Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Memories Caribe Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.7 based on 55 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2015

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba

"No more Sunwing"
Posted by: Doreen on Apr 21, 2015
see all reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews
Memories Caribe Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Memories Caribe Beach Resort Cayo Coco Cuba

#6
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.5

Based on 41 reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Information


Situated on one of the most beautiful beaches along Cayo Coco Memories Caribe Beach Resort provide fabulous scenic locations cozy accommodations, 24hrs food and beverage service an array of amenities for every interest. Our tropical architecture offers spacious for couples, families and friends. A perfect backdrop for creating lifetime vacation memories.


Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 41 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  16
Average
  8
Poor
  5
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (4)
Leisure (37)
Party (3)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
11 - 20 of 41

"Value for Money"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Just  on Jun 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
349 people found this review helpful

My husband and I returned from Cuba last week. We stayed at the Memories Caribe, Cayo Coco, Cuba. I love travelling and hope that my honest review would be helpful to those chosing their next vacation in Cayo Coco, Cuba. We flew Sunwing Champagne Flights and it was a nice way to start our holiday. The journey from airport to hotel was just 30 mins which is wonderful. Check in was smooth. Hotel room was spotless and close to all amenities. We stayed in the 1900 section. Contrary to what I'd read in previous reviews, the maid does change the sheets and towels daily. The beach is breathtaking and beautiful - crystal clear water, soft white sand and plenty of colourful fish swimming in the shallow waters. We were able to walk in the shallow waters for at least 300 meters. No waves and hence extremely safe. Highly recommended for families with young children. No outside vendors on beach which is wonderful. The grounds are beautifully kept. The snack bar makes pizza (Cuban style) but they do run out by 4 pm. However, they make great Cubano Sandwiches, Burgers, Hot Dogs and excellent fries. The Spanish Coffee is to die for at the Piano Bar. Nightly entertainment was good and the dancing fantastic. Now here are the not so nice parts of our stay : the patio door did not have a latch and the front door to our room did not have a safety latch, hence this caused us concern during our stay. Fortunately, we did not have any bad incidents. The service at the bars and restaurants are not very good unless you tip endlessly. The menu at the daily buffet definitely needs revamping and I am not a picky eater. I am fine with eating fruits and a tiny bit of rice and chicken or fish but there are people out there who could get fed up easily with the same fare day in and day out. The drinks are watered down but the bar tender will go out of his way to make something extra special if you tip well. However, if you don't, then watered down drinks is what you will get for sure. Service at the ala carte is poor - no cutlery and napkins on table, no refill of wine glass unless requested. Food in ala-carte very mediocre. The palapas on the beach are in need of repair. The Disco had no Air Conditioning. The Spa and Gymnasium was closed during our stay. However, the staff work very hard and we appreciated everything they did for us however small the request. All in all this was a relaxing vacation and we got good value for our money. I would recommend this hotel whole heartedly, especially to young families and seniors.

Room Block:
19

Arrival:
May 29th 2012.

Rooms:
Clean. Towels and Sheets changed daily.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet - Menu needs revising. Ala-carte - very mediocre - out of the four choices on the menu, only two were available.

Bars - unless tipped constantly, the drinks are watered down.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools clean and grounds immaculate.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good.

Other Comments:
Would recommend this hotel to Seniors and Families with young children.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfection is utopic but that's pretty close"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marie-Chantal  on May 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
360 people found this review helpful

I am fortunate enough to be able to travel often. I have visited three continents and my stays have taken me to five stars hotels like the San Francisco Fairmount where I stayed in the penthouse suite where the movie The Rock was filmed to a one star in Oran, Algeria. Consequently, I know that the star system is different from one country to another. I know the value of a dollar but also I know that the same dollar can only be stretched so far.

Before I go on... let's address my pet peeves...

1) This hotel is under construction... why are there people complaining about that fact when they are on site ? If you did not know it was under construction... blame the travel agent, not the hotel. Three blocks are open this far and one to be opened every 15th of the month until completion. Myself, it did not bother me. I knew about it and truthfully... except for the vans backing up... not much to report. The fitness center is not open to date.

2) There ARE bugs... Cayo Coco is built on a swamp... didn't your travel agent tell you ? (Back to number one for the blame cycle). I bring Watkins repellent and it's the end of the story... One night, I forgot to put some on and I looked like the Pillsbury doughboy... A barman was kind enough to give me a glass of gin. Rub it on the itchy area and it goes away instantly...

As I have lived four hurricanes in Cuba, the first thing I noticed when entering the hotel (after a mere 15 minutes bus ride from the airport), was that the hotel is designed to sustain hurricanes. Everything has been built with that in mind and it reassures me. What I was not prepared for was the quality of the decor. Walking around and viewing the rooms (I booked a suite but the hotel was kind enough to show me a junior suite) the only word that came to mind was zen... I later confirmed with management that the designer was japanese...

What can I tell you ?... this hotel is beautiful, management is available and courteous (Cuban, Spanish and Canadian alike) and the staff is the smiling and happy.

The rooms are large and quiet. I had a family of six living in the rooms next to me and one day, they apologized for the noise they were making... I would not have know if they had not introduced themselves. Service is great no matter where you are. I called for a wake-up call one day and got the service. Everything is comfortable, the artists visiting the hotel are great. Breakfast with champagne... sushi for diner...

The grounds are three months old and not much rain is falling. But there are flowers everywhere you look,

Again, to me, it was pretty close to perfection. Even the room safe is large enough to hold a computer. They had me at the walk-in closet in the suite... it went uphill from there :-D

Thank you all for a magical stay. See you soon.

Room Number:
2115

Room Block:
2

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place to be"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alfred  on Apr 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
318 people found this review helpful

The hotel is a great place to be. All in all clean, tidy and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. A small lizard welcomed us in the room, bear in mind you are in Cuba. The room size is huge, all equipment worked, the beach is beautiful. Food is above average in Cuba, especially if you reserve a space in the restaurants that are available. We enjoyed it very much to stay there for four days. The only downside are some tourists that don't understand how to behave well, certainly not the fault of the hotel management.

Room Number:
1105

Room Block:
11

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This place is awesome"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jackie  on Apr 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
329 people found this review helpful

On our arrival, we were met by the staff! They were over booked, and upgraded us immediately to Diamond Club. The rooms are amazingly clean, the resort is awesome. There is nothing that the staff here will not do for you, to keep you happy. Yes some of you may be picky on food, but it is what it is in Cuba, and if you are looking for food with lots of spices, well bring them with you. There is never not something on the buffet, that one could not fill up on. I personally dont have a problem with the food in Cuba, and this resort has lots of it. Please remember that when you come to Cuba, that they appreciate all that you can leave them, they dont beg for it, but certainy when you leave clothing, old shoes, hats etc, they are very appreciative of it. Remember how lucky we are, and how unfortunate these countries are. Also when leaving things, remember the entertainment staff, whom we all forget about. The bartenders, the maids, the waiters and watresses are always remembered. I have nothing but good things to say about this resort, and look forward to returning in Sept/2012.

Arrival:
be patient

Rooms:
no complaints excellent

Restaurants and Bars:
excellent all of them

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the best beach ever seen in mexico, cuba, dominican

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't go here"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jullie  on Apr 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Business | With Group
296 people found this review helpful

We travelled in a group of 20. We came back with infections, ring worms as well. Yes they have bed bugs, aunts and frogs in rooms!!! I would not recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not stay here"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Corey  on Apr 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
280 people found this review helpful

BED BUGS, aunts , frogs in rooms , not me idea of a nice time. Yes it's Cuba, but we have seen too much at this place. You ask for assistance for anything they tell you they will get back to you or talk to manager/ THe manager doesn't even speak english. I don't recommend this place. we came back with ring warms, and infections. Don't eat the food. We ate bread the whole second week we were there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gotta Love Cuba!!!!!!"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Donna  on Apr 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
258 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this hotel from March 20-27, 2012 and we had a really great time. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the flamingos that live there are so nice to see as well. There were always plenty of choices at the buffet. One night there was fresh roasted turkey, another night beef and the grill always offered up chicken, pork or fish cooked right there for you. Side dishes were plentiful (and not just rice like some people seem to think) Breakfast for us was always a freshly cooked omelette with your choice of items to put in it, fresh fruit and fruit smoothies too. As well, they had freshly cooked donuts a few of the mornings that were sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. I don't plan my vacation around food so my expectations are not crazy but I found that there is always something to eat and you never go hungry. The breads and cheeses are delicious as are the fresh salad choices. On the Thursday of the week we stayed at the resort they started up a portable mojito bar!!! The guy that runs it is a hoot, always dancing and carrying on and he and the bar are all over that resort. What a great idea!!!!!
We had rented a scooter for 3 days @18 pesos a day and toured all over Cayo Coco and Cayo Guillermo. We went to "The Cave" during the daytime and a kind gentleman heard our scooter pull in to the parking area and he came right down with the keys, unlocked the doors to the cave and gave us a tour. What a place!!! We went on "The Boat Adventure" and had an absolute blast. Alexander was an awesome tour guide!!!! We went to Playa Pilar to check out that beautiful beach, STUNNING!! We also stopped in at a place called "Sitio la Guiro" it is an old Cuban Farmhouse that is set up as a tourist stop. There is a bar and restaurant there as well. Again, we pulled in on the scooter and immediately a fellow came out and waved us in, showed us around and we ended up (because of their ability to make you feel like you are at home) staying till 10:30 or so. I see reviews of people that complain about so many things and I find it hard to believe. Hmmmm, you are on vacation, away from work, someone is cooking and cleaning for you, serving you drinks and there is the most beautiful beach just steps away from where you are. The fine folks that work at these resorts are there for VERY long hours for VERY little pay and they do their absolute best to make your holiday memorable. There was a few mornings that you see the same cooks or bartenders there at 9am and STILL there at 11pm. Sure, there are always some things that can be improved but for the very few things and the fact that you are only there for a week or two. I have no trouble at all overlooking these small details. I would gladly go back to this resort

Room Number:
2117

Room Block:
21

Arrival:
We arrived at 8:15pm and after a 15 minute ride we were at the hotel and went right to our room.

Rooms:
The room was spacious, clean and cool!!! Plenty of hot water all the time. The mini-bar was always restocked each day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome Resort"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  oscar  on Feb 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
280 people found this review helpful

I was in Cuba a few times before,so I had some ideas what to expect.
Resort is beautiful,clean and very pleasant,,food is very good,and always there were cooks helping guests with their particular taste or requests and fix them something right there,things like pasta,chicken, beef ,fish,pancake ,eggs,etc,,desert was very good.fruits ok.
rooms were very clean ,sheets clean too,no bugs,and beach is superb the sand is nice white..super friendly staff everywhere .front desk very helpful,,PR lady called to check for any problems,mini bar loaded and restocked on daily basis,,so ignore the people who lie about drinks and shortage,,you can get any kind of drinks or wine from bars without any problem.wine is very good.
entertainment was very good,even they have a live music band in the evenings inside the buffet building.transportation from & to airport was perfect.
swimming pool is perfect,loved it all,and the usual keeping you busy around the pool stuff going on the whole day.
the areas that can be improved:coffee in the buffet is not that good,though in the bars coffee is very good.internet is limited or most of times down,and I couldn't get in touch with outside world,if you have a backberry you will be ok,BB works there,,phone calls very expensive,,currency exchange rate is artificial.
and yes there is something that I and many others disliked,there is a poor skinny goat attached to a cart and pulling it around the resort and I witnessed big heavy idiots sitting in the cart , amusing themselves like clowns,wish somebody would stop that inhumane show.
all together I give 4 stars to this just 3 year old resort.

Room Number:
12

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
feb 14 2012

Rooms:
very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very good

Other Comments:
I was in Cuba a few times before,so I had some ideas what to expect.
Resort is beautiful,clean and very pleasant,,food is very good,and always there were cooks helping guests with their particular taste or requests and fix them something right there,things like pasta,chicken, beef ,fish,pancake ,eggs,etc,,desert was very good.fruits ok.
rooms were very clean ,sheets clean too,no bugs,and beach is superb the sand is nice white..super friendly staff everywhere .front desk very helpful,,PR lady called to check for any problems,mini bar loaded and restocked on daily basis,,so ignore the people who lie about drinks and shortage,,you can get any kind of drinks or wine from bars without any problem.wine is very good.
entertainment was very good,even they have a live music band in the evenings inside the buffet building.transportation from & to airport was perfect.
swimming pool is perfect,loved it all,and the usual keeping you busy around the pool stuff going on the whole day.
the areas that can be improved:coffee in the buffet is not that good,though in the bars coffee is very good.internet is limited or most of times down,and I couldn't get in touch with outside world,if you have a backberry you will be ok,BB works there,,phone calls very expensive,,currency exchange rate is artificial.
and yes there is something that I and many others disliked,there is a poor skinny goat attached to a cart and pulling it around the resort and I witnessed big heavy idiots sitting in the cart , amusing themselves like clowns,wish somebody would stop that inhumane show.
all together I give 4 stars to this just 3 year old resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great service, clean"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joanna  on Feb 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
269 people found this review helpful

We stayed at Memories from Jan 31-Feb 7th. I have to say that just like some other folks we were quite worried after reading some reviews. To my surprise it was all great! We had great service, didn't ait long to check in at all- not longer that any of the other hotels that we went to anyways and we had a full bus going to our hotel. The bell boys brought our luggage to our room right after we got there. Rooms were clean and to our surprise we had a bug net in our balcony door which was great! The rooms just like the hotel are not new but in great condition. Our room was always very well cleaned regardles if we left a tip or not ( we had no change one morning) We had 2 min to the beach but overall everything was very close. Good food (can't expect much more from cuba) I can't stress enough how great the staff was, always willing to help and always polite and smiling. My only disadvantage is that the kids pool is very, very small and going with 3 kids of our kids and our friends with their kids ( 6 adults and 8 kids total) it would have been nice to have a bigger pool for them. No bugs in the rooms not even a spider! There were no sand flees and we only had one night with mosquito's after rain. We took the Jeep-on trip which was amazing. The cappucino in the piano bar is amazing! We met lot's of people which have returned to this hotel. This was our second trip to cuba ( last year we went to Barcelo Santa Clara 5 star)and even though it was newer than memories all in all our experience was simular. Beach was very clean unlike some people mentioned- yes if you walk about 1 km either way you will find some sea weed but other wise it was clean. You can go snorkeling if you go about 700 meters to the left of the beach lots of fish and crab. I must say that some people have their expectations set waaaayyy to high when going on vacation. This was our 7th vacation to the caribbean and I haven't been dissapointed yet!

Room Number:
2420

Room Block:
24

Arrival:
Great greeting, quick service.

Rooms:
Clean, a little out of date.

Restaurants and Bars:
large variety of fresh fish and meat

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean, well maintained

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Jeep-on and horse back awesome

Other Comments:
Amazing service, no preasure to tip, great entertainment

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Feb 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
208 people found this review helpful

I read some bad reviews and was worried....the place was beautiful. Lots to do. Went with teenagers and they were safe and staff were awesome. Room was biggest room we ever had while travelling. They gave us an adjoining room (to help us keep an eye on kids)....beach was most beautiful beach I have ever seen. Bar staff were very accommodating...even late at night. Bring a bubba for sure, there were no mosquitos...just those very small black flies that like to take a nip or two...spray helped with this and I only felt them one night. The cave adventure was very cool! Book that for sure...if you can stay up that late. Check in with the water sports right when you get there. Its free, but if you want to go snorkeling at the reef 4 miles out, they will take you out there for $20, which is a better price than the catamaran for $79....we did both, and both were a blast. Most beautiful reef...Tonnes of fish and life. The grounds were well kept. When you exchange your money...ask for pessos so when you're tipping, you don't get caught with a $10. The entire hotel had folks from Ontario...Quebec...Montreal...lots of fun people....The food was what it was. The International restaurants and the Italian were not special. Eat at the buffet where you can choose otherwise you may be disappointed with your choices. This is not just my opinion, but everyone I spoke to there. When it rained, it rained for a bit and then the sun came out...Enjoy! We did! p.s. there were no bed bugs at all! Great Cuban trip!

Room Number:
1443

Arrival:
Feb 2-9th, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube