Brisas Santa Lucia Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Brisas Santa Lucia reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Brisas Santa Lucia  

Ave. Turística, Playa Santa Lucía, Camaguey, Cuba

"Great !!!"
Posted by: Tommy on Nov 2, 2014
see all reviews

Brisas Santa Lucia Reviews
Brisas Santa Lucia Pictures and Information
Brisas Santa Lucia Playa Santa Lucia Cuba

#1
of 4 Hotels in Playa Santa Lucia

User rating 3.6

Based on 45 reviews

Brisas Santa Lucia Information


Directly on the wonderful beach of Santa Lucia and surrounded by tropical vegetation, the hotel Brisas Santa Lucia has an intimate feel to it. The 314 standard rooms all come with air conditioning and satellite TV. The friendly staff, good food and excellent facilities offered by Brisas Santa Lucia make it one of the most popular hotels in Santa Lucia. The hotel is situated about 90 minutes by car from the old colonial town of Camagüey and its international airport.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Brisas Santa Lucia Reviews

Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 3.6 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  11
Very good
  19
Average
  8
Poor
  5
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (33)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (11)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
1 - 10 of 45

"Great !!!"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tommy  on Nov 2, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
10 people found this review helpful

This hotel is really great. It looks nice, it is nice and the price is nice too. This year for the first time I have decided to visit Cuba with my wife. To be honest, it was her choice to book a room exactly at this hotel because she read some positive reviews about it. And she was right because the hotel was very nice and that fact made our holiday look so perfect. We wanted some relaxation after those long working hours back in Toronto, and we did get that holiday that we expected to.
The flight was a bit long, but it is not something that could ruin your holiday. When we arrived at the hotel and we saw the hotel I knew that this is very nice place to be. Even from outside it looks nice. The rooms are clean and do not have that awful smell of dust and cheap cleaning lotion. That was something that it was really great and I like it. My wife also. All the accessories in the room were working perfectly fine (air-conditioning, TV..etc) which was excellent because we heard a lot of stories that some hotels in Cube have an issue with the air-conditioning. There was always hot water in the WC and to be honest the toilet was really clean.
The other facilities at the hotel were also in great condition and with high hygiene standards, so this was really awesome because me and my wife we both like everything to be clean and in order. There were many activities organized by the hotel such as bingo so we had a lot of fun. The employees are truly amazing. They are always there to help you no matter which part of the day or night it is. They are very polite and they speak English very well.
All in all we both were really satisfied with the hotel in general, except the fact that the rooms should have been bigger. But other than that it is a really nice place that I would like to visit once more.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"i had an amazing time out here"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  britney  on Jul 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
30 people found this review helpful

I am a first timer here in Santa Lucia and I have to say that it is a trip that was worth it. B3ing that it is not my first time in Cuba, I think it is safe to assume that this is one of the best resorts I have been to in Cuba and I am giving it a 4 star rating for its excellent services. I stayed here for two weeks and never one day felt like leaving until my holiday was over and it was a short holiday. The building where my room was located in was close to everything in the resort and the rooms were well maintained and clean. I loved the handiwork of the maid who made towels into pretty kittens I guess, it was nice. The only problem I had with this place and why I didn’t give a 5 star rating is the fact that the hotel doesn’t have a descent mattress, they need to upgrade it so that all the services given here will be 100%. The reason this is important is because I have spine problem and need a good bed to lie on so it doesn’t get worse. I loved the buffet, it had a good selection of foods and they all tasted great, I mean the ones I was able to eat. The food didn’t get boring because there were different selections every day and that spiced things up, no pun intended. I enjoyed my stay so I will come back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Vacation to Remember"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on May 5, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
135 people found this review helpful

My second visit to Brisas, Santa Lucia, was as good as the first, and I can give nothing but praise to the staff, entertainers, and management of this resort. Nothing was too much trouble, and the happy smiling faces surrounding you make your stay so much more enjoyable. KUDOS to the staff for their efforts in making certain vacationers enjoy their stay to the maximum.
The resort has everything needed to ensure your stay is fun filled. Games around the pool, bingo, dance lessons, pool sports etc., check out the pictures below. Or, if rest and relaxation is what you require, sit around the pool, enjoying the surroundings, the palm trees swaying in the breeze. The ocean is only two minutes walk from the pool, where you can relax as you lay listening to the sound, and view the beauty of the ocean.
The evening shows are fantastic, so professionally presented, and the MC, dancers, singers and comedian's exceptional....to the point that I didn't want to miss even one show. There is also a children's show presented nightly prior to the adult show, and participation by any child on the resort is encouraged. Nobody is left out, it's just fun for everyone.
The rooms are slightly dated, but quite adequate. Care was taken as far as cleanliness was concerned. Air conditioning good, and all necessary accessories available.
The main restaurant offered a good array of food, and I am one picky eater, but was always able to find enough, to my liking. to enjoy a good meal, followed by delicious desserts. Also available throughout the day is a Snack Bar offering hamburgers, hot dogs, grilled cheese sandwiches etc. should you need a little sustenance along the way. Ice Cream Bar available should you have the urge for a cone. Also a coffee shop offering several different varieties of specialty coffee. As an all inclusive resort, drinks are available 24/7, however it is not advisable to drink the water, so make sure you obtain your water needs from the bar or restaurant.
Should you encounter any medical needs, there is a Doctor's office on site where you can obtain necessary medication. Just make sure you have your medical insurance before travelling. From what I understand the medical assistance is excellent.
To summarize, this was a trip that I would repeat anytime. I enjoyed my time at Brisas, Santa Lucia, made many new friends, interacted with those I already knew from my last visit, and thoroughly enjoyed my vacation. I would most definitely have no hesitation in recommending this location to anyone. To be honest, I think it was mainly because of the staff, their friendliness, courtesy, kindness and wonderful attitude. This, in my book, counts for a lot, and makes for not only a vacation, but a vacation to remember. Because of the staff, their friendliness, courtesy, kindness and wonderful attitude. This, in my book, counts for a lot, and makes for not only a vacation, but a vacation to remember

Room Block:
08

Arrival:
17 April 2013

Rooms:
812

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent customer service, friendly and hospitable staff, nothing too much trouble. Always a smiling face, and a welcoming smile. Good selection of food to choose from.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and ocean view awesome. There is a beach/pool supervisor on duty for safety purposes.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Many activities to keep vacationers occupied. During the day there are beach dance lessons, volleyball, and exercise routines provided. There is an exercise room with treadmill, exercise bike etc. Pool activities during the afternoon, bingo, darts and specifically supervised games for all to enjoy. There is a show every evening with superb dancers, comedians and singers who perform in a very professional manor. Well worth attending. There is also a children't show prior to the adult performance. The resort caters not only to the adults, but children also. Many activities are provided for the young ones. For the very young there are baby sitting facilities two hours in the morning, and two in the afternoon...this gives parents a chance to enjoy time for themselves without worrying their baby/toddler is without proper car. For the young at heart, there is a nearby club and disco to enjoy music and dancing, plus the ability to return to your resort in safety via taxi etc.

Other Comments:
The staff and their constant willingness to help, befriend and provide whatever assistance needed made not only my vacation, but a vacation to remember. Definitely a place I would return to. As a footnote, on leaving the resort to return to Canada, I was sent on my way with hugs and niceties by several of the entertainment staff plus the manager of the resort. How nice is that!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Vacation of My Life"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nancy  on Apr 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
251 people found this review helpful

My sister, brother, 86 year old mom and I went to Brisas, Santa Lucia for 1 week. We absolutely loved it. The 1 1/2 bus ride was interesting all the way. The resort is beautiful. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. No problems with the water for showers or the toilets. We were is building 9. Mom had a ground floor room, my sister & I were on the second floor and my brother was on the second floor on the other side of the hall.

All the staff were wonderful to all of us but especially to mom. They picked flowers and coconuts for her every day. Everyone spoke to her and called her Mama.

My sister, brother and I took advantage of everything offered. We went on the catamarin twice. We went bike riding anywhere we wanted. The bikes were comfy and it was fun. We went in the pedalboats. We went snorkeling 3 times just on our beach. We took bread and the fish came out of nowhere and surrounded us.

We got mom out for the carriage rides 3 times. She enjoyed that very much. We went for a lobster dinner at Edwardo's house in Coconut bay. If you go for a horse & buggy ride, ask for Luis. He had a great sense of humour and was not over priced.

The food was Cuban food but the pizza and pasta from the main restaurant was fantastic. The barbeque provided by Nolitours was really good. The Cuban a la carte was good and the staff, especially Umberto were great. The Italian a la carte was good. The pizza was so good there and our waiter, Fidel was very nice and took great care of us.

The staff made the difference with this resort. There was Abel, the amazingly flamboyant dancing waiter, as mentioned, Fidel & Umberto. Froggy, part of the entertainment crew was mom's favourite. He made such a fuss over her, she grinned every time she saw him. She ended up giving him my $20.00 Bubba cup because he liked it so much.

The only negative we found was that they did not serve any white wine on the property. What is with that? We ended up having to purchase our white wine in the store and bring it with us for the meals. The wine was only $2.50 a bottle and it was good wine but when I go to an all inclusive, I expect to have white wine with my meal. Unfortunately, we were not red wine lovers because that was all they had. We did complain to our rep, Mary Ann but she didn't seem too concerned about this.

It would be a good idea to take bug spray because the bugs do come out at night if there isn't a wind.

I was fortunate enough to go to Veradero for one week prior to this vacation. The difference between the two areas was incredible. I want to go back to this resort next year, or sooner. I loved it there and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Number:
27

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
April 19, 2012

Rooms:
clean & neat. Bathrooms good. Beds a little hard but I slept well.

Restaurants and Bars:
Pizza and pasta really, really, good. Omlettes made by Michael were fantastic every morning.
Beach bar had great fries and pasta and they had good ketchup

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool clean and beautiful. Beach beautiful and well maintained

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Snorkeling, pedal boating, catamarin, biking

Other Comments:
Loved Brisas, Santa Lucia

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great property with just decent service"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  anne  on Apr 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
228 people found this review helpful

We were at Brisas from Mar 8-22/12. We were part of a group of 14 with ages ranging from 8-60. Most of our group enjoyed the visit and felt we certainly got our moneys worth. A couple felt that the service was far below their standards and commented that they would not return based on this.

If food is a concern... don't worry. Been to Cuba a few times now and found this resort to be better than most 3 stars we have stayed at. It's not Canada so don't expect food from home and you'll be fine. Lots of fresh fruit and veggies with grilled meats and pasta. Desserts are awful other than ice cream. I would recommend going to the buffet after 7:30pm because at 6:30 you will get caught up in a line up with the mad rush and it takes the staff about 45min to an hour to recover from this. Much quieter and less line ups a bit later.

Rooms are for the most part quiet and clean. Not huge but adequate. Avoid the stage area if you go to bed early. Ask for a second floor so you can leave your sliding door open a bit. A/C is not fabulous but it takes the edge of the heat.
Rooms closer to the main lobby and pool area seemed to have better A/C.

Bring beach/water shoes. Tons of seaweed and debris on beach most days. Not a picture perfect beach. If this is important to you look elsewhere. Still nice..
maybe a 7 out of 10.

Do some excursions.... they are priced right and fun. Save money by booking a lobster dinner with a local instead of the tour operator . We paid 10 per person and our friends paid 38. They got some music and a bonfire. Not worth it to me since there is plenty of live music within the resort.

The bikes are free and we took them out quite a bit. Area is super flat so makes for great biking. Be sure to check out all the resort for shopping as we found prices varied greatly.

All things considered a great getaway at a great price. Can't complain about 14 days of straight sunshine. Just don't expect super fast service where food or beverage is concerned and you'll have a great time.

Room Number:
1300

Room Block:
13

Arrival:
A little crazy for check in. Send one person to literally run from bus to desk and get in line. Have other people gather luggage and then get in line. They need everyone in party to sign and get bands. This created a total mess as some people started check in process and then held up line while they ran about trying to find others in their party before they next could proceed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Going back for the third time."

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jerry  on Jan 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
272 people found this review helpful

We have been in other resorts in Cuba and the Caribbean and this one is excellent for the quality and price. People are friendly and Cuba is a beautiful country.

There is excellent snorkeling and diving. We are returning in April for diving, this time for 2 weeks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Enjoyed the entertainment and local fair..take the train tour...it's an eye opener if you are visiting Cuba for the first time. Sometimes we don't recognize how fortunate we are.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good times"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia  on Jan 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
254 people found this review helpful

Beautiful resort and really wonderful staff. Food is typical Cuban with lots of fresh fruit and vegetables. Good entertainment. Will go there again!

Room Number:
1717

Room Block:
17

Arrival:
Easy arrival and fast check-in. We were handed a drink at reception.

Rooms:
Room was spotless. Towels made into birds and animals daily. Fresh flowers on bed every day

Restaurants and Bars:
Friendly servers and plentiful food and drinks. They never ran out of anything.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean pool and beach. Lots of workers around. Grounds are beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of excursions and activities offered.

Other Comments:
Two seniors enjoyed an excellent vacation

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Insulting entertainment, on stage profanation of the Holy Cross and the sign of the Cross."

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew  on Jan 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
278 people found this review helpful

It was on Tuesday night around 9:30PM when the presenter announced that the rest of the show is not for little kids, so my wife has took our 5 and 8 year olds to the room, with our 15 year old daughter decided to join them. So only me and my 16 year old son stayed for the rest of the show. Now I wish we didn't.... It started with one of the entertainers coming out dressed up in brown rob, pretending to be a monk, holding a Cross and a Holy Bible, then 3 other male entertainers came out dressed up in white robes, holding inflated condoms below their bellies, and than a female entertainer showed up and started dancing and singing around every male: "Would you go to bed with me?". The one in brown robe would hit the other males on a head with the Bible book and yelled: "In the name of the Father the Son and the Holy Spirit!". I've been sitting in the front row with my 16 year old son..... I could not take this any more and got up and left. When I got to the back rows I decided to go back and ask them to stop the show. I was so upset. I don't remember exactly what I said, but I started pleading with the audience that if they were Christians, they should get up and leave. There was one voice from the audience asking me to leave so I did.
The next morning I went to the reception to complain. They've apologized and said that they've had that show for 2 years now and nobody complained. I could not believe it: nobody complained? I have just found a review from February 2011 and someone was been disgusted by the same show, so maybe people have complained, but Cubans would not care? Wednesday night was our last night and I did not feel like going to entertainment night, but our younger girls enjoyed dancing on the stage with the kids club so reluctantly we all were sitting in the front row. When the little kids were done the entertainment staff started improvising on stage. They called for 4 women to volunteer on stage. At the same time one of the entertainer ladies grabbed my 15 year old daughter by the hand and pulled her on stage. I did not know what to expect, but decided to sit and wait. One of the entertainers came up to me and told me not to worry that it's all going to be fine. 3 other women volunteered my daughter didn't.... Entertainers offered beer to all ladies on stage and tried to pressure my daughter to have some, but she asked for water.... My daughter participated in their fashion show and lip singing competitions; she is not very shy, but when they came up with a 3rd competition. They've called for a "handsome" male from the audience and asked the ladies to perform a lap dance on him. I've seen 2 other ladies perform and this was so embarrassing and my daughter was so embarrassed. I came up on stage and asked my girl to come with me.... Those other ladies were 10 -20 years older than my daughter.

Room Number:
928/929

Room Block:
9

Rooms:
That has been our first family vacation since 2003 so we were determined to have a good time no matter what. We have received 2 joined rooms with 2 beds each. It was not very comfortable, but we decided to make it work and not complain. We did not complain about the urine smell in the bathrooms (the smell was still there after the maid left). We did not complain about the 2 big bugs that looked like cockroaches.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was not great, but we all found something we liked. The service is OK most of the time, but there were waiters and bartenders there that would make you feel like you were a pain in the butt even if you tipped them. I would say we've spent at least $10 a day on tips. Maybe I should tip more, but that's supposed to be an all inclusive resort. Also I don't like giving tips for bad service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They've been cleaning the pool during the day when people were using it.... This should be done in the morning (breakfast time). Also they were raking the beach with a tractor at 3pm right behind my chair.... not a good thing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Insulting entertainment, went to disco once to find unprofessional DJ, drinking on the job

Other Comments:
Those last 2 nights have ruined my vacation. I've been insulted and embarrassed.
I would not recommend this place to anyone, specially not to Christians and not to families with young children.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Family Trip Christmas Season"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  cana  on Jan 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
241 people found this review helpful

Trip from the airport perfect and fun, you can buy beer for 1 peso just when you exit the airport (don't rush to the bus) you have time :) Resort very nice, great cafe place, nice pools (water very cold) much better to swim in the ocean. Room (take the one that is upstairs, the one on the grand floor have very humid smell, take time to get use to it, it did bother me in the beginning not at the end. Restaurant service good. Entertainment people great, very nice shows with lots of laughs. Kids also love it (I have one 6 years old). My little one really enjoyed it, I believe all my family enjoyed the stay at this resort including me. I'm very picky on things but the sun and water made me feel like in heaven. This resort is best for families and couples that want to relax. The disco in the resort is most of the times empty but there is a village club not far away, it ok nothing wow (the village club dance). The horse riders (people that takes you for trip) with carriage make sure you take an experience guy (don't take the young ones they tends to be too exited and can make your horse go crazy and the horse or you may be in trouble), so remember take the experience older guy to take you on a nice trip to Coco beach. Those sea food lunches that Cubans village people invites you to, pay attention (Coco Beach is very good, experienced by myself ask for Eddie Murphy, the one that is by the resort don't go as my friend that went got sick after one of the sea food lunch by locals) Again Coco Beach is fine, no worry that you get sick from the food they service you close buy in the village. What else, you can get a babysitter if you want to go out with your husband at night, so go for it it's fun. Also SAFE, important for kids. Lots of nice stuff (people that make your everyday stay wonderful). Enjoy!!!

Room Block:
Camague Club

Arrival:
good lots of people in front desk, take your time, or just grab a glass of pinacolada :)

Rooms:
ok, could be better in the matter of smell (humid), bathrooms in very nice conditions

Restaurants and Bars:
very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good

Other Comments:
Overall satisfaction, I would come back there :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Returning for 6/7 Time- 20 times to Cuba"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Neil  on Jan 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
260 people found this review helpful

We are returning to this resort with 14 family members in March.
The reasons include:
1. Great service by staff (PR Mr. Oldris Barreto Perez, waitresss Cleylis, waiters Fernando and Ricardo, brothers who play authentic Cuban music vocally and on guitars.
2. Entertainment for children of all ages.
3. Great coffee bar.
4. Patience of staff at the pool and patio bars
5. Wonderful sand beach that stretches for kilometres.
6. Attractive grounds with flowering shrubs and gardens.
7. Great opportunities for bird watching on the property, across the road from the resort in the salinas...and completely safe to walk down the road past the village toward La Boca
8. Friendly artisans who chat with no pressure attached.
9. Snorkelling has improved right in front of the resort.
10. Friendly staff who prepare omelettes, fresh pasta including pizza (cuban style), cut fresh fruit for breakfast, etc.

With respect to food, we would be remiss in not reminding 1st timers to Cuba that by and large, the food is really organic without the prices that we would face in Canada. This applies to vegetables, fruit, pork, chicken, and eggs, As a person who was raised on a farm, i find the flavours that we seldom can find in Canada any more, very special.

Every place may have negative aspects. When one considers the price and that the major part of our total all inclusive $ stays in Canada (Travel agents, Airport service (checkin, airfare, fuel, meals on board, salaries of pilots, baggage handlers, air attendants, etc,) then not much resides in Cuba.

Even so, rooms are always very clean. Bars are open 24 hours; food and or snacks are available 24 hours; pool and pool area is always clean. Nightly entertainment and daily activities leave nothing to want. That does not happen at an overnight stay Canada.

Brisas Santa Lucia suffered tremendously from a hurricane a couple of years ago. The resiliance of the management and staff to reopen it for the tourist season was nothing short of miraculous.

Finally, we have noted over a 10 year period, a real effort to improve many amenities. Cubans are friendly, gracious and a proud people, responding to "Hola!" and "Gracias!".

We wish all visitors a relaxing and enjoyable stay at this very special place.

Neil and Titia

Arrival:
Forget about the 2 hour trip from the airport. Enjoy the scenery. You are on a holiday.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Visit private homes for lobster. Make arrangements with buggy drivers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube