Club Amigo Caracol Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Club Amigo Caracol reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Santa Lucia Hotels with Similar Ranking

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia

4.3 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 28, 2014

Club Amigo Mayanabo

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2016

Club Amigo Caracol  

Playa Santa Lucía, Nuevitas, Camagüey, Cuba

"Great hotel"
Posted by: Thomas on Nov 10, 2014
see all reviews

Club Amigo Caracol Reviews
Club Amigo Caracol Pictures and Information
Club Amigo Caracol Playa Santa Lucia Cuba

#2
of 5 Hotels in Playa Santa Lucia

User rating 4.2

Based on 16 reviews

Club Amigo Caracol Information


Santa Lucia’s Hotel Club Amigo Caracol sits on a beautiful stretch of beach that is surrounded by tropical palm trees. Here you can enjoy water sports or work on your perfect tan. The 132 rooms, including two rooms especially equipped for people with a disability, are bright and cheerful. Club Amigo Caracol is a perfect choice for people who enjoy to dive and snorkel. For those who like to soak up some of Cuba’s history and culture, the city of Camagüey makes for an excellent daytrip.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Amigo Caracol Reviews

Club Amigo Caracol Review: 4.2 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  11
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (4)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 10 of 16

"hotel adorable mais rendu trop dispendieux"

Club Amigo Caracol
User Rating:  Club Amigo Caracol Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. rollande gendron  on Mar 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Jan, 1998
514 people found this review helpful

Cet hotel est merveilleux si on veut se reposer. Il est beaucoup plus cher que l'an passé. C'est comme une famille ce petit coin de paradis. Tous les employés donnent un excellent service,et ce toujours avec le sourire même si ils ont très chaud eux aussi. Oui c'est un hôtel que je recommande!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Caracol is a wonderful little hotel"

Club Amigo Caracol
User Rating:  Club Amigo Caracol Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  eeeefarm from Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  9 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
271 people found this review helpful

Tour Operator: Nolitours/ Air Transat.

General Comments:
Caracol is a small three star resort with only 150 rooms. This was my second visit.Last time I travelled with friends, this trip was made solo. I had enjoyed Caracol very much last year, but wasn't sure what to expect since the fall season of hurricanes. I was delighted to find the resort has actually improved! I had a wonderful week, and will definitely be returning next year.

Flight & Arrival:
Our flight was delayed out of Pearson due to a maintenance problem. Once this was resolved, we were on our way.....perhaps an hour late. Flight was otherwise uneventful. Service in Club Class was good. On arrival I had to report for a Customs secondary inspection, due to a Not Just Tourists humanitarian aid suitcase I was transporting, but after a brief inspection and a few questions I was on my way. My third NJT suitcase, and the first time anyone has wanted to look at it. The bus ride to Santa Lucia is about 90 minutes, which passed fairly quickly. On arrival, guests were informed the buffet restaurant had been kept open for them and were directed there prior to checking in. Since I was not hungry (due to the ample food in Club Class) I waited at the front desk and checked in almost immediately.

Rooms::
I had a wonderful ocean view room in the same area as last year. The main difference was this year there were no sticky windows or balcony doors. Everything is new and worked well. The bed was a bit hard for my liking, a not unusual problem for me in Cuba. There is a sitting room as well as a bedroom. The small balcony opens off the sitting room on one side. On the other is a large window. It is best to draw the curtain when the sun hits this window, to keep things from getting too warm. In the sitting room there is a mini fridge. (not stocked). The television in the bedroom is mounted fairly high and is easy to see. The air conditioner is likewise mounted high, with a remote control. Very convenient to use. Water pressure is great, with ample hot water. Be careful, as the water truly is hot, due to the solar heaters on the roof. I love the layout of the units at Caracol. Only four rooms per unit, two up, two down. Very little noise transmission between them. Noise from outside is another matter, and the nearby disco can be an issue depending on where your room is located. I had no problems with noise except for a few late night revelers who slammed doors and talked loudly on a couple of occasions. For those who have been to Caracol before, I note that the room key is now the standard magnetic strip type, but the key to the safety box is still a physical key. They are now charging a steep (35 CUC!) returnable deposit for this key, as well as a rate of 6 CUC/week for the safety box. I expect they have had issues with people losing keys, which are likely difficult to replace. In any case, when you return your key you now have your airport tax in hand, plus a little extra for last minute expenses.

Restaurants and Bars::
The food at the buffet restaurant has improved since last year. I found the selection and quality very good and especially noticed that the desserts were very tasty. There is a pasta bar at lunch and in the evening, and the usual omelets and eggs made to order at breakfast. The fresh fruit was wonderful, particularly the grapefruit. Several evenings there was a musical quartet entertaining at supper time. There are two a la carte restaurants, International and Cuban, but in reality they occupy the same physical space and operate at different hours. This close to the beach restaurant area is no longer used as a snack bar at lunch, which is unfortunate. It has a wonderful view, but suffers from exposure to the wind. As yet there are no screens to shield you, so dinner can be a bit breezy, to say the least! I found the food at the a la carte was much improved from last year. One quibble.....no wine available unless you want to buy a bottle. The buffet has very decent wine available at lunch and dinner. The snack bar on the path to the beach operates from late morning to mid afternoon. Burgers, hot dogs, fries, the usual snack bar fare. Also serves as the beach bar. The pool bar is being renovated and a small temporary one is in use at the moment. I don't believe the swim up bar is operational at this time, but should reopen soon. The lobby bar is 24 hours and great for morning coffee no matter how early you want it, unlike some four star resorts I could name. I also got a wonderful Spanish coffee there in the evening.....last year nobody knew how to make one! For some reason, beer is not available at the lobby bar. No big deal, but a little strange. Nolitours still has the "dine around" option with Mayanabo, next door. You may go once per week to sample their buffet.

Beach::
Santa Lucia beach is protected by a coral reef about a mile offshore. The water near the beach has a lot of sea grass, which is constantly washing in, making it a full time job to clean the beach. The resorts do their best, but there is usually some debris along the beach. That said, it is a very long beach with firm sand for walking. Because the sea grass can hide shells and bits of coral, footwear is a good idea. If you are barefoot, you need to pay attention. There are a few palapas for shade, and less trees since the hurricane, but I had no problem finding a chair.For swimming, water shoes will guard against coral and the occasional sea urchin. For snorkelling, the beach is very good! There is a patch of coral and rocks about 300 meters straight out in front of Caracol, and there are lots of fish to be seen there. I notice that people have been feeding them and they are becoming habituated to this, which is unfortunate. You may see lots of fish when you feed them, but you will miss out on the rare, interesting ones. Besides, it is not good for the fish or the environment. Please don't do it.

Pool::
Shade is at a premium here. It's available, but probably not enough to go around when the area is crowded. I didn't bother swimming here as I spend my time at the beach. The pool was cleaned every morning without fail.

Internet::
Caracol has internet access this year, and although there is only one computer I found the service to be very good. It is available 24 hours, so you can always find a time to send an email, and it is economical, at only 6 CUC/hour. The speed is at least as good as my dial up at home.

Activities::
The usual selection....Spanish lessons, dancing, beach volleyball, etc. I didn't bother. Sailing is another story. I love it, and with the exception of the first couple of days when it was extremely windy and red flags were flying, I went out every day. Because the wind was high most of the week, I had some very memorable sailing.....fast, wet, fun!! Snorkelling, as I have mentioned, is also very good, and possible even on windy days, since the reef keeps the wave action to a minimum. Kite boarders also find the lack of big waves attractive. There were several enjoying the wind, which made swimming and snorkelling a bit hazardous as you had to keep a look out for them. There are decent bicycles if you want to ride to Coco Beach or around Santa Lucia......or just down the road to the other hotels. It's always interesting to check out the local crafts for sale, which vary somewhat from resort to resort. There seem to be no issues with Security as far as visiting other resorts....I had no problem walking around Brisas to meet a friend.

Evening entertainment::
There is a show every night, but I did not attend.

Tours::
There are several available. Camaguey is one destination. You can go for the whole day for 45 CUC including your lunch. You can also do the "last day" tour, which gives you a look at the city on your way to the airport and also includes lunch, priced at 29 CUC. Catamaran Playa Bonita for 55 CUC which includes snorkelling, lunch and a open bar. Also, for those who only wish to snorkel, the Coral tour is priced at 25 CUC and just takes you out to the reef. There is a lobster dinner at Coco Beach available for 25 CUC. There is deep sea fishing available as well.

Money::
A Cadeca on site for money exchange, just beside the front desk.

Grounds::
Well maintained, with gardeners busy from the early hours before it is too hot.

Staff::
Excellent staff at this resort. Friendly, helpful, and a lot of fun.

Bugs::
There weren't any! It was very windy much of the week, and a bit chilly in the evenings. That's probably the reason for the lack of insects. I did see a few ants in my washroom a couple of times. Nothing significant and not a problem.

Misc.::
There are taxis and horse & buggy taxis available to go to town or Coco Beach. Horseback riding is available as well.

Conclusion::
Caracol is a wonderful little hotel with terrific staff, decent food, excellent accommodation, and a very friendly atmosphere. What it lacks in 4 star amenities it makes up for with heart. It's definitely worth going back to....and I shall.

Photos: http://s11.photobucket.com/albums/a179/eeeefarm/Caracol%20Santa%20Lucia%202009/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"beautiful place , beautiful residents"

Club Amigo Caracol
User Rating:  Club Amigo Caracol Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  ada  on Mar 5, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
880 people found this review helpful

Beautiful spot, will return again. The weather was perfect. Our trip Was started Feb 12-19 the weather was perfect, the place was spotless. It was a little older but it fit in well with Cuban flair. I mean if you want luxury then you need not go. It was very clean but normal. The service was excellent, The food was good a little too much of the same thing but we survived. The residents is what made our week right. We took a lot of stuff down with us and we gave it to the locals ourselves. They were so happy, It is important to care for the people there. They are so kind and will share what little they have , with you. We actually made a good friend there . ELio and his family will be our friends for years to come Looking foreward to going back soon. SPome people we met there have been going to this resort for the last 15 years , same time every year. It is like on big family therre. You will not be disappointed. Oh yeah, it is festival at that time as well...they celebrate St. Valentine ...1 week of music and dance 24/7. WE loved i so much

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great snorkelling, fabulous sailing, lots of fun!"

Club Amigo Caracol
User Rating:  Club Amigo Caracol Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  eeeefarm  on Mar 7, 2010  >  12 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
458 people found this review helpful

eeeefarm Ontario Canada

This was my fourth visit to this resort. I travelled with friends who had accompanied me here two years ago, so we all knew what to expect. We were not disappointed!

Your Arrival:
We travelled with Sunwing and arrived at the airport in the pouring rain, not an auspicious beginning to our vacation! However, after the usual 90 minute bus trip, our greeting at the hotel was cordial and it was suggested that we proceed to the buffet in order to eat before it closed. Once we had satisfied our hunger, check in went quickly and the bell boys delivered our bags to our rooms. It was still raining, so that put a bit of a damper on our first night!

Rooms:
I love the rooms at Caracol. The sitting room entry is a nice touch and gives a feeling of space. My friends particularly like this feature, as it gives flexibility if one person wants to sleep and the other prefers to sit up and read a book. We had requested upstairs and received rooms across from each other on the second floor. Location was close to the beach, but unfortunately not the ocean view we had enjoyed previously. However, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and I had no complaints. There was always ample hot water and great water pressure. The A/C is controlled by remote and worked well.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant was just fine, usual Cuban fare. Made to order omelets and eggs for breakfast and a large assortment of other items. Grapefruit has been especially nice in Cuba this year, and I wasn't disappointed at Caracol. Breads were fresh and tasty. Lunch and supper featured pasta bar and something on the grill (fresh salmon fillets one night!) There is entertainment at dinner most nights. A four member group sings Cuban songs and requests (and will offer their CD for purchase).

The a la carte is currently offered in one end of the buffet restaurant and is nothing special. However, the dine around at Mayanabo next door is still available and worth doing. They have a great buffet, although the guests are very enthusiastic when the doors open. We likened it to a "feeding frenzy"! But we enjoyed the change of scene for one evening.

The snack bar is a wonderful open air spot for lunch. Good fish and fries, and a nice place to sit and view the ocean.

The lobby bar is open early for coffee and would be a great place to sit except that people smoke and the area is not big enough to get away from it, so I would take my coffee and go elsewhere. The pool bar is fine to grab a drink and sit watching the dancers rehearse.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach at Santa Lucia is nice firm white sand, somewhat marred by all the sea grass that drifts in. It is cleaned every day, but there is an endless supply and it isn't long before more accumulates. If you walk west past the pier you will find a very long stretch of uninhabited beach to walk, but there is debris and it is best to wear shoes. Water shoes are advisable for swimming, as there are stones and coral in the water. I never entered the sea without my snorkel fins, so it wasn't an issue for me!

The pool was cleaned every morning. It features a swim up bar. I'm not a pool person, so didn't use it. Lots of chairs and shade available at both the beach and pool.

The grounds are well maintained and pleasant to walk through. Gardeners are on the job early before it gets too hot.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went for the snorkelling and sailing, and had a great week for both. The weather was off a couple of days, but we made up for it the rest of the time. Good off the beach snorkelling is available here, (swim out about 300 meters from the pink nautical shack.....there is a patch of coral and rocky areas, lots of fish!) and also you can arrange transportation to the reef at the nautical centre. There is a more formal "coral tour" that uses the large Catamaran, and you can book that excursion. We didn't bother. In addition we went to Coco Beach with a horse and carriage and swam out to the sunken ship there. This is best done with a guide, as the currents can be strong depending on the tide.

There was a show every night, but I didn't stay around for it. After a full day I was ready to relax in my room. The dancers rehearse endlessly during the day and are interesting to watch.....they are very good!

Other Comments:
Internet is available and works quite well. There is only one computer but not many people were bothering to use it. Speed was decent for Cuba.....I could receive and send one email in about 3 minutes.

There is a gym which I didn't use. There are also books available....a library of sorts made from books others have left.

The Luna Mar restaurant right next door makes a nice change of pace, offering really good pizza at a great price. It had been suggested to me and we decided to try it. I highly recommend this restaurant. Four of us had lunch with drinks and desert for 24 CUC!

The staff at this resort are friendly and efficient. I had no complaints about service.

We had a great week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We will be returning to this resort!

Photos: http://s11.photobucket.com/albums/a179/eeeefarm/Caracol%20February%202010/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Friendly fun group at Caracol"

Club Amigo Caracol
User Rating:  Club Amigo Caracol Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  kate  on Mar 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
468 people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I just came back from the Caracol in Santa Lucia. We found the hotel rooms clean. The staff very friendly. The service to be great. The meals were a little lacking. Not much to chose from. But other than that everything went just excellent. They have an excellent massage person there! The beach is nice. There is security so no need to feel afraid. You are not bothered on the beach by beggars or persons trying to sell too many trinkets. There are no time share pitches. So overall... I'd say Cuba is WAY more fun than Mexico!

If you do decide to travel to Cuba. Do the people of Cuba a favor and bring along extra old clothes that are in good shape that you may have outgrown or decided to discard. Take along a whole spare suitcase full if you can. They especially would love used shoes, baby clothes, shampoos, lotions, medicines like tylenol or advil, makeup, essentially anything you are willing to bring is fair game for a well appreciated tip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amigo Caracol reopening Nov 1, 2010"

Club Amigo Caracol
User Rating:  Club Amigo Caracol Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marty  on Sep 26, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
420 people found this review helpful

Great News. The new renamed Club Amigo Caracol will reopen November 1st 2010. Received an email from then hotel outlining all the new upgrades. The Pool Bar/entertainment area has been rebuilt and completed along with the new second snack bar on the beach. All the rooms have been brought up to speed at the hotel during the 4 month closure. A new manager will be replacing the outgoing Spanish Manager and this should improve our lot. The friendly staff are one reason I would recomment this hotel plus a 24 hour bar/coffee availability. Unfortunately the next door Mayanabo has cut off coffee to visitors from 10 pm to 7pm taking a step backwards in the world 'All inclusive'. Between this hotel and the next door Grand Club Santa Lucia one can have a very nice vacation with a very low cost compared with the rest of the area

Arrival:
Never line up on arrival. Go and relax at the bar until everyone checks in..

Rooms:
Excellent rooms with outstanding bathrooms. Hint. Bring you own universal plug for the bathtub as these disappear in Cuba

Restaurants and Bars:
Great food with something for everyone.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
White beach and a very clean pool thanks to Pancho..

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Horseback riding, scooters etc

Other Comments:
I would highly recommend the Amigo Caracol. You will not be sorry.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Getting better all the time!"

Club Amigo Caracol
User Rating:  Club Amigo Caracol Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  eeee  on Mar 19, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
438 people found this review helpful

eeeefarm Ontario. This was my fifth visit to Caracol, and I travelled with my snorkel buddy and her husband. We've been there together three times.

Room Number:
507

Arrival:
This trip we went with Nolitours/Canjet and had a good experience on the flight and at the airport. On arrival at the hotel we quickly received our room keys and the bell boys transferred our luggage. With a morning arrival, we were on the beach shortly after lunch!

Rooms:
I love the rooms at Caracol. It feels like having a suite, since besides the bedroom and a good sized bathroom, you also have a sitting room with the balcony opening from it. The rooms are bright and cheerful, and seem quite spacious. I had a ground floor room for the first time, and it was just fine. There is a mini fridge in the sitting room, and of course a TV and A/C in the bedroom.

I should mention that as this is an older hotel, not everything always works quite as it should. I had a bit of a problem with sticking closet doors, and at one point with locking my safe, but everything was attended to promptly when I brought it to the attention of the front desk.

There is lots of room to hang up your clothes, and plenty of drawer space as well. There is no longer a deposit need for the safety box key, but you do pay 1 CUC/day for it, and the key is still a physical one. The room door keys are now a "tap" rather than slide arrangement, which I find more convenient.

The four piece bathroom is a decent size, and the water pressure and temperature were great. I shower in the afternoon, and always had ample hot water. My friend's husband reported that this was not always the case in the morning.....understandable, since the water is solar heated.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant offers the usual breakfast, with an omelet station and also pancakes made hot to order. Cereal wasn't plentiful, but fruit and wonderful fresh bread was always available, plus most mornings some wonderful croissants, hot from the oven. There was a popular pasta bar at both lunch and dinner. The line ups can get a bit long, but the pasta was worth it! Ice cream at both lunch and dinner as well. I thought the food had improved since my last visit and I enjoyed my meals.

We didn't try the a la carte, but judging from the repeat guests dinner, it is probably worth booking. We did do the "dine around" at Mayanabo, which was fine. In my opinion Caracol has the edge on Mayanabo in the food department, which has not always been the case.

The snack bar is great at lunch or in the afternoon. Burgers, hot dogs, fish & chips, all available in a super setting with a view of the ocean.

The lobby bar is still good for coffee however you like it. The beach bar is great for beer or a mixed drink. Screens for windy days would make it perfect. The snack bar is also a great place to relax with a drink. I didn't use the pool bar much, but it is handy and there is also a swim up bar. I am not a "pool person" and spend my days near the ocean.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were well kept and the beach was cleaned every morning. Santa Lucia has a protective reef, which results in healthy sea grass. Of course there is more debris washed on shore because of this.

There are quite a few palapas and chairs on the beach. The hotel was full, so on beautiful days the chairs were mostly occupied by the afternoon.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We came to Caracol for the sailing and snorkelling, and we were not disappointed. We had a great week and did a lot of snorkelling, discovering new and interesting fish almost every day. Sailing was also a blast, as we had some windy days that were great fun.

Other Comments:
Caracol has always been a nice hotel. In my opinion, it is improving all the time. The food is definitely better than before, and management and staff are absolutely first rate. I would give Caracol the distinction of having the best front desk staff I have encountered anywhere.

This is one of my favourite destinations in Cuba, so I could be accused of being a bit prejudiced. However, Caracol has never disappointed, and I would definitely recommend it for anyone who likes a small, comfortable hotel with great staff. Because it is small and a three star resort, it doesn't have all the amenities you might find elsewhere, but they do an outstanding job of making your vacation great. I will be back.

Photos: http://s11.photobucket.com/albums/a179/eeeefarm/Caracol%20March%202011/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First time in Cuba- Best experience!"

Club Amigo Caracol
User Rating:  Club Amigo Caracol Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Anna  on Jun 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
607 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
429

Arrival:
Check-in went relatively fast, but there weren't many of us. The ladies at the front desk were so nice and the bell boy was very kind. They could not be more warm and welcoming!

Rooms:
My sister and I aren't generally messy people, but our maid left our room sparkling clean every day! Honestly, her hard work never went unnoticed- from the artwork on the beds to the spotless floor. We left her a lot of gifts and she took the time to thank us personally. Halfway into our week long trip, we didn't bother locking our suitcases because if you get to know them, you'll learn that they really are nice and respectful people.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food is the sole reason why I didn't give this hotel 5 flowers. Don't get me wrong, the food was delicious, but halfway into our trip I lost my appetite due to the lack of variety. On our last day, we went to the a la carte restaurant and let me tell you- it is definitely worth it! I had the most succulent lamb chops (so much better than the stuff I've tried in Montreal) and my sister ordered the fried fish which looked and tasted sooo good. All of the servers were excellent, they were so friendly! I always looked forward to eating because they really made it a nice experience.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is a bit small, but we were there during their low-season so it wasn't much of a problem for us. The pool area was very well kept. Often times, the bathrooms wouldn't have toilet paper. If you're planning to visit Cuba in general, it's best to have some on you at all times- not all facilities have toilet paper in the first place. However, they were kept very clean. The beach did have a lot of dried seaweed but I saw a staff member collecting it with a truck regularly so it's not completely unpleasant.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment staff made our vacation that much more amazing. To say that these people are hard workers is an understatement- they spend hours and hours under the scorching sun each day rehearsing for the nights performances and they always do a flawless job! Games start at 10am everyday and they encourage everyone to participate without being too pushy. If it weren't for them, this would have just been any other ordinary vacation. Seriously, get to know them, they're so awesome! They gave me the best memories. We didn't go to the discos, as they call it, but we've heard a lot of amazing things. If you get the chance, go to the ones located right off of the resort. A lot of the entertainment staff go there after hours and they make it a safe and enjoyable experience, or so I've heard!

Other Comments:
I will ABSOLUTELY return to this resort- everything from the people to the service was exceptional and went well beyond my expectations. Why is this a three-star hotel?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Happy at Caracol"

Club Amigo Caracol
User Rating:  Club Amigo Caracol Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bryan  on Nov 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
531 people found this review helpful


Here is a tip from an experienced traveler Forget Negatives and Dwell on Positives and you should have a good time.


Room Number:
520

Room Block:
Oceanview

Arrival:
Staff. If you treat them how you would like to be treated yourself, you will never find friendlier people from the top Management to the Gardeners and Maids. You don’t have to tip, if you’re a descent friendly person you will be so happy with the service with a smile that you will want to tip. Try it, it works.

Rooms:

Rooms are better than any 4 star I’ve been to in Cuba, and I’ve been lucky to get to a lot since 1978. Rooms have an ensuite with a sofa, chair and small fridge. Deck or balcony has two chairs and a table. Bedroom is large with TV, wardrobe and some drawers. There are only two twin beds in rooms unless you have a Bungalow . Ther is a large bathroom, beware hot water it's very hot. Hair dryer in bathroom. Rooms only 220v but 110v at front desk.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant, some of the meals I had were, Beef, Lamb, Pork chops, Lasagna, Shrimps, I had 20.There was always Fish, and I even had Rabbit. Most of the time there’s Pasta also. The desserts are everybody’s favorites with lots of Ice cream. I gained weight.Don't compare Cuban cooking with Canadian, This is equal to most four stars in Cuba
The beach bar has good fish and chips, Grilled ham and cheese, hot dogs, hamburgers. Say Hi to Sanchez.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I suggest you wear beach shoes at all times. If you want to quietly, lie on a sandy beach and sunbathe, lay in the shade and have an occasional swim, Caracol is for you. If you love snorkeling the ocean has a lot of seaweed and further out there is the second largest coral reef in the world. The Great Barrier being the biggest. 200yds out from shore it is still only 5 to 6ft deep. Go straight out from the boat rental, and find little fish until you’re about 200yds where you find a Sandy Bottom with some coral and small bushes and you will then find a lot of bigger pretty fish.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Dave the Masseuse, Thank you for helping an old body
Dancers and Entertainers, Thankyou Babbi, Betty, Loiset, Jasmiony, Gretel, Alex, Chino, Raymond, Frankie[magician},George and all that I’ve missed, God Bless you for giving an older couple a wonderful time.

Other Comments:
Day Trips. The King Ranch is well worth a visit, I’ve been there twice. You will see the Ranch house and room that Fidel stayed in, Have a Cowboy Welcome and Drink, see a Cuban Rodeo, Horse back or Buggy ride for a couple of hours into the Cuban Village, people are very poor, visit their school house, enter a retired Ranch cooks home for espresso home made, taste the Fruits then back to Ranch for a pork dinner. Say Hi to Vincent for me. Not Expensive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best hotel in Santa Lucia Club Amigo Caracol"

Club Amigo Caracol
User Rating:  Club Amigo Caracol Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marty  on Mar 2, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
509 people found this review helpful

Just returned from Cuba and I must applaud the hotel and its staff. This is probably the best hotel in Santa Lucia due to its superior rooms and wonderful staff. The tourism gurus from Havana and Camaguey had their yearly review of the four major hotels and Caracol won hands down as best overall hotel plus the best day and nighttime entertainment staff. My hat is off to the hotel managers for their friendly attitudes and help to make everyone's vacation a memorial one. I would recommend this hotel for families..Marty

Room Number:
501

Arrival:
No problems on arrival but Cubana airlines have charted their Toronto Camaguey flighs.

Rooms:
These rooms are excellent with bathtubs, air and marble bathrooms

Restaurants and Bars:
Do not go to Santa Lucia for the food. The overall price is reasonable

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent beach and well maintained grounds

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The hotel was voted the best overall in the area and best day and night time entertainment staff.

Other Comments:
I would recommend this hotel for families as there are numerious childrens activities.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube