Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Santiago de Cuba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Las Americas

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 5, 2014

Cubanacan Versalles

4.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 4, 2014

Encanto San Basilio

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Club Bucanero

3.4 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 5, 2012

Islazul Costa Morena

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales  

Carretera Baconao Km 54, Playa Cazonal, Santiago de Cuba

"just average if not terrible"
Posted by: simpson on Sep 11, 2014
see all reviews

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Reviews
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Pictures and Information
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Santiago de Cuba Cuba

#3
of 13 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba

User rating 3.8

Based on 8 reviews

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Information


The hotel will be closed due to maintenance and renovation until further notice.


Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales hotel is located in Baconao Park, considered by UNESCO, a natural reserve of the biosphere. Its surroundings are specials to enjoy a full contact with nature

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Reviews

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 3.8 of 5 8 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  2
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With Group
1 - 8 of 8

"just average if not terrible"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  simpson  on Sep 11, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
8 people found this review helpful

The hotel wasnít terrible but it wasnít up to what I had in mind while going to this resort so I can safely say it is just average, nothing special about it. The price was cheap so I couldnít complain much, I probably got what I paid for was my summary and I had to live with. I had my credit card with me, visa card precisely but they donít accept that so I had to go change some money and had cash so that problem was solved. The food was alright, nothing extra good just on the average, it was ok. The room I booked had a terrible smell like something had died in it and when I complained, I was moved to another with odor but not as bad as the first so I had to manage. The bathroom was dirty and unclean, cleaners didnít do daily cleaning. The pool was dirty because throughout the 4 days I stayed there, it wasnít clean and the water turned green I think, Iím pretty sure people will fall sick from swimming in that pool, i never tried to. There is a nice beach in front of the resort, for me that was the only nice thing about the resort. You can take a walk across the resort and go sightseeing so the whole of your holiday isnít messed up. You will find sculptures and some nice things across and around the resort. I am saying this so you are not disappointed when you visit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful weather not as bad as everyone writes up "

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alain  on Dec 6, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
65 people found this review helpful

This is our second trip to this resort in 2013. We plan on returning in 2014. Why because $ for $ it is not the best hotel in Cuba, BUT for weather it is guaranteed sunshine day in day out. Dollar value it is a 3* and that is what you pay for. Ya it's not the best beach but hey the water temp was 85 all week be it at the surface or at 100 feet. Yes I scuba dive. :) if any questions about the diving flip me a PMÖ Ya they run out of vodka or juice or butter or other but to us it's no big deal. we just keep saying how economical this trip is and that brightens our holiday. Staff is very friendly as they are in most Cuban resorts.

Room Number:
113 and 114

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
Arrival at Santiago airport was as expected. Hot and humid. Beer was 2CUC each. No beer for sale on the bus.
the Bus ride is less than 1 hour and they dropped off guests at Los Corales first and returned to Carisol side afterwards. check in was done in two minutes and the porters brought our lugguage to our rooms

Rooms:
Rooms have 2 single beds and large enough bathroom. Bed sheets were very clean and we could have used an extra pillow as we found them very thin. TV were changed since our last trip they now have flat screen. only 2 English channels

Restaurants and Bars:
2 restaurants were open Seafood and Cuban. 2 buffets... Many bars throughout the resort

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was badly damaged by Hurricane Sandy. Only a few spots where you can walk in without shoes. two large pools water temp varies on weather. Ocean was at 85f all week be it at the surface or at 100 feet.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Scuba diving was great with the diving club. dove every day sometime twice a day. Ernesto is awesome with the divers.

Other Comments:
we will return simply because of the dollar value and guaranteed weather

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing friendly adventure"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anouk  on Mar 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Party | Family and Kids
150 people found this review helpful

March break was my first time in Cuba. I do not regret picking this resort as the staff is amazing and friendly. It is a great place to learn about the culture and the people, of course if you want luxury, find somewhere else. But if you're looking for a good time and relax, I would strongly recommend it. I have made many friends and the night shows and disco were unbelievly satisfying. The hotel is definitely a 3 stars but its neat and the maids are super good, it's just like going camping I would say.

Room Number:
309

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I have never been in a worse hotel"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Erika Magister-Schramml  on Feb 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) AUSTRIA
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
192 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
519

Arrival:

- if you have good luck, you can find someone at the reception. Most of time there is nobody.

Rooms:
Soaps and toilett-paper you'll get only if you remind the woman.
The toilett didn't work, the woman at reception offered a bucket.

Restaurants and Bars:
If you not one of the first, the better things are finished.

f.e.
2 chickens for all the guests
15 bananas -"-

in 50% of the week there were no Mojito,
in the night I had to pay the drinks (in an all-inclusive-hotel!)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
o.k.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the best of the hotel
- very good show
- high motivated motivation-personal

Other Comments:
I left the hotel 3 days before, because it was really horrible.

Nether before in all my life I had such bad experiances.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect weather, pleasant hotel"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  eeeefarm  on Jan 30, 2012  >  10 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
178 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
123

Arrival:
I travelled to Carisol Los Corales with my snorkel buddy and her husband. We had visited Bucanero last January, so we knew in advance the weather would be perfect, and we were not disappointed. Wonderful, warm sunshine every single day! The bus ride to the hotel was picturesque, and check in went smoothly. We stayed at the Los Corales side and began our week in the 500 block, which we found somewhat noisy at night. The next day we changed our rooms to the 100 block, which was much quieter.

Rooms:
The rooms were very nice, although I found the beds a bit hard for my comfort, a usual problem for me in Cuba. Other than that, everything about the room was good. The A/C worked well, although it was a bit noisy but since "white noise" helps to cover exterior noises, I didn't find it objectionable. The shower always had great water pressure and lots of hot water. One minor problem was the transference of noise between bathrooms. You didn't have much doubt about what your neighbour was doing next door, which was esthetically displeasing, since it is a good bet he had the same information about you!

Restaurants and Bars:
A nice advantage of having two hotels to choose from is using the facilities of both. We alternated between the buffets, and had lunch at the pizza/pasta restaurant at Carisol most days. Good pizza! We skipped the beach restaurant except for a couple of orders of banana fries, since they only had hamburgers and hotdogs on offer, plus a small salad bar.

The buffets were typical for a Cuban 3 star resort. I am primarily vegetarian, and I found enough to eat. Disappointingly, the bread and buns were sometimes stale. Freshly cooked omelets were great at breakfast, however, and ice cream was available most nights. We did the "Grill" a la carte one evening, and it was wonderful! Our other a la carte reservation got mixed up, leaving us looking for an empty table at the buffet an hour after it opened, a task which proved almost impossible. Other than this one glitch, things went pretty smoothly and I was satisfied with the restaurants and service. The coffee bar and the lobby bars were both good and appreciated.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach. Nice white sand, if a bit coarse and shelly. Not a swimmer's beach, but very good for snorkelling. The reef protects the beach very well, so even when the ocean is rough it is possible to get in for a swim or snorkel without difficulty. There is a small sandy area where you can take a dip without encountering sea grass, but the rest is mostly grassy and shallow. In the mornings it was usually calm enough to venture outside the reef to snorkel, although we were cautioned about current in the channel on an outgoing tide, since people sometimes run into difficulty with this. It was definitely there, but posed no problem for us, although I would not have wanted to venture outside without fins. The snorkelling was quite good off the beach, and there is the option of going out with the dive boat or the Hobie, or of course with a paddle boat as well. Sailing was excellent, since it was possible to get out on very windy days. We had several memorable sails on the windy afternoons.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did a walking excursion that included a short boat ride and a visit to a crocodile farm and lunch at the restaurant there. This was quite enjoyable. The walk took us up through the pass behind the resort and down to the lagoon for the boat ride.

Other Comments:
I enjoyed my week at Los Corales, and I will be returning to this resort. It is a good option in this area of Cuba.

Photos: http://s11.photobucket.com/albums/a179/eeeefarm/Los%20Corales%20January%202012/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One week in Paradise! next time it will be two weeks!!"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Danika  on Feb 16, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
325 people found this review helpful

My cousin and I traveled to Santiago de Cuba for one week in February 2011. It was one week in paradise and it was too short! I loved the wall to wall sunshine everyday! The weather was 38celcius feels like 40 to 42 but with the warm breeze it never got overbearing.

I love to walk and the path between the two resorts was perfect for me. I felt perfectly safe taking my early morning walks from the beach all the way to the public beach and onto the road to either one of the entrances. The road is narrow though so you really have to make sure to give a lot of room for the buses and horse and buggies.

The staff is fabulous! what can I say - especially since the resort seems to cater to an older crowd they were very caring and helpful with all guests.

It was a long enough travel time though - we had to be in Montreal early for our flight and drove through a snow storm to get there - 4 1/2 hr flight with a stop off in Holguin and then to Santiago de Cuba to wait for the bus - after a bit of confusion - some people really have no clue how to relax and then an hour ride to the resort. The view is breath taking especially when we get to the ocean. We were happy to get to the resort and get our key and change into our bathing suits. So we left at 3am to finally be in our suits by 3:30 pm!

Just when we were finally starting to unwind it was time to leave! and we left early thursday morning :( 12hrs again total travel time.

so 2 weeks it is from now on! This place is Paradise!

Room Number:
417

Room Block:
400 - Carisol

Arrival:
After a 4 1/2 hr plane travel and 1hr bus we finally arrived. Outside it looks okay...but once inside it's Shangrila! Absolutely beautiful! After some issues with some guests who didn't want to be booked at the Carisol and would not get off the bus - I decided to give them my room - as if I was going to spend my holiday in a standoff on a bus! We really didn't care where we stayed - as if we stay in our rooms on vacation...apparently those two broads did as they were still chalky white when we left. lol

I would book Carisol again as I enjoy walking - best way to get my walks in.

Rooms:
We had a room with double beds. Our bathroom was always fully stocked with towels. We had a walk in shower with great pressure. The water was never hot or warm but it was quite refreshing actually after a full day at the beach. Apparently the water is solar heated and our block was having issues with a leaky system - other people staying at different blocks had hot water.

We had a fridge and TV and had a view of the pool and gardens. TIP: if you intend to go out onto the balcony to read do not shut the door as it locks automatically! Some people were locked out of their rooms.

The beds were on the hard side but that's just the way i like it. Our room was cleaned daily and honestly - you don't live in your room so for us it was perfect! The Aircon was always working well.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are two A La Cartes and the Grill as well as two buffets, Piazza and the Beach Ranchon. We went to the Grill twice for Lagoustina - DELICIOUS! we tried to book one of the A La Cartes but the chef was sick and it was rescheduled for the following night but we were booked at the grill so next time :)

The Buffet were very good. Veggies and lettuce, rice and chicken and pork and some beef and of course fish. i loved the fried plantains! We always ate well. Breakfast being my all time favorite with fresh fruit and eggs and freshly squeezed orange juice.

Lunch was either at the Ranchon by the beach for Hotdogs and fries or fried chicken and fries. Very good...why are the fries in Cuba so much better than back home? lol

We tried the Piazza for a veggie pizza and it was delicious! they open at 12:30pm and it's first come first serve and the pizza is made on the spot so it does take some time but it's so well worth the wait.

BARS: two swim up pool bars, one 24hr bar (I think) two lobby bars and a beach bar....they are certainly not lacking in bars. We tried to see who made the best mojito and basically they all do! But the lobby bar uses glasses not plastic glasses and their mojitos were awesome!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I loved the beach. Nice sand and calm. There are certain areas which have no sea grass so you can go in there and just float away but be careful where you step - there are lots of coral. Swim shoes are suggested. The sea grass is a fabulous place for snorkeling and you can see lots of people floating face down checking out the sea life...very relaxing too.

My highlight of my trip was the Catamaran! Being an avid sailor, I thoroughly enjoyed being with an expert Capitano Franco! He is awesome! and took me out as much as he could. I was in 7th heaven!

The grounds are well kept. The gardeners do a great job and the beautiful flowering trees and bushes are so striking to look at.

The pools are beautiful and cleaned daily. I loved doing my laps in the Los Corales pool. It's a bit longer so more suitable for laps.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are daily activities at the resort on the beach and at the pool. Volleyball, aquafitness, stretching, Bingo, dancing lessons and Spanish lessons. The nightly shows were very good as well. The fireeater and the water ballet was awesome!

Other Comments:
I was so impressed by this resort. Meeting many other guests who have been returning for years and years only shows that this resort is doing something right! The staff is top notch! I am glad to say that I will part of the group that keeps on returning!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"like this place so much.."

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Jean-Claude Bellemare jc the greatest  on Dec 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010
453 people found this review helpful

the most beautiful place i`ve seen in Cuba and nice weather. I like this place so much that i will be back on february the 3rd for my birthday the 6th. Clean place, personnal always smiling, nicest beach in Santiago...just wonderful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"the Real Deal on the Corales"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandy  on Jan 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
423 people found this review helpful

Summary: this resort is a solid 3 star for Cuba with standard Cuban food and drinks but the biggest selling point here ( and the reason we will return) is the weather !! In the high 30's every day and no rain. For more info and some tips to make the most of your stay please read on...
We travelled to Los Corales Dec 27 - Jan 3 with a family of 12 (aged 12 yr to 78 yrs). We have travelled many times to Cuba including Manzanilla, Santa Lucia, Cayo Coco as well as other parts of the Carribean ( Mexico, Antigua, St. Thomas, San Juan, Costa Rica). I had researched this resort and we new what to expect. The resort was not even 1/4 full so we felt like we had it to ourselves. They just opened the week before we got there. The sister resort the Carisol also had low occupancy. We could go back and forth to both resorts but basically stated at the Corales. We were told that they are trying to make the Carisol the 'party' hotel for the younger crowd. NOTE: there was NO internet at either resort!!

Rooms:
We stayed in 501, 502, 504 which is right near the Coffee bar and entertainment which was perfect for us. Others from group stayed in 106 and 108 which was perfect for them as it was further away from the music and early moring coffee goers.
Rooms were cleaned daily and towels refreshed, no smell, no bugs, fresh sheets, great patio with chairs. We did not need convertors for electricity. There is a fridge but there is nothing in it.
Safes for us were free but we needed to get someone to come and activate it for us.
HINT #1 - the 500 block only has mirrors in the bathroom...bring a mirror if you will need to do hair and make up while the bathroom is occupied.
HINT # 2 - Bring some extra toilet paper as they refill everyday but only one roll..so bring some in case of emgerencies
HINT # 3 - If you want a quieter room ask for 100 or 200 as they are further away from the action.
HINT # 4 -The beds are hard and the pillows are slim. If this is a problem for you bring an extra pillow or drink more before you go to bed.
HINT # 5 -There are no clocks in the rooms so make sure you bring an alarm clock or watch or you will be like me and wondering what time it is

Restaurants and Bars:
There are 3 bars 1) Daiquiri Bar by entertainment 2) Swim Up bar 3) Lobby Bar. these bars are opened at different times during the day. they have cappachino and expressor but did not know how to make a spanish coffee. Some of the drinks available are Cuba Libre, Mojito, Pina Colada, Hemingway Special, Ron Punch, Planters Punch, Gin Fizz. They also have draft beer on tap. If they ran out of beer they replaced the keg ASAP however when they were out of vodka they would not go get more at another bar. Pool Bartenders ( Ovidio and Ivan were fantasitc) but others were sparatic in terms of there moods and service. HINT #6 - They do not have diet soda/pop. A nice drink for the calorie cautious is Sparkling water,lime and vodka or rum. Ask Ovidio at the pool bar to make you one!!
HINT # 7 - Drinks will taste different at every bar depending on who makes it.
HINT # 8 - Sparkling water is water with 'gas' so be sure to ask for gas or no gas water
HINT # 9 - Bring a thermos mug as the cups are small and plastic
HINT # 10 - If you like to drink out of a straw in a big mug, take some straws.They did have them at the end of the trip but they were short ones
HINT # 11 - If you like Bailys Irish Cream...bring you own..I wish I had for my coffee
HINT # 12 - They only have red wine, which was pretty good , so if you like white, bring your own.

FOOD
We always found something to eat. There was always a carving of beef , chicken and fish on the grill. Buffet offers soup, salade, great buns, a variety of potatoes which changed daily, beans, veggies etc. They had ketchup, mustard, HP sauce and hot sauce.
You will need to know when the restuarant are open as there are periods of time when there is no food available.
Breakfast at the buffet only ( 7:00 - 10:00) with typical breakfast options including an ommlette grill, real bacon, boiled eggs, meat , cheese and buns, pancakes, french toast etc...
Lunch options are buffet ( 12:30 - 2:00) or Italian Grill at the Corisal or Grill at the beach. Grill had fries and burgers or hot dogs. Italian had pizza or pasta.
Dinner options same as above but Grill turns into a Seafood resturant which needs reservations ( Lobster and Shrimp are extra) and Italian is the same menu and also needs reservations which need to be booked the same day at 10:00 am.
HINT # 13 - get to the lobby early if you want to book the Italian as it fills up fast

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
POOL
The pool was cleaned daily however they were very lax in the cleaning of the pool deck. The candy we dropped on the first day was still on the pool deck on the fifth day.The pool guy did not work too hard and sat drinking beer after the bar opened ( sorry..but we watched this every day!!)
Pool chairs where fairly new and in good shape but very hard on the butt..
We pretty much had the pool to ourselves so there was no issue getting a spot.
The towel lady appeared every day about 10:00 and was there until 4:30 so you can exchange your towel every day. You will be expected to turn in the # of towels that you signed up for or there is a charge.
HINT # 14 - Take a small air mattress to blow up as a cushion on the lounge chairs

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
STAFF
Bar staff - at pool were AWESOME!!! Ovidio and Ivan we miss you ..thanksfor taking care if us!!
Maids - were very efficent and friendly but I have to admit I did not even see ours as we were not in our room much. Others in family talked to them daily and they called them by name.
Gardeners and Security - lots of both of these around everywhere and they were friendly
Activities staff - WHAT Activities staff??? really..did not see anyone in charge of activities for the first 3 days..when they did show up they announced Salsa lessons at 4:30 ..but never showed up..VBall at 4:00 and never showed up..and this went on every day. We actually made a joke of it until finally a water polo game did materialize. We were a group of adults and kids who would have participated and were disappointed at this aspect of the resort.
Even the dive instructor was disinterested in drumming up participants and when we did go to get a lesson, he sat at the bar drinking beer while the bartender hooked us up with the tanks. Honestly, our take on the activities staff was they were lazy, but maybe there were at the other resort.
HINT 15 - If you plan on doing alot of activities you may be disappointed as they were non- existent at this resort.

Entertainment
There was entertainment every night that started at 9:30. The dancing got repetative but they switched it up with some audience participation, a magician and water ballet.

WEATHER - 3 words..HOT HOT HOT..mid 30`s every day ( I always take a themometer so I know the daily temps ) and at night went down to 25 or so..very few clouds and not a drop of rain!!! this is why we will come back....
HINT 16 - Bring a thermometer and tie it to your chair so you can tell your friends how HOT it was !!

TIPS and GIFTING
We tips the bartenders and wait staff but also brought tons of gifts like shoes and batteries and duct tape etc etc...
HINT 17 - They realy need shoes especially running shoes so if you have good used ones bring them to give away.
HINT 18 - Don`t forget about the gardeners and cooks.

EXCURSIONS
We did the 2 hr horse back riding which was fantastic. We took knapsacks full of goodies to give out along the way as we rode through the mountains. cost - $15.00
We did the snorkel excursion through Marlin on a catamaran where we were out on the water for 4 hrs, fished and snorkeled...saw great sea life and caught 5 fish. A very fun trip - cost $45
We also did the dolphins which was the highlight for some - took the bus and watched the show and swam with dolphins for $55.00

NEW YEARS EVE CELEBRATION
This was a special night for them where they roasted a pig, decorated the dining room , had fancy desserts, served champagn, had nice appetizers.
We took horns and glow stick and hats and were glad as they did not have any of this.
The entertainment was the same dancers as the other nights..and at NYs there was a count down and more champagne.

Other Comments:
CLOSING SUMMARY
We would return to this hotel for the weather and the people. The food is basic but still good and no one went hungry or got sick. If you are looking for a no fuss resort with great weather then this is the resort for you. If you are looking for 5 star dining and fancy accommodation this is not the place for you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube