Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Jibacoa > Jibacoa Hotel Index > Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)  

Via Blanca km 60, Playa Jibacoa, Santa Cruz Norte, La Habana, Cuba

"All you need."
Posted by: John  on Nov 18, 2015
see all reviews

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Reviews
Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Pictures and Information
Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Jibacoa Cuba

#2
of 2 Hotels in Jibacoa

User rating 4.1

Based on 38 reviews

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Information


On the splendid Arroyo Bermejo Beach, nature lovers and divers alike will enjoy the incredible reefs that offer great snorkeling and diving.

Villa Trópico (Cameleon) is a Beachfront property in Jibacoa with proper facilities and good service, offering excellent value for money.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Reviews

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 4.1 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  16
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (25)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
1 - 10 of 38

"The resort is clean, staff is wonderful"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bernie and Sandy from Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
196 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 26th - Feb 2nd 2008
Uneventful.....Sky service

Rooms:
Clean single story, comfortable but nothing fancy.

Restaurants and Bars:
1 buffet, 1 a la carte. Good breakfast, wounderful soups and although not a huge selection food is quite good.Service is very good.
Bars are great, bartenders go out of their way to please. Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful sandy beach, always was cleaned daily. Nice coaral reef for snorkeling or diving right there. Lots of chairs and shade.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
not this time but 1 hour to Havana.Not to be missed.

Other Comments:
Enjoyed our stay again, third time to this resort. Will be going back again for sure. The resort is clean, staff is wonderful and go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. I do want to add one coment, someone posted that there is a 5 peso charge to take out the kayaks, paddleboats and catamaran's. This is not true and sheds a bad light on the staff. It makes it look like they are charging you and taking the money for themselves. There is NO charge for anything other than 30 pesos for scuba diving and you pay that at the front desk not directly to the staff at the dive center as suggested. I want to say hi to Frank and Chino the dive guys and thank them for making our week there a great experience. See you soon!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"For us, the Cameleon is a great place"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jeff from Nova Scotia  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
188 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 3 - January 10, 2009
The arrival was uneventful, passed through customs pretty quickly, although I was stopped by a customs agent after screening my bag and was asked if I had chocolate with me. When I said "no", she was no longer interested in my luggage.

The bus trip took about an hour, late at night so did not see mych of anything on the way in.

Check in went quickly, there were only 8 of us arriving. Staff member still there after midnight to show us to our rooms. That was really appreciated.

Rooms:
My wife and I were given a room with two beds, we just pushed them together for our time there, the next day, the maid finsihed the job by rearranging the headboards and puttin larger bed coverings on, making it seem like a king-size.

The room was a good size, comfortable enough for our needs. Lots of hot water, just watch the temperature before you get in, it can get a bit scalding. There was a problem with the toilet running, it was fixed by the end of the next day, and the staff at reception double checked with me next time she saw me to make sure everything was ok.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was ok. This is only our second time to Cuba, last year was a 4 star in Holguin. My wife and I actually found the food a bit better here. There was a decent variety, and there was always something we could manage to enjoy.

We both agreed that the number of bars does not matter, it is the staff and the people frequenting the bars that make it enjoyable. We had more fun at the two bars at the Cameleon than at the 7 at last years resort.

Spanish coffee was fantastic, just the right after-dinner drink to start the evening. We went through quite a selection of drinks during the week, the bar staff know their stuff and make some great mixed drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The property grounds are well looked after, beaches cleaned early in the day (I saw them cleaning around 7 am during my morning walks) I was really impressed with not seeing loads of plastic cups and other assorted garbage littered all over the beaches - maybe that says something about the type of people that vacation there.

I enjoyed the snorkelling. It has been a long time for me, so it was nice to get back into it in an easy environment. It was easy to see the fish. I was even able to get my wife to try, and she is hooked on it...as long as the fish do not come too close.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We enjoyed the attitude towards activities - there were things to do but it was not a high pressure to participate, which I appreciated. Sometimes for me, relaxation means actually not doing anything except enjoying a nap in sun.

The bus tour to Havana was a let-down. Too much time on the bus, not enough free time to wander and enjoy seeing the city. I think next time we would look to connect with some other couple and hire a taxi. People we know that did that got more value for less money.

The Rio Conimar excursion was a blast and well worth the cost. Snorkelling in a cave was a new experience, the relaxing ride on the river and a fantastic lunch at a farm. I even convinced my wife to hold an alligator (the mouth was taped shut) for a picture.

Other Comments::
My wife and I are more mature, meaning age-wise, we are getting up there. For us, the Cameleon is a great place. It is small, which means you get to know your resort-mates pretty quickly and easily. The staff are fantastic - they make the extra effort to make sure you have a positive experience. This is not a party resort, seemed to be mainly mature couples and some families, and that is fine by me. My interests and needs are different now than when I was 20 (as the song goes "I'm not as good as I once was, but I'm as good once as I ever was"). If I wanted to party hard, I would look for a different type of resort. Here you can relax, enjoy this part of Cuba. Feel free to contact me with questions or specifics that you might want to know about.

jefferyreid@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The music can be a bit loud near the pool area"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  John and Pat from Victoria, B.C.  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
173 people found this review helpful

We spent 7 nights at the Cameleon Villas Jibacoa from January 19th to January 26th, 2009. We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful beach, great snorkling, fabulously friendly staff and fellow travellers! First of all the beach is very large (much bigger than the resort next door) with lots of room to spread out. The grounds at the resort were very well kept up with daily pick-up of the palm and coconut tree leaves, trimming of the bushes and picking up of any litter. The grounds were spacious with plenty of room between the units. The units themselves were kept very clean with daily maid service. We had read some questionable reviews regarding the food but were very pleased overall with the food. The breakfasts included made to order omelettes, bacon, fresh orange juice, excellent yogurt, excellent bread and very well made coffee. My wife is especially particular about her coffee and she loved the coffee!. Lunch and dinner consistently had about 3 meats such as (turkey, beef, pork, fish, liver, chicken and hamburger). The usual combination of meat consisted of pork, fish and chicken. There was usually two rice dishes to go with the meat, croquettes, salad bar, pasta and other food items. The ice cream and some of the little cakes were also excellent. There was a lot of variety and I am sure something for everyone.

The snorkling was excellent with a reef just a short distance off shore. We saw a great variety of fish, one school of thousands and an octopus. The fish could be seen in waist deep water but certainly there was a great variety once we got out to the reef. Just around the corner away from our resort was another sheltered beach, with less wind and wave action and very quiet for just relaxing or going in for a swim.

The music can be a bit loud near the pool area, but things would quiet down by around midnight. The nightly show would run from 9:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. and we would mingle with others for awhile, so most nights we weren't ready for bed until midnight anyway. The nightly shows featured dance, singing, comedy, fashion and skits. They were very entertaining and put on by a very enthusiastic friendly group of performers.

My wife and I thought this resort was excellent value. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a five star resort, but then again it has a five star beach and reef outside of it. The grounds are beautiful, the staff friendly and the overall ambience is wonderful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pina Colada was my favourite"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Terrie from Whitby, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
178 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan. 28 - Feb. 4
Very informative briefing on the way to the resort. Once arrived check in was very quick. Arrived at night so it was very dark. When we woke up in the morning it was like we were in paradise!

Rooms:
Bungalo was very clean. Television in the room with several stations including HBO. No canadian stations. Maid would do towele art every day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet meals, with lots of variety. Buns are excellent. Drinks are very good, several to choose from. Pina Colada was my favourite. My friend loved the spanish coffee. People enjoyed watching the bartender make the spanish coffees

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
2 pools, beaches are long better than the Breezes Resort next door. Always cleaned in the morning. Grounds are kept very neat and tidy.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on the paddle boats. Lots of people enjoy the snorkling. We took a guided tour to Havana, very informative guide.
Nightly entertainment was good. My favourite was the comedy night.

Other Comments:
Overall our trip was very good. This resort gets a 10 from me and plan to return. Very disppointed with Air Transat, meal was horrible both ways, also they tampered with my luggage in Cuba upon arrival back in Toronto. I recommend choosing another airline for your trip. If you require more info please feel free to contact me.

terrieberrie@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cameleon is a little bit of a secret"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ian  on Feb 1, 2009  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
187 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 14 - Feb 28
We left Ottawa at 11 AM and entry into Cuba was a breeze. The trip from the Varadero airport to the hotel was on a modern coach.

Rooms
Cameleon is not a standard high rise - the rooms are bungalows which was different and very pleasing. The rooms are cleaned daily by completely trustworthy maids.

Restaurants and Bars
There is a large dining room with attentive staff, a reservation dining room, and sandwich especials (grilled ham and cheese) are available all day at the pool bar. There is a bar in the reception area too. The food was good! Standard is fresh fish, port, and beef. Twice we had lamb - yum. We were satisfied with all the meals (after two weeks the repetition was boring - wanted some Pho or Asian fare), and the reservation restaurant was definitely worthwhile.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is fabulous. It is protected by a coral wall so the waves are calm and the underwater scenery is spectacular, the beauty was almost unreal. Snorkel gear is part of the all-inclusive, as are the paddle boats, HobiCat sail rides, and sea kayaks. There is plenty of room for everyone on the beach (unlike the cramped Breezes beach next door). The grounds are pretty and well tended.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We tried to go the the nightly entertainments but got there only 3 times due to being tired from a great day on the beach or tours. The dancers and house band are really terrific. The Havana day tour at 51 pesos is highly recommended. Havana is only an hour away.

Other Comments
If you want to relax, feel at home in the Carribean, and really feel you are in paradise, this is the place for you! We went for two weeks and were glad we did. Frankly, the Cameleon is a little bit of a secret I am reluctant to share - it is that good. It is also kid freindly - the noisy youth stay in Varadero or at the Breezes Jibacoa.

gihawley@gmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Honestly -- the food is decent."

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Melanie from Belleville, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
187 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 25 - March 4th
Had an uneventful flight with Air Transat -- it's only a three hour flight so I wasn't expecting much more than a bag of pretzels, but we got a hot meal gaoing both directions....was it a fabulous meal? No, but no one serves me anything when I drive to Ottawa by car and the travel time is the same -- no complaints here!

Rooms
After travelling a lot, and seeing my share of rooms from 3 star right up to five star, I must say that this was the cleanest room I have ever had -- seriously! The rooms and grounds were fantasticly maintained -- not an inch of mildew to found anywher on the gleaming whit tile that was found throughout the room. The curtains and bedspread could be a tad nicer but big deal -- this resort is a true diamond in the rough! Top notch maid service -- completly trustworthy! (and...you don't need and adaptor here!! So if you need a curling iron or something -- take it without fear!)

Restaurants and Bars
A buffet by any other name.....

Honestly -- the food is decent. I am not a buffet fan no matter where I am but all in all there was something that I found to keep me satisfied. You could make a mean salad with what YOU like as lettuce, cucumbers, carrots, tomatoes etc were all separate. The bread was fabulous and KUDOS to the ONLY resort I've EVER been to that serves what we consider bacon! It is fabulous and salty and just the was we Canadians expect it to be -- only twice a week though so watch for it!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN!!! Need I say more?

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
I've seen more engaging animation teams, but the whole vibe of Jibacoa is one of relaxation. No one forces you off your lounger to play a game if you don't want to, the team only sits and chats with you if you invite them. It is very non-intrusive and quite lovely by comparison to some places. BEcause it is out in the country, there are no vendors harrasing you and you can find any souvineer trinkets etc in the lobby stores if you don't want to go anywhere. We didn't do an organized tour, but took a taxi to Havana which was 25 peso's each (the tour to havana costs 51 pesos each) and we got to do everything they did and more -- on our own schedule -- the taxi is at your service for 6 hours...one hour to and from Havana and 4 hours in the city. We had a fabulous driver who spoke fantastic english.

Other Comments:
Caution to the younger generation who sees the "Disco" and thinks that it's an actaul disco...no so. Basically after the nightly show ends, they play music and you can dance under the lights but during our stay there were only people dancing maybe two of the nights. I was in a group of five ranging in age from 23 to 35 and were hoping for a bit more nightlife but we still had a fantastic time -- after long days in the sun it was likely a good thing that we weren't able to stay up all night anyway! The crowd is mixed but only a handful the same age as us -- there were about 15 people in total who were under 35. It is a very mixed population, all Canadian so french and English are everywhere.

Enjoy Jibacoa -- we did!
melanoff@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is cleaned every morning"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle & Andy from Winnipeg  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
193 people found this review helpful

Arrival Feb 8 2009:
Flight -
Arrived 40 mins EARLY on Skyservice, great flight, great service from the totally talented and gorgeous crew onboard - especially Aurora, the best flight attendant in the skies, EVER! We were served a hot supper too. Through customs and on the van to the resort within 20 mins of arrival, clutching a cold beer. Arrived at resort, fast, friendly check in, walked the beach at 1 AM, totally beautiful.

Rooms:
All rooms bungalow style - that is fine with this hick. Nice clean #37. Had a larger room at the back last year, preferred this room. TV broke first day, they replaced it right away. Why the heck do you need a TV in paradise anyway?

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots of variety, meats, fish, salad, home made bread and soups (I'm drooling) the mai-mai catch of the day was delicious! 3 kinds of ice cream at lunch every day...coconut was my favorite. The ice cream is made on the resort, by the way. Omelets in the morning - outstanding! Pancakes and french toast (these were not the best feature the kitchen put out) but the syrup was awesome - a very light strawberry syrup that was very pleasant. Beef, chicken, rabbit, pork, all yummy. The best orange juice in the world...super delicious! and jugs and jugs of it. Bar service at the buffet. Wine is only served at the buffet - not at the bars. dang. Bring pantyhose for your waitress, its appreciated. Cuban sandwich (ham n cheese) and hotdogs at the counter in the a la carte restaurant during the day if you get the munchies. You will get one a la carte meal in a week, two if you are a returning guest. The bartenders will make you anything they can. They will even do the occasional tequi! la boom BOOM...you have to see this for yourself. Spanish coffees are a work of art, daquiris are delicious, the beer is surprisingly good - usually Cristal on tap, they also have Buncanero. Us Canucks are beer snobs.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We were here last year, and it had rained a lot before we got there, ergo the grounds were quite wet and smooshy. This year the grounds looked immaculate - the trees and flowers were blooming and they have put a lot of work into the grounds and general upkeep. The beach is cleaned every morning, the pool is pristine. Freddy gets there at 6 AM to get the pool area ready for the day. The grounds crew is a bunch of older smiley guys. The same gardener is there - he will give you a flower every day for your hair, or if you are a guy he will ask you to take it to your wife...this gets you in the good books pretty quick! There are always loungers available on the beach, if not go ask. You will get one.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Activities all day long if you want to take part. Snorkeling is fabulous, we had 6 out of 7 "green flag" days in the water to go explore the reefs. What a salty pair we were! Morning aquasize and stretching in the pool, hikes to the farm twice weekly - wear good shoes (non slip anyway, the trail can get kinda slick) on the road back from the farm, some of the locals have souveniers to sell. Bring pesos if you want to buy, they will not have change. Dancing and games at the pool in to afternoon. Excursions if you like, some can be pricey. Ask for Hobie cat rides, paddleboats, snorkel assistance at the dive shack. If the staff takes you out on any of these, you should tip.

Other Comments::
Bring Canadian bills that are flawless. No rips, marks or even a pinhole sized piece of material missing from the corner. If you can, get new bills from your teller at your bank in Canada. The "Head Office" will return the money to hapless employee at the hotel and have them provide perfect currency. This leaves the unfortunate worker out of that money until they can replace it. This is big $$$$ for them. The airport and bank in Varadero had better exchange rates than the resort at that time, anyway. Tips are appreciated, not expected, but face it, we can spare the cash for our Cuban friends - they work hard for us! We hope to return again and again!

michallemay@yahoo.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is our third time there"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ted and Penni from Oshawa, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
192 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Febuary 18th to March 4th
The flight was ok nothing special left To at about 1pm and We arrived late afternoon around 5:50pm. The couch was a modern very comfy and you can buy a beer in the parking lot to drink on the way, the desk personel were good and got us on our way fast.

Rooms
We Had room 77 facing the road it was a nice quiet room with plenty of morning and afternoon sun, very clean and a hugh bath room. last year we had 36 and the year before 38 but there really isnt a bad room there. we suggest you take a pillow as they dont have any spare what we did was buy the vacuum bags and went to walmart and bought 5 dollar pillows they last a while and shrank them down and they took little room up in the case then we left them for Manning a friend there.

Restaurants and Bars
We went to the dinning room every day we fell in love with their soups and the breads were so fresh it was heaven.The morning breakfasts were ok you can have your eggs any way you like, They dont have a ton of different dishes but you could always find some thing to eat ..l know we never lost any weight there. If you want a special lobster or shrimp dinner see Alfredo the chef and he will arrange it for 15 piesco about $20 canadian and it is worth it. Their fries are great.If you want spicey ask for their HOT sauce. We went every evening after supper to the lobby bar for spanish coffees they make the best ever.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool was always clean and there was always chairs and loungers all over the place and if there wasnt enought they never complainded if you took a lounge bed from the pool area. The pool bar is always open and they have lunch sandwiches and hot dogs every day, and coffee. Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
You can play games with them Bingo, volley ball. and they love british foot ball (soccer). they have exercise classes and pool clases and dance classes they love to be with people.We have been on just about every tour so please feel free to email us and we can let you know about them...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wish to be back there!"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Anya from Toronto  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
176 people found this review helpful

Resort is great! Just some tips while I remember:
1) Change your money in the airport as there is no bank in the resort and exchange rate is worth then in the airport
2)Take your own beach towels - the one's they have are small, only for petite people:). Normal size towels are limited.
3) Take swimming shoes if you plan to swim in the ocean 4)Google what is "blue bubble" fish (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physalia_physalis) Some days ocean is full of it :( Wish to be back there!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The snorkeling is very accessible"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Ginette from Winnipeg, Manitoba  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
201 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 29th to April 5th
We were well received at the resort. The reception was friendly and efficient.

Rooms:
Villas were comfortable and well kept.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is a necessary addition as the ocean is more suitable to snorkeling than swimming. The snorkeling is very accessible and the reefs and fish are quite beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We rented a mini-van for our family of five and spent a day at Varadero. We went to see the dolpin show and the kids swam with the dolphins, then we spent some time at a beautiful beach, and shopped in the most popular market. It was a great day!

Other Comments:
During our stay, we fell in love and "adopted" George, a little, black and tan "stray" dog. He lives on the resort, but doesn't really belong to anybody. The tourists take care of him. We were wondering if any recent visitors "met" George and if they could tell us how he is doing. Also, have any readers ever taken a dog back home from Cuba and, if so, would you have information about how to go about that and how long the process takes.... If anybody would like to provide such info, please contact me at my provided e-mail address. Thanks!

gpaille@mts.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube