Club Bucanero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Club Bucanero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Santiago de Cuba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Las Americas

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 5, 2014

Cubanacan Versalles

4.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 4, 2014

Encanto San Basilio

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales

3.8 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Islazul Costa Morena

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Club Bucanero  

Carretera de Baconao, Km 4, Arroyo de la Costa. Santiago de Cuba

"Nice place to visit"
Posted by: Dean on Nov 10, 2014
see all reviews

Club Bucanero Reviews
Club Bucanero Pictures and Information
Club Bucanero Santiago de Cuba Cuba

#1
of 13 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba

User rating 3.4

Based on 26 reviews

Club Bucanero Information


The hotel will be closed due to maintenance and renovation until further notice.

A beach resort located about 25 minutes from Santiago. Near the Sierra Maestra mountain range.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Bucanero Reviews

Club Bucanero Review: 3.4 of 5 26 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  5
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (13)
Party (1)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (4)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 26

"Nice place to visit"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dean  on Nov 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
9 people found this review helpful

As a person who travels a lot, Iím always trying to find a good place to stay. Most of the time Iím on the road. Once I was traveling to Cuba and I was trying to find a nice place to stay for a few days. First hotel I saw was Club Bucanero and I asked for a room and luckily theyíve had a free room for me. I must say that from the outside, this hotel looks astonishing. The employees were very polite. They offered me a meal and they took me to my room. The hotel room was fantastic. I thought that I could never ask for more. There were two separate beds with very nice mattresses so you can relax at any time. Whatís more important the room was clean. That goes for the bathroom too. The very important thing is that there is an air conditioner which is working properly. Anytime you want to cool the room you can do it in only a couple of minutes. The phone was next to to the bed, but Iíve never used it so I donít really know if it has international calls available or not. However, the balcony is very good and if you want to have some fresh air you can just sit there and relax. The bathroom was really neat and clean. Whenever you want to take a shower, you can do it because there is hot water through the whole day. There is a minibar in the room, which is refilled every two days. What was very interesting is that there was a safety deposit box, so you donít have to worry about your passport or your money. When it comes to the money, there is a money exchange office in the hotel, so you donít have to travel to the bank if you want to exchange money. Outside of the hotel there is a pool and it is very nice and clean. The restaurant in this hotel is also very nice and they serve very good meals. Also there is a bar in the hotel, and every time you want to have a drink you can go there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"4th times going to this little paradise & we just love it !"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lucien  on Mar 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
189 people found this review helpful

The main reason why we go to Santiago the Cuba is because of the weather. From November to May it is almost guarantee that you will get between 28 to 30 degree & sunny every day.
The other reason why we go to Bucanero it's because of the price. You are certain to get the best value for the money you pay.
We love this resort also because every people working there try very hard to make you feel welcome and have a very good time
while you're there.

Room Number:
408

Room Block:
400

Arrival:
What more pleasant than getting out of the bus after a long flight and getting greater by a group of Bomba dancers & a Rhum punch cocktail.

That's a very good start !!!!!!!!!

Rooms:
All the rooms have an Ocian view
Always good service & very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Nothing to complaint about
Good food !!!! Good staff

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
If you like to scuba dive - snorkeling & have a drink & eat something on the beach you will love that small private beach

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

""Spectacular Views""

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  sarah  on Feb 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
180 people found this review helpful

We spent one week at Club Bucanero and it wasn't long enoungh :( We were welcomed graciously with dancing and drinks! You should definately bring your own big cups for drinks or coffee because the resort glasses are fairly small. Entertainment was fantastic, staff were friendly and fun! Rooms were clean and cool (nice to come into at the end of the day) Amazing sunsets and a view of it from every room! The beach was a bit rocky but once out in the bay a little it is beautiful and ideal for snorkelling. The hiking and a bit of adventure around the coral and caves etc was terrific! All in all we had an amazing time and cant wait to go back again :) ... drank the water in the restaurant and ate the fruit and not once felt even a little sick! Felt safe to walk around at night anywhere in the resort!!! had no issues at all :)

Room Number:
123

Room Block:
100

Arrival:
entertaining!! :)

Rooms:
clean and cool!

Restaurants and Bars:
Bar open 24hrs, drinks delicious...restaurant: food delicious! just had enough of rice and chicken by the end LOL ... great frys at the snack bar!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the Bay is absolutely breathtaking!! water crystal clear...lots of coral (dont forget water shoes!!!)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots of day trips! bikes, scooters, horseback riding, hiking, paddle boats (amazing and easy to paddle, seats 4 comfortably), also fitness and games by the pool! :)

Other Comments:
met great people, had a great time! thank you :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very nice place"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ervis  on Dec 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Party | With friend
192 people found this review helpful

Very nice place. everyone was nice and friendly. the resort in overall was great

Room Number:
511

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
dec 23

Rooms:
room for advancment

Restaurants and Bars:
nice and fast

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  jack  on Dec 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
207 people found this review helpful

Bucc was fantastic ... love the rock wall .. the pool bar .. the toples canucks
the goat ( 1 st time ) all of the food .. great staff ... the rock canyon

twas fantastic !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rooms:
great

Restaurants and Bars:
great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
great

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great luv santiago

Other Comments:
an equinomial but fantastic resort
can't say too much

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  bruce  on Nov 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
215 people found this review helpful

hi ok to start im 28 from ont i when in april 2011 it was a greatt place great yes the people r a bit on the old side but nottt deid by any means it was a great time party alll nit long the midnit dipps at the beach hmmm well then in cuba :) every one was partying so ya as for going back dam rit i am i m a photographer got some great pic great scuba diving hunking rock climing food was good its cuba so not a canadian meal but good food the works talked more english the anyone in varadero and way more down to earth to it was a great time go and love it trust hope this helps and by all means e mail me if u want to no more info or pic got over 2000 from there everything from the room right to the city italian_w2@gotmail.com

Room Number:
219

Room Block:
200s

Rooms:
cleen rooms i realy did somthing that i shoulding have i left the safe open with 500 bucks all me id and my womens to ans my cam as i said im a photographer so my cam is realy realy not cheep lol and it wasss alll there when i got back and the safe is rit there so ya the lady was nice and it was open but the cubert it was in was closed so go ur safe there have funnnn

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We just loved it!"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eszter  on Nov 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
233 people found this review helpful

We were there as a family last winter and....I started to looking for our next trip. But, this place is not a "Disney-land-type" world. It is a part of the reality. It is quiet, friendly and small. Far away from everything! Thanks for the whole stuff!

Room Block:
Cha-cha-cha

Arrival:
somewhat chaotic :-)

Rooms:
All the rooms are with ocean-view. The rooms are not fancy but ok.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main restaurant is good, the food was fresh and delicious. Again: nothing fancy just normal-goood. But: no hot-dogs, hamburgers and fries. If you go there, you have to eat something different.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is small but beautiful. No white sand! You need water shoes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst Hotel"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Mar 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
343 people found this review helpful

Never ever make a mistake of staying at Club Bucanero. I would be very surprised if anyone would ever want to come back again

Arrival:
Was very welcoming with dancers and free drinks.

Rooms:
Not very good, the A/C had a huge gaping hole on the side so we had to use a towel to cover to stop the insects

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars:Bring your own "Giant"insulated drinking cup for them to fill otherwise you will get a small 7 oz plastic disposable cup with a long tall bendable colorful straw.They think Canadians will keep on tipping them every time they pour you a drink!!
Restaurants:The red wine is hopeless. The same fish is served everyday for breakfast, lunch and dinner. No orange juice at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Do you know why there are no pics of the beach? Simple, there is none. The so called "beach" is only 20 feet wide and is full of rocks.If you don't come out of the water with bloody feet,thank God.Seriously, thank God. How can you build a resort and not have a "sandy beach". I thought Cuba was famous for their beaches. On the Sun wing website, its still boasts about the sandy beach in Club Bucanero!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Only in the pool were games and nothing else.

Other Comments:
Only some of the staff were honest otherwise the rest are crooks.I was reading some other reviews about old men with young Cuban girls at the resort.There is nothing wrong in that,it happens around the whole world,including Canada!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Can't believe that Cuba has such horrible places!!!"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alanos  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
381 people found this review helpful

I have been going to Cuba for well over 10 years and visited many places and stayed at various resorts. Santiago was one of the few places that I've never visited, so it was a first, but definitely the last.
They say it's a 4 star!! NOT TRUE at all!! I would graciously give it a 2 star.
I have always known Cuba to be a very safe and trusting place, but this time around we experienced quite a few things that were stolen from not only the safe, but also the drawers.
Some of the staff are like beggars Always asking you to give them something that they may like as a gift. Their famous expression is "Is this or that a gift from you Amigos?"
Please know.... That there are some wonderful people there but it seems like the more you tip, the better the service will be.
Looking for a cell phone signal? Forget it!! With all the rocks around.... It is almost impossible to get a signal to call out.
The Sunwing rep. Do not trust him. He will try to promise you all sorts of things for a fair price, later to find out...... Nothing happens!! But it is too late as you are now ready to leave.
If you decide to go into the town of Santiago, which is a beautiful town..... Be very careful. If you meet up with a young Cuban guy by the name of Raoul..... He truly is a professional crook and one of the towns pimps. His English is excellent and the first impressions are great. But at the end of the night, you will be robbed. The town does have 2 great clubs and quite a few restaurants which are very affordable. Watch out for those young and only too attractive Cuban girls. (Prostitution is quite the happening thing in that town)
Once again, you have some great people working there and when or if you decide to tip them, they are truly grateful. But most of them try and sweet talk you into all sorts of things.
So!! I guess I will NOT be going back there and will definitely NOT recommend that resort. Cuba is famous for their fabulous beaches. Bucanero in Santiago does NOT have a beach and what they call a beach is a slight ways away from the resort. If you do end up there. go to the public beaches. They are definitely a whole lot better.
I consider Cuba to be my second home. I have been to many, many different places and always stayed at 4+ star resorts. I remember once, I stayed at a 3 star in Varadero and it was DEFINITELY a whole lot better and safer than Club Bucanero.
So dear people, if you have already booked your vacation there..... I wish thee a whole lot of luck and make sure you put all your valuable in a bag with a lock. I repeat!! We had quite a few things stolen from our room. So, if you have booked and going there, be careful and make sure you have a few boxes of granola bars. That may keep you going. lol Marcos

Arrival:
As usual, there is a wait but I have no complaints about the reception. Rum punch was offered to all and the reception with the dancers were a beautiful treat.

Rooms:
They are okay!! Definitely not what you would expect for a 4 star hotel.
Watch out!! Things will get stolen. The safe is our room ended up in breaking, and if you need anything fixed.... Forget it!!
I suggest you put all your valuables in a bag with a strong lock and make sure you have the key with you at ALL times.

Restaurants and Bars:
Strangely enough.... The main bar, which to me is the only bar, is allowed only 1 bottle of scotch and 1 bottle of tequila for the entire day. Go figure!! And if you tip well, you will be served well.
I have no complaints about the breakfast. If you arrive after 8 am there is almost nothing left and they will not replace it. We all know that Cuba is known for their poor quality for foods but this place was pathetic. There was never any orange juice, the machine was broken, not enough staff in the buffet area, so unless you tip big.... You will just have to wait. They definitely DO NOT respect the times when the buffet is open. It's basically, first come, first serve. There was ALWAYS a limited amount of food and most of the time, what you got for lunch, will be there for supper. There was almost no variety of choices and whatever was served was pathetic. Oh!! I hope you don't mind fies with your meal. They were no extra charge. Seriously!!!
A La Carte Restaurants. You have to pay a pretty price if you want the good stuff. Never have I ever experienced that anywhere else in Cuba.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
WHAT BEACH??? Cuba is well known for their beautiful beaches. Not sure what happened to Club Bucanero but what they call a beach, I call crap. Firstly, it's full of Coral. Great if you like snorkeling but try and get into the ocean without getting hurt.... It's almost impossible. It's not only full of Coral, but it's also full of rocks and broken shells. The area they call a beach is a garbage dump. It's sides are full of garbage. Literally!!
There are NOT enough beach chairs, and most of them are cracked, if not broken.
There is a beach bar, one never knows when it's going to be open and if it is, you better tip well if you want service. They also have a beach grill which never has enough food and the main guy that runs it is an arrogant SOB. Once again, no tip!! NO SERVICE!!
If you want to lay by the ocean..... FORGET IT!! There are just too many rocks. If you want to walk around the beach..... FORGET IT!! You have to watch every step, as there are huge rocks, which come out of the ground and is not easily visible, so you can get hurt.
Don't be looking to get served while you are at the beach, as there is none of that over there.
Those are the good points!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible, never again."

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Erin  on Mar 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
345 people found this review helpful

Went here with a friend for March break after a travel agent ensured us that plenty of university students would be there having fun. She obviously lied. We were the only people in the "resort" under 50. As far as all inclusive standards go, this resort is the pits. The food is terrible and the grounds are definitely run down still from Hurricane Katrina. The staff is the only plus, if you tip them well, they'll bend over backwards to help you. Bersu and Eli at the bar are the best, so is Julio. The "hike" is actually free form rock climbing for the most part with no safety equipment, unless you are in good physical condition and don't have a fear of heights, this is not the outing for you. The disco is rundown and never busy; there is virtually no night life here. The room had bugs on the beds (not bedbugs, but still didn't like to see insects on my pillow) and the bathroom door didn't close. Kept all of our valuables in the safe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube