Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Gaviota Playa Costa Verde reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Pesquero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Blau Costa Verde

4.1 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 24, 2015

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde  

Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre, Holguin, Cuba.
(Holguin Maps)

"my first visit!! amazing.."
Posted by: hart on Aug 19, 2014
see all reviews

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Reviews
Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Pictures and Information
Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Playa Pesquero Cuba

#3
of 3 Hotels in Playa Pesquero

User rating 4.4

Based on 28 reviews

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Information



A Paradise Resort between mountain and sea, located on Pesquero beach.

This hotel has recently been awarded for conservation and environmental protection.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Reviews

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Review: 4.4 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  7
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (20)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
11 - 20 of 28

"Very Good Hotel :-)"

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Pete  on Oct 8, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
305 people found this review helpful

Great Price - value relation, on of the best i know in Cuba:-)

Room Number:
4322

Arrival:
All ok, just the front desk did not know that my room was ready to be used.

Rooms:
Very nice rooms with big balcony, most of them with nice views, very calm and relaxing including in every room a music center

Restaurants and Bars:
very good buffets and several separate restaurants, desevers the 4 stars which is mostly not the case in cuba, delicous mojitos all over (not always available in other hotels )

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice pool areas, no need to go to the beach if you do not want the sand and sea water feeling. espacious areas all over, you will find a corner for you in the pool or on the beach. Pls note that pesquero/guaradalavaca aerea is not the fantastic Varadero beach/water quality.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
nice and active animation team not to aggresive but willing to untertain and support guests wishes

Other Comments:
Unfortunately this hotel is not located in Varadero but this is maybe the reason why its quality price relation is better then most of the hotels in varadero

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will not go back there"

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Johanne  on Feb 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
414 people found this review helpful

Hotel grounds: nice
Rooms: need major refreshing (old mattress, hair dryer not working, etc)
Beach: way too crowded, need water shoes so not very inviting..
Pool: very nice
Night shows: ordinary
Food: like every Cuba food.. ordinary, except for the Japanese Restaurant but try to reserve it!!!

Room Number:
3212

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Vastly Over-rated"

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Allan  on Feb 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
347 people found this review helpful

This was my 6th trip to Cuba and I was quite looking forward to this resort given the exceptional reviews here and at Trip Advisor.

The Good:

. fresh orange juice for breakfast
. Spanish champagne for lunch and dinner at buffet
. room service
. the pool
. best pizzas in the Caribbean
. evening entertainment in the looby

The Bad:

. incessant music at pool-side from mid-morn forwards
. a la carte restaurants (the vegetarian meal was inedible)

The Ugly:

. a foul-smelling lagoon between the beach and the complex
. the resort is a magnet for the obese
. bland, tasteless, repetitive bilge served up at the buffet
. bedroom with plastic ceiling and tub, rusted sliding door and flaking mirror, a very old mattress

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great vacation"

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brian  on Feb 15, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
325 people found this review helpful

This is a great resort

Room Number:
4111

Arrival:
It went quick and easy.

Rooms:
The room was big and clean with lots of hot water and every thing worked.
The maid service was very good.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was good the service was also, the a la carte restaurants were great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is a 3 star and the pool is a 4star.

Other Comments:
This a very good 4 star and will return here again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Resort"

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brian  on Feb 15, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
312 people found this review helpful

We booked this vacation through Nolitours and flew Canjet and it all went very well. The customs went well. The resort is very well set up the food is good the service was great the pool is very well looked after. This is soild 4 star resort and will return.

Room Number:
4111

Arrival:
The check in was fast and friendly, the room was ready to use right away.

Rooms:
The room was big and clean also every thing worked.

Restaurants and Bars:
great food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is a 4 star pool and the beach is a3 star.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Marvelous!"

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Fournier  on Jan 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
302 people found this review helpful

My hole family fell in love with this place and the people working at this resort. The food from the grill is great, the drinks made mostly from real fruit juices...The cerveza is cold, the rum is generous...The entertainement staff: Scoobidoo, José, Richard became good friends and later our adopted sons :))There are plenty of fish and corals accessible from the playa. Tips: bring a hot dog bread for them to feed on...you will see them so well! Incridible! The jeep safari is so fun: speed boat, hoseback riding, visit of a farm and tobacco factory all in one...one of the best day of my life!!!!
Do not hesitate, this hotel is great!and the people working there are terrific!

Room Number:
3315

Arrival:
Really prompt check in. You get your dining reservations.

Rooms:
So big!!!!Nothing luxury, but very clean and confortable. Good matress. Big bathroom. Showers work well. There are no facecloths in Cuba, bring your own.

Restaurants and Bars:
Grill food is good. Fruits excellents. Japanese and cuban restaurants great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful pool. Bring shoes for beach, lots of rock and corals....but fish in bonus!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Jeep safari incredible! Shows excellent, specially beach party.

Other Comments:
Say hi to José, Richard and Scoobidoo!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"perfect, great !!"

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mss. Karin Vermeulen Karin  on Dec 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Dec, 2010
410 people found this review helpful

Hai, we were there from dec. 8th till dec. 22th. Service perfect, people very nice, food okee, rooms very big, animation: we love them! Shows in the evening also very good. Just go there and see for yourself. Very good Hotel, not to big. Perfect for us. Karin 42, Kees 50 and Jamie 18 years old. We hope to go back soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"total pleasure and relaxation for me"

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  pierre  on Sep 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Solo
319 people found this review helpful

going in decembre for the fifth time.needles to say hotel enviroment ,staff food ,drinks,and hawsome excursions .most of all staff becomes family ,hugs when you arrive and leave.the natural smile and warmth these people have cannot be described in words.making friends with people from around the world confirms my sentiments for this resort"ultimate we all agree".a must is an hour with a dolphin ,jeep tour,the beach and snorkell in corals ,visit of city of holguin and more everytime i return .i give this 5 stars .

Arrival:
unforgettable

Rooms:
5 stars

Restaurants and Bars:
got to try it

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
animation staff "love em"

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise Discovered in Cuba"

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  jan  on Jul 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
351 people found this review helpful


The bars are never full and always quick service ( in July anyways) we tried all the cocktails and can recommend them specially the Playa Costa Verde special.
The pool is wonderful, large and lovely warm water, the swim up bar is very handy as well, yes there are a few tiles missing from the floor of the pool,( so what), its clean and always has a lifeguard on duty. You can swim at night if you so desire as well.
We did a couple of trips, one to paradise island on a catamaran, we had a wonderful day and the Island is just stunning, and we did the speedboat driving, my husband LOVED that trip and went a second time with his friend, that time they had to use jet skis as the boats were all full, he enjoyed that more than driving the speedboat. Both trips good value for money.
Our Thomas Cook reps Nancy and Nicky are brilliant and will go all out to make sure your holiday is perfect. They kindly arranged a special meal and a birthday cake for my husband, the staff all stood round and sang to him as well.
Once a fortnight the staff do a special meal and entertainment on the beach for British guests which was a nice touch and the fillet steak was scrummy.
All around the resort the gardens are well kept and maincured by very hard working staff, they so appreciate a peso tip and we gave one of them a bag of sweets for his little lad, he was really pleased .One of them sits near the pool every day and spit roasts a pig over a coal pit for 6 hours for our benefit, we also gave him a couple of beers every day.
All around the resort are land crabs and lizards so careful where you walk at night, we loved them and fed the lizards on the beach bananas most days.
The beach is stunning, there is a shelf of coral as you get in the water so take beach shoes with you, but because of the coral the sea life is abundant and snorkelling is just heaven, take a banana and feed the fish as well.
Yes the hotel has faults, not enough to spoil your holiday, take it as you find it as we did, switch to Cuban time and enjoy every minute at the PCV. We highly recommend this destination and loved our time there.
Chill out with a few Buccanero beers and a cocktail or three. I would go back there in a heartbeat. We Love Cuba and its people it is paradise. :)
Jan

Arrival:
Flights from manchester and back with no delays.On arrival we were checked in and given Champagne reception. The rooms are spacious and clean with big bathrooms, we were in room 5425 and had an upstairs room with large wrap around balcony overlooking the gardens and beer corner.

Restaurants and Bars:

The staff at this hotel make your holiday, they are friendly and fun and not just after tips.There are 4 al a carte restaraunts which you can book once each week, I must say the lobster in the Cuban was so rubbery I could have used it to re-sole my flip flops, after a word with Nancy our TC rep we were treated to a wonderful lobster meal in the vegetarian restaraunt as a treat.The japanese is great fun and yummy food cooked fresh in front of you. The main restaraunt is fine and has a few stations cooking prawns/steak/chicken etc fresh and as you wanted it.We always found something nice to eat in there and the puddings are just delicious, one of the chefs wheels in a special pudding every night, to a great fanfare and dancers, ( the drumming of the pudding we nicknamed it ).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent trip - BEWARE CanJet"

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Costa Verde Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  steve  on Apr 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
335 people found this review helpful

My son and I recently returned from Playa Costa Verde.
It was just as we had hoped, a nice relaxing vacation.
However, we do have a major complaint against CanJet Airlines
I packed (among other things) a Battery charger for a Sony digital Camera
AND a charger for my son's Nintendo DS game
Upon my arrival to Cuba, I noticed that both these items were missing from my luggage.

I would find this extremely difficult to believe they went missing on the Cuban end of my trip.
The Cubans do not have, and cannot get devices for which these chargers were meant to power.
Also, their voltage and shape of the plugs is different than our own.

As such, I believe a handler within the Ottawa airport siezed an opportunity to confiscate these items as their own.
Of course, their official stance is "we are not responsible . . ."

So that's the bad.
And I will not fly CanJet again . . . but I need to talk about the good as well

Your Arrival:
Thankfully, there were no other flights ariving at the same time as us.
Holguin airport is quite small, and this can sometimes create a real bottle-neck at customs.
This is not something you can control, or your travel agent, or the airline.
It just happens at small airports.
Our arrival through customs, baggage claims, onto the resort bus went very smoothly.

Once we arrived at the resort, our check-in went quite quckly as well.
Unfortunately, due to the timing, our room was not ready yet.
They gave us our bracelet, so we could enjoy our "all-inclusive" experience.
They have a luggage room where we left our suitcases, got into our swim suits, and off to the beach.
When we returned from our day (approx 4:00) our room was ready.
They took us(and our luggage)to the room.

Rooms:
Our room was large and clean, with two twin beds.
As we were on the first floor, we had a large terrace (upper floors had a balcony).

One of the bed-frames was broken, so I contacted the front desk.
We were told not to worry, it would be fixed before we retired for the night.
We washed up and went for dinner.
Upon our return, the bed was fixed . . . no problem

Restaurants and Bars:
We mostly went to the buffet restaurant, because in the past, we found this to be the most convinient.
My son likes to try a bit of this, bit of that . . .plus we have a fairly rigid schedule at home, we didn't want to have fixed time to eat.
That being said, the buffet had very good food, with lots of variety.
There was a grill station, in which you could get chicken, beef, and/or pork.
We always had something from the grill . . . Mmmmmm!

On our second day, on our way to lunch, we saw them roasting a pig over the coals.
My son was little reluctant to try "wilbur", but once he did he said "I hope they will be roasting another pig tomorrow" . . .and they did . . .every day . . . Once again Mmmmmm!

We tried to taste everything in the restaurant, but there was too much variety.
Must tries:
- Something from the grill
- Pizza
- Fresh juice (my favourite - Canteloupe)
- Bananas Flambé
- Coconut Ice-cream

We went to the Japanese restaurant, one evening, and it was quite good.
Our preference is definately the buffet restaurant(s).

After 6 Cuba trips, 3 Mexico trips, 2 Dominican trips, 1 Jamaican trip . . .we know what kind of travelers we are


Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach, what can I say ?
That's why we go to Cuba !! And this beach did not disappoint.
Nice shallow entry (for my son), good snorkelling right off the beach (bring some bananas from the restaurant).
My favorite beach is still "Cayo Santa Maria" but this is quite nice too.

The grounds are always being maintained by hard working staff.
I like to bring these guys a beer from the bar, or give them a peso, or a ball cap, or something small . . .to show them I appreciate their effort to make MY vacation as nice as possible.

The bartenders, maids, servers make decent tips . . .but these guys are working as hard or harder.
While a peso here or there is really nothing for us, it could be the equivalent of a days pay for them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the "swim with the dolphins" excursion, and it was really special.
I really struggled with the balance of trying to please my son, and trying to be environmentally responsible.
In the end, we took a "once in a lifetime" excursion, that will provide a lifetime of memories.

Other Comments:
Remember you are on vacation.
Chill out, walk a little, smile at the people you meet, dance a little, make new friends, try new foods, swim in the ocean, try that blue drink, be respectful, get a massage, go to the gym, so sailing . . .have fun.

When I go to Cuba, I usually bring my gently used clothes, some toiletries, some small toys to give to the families.
Let me tell you, a little gesture like this goes a long way.

So when I say I go for the beach, I also go because the Cubans are genuinely warm, friendly, appreciative people, who go out of their way to ensure your time on the resort is as good as possible.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube