Club Bucanero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Club Bucanero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Santiago de Cuba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Las Americas

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 5, 2014

Cubanacan Versalles

4.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 4, 2014

Encanto San Basilio

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales

3.8 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Islazul Costa Morena

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Club Bucanero  

Carretera de Baconao, Km 4, Arroyo de la Costa. Santiago de Cuba

"Nice place to visit"
Posted by: Dean on Nov 10, 2014
see all reviews

Club Bucanero Reviews
Club Bucanero Pictures and Information
Club Bucanero Santiago de Cuba Cuba

#1
of 13 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba

User rating 3.4

Based on 26 reviews

Club Bucanero Information


The hotel will be closed due to maintenance and renovation until further notice.

A beach resort located about 25 minutes from Santiago. Near the Sierra Maestra mountain range.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Bucanero Reviews

Club Bucanero Review: 3.4 of 5 26 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  5
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (13)
Party (1)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (4)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
21 - 26 of 26

"Enjoying Bucanero"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  alma norman  on Mar 8, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
5493 people found this review helpful

My husband and i, both in our 80's, spent a week in February 2008 at Bucanero and were quite happy with the experience. Of course there were plusses and minuses, but the plusses won.
The physicaL location is superb; our room looked on to the Caribbean. The resort is relatively small, but the clientele is wonderfully mixed. The staff were very pleasant, the meals more than plentiful, and the excursions well planned and reasonable with excellent guides. The big minus is the lack of sea swimming: the small beach is rocky, and the water rough. We gave up trying to swim there, though some people did and I'm told that if you can negotiate the rocky footing the snorkelling is excellent. TWe swam in the very well designed pool, which also offered squafit excercises for those so inclined! We also had an ongoing problem with the toilet in our room, which was fixed 3 times, but never permanently. The whole flushing system for that room ( 102) really needs to be replaced. Suggestions for improvement? Do something to the beach to make it less unpleasant and possibly dangerous ; add an outing to a good beach - possibly at Bucaneo, near the Lagoon - say a half day event with a carry out lunch provided.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"fantastic vacation"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat jackson  on Dec 2, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2007
946 people found this review helpful

This place was absolutely wonderful in every way. The staff were warm and friendly. I was on my own and I never felt lonely. The water sports were amazing for the price when the weather was good the kamarn, it was so much fun. The bikes were in perfect condition. The activities and entertainment were also excellent. I would go back in an instant if they still had direct flights from Sudbury to Cuba. I will never forget my vacation in Cuba. I desperatly want to go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cuban Natural Beauty and culture close by!"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  SarahGibson  on Nov 23, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2007
5815 people found this review helpful

Well. For me and my family this place has been a farovite for many years! It is a really pretty, mellow, location, spread out, not huge but an intimate hotel.

It is excellednt value for the low cost. --Been there maybe 12 times over 8 years. Yes, the tough hurricaines of this part of the world have done damage! Yes, it gets slowly repaired. This is not a Americain hotel !!!! It is Cuban owned, run, really pleasent, warm caring people are on staff here ! SO < --do not expect North Americain time valued here. The staff love their jobs and this is conveyed to the guests! -- lots of hugs!-- and caring. A great place for a cuban to work in a very poor country. Near by is a 15$ taxi ride to fascinating downtown Santiago De Cuba,--- full of History, culture, lots of great architecture , not great food, ok , but not Euoropean standards. No, l do not go to Cuba for the food. So many other things there are exceptional. Lots of cheap talented music at the hotel every nigth, variety. Easy to share a taxi to town to have some nigth life! Safe small city, easy to enjoy very much walking these charming streets.--Cheap to hire a guide 12$ for maybe a four hour tour with some one with some english and probably a great education, and a great love of their city and their people. Cuba is in a very tough time now, people have had their emotional energy drained by all the things that they have done without for so manty years these people teach us to be very grateful for all that we have, and our freedom too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Everything was great!"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Georgi Krumov  on Oct 18, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2007
6511 people found this review helpful

I am a chef and do not agree with the statement that the food was bad. I think it was quite good. What do you expect for $100 CDN per week all-inclusive. That is the price at the resort, the rest is for HolaSun. You pay that much for dinner for two in Canada and not complaining. Whatever the price, my vacation was great. Snorkeling was great, people were great, food and drinks were great. I am sorry for the people who wait for somebody else to make their vacation. Get life guys, if you are not happy there you won't be happy anywhere.

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enjoyed ourselves very much!"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Benjamin Bickford  on May 27, 2005  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2005
3674 people found this review helpful

This was our third time to Cuba and the food, entertainment and snorkelling here was the best yet (previously at Sol Luna y Mares and Marea del Portillo). You can snorkel literally 10 feet from the beach! The people were very nice, especially Oswaldo the bartender. The room was a little dark and dreary but all of the rooms have a view of the ocean. The trip into Santiago was a little alarming...do yourself a favour and hire one of the hustlers for a tour guide or you will be hounded the whole time you're there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good value for a 2-1/2 star"

Club Bucanero
User Rating:  Club Bucanero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tom Hanklings  on Apr 12, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2005
5636 people found this review helpful

Went for one week April 04/05 on sell-off. Clean room; grounds well maintained but damaged from fall hurricanes; poor food at lunch & dinner with the exception of the bread, pastries & ice cream. Good breakfasts. Leftovers recycled into next meal. Very pleasant & accommodating staff and energetic organizers. Only buffet restaurant open. Excellent snorkelling in warm, very clear water, but entry/egress into the water was very dangerous due to rocks/coral and high waves in afternoon. Several people injured, none seriously - mostly deep scraps. Hotel should make a short path to deeper water or repair the ladder. Pool quite cold and mostly empty. Excellent weather.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube