Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Memories Caribe Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.7 based on 55 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2015

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba

"No more Sunwing"
Posted by: Doreen on Apr 21, 2015
see all reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews
Memories Caribe Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Memories Caribe Beach Resort Cayo Coco Cuba

#6
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.5

Based on 41 reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Information


Situated on one of the most beautiful beaches along Cayo Coco Memories Caribe Beach Resort provide fabulous scenic locations cozy accommodations, 24hrs food and beverage service an array of amenities for every interest. Our tropical architecture offers spacious for couples, families and friends. A perfect backdrop for creating lifetime vacation memories.


Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 41 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  16
Average
  8
Poor
  5
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (4)
Leisure (37)
Party (3)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
1 - 10 of 41

"Memories Caribe in Cayo Coco Cuba/Nightmares Caribe in Cayo Coco Cuba"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Jan 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
182 people found this review helpful

This was suppose to be a Special Vacation as my husband and l were celebrating our Anniversery and it was a Vacation from Hell!!! We saved our money which we work hard for and we choose not to buy each other Christmas Gift's so that we could go away and celebrate our Anniversery but in all honesty l would of rather a lump of coal under my Christmas Tree!!! One word, Digusting!!!!

Room Number:
2419

Arrival:
Very lenghty, no help getting to our room or with luggage!!! Staff not friendly!!!

Rooms:
Bug's and Ant's. Very Moldy and Musty. Air didn't work properly. Frig was never stocked. Couch flithy, all bulb's had to be replaced and chair's fixed!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Digusting!!! My husband is allergic to Seafood and nothing was labelled and all Food's were mixed!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All Cuban Beaches are Beautiful!!! The pool was cold, no animation staff!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
None!!!

Other Comments:
We've been to Cuba 7 time's and this by far the worse resort we have ever stayed at. This resort should be shut down!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not stay here"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Corey  on Apr 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
280 people found this review helpful

BED BUGS, aunts , frogs in rooms , not me idea of a nice time. Yes it's Cuba, but we have seen too much at this place. You ask for assistance for anything they tell you they will get back to you or talk to manager/ THe manager doesn't even speak english. I don't recommend this place. we came back with ring warms, and infections. Don't eat the food. We ate bread the whole second week we were there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Arrival"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  GaryNiagaraarea  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
215 people found this review helpful

We flew Canjet out of Toronto. Late departure due to no muffins on board. Delayed 1 hour for this reason. Canjet seats are more spacious than Skyservice but, of course, anything would be more spacious than Skyservice.

Rooms:
Large rooms. The regular hotel rooms are located in a 2 story complex. Approx. 8 rooms on each floor. This presented a real noise factor when people left or returned to their rooms. Doors slamming, people knocking on doors, kids crying and screaming, adults talking loud. People returning from the entertainment late at night did not have any respect for the fact that some people were in bed trying to sleep. Too many children at this resort for this time of year. Do children not attend school anymore?

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was fair to poor. If you like your food improperly prepared, visit this resort. We have been to Cayo Coco on three different occasions and different resorts and this is the worst in food handling. They will cook chicken breast for you but they place the chicken on a plate first then on the grill. The next person may want beef cooked and the cook will place the beef on the plate where he just placed the chicken then on the grill. Obviously, the beef was placed in the chicken juices. Cross contamination. Disgusting. Everything else was cold or uncooked. Mainly ate at the pasta counter where you could get warmed pasta. Fresh bread was delicious. Of course, if you like uncooked bacon for breakfast, you will like this place. The standard of cooking and food at this resort is well below the low Cuban standard of food. Bars were okay. Bartenders were generally efficient. If you said something that they didn t like, they swore at you in cuban.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice beach. There were a couple of sand bars thereby enabling you to walk out a good distance. There were some jellyfish on the beach but not that bad this time. Maybe one or two in 30 yards or so.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We had been on the tours on other trips to Cayo Coco so we did not go on the tours. The tour to the sugar factory, train ride, meal in the woods and Moron is an exceptional tour. We found that the cost of this tour had dramatically increased.

Other Comments:
We have found that the people working at the resorts have gone from being appreciative of anything that you can give them to demanding money before any type of service. But I guess that is the American way. Front desk personnel were not polite or accomodating until the manager of the resort was called in. We wanted to switch rooms but were rejected by the front desk personnel for 3 days before getting the tour rep. involved. The rep. talked to the manager of the resort, who came and talked to me personally. He upgraded us immediately to a suite. He said if there was another problem, to contact him personally, not the front desk. Well, in that suite, we encountered a large (2 inch) Cricket at night and a cockroach the next morning. This was suppose to be a brand new suite. Obviously, we were moved again. Now we were in another suite in another building. This time on the second floor and we had only 2 nights left in our stay. Thank goodness. Toilet paper roll was mounted on the wall behind the toilet and near the floor. Almost fell off the toilet trying to get the toilet paper. Would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't go here"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jullie  on Apr 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Business | With Group
296 people found this review helpful

We travelled in a group of 20. We came back with infections, ring worms as well. Yes they have bed bugs, aunts and frogs in rooms!!! I would not recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I wouldn't go back if you paid me!!"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Norm  on Jan 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
194 people found this review helpful

My wife and I visited from Dec27th to Jan.3rd 2012 . We read the reviews before going and as is the case with anywhere else we have travelled there were both good and bad reviews , however it has been my experience that the bad FAR outweighed the good in this case ! We travel to all inclusives at least once or twice a year and usually with a group of approximately 20 others , we are so glad that they didn't come with us on this trip as they were spared all of the crappy service and food . We have been to Cuba before and we are aware that the food isn't as good there but the total lack of selection was a shock . The resort was very dirty in general and the grounds were not looked after at all .It would have been nice to look out a window and not look through dirt . I would imagine this is because the staff are too busy trying to sell their souvenirs and coconut juice to do their jobs . Don't get me wrong , I understand they need to make a living but we paid good money to be there and yes we do expect something for our money (we work too hard to just give it away). The resort was way under staffed which resulted in constant long line ups for both food ( such as it was) and drinks . The beach was as nice as everyone says it is at Cayo Coco , but it would be just as nice anywhere else in Cayo Coco so try somewhere else ! We thought that maybe we had been spoiled by having such excellent service at other resorts , but when we were on the bus back to the airport it became extremely clear that everyone on the bus felt the same way as we did and I believe without exception that they were as unhappy with their choice of holidays as we were . I must make note that 2 days before we left we noticed a group from Montreal Canada had arrived and they were part of a wedding party . My wife and I really hope that they had a better experience then we did as we could not see one spot on this resort that we would want to get married on and can't imagine how disappointing their wedding dinner must have been . If it was us it would have been a horrible wedding memory to carry with us forever . On the up side we met a nice family from P.E.I. and enjoyed each other’s company (you've got to make the best of it yourself , no one else will for you ) . We survived the week and that’s the best I can say , BEWARE of this resort , and definitely bring your bug spray with you . I hope you have found my review helpful as I have tried to be as accurate and truthful as possible .Buyer Beware , happy travels !!!!

Room Number:
2018

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
Upon arriving at the resort our bus load was brought into the front lobby where there was only 2 people working and as a result we had to wait for a long period of time(1 hour) to get registered and room keys etc.This was a sign of the slowness to come elsewhere in the resort .

Rooms:
The rooms were what I would call adequate , and the maid on our floor was quite nice , but make sure you hang on to toilet paper as it is a hard product to come by . The mini bar was really hit and miss as to whether it would be refilled . It was supposed to be done everyday however it was every other day if you were lucky . We called down to have it refilled but our requests fell on deaf ears and they never came . If you like having cold showers then this is the right place for you to go as hot water was just as difficult to find as was a hot meal !

Restaurants and Bars:
We survived mostly on hot dogs and fries for the week as it was the tastiest and easiest items to get , as I said the buffet was terrible . I found myself more often than not having to find my own utensils and serving myself juice and coffee for breakfast as they were vastly understaffed .As was the case anywhere that you were to be served the bars were very slow and unstocked . The bar's always had a line up and the pool bar never actually opened .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Even if they pay me, I would not return!,"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tina  on Jul 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
505 people found this review helpful

We always go to cuba, we have been to many resorts 4 star and 5 star and honestly was not so bad. but "memories caribe resort" was horrible

-food: was disgusting, the only thing we ate was some veggies and grilled food.
rooms: were disgusting, there was barf all on our bed skirts, we had bed bugs, ants crawling all around, walls, counter tops , our luggage, inside our luggage!!!!
-the pool was only 1 pool, no deep end or shallow.
- the service was pathetic, you would have to tip endlessley in order to get ur chance in line, where we had to actually tell the bartender that he wasnt doing his job and not to take advantage of the damn tip. i always tip every course of meal or every drink, but if your going to be 1 on 1 for a tip, then he can go F*** himself.

the service in the buffet was horrible, to get a drink, or the right eating utensil would take about 5-10 minutes.

while we were there on july 3- july 10-2012 a Canadian family from Montreal, had their passports stolen, gold, wallets, money and all other important docs. "someone broke into their room in broad daylight, drilled their safe open, and stole all their passports etc... the family was so frantic and shocked!!!!! i couldn't but help my self overhear them at the front reception desk.?!!!! who could have access to a drill, and be so sure and ready to break into a room on the 1st floor and drill the safe open... obviously it was one of the Cuban workers who are aware and watching every tourist that enters that resort.

not to forget....back in September of 2011 a girl was raped at this resort, a young boy was beaten..

i learned all this while i was on the resort!!!stay away and keep ur passports safe

Room Number:
22....

Room Block:
22

Arrival:
july 3 to july 10 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will not go back there"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jackie  on Nov 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
425 people found this review helpful

Although this was a lovely resort my chief complaint is the reason I will not go back there. The disco is in the middle of the resort and blasts loudly from 11 pm till 2 am. Then at 5 am the fogging starts. The beach is nice, the food is good. It annoys me that all bus personnel now ask for tips. I tip all the time but do not like to be asked to do it.Also, it would have been nice to have been shown to our room as we arrived at night and had to find our own way. Our luggage was taken for us but we were left to fend for ourselves.I am just going to keep going to the resorts I know, then I can be sure of a comfortable vacation.

Room Number:
4212

Arrival:
No help to find your building.

Rooms:
The maid did not do that great a job in spite of the fact that I left her gifts. There was a dirty cup and glass the whole week we were there.She did not wash the bathroom counter once. There was a big stain on a blanket and I asked for a new blanket. She took both blankets away and left us no blankets at all. Took me 2 days to get blankets.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very good food. The food staff should be taught to cough and sneeze into their arms. I got out of a few line ups after seeing them sneeze or cough into their hands then handle food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean. Lots of shade. Too many guys looking to dust off chairs for money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We asked to be moved to a different hotel"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  JeffLondonON  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Sep, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
303 people found this review helpful

We flew Sunwing. Flight was great. No issues. We got to the resort and Cuba always amazes us when they don't seem to have any idea that customers are coming. Totally bewildered that there's a lineup in front of them. Not just this hotel but most hotels in Cuba. For some reason they couldn't find our reservation. We had printed off our reservation, had a ticket stub from the plane, there was someone at the airport that checked our name on a list and put us on a shuttle bus but the front desk at the resort had no idea who we were. We requested a king bed on the second floor close to the beach. She decided to let us have two single beds on the first floor close to the pool. Not until we asked to see the manager would she say they would look into it the next morning. We wanted the manager's name and what time he/she would be there in the morning and suddenly she found a room on the second floor close to the beach. No king bed but we gave up. Did they escort us to our room or give us a ride to our room? No! Pitch black at night at a strange resort and they pointed in the general direction and said it was over there. Four star? Not even close. We brought our room number to the bellboys and they said they would meet us there. So we couldn't ride with them? We had to stumble through the dimly lit resort with a very poor map to find our own way around a strange resort to find our room by ourselves. Not four star service at all.

Rooms:
The room was OK. Nothing special. As said above we had to argue to get what we had asked for. We asked for a king bed and got two single beds but we got sick of trying to argue with them. The room we ended up with had a really nice view of the lagoon and the ocean in the distance. You could hear the waves on the beach. To see the lagoon and the ocean, we had to look past the unfinished landscaping in front of it. Just bare mud, no grass and a few dead trees. If you could block that out, the view was really nice. Pretty hard to block that out though. Not much water pressure because the shower head was mostly plugged up. Don't know why they decided to put the toilet paper holder behind the toilet next to the floor. You can't use it. You have to remember to take the toilet paper out of the holder and put it somewhere that you can reach it before you do your business. You get one bottle of water, one drinking box of fruit juice and one box of Kleenex *per week per room*!! Unheard of. Not four star. No ironing board or iron as advertised either.

Restaurants and Bars:
This is off-season so all a-la-cartes were in the same building. Nothing fancy. Just a square room with tables in it beside the buffet. Not romantic or special. We were allowed only 2 a-la-cartes. First 4 star resort I've ever seen that only allowed 2. The meals at the a-la-cartes was so rushed we had to laugh. We thought we were in some sort of race to get done the quickest or something. Inside of 40 minutes we were done our "meal" and on our way to the buffet to get some more food. The food tasted OK but we both could have eaten two or three of the servings they gave us. (no, we're not obese people!). We dressed up to go to the a-la-carte as you should (have a little class, huh?) but anyone could get in there no matter what you wore. Shorts, tank tops and flip flops? Come on in. Not four star and disappointing. The buffet was also very disappointing. Pretty much exactly the same food every day with very little change. Lunch and dinner was exactly the same food on the same day. Then next day they would make a minor alteration like a different sauce on the skinny chicken, or rice instead of cold potatoes but overall, the same thing day after day after day. Yes, it's Cuba and yes, you expect to have lower quality than at home and maybe less variety, but this is the worst I've seen. The station where a guy would cook food in front of you had *exactly* the same thing every day, day after day. The pasta cooking station had *exactly* the same thing every day, day after day. Totally disappointing and not 4 star by any stretch of the imagination. Most of the waiters/waitresses were very attentive and nice. Any of the men who were standing around watching things (managers, cooks, "chefs", etc) never smiled. Not even once. The guy cooking the fish at the only station where food was cooked in ! front of you never ever smiled.....unless you gave him a tip, then all of a sudden he was smiling and happy and glad to see you every day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool looked nice. Hardly any shade at all. You would roast if you sat at the pool for any length of time.
The beach was absolutely beautiful. Warm, clear water that went on for miles. If you're going to Cuba to relax, this is exactly what you want to see. Just to sit and listen to the wave lapping up on the shore on a beautiful beach that goes on for miles. Brings a smile to my face just thinking of it. But....then some idiot shows up every day at 10:30am, sets up a speaker and blasts the entire beach with night club music. We went as far down the beach as we could and we still couldn't get away from it. Other people were complaining about it too and moving farther down the beach to try to get away from it but you couldn't. It was much too loud and the "DJ" was yelling into his mic all the time too. We finally went and asked him to turn it down and he gave us a hard time but he finally turned it down. But the next day it would start all over again. We went to the front desk and asked them to do something about it and they called the beach bar and told them to turn it down. From then on, it was quieter and it was off by 1pm (as it was supposed to be in the first place). But who wants to listen to that crap like it's a night club at 10:30am?? Nobody I know. This blasting music/dj completely ruined an absolutely beautiful beach. When we were there the beach was infested with jelly fish but that is obviously not the fault of the resort. But you couldn't relax in the water because there were jelly fish everywhere.
We had no problems with mosquitoes/fleas/ticks that other have mentioned. If you wear perfume or hairspray or any other scented stuff, expect to be bothered by mosquitoes.
The grounds? The landscaping isn't even done. I understand that this is a newer resort but come on. I've been at resorts in Cuba that just opened the week before I arrived and the grounds were complete and beautiful. This place has been open for almost a year and it looks like they haven't even started planning it yet. You say it will grow in? If it hasn't grown-in in a year, why would I think it will grow in at all? It should be completely green and lush long before now.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't go on any tours. They charge way too much and because Cayo Coco is so far away from everything, it takes too long to get there and back.

Other Comments:
This is NOT a four star resort. I've been at 3 star resorts that blow this place away. Anyone who has been to this resort and says they like it and/or would return have not been to a good resort yet or they work for someone promoting this place. You can go to a much, much, much better resort for the same money. There is loud, loud music everywhere you go here. Some people like that and if you do, you'll get lots of it here. If you want a quiet, romantic get-away, you're looking in the wrong place. The grounds don't even have any grass growing in most places, the buildings etc are nothing special to look at and the service is way below average (unless you tip them then suddenly they're you're best friends). This resort was a huge disappointment and I would not recommend this to anyone at any price. I don't care if it's off season. I paid my money to visit your resort. Please treat me like I'm a paying customer that you would like to see returning to your resort. This is the first resort I've ever been to in any country where I actually wanted to leave early. We asked to be moved to a different hotel but they wanted full price to move. Yes, it's that bad.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad experiance"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marg.  on Nov 13, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
403 people found this review helpful

We love to go to Cuba. Have gone many times... We like Breezes Jibacoa... We went to Memories Caribe Beach for a differant experiance... Bad move... Food terrible... Never hot... room ok... Bites in room ...pool... beach... Legs and arms so baddly bitten...Still have marks a month later...Will never return and will never recomend this resort...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bed Bugs, Horrible Food, and broken items in room."

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tracey  on Jan 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Party | Family and Kids
181 people found this review helpful

The food was horrible compared to some cuban resorts I stayed at. Breakfast closed at a different time every day which was really frustrating. The resort did not seem to have enough staff for how many people were actually at the resort. This resort was not as clean as the other ones and didn't seem to have the happy cuban vibe we are used to. The room had bed bugs and we were eaten alive whenever we slept and when we complained nothing was done about this. The room had many broken items. Blowdryer turned off after every minute shower head ripped out of the wall sprayed water everywhere. Would not recommend this resort to anyone cayo coco is beautiful but this resort is definitly not something I would recommend to anyone.

Room Number:
2409

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube