Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 44 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe  

Carretera Las Morlas km 12 1/2, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"enjoyed it despite the shortcomings"
Posted by: joseph on Aug 8, 2014
see all reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews
Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Varadero Cuba

#10
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 39 reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Information


Casual and informal hotel surrounded by colourful landscaped gardens and set on a beautiful stretch of beach. Extensive All Inclusive programme and wide range of facilities.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 3.5 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (26)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (15)
Solo
1 - 10 of 39

"Believe the terrible reviews of this place they are right on!!!!"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynn  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
198 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
558

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
Arrival was uneventful, we checked in and were assigned our room was in the South section. 12 of were traveling together and 5 of the rooms were lcoated close together in this section. We found out at 6:30 the next morning that
o ur patio was located just a couple hundred feet from a very noisy, dusty road construction project so no sleeing in the AM. The dust from this put our patio off limits for most of the time.

Rooms:
Rooms looked fine to start with then we noticed that there were tiny ants all over the bathroom vanity and on the floor by the doors. One room even had a large cluster of serveral hundred baby ants in the middle of their floor while another even had them in the bed. When someone complained about the to the front desk the reply was that everyone has ants. Curtains to patios and shower curtains were covered in mold. Our bathroom door was very dirty and smeared with dirty finger prints and other questionable substances, the doors were never cleaned when the cleaning staff was there. They only spent ten minutes tops to clean the room each day so these things got ignored. One couple asked to be moved to another room and were told the place was full and they had to stay where the were. Walkways were littered with broken glass that remained there all week.

Restaurants and Bars:
The "clean" plates at the buffet usually had bits of sood still stuck to them and the "clean" glasses for juice would still be wet and have pulp from juice the previous user had still in them.
The food (more like pig slop) at the buffet was very poorly prepared, unappetizing and still luke warm if you were lucky - runny mashed potatoes, non descript meat dishes, scramble eggs with left over peas & carrots mixed in, nearly raw bacon, cold french fries - even when they had come fresh from the kitchen. Some of the staff were openly guzzling beer which working at the buffet and bars and we even saw one carry a tray of freshly poured beer back to the kitchen. One older waiter was obviously drunk and was staggering and dancing around a table with a tablecloth on his head. The freshly prepared meat and shrimp from the grill, the bread and ice cream were the best things there.
When we went to the seafood restaurant we were grossed out by he person in charge because although we presented our reservation card received from the desk with the appropriate number of people at the appointed time 7 p.m. we were first told there was no room because they disn't have it on their list and that they don't do seating for more that 6 people at a time at a table. They finally put two tables together for us but were told we would be reported to the manager in the morning for doing this to them. Mind you duting the whole 7 p.m. setting the restaurant which would seat at least 50 people had approximately 10 other people in it so they were not overworked for sure. We waited 45 minutes just to get water for the table and the dessert wasn't served until after 9:30. One couple seated nearby got tired of waiting and left just as the appetizer was being served around 8:15 or so. A cat proceeded to sit on their table and eat the appetizer while the waiters passed by several times ignoring it. Maybe 15 minutes later someone from the kitchen finally came out and scared it away. Most of the staff here treated the customers like they were being a bother.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach of course was beautiful and we enjoyed our days lounging there. The pool in the south section was another thing all together. I never saw any one in it and on taking a closer look the bottom was littered with broken cups, cigarette butts and sand. A parent would be crazy to let their child go into that filth. This was noticed on the 2nd day we were ther and the dirt was never cleand from the pool the entire week.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We enjoyed taking the double decker bus into Veradero to shop. There not a lot of activities going on on the resort but there was the nighty entertainment which was OK. One evening there were 3 couples of costumed dancers who were supposed to be dancing but instead half of them were sitting in the lobby drinking beer while the music was playing and were not very happy when their boss finally found them and made them get back to what they were supposed to be doing.

Other Comments:
I always go to these places with an open mind and the attitude that I treat the staff with the same respect that I would like to be treated with if the roles were reversed. The only way to get any kind of service at this place is to tip heavily or you are ignored. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone - not even my worst enemy. If you want to enjoy a peaceful relazing vacation in a pleasant resort do not go to this place. I may go to Cuba again but it certainly won't be to Brisas del Caribe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"awful at best -- broken brokn boken - never agian "

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  micky  on Jan 21, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
64 people found this review helpful

Maybe a poor 2 star-- at best. Nothing works!!!! TV, AC, shower, telephone, WWW, room safety deposit box, coffee machine at the coffee bar. The cooked food is tooo cooked and the .
main restaurant reeks of pork fat. The 24 hour restaurant is well named -it takes 24 hours busy or not and you get 3 choices after 4:00PM. If you like very loud all day music - you'll get it. Somehow it seems to me music should be in the background this not as a weapon driving you to drink.

Check in only starts at 4:00 PM so guess what - if you arrive at 2:00 AM you wait in the lobby to get into a room - but that's okay - if you arrive in a group the check in. One couple had to change rooms 4 times because nothing worked - and it took 4 hours. Another couple gave up after 2 tries and moved to the hotel next door. The help desk in the lobby is a joke - there are no answers just shrugs and directions to "try over there - in one hour"

The "manager" exists in name only - never around so forget about complaining. This hotel is an example of just how broken Cuba in general is - all show and NO substance. If you are an alcoholic and can't remember or even care what you ate this is the place for you.

I would never return or recommend this hotel to anyone and our travel agent should be put in jail.

Room Number:
107 and 673

Room Block:
block a and h

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible First Impression Which Lead to an Overall Negative Experience!!!"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Randy  on Apr 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
164 people found this review helpful

Arrived at 11:30pm. Had paid for and reserved a Gardenview Room. Was put on the first floor (room 152) facing the tennis court. The room was extremely musty and damp like a dungeon. Efforts to get the room changed were met with inaction by the front desk staff. They were not interested and continually requested we return later. Eventually with the assistance of our Sunwing rep after three nights we were relocated to a room condusive to our reservation and the price paid. The front desk staff were indignent! Other than that generally the resort functions at as a three star.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will never stay here again nor would I recommend it to my worst enemy!"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rene  on Apr 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
40 people found this review helpful

Over all we thoroughly enjoyed the people, the sun, sand and fun of Cuba. We also enjoyed meeting new friends from other parts of Canada and other countries. We will return to Cuba, probably within the year, but I'm not sure Sunwing can provide us with adequate vacation opportunities and for certain we would never book in at Brisas Del Caribe again. My husband contacted Sunwing personally (via email) when we returned home and they have ignored his message. I did the online survey which is basically rating different aspects of the experience - excellent, very good, good, poor, very poor and N/A. Not very satisfying! The important information is in the details and I believe raining sewage in my room is and very important detail!

Room Number:
501 and 636

Room Block:
E and H

Arrival:
At the airport we were not given time to exchange Canadian funds to CUC's at 86%, the resort exchange was 80% and even though we were able to get paper CUC's, we were never able to get more than 5 coin pesos at a time, usually less - 4 coin plus 2 - 3 peso paper currency. Because we couldn't get much coin each exchange, we had to make many trips to the front desk. We like to tip when ever we get service whether it be a drink, towels, or money exchange - not giving 3 peso tips. Arrived Thurs. 11:30 a.m. - no room til 4:00 p.m. and it was 1/4 Km. from main building. No orientation with a Sunwing rep until the next day a 10:30 a.m. No place to rest from early departure and travel so missed the on site evening entertainment (fell asleep before it started). A private space would have been helpful to at least sort out our luggage for the day. First day completely wasted!!

Rooms:
Ground floor with a view of the taxi and bus parking area. Headlights and traffic noises before 6 every morning. This is not a garden view! Hair dryer was wired 220 as expected but outlet was 110, outlet replaced Friday afternoon. No hot water on arrival, not fixed til Saturday afternoon. Twin beds (my husband is 6'1" so hung off the end), one outlet to be shared with fridge, TV and radio - we chose fridge which when operating, leaked water out the front door, space under the entry door I could slide my hand under (great for mosquitoes, etc.), sewage odor started Tuesday(5th day), housekeeper used strong smelling cleaner in bathroom and left bathroom window open --- more mosquitoes to pester us all night. Final insult - last day, return from beach to find sewage pouring into our bathroom from the room above. Moved to another room. Wow - a real room - king bed, clean bathroom, door fits frame, holder for toilet paper - just much further away from the main activity centre.

Restaurants and Bars:
We enjoyed all the food we had at all the restaurants and most servers were incredible. However, by the fifth day, supplies were running very low. At one bar, no straws and liqueur for a signature drink ran out. At the luncheon restaurant they even stopped changing out the used paper place-mats. At luncheon restaurant and main buffet dining room, they ran out of paper napkins for the tables. Substituted - wait for it - toilet paper! Gross!!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All well cared for.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the sugar cane tour and both enjoyed it. Three nights we saw fabulous dancers at the outdoor theatre - loved them! Two filler nights of entertainment weren't worth sitting through. Strange contests. One was scheduled as a magic show and wasn't - MC had a list of musical numbers that when played, the audience was encouraged to run up onto the stage and guess who is singing or what movie it was from, etc. --- somewhat entertaining but not magic.

Other Comments:
Sunwing rep was scheduled to be at her desk 9 a.m to 1 p.m with time out for orientation of new guests which for us didn't take place til the next day. We saw her in the dining room at 12:15 having lunch and she was frequently away from her desk for long periods of time. When difficulties with the accommodations were discussed with her, she had no sympathy for our plight.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible, Shame on Sunwing - Not a 4 Star"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on May 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
319 people found this review helpful

Mislead by SUNWING........this resort should be closed down. Not sure how people can submit great reviews about this dump. Let me start by saying once we arrived at the resort the reception desk was way too slow, it took over an hour to check in. I booked two family rooms as we are a family of five and we traveled with 8 other family members.
Room: Missing lamp shades, dirty sheets, NO beg bugs or ants. One bottle of water per room and we would have to refill it at the bar daily.
The resort grounds are in need of TLC, pot holes, slippery tile around the pools, dirty green swamp water as a pond in front of hotel, barely any lighting during the evening which made it dangerous to walk. Black scum around the pools, plastic cups and plates everywhere around the resort, grounds in the mornings, the maids mop the floor with a filthy rag……gross …not a clean resort. No pool towels after 10am. Buffet table linens not cleaned ALL WEEK DISCUSTING!!!!!! Dirty glasses and plates in the Buffet restaurant.
Food: we ate bread and cheese all week as I would not feed my dog the food this resort is feeding people. Buffet served only half burgers, the 24 snack bar ran out of burger, hotdogs and pizza most days, only served tuna and chicken sandwiches that looked like mystery meat. Coffee was good.
Staff: some were rude others just looked like they tolerated you for tips.
Beach was nice, weather was great for the entire week. Asked if there was a room available that we could shower before we headed to the airport as our flight was leaving late and we waited for a room that was available but no clean towels, dirty towels on the floor for previous users. This resort is NOT a 4 star, I would never recommend this resort to anyone, SUNWING should be ashamed to rate this resort a 4 star.
DO NOT GO TO THIS DUMP!!! Save your money!!

Room Number:
650 & 652

Room Block:
Family Room South Section

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wouldn't go back"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kristen  on Apr 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
171 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just got back from Cuba and I felt it necessary to write a review on this resort.

We had booked this trip believing that it was a 4 star resort, and I would have to say that it isn't more than a 3 star. We wouldn't go back to this resort, although I did hear that there were other "4 star" resorts that were even worse than ours.

When we had booked our trip we made mention that it was our honeymoon and we would like an upgrade in a specific part of the hotel. When we arrived (in the middle of the night)we found that we had been put in the area of the hotel that we requested NOT to be and we did not receive the upgrade that we had requested. These were not major things though and we weren't too concerned. Then we got to our room. There was a heart shaped cake that was left for us but they did not leave any utensils or plates. They also left us glasses for the champagne that we were supposed to have, but no champagne. Again, not the end of the world. So, because we had arrived in the middle of the night, we were starving from travelling all day. We were really looking forward to the "24 hour snack bar" but when we went there (this was about 4 am) they told us that there was no more food left. This was quite disappointing, but again, not the end of the world.

When we went back to our rooms to go to bed and noticed that it smelled like feces right outside of our rooms. We figured that there must be a septic tank right outside of our room. When we woke up in the morning we found that there was feces smeared in the hallway outside of our room as well as on our balcony. This did not impress us at all. We requested a room change which was granted.

The weather wasn't great, the food was better than we thought, most of the staff was friendly, the pools were dirty, and overall, I just would not return to this resort.

Rooms:
We had the opportunity to stay in two different rooms. Both the beds were ROCK hard and very springy. The bathrooms were pretty good but I wouldn't use the bathtub. The bathtub looked pretty gross.

Maid service was pretty good.

Don't expect your mini fridge to be restocked with anything - not even water. If you want water you have to request it at the front desk and you are charged for it.

I did see a cockroach in our room on one occasion.

Restaurants and Bars:
I would have to say that this was the most disappointing thing for me. I was really looking forward to SLUSHY drinks (think pina coladas, daiquiris, etc.) and they do not have slushy drinks at this hotel!! They have slush machines, but you never get a truly slushy drink. On the last day we were there I got a somewhat slushy drink, but that melted right away anyways.
Also, you can't get every kind of drink at every bar. I thought it was weird that there were bars that didn't serve beer...

They supposedy have a piano bar, but it was only open one night that we were there (for our seven day stay). I had been really looking forward to this.

The nightly entertainment shows are held in one of the alacarte restaurants (inside) and you have to line up at least 30 minutes before the show starts and then you have to push your way through the front doors otherwise you don't get a seat. I have to say that I wasn't that impressed with the shows anyways. My husband and I took a walk around the grounds and found an outdoor theatre which would have been awesome to have the shows at, but it is completely dilapidated.

As for the restaurants:
we never went to an al a carte. The buffet was pretty good actually, but the hours were sort of silly. Breakfast was from 7-10:30, lunch from 1-4, and supper from 7-9:30. I just found it odd that the restaurant was closed between 4-7 as a lot of people want to eat supper around that time.

The snack bar was ok. But obviously it isn't 24 hours as they like to promote.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Mediocre. The beach itself is beautiful and so is the ocean. But the grounds themselves and the pools could have definitely used some more attention. There are beautiful fountains around the resort that are completely empty.
I think that this resort has a lot of potential but needs some more attention in this area.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took personal care items to give to the locals (shampoos, conditioners, toothpaste, etc.) and we found out that if you want to barter with them for stuff just walk around carrying what you have to barter with right in your hands. Be careful though - I had extra stuff in my purse and we ended up being mobbed by about 5 people and they were grabbing at my purse and taking items out! They even took out one of my shoes! They love these kinds of items, but I would suggest only taking a few things at a time!!

We did the catamaran tour which was terrible. The weather was terrible and they should have cancelled the tour. It was VERY windy, cold, and miserable. We didn't even get to go to the reef for snorkelling because the weather was so bad that it was dangerous to snorkel in that area. I wouldn't recommend this tour unless the weather is nice!

We did the Havana special tour where you go and tour Havana and then go to the tropicana - message me if you want more information about this one!

Other Comments:
Overall, I prefer Mexico to Cuba. The beaches are beautiful, but it definitely wouldn't be my first choice. If I was going to go to Cuba again I would definitely save my money and go to a 5+ star resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"OK but Block G needs renovations."

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Roxanne Anderson  on Feb 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Business | Solo
216 people found this review helpful

The resort itself is beautiful. The food was OK most of the time. The snack bar is a good option. The room needed a fresh coat of paint. The lampshades were ripped. The beds were really low and the bedspreads had cigarettes burn holes in them. Other than that, the room was clean. The maid was great. The front desk people were friendly and helpful. The beach was beautiful. Tour to Havana, the three colonial cities, and swimming with the dolphins/snorkelling/Cayo Blanco were worthwhile. February is definitely the time to go.

Room Number:
555

Room Block:
G

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Listen to the Reviews"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tara  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
326 people found this review helpful

We just spent 7 days at this hotel. I had read the reviews...and there are some things that sent up a RED FLAG that said don't go...and we went anyway! LISTEN TO THIS REVIEW!!

The RED FLAGS that will keep us from going back are
1. There are BUGS in the rooms...cockroaches and ants. In 7 days we saw 7 cockroaches...BIG ONES!
2. The FOOD is bad! After talking to other people who stayed at other resorts on the way home...this isn't true for all of Cuba. We ate RICE, BREAD, and BANANA's for a week
3. We arrived at 6am from Vancouver after flying ALL NIGHT...only to be told that our rooms were not avail. We waited 12 hours for our room. This happens daily. We saw people sleeping by the pool, on the beach and in the lobby every day because the hotel is overbooked and they have no rooms. I felt so bad everyday for those people in jeans and sweaters becasue that was us on day 1 too.

If we tipped the staff we got better bar and restaurant service. If we didn't tip...well forget it.

THE GOOD THINGS!
1. The beach is amazing.
2. The pool is fun and the entertainment staff are good


Please reconsider NOT going to this hotel. WE wished we had booked somewhere else where it was cleaner and had more selection. We made the best of it...and stayed positive for our kids...but choose somewhere else!

Room Number:
135 and 137

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
March 13

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"this hotel is even not 2 stars worth"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  ulrich  on Jul 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
214 people found this review helpful

the hotel is situated on a nice clean beach. Buildings are not in good conditions. The food is not good. For fruits the choice is limitaded or available if you pay some extra pesetas. The Management is incompetent, unskilled and unfriendly. Even you have to leave the hotel in the late afternoon, you must quite the room at 12 a.m. or you have to pay 25 $ extra. The responsible for Custumer relation, Mr. Romelio was not able to find a solution. We never had lived in such a bad managed hotel.
So, it is better to choice anther hotel.

Your Arrival:
the arrival was correct an the bell bay very friendly

Rooms:
old fashioned rooms, bathroom more or less clean,

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was ok, the quality of the food very low, not so many fruits available, mostly for expl. there where Mangos available if you we spent some Pesos extra. A lot of Cuba Guests have drunken and eaten in the pool.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach ist exellent, The pools not so clean because Cubans trunk and eat in the pools

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the hotel is far from the Varadero Center. So there are not many Possibilities for other activities. We made a Trip by car arround the island of cuba.

Other Comments:
It is better to choice another hotel in Varadero.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"enjoyed it despite the shortcomings"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  joseph  on Aug 8, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
19 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this place needs major updating and renovation, I can’t give more than 3 star to this hotel because I stayed here for about a week or 8 days and I can freely say it needs to improve. I had an awesome time despite the hotel’s shortcomings. The most amazing thing about the hotel was the amazing staff they employed; they couldn’t have gotten any better team than this. From when I entered the resort until I left, every staff member I met greeted me with smiles and so much warmness. The beach is something you shouldn’t miss out on; it is beautiful and amazing at the same time. The beach is not far from the resort just about five minutes walk from the resort. They have renting service where you can rent scooters you can use around town. You should be careful of the things you eat and drink here, some of what I ate made me sick and I usually just went to town to eat something nice. The rooms are nice just a little bit dirty, I saw ants in the rooms and they were much crawling on the wall and side of the beds, thank God I brought insect repellant along with me while packing for my trip. I had fun in the town so asides the little downs of the hotel, it was fun here but it is important that they update and try to fix whatever the customers have complained about.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube