Club Ancon Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Club Ancon reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Trinidad Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Amigo Costa Sur

4.1 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

Finca Ma' Dolores

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 13, 2014

Las Cuevas

3.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 3, 2014

Club Ancon  

Carretera Maria Aguiar, Playa Ancon, Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus
(Playa Ancon Maps)

"Very nice"
Posted by: Nicholas on Nov 10, 2014
see all reviews

Club Ancon Reviews
Club Ancon Pictures and Information
Club Ancon Trinidad Cuba

#1
of 6 Hotels in Trinidad

User rating 4.2

Based on 29 reviews

Club Ancon Information


All inclusive resort is right on the beach near historic Trinidad (10 km), in a pleasent natural setting. Most rooms have seaviews.


Club Ancon official website
http://www.hotelancon-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Ancon Reviews

Club Ancon Review: 4.2 of 5 29 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  14
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (10)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 29

"Good, but with some problems"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lidia  on Dec 6, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Dec, 2008
1183 people found this review helpful

We were treated very well by the hotel staff, but there were some little details that were left wanting, such as the food and the quality of the rooms. For example, the mattresses are old and the food is a little repetitive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A hotel of two parts"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Peter Elwell  on Mar 18, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2006
3512 people found this review helpful

The older part of the hotel, in which we spent the earlier part of our week, is really in urgent need of refurbishment as a lot of the fittings are broken or missing and the aircon units are far too close to the bed. View from the balcony was however stunning, although let down by the fact that there was only one chair on which to sit and view it.

The more modern part of the hotel - especially the rooms facing the sea - is completely different and, conversely, excellent value for the money.

The main restaurant is deceptive and it takes a liitle time to see beneath the UK holiday camp ambience to what is actually very well prepared and healthy, if plain (by European taste) food. The more formal Cuban restaurant is good (and Cuban wine was a discovery) but the Italian seems rather pointless.

The only real irritant was the lack of availability of bottles of mineral water - the litre and a half a day may be a European fad but for an all inclusive hotel it seems rather pointless to have to constantly visit the bar for water one glass at a time.

All in all it was a refreshingly informal hotel, with a superb beach and friendly and helpful staff but let down by sub standard accommodation in the older part of the building which rather coloured our experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Tired hotel on a lovely beach"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jeremy Metson  on Nov 21, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
472 people found this review helpful

Having looked at some of the reviews on Trip Advisor and knowing how difficult it is to find accomodation on Playa Ancon we werre just relieved to find somewhere to stay but blood on the wardrobe doors of our first room was a tad much. Second room was cramped but spotless. Food prety terrible - makes reservations and eat in the Commodore - table service and better food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"ancon hotel oui oui pour le rapport qulité prix"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. sylvain danis  on Jun 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010
943 people found this review helpful

1-la plge est no:1 2-la nouriture est bonne mais non varie quoi que dans la periode de noel c'etait tres bien et le nouveau cellier pour les vins no:1 3- et l'animation est de bonne qualité. 4-ca ce gate ce sont les chambres lit et fourniture ont besoins d'etre changer. 5-la proximite des montagnes et de la ville ca c'est incontournable a visité. 6-dive shop sur les lieux avis aux plongeurs. 7-un vrai 3*+.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not expect too much"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shaowei Wang  on Mar 23, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) CHINA
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
528 people found this review helpful

I stayed at this hotel, simply because I had no other choice. Ideally I would have stayed at a hotel in the town, but everything was fully booked. I went to Trinidad mostly not for the beach, but rather for sightseeing the town. Ancon was kind of far from the town, especially as I had difficulty finding a taxi to get back to the hotel after the night fell (due to miscommunication, I got back on a bicycle taxi instead -- it took me an hour, and it's the most horrible thing that I've ever experienced, as it's freezing cold during the night in March).

The rooms in the old building were horrible. They were barely furnitured or decorated. Sheets were dirty. I booked a suite in the hope that the room would be better than a standard. But no, I was wrong. Particularly, there was hot water issue in all the suites, because they were simply too far from center. I ended up switching to a standard room in the new building, which was way much better. Well, I still got the feeling that the sheets were unclean. But at least the room looked like a European 3 star hotel. Also, the new building was very close to the beach (you open the door, and that's the beach). And the beach was really nice. So if you have to stay at this hotel, make sure you get a room in the new building.

Food was delicious; not too bad at all. The cafeteria was however sometimes occupied by flies... I ate with one eye closed...

Room phones could not make any international calls. No WIFI. There's a public telephone and an old computer for internet services, and the operation hours were roughly from 9:30 - 6:30.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel recomendable."

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  danubio  on Apr 13, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) URUGUAY
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
359 people found this review helpful

Con un grupo de 32 uruguayos,estuvimos en el mes de marzo-2013.Nos tocó una habitación amplísima. Excelente playa y piscina,a pocos kilómetros de Trinidad (Patrimonio Histórico de la Humanidad) que es un lugar obligado de visitar en un viaje a Cuba.Servicios del hotel, acordes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not for everybody...but we loved it."

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Diane  on Jan 9, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
513 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
8210

Room Block:
Superior Section

Arrival:
Cubana Air landed at Santa Clara airport and we had a 3 hour drive to Club Ancon. Not bad really for a 2 week stay but I wouldn't travel that far for a 1 week trip.

Rooms:
We booked a room in the Superior section. Full bath with lots of hot water, a hairdryer & a 110v outlet. Beds & pillows were hard but we got used to them. Small drawers, a few hanger, free safe. Mini fridge with bottled water daily. Our room was 2nd floor with an oceanview. Smallish in size. Limited TV channels.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only ate at the Buffet. Rated it as good. Basic fruit, salad stuff, chicken, pork, fish, rice, potatoes, veggies, soups & pasta bar, dessert was cakes, ice cream & puddings. Coffee in the Buffet was not good so we got capucinno every morning at the Bar beside the Buffet and took them in with us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The saving grace of the place is the beach. 4 kms. of soft light beige sand and calm water. This is the reason you should come to Club Ancon.....if you want a bit of luxury...do not come here. It is a basic 3 star, not very pretty grounds and rough around the edges. But it has wonderful views, it's close to Trinidad for exploring, friendly staff, great for budget-minded travellers...like us. And we planning to return.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excursions and shopping are very reasonable here. We took a taxi into Trinidad and explored on our own. Great buys on hand-embroidered goods, paintings, leather goods and carvings. Trinidad is worth exploring...lots of interesting old buildings, museum, old church, town square & central park.
Don't know about entertainment at the hotel...we didn't stay up to watch it...just your basic variety stuff by the Hotel dancers.
Afternnons had dance lessons, bingo & fashion show.

Other Comments:
We are planning to return to Hotel Ancon because we really like what it has to offer. However...I would hesitiate to recommend it to friends only because most people's expectations are pretty high....if you lower your expectations and the beach is your top prioiry then try this hotel...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Très bon rapport qualité-prix"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on May 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Business | With friend
435 people found this review helpful

La plage est fantastique. La mer est très belle et calme. La ville de Trinidad est un incontournable. Les plongées sont très belles et le dive shop est directement à l'hôtel. Très bon rapport qualité-prix.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"wonderful hotel and close to the beach"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  mika  on Aug 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
271 people found this review helpful

I stayed in block 3 of this wonderful hotel and that part of the room is very close to the beautiful Ancon beach. Since the room is close to the beach, the ocean view I had from my room was magnificent. The location is not such a good feature because it is far from the airport about 3 hours so it’s far for me. The rooms are reasonably sized, comfortable and clean, I loved it. The water is quite warm to swim in and I am guessing it is because of the season that we went in and I loved the beach too because I took part in the snorkeling activity. It has nice white sand that is good for walking on and I had a nice time on the beach as most of the time I usually just stayed back at the beach and spend just my evenings at the resort. I always found something to eat when it comes to food at the hotel; food was pretty good and appealing as well. When I am not in the resort or the beach, I just go into town to walk around and get to see some places, Trinidad is a wonderful city and there are lots to see and visit. From the outside, the hotel building kind of lacks this charm but the inside from the rooms and the designs make it worthwhile. For me, I think it is a pretty nice place to put up when traveling to Trinidad.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Much Better Then Expected"

Club Ancon
User Rating:  Club Ancon Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  vincent  on Apr 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
518 people found this review helpful

Everyone said don't go to Cuba and stay in anything less then a 4 or 5 star. This hotel was a bit run down and had limited extras but the beach/water was excellent. It is an adult hotel for sure with little for children but the superior suits facing the water with a balcony provided beautiful romantic sunsets and easy access to the beach. The CAVA wine bar was a nice place to sit and enjoy a nice bottle of wine at the end of the day and the Cafe Bar had excellent Spanish Coffees. It was close to Trinidad and had some interesting tours to offer (again for adults).

Room Number:
8309

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube