Club Ancon Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Club Ancon reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Trinidad Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Amigo Costa Sur

4.1 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

Finca Ma' Dolores

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 13, 2014

Las Cuevas

3.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 3, 2014

Club Ancon  

Carretera Maria Aguiar, Playa Ancon, Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus
(Playa Ancon Maps)

"Very nice"
Posted by: Nicholas on Nov 10, 2014
see all reviews

Club Ancon Reviews
Club Ancon Pictures and Information
Club Ancon Trinidad Cuba

#1
of 6 Hotels in Trinidad

User rating 4.2

Based on 29 reviews

Club Ancon Information


All inclusive resort is right on the beach near historic Trinidad (10 km), in a pleasent natural setting. Most rooms have seaviews.


Club Ancon official website
http://www.hotelancon-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Ancon Reviews

Club Ancon Review: 4.2 of 5 29 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  14
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (10)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 29

"Caribbean dream"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Albert Helgber  on Apr 12, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2005
4807 people found this review helpful

I just got back on Thursday April 7th from 2 weeks at Hotel Ancon on Playa Ancon in Sancti Spiritus about 1 hours drive from Cienfuegos Airport in Trinidad and it was absolutely wonderful.This hotel is rated 2 1/2 stars but I believe it deserves a star up on this rating .The Brisas is right next door (you can walk over to it from the beach -about 100 yards away) and is rated a star higher but the food is the same (I asked some guests at the Brisas) The architecture is a bit more modern and it is a newer hotel but you also pay a few hundred dollars more. The older section of the hotel (the main building at Ancon) the rooms are a bit small but the bathrooms,air conditioner,beds are all pretty good and they work and who spends time in their room during the day anyway.The newer rooms in the new section are a bit bigger. The weather was 32 Celsius and sunny for all the 2 weeks. The Caribbean Sea is a gorgeous blue green color and warm The Cuban people like I said in my other review are beautiful and genuinely are outgoing and friendly if you only speak them as some of them are shy with tourists but with a little smile you can strike up a warm conversation any time. The city of Trinidad (14 kilometers away and a short 5-7 peso ride) is a charming town with plenty to see and do.The outside bazaars are everywhere and you can get all kinds of handmade goods, from carvings to cotton tablecloths to clothes and of course cigars, hand rolled on the spot or in the box whatever you prefer. I was invited to share a meal at a Cuban's house and if you accept (I strongly advise you to do this as many tourists do take advantage of some of this Cuban hospitality) and you will have a beautiful and long lasting friendship with the family that invites you to their house).I miss Cuba and it's people already and I will go back when my next vacation is due. Wishing you all a happy and memorable holiday I will say adios until next time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great deal for the price!!"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Samantha Thompson  on Jun 1, 2005  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
3013 people found this review helpful

We were at the Hotel Ancon from may 14th to the 22th 2005. It was way better than we anticipated!!! The long public beach is ideal for walkers, we did snorkling directly at the beach and saw baracudas, crabs, star fishes... Even though the rooms are very small and not well isolated (bring earplugs), they were very clean, new clean towels and bottle water were included daily. The rooms are equiped with 110 Volts current which was nice, hot water and enough water pressure was always available in the showers.There are no refrigerators in the room and rooms with a balcony are much smaller... The food was average at the buffet so we ate every night either at the iatlian restaurant or at the international restaurant. The snack bar near the pool is very complete (pizza, pasta, fish, chicken, hotdogs...) and a good alternative to the buffet. The clientel is mostly european. There is a bank directly in the hotel. Trinidad is about a 15 min. drive from the hotel and will cost you about 8 pesos to go by taxi.The old Trinidad is beautifull to visit by foot and browsing through the market is a must. We were pleasantly surprised by this place and would go back anytime...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The service is excellent"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Pedro Castro  on Sep 28, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Sep, 2005
3450 people found this review helpful

The service at Club Ancon is excellent, the attention that you receive there make you feel as a Sir

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Great Place To Go"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Byron p. Grace  on Nov 5, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2005
2802 people found this review helpful

I first went to Hotel Ancon in 1991,and have been there 8 times since. In 2003 my wife & I took our family(total 13)and everyone had a great time.This year we arrive on Nov.7th for 20 days.If I had my way,I would stay there forever. Byron P.Grace Myrtle Station ON.Canada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Ancon hotel "

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jessica  on Dec 26, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Dec, 2005
2833 people found this review helpful

I went to Ancon hotel Chrismas of 2004. It was a lot better then I expected. What really impressed me was the fact that as soon as our bus from the airport arrived everyone was there in the lobby to greet us. Everything there is so beautiful, the water, the beach, the sun, the people. They had fantastic food. The best I ever had at a hotel before and the nightly entertaiment. Let me just say WOW! They are extreamly talanted. If I could I would never have left. If I could I would honestly live in that hotel. You make friends so easily with the people. Weither their just visiting too or if they work there. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. I cant wait to go back and see all my Cuban friends again. I miss them so much!... I miss everything there so much.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All good"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  mauricio y yovany  on Jan 17, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2006
3096 people found this review helpful

That vacation on Ancon hotel it was one of the best vacation on 2005 and I want to said hi to all the staff in that hotel they all nice and I would like to talk to Ariel he is the chef in that hotel so if he can send me a email at www.mauryroc@rogers.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great cuban vacation"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Doris Bauermann  on Feb 14, 2006  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
3032 people found this review helpful

We loved our 2 week relaxing stay at the Gran Caribe Ancon in a superior room with balcony overlooking the beach in Jan 2006. The service was excellent as well as the location, beach, pool, cleanliness of the room, the appetizing meals and drinks with lots of choices and the beach and entertainment activities. It was an economical hotel with superior and friendly service comparable to any 5 star property in Cuba except the price.It is not suitable however for the young disco crowd. We hope to go back there next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will go back to Ancon"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Theresa Shelton  on Mar 18, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006
2959 people found this review helpful

My two children 14, 12, and myself just returned from a week at Club Ancon, Trinidad, Cuba March 16, 2006. We would recommend this place - our rating is based on our experiences more than accommodations. However, we were in a superior room with balcony facing the beach which was lovely. we were very happy there.

Recommended:

-coco taxi rides into Trinidad

-Casa de Musica at night. Starts at 10:00 pm. Great music and salsa dancing

-rambo tour into mountains. little scary ride on russian truck but go for it. bring water, little snack to sustain you before lunch if you go on the 3km walk down to falls and natural pool [and back up - puff,puff]. think there's another rambo tour with shorter hike so check it out according to your wishes.

Other stuff:

For locals, bring towels, soap, shampoo, t-shirts to give away. they really need and will appreciate mucho. You'll be glad you made the extra effort Transportation for locals is a job in itself. if you have room in your taxi, let the driver know you'd like to pick up people to give them a ride to where you're going.

Taxis to Trinidad 8 pesos. Coco taxis hold 2 (3 if you have a little person to sit in middle) and is 4 pesos.

You might get accosted in Trinidad more than you'd like, to give t-shirts or eat a meal in someone's home. Coffee and fresh orange juice at Ancon is yummy. Friendly and helpful hotel staff.

Be nice with your peso tips.

If you purchase some art in town, be sure to get a receipt and ensure official stamp on back.

exchange rate in bank in hotel was 1.30 to purchase pesos from Canadian dollars. 1.20 to sell.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A hotel of two parts"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Peter Elwell  on Mar 18, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2006
3512 people found this review helpful

The older part of the hotel, in which we spent the earlier part of our week, is really in urgent need of refurbishment as a lot of the fittings are broken or missing and the aircon units are far too close to the bed. View from the balcony was however stunning, although let down by the fact that there was only one chair on which to sit and view it.

The more modern part of the hotel - especially the rooms facing the sea - is completely different and, conversely, excellent value for the money.

The main restaurant is deceptive and it takes a liitle time to see beneath the UK holiday camp ambience to what is actually very well prepared and healthy, if plain (by European taste) food. The more formal Cuban restaurant is good (and Cuban wine was a discovery) but the Italian seems rather pointless.

The only real irritant was the lack of availability of bottles of mineral water - the litre and a half a day may be a European fad but for an all inclusive hotel it seems rather pointless to have to constantly visit the bar for water one glass at a time.

All in all it was a refreshingly informal hotel, with a superb beach and friendly and helpful staff but let down by sub standard accommodation in the older part of the building which rather coloured our experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great beach, fantastic people"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  B. Stone  on May 2, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2006
3105 people found this review helpful

Considering the Ancon is a 2.5 star rated property, the value received relative to the cost, exceeded my expectations. The rooms in the new part are excellent, and so is room service. However, in the old part (hotel rooms)it is below standard. The service is good, and the food satisfactory. The disco is a failure, but the town of Trinidad is near and the discos are great! At the Ancon, the scuba diving staff is professional, and the entertainment team is fantastic! The bar and restaurant personnel are responsive and friendly. The hotel is on the beach, and the sunsets are memorable!

I recommend the Ancon for those who are looking for an economical price, good value, and a casual and friendly environment.

B. Stone/Toronto

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube