Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Jibacoa > Jibacoa Hotel Index > Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)  

Via Blanca km 60, Playa Jibacoa, Santa Cruz Norte, La Habana, Cuba

"All you need."
Posted by: John  on Nov 18, 2015
see all reviews

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Reviews
Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Pictures and Information
Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Jibacoa Cuba

#2
of 2 Hotels in Jibacoa

User rating 4.1

Based on 38 reviews

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Information


On the splendid Arroyo Bermejo Beach, nature lovers and divers alike will enjoy the incredible reefs that offer great snorkeling and diving.

Villa Trópico (Cameleon) is a Beachfront property in Jibacoa with proper facilities and good service, offering excellent value for money.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Reviews

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 4.1 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  16
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (25)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
1 - 10 of 38

"Computer stolen out of the room"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  andreas  on Dec 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
574 people found this review helpful

Actually the hotel seems to be a nice place, good meals, nice staff, direct on the beach, nice athmosphere especially for families - but: as the safe in the room is very little I had to let my computer outside the room - and the last day I had to notice that it was stolen - the door was not broken, it must be stolen from someone who has a key - I spend in the hotel nice days, but this was a very, very bad experience!!!!!

Room Number:
43

Arrival:
16.12.11

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very very very very disappointed!"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jane  on May 1, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
300 people found this review helpful

This resort is categorized as a 3*. The week we were there April 22-29,2011 it was definitely a 1*. I have been to Cuba twelve times, to other 3 & 4* resorts. This was definitely the worst. It had good things about it....the grounds were well kept, the rooms were clean & the air conditioning in the rooms worked well. There were no garbage cans on the beach so there was lots of litter, everything was uphill from the beach so this made hiking tough for older people + there was absolutely no air conditioning at the Buffet Restaurant.....EVER! This was totally unbearable! Food was very sparse. If you weren't right there when the Buffet opened there was no food left....nothing was ever replenished.
A poor quality resort...not worth the money at all. We'll never return!

Room Number:
85

Room Block:
81-87

Arrival:
Arriving at the Varadaro Airport was painful. It took over an hour for our luggage to come through the conveyor belt. It was stifling hot...no air conditioning + there was no bank to convert our Canadian money.

Rooms:
We had requested our room be close to the beach. We were placed the farthest from the beach. This was difficult for two old gals as everything was uphill.
Room was large, comfortable, air conditioning was great. Beds were comfortable but the sheets did not fit the size of the bed...they were clean though! The rooms were thoroughly cleaned daily. The shower was a huge walk in shower and after we requested that the broken shower nozzle be fixed it worked well.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet where you ate breakfast, lunch & supper had no air conditioning. It was absolutely unbearable by supper time. This spoiled this resort for us!
The Lobby Bar was excellent...great coffee with whipped milk at 7:00a.m. & delicious but deadly Spanish Coffee in the evening. The Pina Colada's were delicious too!!!!
Ruddy the bartender was wonderful. He even converted a bit of Canadian money for us when the Reception had "no money" for four days!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was quiet and private. Best place to swim was in front of the lobby area because the coral was less. Beach chairs are the white plastic type and not in abundance. At 7:00a.m. we reserved our beach chairs each morning.
There is lots of litter on the beach BECAUSE there are no garbage cans...not one!
The pool was relatively small. The pool loungers are sturdy & attractive. The Cuban Restaurant by the pool was adequate...at least they had fans!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Hobbie Cat ride was great! The paddle boats are available daily. Equipment is old but still operational. One young fella manned the equipment and he was very friendly.

Other Comments:
This resort is all up hill from the beach.....you climb to your room & the Buffet Restaurant. There are no Porters to help you find your room or lug your luggage. People arriving late at night wonder around in the dark.
This resort had no Cuban money for four days therefore people could not get their beach towel vouchers or their room safe because they could not get any Cuban money.
There was no air conditioning in the Buffet Restaurant....EVER! It was totally unbearable come suppertime.
The food was very sparse compared to other resorts. The dessert table had the same three cakes each night. Supper is advertised to be from 7:00-9:30p.m. We went one night at 8:15p.m. & there was nothing left other than dried out pasta and rice. POOR....POOR....POOR!!!!!!
We will never return!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"will not return"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  shawn  on Feb 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
259 people found this review helpful

just got back from this resort the weather was chilly but at least it did not snow

Your Arrival:
the flight was good got through customs pretty fast and when we got outside the bus was all ready for everyone got to the resort check-in was nice and easy where is was late there was no one to show us where the room was but we found it ok

Rooms:
they had us checked in to room #83 when we went in there was a bottle of water and some sandwiches with fruit also a gift of a bottle of rum then we turned on lights in washroom the whole floor was covered in ants and some kind of worms so we went back to front desk to get a new room but we had to wait until morning to see the cleaning lady to find another room the next day they put us in room #67 which was great

Restaurants and Bars:
the restaurant was terrible the only good food is what you watched them cook in front of you, another thing was as soon has you would get in the door one of the waiters was trying to sell illegal cigars to me and trying to get me to hire him for a driver anyway after the second day we both got food poisoing and spent the next 4 day in bed the bars were excellent when we got there .Did not eat again until we were on the plane.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
not to much to say about this area the beach was good,the pool was really nice when you could get in there,the grounds were kept nice and clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
did not do or see much was in room sick

Other Comments:
i will not go back to this resort ever again and this was my 5ft time in cuba and this was the worst , they should really check the buffet staff i think they are stealing the good food and serving the crap food just wal around the restaurant and you will see things

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bof"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  annick maucollin  on Aug 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
665 people found this review helpful

Hotel situé au fond de nul part. Belle plage mais mer remplie d'algues ne vous invitant pas à la baignade. Chambre simple mais correcte, assez grande. Buffet pour les repas des plus ordinaires : riz, poulet.
Bien pour une nuit en passage mais pas plus

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent value"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  EVANGELINE  on May 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
484 people found this review helpful

The people who said it was all uphill must be from Sask! Granted it is a little rise from beach to dining room but otherwise pretty flat. True the air conditioning in buffet was always off, but we never found that to be a problem. We met many people who had been there before (our 4th time there) Food is good. Desserts not so good except the ice cream. we arrived late and a porter helped us with our luggage and there were two tasty sandwiches waiting in our fridge. Staff is good. rooms are clean and grounds are well groomed. for the price I think it is excellent value.

Room Number:
51

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Everything was wonderful except the food"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Violet  on Feb 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
242 people found this review helpful

This was our 9th trip to Cuba over the past 20 years. We speak from some experience. We have stayed in every mannner of accomodation, from a 5 star hotel in Havana to bed and breakfasts and very basic Cuban hotels where few tourists dare to tread, and everything in between.

Your Arrival:
very smooth

Rooms:
Better than expected. Very clean, well-maintained. Better than most 3-stars.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were great. The restaurants: The only black mark against this place, and unfortunately it is serious enough that until it is fixed, we will not be returning. The guests are not getting the food they are paying for here, specifically, the meat. We have been to Cuba enough to know the signs of theft and corruption, and that is what is happening. The past 2 years we stayed in a 2 star with much better meat. There should have been much more of it and it should have been better quality. Empty chicken boxes out by the road behind the buffet are some of the evidence! That the chef is confident enough to be selling illegal lobster in the a la carte every night speaks to the level of corruption here, similarly with the head waiter in the buffet who openly peddles illegal cigars to the guests. We have never seen anything like that in all of our travels to Cuba. They are not in the least discreet. People who have not travelled extensively in Cuba have no idea that they are not receiving the food they are paying for here, and are actually tipping those chefs. They think it is the best Cuba has to offer. That is so wrong. We should not have been given the tough meat and bony fish we were. It was being substituted for what we should have received. And we should not have had to beg for second measely portions of the more tender meat and turkey from the meat carvers. I have no doubt that our food was going somewhere else.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
lovely- again, well-maintained and clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very good. Enjoyed the hikes, the animation team tried their best to get people involved. The entertainment programs are excellent and better than we expected in a 3 star.

Other Comments:
Except for the food, this resort is excellant value. What is happening with the food and the corruption in the restaurants is a shame and an embarrassment to Cuba. For the sake of the many honest, hard-working staff at this hotel, it needs to be stopped.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Times"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  diane  on Apr 30, 2012  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
489 people found this review helpful

Great quick flight with Air Transat flying Club Class. They sure know how to pamper travellers. Quick through customs and didn't have to wait long for our luggage.
We had the good fortune to be able to return to our favourite little spot. We were admittedly hesitant after the cutbacks from last year and weren’t sure what changes there would be this year, so we went with an open mind but with thoughts this would perhaps be our last year. Well, happily we were not disappointed. I won’t repeat what other reviewers have posted and agree with most of the reviews.
The food this year, was a step up from last as they seemed to have discovered some spices and salt and some dishes were quite tasty. The fish, oh my … fantastic. They have added large quantities of pastry at a separate table and they too were delicious. Didn’t like the added dish of rabbit but for others, they enjoyed it. They added bottles of various sauces like HP sauce, salsa etc which was a nice touch.
We did notice the absence of cats this year; perhaps they recently "cleaned" them up. With that said there was an abundance of little geckos all around which we had never seen before. No cats and more geckos?
Wonderful to see staff again although we felt bad since there was a group of young teenagers who were a handful for staff. Their behaviour consisted of being in a continual drunken state and oblivious to the disruption they were causing everyone. The mothers that were with them simply turned a blind eye and was quite ok with them being the drunken idiots that they were. To destroy property in Cuba is unbelievable particularly when it’s not like they can run out to Walmart to replace equipment. Hope those mothers were proud of their children. Many guests got little sleep until the kiddies went to bed.
The water was awesome with only a few red flag days. Did some great snorkeling but had to stop due to an ear problem. Dive shop boys helpful as usual.
Had the most exquisite meal at a house up the road which has just recently opened up. Huge quantity of food and for 15 pesos you just can’t go wrong.
The newly renovated building was quite nice looking and the rooms tastefully done. Still enjoyed our little cabana though.
All in all we have a wonderful week and look forward to returning in the future.
Pat & Diane, North Bay Ontario

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Summer camp for grownups"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marie-Eve  on Jan 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
200 people found this review helpful

...

Your Arrival:
Arrived late at nigth (with two hours of delay cause of some flight problems), the front desk staff was efficient though noone cared to show us out room. We had to figure out for ourself where it was, which was relatively easy with the directions around the site. There was a lite lunch waiting for us in the minibar - cheese and ham sandwich with cut fruits. There was also a full bottle of water as well as a silver rum bottle as a welcome gift.

Rooms:
The room was nice and very well located. We were in room 40, the closest to the beach and the pool bar. We had a large porch area, a queen bed, large bathroom with towels, TV with satellite (which proved VERY useful given the AWFUL weather we had all week long lol), a mini bar... the usual.

The AC seems to work fine, though it was so cold during the week that we wished for heating instead of AC... which the room didnt offer. We piled up the blankets and eventually even put towels at the bottom of the door to block the wind from coming in (our room facing the sea, it was even more windy than elsewhere on the site). The maid came everyday and did a nice job, with the daily towel art and a very respectful all around cleaning. . Our friends had twin beds instead of a queen, with separate linens. They asked for queen sheets with a written note to their maid and got them the same day. All in all, a good service.

The reviews about bugs are true, though : there was ants in our room as soon as we left any food around, even for a short time, and that included the glasses emptied from their drinks and even the plastic straw. Just dont let anything stand without washing them carefully and you should be ok.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bar were very nice, especially the bra staff. My favorites definitely were the night guys from the pool bar, but being a Québécoise, I am definitely biased by their very cute French ;-) The drinks were allright, mostly rum based, and the one sort of beer offered (the Cristal) was very nice too. I would have liked a little more variety, but we knew that a 3stars in Cuba couldnt offer the moon...

The restaurant definitely was the point that I wish would have been better. I am a foodie, and though I was prepared for a very humble sort of food, the lack of variety eventually was sort of sad. Everyday the buffet offered pastas with two sort of sauce, a grilled meat (pork 80% of the time, burgers the rest of the time), salad made of cucumbers and cabbage and tomatoes, some bread and that was about it. We found something at each meal, and everything was very honest adn not as bland as some people have put it, but I would have taken some variety.

The "À la carte" dinner was nice : a nice, classier ambiance, table service, four services including a nice shrimp apperizer and a choice of beef, pork, poultry or fish as main dish. The pool "collation" kitchen offered ham and cheese "paninis" everyday beetween meal time and though very simple, those were something my friends and I liked very much!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The week we were there was especially cold and we were able to swim in the sea only two of the seven days because of wave conditions and jellyfishs. Given that state of thing, we would have wished to use the pool more, but it was so damn cold we only dared once. I understand we were in a very bad week and that it would been very surprising for a cuban resort to have heated outdoor pool, but it would have been really appreciated.

Other than that, the beach is relatively nice and especially quiet : no need to run every morning to "reserve" your chair. The highlight of the resort isnt its beach, though, it definitely is its coral reef and snorkeling opportunities. We only got to swim twice, but those two days are the best memories ill keep of my trip: with basic snorkeling equipment (that you can also borrow at the hotel), youll get to swim to the reef that is about 250 meters from the shore, and there youll witness the wonderful variety the cuban seas as to offer in terms of fishs and corrals and anemones, in a setting that dazzled me. Honestly, all the time you can spend in the water, do so : just be careful as some of the reef are covered in corrals that can scratch you and the waves can be traitorous.

The grounds were very nice, well kept and relatively clean. Every morning, we would walk into one of the gardener that would offer us girls a few flowers for our room or to put in our hair. There were also a few cute stray dogs around, all very friendly. If I ever go back to that resort, I will be sure to pack dog treats in, for the dogs, though everyone was rather nice to them and, therefore, was probably giving them bits of this or that, all looks relatively underfed...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the Jeep Nature Safari on one of the days we couldnt use the beach and we were really happy we did. The guide was lovely and we had the best of time driving like crazy on the small muddy roads, trying to get the jeep as dirty as possible!! The stops during the day were OK but all in all, it was a great opportunity to get out of the resort and see the area (the Matanzas region especially).

Instead of taking the organized tour of La Habana, we dealt a "taxi" with someone from the hotel. The car picked us up out of the hotel and drove us to the capital and back for 70 pesos - a real deal! Our driver didnt speak english but we managed to communicate with him anyway and he dropped us where we wanted and waited for us all day. He offered to take us around town, but we prefered to do it by foot - and boy are we glad we did! Our daytrip to La Habana is definitely one of my favorite part of the trip. It is a wonderful city, vibrant, colorful... an happy sort of mess, too!! Everything looks and feels like it was stuck in time, and we had a very good time walking aorund the old part of the city and through 'real streets' to the Capitolio. I highly recommend taking a day of your stay at Jibacoa for exploring the capital : it will add a lot to your comprehension of Cuba and its people.

We also went and have a dinner at a local fisherman's house. It was also organised with someone from the hotel. We were offered langoustines, rice, manioc, banana chips, salad, all this for 15 pesos per person. It was a very unique experience, getting into those people's house, eating at their table, getting to see how they live. Its illegal but a lot of people do it anyway, just listen or ask around at the hotel : youll find what you need!

Other Comments:
What really made our stay special definitely was the staff. They were all genuinely fun and welcoming and we felt at home in a matter of no time at all. Given the horrible weather, we would have liked a little bit more daytime activities (baseball, sand castle contests, anything!!), but it gave us plenty of time to relax and get rested! The animation team, the bar staff, the waitresses, everyone was awesome!

We were told to bring things to offer our maid, little gifts from the dollar store. After talking very openly about life and money with a few people there, we understood what was really needed was clothes. Should we go back, I would take the 20 bucks we put in stupid dollar stores things and use it to buy secondhand, clean, useful clothes. Shoes, jeans, skirts, dress shirts... everything is needed and could make a HUGE difference to those people. And think of offering your present to people that dont usually receive anything from tourists : maids will get a lot of gifts, as well as the waitress, and bar staff are receiving lots of tips compared to others. The gardeners, lifeguards and security guards from the beach dont get anything at all : to them, your two-dollars shirt will be a true gift.

All in all, I really liked my stay at the Jibacoa Villa. We knew all along it wasnt going to be a luxury stay, and it wasnt. But otherwise, it kept all its promises : very relax, laid-back atmosphere, friendly staff, great snorkeling, quiet setting. I would definitely go back and I recommand it to anyone looking for a different sort of stat in Cuba, something more like a summer camp for adults than a big international hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great resort in cuba"

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Penni  on Feb 19, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
252 people found this review helpful

We just back from Cuba yesterday and we have been going to the same resort for 4 years and will go got again.Altho this year the weather was chilly we still had a great time, we .went into town on the cloudy days..if you go please say hi to Maddy for us she is the entertainer she is a special girl.

Your Arrival:
The flight was fine nothing special...the bus was ready for us when we landed and the driver was very nice and funy he pointed out things on the trip...the resort staff we good, we had emailed and asked for 4 rooms together and we got them. The staff were friendly and got us all checked in quickly.

Rooms:
We had emailed them and asked for 4 rooms together and we got great ones ..altho no room is a bad room they are all great...but we got rooms 101 102 103 and 104 they are hugh rooms with three beds they would be great for familys but you have to ask for them...the rooms were great,roomy extra dresser and fridge and l would ask for them again.

Restaurants and Bars:
The lobby bar is always open by 6.30am for coffee and serve drinks untill 11pm they make the best spanish coffees our group had one every night, the bar staff are great and like to put on a little show with new comers they are a great bunch..if you go say hi to Rudy for us,,hes the head bar tender.
The dinning room is open from 7am to 9am for breakfast then reopens for 1pm to 3pm for lunch then 7pm to 9pm for dinner you have to also reolize the resort is a three star and they have good food but not a hugh veriry but we had no problem finding some thing we liked..they only have ice cream at lunch time, their soups are wonderfull and fresh bread every meal...
The pool bar staff are wonderfull they always make our day...they stay open untill all the guests go in ...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is cleaned every day by 7am and and chairs are always there and plenty of them with little huts for shade..there are two pools side by side normal one and a shallow one for kids and non swimmers..always clean.They are constantly cleaning the grounds and painting the rooms to keep them nice, they rake the grounds every day and we were there in a storm and the minute it stopped raining the grounds keepers were out picking up leaves ect

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They have bingo evry day at 12 noon they have games and singalongs, they have their resort dance every day...you can go on a hike every day with them or go into town the taxies are very comfortable and clean...they like to play soccer and boco ball they also have tennis courts all free. The trips into town were great but the best is to hire a taxie and guide dont pay any more then 6 paysos for four people.

Other Comments:
We have been to this resort for four years straight and we love it the snorkling is amazing and the staff go beyond to please you..if youare going please take tooth brushes...pencils.. sucker and crayons they cant get this stuff.... last thing my husband got sick from nat bites and had to see the doctor he was WONDERFULL he gave Ted a needle to help him the rest of us were fine,,,so if you need to go to the doctors be assured he is great and speaks english..take benadril and bug spray.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent value and will return."

Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa)
User Rating:  Villa Trópico (Cameleon Villa Jibacoa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Trish  on Feb 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
492 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
17

Arrival:
We arrived late in the evening and the front desk staff were very efficient and friendly. Within 1/2 hour of arriving at the resort we were in our room. Thankfully there was bottled water, a bottle of rum, and sandwiches in the fridge (which we did not eat). A note on the sandwiches - during our stay we saw numerous cleaning staff with stacks of these sandwiches on their carts. Considering they would be cleaning rooms from about 10 a.m. until around 3 p.m., I would not recommend anyone eat them.

Rooms:
Rooms very basic but the cleaning staff do an amazing job of cleaning. Floors are dampmopped every day, clean towels, toilet paper stocked up, and entertaining towel art. Air conditioning works excellent, we were actually cold the first night we were there. No bugs in the room, lots of VERY hot water but the walls are paper thin and you can easily hear noise from connecting rooms. A tip: when booking your room ask for one away from the pool area. A couple we met had a room close to the pool and they were kept awake numerous times by the people partying there very late at night. Although "quiet hour" is supposed to start at 11, the resort does not enforce this.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet is repetitive but....you learn how to mix it up. The breads and pastries are absolutely amazing as well as their unique pasta salads. Bars - well the bartenders are just fantastic! I have never experienced barstaff who were so friendly and entertaining. The drinks come in small cups so bring bubba mugs and be sure to try a Spanish coffee.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We loved the beach, excellent for snorkeling. We didn't stay in the pool area long due to a boisterous family who insisted on screaming constantly every day, all day but that isn't the resort's fault. We always found empty chairs on the beach and the bonus was that there are a lot of shade trees you can pull your chair under when the sun gets too hot. The grounds are immaculate - the gardeners start bright and early every day trimming trees and bushes. Emilio brought me flowers every day to keep in our room.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not a lot of activities compared to other resorts but that is not why we go on vacation. Basically there is peddle boats, hobie cats, beach volleyball, and numerous games at the pool. Off the resort - climb the large hill next to the resort - a guide from the hotel can take you just ask at the front desk. The view from the top of the hill is amazing and the walk down provides you with a taste of true Cuban culture as you literally visit a small Cuban farm. Also, if you are wanting to do any excursions/bus trips, first check with the bartender(s) as they will give you good advice on where to go. I also recommend hiring a cab to take you into Old Havana (don't take the bus trip). Our cab driver took us and another couple, we left at 9 a.m. and didn't get back to the resort until 6:30 p.m. for just 70 CUCS (less than 20 per person). He took us to all of the sights we wanted to see and never made us feel rushed at all. He also spoke really good English which was a plus.

Other Comments:
Tips:
Bring kleenex, bugspray (mosquitoes at night),water shoes.
Don't be scared to leave the resort to go to restaurants in neighbouring towns (by cab). The food is amazing and extremely cheap. My lobster dinner (3 lobster tails on one plate!) was 15 CUCs. I felt guilty because I couldn't eat it all.
The resort gets money on Mondays so if you are getting low be sure to get more on the Friday or Saturday as they tend to run out on Sundays. The neighbouring resort will not sell you any CUCs.

This resort is the perfect place to go and relax. You will be treated like royalty by all of the staff. We had an amazing experience and will return again. You can't get better value for the money you pay for this trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube