Club Bucanero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Club Bucanero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Santiago de Cuba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Las Americas

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 5, 2014

Cubanacan Versalles

4.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 4, 2014

Encanto San Basilio

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales

3.8 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 11, 2014

Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Islazul Costa Morena

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Club Bucanero  

Carretera de Baconao, Km 4, Arroyo de la Costa. Santiago de Cuba

"4th times going to this little paradise & we just love it !"
Posted by: Lucien on Mar 5, 2012
see all reviews

Club Bucanero Reviews
Club Bucanero Pictures and Information
Club Bucanero Santiago de Cuba Cuba

#1
of 13 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba

User rating 3.4

Based on 25 reviews

Club Bucanero Information


The hotel will be closed due to maintenance and renovation until further notice.

A beach resort located about 25 minutes from Santiago. Near the Sierra Maestra mountain range.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Bucanero Reviews

Club Bucanero Review: 3.4 of 5 25 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  4
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (12)
Party (1)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (4)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 25

"Worst Hotel"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Mar 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
333 people found this review helpful

Never ever make a mistake of staying at Club Bucanero. I would be very surprised if anyone would ever want to come back again

Arrival:
Was very welcoming with dancers and free drinks.

Rooms:
Not very good, the A/C had a huge gaping hole on the side so we had to use a towel to cover to stop the insects

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars:Bring your own "Giant"insulated drinking cup for them to fill otherwise you will get a small 7 oz plastic disposable cup with a long tall bendable colorful straw.They think Canadians will keep on tipping them every time they pour you a drink!!
Restaurants:The red wine is hopeless. The same fish is served everyday for breakfast, lunch and dinner. No orange juice at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Do you know why there are no pics of the beach? Simple, there is none. The so called "beach" is only 20 feet wide and is full of rocks.If you don't come out of the water with bloody feet,thank God.Seriously, thank God. How can you build a resort and not have a "sandy beach". I thought Cuba was famous for their beaches. On the Sun wing website, its still boasts about the sandy beach in Club Bucanero!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Only in the pool were games and nothing else.

Other Comments:
Only some of the staff were honest otherwise the rest are crooks.I was reading some other reviews about old men with young Cuban girls at the resort.There is nothing wrong in that,it happens around the whole world,including Canada!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible, never again."

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Erin  on Mar 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
335 people found this review helpful

Went here with a friend for March break after a travel agent ensured us that plenty of university students would be there having fun. She obviously lied. We were the only people in the "resort" under 50. As far as all inclusive standards go, this resort is the pits. The food is terrible and the grounds are definitely run down still from Hurricane Katrina. The staff is the only plus, if you tip them well, they'll bend over backwards to help you. Bersu and Eli at the bar are the best, so is Julio. The "hike" is actually free form rock climbing for the most part with no safety equipment, unless you are in good physical condition and don't have a fear of heights, this is not the outing for you. The disco is rundown and never busy; there is virtually no night life here. The room had bugs on the beds (not bedbugs, but still didn't like to see insects on my pillow) and the bathroom door didn't close. Kept all of our valuables in the safe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"customer service terrible"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  mario  on Nov 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
177 people found this review helpful

agree 100% with the above rating. have been dozens of times in Cuba in various hotels. such extortion and lazyness havn't seen at any hotel. the ENTIRE bar and waitress personall should be fired, no exceptions and replaced by new staff. The only, probably reception stuff can stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Violent Room Brake-in and robbery. Hotel Security involved."

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Roger  on Jan 17, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
188 people found this review helpful

I have been visiting the Bucanero for five years. I recently stayed at the Bucanero from 2 - 30 Dec 2010. I went to get married to my Cuban fiance. All went well. Two days after the wedding, our room was violently entered through the (locked) balcony door. Stolen included my laptop with much important information, a portable DVD player, a camera with wedding photos, two cell phones, my new wife's wedding shoes etc..

Room Number:
407

Room Block:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Club Bucanero - room robberies"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Roger  on Feb 24, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | Solo
329 people found this review helpful

Went to get married - one month stay. Room robbed of everything, - computer, camera, DVD player, cell phones, - the lot.

Obviously an inside job complicity of hotel security and, I think, hotel management.

Be very careful at the Bucanero!

Room Number:
407

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't Go!!"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  ted  on Nov 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
148 people found this review helpful

I will never go to this resort again,the staff are rude and extortion is common place. No tip no service no drink or beer. The people outside the resort are like pesky begging dogs, you can't even go for a stroll without being harressed to death.

Arrival:
Stay away!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Can't believe that Cuba has such horrible places!!!"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alanos  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
373 people found this review helpful

I have been going to Cuba for well over 10 years and visited many places and stayed at various resorts. Santiago was one of the few places that I've never visited, so it was a first, but definitely the last.
They say it's a 4 star!! NOT TRUE at all!! I would graciously give it a 2 star.
I have always known Cuba to be a very safe and trusting place, but this time around we experienced quite a few things that were stolen from not only the safe, but also the drawers.
Some of the staff are like beggars Always asking you to give them something that they may like as a gift. Their famous expression is "Is this or that a gift from you Amigos?"
Please know.... That there are some wonderful people there but it seems like the more you tip, the better the service will be.
Looking for a cell phone signal? Forget it!! With all the rocks around.... It is almost impossible to get a signal to call out.
The Sunwing rep. Do not trust him. He will try to promise you all sorts of things for a fair price, later to find out...... Nothing happens!! But it is too late as you are now ready to leave.
If you decide to go into the town of Santiago, which is a beautiful town..... Be very careful. If you meet up with a young Cuban guy by the name of Raoul..... He truly is a professional crook and one of the towns pimps. His English is excellent and the first impressions are great. But at the end of the night, you will be robbed. The town does have 2 great clubs and quite a few restaurants which are very affordable. Watch out for those young and only too attractive Cuban girls. (Prostitution is quite the happening thing in that town)
Once again, you have some great people working there and when or if you decide to tip them, they are truly grateful. But most of them try and sweet talk you into all sorts of things.
So!! I guess I will NOT be going back there and will definitely NOT recommend that resort. Cuba is famous for their fabulous beaches. Bucanero in Santiago does NOT have a beach and what they call a beach is a slight ways away from the resort. If you do end up there. go to the public beaches. They are definitely a whole lot better.
I consider Cuba to be my second home. I have been to many, many different places and always stayed at 4+ star resorts. I remember once, I stayed at a 3 star in Varadero and it was DEFINITELY a whole lot better and safer than Club Bucanero.
So dear people, if you have already booked your vacation there..... I wish thee a whole lot of luck and make sure you put all your valuable in a bag with a lock. I repeat!! We had quite a few things stolen from our room. So, if you have booked and going there, be careful and make sure you have a few boxes of granola bars. That may keep you going. lol Marcos

Arrival:
As usual, there is a wait but I have no complaints about the reception. Rum punch was offered to all and the reception with the dancers were a beautiful treat.

Rooms:
They are okay!! Definitely not what you would expect for a 4 star hotel.
Watch out!! Things will get stolen. The safe is our room ended up in breaking, and if you need anything fixed.... Forget it!!
I suggest you put all your valuables in a bag with a strong lock and make sure you have the key with you at ALL times.

Restaurants and Bars:
Strangely enough.... The main bar, which to me is the only bar, is allowed only 1 bottle of scotch and 1 bottle of tequila for the entire day. Go figure!! And if you tip well, you will be served well.
I have no complaints about the breakfast. If you arrive after 8 am there is almost nothing left and they will not replace it. We all know that Cuba is known for their poor quality for foods but this place was pathetic. There was never any orange juice, the machine was broken, not enough staff in the buffet area, so unless you tip big.... You will just have to wait. They definitely DO NOT respect the times when the buffet is open. It's basically, first come, first serve. There was ALWAYS a limited amount of food and most of the time, what you got for lunch, will be there for supper. There was almost no variety of choices and whatever was served was pathetic. Oh!! I hope you don't mind fies with your meal. They were no extra charge. Seriously!!!
A La Carte Restaurants. You have to pay a pretty price if you want the good stuff. Never have I ever experienced that anywhere else in Cuba.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
WHAT BEACH??? Cuba is well known for their beautiful beaches. Not sure what happened to Club Bucanero but what they call a beach, I call crap. Firstly, it's full of Coral. Great if you like snorkeling but try and get into the ocean without getting hurt.... It's almost impossible. It's not only full of Coral, but it's also full of rocks and broken shells. The area they call a beach is a garbage dump. It's sides are full of garbage. Literally!!
There are NOT enough beach chairs, and most of them are cracked, if not broken.
There is a beach bar, one never knows when it's going to be open and if it is, you better tip well if you want service. They also have a beach grill which never has enough food and the main guy that runs it is an arrogant SOB. Once again, no tip!! NO SERVICE!!
If you want to lay by the ocean..... FORGET IT!! There are just too many rocks. If you want to walk around the beach..... FORGET IT!! You have to watch every step, as there are huge rocks, which come out of the ground and is not easily visible, so you can get hurt.
Don't be looking to get served while you are at the beach, as there is none of that over there.
Those are the good points!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Credit cards stolen"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Jan 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
172 people found this review helpful

Il was our second time in Bucanero first time was in 2008 we liked it a lot it was our first time in a 3 stars hotel. Except for the food that as more or less the same taste and the cabbage that is the vegetable of every meal, we had fun and the location allows you to visit the city of Santiago de Cuba and other nice places.No desagreement on our first visit. Coming back last thursday we both realize (my husband and I) that our credit cards were missing
We did not use them at all in Cuba and they were in the safe all the time, that's why we did not realize that they were missing before returning. Our daughter that had the room next to us was not robbed. We will probably not returned because of that.

Room Number:
524

Room Block:
5

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Five star location, three star amenities, good value."

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  eeee  on Jan 26, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
207 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
313

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
Santiago Airport is very small. Arrival and transfer was a bit chaotic due to several bicycle containers that didn't fit under the bus and ended up being transported in the aisle. Once at the resort we received our room cards quickly and a bell boy delivered the bags promptly to the room.

Rooms:
My room was on the second floor and had a nice ocean view, as all the rooms do at Bucanero. It was kept clean, although I did notice a few small ants around the sink, but I don't find this unusual in a tropical country and it wasn't a problem. The hotel is spread out between the rock cliffs behind and the ocean in front. Block three is handy to everything, with the beach to the west and the lobby to the east. The room had adequate storage for clothing and a large safe which easily held my netbook and other items. The twin beds were comfortable, not as hard as the beds usually are in Cuba, and I slept well. The bathroom has a walk in shower, no tub. Water pressure was good with plentiful hot water. I had no complaints about the room at all.

Restaurants and Bars:
There is one buffet restaurant and one a la carte. The buffet has an open air section very close to the sea, and it is pleasant to sit there in the morning with a cup of coffee while you are waiting for the restaurant to open. The buffet featured the usual breakfast, with eggs cooked to order, pancakes and french toast, not a lot of variety of cereals, but really nice bread for toast, and fresh grapefruit and pineapple most mornings. Orange juice was unavailable and the "juice" appeared to be something akin to "Tang".

Lunch could be taken at the buffet or the beach restaurant. I stuck to the buffet. There was more variety of vegetables at lunch than at supper, and as I am vegetarian I didn't want to miss out. Salads were available, and usually squash, rice, cooked cabbage. Really good bread. More variety if you are a meat eater. Supper also featured ice cream every day.

Most evenings there was entertainment at the buffet and the musicians were very good.

There are two bars, one by the pool, the other at the beach. I drank mostly cerveza, so I can't comment on the mixed drinks. The red wine at the buffet was, however, the worst I have had in Cuba, and by the end of the week I had switched to white, which was marginally less objectionable.

The a la carte restaurant was available by reservation, made a day ahead. When you reserve you indicate your choice of meal. The fish was quite good, and my friend enjoyed the chicken. (yes, I know fish is not a vegetable).

Twice during the week there was a pig roast, served in the late afternoon. My friend described the pork as "delicious".

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I didn't use the pool, (there are two) but it was popular for water games most days. I did stick my hand in and the water seemed fairly warm.

The beach is a small cove beach with a rocky entry to the water. I never swam, only snorkelled, and it was a bit tricky getting into the water with fins on. Water shoes are a must if you are wading. Snorkelling was quite good right in the cove, although the fish are habituated and you tend to attract a swarm of the more common varieties. With patience you will find squid, flounder, cow fish, and other more interesting varietals. We also snorkelled outside the cove, but this should be done with caution (and with fins!) We encountered a strong current on an outgoing tide one day, and had to detour to get out of it and back to the cove. Someone snorkelling without fins had difficulty at the same spot, and the nautical staff swiftly responded with sea kayaks to rescue him.

The grounds are quite attractive, particularly around buildings one, two, and three. The cliff behind and ocean in front make for a spectacular setting, although there has been extensive hurricane damage to the infrastructure near the ocean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on one excursion, the boat trip to Santiago. This was very enjoyable, and featured a stop for snorkelling along the way. Lunch at a restaurant in Santiago harbour was excellent, and the free time in the city afforded a chance to look around and also to shop.

On the resort, there are daily "mountain" hikes, and they are not kidding about the mountain part. You scale the cliff behind the hotel, then trek through some tricky trails and descend into the canyon behind the beach. The climb down over the rocks looks intimidating, but the staff are very good and make sure you descend safely. We also took a longer......and much less demanding.....hike one day, walking back through a farm and returning via the road, past the public beach which is about a ten minute walk from the hotel.

Sailing is another enjoyable activity at this resort, and we went out several times. Twice we had fast, wild rides that were a lot of fun.

Other Comments:
I would be remiss if I didn't mention the sex tourism that is one blemish on this resort. "Working girls" are definitely present, both with and without partners. This seems to be a problem at many of the lower starred resorts in the poorer areas of Cuba, and I have encountered it before. If you venture to the public beach, you will definitely be approached with offers of "cigars, rum, Chicas". It was not a problem for me and my friends, but could make some people uncomfortable, which is why I mention it.

The staff at this resort were mainly good and the service adequate if not outstanding. Some people stood out and I expressed my appreciation accordingly.

Bucanero has a fabulous location and the potential to be an outstanding resort. I expect I will return again, since the weather is more predictably warm in this area than further north, and I found the hotel both comfortable and enjoyable. With a little improvement in the food and a little discouragement of the local ladies, this could be a first class place to vacation.

Photos: http://s11.photobucket.com/albums/a179/eeeefarm/Bucanero/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good value for a 2-1/2 star"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tom Hanklings  on Apr 12, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2005
5636 people found this review helpful

Went for one week April 04/05 on sell-off. Clean room; grounds well maintained but damaged from fall hurricanes; poor food at lunch & dinner with the exception of the bread, pastries & ice cream. Good breakfasts. Leftovers recycled into next meal. Very pleasant & accommodating staff and energetic organizers. Only buffet restaurant open. Excellent snorkelling in warm, very clear water, but entry/egress into the water was very dangerous due to rocks/coral and high waves in afternoon. Several people injured, none seriously - mostly deep scraps. Hotel should make a short path to deeper water or repair the ladder. Pool quite cold and mostly empty. Excellent weather.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube