Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Jibacoa > Jibacoa Hotel Index > Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)  

Via Blanca km 60, Playa Jibacoa, Santa Cruz Norte, La Habana, Cuba

"Happy Birthday to Me"
Posted by: Annie  on Jun 2, 2012
see all reviews

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Reviews
Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Pictures and Information
Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Jibacoa Cuba

#2
of 2 Hotels in Jibacoa

User rating 4.1

Based on 37 reviews

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Information


On the splendid Arroyo Bermejo Beach, nature lovers and divers alike will enjoy the incredible reefs that offer great snorkeling and diving.

Villa Trópico (Cameleon) is a Beachfront property in Jibacoa with proper facilities and good service, offering excellent value for money.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Reviews

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 4.1 of 5 37 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  15
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (24)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
1 - 10 of 37

"Happy Birthday to Me"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Annie  on Jun 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
184 people found this review helpful

We had the time of our lives. The staff made our trip the best time ever. I was very concerned about going, as I am waiting for hip replacement surgery. But I am glad we went.
We were treated like royalty the whole time we were there. The room #32 was wonderful, it's location was central, so I did not have to walk too far. The pool was great the bar also.
There was only two things that could be changed in my mind. #1 beer needs to be available at the lobby bar all day. #2 the restaurant needs to run air conditioners so the windows could be closed, to keep out the birds. (they carry germs on to the food)
It may not seem much,
but it is to people who have weak stomachs. We are already planning our next trip as it was our best trip to Cuba ever. Hopefully with a new hip we will be able to do moreand see more.

Room Number:
32

Arrival:
Excellent. We were the only couple on the bus at noon.We look forward to seeing everybody February 2013

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Times"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  diane  on Apr 30, 2012  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
202 people found this review helpful

Great quick flight with Air Transat flying Club Class. They sure know how to pamper travellers. Quick through customs and didn't have to wait long for our luggage.
We had the good fortune to be able to return to our favourite little spot. We were admittedly hesitant after the cutbacks from last year and weren’t sure what changes there would be this year, so we went with an open mind but with thoughts this would perhaps be our last year. Well, happily we were not disappointed. I won’t repeat what other reviewers have posted and agree with most of the reviews.
The food this year, was a step up from last as they seemed to have discovered some spices and salt and some dishes were quite tasty. The fish, oh my … fantastic. They have added large quantities of pastry at a separate table and they too were delicious. Didn’t like the added dish of rabbit but for others, they enjoyed it. They added bottles of various sauces like HP sauce, salsa etc which was a nice touch.
We did notice the absence of cats this year; perhaps they recently "cleaned" them up. With that said there was an abundance of little geckos all around which we had never seen before. No cats and more geckos?
Wonderful to see staff again although we felt bad since there was a group of young teenagers who were a handful for staff. Their behaviour consisted of being in a continual drunken state and oblivious to the disruption they were causing everyone. The mothers that were with them simply turned a blind eye and was quite ok with them being the drunken idiots that they were. To destroy property in Cuba is unbelievable particularly when it’s not like they can run out to Walmart to replace equipment. Hope those mothers were proud of their children. Many guests got little sleep until the kiddies went to bed.
The water was awesome with only a few red flag days. Did some great snorkeling but had to stop due to an ear problem. Dive shop boys helpful as usual.
Had the most exquisite meal at a house up the road which has just recently opened up. Huge quantity of food and for 15 pesos you just can’t go wrong.
The newly renovated building was quite nice looking and the rooms tastefully done. Still enjoyed our little cabana though.
All in all we have a wonderful week and look forward to returning in the future.
Pat & Diane, North Bay Ontario

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved it!"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tim Dubber  on Mar 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
215 people found this review helpful

While our family (and friends) have travelled to Cuba many times before this was our first visit to Jibacoa and our first stay at the CVJ. We made the move to this area of Cuba so that we could spend a number of days exploring Havana.

We loved the setting. Lovely grounds and lots of space. Beautiful vistas everywhere and from every direction. Rooms are not fancy but we loved the bungalows and they are spotlessly clean. The food is decent and sometimes Really good. I heard folks complaining about the food...this is a very small resort and accordingly choice is more limited. We had absolutely no difficulty with the food. The plus side of small is that one does not trip over beach chairs:) It's a trade off and one that in our family's opinion is an easy one to figure out. Drinks are great. We thoroughly enjoyed the snorkling. Staff are superb.

We ate at Los Amigos in Santa Cruz - which was wonderful. There are two other restaurants closer to the resort that we did not have time to try. We heard great reports from other guests.

It is small, quiet,lovely - not fancy. A gem.

Room Number:
105 and 53

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent value and will return."

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Trish  on Feb 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
222 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
17

Arrival:
We arrived late in the evening and the front desk staff were very efficient and friendly. Within 1/2 hour of arriving at the resort we were in our room. Thankfully there was bottled water, a bottle of rum, and sandwiches in the fridge (which we did not eat). A note on the sandwiches - during our stay we saw numerous cleaning staff with stacks of these sandwiches on their carts. Considering they would be cleaning rooms from about 10 a.m. until around 3 p.m., I would not recommend anyone eat them.

Rooms:
Rooms very basic but the cleaning staff do an amazing job of cleaning. Floors are dampmopped every day, clean towels, toilet paper stocked up, and entertaining towel art. Air conditioning works excellent, we were actually cold the first night we were there. No bugs in the room, lots of VERY hot water but the walls are paper thin and you can easily hear noise from connecting rooms. A tip: when booking your room ask for one away from the pool area. A couple we met had a room close to the pool and they were kept awake numerous times by the people partying there very late at night. Although "quiet hour" is supposed to start at 11, the resort does not enforce this.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet is repetitive but....you learn how to mix it up. The breads and pastries are absolutely amazing as well as their unique pasta salads. Bars - well the bartenders are just fantastic! I have never experienced barstaff who were so friendly and entertaining. The drinks come in small cups so bring bubba mugs and be sure to try a Spanish coffee.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We loved the beach, excellent for snorkeling. We didn't stay in the pool area long due to a boisterous family who insisted on screaming constantly every day, all day but that isn't the resort's fault. We always found empty chairs on the beach and the bonus was that there are a lot of shade trees you can pull your chair under when the sun gets too hot. The grounds are immaculate - the gardeners start bright and early every day trimming trees and bushes. Emilio brought me flowers every day to keep in our room.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not a lot of activities compared to other resorts but that is not why we go on vacation. Basically there is peddle boats, hobie cats, beach volleyball, and numerous games at the pool. Off the resort - climb the large hill next to the resort - a guide from the hotel can take you just ask at the front desk. The view from the top of the hill is amazing and the walk down provides you with a taste of true Cuban culture as you literally visit a small Cuban farm. Also, if you are wanting to do any excursions/bus trips, first check with the bartender(s) as they will give you good advice on where to go. I also recommend hiring a cab to take you into Old Havana (don't take the bus trip). Our cab driver took us and another couple, we left at 9 a.m. and didn't get back to the resort until 6:30 p.m. for just 70 CUCS (less than 20 per person). He took us to all of the sights we wanted to see and never made us feel rushed at all. He also spoke really good English which was a plus.

Other Comments:
Tips:
Bring kleenex, bugspray (mosquitoes at night),water shoes.
Don't be scared to leave the resort to go to restaurants in neighbouring towns (by cab). The food is amazing and extremely cheap. My lobster dinner (3 lobster tails on one plate!) was 15 CUCs. I felt guilty because I couldn't eat it all.
The resort gets money on Mondays so if you are getting low be sure to get more on the Friday or Saturday as they tend to run out on Sundays. The neighbouring resort will not sell you any CUCs.

This resort is the perfect place to go and relax. You will be treated like royalty by all of the staff. We had an amazing experience and will return again. You can't get better value for the money you pay for this trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cuba's best kept secret"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  victoria  on Jan 25, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
217 people found this review helpful

This is a very small clean well kept resort close to town and great for excursions to either Havana or veradero without the busy city life. This is our 6 th time to Cuba and finally a resort excellent staff,food great, clean comphy rooms beachfront,great scuba, snorkeling,watercraft included and available daily. Other places advertise this but there is a fee or you have to rent life jacket as in Santa Maria Barcelo.Welcome bottle of rum was there as promised for the first time.Took a day trip into small town of Santa Cruz were most of the staff working at resort live.We were greeted by staff at their homes offered meals and drinks and shown around their town. Met their families. This is not just a job this kind of welcoming is a way of life not a job for these wonderful people. Thankyou Madeline in laundry and her family and all the other staff that made us feel at home and went over and above her job to make us comfortable.We will be back yearly.

Room Number:
96

Arrival:
Middle of the night dark quiet everything closed. Bars closed at 1:30 until 600 am. I was very concerned. Opened villa door to a clean comfortable room and free bottle of rum flowers and decoration on the bed.Snacks in the fridge as advertised and went to bed.The next day everything was great. Watersports were offered by snorkel scuba staff, breakfast welcomed us with kisses, laundry and housekeeping staff introduced themselves and told us if we needed anything just call. Bartenders were fun, great drinks and table service with big smile.Very welcomed and homey feeling from first day.

Rooms:
White tile showers and bathroom, older but clean bedspreads, very clean roomy and open.Beds more comfortable then 5 star Barcelo Santa Cruz

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots of food, you have to mix it up. Lots of taste in each meal not the Cuba normal.Breakfast eggs french toast pancakes toast jam all the norm. Little grill at lunch and also buffet available.Don't be afraid to venture out to local restraunts people are welcoming and lobster dinners offered everywhere. Bars well...always great but the staff make it so special.Yummy pina coladas and banana mommas. Special coffees.Lots of boose.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Swimming go to the pools.. snorkelling and coral reefs very close to shore. Beach was cleaned nightly with tractor. Lots of neat fish. Not the white sands of cayo coco but very close to resort and great beach view from pool lobby and rooms.Grounds very clean well kept several flowers wide open and nice beach view.Lots of chairs, boats, peddleboats kayaks scuba snorkelling staff their to serve you.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Disco with up to date music, small funny shows, dancing.Excursions and taxi's cheaper here then we have ever seen in Cuba. Very safe in local town.Little store on resort with very very cheap good prices for clothes and personal needs.

Other Comments:
We went to Havana one day on an outing and came back feeling beatten to death by people wanting things, begging, trully husselled and excausted. It was great to be on a resort away from all that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Computer stolen out of the room"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  andreas  on Dec 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
275 people found this review helpful

Actually the hotel seems to be a nice place, good meals, nice staff, direct on the beach, nice athmosphere especially for families - but: as the safe in the room is very little I had to let my computer outside the room - and the last day I had to notice that it was stolen - the door was not broken, it must be stolen from someone who has a key - I spend in the hotel nice days, but this was a very, very bad experience!!!!!

Room Number:
43

Arrival:
16.12.11

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bof"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  annick maucollin  on Aug 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
380 people found this review helpful

Hotel situé au fond de nul part. Belle plage mais mer remplie d'algues ne vous invitant pas ŕ la baignade. Chambre simple mais correcte, assez grande. Buffet pour les repas des plus ordinaires : riz, poulet.
Bien pour une nuit en passage mais pas plus

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"ˇColocación Exellente - el precio exellenter!"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kriesch  on Jul 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
426 people found this review helpful

Esta colocación es muy recomendable. ˇEn el coche de alquiler uno consigue La Habana dentro de bien una hora!

Room Number:
49

Arrival:
Friendly receipt!

Rooms:
Clean rooms! Good room service!

Restaurants and Bars:
OKAY!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
OKAY!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
OKAY!

Other Comments:
We recommend the hotel!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Truly Cuban Getaway"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Matthew  on May 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
461 people found this review helpful

We had this place recommended to us by somene who has been coming here for many many years. We went first for New Year's and again two weeks ago. I love it, my family loves it. It is from another era - simple, quaint, clean friendly, not over-the-top luxury but it IS a place for relaxation, sun and sea. Have been to many five stars in Caribbean but this one struck as authentic. Buffet is simple and...Cuban. The staff get to know and remember your name. Teenagers loved the snorkeling and hiking. A little more than an hour from Havana so trip to that amazing city is within easy reach as is a stop along the way in Hemingway's Coimar (Ever see "The Old Man and the Sea"? That was the inspiration.

Don't go if you can't take a basic Cuban cuisine and if you need vast buffets of food you eat at home. If you only want a beach chair and sun but otherwise pretend you never left North America, go somewhere else - if you want something a little more unique and memorable - this will not let you down. Harken back to the backpack and simplicity part of your life. This is it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent value"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  EVANGELINE  on May 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
323 people found this review helpful

The people who said it was all uphill must be from Sask! Granted it is a little rise from beach to dining room but otherwise pretty flat. True the air conditioning in buffet was always off, but we never found that to be a problem. We met many people who had been there before (our 4th time there) Food is good. Desserts not so good except the ice cream. we arrived late and a porter helped us with our luggage and there were two tasty sandwiches waiting in our fridge. Staff is good. rooms are clean and grounds are well groomed. for the price I think it is excellent value.

Room Number:
51

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube