Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 44 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe  

Carretera Las Morlas km 12 1/2, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"enjoyed it despite the shortcomings"
Posted by: joseph on Aug 8, 2014
see all reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews
Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Varadero Cuba

#10
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 39 reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Information


Casual and informal hotel surrounded by colourful landscaped gardens and set on a beautiful stretch of beach. Extensive All Inclusive programme and wide range of facilities.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 3.5 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (26)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (15)
Solo
11 - 20 of 39

"Great place"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christine  on Sep 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
269 people found this review helpful

This resort is fantastic. I have been staying there for 12 years. It is very very good, the only people you see who complain are those who do not undertand Cuba and the people. Life is slower there, therefore they are slower than us, they work to live, we live to work here. Food is not bad! and I am a picky eater. Bad reviews are from people with no knowledge of travel at all or knowledge of Cuba. Go for it - stay here, you will not regret it. Bugs - yes a few - but here it is a tropical country and they all have them!! But, if you get one, they get it out right away for you and spray. You want to go tropical you have to accept the tropical experience as well.

Room Number:
243

Rooms:
Basic but clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Great restaurants and fun bars

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach and great pool

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities both on an off site

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible, Shame on Sunwing - Not a 4 Star"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on May 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
319 people found this review helpful

Mislead by SUNWING........this resort should be closed down. Not sure how people can submit great reviews about this dump. Let me start by saying once we arrived at the resort the reception desk was way too slow, it took over an hour to check in. I booked two family rooms as we are a family of five and we traveled with 8 other family members.
Room: Missing lamp shades, dirty sheets, NO beg bugs or ants. One bottle of water per room and we would have to refill it at the bar daily.
The resort grounds are in need of TLC, pot holes, slippery tile around the pools, dirty green swamp water as a pond in front of hotel, barely any lighting during the evening which made it dangerous to walk. Black scum around the pools, plastic cups and plates everywhere around the resort, grounds in the mornings, the maids mop the floor with a filthy rag……gross …not a clean resort. No pool towels after 10am. Buffet table linens not cleaned ALL WEEK DISCUSTING!!!!!! Dirty glasses and plates in the Buffet restaurant.
Food: we ate bread and cheese all week as I would not feed my dog the food this resort is feeding people. Buffet served only half burgers, the 24 snack bar ran out of burger, hotdogs and pizza most days, only served tuna and chicken sandwiches that looked like mystery meat. Coffee was good.
Staff: some were rude others just looked like they tolerated you for tips.
Beach was nice, weather was great for the entire week. Asked if there was a room available that we could shower before we headed to the airport as our flight was leaving late and we waited for a room that was available but no clean towels, dirty towels on the floor for previous users. This resort is NOT a 4 star, I would never recommend this resort to anyone, SUNWING should be ashamed to rate this resort a 4 star.
DO NOT GO TO THIS DUMP!!! Save your money!!

Room Number:
650 & 652

Room Block:
Family Room South Section

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Listen to the Reviews"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tara  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
326 people found this review helpful

We just spent 7 days at this hotel. I had read the reviews...and there are some things that sent up a RED FLAG that said don't go...and we went anyway! LISTEN TO THIS REVIEW!!

The RED FLAGS that will keep us from going back are
1. There are BUGS in the rooms...cockroaches and ants. In 7 days we saw 7 cockroaches...BIG ONES!
2. The FOOD is bad! After talking to other people who stayed at other resorts on the way home...this isn't true for all of Cuba. We ate RICE, BREAD, and BANANA's for a week
3. We arrived at 6am from Vancouver after flying ALL NIGHT...only to be told that our rooms were not avail. We waited 12 hours for our room. This happens daily. We saw people sleeping by the pool, on the beach and in the lobby every day because the hotel is overbooked and they have no rooms. I felt so bad everyday for those people in jeans and sweaters becasue that was us on day 1 too.

If we tipped the staff we got better bar and restaurant service. If we didn't tip...well forget it.

THE GOOD THINGS!
1. The beach is amazing.
2. The pool is fun and the entertainment staff are good


Please reconsider NOT going to this hotel. WE wished we had booked somewhere else where it was cleaner and had more selection. We made the best of it...and stayed positive for our kids...but choose somewhere else!

Room Number:
135 and 137

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
March 13

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Believe the terrible reviews of this place they are right on!!!!"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynn  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
199 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
558

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
Arrival was uneventful, we checked in and were assigned our room was in the South section. 12 of were traveling together and 5 of the rooms were lcoated close together in this section. We found out at 6:30 the next morning that
o ur patio was located just a couple hundred feet from a very noisy, dusty road construction project so no sleeing in the AM. The dust from this put our patio off limits for most of the time.

Rooms:
Rooms looked fine to start with then we noticed that there were tiny ants all over the bathroom vanity and on the floor by the doors. One room even had a large cluster of serveral hundred baby ants in the middle of their floor while another even had them in the bed. When someone complained about the to the front desk the reply was that everyone has ants. Curtains to patios and shower curtains were covered in mold. Our bathroom door was very dirty and smeared with dirty finger prints and other questionable substances, the doors were never cleaned when the cleaning staff was there. They only spent ten minutes tops to clean the room each day so these things got ignored. One couple asked to be moved to another room and were told the place was full and they had to stay where the were. Walkways were littered with broken glass that remained there all week.

Restaurants and Bars:
The "clean" plates at the buffet usually had bits of sood still stuck to them and the "clean" glasses for juice would still be wet and have pulp from juice the previous user had still in them.
The food (more like pig slop) at the buffet was very poorly prepared, unappetizing and still luke warm if you were lucky - runny mashed potatoes, non descript meat dishes, scramble eggs with left over peas & carrots mixed in, nearly raw bacon, cold french fries - even when they had come fresh from the kitchen. Some of the staff were openly guzzling beer which working at the buffet and bars and we even saw one carry a tray of freshly poured beer back to the kitchen. One older waiter was obviously drunk and was staggering and dancing around a table with a tablecloth on his head. The freshly prepared meat and shrimp from the grill, the bread and ice cream were the best things there.
When we went to the seafood restaurant we were grossed out by he person in charge because although we presented our reservation card received from the desk with the appropriate number of people at the appointed time 7 p.m. we were first told there was no room because they disn't have it on their list and that they don't do seating for more that 6 people at a time at a table. They finally put two tables together for us but were told we would be reported to the manager in the morning for doing this to them. Mind you duting the whole 7 p.m. setting the restaurant which would seat at least 50 people had approximately 10 other people in it so they were not overworked for sure. We waited 45 minutes just to get water for the table and the dessert wasn't served until after 9:30. One couple seated nearby got tired of waiting and left just as the appetizer was being served around 8:15 or so. A cat proceeded to sit on their table and eat the appetizer while the waiters passed by several times ignoring it. Maybe 15 minutes later someone from the kitchen finally came out and scared it away. Most of the staff here treated the customers like they were being a bother.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach of course was beautiful and we enjoyed our days lounging there. The pool in the south section was another thing all together. I never saw any one in it and on taking a closer look the bottom was littered with broken cups, cigarette butts and sand. A parent would be crazy to let their child go into that filth. This was noticed on the 2nd day we were ther and the dirt was never cleand from the pool the entire week.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We enjoyed taking the double decker bus into Veradero to shop. There not a lot of activities going on on the resort but there was the nighty entertainment which was OK. One evening there were 3 couples of costumed dancers who were supposed to be dancing but instead half of them were sitting in the lobby drinking beer while the music was playing and were not very happy when their boss finally found them and made them get back to what they were supposed to be doing.

Other Comments:
I always go to these places with an open mind and the attitude that I treat the staff with the same respect that I would like to be treated with if the roles were reversed. The only way to get any kind of service at this place is to tip heavily or you are ignored. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone - not even my worst enemy. If you want to enjoy a peaceful relazing vacation in a pleasant resort do not go to this place. I may go to Cuba again but it certainly won't be to Brisas del Caribe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"13th time at the Brisas del Caribe"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eini  on Feb 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
186 people found this review helpful

This was our 13th time at the Brisas and we were thoroughly surprised at how much better it was this year than last, at least 100% better. We were very happy with everything. When we check in everyone says "Mama and Papa are back again", this makes us feel like we are coming home. We always stay in the main building as it is closer to everything and have no complaints about the room, it is Cuban.
The workers are all fantastic, they all welcome us with open arms, and we love them all dearly. There are too many to mention by name, some of our favourites are Augustine (Piano Bar), Susanna, William, Katy, Jose, Miguel, Alfredos (there are several), Lasarus (spelling?) and everyone else. The food was much, much better than last year, and the service is unbelievable, Reuben the Breakfast Chef knew every morning what we were having, the waiters and waitresses couldn't have been nicer, some of our favourites Valdemar, Giser, Julio, and can't remember the names of everyone but they are all very friendly and try to please you. If you want to have a quiet evening and listen to piano music, strongly recommend the Piano Bar.
The towel girl Daura, is a real sweetheart, she was always so bubbly and had towels for us. Amelia gives one fantastic massage, recommend her greatly.
The beach boys, Machin and Gilberto always had lounges ready for us every morning.
We were very impressed with all the work and improvements they were doing at the hotel this year, all the new furniture in the lobby, etc.
We hope to go back again in 2012.

Room Number:
420

Room Block:
North

Arrival:
January 17, 2011 to January 31, 2011.
Check in was very quick and the bell-boy had us in our room in no time.

Rooms:
The room was very good, nice and clean and very spacious with the sitting area with the couch and two chairs, the only improvement needed was to fix the drapes over one of the doors as they were falling down.

Restaurants and Bars:
The service at tha Bars is exceptional and the people working are all so very friendly and courteous.
The Cafeteria and Grill are the only places we ate at, and found the food to be exceptional this year, presented very nicely. Was a lot more variety and specialties this year.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Beach is fantastic and the beach boys are unbelievable how they get people their lounges every day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We do not do any activities other than go to the beach and talk with people as we have gone on most tours in past years.

Other Comments:
We strongly recomenn this hotel, as have found that the workers are all so friendly and talking to other tourists who have gone to other resorts and then to the Brisas, they say that the people are the friendlist they have ever met.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a good time...."

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  jim  on Jan 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
181 people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I just came back,had a really nice time.The beach was beautiful,swam in it alot,found the pools to cold.It was great to walk the beach,it seemed to go for miles and another great thing about it was, you could walk it in the evening after dark and feel very safe.... The food is okay,a little tiring after awhile...Our room was very clean,no bugs at all...Most of the staff were very nice,a few I could live without,but you find that everywhere......Tips help alot if you want better service,not a great selection of drinks,but it was okay....The only bad thing I can say about our holidays were the Russians at the resort very loud and rude,treated the Cuban staff very badly.....Overall had a really nice time....

Room Number:
235

Arrival:
9pm

Rooms:
clean and nice

Restaurants and Bars:
okay

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach is great,pools are too cold

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WoW, This was our first time in Cuba and I would go back in a FLASH to this resort !"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Julie  on Oct 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
208 people found this review helpful

Hola, Cuba Friends, My first time in Cuba was in April 2006 we got married and it was just amazing, I gave it a 5*****, the food 3***, the Beach 5***** rooms 4**** ( smell a little like mold ) Peaple 5*****.
We went back in April 2007 for our 1 year Anniversary and I still gave it a 5*****, the bad reviews they are wrong. You need to think that Cuba is a 3rd world country. We are thinking about going back to Oasas Del Carib in April 2010.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good, we went to 3 a la cart

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I give it a 5*****

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Awsome

Photos: http://www.tripadvisory/brisasdelcaribe.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"improved to the better since we were there last October"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie  on Oct 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
208 people found this review helpful

This is our 5th visit to Brisas del caribe.We went me,my husband and our 2 ladies best friends and just came back with no regrets
We had read a great deal of negative reviews about this resort but if you go you will be pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly. Sure, the place could use a touch up but I think this could be said about almost all of the resorts we viewed in Varadero. Brisas has a great character and charm and we like it. The food was great plus we are not that picky eaters
Rooms Was spacious and kept clean. The staff were very accommodating Beach/Pools/Grounds The pool WAS cold but we all went in anyway. We had a few windy and cloudy days.Unfortunately the waves were high and we could not swim in the ocean it got better when it was time for us to come back . loved the people, and the beautiful white beach. All in all, we were happy and would definitely return again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome!"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Simonne  on Sep 14, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
229 people found this review helpful

Just returned from Oasis Brisas del Caribe. It was great! We paid $500.00 each all in and we were pleasantly surprised with everything! If you are looking for a great deal and a very laid back and relaxing place, dont hesitate to book it. If you are looking for t-bone and baked potatoes, pay your $1500.00 per person and stay at a 5 star!

Arrival:
Arrival was uneventful. Took less than 15 minutes and the ladies at the reception were exceptional. Very friendly and helpful.

Rooms:
Stayed in block 2 - HUGE room and spotless! Never saw one bug. A/C was amazing and the shower was like a mini-massage! Plenty of hot water!

Restaurants and Bars:
A la cartes were great! Italian had the best canneloni, small portions but you can ask for 2. International restaurant had lamb that melts in your mouth! Pig roast on the beach was amazing! Beach grill had great fish!
Bar service on the beach - how can you beat that???

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was awesome. Pools were very clean. Grounds were lovely, very clean and Mango trees everywhere.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Rented a moped and toured the town and fishing villages. Had a typical Cuban lunch which was amazing! Lobster, fish, avocado salad, yams and brown rice with beans! Cost - 4 pesos each with a Corona!!! Pedal boats, banana boats, catamarans all included! Dont have any hesitation about going into town. We parked our moped and walked everywhere! There is never any danger!

Other Comments:
If you are thinking of going to Cuba, please remember that these people are are very poor, and they are very grateful for little things that we take for granted. Toothpaste, candy, pantyhose, clothing, etc are much appreciated. The hospitality that they show in return is remarkable. As well, the resort bartenders make $10.00 a MONTH - Yes, you heard that right - a MONTH!!! Their tips are shared amongst them, so please offer a peso every so often! You will be amazed at how grateful they are.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"this hotel is even not 2 stars worth"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  ulrich  on Jul 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
215 people found this review helpful

the hotel is situated on a nice clean beach. Buildings are not in good conditions. The food is not good. For fruits the choice is limitaded or available if you pay some extra pesetas. The Management is incompetent, unskilled and unfriendly. Even you have to leave the hotel in the late afternoon, you must quite the room at 12 a.m. or you have to pay 25 $ extra. The responsible for Custumer relation, Mr. Romelio was not able to find a solution. We never had lived in such a bad managed hotel.
So, it is better to choice anther hotel.

Your Arrival:
the arrival was correct an the bell bay very friendly

Rooms:
old fashioned rooms, bathroom more or less clean,

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was ok, the quality of the food very low, not so many fruits available, mostly for expl. there where Mangos available if you we spent some Pesos extra. A lot of Cuba Guests have drunken and eaten in the pool.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach ist exellent, The pools not so clean because Cubans trunk and eat in the pools

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the hotel is far from the Varadero Center. So there are not many Possibilities for other activities. We made a Trip by car arround the island of cuba.

Other Comments:
It is better to choice another hotel in Varadero.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube