Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Santiago de Cuba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Granda

3.9 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 1, 2014

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones  

Chivirico km 60, Guama, Santiago de Cuba

"LG has become..."
Posted by: Judy on Dec 17, 2014
see all reviews

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Reviews
Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Pictures and Information
Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Santiago de Cuba Cuba

#2
of 13 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba

User rating 3.8

Based on 19 reviews

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Information


The hotel will be closed due to maintenance and renovation until further notice.

The blue waters of the Caribbean and the renowned Sierra Maestra mountains surround Hotel Brisas Sierra Mar and Los Galeones. The Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel combines the benefits of a beach resort with all inclusive services and spectacular views of this mountainous region, which can be enjoyed almost anywhere around the hotel.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Reviews

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Review: 3.8 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  14
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 10 of 19

"No water"

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones
User Rating:  Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Review: 2.50 of 5

Posted by:  Isabel from Oshawa  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2008
248 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 28 to Jan 4, 2009
Upon arrival, we got on this bus that had no air condtioning because it was broken, the roads were terrible and the bus driver was swerving to miss the pot holes

Rooms:
we were promised ocean view rooms and we ended up having room 218 we had no air conditioning and no hot water for the first 2 days and they said it would be fixed within 2 hours, 2 days later we NO water at all, the room had mold, the room was a disaster. No big towels had 2 small towels, could flush toliet because no water.

Restaurants and Bars:
food was good, had no coffee for 2 days because we had no water

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was great, the pool was green because people were releaving themselves in the pool because no water, the washrooms were disgusting because we could flush.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
activities were cancelled if there was 1 person, the tennis courts were there but no rackets,

Other Comments:
This was a 4 star but it should have been a 2 1/2 star hotel real bad experience with this hotel, our rep was nowhere to be seen when you asked for him. This would have been a great hotel because the view was breathe taking, but the hotel it's self was a disaster.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great 3 and half star would go back "

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones
User Rating:  Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Aug 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
469 people found this review helpful

The room was clean and well located on the 4th floor closest to the main floor where everything is. one elevator worked to go down to a very small beach. The food was fine for cuba better than some 4 star ressorts but the buffet was small. It rained a lot one night so we did not have electricity and the staff did not come in to work because a big chunk of the road to get to the hotel was washed away...We saw the damage on our way back to the airport. The pool is a bit small ans shallow but there is always a volley ball game to join in and a great pool bar. on site, there is a bank, a store so you can buy water beverages and snacks. To do tours brings cash they don't take credit cards. The staff where all nice. We did not have a fridge in our room but asked for one. there is a 2.00 a day charge for safety deposit box. this was a great place to rest. its not a party all night kind of place so you can actually rest and sleep. they have bird watching, kayacks, mopeds rentals 24 a day (but better know mechanics cause they break often. tours to Santiago 75, to daulphin 80, bat cave ect..bring moskito stuff with deet for the sand flys, a flashlight watershoes...floors get very slippery when wet especially when it rains water accumulates in the hallway (2inches). show every night, piano and musicians in lobby after supper, I did not go to the disco...don't think it was opened cause it was low season. locals go there for vacation with familly. the beach has been washed away..you have what is left of it with weeds but it ressembles a bad camping beach but can enjoyable there is lots of shade, paddleboats, horses. Too bad they can't fix all the stuff at this hotel..it must of been a beautifull 5 star ressort but now for what is left of it it's a great 3 and a half and I would go back cause it's clean, I did not starve, had a good time, met nice people and had a great price.

Room Number:
422

Room Block:
4th floor

Arrival:
fast check in...we where the first one at the counter lol bell boy help us to our room, first the key did not work but they got that fixed

Rooms:
pink and mint green but very very clean, great shower...smells a little just plug the shower at night with a towel and bring some room deoderizer. air cond worked well, tv was fine.

Restaurants and Bars:
1 buffet, clean, no bugs, no birds just food perfect but often the same things. This is not a chinesse all you can eat buffet...think one kind of food a day and you won,t get fed up by the end of your stay.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
there is a beach...just not white and perfect like in youre dreams. the pool is ok but a little small...the spa is brand new and works well.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
not much in the summer bing some cash go on a tour.

Other Comments:
my only complaint about this hotel but I think it is going on everywhere now in cuba is that there are many tourist that invite cuban girls and sometimes the age differences makes me wonder

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Brisas Sierra Mar - This place is good value for what you pay"

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones
User Rating:  Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Stephen  on Feb 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
429 people found this review helpful

This is our second visit to this hotel spending the time around Christmas and the New Year.
It is a place to relax and yes it is only a 3+ Hotel so don't go their expecting a 4 star rating. Having said that I would certainly go back as it provides a condition to relax and to enjoy .

Your Arrival:
Bus Trip to the Hotel is the worst . However, once you arrive at the hotel you forget about it until the day of departure back on the same road.

Rooms:
Nothing special but who cares. I go on holiday to be outside of my room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was very good for what we paid. The bars are ok but I did not find too much international drinks. When they did come out, it was for a short time and you were back to the local stuff.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This is a problem. Due to bad weather in the past the beach has been lost. You can still find space to be on the beach and we enjoyed spending the days on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities was good most nights. New Years we were the last to close the Disco down. We were dancing with some locals and guest and found it to be ok.
They need to dress this up more and a live band playing all night might work.
The food was good but it was better a few years before.

Other Comments:
Enjoyed going into the village on Christmas Eve with "Stephen" the Mayor of Brisas (Canadians) he was the village Santa. Took our gifts and hand outs and it was the most enjoyable afternoon as all the kids about 200 received something from Santa and the other guest who took part.
Tip: contact your travel agent and request some free luggage to take down for the kids in Cuba. They will most likely allow you some free weight.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Place, but a few glitches."

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones
User Rating:  Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy  on Jan 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
433 people found this review helpful

Our family of 4 adults traveled to Brisas Sierra Mar for the week of Dec. 27-Jan 3. We had read many reports on the condition of the road to the resort, but were shocked at how bad it really was! Two people on our bus had to move to the front due to motion sickness, and one member of our group was just about ready to join them. We were told that repairs were to start in March, but they didn't say what year!!

Your Arrival:
Bracelets, room keys and check in forms are done on the bus. Once we arrived, all we had to do was grab our luggage and head to our rooms. The resort is built on a hillside, and is very compact. The lobby, pool, and restaurants are all on one level, with two blocks of rooms cascading down the hill below. There is an additional block of rooms opposite the lobby that moves up the hill.

Rooms:
We were in Block A, rooms 402 & 403. We had a partial ocean view, but mostly we had a lovely view of the mountains. The room had been freshly painted, and was very clean. The draperies and bedspreads appeared to be new. The furnishings and bathroom were in need of an update, but they were perfectly functional. There was a 12 inch TV on the dresser with a remote that actually worked! We had two ¾ beds which we pushed together. The beds were a little soft, but not so much that they were sagging. The pillows were better than we have had on other vacations. Our balcony had brand new reclining chairs and a table. The evening entertainment could be heard quite loud in our room. Evidence of renovations are everywhere around the resort. The bottom floor of Block A was closed for updating, the bathrooms at the lobby and pool area look to be completely new, and they received 20 new bicycles on New Years Eve.

Restaurants and Bars:
Brisas has one buffet, a beach grill for lunch, and 3 a la cartes. Selection at the buffet was very limited while we were there, and vegetables were scarce, with yams and squash being the main offering at all 3 meals. There seemed to be a shortage of onions, even for the omelet station. Other than pre-peeled clementines, there was no fresh fruit at all. No bacon was available all week. That being said, they worked wonders with what they had. Every meat on the buffet table and carving station was tender and flavorful. I can't recall any dish that was a let down. The beach grill offered the standard burgers, fries, hotdogs, pizza, and fish. We had a meal at the Ecological a la carte, and it was amazing. The atmosphere was wonderful, and the food was fantastic. The bruschetta was served cold, but that was the only disappointment. House wine is included at this restaurant, and we feel it was probably the best meal of the week. We also were able to eat at the Cuban a la carte. The food here was o.k., but a little disappointing after the Ecological. There is no house wine available here. You could purchase a bottle starting at 5 CUC, up to 60 CUC. We bought a 7 CUC Chilean Merlot, and were quite happy with it. Some guests brought their own wine from the bar to avoid purchasing a bottle. They also had a massive New Years Eve Gala Dinner set up around the stage and swimming pool, with delicious turkey, pork, beef and lobster. The dessert table that night was to die for!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The weather was absolutely amazing. It averaged 30C every day, and would dip to about 25C in the evenings. We didn’t have any rain at all. We usually travel in January, and the weather and water temperature can be hit or miss. Here we were able to enjoy the ocean every day, and never needed a jacket in the evening.

The beach has been badly eroded in the last year. There is a 3 foot drop from the lounger level to the actual beach. It starts to level out as you move further to the west. There were plenty of loungers available, and never a need to be up at 6.30 to reserve one. The beach bar was never very busy and served a good selection of tasty drinks. The pool area also seemed to have plenty of loungers, but we are beach people and never ventured up there. Most of the daily activities took place at the pool. We were not bothered by sand fleas or mosquitoes, but we did notice that the resort sprayed the wooded area every evening around 6.00 pm.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did one excursion, a Catamaran/snorkeling/Santiago tour, at a cost of 58 CUC per person. When the "catamaran" showed up, it turned out to be a fishing boat that reeked of diesel fumes. The snorkeling was at a sunken ship, and was interesting, but not as pretty as a reef. The ladder to get back on the boat was broken and I was unable to hoist myself onto the platform after snorkeling. The tour guide and captain had to haul me up by the arms. I still have the bruises to show for it. After a wonderful included lunch, we were to have a walking tour of Santiago de Cuba. Unfortunately, a half dozen people on the tour did not come prepared, and needed to find a bank. We were instructed to wait in the square in front of the Cathedral while these people ran to the bank for cash. While we waited (and waited and waited) some people decided to go to a local store and buy some rum and cigars. Then the people who had gone to the bank started rum and cigar shopping. We spent over 45 minutes of our 1½ hour tour time waiting for people to make their purchases, before heading off to the "flea market". It was then we realized that 3 people had never returned from the bank. We spent the next ½ hour re-tracing our steps, then heading to the bus, while our tour guide frantically searched for the missing people (whom he found). We ended up spending 2 hours in Santiago with not one word of info on the history, culture, etc. This was in no way the tour guides fault. He was visibly agitated at what was happening. We ended up not getting back to the resort until 7.00 pm, when we were supposed to have returned at 4.00. It was a long and disappointing day. Be warned, the Hola Sun tour desk does not accept credit cards. Luckily I had tucked some extra cash aside, as I am not comfortable getting a cash advance in Cuba.

Other Comments:
For the most part the holiday was great, but there were a few glitches and disappointments.
-Beyond the resort boundary is a beautiful beach for walking. The only problem is the relentless beggars. We were hounded constantly for soap, shampoo, clothes etc. We tried asking them to leave us alone, we tried ignoring them, we even tried telling them we would come back on our last day, and not to bother us in the mean time. It made no difference. They would not back off.
-The New Years Gala was extremely disorganized. None of the food on the New Years buffet was labeled, and it was too dark to really see what was on the platters. Many of the dishes had no serving utensils. They could not keep up with the volume of people and ran out of plates before everyone was served. Line ups were long for everything. The show that night was very disappointing. There were some singers, an hour and a half of canned music, and then a mediocre magician followed by some ballet dancers. It was dismal. We didn't talk to one person who seemed to enjoy it.
-Although we found the lobby entertainment every evening to be top notch, the repeat guests we spoke to said it was sadly inferior to previous years. They had noticed a significant change for the worse in the entertainment, service and atmosphere. They told us that staffing levels are way down, which would explain only one bartender during the peak before/after dinner hours, as well as the problems with the New Years Gala. Several people mentioned that the house wine was of extremely inferior quality to past years.
-Also disappointing was the lack of information on activities. There was a festival on one day, with a parade which was never advertised on the activities board. We heard the festival music from the beach, but thought it was some sort of pool game going on. A printout of what is happening for the week would be a great addition to the envelope you get when you board the bus.
-The New years Dinner required people to make table reservations for the number of people in their party. Unfortunately, many people did not know this, and showed up to find they had no table. We were lucky that someone on the beach mentioned it to us, or we would have been among the many people wandering around looking for an un-reserved table. None of this was mentioned in the orientation, or on the activities board.
-Also while we were there, due to a broken washing machine, there were no beach towels available for the first 3 days of our vacation. We wasted so much time walking up and down the stairs from the beach to the towel exchange by the pool only to be told “come back in two hours”. Why they did not explain at that time that the washer was broken is a mystery.
-A simple note regarding sandwiches being served for our early morning checkout would have avoided two bus loads of people trying desperately to eat from the small continental buffet in the lobby.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great 2nd Visit"

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones
User Rating:  Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Art  on Jun 30, 2014  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
270 people found this review helpful

While our return to the Brisas Sierra Mar didn’t have the greatest weather (rain the 2nd day and overcast for much of the first week) it was still a good 14 days. The food, service and general ambience of the resort makes this a nice resort to visit. For context we are retired empty nesters who have enjoyed many trips to various AI’s in Cuba.

One thing you need to be aware of is there are a lot of stairs which can be challenging if you have mobility issues. There are elevators though. The one on the Caribbean side has been repaired however the one close to the entertainment stage was under repair and I understand the elevator for the upper levels (into the hill) was also out of commission while we were there.


Arrival:
Check in was easy as most of it was done on the bus coming in, which by the way was a lot faster (and smoother) than last year as much of the road has been repaired. You still need to go the front desk for your Safety Deposit Box. You also have to go to the front desk to exchange the cash now too.

Rooms:
The rooms are dated but clean and any issues that did arise were dealt with promptly. I would recommend something on the 400 level; however these are quickly taken up by returning guests of which there are many. We ended up on the second level so maybe we need to return a few more times to make it up to the 4th.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Ecological restaurant this year had live music which we really enjoyed. The beach restaurant “the Ranchon” was closed (at it was last year while we were there) as it was under reconstruction, to be completed by March so it’s probably done by now.

The Cuban a la cart was great this year but the International a la cart (“the Mariposa”) was disappointing as the squid rings we ordered turned out to be those small squids which we did not enjoy. So we finished our supper at the buffet which usually served a nice variety of food. We also went off resort once to “The Oceana” restaurant and enjoyed a great lobster dinner at a very reasonable price.

There are 3 bars at this resort and what impressed us was they never ran out of mint. You could also get a mojito or a properly blended Pina Colada at the beach bar. There used to be a bar above the pool which was a great place to enjoy the sunset however it was closed as the roof was under repair. We missed it as it was also a nice quiet place to get away to.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
If snorkel is your thing, there is a nearby reef with a nice variety of fish. However the water was never still so visibility varied daily. This resort has a dark sand beach with a lot of rocks and coral in the water close to the shore. I would still recommend beach shoes but I didn’t find it quite as rocky as last year so a lot of work has obviously been done on the beach. Also while we were there work was underway to further improve it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
This year there was more local entertainment in the main lobby, at the two a la carts and at the pool bar. All were a joy to listen to. The evening shows varied, from audience participation, dance, water ballet, or local bands. On another note, I don’t think the resort sprayed much while we were there so remember to bring your mosquitoes spray, you’ll probably need it.

Other Comments:
The staff really made you feel welcome, as did a lot of the regulars. It has a nice relaxed atmosphere that grows on you. Most people there were around our age so I wouldn’t call this a party place. Not many kids either, but there was a “Kids Club” so maybe it’s more active at other times. If you look up my channel on YouTube (MrJarArt) I’ve posted a few videos of this resort and some of the tours we’ve taken while in Santiago de Cuba as well as other Cuban resorts we’ve been to.

Videos: http://youtu.be/LDXobXJmiDk

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"MUCH Improved beach"

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones
User Rating:  Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on Nov 29, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
258 people found this review helpful

Been going 10 years. l'll sum it up by saying most staff 'try' but with the standard disclaimer...'its Cuba" to excuse some of the issues.

Not much to update other than they've done some major work to try to rebuild the beach previously devastated by the hurricanes. They've built a rock/debris pier and restored sand on the sheltered side. The Rancheon is still not reopened but supposedly by early December. We'll see on Dec 10th. One of the new elevators was working most of the week, the other "SE" service light on but never worked. Some changes to the night show, in particular the majician has added some new material.

The buffet seemed a little smaller, perhaps because first time for us in November (low season?).

One criticism is they've put the omelet (breakfast), carving station (dinner) BETWEEN the two hot buffet stations which causes a REAL bottleneck for those who just want to get food at the two buffet stations, because the line for the carving station backs with people just standing in front of the first hot buffet station. This changed from day to day so no logic. They've been told by multiple guests.

Internet is a little better, 30 minute card cost 2.25 cuc.

Staff are great as always.

We go for the people, so put up with alot of the usual Cuba issues. ie. Our toilet tank flooded our room 3x, beginning upon arrival at 12 midnight, and calling the front desk to get someone was a 'challenge' despite the safety issues of water all over tile floors. We are going to take the parts needed as it was clear they didn't have what was needed to do a proper repair, it wasn't for lack of effort or willingness on maintenance. The desk said they had no other rooms, 2nd call said someone would be there in 20 minutes, next call no one answered the front desk so they were just ignoring the calls at that point as the water continued to flow everywhere. Finally went up to the desk (four floors away) and said in coming 10 years weren't happy with the handling by front desk.

The regular day staff who work the desk are great though.

I asked multiple times for a mop so we could at least clean up the water, because we do accept 'some' issues will happen. Ironically in Feb the same thing happened with the toilet in room 127. This time is was room 126. I sometimes wonder if some staff just stall a delay and then it is the end of your week, with an un-repaired issue, then the next guest comes in and it starts all over again.

Will be asking for room 126 again in December since we 'think' they've done a part repair...but also taking a new valve for them lol.

Room Number:
126

Room Block:
First floor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would come back again"

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones
User Rating:  Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Elizabeth  on Nov 2, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
242 people found this review helpful

This is one of the nicest hotels that I have ever visited. This was the second time I visit this place, but this time with the whole family. I have read all types of comments about this place, but my recommendation is always positive. It was a nice place to stay when I came with my partner for the first time, and it is a nice place to stay now when I was there with my kids also. We wanted some time away from the busy days back in Canada, so this vacation was the real deal for the whole family.
The flight is ok, the airport needs a bit of renovation, but overall is ok. The hotel looks very attractive. When we arrived and we saw it from outside for the first time we knew that this vacation would be nice. The Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones hotel look great from the outside just like inside. The rooms are clean and have fresh odor. Most of the equipment is in great condition and during the whole vacation, we didn’t have any issue with it (air-conditioning, TV and so on). The hygiene standards were really important to me because this time I was with my kids so I only wanted the best for them. The employees are also very generous and welcoming. They are always around to help you in case you or your family or friends want something from them. That was another positive moment of the vacation. The only issue at Brisas Sierra Mar & the Los Galeones hotel is that the food has some strange taste. But not all the time. Some days were ok, some it was awful. I don’t know how that is possible, but they should definitely work on that issue.
All in all I would recommend the Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones hotel to everyone because it is a really nice place, with high hygiene standards and affordable price. It is the right type of place no matter if you travel with family or friends. It has a lot to offer to everyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"LG has become..."

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones
User Rating:  Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Judy  on Dec 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
239 people found this review helpful

my favourite place for R&R in Cuba. We arrived at about 1:30 am after many delays with Sunwing and a stop at Manzilla that we weren't expecting. The staff were still there to greet us and welcome us back. Sandwiches and drinks ready for the tired travellers. Got the room we had requested (504) and were pleased that most rooms had new mattresses. Requested a fridge the next morning and it was delivered in 10 minutes. Every room has it's own private patio with 2 loungers and a small table. And every room has a view. Getting up before dawn waiting for Chivirico to wake up and start the day; watching the kids walk to school, the general bustle is part of my daily routine. I love seeing the activities and wondering about the people and where they are going; listening to the cocks crowing, the dogs barking, the horse & buggies that are transport for many, the fishing boats going out - priceless.

The road from Santiago is paved all the way to Chivirico now and it saves us about a 1/2 hour on the road. It would be nice if we could get the long, steep driveway paved and we were told it's in the works but no timeline given. Wilser has made many updates to the property and has some really great plans for future renovations. It's just a matter of getting funds and permission from the powers that be.

Didn't go down to the beach because I knew I wouldn't be able to climb the stairs up. Old age is catching up to me! I really miss going to the beach, it is quiet and staff serves the best lunches grilled at the beach. Lifeguard is on hand and very alert; when his whistle blows you had better pay attention because he knows that water better than anyone.

Food was as good as ever but dinner service is now buffet style. Breakfast and lunch are still ala carte. I have no problems with the dinner buffet, but the dining room is small and the buffet tables take up a lot of space so that at the start of the meal, the line ups are crowded and I was always afraid I would spill my bowl of hot soup on someone.

The staff go out of their way to spoil you. before long before they know your name, likes and dislikes, your family's history. Most guests are repeaters so it isn't a surprise that staff remember you; but even first timers fall under the spell.

Some days, we had 3 different bands or combos playing at dinner. lunch - we had 2 groups for a few days. Cubans have an ear for any music and a natural sense of rhythm; they come out of the womb dancing and singing with a guitar in their hands.
Some might prefer a more active night life. But hiking, biking, trail walking is 5 minutes away. A walk through Chivirico is a must for the real Cuban feel. It is such a beautiful little town (bank, library, art galleries, small tiendas, parks, ball diamond, music everywhere, etc).

We have already booked for April and can't wait to get back there. Would I recommend Galeones to oth

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"peaceful stay"

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones
User Rating:  Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  june  on Sep 11, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
249 people found this review helpful

What you should know about this place is that there are lots of mosquitoes here so you should come prepared by bring insecticides and spray so that you can enjoy your stay peacefully without the rude interruptions of insects. The little problem I had was with the a/c as it was leaking but it was fixed almost immediately. The food at the restaurant really was great, they all tasted nice, they had fresh fruits, meat and different varieties of dishes that were alright. The location of the hotel is in a picturesque zone which made it very beautiful, the location was close to everything and from there, and you could explore the town. The beach is very clean with white sand and shallow waters but it’s not calm. The staff at this resort seems really nice and helpful, it doesn’t matter what you ask of them, and they will do it for you. The reception staff was very nice and receptive, when I arrived with smiles I was welcomed and I felt at home. If you want more fun while visiting this resort, you should join the travel company rep and take part in some excursions and tours around the city. I met people from different countries here not like most restaurant that is usually just a particular people from a particular country. The hotel is quiet and doesn’t have any problems I couldn’t deal with, it was like home away from home for me and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A super holiday"

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones
User Rating:  Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Stephen  on Feb 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
410 people found this review helpful

We just returned from two weeks at Sierra and over all had a great holiday

Your Arrival:
Arrival was smoooth and efficient .As in previous reviews the road getting there is in horrible shape and thank goodness we travellled it in daylight which helped make it a little enjoyable

Rooms:
Clean .freshly painted and everything worked including hot water

Restaurants and Bars:
The Italian was superb as was the ecological .We were disappointed in the cuban as it was not worth going to .The buffet was welll stocked and a good variety .The pig roast was super first week but second week they needed a bigger pig !The Saturday night special buffet was over the top !Yjere were always lots of staff at bars and the ones at the lobby bar were exceptioal .Quick and friendly staff altho i wish they had the 7 year Havana Club Tosie is a princess and the bl0pnd would pour my drink before i got to the bar!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was good but beach is a wash out from last hurricane .grfounds were clean and well kept

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The stage entertainmentwas especially comedy night not as good as expected .The skits were not funny !
The lobby bar entertainers were quite enjoyable but should be adverised more .The day trip to Bacardi Island isn't worth half the price but the two hour horse ride to waterfall which we bookied directly at the security gate (which is dry this time of the year) was quite enjoyable .

Other Comments:
The staff in all areas were helpful,friendly,and hard working.The Hola Sun rep could have pointed out a few of the sites of interest on the bus trip to help get over the rough ride .The CanJet attendents that looked after a medical emergency on return flight went above and beyond the call of duty !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube