Brisas Santa Lucia Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Brisas Santa Lucia reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Brisas Santa Lucia  

Ave. Turística, Playa Santa Lucía, Camaguey, Cuba

"DISAPPOINTMENT"
Posted by: sarah on Apr 6, 2016
see all reviews

Brisas Santa Lucia Reviews
Brisas Santa Lucia Pictures and Information
Brisas Santa Lucia Playa Santa Lucia Cuba

#1
of 5 Hotels in Playa Santa Lucia

User rating 3.6

Based on 47 reviews

Brisas Santa Lucia Information


Directly on the wonderful beach of Santa Lucia and surrounded by tropical vegetation, the hotel Brisas Santa Lucia has an intimate feel to it. The 314 standard rooms all come with air conditioning and satellite TV. The friendly staff, good food and excellent facilities offered by Brisas Santa Lucia make it one of the most popular hotels in Santa Lucia. The hotel is situated about 90 minutes by car from the old colonial town of Camagüey and its international airport.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Brisas Santa Lucia Reviews

Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 3.6 of 5 47 reviews
Excellent
  11
Very good
  19
Average
  9
Poor
  6
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (35)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (11)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
1 - 10 of 47

"Insulting entertainment, on stage profanation of the Holy Cross and the sign of the Cross."

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew  on Jan 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
553 people found this review helpful

It was on Tuesday night around 9:30PM when the presenter announced that the rest of the show is not for little kids, so my wife has took our 5 and 8 year olds to the room, with our 15 year old daughter decided to join them. So only me and my 16 year old son stayed for the rest of the show. Now I wish we didn't.... It started with one of the entertainers coming out dressed up in brown rob, pretending to be a monk, holding a Cross and a Holy Bible, then 3 other male entertainers came out dressed up in white robes, holding inflated condoms below their bellies, and than a female entertainer showed up and started dancing and singing around every male: "Would you go to bed with me?". The one in brown robe would hit the other males on a head with the Bible book and yelled: "In the name of the Father the Son and the Holy Spirit!". I've been sitting in the front row with my 16 year old son..... I could not take this any more and got up and left. When I got to the back rows I decided to go back and ask them to stop the show. I was so upset. I don't remember exactly what I said, but I started pleading with the audience that if they were Christians, they should get up and leave. There was one voice from the audience asking me to leave so I did.
The next morning I went to the reception to complain. They've apologized and said that they've had that show for 2 years now and nobody complained. I could not believe it: nobody complained? I have just found a review from February 2011 and someone was been disgusted by the same show, so maybe people have complained, but Cubans would not care? Wednesday night was our last night and I did not feel like going to entertainment night, but our younger girls enjoyed dancing on the stage with the kids club so reluctantly we all were sitting in the front row. When the little kids were done the entertainment staff started improvising on stage. They called for 4 women to volunteer on stage. At the same time one of the entertainer ladies grabbed my 15 year old daughter by the hand and pulled her on stage. I did not know what to expect, but decided to sit and wait. One of the entertainers came up to me and told me not to worry that it's all going to be fine. 3 other women volunteered my daughter didn't.... Entertainers offered beer to all ladies on stage and tried to pressure my daughter to have some, but she asked for water.... My daughter participated in their fashion show and lip singing competitions; she is not very shy, but when they came up with a 3rd competition. They've called for a "handsome" male from the audience and asked the ladies to perform a lap dance on him. I've seen 2 other ladies perform and this was so embarrassing and my daughter was so embarrassed. I came up on stage and asked my girl to come with me.... Those other ladies were 10 -20 years older than my daughter.

Room Number:
928/929

Room Block:
9

Rooms:
That has been our first family vacation since 2003 so we were determined to have a good time no matter what. We have received 2 joined rooms with 2 beds each. It was not very comfortable, but we decided to make it work and not complain. We did not complain about the urine smell in the bathrooms (the smell was still there after the maid left). We did not complain about the 2 big bugs that looked like cockroaches.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was not great, but we all found something we liked. The service is OK most of the time, but there were waiters and bartenders there that would make you feel like you were a pain in the butt even if you tipped them. I would say we've spent at least $10 a day on tips. Maybe I should tip more, but that's supposed to be an all inclusive resort. Also I don't like giving tips for bad service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They've been cleaning the pool during the day when people were using it.... This should be done in the morning (breakfast time). Also they were raking the beach with a tractor at 3pm right behind my chair.... not a good thing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Insulting entertainment, went to disco once to find unprofessional DJ, drinking on the job

Other Comments:
Those last 2 nights have ruined my vacation. I've been insulted and embarrassed.
I would not recommend this place to anyone, specially not to Christians and not to families with young children.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad service... a lot of money wasted"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Nov 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) DENMARK
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
382 people found this review helpful

I was very disappointed about the service and the quality of the hotel. I dont understand why it could have 4 stars. First of all they started acusing my girlfriend for beeing a prostitute, and only after talking to the manager she was allowed to stay there. Then the bar wasnt able to make a mojito at any moment of the four days we spent there. Cats and dogs ran between your legs outside the restaurant and in the lobbybar. The overall impression was a worn down hotel, that didnt seem very clean. Im never going back to this place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Boring vacation"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Richard  on Oct 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
243 people found this review helpful

The hotel was not what I expected to be. Hotel AC was non functional, only the fan was working. Changed rooms only to find out all rooms were this way. So sleeping in 25C room was a little uncomfortable. Bed springs could be felt, and electricity was out in our rooms everyday, not long maybe 10 minutes.One day it went out 4 times though. Paid a bargain price, but had a very boring, no frills vacation. Acivities around pool were posted but non existant. I was afraid to get food poisoning because food was barely warm, and the cold food buffet was not on ice. So I mostly ate on the grill, mostly fish every 2 days. Mosquitos were a nuisance, even during the day. Hotel was also too far from the airport for my liking. From airport to hotel was 1.5hr. ride. Very limited store on site to buy stuff, like no suntan lotion, or mosquito repellant or beach towels. I also love Margaritas around the pool, but no Tequila was available. Besides the warm pool and ocean,and great nightly entertainment, this place has little to offer.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The hotel offered a free diner excurssion, but it was as far as the bus ride to the airport (1.5hr.)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Resort From Hell"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Connie  on Feb 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
306 people found this review helpful

I would not suggest anyone go to this resort. My gal pal and I went there and the resort was a bad experience from the beginning. We had to change rooms due to the fact that one could not stand the stench of mold and mildew, it was a room on the ground level. We switched rooms the next day which was on the second floor which was much better. The first room had no phone service which we relied on because we had booked a tour early in the am and we were told that someone would be around to knock on the door to awaken us. Luckily we awoke in time on our own. The staff was forty five minutes late in coming to our room to wake us. There was a broken lounge chair on our patio. There was an electrical outlet with bare wires in the room as well and one of the bed side lamps did not work. We were under the impression that the food in Cuba was very bland so we took our own ketchup, hot sauce, etc but even that did not help. Everything was cooked in some sort of oil or grease. Into the forth day of our vacation we developed diarrhea and had upset stomachs. The food was disgusting. The only coffee found was expresso which was so strong and thick it was like drinking maple syrup. Luckily we went on an excursion that provided us lunch one day and we visited Cocoa Beach and they provided us with a beautiful lobster dinner. Our last dinner was the only edible meal so to speak and it was a beach barbeque. Prostitution is rampant on this resort and it was absolutely appalling, this should be classified as an adult only resort. A wedding was taking place and a stag was held beforehand and the staff members were seen parading around with inflatable dolls for this stag during daytime hours and there were quite a few children on this resort. Not a good place for kids let alone adults. Like I said the food was absolutely horrid, I lost seven pounds, which I don't mind, except I would rather lose weight the healthy way instead of starving myself. I say to anyone wanting to lose a few pounds to save their money and not join weight watchers, go to this resort as well. We had two warm showers the duration of our trip. The only good thing about this trip was the fun we made on our own and we went on some really good excursions which allowed us to escape this "hell hole of a resort". I would never recommend anyone visiting Cuba to never go to this resort.

Room Number:
1112

Room Block:
21

Arrival:
We arrived at approximately noonish on Thursday February 10, 2011

Rooms:
Never, never accept the rooms on ground floor, they smell musty with mold and mildew

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was absolutely gawd awful, my gal pal as others witnessed cockroaches in food on the buffet.
Italian Restaurant was okay, they provided us with a beach barbeque on the night before we departed

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were okay, in lack of maintenance and there was a lot of seaweed on the beach, very disappointed.
Swim up bar was the "shits", the only stools were under the canopy in the shade.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were not many activities held on the resort, but we chose not to hang around too much as we were so disgusted by the resort, we went snorkelling which was an excursion which was totally awesome, we went to Coco Beach for a terrific lobster dinner, we had a tour of Camaquey which is the city this dump of a resort was in.
We did go horseback riding but we would have liked more time on the beach riding as opposed to the neighborhood which had a lot of garbage/debris present

Other Comments:
We got a pretty good deal on this vacation package but all in all for the little amount of food we were able to digest, thus unable to drink much in the line of alcoholic drinks, I figure we paid more than what it was worth.
I would never recommend this resort to anyone and hope after talking to my travel agent that they stick to their word and decide never to sell vacation packages to this resort again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel is horrible not a 4* for sure"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  DIANA  on Dec 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
298 people found this review helpful

If your are looking for a nice hotel this is not the place to be, this resort is run down to the max, the linnen is horrible so old and smelly nothing i have ever seen :(.....however, the staff is wonderful can't be any nicer. Food eh somewhat ok at times, very small buffet. Entertainment need major work..i wouldn't recomend anyone to this hotel until they do so reno. The rooms are nasty....the beach need to be cleaned too much weeds and no maintenance.

Room Number:
714 &711

Arrival:
DEC 16-26, 2010

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A good beach hotel with a bad swimming pool"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ingeborg und Hans-Jürgen Ohms  on Jul 20, 2008  >  2 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jul, 2008
703 people found this review helpful

This wasn’t the first time we stayed at the hotel. On this occasion, we went in June for three weeks. The rooms, the restaurants and facilities were in very good shape. The food was varied and good. Unfortunately, the pool bottom was very dirty and the lounge chairs were also very dirty.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  nella  on Apr 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
280 people found this review helpful

When we arrived there we waited three hour to get our room. Music was very loud until 6 in the morning, our room had no hot water we changed room after three days. The hotel was very dirty and the beach was dirty too, I have been to Varadero no compare, the food was terrible, the entertainment was boring all week. Nothing for kids to do .I would not suggest anyone there, lots of prostitution there; never again I will go the St Lucia.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DISAPPOINTMENT"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  sarah  on Apr 6, 2016  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
157 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
unwelcoming

Told by bus guide to rush as dining room soon closed and no food after that.
I grabbed food while husband went to room -smelled of mildew. Moved to another room. Turned out there was no rush as the dining room would be kept open for guests.

Rooms:
Have you ever seen a room without a single drawer? Visit to desk next day brought one chest of drawers placed in closet under safe. Could not get any of them open without assistance. Shower-head sprayed the entire room. Toilet would not flush. It was cheerfully fixed but then would not stop running. Finally the handle snapped off.

There was lots of hot water and the air conditioning worked. Well, sort of. The weather was cold and could not turn the air off. No bedside lamps and none available.
Request for extra pillows brought two giant brand new ones with only too small cases available.
Box spring broke in half when my husband sat at the foot.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots of food and with all the fresh meat available why there was cheap looking processed food on everything was a mystery. My first probably with being a vegetarian in Cuba. Even the potato salad had chunks of meat.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Disappointing. Beach never cleaned as we saw at other Cuban resorts.
Pool fine. Grounds well maintained. Beautiful trees.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very little entertainment. No sound system anywhere so difficult ot hear the few entertainers. A pity as the musicians were talented.

Other Comments:
We were directed to this resort as a 4 star when the resort of our choice did not open in time for our trip. Would not recommend it to anyone in its present state of general disrepair. It is really falling apart. if there were better accomodations anywhere, we could not find them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"no mercy from Nolitours"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  tomas  on Jan 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
204 people found this review helpful

We booked our holiday to Cuba, Santa Lucia, Hotel Oasis Brisas for Nov 19/09 to Dec 03/09. Due to the fog at Thunder Bay airport we could not fly to Toronto, since all the flights to and from Thunder Bay were cancelled. I immediately contacted the same day, 3 hours prior to Toronto-Cuba departure, the tour operator from Nolitours and asked if we could at least fly a week later and miss one week of holidays. Since they provide the same trip every week, we would accept even the one week.
Air Canada was willing to re-book us at any date in the future for the cancelled flight to Toronto. Without any mercy, Nolitour representative said
"no" and that's it. No changes, no refund or discount. Yet on the way back the plane was half empty, so I am sure the situation was the same on the way to Cuba. We bought a new ticket to Holquin and flew 2 days later with Sunwing.
With a taxi and $200.00 later we arrived at the hotel, where we were told that we have no reservations! Well, I sat down in the lobby and waited until the hotel gave us a room. The bright side of the trip was a rep for Nolitours,
Jeorge, he was very helpful and understanding.

Your Arrival:
Nov 21/09

Rooms:
good

Restaurants and Bars:
good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Other Comments:
No mercy from NOLITOURS!
There was a lot of stealing going on in the buffet restaurant. We lost a pair of sunglasses, and also camera with my visa.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"June 2008 vacation"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ingeborg und Hans-Jürgen Ohms  on Jun 30, 2008  >  2 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jun, 2008
632 people found this review helpful

We spent three weeks at this hotel in June 2008. The rooms and hotel in general had recently been repaired and were in good shape. The food was good, with a varied menu at the a la carte restaurants, and a buffet option. The swimming pool was very dirty and was not cleaned, despite the guests’ insistence.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube