Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Memories Caribe Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.7 based on 55 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2015

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba

"No more Sunwing"
Posted by: Doreen on Apr 21, 2015
see all reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews
Memories Caribe Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Memories Caribe Beach Resort Cayo Coco Cuba

#6
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.5

Based on 41 reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Information


Situated on one of the most beautiful beaches along Cayo Coco Memories Caribe Beach Resort provide fabulous scenic locations cozy accommodations, 24hrs food and beverage service an array of amenities for every interest. Our tropical architecture offers spacious for couples, families and friends. A perfect backdrop for creating lifetime vacation memories.


Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 41 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  16
Average
  8
Poor
  5
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (4)
Leisure (37)
Party (3)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
21 - 30 of 41

"Nice vacation"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  imre  on Feb 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
205 people found this review helpful

Nasty people write nasty reviews,albeit,false one.I was worried about this place,even thinking to change it in the last minute.But of course we didn't.22 of us flew in ,the youngest was my grandaughter ,5 months old.But what a relief,an exellent vacation we had.The cuban workers from the gardener to the servers were always helpful.The rooms were clean,the fridge was always full.Some people are PATHOLOGICAL COMPLAINERS.So read all reviews.

Room Number:
1610

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Relaxing week"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  ROGER  on Feb 1, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
184 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to the Memories on Cayo Coco but we will return. The accomodation was good, no bugs or other critters. All the resort staff were polite, helpful and very friendly. Any gratuities given were deserved and appreciated by the staff. The food was typical of an all inclusive resort - nothing special, but the chefs were always there to cook something in front of your eyes. We had good weather so were able to enjoy the pool and beach. There was a constant wind which probably resulted in no mosquitos as mentioned by previous vacationers.

Room Number:
1921

Room Block:
19

Arrival:
We arrived on time and waited in the lobby bar until our room was ready - about 45 minutes. A good time to taste the local rum punch !
Check-in was smooth and our luggage arrived within 15 minutes.

Rooms:
We were on the upper floor of a garden view block. Very clean room, everything worked and the housekeeping service was excellent. A small gatuity probably helped things along. The mini-bar was re-stocked each day with water, soda and beer.

Restaurants and Bars:
Typical all-inclusive buffet food with chefs on-hand to prepare omeletes, crepes, eggs etc if you could not find anything tasty in the buffet sections. Lots of choices but a bit repetitive. A little disappointed with the 2 a-la-carte restaurants but they came with the package. Good service at all the bars even with the line-ups. The snack bar menu is limited but the fresh pizzas are worth asking for.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The gounds need some TLC but the staff seem to be doing their best. Repairs were under way in many places probably as a result of the new management. The pool was kept clean each day. The beach area is not very wide but is equipped with enough loungers for everyone. A 20-30 minute walk can be made in each direction from the resort until you run out of beach at high water. The beach is very shallow for about 50 meters and good for children or adults who may usually not be comfortable in the sea - like me !

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Our off-resort day-trip on a catamaran was well worth the money, we were lucky to go on a day with little wind and a fairly calm sea. The 10-peso for 1 hour horse ride along the beach at the resort was good value for the money.
We did not try the facilities at the aquacentre but it did seem to be well used.

Other Comments:
Cayo Coco is an island and therefore even to see other nearby areas of Cuba requires a lengthly coach ride. If intend to see typical Cuban life then this is not the resort to stay at. But if you want to relax then the Memories can provide just that !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific laid back resort"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Andrea  on Feb 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
179 people found this review helpful

My family went to Memories Caribe (formerly BlueBay) twice this year. First time in late March and then again late September. We loved it both times. March was quite a bit busier. September more laid back no waits for anything.

All of the staff were amazing, they are very welcoming and friendly. We never felt pressured to tip for good service it was provided no matter what. We loved that.
Our room both times was a balcony. We had no problems, there is plenty of space and it is cleaned well every day. We had the car fridge restocked every day and never asked or expected this. It was a nice touch.

The front desk was always very helpful and pleasant.
The restuarants and buffet always had food that appealed to everyone in our group. We had 16 adults and 4 kids in total the first trip. The bars were always well stocked and not to long of lines.
The beach is to die for. The amazingly clear water and clean beach is breathtaking.

The animation staff is always wonderful, the shows are very entertaining and most of them took time to talk with us through out the day. Umberto went out of his way and made our 6 year old feel like a princess.

It was wonderful returning in September and many of the staff remembered us and made us feel at home.

We are already booked to go back late March again. We love this resort and look forward to many more vacations here.
For anyone looking for a laid back resort this is perfect. If you want a party resort or kids play land resort then this is not one for you.


Room Block:
16

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Memories Caribe in Cayo Coco Cuba/Nightmares Caribe in Cayo Coco Cuba"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Jan 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
182 people found this review helpful

This was suppose to be a Special Vacation as my husband and l were celebrating our Anniversery and it was a Vacation from Hell!!! We saved our money which we work hard for and we choose not to buy each other Christmas Gift's so that we could go away and celebrate our Anniversery but in all honesty l would of rather a lump of coal under my Christmas Tree!!! One word, Digusting!!!!

Room Number:
2419

Arrival:
Very lenghty, no help getting to our room or with luggage!!! Staff not friendly!!!

Rooms:
Bug's and Ant's. Very Moldy and Musty. Air didn't work properly. Frig was never stocked. Couch flithy, all bulb's had to be replaced and chair's fixed!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Digusting!!! My husband is allergic to Seafood and nothing was labelled and all Food's were mixed!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All Cuban Beaches are Beautiful!!! The pool was cold, no animation staff!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
None!!!

Other Comments:
We've been to Cuba 7 time's and this by far the worse resort we have ever stayed at. This resort should be shut down!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enjoyable Week"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Jan 24, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
208 people found this review helpful

This was a our first visit to Cayo Coco. The area had been suggested to us by a person who always traveled there and as you will, our opinion is positive.

Let me say this, people talk about the biting insects and yes, they do exist and they can be a nuisance. I would suggest some DEET and calamine lotion to deal with them. It is a tropical country, so bugs should be expected.

Now for the water, there were jelly fish and I did talk to a few people who were stung, but none of them complained much. The ocean is their home and we have to simply respect them and just keep an eye out. They won't attack only react. Just keep away from the bigger ones and all will be fine. I did a lot of swimming and had no problems.

Now with that out of the way, I can say, we enjoyed our stay at the resort. We went to relax and we did succeed in that endeavour. I brought and finished the Steve Jobs biography.

It is a nice place to relax.

What concerns I have are further expressed in this review, so please read.

Overall, we had a great week at the Resort.

Room Number:
1701

Room Block:
Modular 17

Arrival:
Traveled by Sunwing. Typical charter flight, lot of people, not much room. Was served breakfast which was more of a snack- wife had french toast, I had omelette. It was airplane food.

Arrived into the warmth and sun of Cuba.

No problem going through Customs or getting luggage. Went quickly to the waiting bus and got the way.

Rooms:
The room was very nice. There was, as promised, a King Sized bed, which was in very good shape. The furniture of the room was very nice. The overall appearance of the room was clean.

Everything worked, although the remote for the TV needed batteries.

The only problem was the for the first four day, water pressure was very low for showers. However once the shower was fixed, and I say that because water pressure was not a problem for either the faucet or the toilet, had good showers.

The patio with furniture was quite nice and we spent many evening outside just enjoy the pleasant evenings.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was great. There was a good variety of food that was very tasty, for all meals. Personal favourites, breakfast with either pancakes or omelettes. The cooks for both were tremendous. Also there was fresh fruit smoothies available for breakfast, which was a very nice touch. Fresh fruit was available every meal as well as fresh vegetables.

There was always something new every meal, we didn't just have the same food for seven days straight.

The pasta bar was great and they served delicious pasta meals.

Seriously, someone has to explain this 'Cuban food is bland' thing to me, I have yet to have bland food, unless you count cabbage as bland.

When it comes available, try the grilled pumpkin with garlic, delicious.

The staff at the restaurant was polite, friendly and helpful. They made sure your glass was full and the plates, once finished were taken away.

As for the various bars, they were all good. Again friendly staff and nice drinks.

The Piano Bar was a nice place before or after the supper, to simply sit down, enjoy either a hot black tea or cappuccino and listen to the music. He played a variety of tunes, from classical to Broadway to Pop.

The Snack Bar was 24 hours and grilled some nice hamburgers, hot dogs and fries.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was very good, the area around it, was fine. There was lots of shade and lots of lounge chairs. Never to search for an empty, there was always plenty of choice.

The beach is very narrow, and not as clean as it could have been. There was a lot of growth matter, but this might have been more due to storms, however, they could have cleaned it up. There was also a fair bit of litter on the sand. They should place more garbage containers in the beach area. Sadly there are people who leave their garbage everywhere.

The water is wonderful. There is a lot of sand off the beach and so the water is rather shallow. It was glorious to swim or just walk into the water.

Also there was a good selection of paddle boats, kayaks, sailboats for those who wanted to do more then just sit and read. They were included in the overall price. There was snorkeling available to the local reef, which did cost 20CUC.

The grounds were beautiful. The staff was busy planting and developing new gardens along the pathways. It was very clean, almost no garbage along the paths and it was simply fabulous.

The resort had a lagoon in the middle which had flamingos, both plastic and real as well as a number of water birds. This added to the charm of the resort.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
In the pool area the staff was there to encourage group activities that did get people to participate. There was aerobics, water aerobics, pool games and fun competitions. You could get involved, watch, or simply let life go past.

There was a souvenir store and a small bazaar featuring home made crafts. We spent a lot of time looking and purchasing some of the crafts. The prices were reasonable.

We took advantage of a trip to Moron Cuba, which also included a stop at a crocodile farm and a mangrove swamp in a speed boat. The town is kind of sketchy and I think because the area is now being developed for tourists isn't quite there yet. However, there was very nice stop after a horse and buggy ride through the town.

After the visit, the trip through the mangrove swamp was quite educational and informative. It was fascinating to learn about the mangrove and fun to ride fast across the lake. Afterwards we were treated to a very nice Cuban BBQ.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bed Bugs, Horrible Food, and broken items in room."

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tracey  on Jan 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Party | Family and Kids
182 people found this review helpful

The food was horrible compared to some cuban resorts I stayed at. Breakfast closed at a different time every day which was really frustrating. The resort did not seem to have enough staff for how many people were actually at the resort. This resort was not as clean as the other ones and didn't seem to have the happy cuban vibe we are used to. The room had bed bugs and we were eaten alive whenever we slept and when we complained nothing was done about this. The room had many broken items. Blowdryer turned off after every minute shower head ripped out of the wall sprayed water everywhere. Would not recommend this resort to anyone cayo coco is beautiful but this resort is definitly not something I would recommend to anyone.

Room Number:
2409

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I wouldn't go back if you paid me!!"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Norm  on Jan 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
195 people found this review helpful

My wife and I visited from Dec27th to Jan.3rd 2012 . We read the reviews before going and as is the case with anywhere else we have travelled there were both good and bad reviews , however it has been my experience that the bad FAR outweighed the good in this case ! We travel to all inclusives at least once or twice a year and usually with a group of approximately 20 others , we are so glad that they didn't come with us on this trip as they were spared all of the crappy service and food . We have been to Cuba before and we are aware that the food isn't as good there but the total lack of selection was a shock . The resort was very dirty in general and the grounds were not looked after at all .It would have been nice to look out a window and not look through dirt . I would imagine this is because the staff are too busy trying to sell their souvenirs and coconut juice to do their jobs . Don't get me wrong , I understand they need to make a living but we paid good money to be there and yes we do expect something for our money (we work too hard to just give it away). The resort was way under staffed which resulted in constant long line ups for both food ( such as it was) and drinks . The beach was as nice as everyone says it is at Cayo Coco , but it would be just as nice anywhere else in Cayo Coco so try somewhere else ! We thought that maybe we had been spoiled by having such excellent service at other resorts , but when we were on the bus back to the airport it became extremely clear that everyone on the bus felt the same way as we did and I believe without exception that they were as unhappy with their choice of holidays as we were . I must make note that 2 days before we left we noticed a group from Montreal Canada had arrived and they were part of a wedding party . My wife and I really hope that they had a better experience then we did as we could not see one spot on this resort that we would want to get married on and can't imagine how disappointing their wedding dinner must have been . If it was us it would have been a horrible wedding memory to carry with us forever . On the up side we met a nice family from P.E.I. and enjoyed each other’s company (you've got to make the best of it yourself , no one else will for you ) . We survived the week and that’s the best I can say , BEWARE of this resort , and definitely bring your bug spray with you . I hope you have found my review helpful as I have tried to be as accurate and truthful as possible .Buyer Beware , happy travels !!!!

Room Number:
2018

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
Upon arriving at the resort our bus load was brought into the front lobby where there was only 2 people working and as a result we had to wait for a long period of time(1 hour) to get registered and room keys etc.This was a sign of the slowness to come elsewhere in the resort .

Rooms:
The rooms were what I would call adequate , and the maid on our floor was quite nice , but make sure you hang on to toilet paper as it is a hard product to come by . The mini bar was really hit and miss as to whether it would be refilled . It was supposed to be done everyday however it was every other day if you were lucky . We called down to have it refilled but our requests fell on deaf ears and they never came . If you like having cold showers then this is the right place for you to go as hot water was just as difficult to find as was a hot meal !

Restaurants and Bars:
We survived mostly on hot dogs and fries for the week as it was the tastiest and easiest items to get , as I said the buffet was terrible . I found myself more often than not having to find my own utensils and serving myself juice and coffee for breakfast as they were vastly understaffed .As was the case anywhere that you were to be served the bars were very slow and unstocked . The bar's always had a line up and the pool bar never actually opened .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bed bugs"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  D  on Jan 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
195 people found this review helpful

Everything was great, beach , rooms , food , except .. the bed bugs. We got bitten pretty badly .. and brought them back home with us.

Room Number:
2108

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Island of peace in the crowded cuba"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Raul  on Jul 24, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) HUNGARY
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
256 people found this review helpful

It is amazing totally like in the travel books. Beautiful beach, good food, perfect big rooms. We had a great stay there.
Be careful entering and leaving the island costs 2x1 CUC/person!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No exelente pero bueno"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  CARLOS RODRIGUEZ  on Jun 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Party | Family and Kids
264 people found this review helpful

Las instalaciones del hotel son muy buenas,nuevas y limpias,la localizacion exelente y la conveniencia de la playa y demas atractivos es fabulosa,solo alguna que otra queja en el tema servicios que no es que es malo pero ya que existen los recursos humanos y materiales el servicio se puede mejorar un poco mas,la comida bastante variada y se puede decir aceptable en general,los mejores trabajadores los de cualquier bar,tanto el de la playa como los dos del hotel,pienso que es un hotel que se puede repetir,la equacion calidad precio es proporcional

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube