good time. Its not overwhelming, but there is a partying atmosphere, never the less they are respectful and thoughtful about others around them. But its a good mixture of leisure and a good time!

Hope you enjoy your trip. And happy hunting.

Arrival:
February 23 2012 - March 1 2012

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
2107, 2108, 2109

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great vacation for a family"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andy  on Dec 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
114 people found this review helpful

Janet at Marlin travel in Montreal (514-305-0851) recommended this place to me and it was a great recommendation. Although the food and drinks were not good, the resort itself was great. I went for a week from Dec 15 to 22 with my 11 yo daughter and 13 yo son and we all loved it.

This all inclusive resort is great for families. The 1 and 2 story bungalows are easily accessible and the beautifully landscaped pathways between the bungalows make it a pleasure to walk. The resort is right on the beach. The people are very friendly and there are lots of things to do for the kids. The beach is superb and my daughter collected shells all week.

The exchange on Canadian to Cuban money was a bit steep, but then we did not go to spend money. For 100$ Canadian I got 92$ Cuban pesos. Basically 1$ is 1 pesos.

Room Number:
2804

Arrival:
We were picked up by bus and had a short 20 minute ride to the resort.

Rooms:
The rooms are not very luxurious. The resort seems old and the buildings are in reasonable shape. The bathroom is not fancy but reasonable and functional. The rooms are comfortable and are equipped with a TV with quite a few channels (not that you are going to spend your vacation watching TV). A mini bar is filled with free beer, soft drinks and bottled water. It is refilled every day (for free).

The upper rooms have a large balcony with table and chairs. The lower rooms have patios.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only ate at the buffet and the snack bar. Hamburgers, hot dogs, Cuban style pizza, ham and cheese sandwiches and fries were the main stay for my kids. As a vegetarian myself it was a bit harder but the buffet had fruits and veggies. The food was not fancy or even very good, just acceptable, but then Cuba is not known for its food.

Beer and water were abundant. PiŮa coladas and daiquiris are made with powder and syrups, so they aren't worth drinking. Other hard drinks were better. But for the kids, they had all the soft drinks they wanted. Juice was not good quality and seemed like chemical juice. The only real juice I found was at the buffet fruit table where there is usually a Cuban girl with a small juicer.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is superb, although not very wide, it is long. And everyone seems to stick together in one spot, so we moved a couple about 100 feet away from everyone and had a large open area to ourselves. You can walk out into the ocean a couple of thousand feet at maximum waist height before it gets deep. The ocean floor is mostly just white sand and the water is so clear you can see everything right out till the deep section. Occasional underwater beds of seaweed are sparse and few rocks or rough parts. Most of the ocean area is soft white sand under your feet.

The resort pool is large and has a section for kids and a volley ball net. It also has an in-pool bar. There are ample lawn chairs and two bars to get drinks.

There is also a bar on the beach so you can refill quickly.

There are also always a few waiters and waitresses who will take your orders and walk them to your towel if you are too lazy to get up and get your own drinks and burgers. They do this for tips.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were lots of things to do... snorkeling equipment can be used for free. Paddle boats, kayaks, and windsurfers can be used for free.

A 1 hour horse back ride on the beach cost us 10$ (pesos) per person, while a horse drawn carriage ride to an old Cuban village farm cost us 5$ per person.

We also went for a day excursion to swim with Dolphins. This cost us 60$ per person which also included 2 drinks and a great seafood lunch at Pilar beach, about 30 minutes from the resort. It was worth the 60$ per person. You can buy photos of your kids swimming with the dolphins for 10$ per photo or for about 30$ they will burn you a DVD with photos and movies since there are 2 photographers taking pictures non stop while you are in a group of about 15 swimming with the dolphins for about 30 minutes. My kids loved it. Then after the dolphins they take you to Pilar beach where there is a simple seafood restaurant and you have a choice of Lobster, Fish, Chicken or Pork served with rice and tomato slices. The Lobster and Fish were so good my son had 2 extra plates at 8$ each. The meal was good.

Other Comments:
The people working at the resort are all very friendly. The baggage handlers are a bit pushy cause they want your tip. But for the most part, the staff will serve you with a smile without asking for a tip. We always ate at the same table in the buffet restaurant so that we always had the same people serving us for all meals. I did not tip until the second to last day when I decided it was time to thank them for their continued smiles and friendliness even though I never tipped prior to this. Leaving 1 or 2$ per meal tip is ok, but 5$ is better. Remember it is an all-inclusive resort, you are not required to tip, so when you tip, you are tipping because you appreciate their effort.

Photos: http://memories-caribe-resort-cayococo-cuba.blogspot.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will not go back there"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jackie  on Nov 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
120 people found this review helpful

Although this was a lovely resort my chief complaint is the reason I will not go back there. The disco is in the middle of the resort and blasts loudly from 11 pm till 2 am. Then at 5 am the fogging starts. The beach is nice, the food is good. It annoys me that all bus personnel now ask for tips. I tip all the time but do not like to be asked to do it.Also, it would have been nice to have been shown to our room as we arrived at night and had to find our own way. Our luggage was taken for us but we were left to fend for ourselves.I am just going to keep going to the resorts I know, then I can be sure of a comfortable vacation.

Room Number:
4212

Arrival:
No help to find your building.

Rooms:
The maid did not do that great a job in spite of the fact that I left her gifts. There was a dirty cup and glass the whole week we were there.She did not wash the bathroom counter once. There was a big stain on a blanket and I asked for a new blanket. She took both blankets away and left us no blankets at all. Took me 2 days to get blankets.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very good food. The food staff should be taught to cough and sneeze into their arms. I got out of a few line ups after seeing them sneeze or cough into their hands then handle food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean. Lots of shade. Too many guys looking to dust off chairs for money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad experiance"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marg.  on Nov 13, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
102 people found this review helpful

We love to go to Cuba. Have gone many times... We like Breezes Jibacoa... We went to Memories Caribe Beach for a differant experiance... Bad move... Food terrible... Never hot... room ok... Bites in room ...pool... beach... Legs and arms so baddly bitten...Still have marks a month later...Will never return and will never recomend this resort...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Even if they pay me, I would not return!,"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tina  on Jul 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
216 people found this review helpful

We always go to cuba, we have been to many resorts 4 star and 5 star and honestly was not so bad. but "memories caribe resort" was horrible

-food: was disgusting, the only thing we ate was some veggies and grilled food.
rooms: were disgusting, there was barf all on our bed skirts, we had bed bugs, ants crawling all around, walls, counter tops , our luggage, inside our luggage!!!!
-the pool was only 1 pool, no deep end or shallow.
- the service was pathetic, you would have to tip endlessley in order to get ur chance in line, where we had to actually tell the bartender that he wasnt doing his job and not to take advantage of the damn tip. i always tip every course of meal or every drink, but if your going to be 1 on 1 for a tip, then he can go F*** himself.

the service in the buffet was horrible, to get a drink, or the right eating utensil would take about 5-10 minutes.

while we were there on july 3- july 10-2012 a Canadian family from Montreal, had their passports stolen, gold, wallets, money and all other important docs. "someone broke into their room in broad daylight, drilled their safe open, and stole all their passports etc... the family was so frantic and shocked!!!!! i couldn't but help my self overhear them at the front reception desk.?!!!! who could have access to a drill, and be so sure and ready to break into a room on the 1st floor and drill the safe open... obviously it was one of the Cuban workers who are aware and watching every tourist that enters that resort.

not to forget....back in September of 2011 a girl was raped at this resort, a young boy was beaten..

i learned all this while i was on the resort!!!stay away and keep ur passports safe

Room Number:
22....

Room Block:
22

Arrival:
july 3 to july 10 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Value for Money"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Just  on Jun 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
221 people found this review helpful

My husband and I returned from Cuba last week. We stayed at the Memories Caribe, Cayo Coco, Cuba. I love travelling and hope that my honest review would be helpful to those chosing their next vacation in Cayo Coco, Cuba. We flew Sunwing Champagne Flights and it was a nice way to start our holiday. The journey from airport to hotel was just 30 mins which is wonderful. Check in was smooth. Hotel room was spotless and close to all amenities. We stayed in the 1900 section. Contrary to what I'd read in previous reviews, the maid does change the sheets and towels daily. The beach is breathtaking and beautiful - crystal clear water, soft white sand and plenty of colourful fish swimming in the shallow waters. We were able to walk in the shallow waters for at least 300 meters. No waves and hence extremely safe. Highly recommended for families with young children. No outside vendors on beach which is wonderful. The grounds are beautifully kept. The snack bar makes pizza (Cuban style) but they do run out by 4 pm. However, they make great Cubano Sandwiches, Burgers, Hot Dogs and excellent fries. The Spanish Coffee is to die for at the Piano Bar. Nightly entertainment was good and the dancing fantastic. Now here are the not so nice parts of our stay : the patio door did not have a latch and the front door to our room did not have a safety latch, hence this caused us concern during our stay. Fortunately, we did not have any bad incidents. The service at the bars and restaurants are not very good unless you tip endlessly. The menu at the daily buffet definitely needs revamping and I am not a picky eater. I am fine with eating fruits and a tiny bit of rice and chicken or fish but there are people out there who could get fed up easily with the same fare day in and day out. The drinks are watered down but the bar tender will go out of his way to make something extra special if you tip well. However, if you don't, then watered down drinks is what you will get for sure. Service at the ala carte is poor - no cutlery and napkins on table, no refill of wine glass unless requested. Food in ala-carte very mediocre. The palapas on the beach are in need of repair. The Disco had no Air Conditioning. The Spa and Gymnasium was closed during our stay. However, the staff work very hard and we appreciated everything they did for us however small the request. All in all this was a relaxing vacation and we got good value for our money. I would recommend this hotel whole heartedly, especially to young families and seniors.

Room Block:
19

Arrival:
May 29th 2012.

Rooms:
Clean. Towels and Sheets changed daily.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet - Menu needs revising. Ala-carte - very mediocre - out of the four choices on the menu, only two were available.

Bars - unless tipped constantly, the drinks are watered down.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools clean and grounds immaculate.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good.

Other Comments:
Would recommend this hotel to Seniors and Families with young children.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfection is utopic but that's pretty close"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie-Chantal  on May 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
231 people found this review helpful

I am fortunate enough to be able to travel often. I have visited three continents and my stays have taken me to five stars hotels like the San Francisco Fairmount where I stayed in the penthouse suite where the movie The Rock was filmed to a one star in Oran, Algeria. Consequently, I know that the star system is different from one country to another. I know the value of a dollar but also I know that the same dollar can only be stretched so far.

Before I go on... let's address my pet peeves...

1) This hotel is under construction... why are there people complaining about that fact when they are on site ? If you did not know it was under construction... blame the travel agent, not the hotel. Three blocks are open this far and one to be opened every 15th of the month until completion. Myself, it did not bother me. I knew about it and truthfully... except for the vans backing up... not much to report. The fitness center is not open to date.

2) There ARE bugs... Cayo Coco is built on a swamp... didn't your travel agent tell you ? (Back to number one for the blame cycle). I bring Watkins repellent and it's the end of the story... One night, I forgot to put some on and I looked like the Pillsbury doughboy... A barman was kind enough to give me a glass of gin. Rub it on the itchy area and it goes away instantly...

As I have lived four hurricanes in Cuba, the first thing I noticed when entering the hotel (after a mere 15 minutes bus ride from the airport), was that the hotel is designed to sustain hurricanes. Everything has been built with that in mind and it reassures me. What I was not prepared for was the quality of the decor. Walking around and viewing the rooms (I booked a suite but the hotel was kind enough to show me a junior suite) the only word that came to mind was zen... I later confirmed with management that the designer was japanese...

What can I tell you ?... this hotel is beautiful, management is available and courteous (Cuban, Spanish and Canadian alike) and the staff is the smiling and happy.

The rooms are large and quiet. I had a family of six living in the rooms next to me and one day, they apologized for the noise they were making... I would not have know if they had not introduced themselves. Service is great no matter where you are. I called for a wake-up call one day and got the service. Everything is comfortable, the artists visiting the hotel are great. Breakfast with champagne... sushi for diner...

The grounds are three months old and not much rain is falling. But there are flowers everywhere you look,

Again, to me, it was pretty close to perfection. Even the room safe is large enough to hold a computer. They had me at the walk-in closet in the suite... it went uphill from there :-D

Thank you all for a magical stay. See you soon.

Room Number:
2115

Room Block:
2

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube