Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Memories Caribe Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.7 based on 55 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2015

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba

"No more Sunwing"
Posted by: Doreen on Apr 21, 2015
see all reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews
Memories Caribe Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Memories Caribe Beach Resort Cayo Coco Cuba

#6
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.5

Based on 41 reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Information


Situated on one of the most beautiful beaches along Cayo Coco Memories Caribe Beach Resort provide fabulous scenic locations cozy accommodations, 24hrs food and beverage service an array of amenities for every interest. Our tropical architecture offers spacious for couples, families and friends. A perfect backdrop for creating lifetime vacation memories.


Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Reviews

Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 41 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  16
Average
  8
Poor
  5
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (4)
Leisure (37)
Party (3)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
41 - 43 of 41

"Arrival"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  CindyOttawaCanada  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
250 people found this review helpful

We had late night arrival, flew Sunwing, we got the xtra leg room seats & had great service, we had a stop over at Santiago du Cuba, it went pretty smooth. Check in was no problem, took a bit of time for the Bell Boy to show us to our rooms.

Rooms:
We had a suite, it was great. King Bed, Large bathroom, sink in separate area outside bathroom & an outside shower, pretty cool. You get your beach towels in your room on arrival & 1 large bottle of water, you must remember to fill your own water daily at any of the bars & you can return your towels for clean ones beside the pool, but only certain hours.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant was great lots of variety & the staff were always great. We went to the Sea Food Restaurant food was OK, the chairs were awful, cast iron, very hard & not great if you have back problems. The italian restaurant was in the same building, did not try as the same chairs. The international Restaurant looked great, but did not have enough time to book with them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was the best I have seen, you could walk out for quite a long distance& it was very clear water, we did some snorkeling, not alot to see but very clear. Lots of beach chairs there is a beach bar, but no restaurant, bathroom is in the building on the pathway to the beach(sea food & Italian restaurant), not on the beach. Pool was nice, adequate size for this resort. Lots of vegetation, will look pretty nice once it grows some.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities happening each afternoon at the pool & the beach. We did not partake but kinda fun to watch. We did not take any tours, as we had been to Cuba in the past. They had shows each night on the stage, some were good & some had audiance support, pretty funny some times. They had some great entertainment in the lobby bar a couple of nights, one guy playing the piano he was very good young & just starting out & then they had a small band join in a bit later, very enjoyable.

Other Comments:
A very nice resort, All the staff were friendly & helpful. Maybe they could get some local vendors to come in once a week to sell local crafts etc. As there is 1 shop on the resort it is OK, but a little variety will not hurt.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Rooms are spacious, well cleaned and adequate"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  CoriDonHaltonHills  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
197 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 6-13, 2009
We had a late evening arrival. Check-in was smooth with no complications and adjoining rooms were provided as requested.

Rooms:
Rooms are spacious, well cleaned and adequate

Restaurants and Bars:
A la carte restaurants are true examples of fine dining cuisine and service ( especially the International ) Buffet is great, always something to tantalize the taste buds. Definitely a higher grade cuisine than other resorts we have stayed at in Cuba.A bit dissappointing was that they didn't make very much use of the carving station and never had a roast throughout our 7 day stay.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is just fantastic, the water is warm and clear. One can walk into the water from the beach for 200 yards and still be at waist level or less. The pool is clean not huge but, adequate for the resort size

Other Comments:
The only fault we discovered during our stay was the mosqitoes. We have been to Cayo Coco many times before and never ever had a mosquito problem ( except for the El Senador at the Laguna room...now NH Crystal). We weren't the only ones that got bit viciously by these bugs...several people at the resort had to see the doctor and get treated. The problem is that the sliding doors of the rooms are actually undersized for the door opening and do not close properly. So, at night you get bitten. This was the only complaint we had of the resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Arrival"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  GaryNiagaraarea  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
215 people found this review helpful

We flew Canjet out of Toronto. Late departure due to no muffins on board. Delayed 1 hour for this reason. Canjet seats are more spacious than Skyservice but, of course, anything would be more spacious than Skyservice.

Rooms:
Large rooms. The regular hotel rooms are located in a 2 story complex. Approx. 8 rooms on each floor. This presented a real noise factor when people left or returned to their rooms. Doors slamming, people knocking on doors, kids crying and screaming, adults talking loud. People returning from the entertainment late at night did not have any respect for the fact that some people were in bed trying to sleep. Too many children at this resort for this time of year. Do children not attend school anymore?

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was fair to poor. If you like your food improperly prepared, visit this resort. We have been to Cayo Coco on three different occasions and different resorts and this is the worst in food handling. They will cook chicken breast for you but they place the chicken on a plate first then on the grill. The next person may want beef cooked and the cook will place the beef on the plate where he just placed the chicken then on the grill. Obviously, the beef was placed in the chicken juices. Cross contamination. Disgusting. Everything else was cold or uncooked. Mainly ate at the pasta counter where you could get warmed pasta. Fresh bread was delicious. Of course, if you like uncooked bacon for breakfast, you will like this place. The standard of cooking and food at this resort is well below the low Cuban standard of food. Bars were okay. Bartenders were generally efficient. If you said something that they didn t like, they swore at you in cuban.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice beach. There were a couple of sand bars thereby enabling you to walk out a good distance. There were some jellyfish on the beach but not that bad this time. Maybe one or two in 30 yards or so.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We had been on the tours on other trips to Cayo Coco so we did not go on the tours. The tour to the sugar factory, train ride, meal in the woods and Moron is an exceptional tour. We found that the cost of this tour had dramatically increased.

Other Comments:
We have found that the people working at the resorts have gone from being appreciative of anything that you can give them to demanding money before any type of service. But I guess that is the American way. Front desk personnel were not polite or accomodating until the manager of the resort was called in. We wanted to switch rooms but were rejected by the front desk personnel for 3 days before getting the tour rep. involved. The rep. talked to the manager of the resort, who came and talked to me personally. He upgraded us immediately to a suite. He said if there was another problem, to contact him personally, not the front desk. Well, in that suite, we encountered a large (2 inch) Cricket at night and a cockroach the next morning. This was suppose to be a brand new suite. Obviously, we were moved again. Now we were in another suite in another building. This time on the second floor and we had only 2 nights left in our stay. Thank goodness. Toilet paper roll was mounted on the wall behind the toilet and near the floor. Almost fell off the toilet trying to get the toilet paper. Would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This might be the one I return to with my grandchildren!!!"

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Caribe Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  TonyDebi  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
210 people found this review helpful

Canjet had no plane so our delay was 2 hrs and they got an airtransat plane so there were plenty of free seats so sit where you want, clubseats were all open but no open bar...hahah! return was Can Jet #939 and yes they service a cold lunch pak and movie on flight.but no club seats in front!!

Review:
arrival was quick, hotel was ready and service was top notch..only open for 2 weeks ..they had every wrinkle ironed out, we were lucky we had a wonderful small duplex on the small lagoon inlet (flowing waterway running though the resort) facing the beach restaurent and bushes in front of the ocean ,quiet and at the edge of the resort.where the 12-20 room units were behind us, our room had a king size bed, step down living room area pull out sofa and chair ,otterman(foot cushion) t.v.and a 10 foot patio doors with screen.frig & stove(got ha!!!) just a frig and full length mirror,vanity & sink outside the toilet & tub & shower unit, but now for the final drumroll, patio door in the bathroom with outdoor shower area 5X8 under the stars and moon.

bar sevice was good,several drinks and plenty of glasses & plastic cups for the asking
the dinning was excellent, always 3 meats for your grilling, as well as 3 kinds of fish to be grilled, shrimp,tuna and white fish, (lunch & dinner) several evening smoked salmon and shrimp cocktail, cold vegtables and lettuce ,pickles, cold cuts and many cheeses.pasta station,pizza station,french fries for the picky eaters and always chicken ,rice,hot vegtables,beer,2 choices of white and red wines at all meals, yes we saw a man drinking every morning with breakfast! a la carte with good, service was excellent, most employees had the experience of working else where so this was a bonus for bluebay!

the hotel was not full and there are units still under constuction..but not noisy, painting,pastering,finishing inside. grounds are in early stages and there are no rooms with ocean views because there is a barrier of trees between the beach and resort...

the beach is sandy and wide without any coral or seedweed beds..you walk out long to reach you deep level for swimming,all water sports were up and running and the oasis playa hotel is next door, short walk to go and compare and be thankful for choosing the right hotel,met serveral others and heard their complaints and comments, as this was a second trip to cayo coco,,we were able to do other things we didn't do in june. so i went to the clinic day spa down the road and my husband went on the jeep tour, hahahaha, we had done the boat tour and hand-gliding in june, but this hotel had horseback riding 10 peso for l hr, horse carriage rides 10 pesos as well great family hotel and they had bar hopping tour 10pm-2 am for they wild party animals. it was hard to find something wrong with this resort, little things like the water wasn't hot enough,,,,but if you let it run for 15 mins it would be hotter, tiny ants in the bathroom on one day and maid spayed something o.k. next day the weather not hot enough for out taste but it is January!!!!! yes it was cloudy most afternoons and it rain,and rain the last day

but all in all it was better than -20 to -30 tempertures and cooking and cleaning at home!! any other questions !!!!! i am not overly trilled with TMR..tour mont Royal as they perfer french clients or french language,,,,,but i am use to that living in Quebec.. Ivan finally broke down and spoke to me in english..........all sunwing clients were happy with the airline service as well as there rep! Guest service at the hotel as well as all managers were available and ready to assit and help you....great P.R

Yes this hotel passed my approval, there are thing they still need, vendors selling their crafts, no cotton candy machine and pop corn for the kids and little goat and wagon rides like the tryp hotel but this might be the one i return to with my grandchildren!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube