Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.7 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 3, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 30, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 2, 2012

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.2 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 5, 2011

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe  

Carretera Las Morlas km 12 1/2, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"Will never stay here again nor would I recommend it to my worst enemy!"
Posted by: Rene on Apr 10, 2014
see all reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews
Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Varadero Cuba

#10
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 38 reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Information


Casual and informal hotel surrounded by colourful landscaped gardens and set on a beautiful stretch of beach. Extensive All Inclusive programme and wide range of facilities.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 3.5 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  18
Average
  4
Poor
  4
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (25)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (15)
Solo
1 - 10 of 38

"Will never stay here again nor would I recommend it to my worst enemy!"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rene  on Apr 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
27 people found this review helpful

Over all we thoroughly enjoyed the people, the sun, sand and fun of Cuba. We also enjoyed meeting new friends from other parts of Canada and other countries. We will return to Cuba, probably within the year, but I'm not sure Sunwing can provide us with adequate vacation opportunities and for certain we would never book in at Brisas Del Caribe again. My husband contacted Sunwing personally (via email) when we returned home and they have ignored his message. I did the online survey which is basically rating different aspects of the experience - excellent, very good, good, poor, very poor and N/A. Not very satisfying! The important information is in the details and I believe raining sewage in my room is and very important detail!

Room Number:
501 and 636

Room Block:
E and H

Arrival:
At the airport we were not given time to exchange Canadian funds to CUC's at 86%, the resort exchange was 80% and even though we were able to get paper CUC's, we were never able to get more than 5 coin pesos at a time, usually less - 4 coin plus 2 - 3 peso paper currency. Because we couldn't get much coin each exchange, we had to make many trips to the front desk. We like to tip when ever we get service whether it be a drink, towels, or money exchange - not giving 3 peso tips. Arrived Thurs. 11:30 a.m. - no room til 4:00 p.m. and it was 1/4 Km. from main building. No orientation with a Sunwing rep until the next day a 10:30 a.m. No place to rest from early departure and travel so missed the on site evening entertainment (fell asleep before it started). A private space would have been helpful to at least sort out our luggage for the day. First day completely wasted!!

Rooms:
Ground floor with a view of the taxi and bus parking area. Headlights and traffic noises before 6 every morning. This is not a garden view! Hair dryer was wired 220 as expected but outlet was 110, outlet replaced Friday afternoon. No hot water on arrival, not fixed til Saturday afternoon. Twin beds (my husband is 6'1" so hung off the end), one outlet to be shared with fridge, TV and radio - we chose fridge which when operating, leaked water out the front door, space under the entry door I could slide my hand under (great for mosquitoes, etc.), sewage odor started Tuesday(5th day), housekeeper used strong smelling cleaner in bathroom and left bathroom window open --- more mosquitoes to pester us all night. Final insult - last day, return from beach to find sewage pouring into our bathroom from the room above. Moved to another room. Wow - a real room - king bed, clean bathroom, door fits frame, holder for toilet paper - just much further away from the main activity centre.

Restaurants and Bars:
We enjoyed all the food we had at all the restaurants and most servers were incredible. However, by the fifth day, supplies were running very low. At one bar, no straws and liqueur for a signature drink ran out. At the luncheon restaurant they even stopped changing out the used paper place-mats. At luncheon restaurant and main buffet dining room, they ran out of paper napkins for the tables. Substituted - wait for it - toilet paper! Gross!!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All well cared for.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the sugar cane tour and both enjoyed it. Three nights we saw fabulous dancers at the outdoor theatre - loved them! Two filler nights of entertainment weren't worth sitting through. Strange contests. One was scheduled as a magic show and wasn't - MC had a list of musical numbers that when played, the audience was encouraged to run up onto the stage and guess who is singing or what movie it was from, etc. --- somewhat entertaining but not magic.

Other Comments:
Sunwing rep was scheduled to be at her desk 9 a.m to 1 p.m with time out for orientation of new guests which for us didn't take place til the next day. We saw her in the dining room at 12:15 having lunch and she was frequently away from her desk for long periods of time. When difficulties with the accommodations were discussed with her, she had no sympathy for our plight.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"awful at best -- broken brokn boken - never agian "

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  micky  on Jan 21, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
50 people found this review helpful

Maybe a poor 2 star-- at best. Nothing works!!!! TV, AC, shower, telephone, WWW, room safety deposit box, coffee machine at the coffee bar. The cooked food is tooo cooked and the .
main restaurant reeks of pork fat. The 24 hour restaurant is well named -it takes 24 hours busy or not and you get 3 choices after 4:00PM. If you like very loud all day music - you'll get it. Somehow it seems to me music should be in the background this not as a weapon driving you to drink.

Check in only starts at 4:00 PM so guess what - if you arrive at 2:00 AM you wait in the lobby to get into a room - but that's okay - if you arrive in a group the check in. One couple had to change rooms 4 times because nothing worked - and it took 4 hours. Another couple gave up after 2 tries and moved to the hotel next door. The help desk in the lobby is a joke - there are no answers just shrugs and directions to "try over there - in one hour"

The "manager" exists in name only - never around so forget about complaining. This hotel is an example of just how broken Cuba in general is - all show and NO substance. If you are an alcoholic and can't remember or even care what you ate this is the place for you.

I would never return or recommend this hotel to anyone and our travel agent should be put in jail.

Room Number:
107 and 673

Room Block:
block a and h

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a very nice holiday !"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  George  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
201 people found this review helpful

This was our first time in Cuba and I have to say that was the best holiday in years! My wife and I were very pleased that we choose Brisas Del Caribe for our destination.
For the whole week the weather was hot, too hot for me (!) but my wife enjoy it! The beach with the white sand is very nice; the water was clean and warm and was my favorite place to go at sunset.
The personal from the resort was very nice and friendly, and I would like to mention three names in particular: Maylen, Juan Carlos and Michael. Those people became our friends for the period we stayed there. They are very professional but they have a very good personality and heart and that is why they are very close to us.
Maylen kept our room spotless and every day she surprised us with a new figurine made from the bath towels. She is an artist in doing that!
Juan Carlos from the snack bar was making sure that we have coffee and enough liquids on our table during the hot days in Varadero. Thank you, Juan!
Michael one of the security people has always something nice to say and is eager to help you if you have a problem. Keep it that way young man!
All the best to Sarah and William from the snack bar and to all the people who are working hard at Brisas, to make us the tourists feeling good on our holiday in Varadero !

Room Number:
549

Room Block:
South

Arrival:
Nice welcome.

Rooms:
The rooms in the south block are bigger, nicer and quieter during the night.

Restaurants and Bars:
Snack bar is my favorite!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Well-maintained pools inside the resort, but the beach have more charm!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"OK but Block G needs renovations."

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Roxanne Anderson  on Feb 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Business | Solo
200 people found this review helpful

The resort itself is beautiful. The food was OK most of the time. The snack bar is a good option. The room needed a fresh coat of paint. The lampshades were ripped. The beds were really low and the bedspreads had cigarettes burn holes in them. Other than that, the room was clean. The maid was great. The front desk people were friendly and helpful. The beach was beautiful. Tour to Havana, the three colonial cities, and swimming with the dolphins/snorkelling/Cayo Blanco were worthwhile. February is definitely the time to go.

Room Number:
555

Room Block:
G

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Charming stay with small inconveniences"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Etienne DENIS  on Feb 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
240 people found this review helpful

Excellent and charming hotel with bungalows over the river, very nice and interesting people, good food.
Small inconvenience:
- We had to pay 5$ per person for the boat trip (10mn) to the hotel, which was supposed to be included
- Very low water pressure for showers

Room Number:
19

Arrival:
Bad surprise of the boat fee of 5$ per person which was supposed to be included in the hotel and breakfast (we were even asked for 10$ per person!!)

Rooms:
Very nice roome, just vey low pressure for showers

Restaurants and Bars:
good and very nice people

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nice discovery of birds at sunrise with nice peopel on small boat

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great holiday!"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Feb 10, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
192 people found this review helpful

We have stayed at Brisas 5 times and every time was fantastic. I am especially fond of the staff who are always friendly and helpful everywhere on the resort. I love Cuban food and drinks and enjoyed the variety at all the bars and restaurants. From hamburgers and fish on the beach to the buffet, the ala cartes, and the pizza at the 24 hour bar we could always find something good to eat that suited our mood. The beach is the best anywhere. The rooms in the south end are spacious and quiet and comfortable. This resort has many different areas to explore and we enjoyed them all on our way to and from the beach.

Arrival:
Very friendly and helpful. Wait for the little train that drives you and your luggage to your room.

Rooms:
Very spacious. Our air conditioning didn't work when we arrived but it was soon fixed when we asked for it at the desk.

Restaurants and Bars:
We preferred the buffet to the a la cartes because we like informal dining at the tables outside the buffet. The a la cartes have more canadian like food. We love the burgers and the grilled fish at the beach bar and pizza and snacks at the 24 hour bar. We really like the staff at all these restaurants. Leave tips (pesos) as they work very hard at their jobs.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is the best anywhere and the chair guys are great. One beautiful day when everyone was at the beach instead of the pools they hauled more chairs from the pool area so everyone could relax on the beach. The pools are clean and cool and there are many of them throughout the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise It was beautifull!"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tammy  on Jan 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
201 people found this review helpful

I had a wonderfull time, now searching for my Russian friend.... Great beautfull place, I recommened..

Room Number:
265

Arrival:
Friendly

Rooms:
Clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Friendly and good food, great drinks...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Peacefull

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place!"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melodee  on Dec 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
198 people found this review helpful

I just came back from Brisas del Caribe and I had a great time.In fact I went there last year and I plan to go back next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"what do you expect?"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  lisa  on Nov 19, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
244 people found this review helpful

. We booked this trip last minute and could not get over the price. it was my husband and I and our 5 year old son travelling and we paid in total for all 3 of us less then $1500!!! Thats crazy!! We were fully aware that this was just a 3 star resort but for that price who cares.
Here is my take on our trip there.
The resort itself is nice. Not to big nor to small. South section is newere and nicer but we opted for the North section as it is closer to everything which made it easier when travelling with a child.
The room we had was basic, but again who cares? The main thing was our room was clean, spacious, with a nice sized patio ( we were on the ground level) and every thing was in working order.
House keepers were lovely ladies and did a fantastic job
Pool areas were clean and yes the pools were a bit chilly jumping into but man did that feel nice after sitting in the hot sun. I did see alot of cups and plates laying around but who's fault is that? the lazy pig people who just toss them all over the place. Just because you are on vacation does not mean you have to throw your gargage all over the place.
The Beach is AMAZING. Nice and close to the hotel and always lots of beach loungers and palapas to sit under if you so wished.
Food: I can't really comment on the Ala Carte restaurants because we chose not to take the time to make reservations. it was more convienent for us to just eat at the buffet. As for the food at the buffet, i wont lie...not the BEST food i have ever had but certainly not the worst either. We always enjoyed what was offered and none of us walked away or went the week hungry.
As for the people who complained it was repetative....well come on, even back home if you ate at the same buffet every day for breakfast lunch and supper it would be repetative!
Staff: I have NO complaints on the staff. Everyone was so friendly and that was with us even not leaving a tip everytime. We simply were patient ( because lets face it ...where did we have to go? ) and respectful and used manners and believe it or not they do appreciate that. To tell u the truth staff were quicker and nicer to us then they were to some people who were always flashing pesos at them for service. You DONT SNAP YOUR FINGERS AND SLAMM GLASSES to get their attention and remember that not EVERY cubans name is HEY PEDRO! i kid you not some ignorant people were doing this!!!
All in all we had an amazing time there and we are planning to go back Jan/feb of 2012.
my suggestion would be to pay $5 get on the bus and head into Veradero. Don't be afraid to walk around off the beaten path and intermingle with the people. They are so warm and inviting. Our son learned so much doing this. If you want 5 star ammenaties and service and LUSH POSH accomadations then don't book here. if you want an easy on the pocket book vacation at a decent resort then by all means this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christine  on Sep 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
264 people found this review helpful

This resort is fantastic. I have been staying there for 12 years. It is very very good, the only people you see who complain are those who do not undertand Cuba and the people. Life is slower there, therefore they are slower than us, they work to live, we live to work here. Food is not bad! and I am a picky eater. Bad reviews are from people with no knowledge of travel at all or knowledge of Cuba. Go for it - stay here, you will not regret it. Bugs - yes a few - but here it is a tropical country and they all have them!! But, if you get one, they get it out right away for you and spray. You want to go tropical you have to accept the tropical experience as well.

Room Number:
243

Rooms:
Basic but clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Great restaurants and fun bars

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach and great pool

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities both on an off site

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube