Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe  

Carretera Las Morlas km 12 1/2, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"enjoyed it despite the shortcomings"
Posted by: joseph on Aug 8, 2014
see all reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews
Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Varadero Cuba

#10
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 39 reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Information


Casual and informal hotel surrounded by colourful landscaped gardens and set on a beautiful stretch of beach. Extensive All Inclusive programme and wide range of facilities.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Reviews

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 3.5 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (26)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (15)
Solo
21 - 30 of 39

"wonderful trip at the resort"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lorraine  on May 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
199 people found this review helpful

The hotel and staff were wonderful and the beaches and pool were great, except on the return trip after we checked in and paid our $25 fee we then whnt to the store where you could purchase rum and cigars we were told by the clerk there that we could bring back to Canada 2 bottles of rum each which was a lie because when we got back into Canada was told that we had to pay duty on the 2 bottles which was over our limit, so the clerk did not care that we were over our limit because she had gotten money for 4 bottles opposed to 2 bottles which was all that we should have purchased there. We also purchased a set of two marochos at a flea market only to discover when we returned to Canada that the Cubans put beans into the morochos to make the noise which are posionous so they were taken from us by customs, which I am happy for, because I would not have wanted my grandson to possibly have broken them and may have put those beans into his mouth and died. Do not buy the morochos from the cubans, we were so disgusted to have given so much money to those people because we felt so sorry for them, only to discover that they may have poisoned our grandchildren when customs said that they could be putting stones into them instead, and you won't know what's inside of them until they are x-rayed by customs. Be aware of what you are buying, we were burned, but not again.

Your Arrival:
April 24,2010

Rooms:
442

Restaurants and Bars:
all at the resort were great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was awesome beautiful white sand and blue water

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I recommend the Tropicanna club in Havana, also the cateramam, which included swimming with the dolphins, snorkeling with all drinks and food included, perfect day.

Other Comments:
Overall it was a fantastic vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wouldn't go back"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kristen  on Apr 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
170 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just got back from Cuba and I felt it necessary to write a review on this resort.

We had booked this trip believing that it was a 4 star resort, and I would have to say that it isn't more than a 3 star. We wouldn't go back to this resort, although I did hear that there were other "4 star" resorts that were even worse than ours.

When we had booked our trip we made mention that it was our honeymoon and we would like an upgrade in a specific part of the hotel. When we arrived (in the middle of the night)we found that we had been put in the area of the hotel that we requested NOT to be and we did not receive the upgrade that we had requested. These were not major things though and we weren't too concerned. Then we got to our room. There was a heart shaped cake that was left for us but they did not leave any utensils or plates. They also left us glasses for the champagne that we were supposed to have, but no champagne. Again, not the end of the world. So, because we had arrived in the middle of the night, we were starving from travelling all day. We were really looking forward to the "24 hour snack bar" but when we went there (this was about 4 am) they told us that there was no more food left. This was quite disappointing, but again, not the end of the world.

When we went back to our rooms to go to bed and noticed that it smelled like feces right outside of our rooms. We figured that there must be a septic tank right outside of our room. When we woke up in the morning we found that there was feces smeared in the hallway outside of our room as well as on our balcony. This did not impress us at all. We requested a room change which was granted.

The weather wasn't great, the food was better than we thought, most of the staff was friendly, the pools were dirty, and overall, I just would not return to this resort.

Rooms:
We had the opportunity to stay in two different rooms. Both the beds were ROCK hard and very springy. The bathrooms were pretty good but I wouldn't use the bathtub. The bathtub looked pretty gross.

Maid service was pretty good.

Don't expect your mini fridge to be restocked with anything - not even water. If you want water you have to request it at the front desk and you are charged for it.

I did see a cockroach in our room on one occasion.

Restaurants and Bars:
I would have to say that this was the most disappointing thing for me. I was really looking forward to SLUSHY drinks (think pina coladas, daiquiris, etc.) and they do not have slushy drinks at this hotel!! They have slush machines, but you never get a truly slushy drink. On the last day we were there I got a somewhat slushy drink, but that melted right away anyways.
Also, you can't get every kind of drink at every bar. I thought it was weird that there were bars that didn't serve beer...

They supposedy have a piano bar, but it was only open one night that we were there (for our seven day stay). I had been really looking forward to this.

The nightly entertainment shows are held in one of the alacarte restaurants (inside) and you have to line up at least 30 minutes before the show starts and then you have to push your way through the front doors otherwise you don't get a seat. I have to say that I wasn't that impressed with the shows anyways. My husband and I took a walk around the grounds and found an outdoor theatre which would have been awesome to have the shows at, but it is completely dilapidated.

As for the restaurants:
we never went to an al a carte. The buffet was pretty good actually, but the hours were sort of silly. Breakfast was from 7-10:30, lunch from 1-4, and supper from 7-9:30. I just found it odd that the restaurant was closed between 4-7 as a lot of people want to eat supper around that time.

The snack bar was ok. But obviously it isn't 24 hours as they like to promote.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Mediocre. The beach itself is beautiful and so is the ocean. But the grounds themselves and the pools could have definitely used some more attention. There are beautiful fountains around the resort that are completely empty.
I think that this resort has a lot of potential but needs some more attention in this area.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took personal care items to give to the locals (shampoos, conditioners, toothpaste, etc.) and we found out that if you want to barter with them for stuff just walk around carrying what you have to barter with right in your hands. Be careful though - I had extra stuff in my purse and we ended up being mobbed by about 5 people and they were grabbing at my purse and taking items out! They even took out one of my shoes! They love these kinds of items, but I would suggest only taking a few things at a time!!

We did the catamaran tour which was terrible. The weather was terrible and they should have cancelled the tour. It was VERY windy, cold, and miserable. We didn't even get to go to the reef for snorkelling because the weather was so bad that it was dangerous to snorkel in that area. I wouldn't recommend this tour unless the weather is nice!

We did the Havana special tour where you go and tour Havana and then go to the tropicana - message me if you want more information about this one!

Other Comments:
Overall, I prefer Mexico to Cuba. The beaches are beautiful, but it definitely wouldn't be my first choice. If I was going to go to Cuba again I would definitely save my money and go to a 5+ star resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible First Impression Which Lead to an Overall Negative Experience!!!"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Randy  on Apr 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
164 people found this review helpful

Arrived at 11:30pm. Had paid for and reserved a Gardenview Room. Was put on the first floor (room 152) facing the tennis court. The room was extremely musty and damp like a dungeon. Efforts to get the room changed were met with inaction by the front desk staff. They were not interested and continually requested we return later. Eventually with the assistance of our Sunwing rep after three nights we were relocated to a room condusive to our reservation and the price paid. The front desk staff were indignent! Other than that generally the resort functions at as a three star.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great first trip"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  mike  on Mar 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
157 people found this review helpful

We loved the people, the sunshine, and the beautiful white beach.
Only had a few windy and cloudy days. The food was ok considering.
great price for what we got and will be going again more than likely to the same hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Relaxing and Playful"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Mar 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
167 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Cuba and had plenty of information to prepare us for what to (or not to) expect. Overall the resort offered a lot to do (bikes, mopeds, gym, tennis, diving lessons, etc.) which in honesty, we did not take full advantage because the beach was just so inviting. Entertainment (dancers/shows) was great for a single resort.

Your Arrival:
Our flight arrived in evening, and our bus left more than a dozen of us off at this resort, and with only one staff member at the reception desk, many were waiting for quite some time to be processed.

Rooms:
We were in older section of resort, but we were pleasantly surprised at the large size of the room with balcony. Room furniture exactly as shown in brochures. Room was very humid and doubt if the air conditioner was working properly. Room door would only open little more than half as door did not have floor clearance (swollen wood?). We advised both desk and on card in room but never fixed. Showers in room not running too well and, in speaking with others, this seemed to be a theme in both the new and old sections of the resort. Bring your own soap since they do not seem to replace (ours was down to slightly more than a sliver). Towels seemed in short supply as we were without hand towels for a few days.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at all three ala carte restaurants, and only the italian would have been worth repeating. We would have expected far better seafood selections given that Varadero was a fishing village, but besides shrimp and a nondescript white-fish, not much was offered.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools (fresh water)and surrounds were beautiful. Water temp dependent on temperature of air. The facility maintenance was falling behind- beautiful landscaped pond/fountain in entrance at front of resort was closed (no appearance of any work going on to repair) as was one of the small side pools. Beach was great- lots of shade/sun options. Lots of lounge chairs, but many with broken arms.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the beach-tour double decker bus down the strip and into town. Run on Cuban time, not the posted times. Roads are narrow, so slow mopeds were at some risk. Souvenir shops/kiosks are abundant on and off resort. Charter day trips offer a variety of activities. Day trip to Havana is must for first timers like us and the tour guide can really assist to understand the local situation.

Other Comments:
The whole tipping/gift thing just seemed so awkward but completely understandable from the workers perspective. Hopefully the economy will sort this out over time.

Generally, if maintenance and some improvement in food services could catch up to the needs, this resort could easily be returned to a five star rating.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Javier Perez Tellez  on Feb 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1998
602 people found this review helpful

I can only say that this was simply the best, I stayed at this hotel from Dec 29 to Jan 2 and the buffet meal for the end of the year was incredible, it had everything, again this was really the best hotel and i recommend it 100 percent thanks

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A wonderful introduction to Cuba."

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Feb 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
105 people found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Cuba, and really our first holiday with just the two of us in a very long time. Before going, we had read a number of reviews of this resort, both negative and positive, so there was some concern before leaving. We thought it didn't matter since we would be leaving the cold behind and that was a good thing.

Your Arrival:
Our AirTransat flight left Toronto at 6:30PM, it was a typical charter with over 300 people aboard, so as one would expect, it was cramped. The hot meal was fine. There was some turbulence along the way so the seat belt light kept flashing. We arrived at the airport late at night, so we were quickly told our bus number and boarded. The trip through Cuban customs was prompt and professional with no delay.

Rooms:
I would say the room was average. We were at the far end of the resort near the highway. While it meant a long walk to both the main building and beach, it was good exercise. There was two twin beds and a cot when we arrived, not too sure why, but it was fine. Our room was on the ground floor and we had a nice place to sit outside and relax. It was a quiet room, which helped with sleeping. Also the room maid service was good, it was kept clean,which we did appreciate. As well, the swans and other designs of the towels was quite entertaining for us each time we returned.

As I said the room was average, not luxurious but then again, you don't come to a resort to spend time in a hotel room.

Restaurants and Bars:
One comment we heard was the blandness of the food; I know others have complained and we talked to one couple who was at a 4 star resort and they said the food was very bland. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of food available at the buffet. The quantity and quality was good. There was some variety at each meal so there was always something new to add to the plate. While the staples were always present, such as beef, chicken, pork and fish, there was always some different vegetable to be added for the meal.

The fresh produce was indeed fresh, and so making a salad was good. As well, the fruit which had its own bar was amazing. Truly a treat to enjoy. Also you were not stuck at just the buffet, there was a pasta bar and an omelet bar which were both good. One of my favourites was the fish, it was simply delicious.

Now something needs to be said about the ice cream, it was to die for. They had the stand-byes, chocolate, vanilla and strawberry, there was always something extra, such as guyava which was a total treat.

The snack bar was a good feature and while we only had a few meals there, it was good to know hot food was available when the main buffet was closed.

The bars were plentiful and the staff was friendly. They would make you a non-alcoholic drink if you so desired. As well, the cappuccino was very nice, although I have to say it was better at the bars in the main lobby. Still, sitting outside enjoying Cuban coffee is worth the price especially when one considers how miserable the weather is in Canada.

We managed to go to two of the ala carte restaurants, would have gone to the third but there was timing problems. Since the third was the Italian I doubt we missed anything. The food in both is very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This is why you come to Cuba, to lie on a beach at the end of January enjoying the sun, sand and water. The beach is wide and because it's a white sand, it never gets hot. There are a number of lounge chairs and you can find a place to relax. The water, because it's the Atlantic is a bit cool, but then on a hot day, it's very refreshing.

As pointed out there are two pool areas, one by the main building, the other at the south end. Both are good and while the main one is busier with more things happening, the south end can be a good place just to relax. While the water is cool, its not bad and again, when its a hot day, a good place to quickly dip in and relax. The staff at the pool side bars are always there to help with the drinks, so you can simply relax with a good book and have a nice time.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is a lot happening; from shows at night, to programs during the day. You can stay as busy as you want, or simply do as little as you want. The choice is yours. We did take a trip into Varadero, to chech out the flea markets and just to see something of Cuba. The recommendation os the Veradero Beach bus. Let me say something about that; two things you need to remember, it is public transit and it is a bus. By that i mean it can be busy and crowded. One bus went past us in fact as we waited to go into town. Let me suggest that if a taxi or a bus stops and tells you 'two peso', get the money out and jump on, the timing of the Bus is well, liek any other form of public transit.

On the first morning, you will meet an agent of the company who willl explain things, as well as inform you of the various day trips. We went to Havana which was a bus and walking tour. It was worth the extra money. Havana is a fascinating city, especially the old city. There's a lot of restoration taking place so you will see buildings in various states of repair or disrepair.

Other Comments:
A few things we learned: bring your own face cloths and facial tissues, neither is provided in the hotel. The hotel is 220v so you may want to purchase an adaptor, about $15.00 at Wal-Mart.

Beach towels, when you arrive you will be informed there is a $15 CUC charge for towels that will be refunded on your last day, providing of course the towel does not get stolen. This is incentive enough to bring your own, or purchase one in town for 5.50 CUC's.

The bottom line, we would glad return to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best experience in my life."

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brandi  on Feb 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
127 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
it was great they were playing music and gave us drinks while we came in.

Rooms:
the rooms were beauitful and the towels in which they created something was great.

Restaurants and Bars:
disco time was the best, and the food from the hotel was delisous.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the pools and beach was breathtaking I can't wait to get back there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasantly surprised"

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie from CAN  on Jan 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
106 people found this review helpful

I had read a great deal of negative reviews about this resort but when we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly. Sure, the place could use a touch up but I think this could be said about almost all of the resorts I viewed in Varadero. In its time, the Oasis Brisas del Caribe was, I'm sure, quite grandoise. It has great character and charm and we liked it. The food....well yes, it wasn't the best but we did not go to Cuba for the food and we are not that picky eaters so we really didn't mind. All in all, we were happy and would definitely return.

Rooms:
Was spacious and kept clean. We were there during a very particularly cold snap - some of the locals said that record low temperatures had been broken. Fortunately it warmed up again after 3 or 4 days and we did manage to get some sun but when it was cold and we asked for extra pillows, blankets, etc. the staff was very accommodating

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool WAS definitely cold (as I had read) but I went in anyway just to say that I did! I'm sure during warmer weather the cool pool would be quite refreshing. The ocean water was warmer than the air the first couple of days. The beach is absolutely beautiful and groomed every morning by a tractor.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We spent the first three days (the coldest days there) on bus excursions and got them 'out of the way' so we'd be ready to just lie on the beach when the sun returned and that worked out perfectly.

Other Comments:
People need to stop being so picky in their expectations. It's not like you are paying the price that you would have to pay to stay at the Beverly Hills Bel Air Hotel. If you were to rent a cabin in Muskoka you could also find things to complain about if you tried hard enough.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our one week stay..."

Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe
User Rating:  Cubanacan Brisas del Caribe Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pixie Charter  on Apr 25, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
869 people found this review helpful

It's important to remember that this is a 4-star inclusive in an underdeveloped country and adjust your expectations accordingly. We enjoyed our one-week stay but there is some info that would have been helpful to know. We were told by our travel agent that tips were included in the price...we could leave our money locked up...not so! Tips are still very much expected and in the case of of the housekeeping...we realized we were not getting clean towels because we were not tipping, in fact we were treated quite rudely because of this. Face cloths are not provided. Beach towels were not available until later in the week & they require a healthy deposit. We wished we would have brought our own. It would be very helpful to have your own beverage containers...a water jug that can hold ice and a travel mug for coffee. You have to pay for bottled water but you can get containers filled with water (drinking) & ice for free. Be informed that "all-inclusive" does not include day-trips or all that you think it might. We met some people who literally had left their money at home and could not participate in any of the extras...even the ride on the banana will cost you. The beach itself is absolutely beautiful. The food was generally good, not a huge variety. The service...like anywhere else, depends on the individual, some were terrific, some were so-so.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube