Brisas Santa Lucia Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Brisas Santa Lucia reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Brisas Santa Lucia  

Ave. Turística, Playa Santa Lucía, Camaguey, Cuba

"DISAPPOINTMENT"
Posted by: sarah on Apr 6, 2016
see all reviews

Brisas Santa Lucia Reviews
Brisas Santa Lucia Pictures and Information
Brisas Santa Lucia Playa Santa Lucia Cuba

#1
of 5 Hotels in Playa Santa Lucia

User rating 3.6

Based on 47 reviews

Brisas Santa Lucia Information


Directly on the wonderful beach of Santa Lucia and surrounded by tropical vegetation, the hotel Brisas Santa Lucia has an intimate feel to it. The 314 standard rooms all come with air conditioning and satellite TV. The friendly staff, good food and excellent facilities offered by Brisas Santa Lucia make it one of the most popular hotels in Santa Lucia. The hotel is situated about 90 minutes by car from the old colonial town of Camagüey and its international airport.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Brisas Santa Lucia Reviews

Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 3.6 of 5 47 reviews
Excellent
  11
Very good
  19
Average
  9
Poor
  6
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (35)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (11)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
11 - 20 of 47

"Family Trip Christmas Season"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  cana  on Jan 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
445 people found this review helpful

Trip from the airport perfect and fun, you can buy beer for 1 peso just when you exit the airport (don't rush to the bus) you have time :) Resort very nice, great cafe place, nice pools (water very cold) much better to swim in the ocean. Room (take the one that is upstairs, the one on the grand floor have very humid smell, take time to get use to it, it did bother me in the beginning not at the end. Restaurant service good. Entertainment people great, very nice shows with lots of laughs. Kids also love it (I have one 6 years old). My little one really enjoyed it, I believe all my family enjoyed the stay at this resort including me. I'm very picky on things but the sun and water made me feel like in heaven. This resort is best for families and couples that want to relax. The disco in the resort is most of the times empty but there is a village club not far away, it ok nothing wow (the village club dance). The horse riders (people that takes you for trip) with carriage make sure you take an experience guy (don't take the young ones they tends to be too exited and can make your horse go crazy and the horse or you may be in trouble), so remember take the experience older guy to take you on a nice trip to Coco beach. Those sea food lunches that Cubans village people invites you to, pay attention (Coco Beach is very good, experienced by myself ask for Eddie Murphy, the one that is by the resort don't go as my friend that went got sick after one of the sea food lunch by locals) Again Coco Beach is fine, no worry that you get sick from the food they service you close buy in the village. What else, you can get a babysitter if you want to go out with your husband at night, so go for it it's fun. Also SAFE, important for kids. Lots of nice stuff (people that make your everyday stay wonderful). Enjoy!!!

Room Block:
Camague Club

Arrival:
good lots of people in front desk, take your time, or just grab a glass of pinacolada :)

Rooms:
ok, could be better in the matter of smell (humid), bathrooms in very nice conditions

Restaurants and Bars:
very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good

Other Comments:
Overall satisfaction, I would come back there :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Returning for 6/7 Time- 20 times to Cuba"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Neil  on Jan 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
426 people found this review helpful

We are returning to this resort with 14 family members in March.
The reasons include:
1. Great service by staff (PR Mr. Oldris Barreto Perez, waitresss Cleylis, waiters Fernando and Ricardo, brothers who play authentic Cuban music vocally and on guitars.
2. Entertainment for children of all ages.
3. Great coffee bar.
4. Patience of staff at the pool and patio bars
5. Wonderful sand beach that stretches for kilometres.
6. Attractive grounds with flowering shrubs and gardens.
7. Great opportunities for bird watching on the property, across the road from the resort in the salinas...and completely safe to walk down the road past the village toward La Boca
8. Friendly artisans who chat with no pressure attached.
9. Snorkelling has improved right in front of the resort.
10. Friendly staff who prepare omelettes, fresh pasta including pizza (cuban style), cut fresh fruit for breakfast, etc.

With respect to food, we would be remiss in not reminding 1st timers to Cuba that by and large, the food is really organic without the prices that we would face in Canada. This applies to vegetables, fruit, pork, chicken, and eggs, As a person who was raised on a farm, i find the flavours that we seldom can find in Canada any more, very special.

Every place may have negative aspects. When one considers the price and that the major part of our total all inclusive $ stays in Canada (Travel agents, Airport service (checkin, airfare, fuel, meals on board, salaries of pilots, baggage handlers, air attendants, etc,) then not much resides in Cuba.

Even so, rooms are always very clean. Bars are open 24 hours; food and or snacks are available 24 hours; pool and pool area is always clean. Nightly entertainment and daily activities leave nothing to want. That does not happen at an overnight stay Canada.

Brisas Santa Lucia suffered tremendously from a hurricane a couple of years ago. The resiliance of the management and staff to reopen it for the tourist season was nothing short of miraculous.

Finally, we have noted over a 10 year period, a real effort to improve many amenities. Cubans are friendly, gracious and a proud people, responding to "Hola!" and "Gracias!".

We wish all visitors a relaxing and enjoyable stay at this very special place.

Neil and Titia

Arrival:
Forget about the 2 hour trip from the airport. Enjoy the scenery. You are on a holiday.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Visit private homes for lobster. Make arrangements with buggy drivers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best place in Santa Lucia"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  odel  on Dec 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Party | With friend
401 people found this review helpful

i have ben going to this hotel for 8 years now and go 2 times a year the people a super the hotel is clean the food is cuba but you can find food for everyone.the manager rhol the coffy bar girl yammi the anamation rolly-frogy-and the girls a super your looking for a good time this is the place.i fell in love with this place 9 years ago and made it my second home.in santa-lucia there a 4 hotels and by far this is the best one.the only one one in santa-lucia i would recomend.over the years the girls that work there told me they enjoy getting gifts but the best thing you can bring them is medacation soap bars had and sun cream ex..advil.cough sirop.ear drops- eye drops eny kind of over the counter medacation,kotex,tampax,it get very cold at night sometimes in the rainy times so the need long shirts,jeans,used ofcorse,sun glasses,old scuba,stuff,baby shoes,ect..oh and for a treat the love penut butter.for 11 bucks phone call to there hotel ask to talk or book with andrea at the front desk and you will have your room number before you get there so no rush when you get off the bus.and 100% you will get one of the best rooms.and last if you want excelent lobster ask one of the male dancers rury and it will be the best meal and chep to.tell them i sent you my name is (odel) and you will have the best service in cuba .so enjoy have fun and remenber what happens in cuba stays in cuba.

Room Number:
321-221 -111

Room Block:
3 -2-1

Arrival:
like i said for a few canadien bucks calling after you have your booking number and when you get off the bus no need to run to the front loby to get the best room .you will allready have your room number so sit down relax have a drink and remenber to give andra the front gril a small time 5 bucks go a long way.they will remenber you for the hole week.

Rooms:
since i have been going there for 9 years now i had a chance to see all the hotels in santa-lucia and by far this is the best hotel and the best rooms.and the cleaning staff is so nice enything you ask you will get.

Restaurants and Bars:
at the man restaurant where you can have your 3 meals is very clean good food and the a la carte well they are 5 star service and food.now remenber your in cuba not canada so the food you have can be repeted in the 2 week stay.but allwas frech alwas good.if you are a little fussy like me i bring my own salade dressing and little packs or ketchup-mustered-relish-viniger-and little squar`s of peanut butter to give to them and of corse my my hubby.but all in all the rstaurents a very good.better then the other hotels.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
wow the beach.it is so clean they work day and night to clean it and the have a special tractor to pick up the green stuff,you can find a little man there every day in the water named roberto he has 7 kids and pick sea shells for you all day.he is in need of scuba glasses and sun lotion
the pool is alwas clean and was painted last year so no fear that it will be closed.the grounds are wow to die for clean pretty and every day the grouds men are working to make it nicer

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
at the hotel allday around the pool and beach there is something to do and all theyout of hotel trip are so cool ..the specialone that will blow you away and take your heart is the camaway trip seeing wow they live see there markets and visit the better side of cuba is realy cool.again bring little gift with you soap bars had and sun cream its a must .they dont want cash they need medacation .they dont pay for doctor but the must buy there medacation and it is very expensive for them so they go without.

Other Comments:
on the beach many men and women ask for stuff not cash clothing medacation but beware.of the cigar guys because most of them you cant bring the out of cuba so but them at the hotel lobby to bring to canada.if the dont have the paper in the box on the beach dont buy them the dont good.you will see in your stay that canadiens and quebec are there favorit people .why cause we tip.people think that going to the main restaurent you dont need to tip.well 2 bucks per meal will get you a table saved every day they will remenber your name and what you like to drink and you will have the best service you evey had.remenber these people work sometime 14 days with going home they sleep at the hotel get 10 bucks a month so tips help them out so much and there service they give you is so worth it.and when the place is full you will see that they had kept a table for you buy putting there own towls or jackets on the chaires to keep a table for you .so again please tip them.and you will see what i mean. and there mono is what happens in cuba stays in cuba.hahah have fun.p.s. take it from me no other hotel on the beach is worth goig to no matter what the travile agent tells you after 9 years belive me i know.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad service... a lot of money wasted"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Nov 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) DENMARK
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
382 people found this review helpful

I was very disappointed about the service and the quality of the hotel. I dont understand why it could have 4 stars. First of all they started acusing my girlfriend for beeing a prostitute, and only after talking to the manager she was allowed to stay there. Then the bar wasnt able to make a mojito at any moment of the four days we spent there. Cats and dogs ran between your legs outside the restaurant and in the lobbybar. The overall impression was a worn down hotel, that didnt seem very clean. Im never going back to this place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing Resort!"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Miranda  on Nov 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
302 people found this review helpful

I have visited this resort 2 times now and I am returning again in February! The people and the service at this resort are like none other I have ever been to. The grounds are well kept all though the rooms are a bit dated but they are very clean and very livable! The air conditioner always worked and the water wasnt hot but warm (your in cuba why do you need steaming hot water). The bars were always stocked and if they ran out of something then they made sure to go to another one and get more.
This resort is amazing and such good value and very worth the money!

Room Number:
212

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
Very fast check in and was greeted by the entertainment staff as we got off the bus, and they had music playing and drinks ready for us. Veryy welcoming!

Rooms:
A little outdated but very clean and well maintained. I would recommend asking for a room on the top floor, theres just a better view, breeze and not as noisy!

Restaurants and Bars:
Personally my favorite place to eat was the 24 hour snack bar because i loved the grilled cheese. But the buffet always had a wide variety of options for everyone. My favorite time to eat was for breakfast though, the fresh omlettes were absolutely amazing!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach had a bit of seaweed but it was mowed and maintained every morning so there was none on the beach. The pool and grounds were veryy well maintained. Every morning when i woke up all the leaves and everything had already been sweeped up and gone out of sight.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They offer lots of fun games by the pool on a regular basis, they also offer salsa lessons by the beach often. If you ask they will play music by the pool through the day even if the entertainment staff isnt there. A night they always have shows and the shows are very interactive and entertaining. If people are interesting in a little dancing and partying there is a disco off the resort which is amazing!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worth the money"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Nick  on Nov 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
207 people found this review helpful

We got a nice and relaxing vacation. The resort hasn't been so busy, so people said there are less attractions. We liked it more not being crowded.
People are friendly and are generally very nice (also gifts and tips are welcomed and help). The weather was excellent. If you are not so picky with the food I would recommend this resort 80% and maybe the best in Santa Lucia.

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
Oct 26 2011
From Camaguey airport to resort we went by bus for about 1h 40 min. Bus has AC and it's nice. Check in was quick (so was check out), without any problem. Trouble was with the food. We arrived after 2 PM when the restaurant was closed and the only food available was hotdog or hamburger from snack bar.

Rooms:
Very clean, and the maid made everyday very nice towels arrangements (almost art). Hot water missing for 2 days and the rest was only between 6-9 morning and afternoon (claimed technical problem on the main pipe). Lucky the cold water is more like lukewarm which made the shower reasonable.
The furniture satisfy your needs, but with the continental standards, look very old and needs at least refurbishment.
Compare to how people live there, the conditions in the resort are amazing and could get 10 stars.
Disappointed I didn't see the bathrobes advertised. Compared to Sunwing, Nolitur, gives beach towels in the room, a bottle of rum at arrival, and some special dinner. At the end this is a small value, but some people might get impressed by the attention.

Restaurants and Bars:
If you are the person who wants to eat and drink a lot, all inclusive give you this chance (most of the cost are some tips eventually). If you are after good taste, this place is not for you. You can find what to eat, and will not starve, but don't look for too much diversity and a lot of good food. I would say the fruits, and veggie and probably the meat could name it organic, but the cooks don't know much what to do with them.
The fruits were the best, specially Papaya.
The dinner reservations were terrible. After that most of the people from a la carte Restaurant went back to eat something at buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was awesome, most of people enjoy being there instead of the beach.
The garden looks very nice and the people take care of it. The beach is clean every day and is a nice sand, and good places to sit. For the swimming, you need water shoes, and perseverance. A lot of vegetation and some rocks, made your life miserable until you get to the place to swim.
Morning you go 10 min, but due to the tide, in the afternoon you go between 20-30 min and about 100-150 m in the water until you are able to swim.
However if you pass that, you enjoy swimming and could have a lot of fun doing snorkeling.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
If the weather was nice (and I guess most of the time is) you could enjoy the pedal boats, small catamaran ride, snorkeling, horse back ride...
In the evening there are nice shows (unfortunately after 5 days start to repeat). Entertainment team is very nice (specially the comedian, Rolly), and they provide some entertainment around the pool during the day too.

Other Comments:
It is worth going in this place.
Advices:
Take with you water shoes if you want to go in ocean.
Take a tour to Camaguey if you want to know a bit what is Cuba outside of resort.
Tips (gifts are preferred some time) are making the people even friendlier and more helpful. If you have room in the luggage take clothes or shoes which are still in good shape, to give them away. You might make some people happy with so little effort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fine for the money"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  jack  on Sep 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
211 people found this review helpful

My wife and i stayed there for 11 days clean rooms great staff food well its cuba but it did get better in the second week beach is great if you plan to go i would plan for a day trip to see the flomingoes a great cruise for 50 cuban remember tips go a long way in this poor country if you like wine with your meals a 5 goes very far my wife and i are going again in jan be pataint for hot water in shower shower early enjoy great deep sea fishing 50 per person if you have a group of 4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"4 th time"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  tom  on Sep 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
201 people found this review helpful

Hola Sun was dishonest in that they did not disclose pool was closed. Promised Camaguey trip was not given.
Staff are allowed to smoke in kitchen.
Buffet was closed for dinner and Italian restaurant became repetitive.
Attended for first time in March 2009, and resort has gone downhill each time.
Horse riding, scuba and carriage ride to Coco Beach for lobster are good.
Book lobster with one of operators out front.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful and warm cuban people!!"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  aldo a.  on Jul 16, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
245 people found this review helpful

Wife and myself stayed at this hotel and had a great time getting to know the areas around the resort and the wonderful cuban people.We enjoyed good wheater ,beautiful beaches ,great service ,delicious cocktails and 5 a-la-carte restaurant with good food that any person with some 'world',culture,education or exposure to other ways of life other than burgers and hot dogs would appreciate.Cuba is a amaizingly beautiful country full of good poeple who work hard to give you a very good impression of their island,even when some of the supplies era sometimes lacking.
Beautiful grilled fish,Paella with lobster,lovely seafood.Cheerfool staff.nice excursions on catamaran or horse and buggie.profesional managers and courteous tratment of the guests.
Excellent service by lifegards at the ocean and pool.
The team that clean the beach everymorning young man(Randy) and his father are as nice and efficient as humanly posible
This is the 4 hotel of this chain (BRISAS)that we tried and i think this one as much as the ones in Guedalavaca,Santiago,and Varadero

Room Number:
111

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
Friday June 30 ,10:00pm

Rooms:
Spotless,gret maid

Restaurants and Bars:
Cuban food night deliciosa!!!
Italian night with good australian wine and pannini.
BBQ night with delicious grilled chicken ,pork chops and chicken.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful beach,clean and calm
strong and efficient lifeguards

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
many activities: catamaran to playa bonita to do some snorkeling of the coral reefs and multicolor fishes and many many others

Other Comments:
gret massages at the spa for a good price

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was an amazing vacation, I would go back in a heartbeat!!!"

Brisas Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Brisas Santa Lucia Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gen  on Jul 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
257 people found this review helpful

My Husband and I went to Camaguey Cuba, Be Live Brisas Santa Lucia May 11-18 2011. The trip was absolutely amazing and there is very little to complain about this trip at all except for our first room which was BROKEN. Anyways, so our week was filled with fun, excitement and relaxation. The Entertainment staff is amazing (Rawly,Froggy = amazing). We went horseback riding (far end of our beach for 50 pesos = 4 people for almost 2 hours)& it was the best ride I have ever been on during a vacation, the horses weren’t tried and famished, they were energetic and very healthy. We also went on the King Ranch Excursion which was so worth the 29 pesos as we saw a Rodeo, went horseback riding, pole fished for Tilapia, visited a village and school and ended our trip with a Pig Roast! Another trip was to Playa Bonita which was worth the $ even though it was more costly as it was almost a full day of Catamaran, snorkeling and beach relaxation with a fresh Cuban lunch and beverage. We had amazing lobster dinners, one was offered by a Local by the name of Santi who took us down the beach to a white Cuban style home where we paid 10 pesos for a wonderful meal. We also arranged a horse and carriage ride which cost us 15 pesos for the ride there and back, he brought us to see the Flamingo’s and then to Coco Beach where we had a wonderful Pina Colada and then we were taken to a beautiful local Cuban home that was very modern and had the BEST Lobster dinner I have ever had. The Lobster was bigger than my head and it was served with Plantain chips, rice, tomatoes and cucumber. No drinks were offered but the driver went to the local bar and got us all a coke and beer each for 1 pesos per drink so I couldn’t complain at all. Afterward we had a beautiful horse and carriage ride back will full bellies and enjoyed the sun setting over the ocean!

By far this resort was better than the other three on the strip and the food was also much better! The entertainment was wonderful, the food was great and the atmosphere was just simply relaxing and filled with fun memories. I would go back to Be Live Brisas Santa Lucia in a heartbeat!!!

Arrival:
We arrived at 9:15pm and the buffet closes usually at 9:00 but they stayed open for us. The food was not the best as it was closing time but it was nice to be able to grab something before it closed and we were welcomed with a cocktail. After our snack the check in took about 2 minutes and our luggage was brought to our room that was located on the far side of the resort which was also nice to be away from all the hustle and bustle. When we arrive the wrong key was given to us so the bell boy went back to the front desk to fix the issue, a cleaning lady was there and she let us in immediately so we could begin unpacking. The bell boy returned and fixed the door and told us that the lock would be changed the next day and we would be given 2 new keys.

Rooms:
Now for the BROKEN ROOM ISSUE which realistically was not that bad but was our only complaint. Our Air conditioning was not working properly, our view was of a local house with cars in the driveway, the previous people who had our room forgot to reset the safe,the shower head would not stay up and my husband had to hold it while I showered, had no toilet paper holder but we unpacked and headed to the bar for a few drinks and hit the hay early and said we would deal with it the next day. So we went to the front desk the next morning and asked for a different room because of the issues (the broken shower, toilet, safe, A/C, and the horrible view). The front desk lady made a few jokes about us having no room and proceeded to get us a NOT BROKEN ROOM. We were given a key to the new room and she had asked us to go take a look and see if it was to our liking. The room room was absolutely wonderful, nothing was broken, it was cool and we had a beachfront room with an amazing view! Now that was the only issue we had with the hotel and it was rectified immediately and with pleasure, so to all you haters out there all you have to do is be kind and ask for a change and you will get it!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was great, on the far hidden right of the buffet is the pasta bar!!! What great pasta so if you dont like the buffet food you can always opt for pasta or pizza!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was great, warm and clean. Beach was also VERY clean and always had lots of lounge chairs, there is a small coral reef to the left of the beech so if you dont want to pay for a snorkling trip bring some bread in the water. The grounds are very well planned out, the rooms on the far left are less noisy block 7-8-9-10.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The scooters look like they would break down but the bikes are awsome, there are so many activities to do at the resort or offered by locals just off the resort. The night club down the road was fun and the locals are very friendly!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube