Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Santiago de Cuba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Las Americas

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 5, 2014

Cubanacan Versalles

4.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 4, 2014

Encanto San Basilio

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Club Bucanero

3.4 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

Islazul Costa Morena

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales  

Carretera Baconao Km 54, Playa Cazonal, Santiago de Cuba

"Great Getaway"
Posted by: eeeefarm on Apr 10, 2015
see all reviews

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Reviews
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Pictures and Information
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Santiago de Cuba Cuba

#3
of 13 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba

User rating 3.8

Based on 11 reviews

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Information


Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales hotel is located in Baconao Park, considered by UNESCO, a natural reserve of the biosphere. Its surroundings are specials to enjoy a full contact with nature

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Reviews

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 3.8 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  5
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (9)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 11

"Great Getaway"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  eeeefarm  on Apr 10, 2015  >  12 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2015 | Leisure | With friend
40 people found this review helpful

This was an interesting trip. My friends and I had originally booked Farallon del Caribe, and were informed the day before our departure that Farallon had been closed and we would be moved to Marea del Portilla. This was unsatisfactory to us, and led to a scramble to decide on an alternate destination. Of the choices open to us (trips leaving the next day that were in our price range) we chose Los Corales, as we had been there before and wanted to enjoy the snorkelling again.

Room Number:
E3

Room Block:
Bungalow E

Arrival:
After the usual delay waiting for everyone to board the bus, our trip to the resort was uneventful. We checked in at the front desk and received our room keys. As we had all booked oceanview bungalows, we were anxious to see where we had been placed, especially with the last minute booking. I found I had been assigned to A4, which was not to my liking, due to proximity to the parking lot. I asked to change, and was given E3, not a direct ocean view, but partial. Still preferable to me than being next to the parking lot. My friends were happy with their room, but not with having to share a key! The fourth member of our group lucked out with a fabulous second floor room with amazingly large balcony! (B5)

Rooms:
My room turned out to be just fine. The buildings are old and have dated furniture, but are comfortable enough. A bonus for me was that the shower had great water pressure and plentiful hot water all week long, whereas my friends had less water pressure and lukewarm water much of the time. The TV in my room had poor reception and I didn't bother with it, preferring to read a book. I liked my room location, and I would book a bungalow again. They are quieter and more private than the regular rooms.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant was fine for breakfast, as long as you were there early. None of us likes lineups, so we were always ready as soon as the chef started cooking eggs. Most mornings I had an omelet, and sometimes toast. There was generally some fresh fruit, usually pineapple and watermelon, sometimes other choices. Juice was available as well.

At lunch I tended to order pizza and perhaps pick up something else from the buffet. I found the desserts inexplicably had an "off" taste to them, as if an ingredient was past its "sell by" date. A little musty tasting, so I avoided them most of the time.

In the evening we ate at the a la carte. Both Cuban and Seafood were housed in the same outdoor room, and we alternated. We kept asking about booking, and they kept allowing us to do so, and as it turned out we never ate supper at the buffet. The grilled fish at the seafood a la carte was excellent! I was so impressed I had it twice, cheating on my normal vegetarian diet.

Red wine was in short supply, and I had white on occasion. A couple of times we bought our own bottle or red to enjoy with dinner.

The bars were adequate, and one is open all night for restless sleepers and early risers seeking coffee. Vodka was in short supply at times, which annoyed one of my travelling companions who prefers it. There was always cerveza, which was generally what I was looking for, and the Cappuccinos were fine as well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach at Los Corales has stones and broken shells, and isn't kind to bare feet. The ocean has a lot of seagrass, with a couple of sandy entry points. We were there for the snorkelling, and were not disappointed! The sailing was also lots of fun, and we went out most days. There are no "towel games" going on, as there were always lots of chairs and shade available.

The pool was fine to cool off in, which we did on a few occasions. It was clean and clear, but the lining has seen better days.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Snorkelling and sailing, as mentioned, were our main activities. One day we did a private tour to Havana in an open jeep. What a blast! We had lunch at an excellent Paladar and had a generally enjoyable time looking around and doing some shopping.

I booked a massage on the one rainy day we had, and it was excellent value for money. 10 CUC/30 minutes.

Other Comments:
The staff was generally very good and helpful. One bartender was the exception. She was rude and often away from her post, and generally unhelpful when present. Other than that, I had no complaints about service.

This is a comfortable resort in a good location. The weather is generally reliably warm and usually dry, although it did rain a couple of times during our trip, but not enough to spoil the fun.

Photos: http://s11.photobucket.com/user/eeeefarm/library/Los%20Corales%20March%202015?sort=6&page=1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enjoyable Snorkeling and Stay"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Art  on Feb 9, 2015  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
36 people found this review helpful

The last time were weíre at The Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales was Jan 2012. I Knew I would return but only if the price was right. Well the price was right. Getting through the airport was uneventful and I even had time to exchange the cash I would need to cover us for our stay. I read previous comments about cash not always available at the front desk which was true, so I was glad I did.
For context we are retired empty nesters in our early 60ís and have enjoyed many trips to Cuba all at various AIís ranging from 3 Star to 4 Ĺ Star. This trip (Jan 7th to 21st 2015) was our 4th to the Santiago de Cuba area which is usually warmer and dryer than other parts of Cuba. The weather we had was great during the day and only on a few evenings did we have to worry about rain. For us snorkeling and being on the beach is most important and we did both daily. At the start of our stay it was a bit windy and the water was rough but because the beach is sheltered by the reef, it really didnít affect the swimming or snorkeling. Caution though, even on the best of days you need to be careful at the opening to the outside of the reef as the current is very strong and swimming to the other side is not recommended by the lifeguards. The beach is shared by both sides of the resort and is fairly large but between the coral, rocks and sea urchins water shoes are highly recommended. We found the snorkeling very good, with a wide variety of fish, some of which weíve never seen before. If you like to snorkel you wonít be disappointed, and you donít have to go very far and be very deep.

Arrival:
The scenic ride from the airport to the hotel takes about an hour. For those who are not aware, Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales is basically two resorts operating as one. They each have their own front desks for check in, money exchange, etc. but you have access to the all the facilities on both sides. The walk between the two is only 5 minutes. We requested and got the Los Corales side as we preferred the feel of that side based on our previous trip. The check-in process was chaotic as two busloads got there at the same time. The three people on the desk did their best to process us all but it didnít help when others would cut in and interrupt the staff.

Rooms:
Our room was on upper level facing the sea and even though it was relatively close to the main stage everything was usually over by 11pm. The room was clean, well kept and quite comfortable. We had one issue at the beginning where there was no hot water or pressure so we mentioned it at the front desk. Later that afternoon it was been fixed but we had to be careful as the water was much hotter, a problem we were happy to deal with.

Restaurants and Bars:
The service we received at the buffet was very good, another improvement, and a definite improvement in the food. Yes it could be repetitious but there was always enough variety and choice that was tasty enough for us. On the grill there was usually beef, pork or chicken as well as fish. However not a lot of variety in the fruit and vegetables but at least it was consistent. And yes they did refill the dishes. Sometimes with better food than what was started with. One time I went back for an extra desert and saw breaded deep fried shrimp (yep I took some) so Iím not sure why some people thought they needed to attack the buffet as if it was the only food available or their last meal. The volume of food some people took was unbelievable, which leads to a fair amount of waste. There seemed to be an attitude of entitlement that we noticed here more than any other resort weíve been to, from where people sat at the buffet (and donít dare take their spot!) to the beach where if you sat where some other people wanted to be, they would crowd you out. On the other hand, we also met some very nice people there too.
There are two a-la-carts. The Seafood is located on the Carisol side and the Cuban on the Los Corales side. Both were quite enjoyable and saved us the trouble of fighting with the hungry hordes that attacked the buffet as soon as it was opened.
There is no beach Ranchon. Unfortunately Hurricane Sandy took care of that and its replacement appears to have been abandoned. So at the lunch hut close to the beach you could get a hot dog or the Cuban version of a hamburger (which we had once). We decided the buffet was better. While we didnít try the Carisol side, there were Pizzaís as well as the usual selection at the buffet. We did walk through a couple of times and the food looked pretty much the same as what was available on the Los Corales side.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools on both sides are nice and appear to be well maintained however we tried to spend as much time on the beach as possible so I canít say too much about them. The grounds also appear to be well maintained however leaving the droppings left by the horses and donkeys that wandered around the resort I donít think is a good idea, especially when trying to deal with the flies around the buffet. Allowing them extra places to breed just doesnít make sense.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The evening shows alternate between the two resorts and the few we watched were entertaining including the water ballet which is done once a week. For us itís a shame the shows arenít a little earlier as we tend to fade by the end of the day being up early and at the beach most of the day. On a few occasions very talented local musicians played in the buffet and a-la-cart. As to the bars, weíre not big drinkers but needed to be flexible in our choices as our first wasnít always available due to lack of mint, soda, juice, once even milk for the coffee. Canít blame the people behind the bar but there seemed to be a supply issue.

Other Comments:
I admit I was reluctant to return but the weather, the snorkeling, the improved food and the wonderful service we received from the staff made me glad we went. Make no mistake; this is still a 3 star resort but definitely an improved one and one that I would recommend so long as you aware of what you are getting and can be flexible. Donít forget the bug spray and bring cash as credit cards are difficult to use. You may also want to check the phone number of the resort when you get there to make sure it matches the one you left at home for emergencies. In our case, the one provided by our carrier (Sunwing) in our itinerary was incorrect. I also found out my cell phone (Bell) didnít work either. Fortunately there was internet (sometimes).

If you look up my channel on YouTube (MrJarArt) I have some older videos on this resort (not much has changed). A newer one will be posted in the near future as well as an updated snorkeling vid.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice hotel"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stewart  on Nov 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
51 people found this review helpful

After a long hard working year I decided to go on a vacation in Cuba. My travel agent suggested me to visit hotel Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales. When I first saw the hotel I was thrilled. But I didnít jump to a conclusion, because I was fooled by the look of some hotel before. When I entered the room, I saw that there are two twin beds (even though I asked for a room with one bed, but they said that they donít have that kind of a room). The bed was really comfortable and I really felt rested when I woke up. Nevertheless, the room was very clear, which is always a plus when it comes to hygiene. There was an air conditioner which was working perfectly, and you can have a nice cool room in only a minutes. I saw a telephone in the room, but didnít need it, so I donít really know if you can make international calls. The satellite TV was working just fine, so every time I stayed in the room, I was watching some interesting shows on it. Now, the bathroom, itís not the best bathroom in the world, but it was ok. It was clean and it had hot and cold water whenever I needed. The balcony was big enough for the whole family, and it has a wonderful view. What I'm very surprised, is that the hotel has housekeeping, so every time I went out of the room there was a lady changing sheets, cleaning the room, and when I get back itís all nice and clear. The employers were simply amazing. They will not let their guests down for sure. I am kind of disappointed by the restaurant. I think that they need to include something more on their menu, like various national cuisines. The bar is working just fine, every time you need a drink they are open. There is a very nice pool outside of the hotel, in fact the pool itís divided in two parts. One is for the children, and the other itís for adults. This hotel may not be the best hotel in the world, but itís worth visiting.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"just average if not terrible"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  simpson  on Sep 11, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
60 people found this review helpful

The hotel wasnít terrible but it wasnít up to what I had in mind while going to this resort so I can safely say it is just average, nothing special about it. The price was cheap so I couldnít complain much, I probably got what I paid for was my summary and I had to live with. I had my credit card with me, visa card precisely but they donít accept that so I had to go change some money and had cash so that problem was solved. The food was alright, nothing extra good just on the average, it was ok. The room I booked had a terrible smell like something had died in it and when I complained, I was moved to another with odor but not as bad as the first so I had to manage. The bathroom was dirty and unclean, cleaners didnít do daily cleaning. The pool was dirty because throughout the 4 days I stayed there, it wasnít clean and the water turned green I think, Iím pretty sure people will fall sick from swimming in that pool, i never tried to. There is a nice beach in front of the resort, for me that was the only nice thing about the resort. You can take a walk across the resort and go sightseeing so the whole of your holiday isnít messed up. You will find sculptures and some nice things across and around the resort. I am saying this so you are not disappointed when you visit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful weather not as bad as everyone writes up "

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alain  on Dec 6, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
117 people found this review helpful

This is our second trip to this resort in 2013. We plan on returning in 2014. Why because $ for $ it is not the best hotel in Cuba, BUT for weather it is guaranteed sunshine day in day out. Dollar value it is a 3* and that is what you pay for. Ya it's not the best beach but hey the water temp was 85 all week be it at the surface or at 100 feet. Yes I scuba dive. :) if any questions about the diving flip me a PMÖ Ya they run out of vodka or juice or butter or other but to us it's no big deal. we just keep saying how economical this trip is and that brightens our holiday. Staff is very friendly as they are in most Cuban resorts.

Room Number:
113 and 114

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
Arrival at Santiago airport was as expected. Hot and humid. Beer was 2CUC each. No beer for sale on the bus.
the Bus ride is less than 1 hour and they dropped off guests at Los Corales first and returned to Carisol side afterwards. check in was done in two minutes and the porters brought our lugguage to our rooms

Rooms:
Rooms have 2 single beds and large enough bathroom. Bed sheets were very clean and we could have used an extra pillow as we found them very thin. TV were changed since our last trip they now have flat screen. only 2 English channels

Restaurants and Bars:
2 restaurants were open Seafood and Cuban. 2 buffets... Many bars throughout the resort

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was badly damaged by Hurricane Sandy. Only a few spots where you can walk in without shoes. two large pools water temp varies on weather. Ocean was at 85f all week be it at the surface or at 100 feet.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Scuba diving was great with the diving club. dove every day sometime twice a day. Ernesto is awesome with the divers.

Other Comments:
we will return simply because of the dollar value and guaranteed weather

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing friendly adventure"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anouk  on Mar 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Party | Family and Kids
197 people found this review helpful

March break was my first time in Cuba. I do not regret picking this resort as the staff is amazing and friendly. It is a great place to learn about the culture and the people, of course if you want luxury, find somewhere else. But if you're looking for a good time and relax, I would strongly recommend it. I have made many friends and the night shows and disco were unbelievly satisfying. The hotel is definitely a 3 stars but its neat and the maids are super good, it's just like going camping I would say.

Room Number:
309

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I have never been in a worse hotel"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Erika Magister-Schramml  on Feb 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) AUSTRIA
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
236 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
519

Arrival:

- if you have good luck, you can find someone at the reception. Most of time there is nobody.

Rooms:
Soaps and toilett-paper you'll get only if you remind the woman.
The toilett didn't work, the woman at reception offered a bucket.

Restaurants and Bars:
If you not one of the first, the better things are finished.

f.e.
2 chickens for all the guests
15 bananas -"-

in 50% of the week there were no Mojito,
in the night I had to pay the drinks (in an all-inclusive-hotel!)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
o.k.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the best of the hotel
- very good show
- high motivated motivation-personal

Other Comments:
I left the hotel 3 days before, because it was really horrible.

Nether before in all my life I had such bad experiances.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect weather, pleasant hotel"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  eeeefarm  on Jan 30, 2012  >  12 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
247 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
123

Arrival:
I travelled to Carisol Los Corales with my snorkel buddy and her husband. We had visited Bucanero last January, so we knew in advance the weather would be perfect, and we were not disappointed. Wonderful, warm sunshine every single day! The bus ride to the hotel was picturesque, and check in went smoothly. We stayed at the Los Corales side and began our week in the 500 block, which we found somewhat noisy at night. The next day we changed our rooms to the 100 block, which was much quieter.

Rooms:
The rooms were very nice, although I found the beds a bit hard for my comfort, a usual problem for me in Cuba. Other than that, everything about the room was good. The A/C worked well, although it was a bit noisy but since "white noise" helps to cover exterior noises, I didn't find it objectionable. The shower always had great water pressure and lots of hot water. One minor problem was the transference of noise between bathrooms. You didn't have much doubt about what your neighbour was doing next door, which was esthetically displeasing, since it is a good bet he had the same information about you!

Restaurants and Bars:
A nice advantage of having two hotels to choose from is using the facilities of both. We alternated between the buffets, and had lunch at the pizza/pasta restaurant at Carisol most days. Good pizza! We skipped the beach restaurant except for a couple of orders of banana fries, since they only had hamburgers and hotdogs on offer, plus a small salad bar.

The buffets were typical for a Cuban 3 star resort. I am primarily vegetarian, and I found enough to eat. Disappointingly, the bread and buns were sometimes stale. Freshly cooked omelets were great at breakfast, however, and ice cream was available most nights. We did the "Grill" a la carte one evening, and it was wonderful! Our other a la carte reservation got mixed up, leaving us looking for an empty table at the buffet an hour after it opened, a task which proved almost impossible. Other than this one glitch, things went pretty smoothly and I was satisfied with the restaurants and service. The coffee bar and the lobby bars were both good and appreciated.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach. Nice white sand, if a bit coarse and shelly. Not a swimmer's beach, but very good for snorkelling. The reef protects the beach very well, so even when the ocean is rough it is possible to get in for a swim or snorkel without difficulty. There is a small sandy area where you can take a dip without encountering sea grass, but the rest is mostly grassy and shallow. In the mornings it was usually calm enough to venture outside the reef to snorkel, although we were cautioned about current in the channel on an outgoing tide, since people sometimes run into difficulty with this. It was definitely there, but posed no problem for us, although I would not have wanted to venture outside without fins. The snorkelling was quite good off the beach, and there is the option of going out with the dive boat or the Hobie, or of course with a paddle boat as well. Sailing was excellent, since it was possible to get out on very windy days. We had several memorable sails on the windy afternoons.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did a walking excursion that included a short boat ride and a visit to a crocodile farm and lunch at the restaurant there. This was quite enjoyable. The walk took us up through the pass behind the resort and down to the lagoon for the boat ride.

Other Comments:
I enjoyed my week at Los Corales, and I will be returning to this resort. It is a good option in this area of Cuba.

Photos: http://s11.photobucket.com/albums/a179/eeeefarm/Los%20Corales%20January%202012/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One week in Paradise! next time it will be two weeks!!"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Danika  on Feb 16, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
377 people found this review helpful

My cousin and I traveled to Santiago de Cuba for one week in February 2011. It was one week in paradise and it was too short! I loved the wall to wall sunshine everyday! The weather was 38celcius feels like 40 to 42 but with the warm breeze it never got overbearing.

I love to walk and the path between the two resorts was perfect for me. I felt perfectly safe taking my early morning walks from the beach all the way to the public beach and onto the road to either one of the entrances. The road is narrow though so you really have to make sure to give a lot of room for the buses and horse and buggies.

The staff is fabulous! what can I say - especially since the resort seems to cater to an older crowd they were very caring and helpful with all guests.

It was a long enough travel time though - we had to be in Montreal early for our flight and drove through a snow storm to get there - 4 1/2 hr flight with a stop off in Holguin and then to Santiago de Cuba to wait for the bus - after a bit of confusion - some people really have no clue how to relax and then an hour ride to the resort. The view is breath taking especially when we get to the ocean. We were happy to get to the resort and get our key and change into our bathing suits. So we left at 3am to finally be in our suits by 3:30 pm!

Just when we were finally starting to unwind it was time to leave! and we left early thursday morning :( 12hrs again total travel time.

so 2 weeks it is from now on! This place is Paradise!

Room Number:
417

Room Block:
400 - Carisol

Arrival:
After a 4 1/2 hr plane travel and 1hr bus we finally arrived. Outside it looks okay...but once inside it's Shangrila! Absolutely beautiful! After some issues with some guests who didn't want to be booked at the Carisol and would not get off the bus - I decided to give them my room - as if I was going to spend my holiday in a standoff on a bus! We really didn't care where we stayed - as if we stay in our rooms on vacation...apparently those two broads did as they were still chalky white when we left. lol

I would book Carisol again as I enjoy walking - best way to get my walks in.

Rooms:
We had a room with double beds. Our bathroom was always fully stocked with towels. We had a walk in shower with great pressure. The water was never hot or warm but it was quite refreshing actually after a full day at the beach. Apparently the water is solar heated and our block was having issues with a leaky system - other people staying at different blocks had hot water.

We had a fridge and TV and had a view of the pool and gardens. TIP: if you intend to go out onto the balcony to read do not shut the door as it locks automatically! Some people were locked out of their rooms.

The beds were on the hard side but that's just the way i like it. Our room was cleaned daily and honestly - you don't live in your room so for us it was perfect! The Aircon was always working well.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are two A La Cartes and the Grill as well as two buffets, Piazza and the Beach Ranchon. We went to the Grill twice for Lagoustina - DELICIOUS! we tried to book one of the A La Cartes but the chef was sick and it was rescheduled for the following night but we were booked at the grill so next time :)

The Buffet were very good. Veggies and lettuce, rice and chicken and pork and some beef and of course fish. i loved the fried plantains! We always ate well. Breakfast being my all time favorite with fresh fruit and eggs and freshly squeezed orange juice.

Lunch was either at the Ranchon by the beach for Hotdogs and fries or fried chicken and fries. Very good...why are the fries in Cuba so much better than back home? lol

We tried the Piazza for a veggie pizza and it was delicious! they open at 12:30pm and it's first come first serve and the pizza is made on the spot so it does take some time but it's so well worth the wait.

BARS: two swim up pool bars, one 24hr bar (I think) two lobby bars and a beach bar....they are certainly not lacking in bars. We tried to see who made the best mojito and basically they all do! But the lobby bar uses glasses not plastic glasses and their mojitos were awesome!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I loved the beach. Nice sand and calm. There are certain areas which have no sea grass so you can go in there and just float away but be careful where you step - there are lots of coral. Swim shoes are suggested. The sea grass is a fabulous place for snorkeling and you can see lots of people floating face down checking out the sea life...very relaxing too.

My highlight of my trip was the Catamaran! Being an avid sailor, I thoroughly enjoyed being with an expert Capitano Franco! He is awesome! and took me out as much as he could. I was in 7th heaven!

The grounds are well kept. The gardeners do a great job and the beautiful flowering trees and bushes are so striking to look at.

The pools are beautiful and cleaned daily. I loved doing my laps in the Los Corales pool. It's a bit longer so more suitable for laps.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are daily activities at the resort on the beach and at the pool. Volleyball, aquafitness, stretching, Bingo, dancing lessons and Spanish lessons. The nightly shows were very good as well. The fireeater and the water ballet was awesome!

Other Comments:
I was so impressed by this resort. Meeting many other guests who have been returning for years and years only shows that this resort is doing something right! The staff is top notch! I am glad to say that I will part of the group that keeps on returning!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"like this place so much.."

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Jean-Claude Bellemare jc the greatest  on Dec 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010
505 people found this review helpful

the most beautiful place i`ve seen in Cuba and nice weather. I like this place so much that i will be back on february the 3rd for my birthday the 6th. Clean place, personnal always smiling, nicest beach in Santiago...just wonderful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube