Club Ancon Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Club Ancon reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Trinidad Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Amigo Costa Sur

4.1 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 13, 2014

Finca Ma' Dolores

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 13, 2014

Las Cuevas

3.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 3, 2014

Club Ancon  

Carretera Maria Aguiar, Playa Ancon, Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus
(Playa Ancon Maps)

"wonderful hotel and close to the beach"
Posted by: mika on Aug 15, 2014
see all reviews

Club Ancon Reviews
Club Ancon Pictures and Information
Club Ancon Trinidad Cuba

#1
of 6 Hotels in Trinidad

User rating 4.2

Based on 28 reviews

Club Ancon Information


All inclusive resort is right on the beach near historic Trinidad (10 km), in a pleasent natural setting. Most rooms have seaviews.


Club Ancon official website
http://www.hotelancon-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Ancon Reviews

Club Ancon Review: 4.2 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  13
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (9)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"wonderful hotel and close to the beach"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  mika  on Aug 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
8 people found this review helpful

I stayed in block 3 of this wonderful hotel and that part of the room is very close to the beautiful Ancon beach. Since the room is close to the beach, the ocean view I had from my room was magnificent. The location is not such a good feature because it is far from the airport about 3 hours so it’s far for me. The rooms are reasonably sized, comfortable and clean, I loved it. The water is quite warm to swim in and I am guessing it is because of the season that we went in and I loved the beach too because I took part in the snorkeling activity. It has nice white sand that is good for walking on and I had a nice time on the beach as most of the time I usually just stayed back at the beach and spend just my evenings at the resort. I always found something to eat when it comes to food at the hotel; food was pretty good and appealing as well. When I am not in the resort or the beach, I just go into town to walk around and get to see some places, Trinidad is a wonderful city and there are lots to see and visit. From the outside, the hotel building kind of lacks this charm but the inside from the rooms and the designs make it worthwhile. For me, I think it is a pretty nice place to put up when traveling to Trinidad.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"3 bandas, 30 musicos y 45 acompañantes uruguayos."

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andres  on May 2, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) URUGUAY
Visited on: May, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
95 people found this review helpful

Abuela Coca, 11 Tiros y Congo son tres bandas de Uruguay. estuvimos en La Habana, Cienfuegos, Trinidad y Varadero. El Hotel Ancon Fue alucinante. Me hubiera quedado mucho mas. el swervicio y la atencion fue excelente. hasta el punto en que dimos un concierto gratis para la gente del hotel debido a lo bien que lo pasamos...... yeeee

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel recomendable."

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  danubio  on Apr 13, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) URUGUAY
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
102 people found this review helpful

Con un grupo de 32 uruguayos,estuvimos en el mes de marzo-2013.Nos tocó una habitación amplísima. Excelente playa y piscina,a pocos kilómetros de Trinidad (Patrimonio Histórico de la Humanidad) que es un lugar obligado de visitar en un viaje a Cuba.Servicios del hotel, acordes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Très bon rapport qualité-prix"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on May 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Business | With friend
181 people found this review helpful

La plage est fantastique. La mer est très belle et calme. La ville de Trinidad est un incontournable. Les plongées sont très belles et le dive shop est directement à l'hôtel. Très bon rapport qualité-prix.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not for everybody...but we loved it."

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane  on Jan 9, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
183 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
8210

Room Block:
Superior Section

Arrival:
Cubana Air landed at Santa Clara airport and we had a 3 hour drive to Club Ancon. Not bad really for a 2 week stay but I wouldn't travel that far for a 1 week trip.

Rooms:
We booked a room in the Superior section. Full bath with lots of hot water, a hairdryer & a 110v outlet. Beds & pillows were hard but we got used to them. Small drawers, a few hanger, free safe. Mini fridge with bottled water daily. Our room was 2nd floor with an oceanview. Smallish in size. Limited TV channels.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only ate at the Buffet. Rated it as good. Basic fruit, salad stuff, chicken, pork, fish, rice, potatoes, veggies, soups & pasta bar, dessert was cakes, ice cream & puddings. Coffee in the Buffet was not good so we got capucinno every morning at the Bar beside the Buffet and took them in with us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The saving grace of the place is the beach. 4 kms. of soft light beige sand and calm water. This is the reason you should come to Club Ancon.....if you want a bit of luxury...do not come here. It is a basic 3 star, not very pretty grounds and rough around the edges. But it has wonderful views, it's close to Trinidad for exploring, friendly staff, great for budget-minded travellers...like us. And we planning to return.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excursions and shopping are very reasonable here. We took a taxi into Trinidad and explored on our own. Great buys on hand-embroidered goods, paintings, leather goods and carvings. Trinidad is worth exploring...lots of interesting old buildings, museum, old church, town square & central park.
Don't know about entertainment at the hotel...we didn't stay up to watch it...just your basic variety stuff by the Hotel dancers.
Afternnons had dance lessons, bingo & fashion show.

Other Comments:
We are planning to return to Hotel Ancon because we really like what it has to offer. However...I would hesitiate to recommend it to friends only because most people's expectations are pretty high....if you lower your expectations and the beach is your top prioiry then try this hotel...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Better than Anticipated!!"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Katie  on Dec 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
204 people found this review helpful

Before choosing a resort, I looked at many reviews and rated the hotels by that. I feel like many people going to a 3 star resort are expecting 4+ stars services. We got what we paid for, and we could not be happier. The hotel is under a lot of construction, but that did not bother us at all as everything was still very accessible. There was a show every night, although they became repetitive. If you are looking for some good dancing and real Cuban music, go into Trinidad as the Club at the bar did not offer much. We went to El Casa de la Musica, and had a great time. The plaza and stairs going up to El Casa were overflowing with people. Cheap drinks, live salsa music, beautiful dancing. I highly recommend going there to experience real Cuban nightlife. The food in the hotel was good, nothing to complain about. Drinks were also great, but for the best drinks you have ever tried, go to the pool bar. The bartender, Hector, makes delicious drinks, made with fresh fruit! The water in the pool is cold, but you can get used to it with the sun warming up your back. If you don't want to get wet, there is an entrance to the bar through the back. The beach was beautiful, and the water was always very calm. The only thing to watch out for are the sand fleas! They come out around 5pm, and bite like no tomorrow! My suggestion is to pull your chair close to the water, where there seem to be none. Or bring bug spray. Otherwise, they really didn't bother us. In the evenings we always laid out on the beach since we faced the sunset. The sunsets were never the same but were always gorgeous! People have complained that there are a lot of locals who come to the beach, but that is not true. I suppose it depends what time of the year you go at, but the beach was always safe. Nothing got stolen even though we left our things out on the chairs all the time when we went swimming. If you are still nervous, just ask someone lying next to you if they could watch your stuff. You can tell who is staying at the hotel by their green bracelets. Trinidad is a lovely city, and we took a tour through it for 15 CUC. It is very historical and there is a lot to see and do. We also took the Catamaran tour which went to Cayo Blanco, a beautiful uninhabited island. The boat took us snorkeling at the coral reef, then we went to the island. There we had time to explore, tan and go swimming. We had a nice lunch which was included in the price and drinks. After that there was more free time. The island has a lot of iguanas which were not aggressive at all. We took pictures with them and they loved to be pet! Then the catamaran took everyone back to the marina. This trip cost 45 CUC. I think that it was really worth it. All in all, the Ancon has a lot to offer for people who like to travel, although 1 week was not enough for traveling and staying on the beach. Go for two weeks if you plan on taking trips!!

Room Number:
313

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Tired hotel on a lovely beach"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeremy Metson  on Nov 21, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
205 people found this review helpful

Having looked at some of the reviews on Trip Advisor and knowing how difficult it is to find accomodation on Playa Ancon we werre just relieved to find somewhere to stay but blood on the wardrobe doors of our first room was a tad much. Second room was cramped but spotless. Food prety terrible - makes reservations and eat in the Commodore - table service and better food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Much Better Then Expected"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  vincent  on Apr 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
272 people found this review helpful

Everyone said don't go to Cuba and stay in anything less then a 4 or 5 star. This hotel was a bit run down and had limited extras but the beach/water was excellent. It is an adult hotel for sure with little for children but the superior suits facing the water with a balcony provided beautiful romantic sunsets and easy access to the beach. The CAVA wine bar was a nice place to sit and enjoy a nice bottle of wine at the end of the day and the Cafe Bar had excellent Spanish Coffees. It was close to Trinidad and had some interesting tours to offer (again for adults).

Room Number:
8309

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not expect too much"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shaowei Wang  on Mar 23, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) CHINA
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
272 people found this review helpful

I stayed at this hotel, simply because I had no other choice. Ideally I would have stayed at a hotel in the town, but everything was fully booked. I went to Trinidad mostly not for the beach, but rather for sightseeing the town. Ancon was kind of far from the town, especially as I had difficulty finding a taxi to get back to the hotel after the night fell (due to miscommunication, I got back on a bicycle taxi instead -- it took me an hour, and it's the most horrible thing that I've ever experienced, as it's freezing cold during the night in March).

The rooms in the old building were horrible. They were barely furnitured or decorated. Sheets were dirty. I booked a suite in the hope that the room would be better than a standard. But no, I was wrong. Particularly, there was hot water issue in all the suites, because they were simply too far from center. I ended up switching to a standard room in the new building, which was way much better. Well, I still got the feeling that the sheets were unclean. But at least the room looked like a European 3 star hotel. Also, the new building was very close to the beach (you open the door, and that's the beach). And the beach was really nice. So if you have to stay at this hotel, make sure you get a room in the new building.

Food was delicious; not too bad at all. The cafeteria was however sometimes occupied by flies... I ate with one eye closed...

Room phones could not make any international calls. No WIFI. There's a public telephone and an old computer for internet services, and the operation hours were roughly from 9:30 - 6:30.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"3 * Fine hotel, lovely beach, friendly staff - recommended."

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cynthia Elener-Nielsen  on Feb 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) DENMARK
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
273 people found this review helpful

Club Ancon is on a peninsula 12 km from Trinidad town. There are shuttle buses to and from the hotel 3 or 4 times a day, only 2 CUC for a return journey, handy.
The hotel is right on the beach, the Pacific is lovely, almost the same temp. as the air, 26 deg. the staff are friendly, there are 2 beach bars, one of which has all day fast food, pizza and chips, or burger- rooms are comfortable, all have a balcony, small bathroom, but clean and neat - everything works. All inclusive - large dining room, big choice of dishes, carvery ... choice of different meats, turkey, chicken or roasted ham, (on different days:) There is a "Seafood Restaurant" on the lower level, which is
inclusive but seems like "a la carte" waiters serving, not self service, 3 course meal, wines, live music from a little group of musicians going from table to table, large fountain in the centre of the restaurant, a really good experience when you get tired of the self service of the all inclusive.... you have to reserve a table at the desk next to reception, on the morning of the day you want to dine .. reservations from 10 am. Our maid was very attentive, brought us a large bottle of water every day to put in the fridge.
Only one little criticism ... no shampoo or shower gel, no toothpaste (bring your own) - but you can buy it in the shop in the basement. There is a "post offfice" on the ground floor next to a small stall, and other small stalls are set up in the evening next to the pool. There is a very large swimming pool, but the sea is fantastic, clear turquoise, warm, gets deep very quickly, but no problem - gentle waves, but may be a problem for small children - a few yards from the beach and you are up to your neck in water.
There are ramps for the handicapped all over, suitable for wheelchairs - but the tropical blocks have no elevators/lifts .. ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble climbing stairs, the main block has an elevator.
All in all, good amenties, nice place to relax. some entertainment in the evening ( a bit amateurish - ) take it or leave it. We were there for 5 nights, and had booked a tropical room, a bit expensive for the 3 star rating - we paid the same for a 4 star hotel in Varadero - but this hotel has all the same amenities. We enjoyed our stay - no complaints.

Room Number:
8109

Room Block:
Tropical

Arrival:
9th February - 14th Feb.

Rooms:
Large block. the old part of the hotel ... tropical rooms are 2 storey, no lift.

Restaurants and Bars:
2 reataurants --1 main bar ..small bar on the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach perfect ... lots of parasols, shade no problem. Nice grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Tennis courts

Other Comments:
Recommended.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube