Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Santiago de Cuba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Las Americas

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 5, 2014

Cubanacan Versalles

4.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 4, 2014

Encanto San Basilio

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Club Bucanero

3.4 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

Islazul Costa Morena

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales  

Carretera Baconao Km 54, Playa Cazonal, Santiago de Cuba

"Not returning to Carisol los Corales in Santiago Cuba"
Posted by: Catherine  on Feb 23, 2016
see all reviews

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Reviews
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Pictures and Information
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Santiago de Cuba Cuba

#3
of 13 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba

User rating 3.6

Based on 14 reviews

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Information


Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales hotel is located in Baconao Park, considered by UNESCO, a natural reserve of the biosphere. Its surroundings are specials to enjoy a full contact with nature

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Reviews

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 3.6 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  5
Average
  4
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 14

"I have never been in a worse hotel"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Erika Magister-Schramml  on Feb 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) AUSTRIA
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
435 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
519

Arrival:

- if you have good luck, you can find someone at the reception. Most of time there is nobody.

Rooms:
Soaps and toilett-paper you'll get only if you remind the woman.
The toilett didn't work, the woman at reception offered a bucket.

Restaurants and Bars:
If you not one of the first, the better things are finished.

f.e.
2 chickens for all the guests
15 bananas -"-

in 50% of the week there were no Mojito,
in the night I had to pay the drinks (in an all-inclusive-hotel!)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
o.k.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the best of the hotel
- very good show
- high motivated motivation-personal

Other Comments:
I left the hotel 3 days before, because it was really horrible.

Nether before in all my life I had such bad experiances.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not returning to Carisol los Corales in Santiago Cuba"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Catherine  on Feb 23, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
143 people found this review helpful

We've been visiting Cuba for over ten years. On arrival we were directed to our paid for "ocean view bungalow". It was dark when we arrived and after a long flight we just wanted to dump our luggage and find something to eat. Made our way to the buffet and had to fight for a plate, utensils, somewhere to sit and were never offered a drink. Oh oh!!! Food was limited and cold. :
Woke up to find that we did not have an ocean view at all. What we saw from the balcony was a view of other rooms with clothes lines with underwear flapping in the breeze and a naked man sitting on his balcony taking in the morning sun! :) We heard from others that there is a faction that stay for months and treat it as such. Now we know!
Went to breakfast( the only meal that was somewhat tolerable) and to the desk to change our room. We waited most of that day to be moved to the other side of the resort to a room that was much better but in an area not very well cared for. We didn't mind that and made the best of it as it was very quiet and our chambermaid was lovely. She was tipped. Hair dryer clapped out on day three and no phone in the room but didn't bother trying to address that. Hot water was enough! :)

The food was tedious and repeated every day. Cold and scarce once the buffet was opened. Learned to go at opening or risk the last dregs of the remaining offerings. That's IF you could find a plate! Or a fork or knife! Staff were minimal as well and if you were served it was without a smile or any interaction at all. Our wine glasses were filled with perhaps an inch of wine and no refills were offered. Lots of birds, dogs and cats throughout the buffet as well. Bring your hand sanitizer.

The beach was lovely....but the clientele was horrific. Fights were common over the loungers as apparently some of them felt that they owned the palapas and chairs 24/7 (they kept their chairs and prime spots with all their gear overnight and woe to those who wanted some shade or a chance to be close to the sea.) It was shocking to see the behaviour of these people and we've never had this kind of experience in all our travels to Cuba.
Staff were less than friendly or engaged and though we tipped we found the service was the same with our without.
The entertainment was good and we enjoyed the shows. Chairs were also hoarded in rooms for those who wanted to sit to enjoy said shows and hauled out once the entertainment started! These chairs were common area chairs...bar chairs. Unbelievable!!!!
Will not return to this resort.




Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"beautiful resort, good time, friendly people, food so so, needs more organization"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Jan 17, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | Family and Kids
168 people found this review helpful

We stayed on Carisol side, but spent a lot of time on Los Corales side. They had the most friendliest bartenders at pool bar and was a little more exciting on that side. The week we were there all the nightly shows were only on Los Corales side. Food was just so so. Buffet on Carisol side ran out of plates all the time and when asked for more, they would say yes but then would not come back with any, usually had to ask 3 people before they brought out just 2 or 3 more plates. Would of been nice to have pizza place open more. It was broke down for a couple days and when open ony from 12 til 3. Bathrooms on resort were always without toilet paper and at some points by pools they were so disgusting with human feces, that staff should of cleaned them more. My room and shower were great. Loved almost all the staff, especially public relations lady Maivie (not sure if spelling right). She was always taking care of us, did some of the games like bingo, etc. And she was so personable and helped us with any questions we had. Pool Bar bartender Fransceso was amazing. Wait staff at buffets were great especially Marissa, but the ladies that wore the red jackets who seem to be supervising just stood there and were not helpful when asked for something. Wish the disco served beer and wine. And would of been nice to be able to get mixed drinks the margaritas and pina colades at other places than only in daytime at pool bar. Entertainment at night was good. The beach was amazing. Overall we had a good time. Loved the scenery. And the 15 and 21 year old had a great time and met lots of friends. We went with 6 people (3 rooms). My husband and I were in room 110 which was great. But rest of my family was in the 400's rooms (I think 418 and 419). One of those rooms had hardly any water and hardly any hot water, but my mom lived with it until 2nd last day there she had absolutely no water for last two days. They came and said they fixed but next day did not work at all, but because we were leaving next day she showered in my room. I would suggest more organization like for staff to know details of what events will be happening when and where. And maybe more events in daytime.

Room Number:
110

Room Block:
Carisol, closest building to lobby

Arrival:
Bus took us to wrong side of resort. Had to wait for about half hour to get to Carisol side. But otherwise, bus ride was good, not too long of a trip and made it to rooms fine. But would of loved to have all 6 of us in same block of hotel rooms.

Rooms:
Clean, room 110 had a great shower. Phone did not work. Should have alarm clock in room. Did have a few ants and 1 large cockroach, but I think that is probably a normal thing that I have seen at other resorts as well. Very trustworthy staff.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets ran out of plates a lot. And trying to get more was sometimes maddening. Would have to ask about 3 or 4 different people and wait a long time then finally someone would bring out just a few plates. Food was okay, but would always have to ask for something like spoons, or milk for tea, etc. I was thankful to be able to get omelettes and carved pig and fish fresh off grill because most of the buffet food I didn't like much. Pizza was great when it was open. Wish it would of been open longer hours and daily. Ours was closed for a couple of days. All the Al La Cartes on Carisol side were basically closed. So ate on Los Corales side a lot. They were great meals. Loved the barbequed stuffed pork chops. Good wine and great service. Bars were lacking all blended mixed drinks. Could only get pina colades and margaritas at pool bar until 5pm. Disco had no beer or wine. So this could be upgraded. No fruity drinks with pineapple or coconut, so it would be nice to have that. Disco was okay. But only served liquor. Lobby bar on Carisol side had one older lady that was not very friendly until very last day when she actually smiled and said thank you. But all other staff was terrific.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Absolutely loved the beach. The man cleaning beach and looking after it was amazing too. Always got us beach chairs. Great drinks on beach too. No one asking for anything. Loved the pools and pool bars. Very nice scenery. Bathrooms should be kept cleaner around pools, discos, etc. And we would bring our own toilet paper because there was never any. Grounds were kept clean. And we had no problems with the dogs around or goats, cows, horses, etc. It was fun seeing them and all dogs friendly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
had front desk call us a cab to go to Santiago for day. We were picked up in a 1957 Chevy. It was amazing ride. The driver stayed with us the whole day and showed us around, so felt very safe. We went for a nice lunch, seen a church and the fort. Went swimming with dolphins at aquarium in Bacones. That was the greatest experience. Nightly shows were pretty good, but only were on the Los Corales side. Loved all the dancers. Not much activity in day time, could of been more things to do.

Other Comments:
Overall we did have a good time. And love how friendly most people were and how safe we felt there. Thank you

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Predictable weather, adequate accommodations "

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  eeee  on Dec 20, 2015  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2015 | Leisure | Solo
169 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
B3

Room Block:
Bungalow B

Arrival:
After an on time arrival with Sunwing, sorting out the passengers for the bus and waiting until everyone was on board took the usual amount of time. The ride to the hotel was scenic, marred only by a short stop to allow a young girl off for a moment as she was feeling car sick.

Check in at the hotel was quick, and a busboy was readily available to take my bags to the room.

Rooms:
The bungalows are showing their age, but the view compensates for that somewhat. There really aren't any drawers for clothing, but I did find enough hangers for my things. The shower had good hot water and pressure, but the telephone head would not sit at the correct angle, tending to spray on the wall. I found someone to make an adjustment on day two, and it was fine after that. The toilet flush was inadequate for the job, often requiring a second attempt, but I remedied that by taking the back off the toilet and holding down the float until an appropriate amount of water was available. Not worth asking maintenance to fix. Beds were fairly comfortable. The mattresses are old, so not quite as hard as most you find in Cuba. The maid kept things clean and tidy.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet restaurants were adequate, nothing more. There was a shortage of fresh vegetables, with little variety (no tomatoes!!), which got a bit trying for a vegetarian, but I managed to find enough to eat. Bread was fresh and good, as was butter. Squash was on the menu every day, and one day there were very good mashed potatoes. Plantain did a fairly good job of standing in for French Fries.

The a la carte restaurants were quite a bit better, although still lacking in supplies. The Seafood was located at Carisol, and the Cuban at Corales. Service was good and the food quite tasty. I broke my vegetarian diet with fish and even a bit of chicken, since most vegetables were in short supply.

The 24 hour bar at Corales was available as early as I wanted, with the noticeable exception of the last day, when it was inexplicably closed and the service moved to the Ranchon (halfway between Carisol and Corales). Unfortunately nobody had thought to relocate the coffee machine!! A lot of unhappy guests were deprived of coffee on the day they most needed it. We had an early bus to the airport.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool looked in good shape, clean and inviting, and with enough chairs available around it. I didn't bother swimming there, as I spent my time in the ocean.

The beach is white sand with bits of coral and rock in it that can be a bit hard on the feet. I enjoyed snorkelling every day. This trip I stayed inside the reef, and saw lots of interesting things, including octopus and eels. Most days would offer a new discovery.

Sailing was enjoyable and I went out every afternoon.

The grounds are attractive and neatly kept, but be aware you may encounter livestock at any time. Bulls, horses, and donkeys roam freely at night, and goats are often around in the daytime. Pay attention to where you walk!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I didn't go on any of the excursions offered, so I can't comment. I tend to skip the evening entertainment in favour of rising early and snorkelling right after breakfast.

Other Comments:
Other than the shortages, Los Corales was much as it has been on my previous trips. There were a couple of changes. There has been an effort made to remove the swallows nests, and there was a very noticeable decline in numbers of birds around, particularly in the restaurants. This is a good thing in terms of hygiene, but I did miss the cheerful birds. They are still around, but in much reduced numbers.

The moving of the 24 hour bar on the last morning was a major faux pas by management, and I cannot imagine what they were thinking! I'm sure it left many guests with a bad final impression of the resort, which is unfortunate.

Staff in the restaurants varied from excellent to barely adequate. Impressions of the service could be quite different, depending on the day and where you sat.

Generally staff at Los Corales are friendly and helpful. The few exceptions are relatively easy to avoid once you know who they are. I was favourably impressed with the front desk staff. Changing money was done professionally and in line with current bank rates.

Carisol los Corales is a solid three star that could be a lot more with a bit of work.

Photos: http://s11.photobucket.com/user/eeeefarm/library/Los%20Corales%20December%202015?sort=3&page=1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"the Real Deal on the Corales"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sandy  on Jan 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
537 people found this review helpful

Summary: this resort is a solid 3 star for Cuba with standard Cuban food and drinks but the biggest selling point here ( and the reason we will return) is the weather !! In the high 30's every day and no rain. For more info and some tips to make the most of your stay please read on...
We travelled to Los Corales Dec 27 - Jan 3 with a family of 12 (aged 12 yr to 78 yrs). We have travelled many times to Cuba including Manzanilla, Santa Lucia, Cayo Coco as well as other parts of the Carribean ( Mexico, Antigua, St. Thomas, San Juan, Costa Rica). I had researched this resort and we new what to expect. The resort was not even 1/4 full so we felt like we had it to ourselves. They just opened the week before we got there. The sister resort the Carisol also had low occupancy. We could go back and forth to both resorts but basically stated at the Corales. We were told that they are trying to make the Carisol the 'party' hotel for the younger crowd. NOTE: there was NO internet at either resort!!

Rooms:
We stayed in 501, 502, 504 which is right near the Coffee bar and entertainment which was perfect for us. Others from group stayed in 106 and 108 which was perfect for them as it was further away from the music and early moring coffee goers.
Rooms were cleaned daily and towels refreshed, no smell, no bugs, fresh sheets, great patio with chairs. We did not need convertors for electricity. There is a fridge but there is nothing in it.
Safes for us were free but we needed to get someone to come and activate it for us.
HINT #1 - the 500 block only has mirrors in the bathroom...bring a mirror if you will need to do hair and make up while the bathroom is occupied.
HINT # 2 - Bring some extra toilet paper as they refill everyday but only one roll..so bring some in case of emgerencies
HINT # 3 - If you want a quieter room ask for 100 or 200 as they are further away from the action.
HINT # 4 -The beds are hard and the pillows are slim. If this is a problem for you bring an extra pillow or drink more before you go to bed.
HINT # 5 -There are no clocks in the rooms so make sure you bring an alarm clock or watch or you will be like me and wondering what time it is

Restaurants and Bars:
There are 3 bars 1) Daiquiri Bar by entertainment 2) Swim Up bar 3) Lobby Bar. these bars are opened at different times during the day. they have cappachino and expressor but did not know how to make a spanish coffee. Some of the drinks available are Cuba Libre, Mojito, Pina Colada, Hemingway Special, Ron Punch, Planters Punch, Gin Fizz. They also have draft beer on tap. If they ran out of beer they replaced the keg ASAP however when they were out of vodka they would not go get more at another bar. Pool Bartenders ( Ovidio and Ivan were fantasitc) but others were sparatic in terms of there moods and service. HINT #6 - They do not have diet soda/pop. A nice drink for the calorie cautious is Sparkling water,lime and vodka or rum. Ask Ovidio at the pool bar to make you one!!
HINT # 7 - Drinks will taste different at every bar depending on who makes it.
HINT # 8 - Sparkling water is water with 'gas' so be sure to ask for gas or no gas water
HINT # 9 - Bring a thermos mug as the cups are small and plastic
HINT # 10 - If you like to drink out of a straw in a big mug, take some straws.They did have them at the end of the trip but they were short ones
HINT # 11 - If you like Bailys Irish Cream...bring you own..I wish I had for my coffee
HINT # 12 - They only have red wine, which was pretty good , so if you like white, bring your own.

FOOD
We always found something to eat. There was always a carving of beef , chicken and fish on the grill. Buffet offers soup, salade, great buns, a variety of potatoes which changed daily, beans, veggies etc. They had ketchup, mustard, HP sauce and hot sauce.
You will need to know when the restuarant are open as there are periods of time when there is no food available.
Breakfast at the buffet only ( 7:00 - 10:00) with typical breakfast options including an ommlette grill, real bacon, boiled eggs, meat , cheese and buns, pancakes, french toast etc...
Lunch options are buffet ( 12:30 - 2:00) or Italian Grill at the Corisal or Grill at the beach. Grill had fries and burgers or hot dogs. Italian had pizza or pasta.
Dinner options same as above but Grill turns into a Seafood resturant which needs reservations ( Lobster and Shrimp are extra) and Italian is the same menu and also needs reservations which need to be booked the same day at 10:00 am.
HINT # 13 - get to the lobby early if you want to book the Italian as it fills up fast

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
POOL
The pool was cleaned daily however they were very lax in the cleaning of the pool deck. The candy we dropped on the first day was still on the pool deck on the fifth day.The pool guy did not work too hard and sat drinking beer after the bar opened ( sorry..but we watched this every day!!)
Pool chairs where fairly new and in good shape but very hard on the butt..
We pretty much had the pool to ourselves so there was no issue getting a spot.
The towel lady appeared every day about 10:00 and was there until 4:30 so you can exchange your towel every day. You will be expected to turn in the # of towels that you signed up for or there is a charge.
HINT # 14 - Take a small air mattress to blow up as a cushion on the lounge chairs

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
STAFF
Bar staff - at pool were AWESOME!!! Ovidio and Ivan we miss you ..thanksfor taking care if us!!
Maids - were very efficent and friendly but I have to admit I did not even see ours as we were not in our room much. Others in family talked to them daily and they called them by name.
Gardeners and Security - lots of both of these around everywhere and they were friendly
Activities staff - WHAT Activities staff??? really..did not see anyone in charge of activities for the first 3 days..when they did show up they announced Salsa lessons at 4:30 ..but never showed up..VBall at 4:00 and never showed up..and this went on every day. We actually made a joke of it until finally a water polo game did materialize. We were a group of adults and kids who would have participated and were disappointed at this aspect of the resort.
Even the dive instructor was disinterested in drumming up participants and when we did go to get a lesson, he sat at the bar drinking beer while the bartender hooked us up with the tanks. Honestly, our take on the activities staff was they were lazy, but maybe there were at the other resort.
HINT 15 - If you plan on doing alot of activities you may be disappointed as they were non- existent at this resort.

Entertainment
There was entertainment every night that started at 9:30. The dancing got repetative but they switched it up with some audience participation, a magician and water ballet.

WEATHER - 3 words..HOT HOT HOT..mid 30`s every day ( I always take a themometer so I know the daily temps ) and at night went down to 25 or so..very few clouds and not a drop of rain!!! this is why we will come back....
HINT 16 - Bring a thermometer and tie it to your chair so you can tell your friends how HOT it was !!

TIPS and GIFTING
We tips the bartenders and wait staff but also brought tons of gifts like shoes and batteries and duct tape etc etc...
HINT 17 - They realy need shoes especially running shoes so if you have good used ones bring them to give away.
HINT 18 - Don`t forget about the gardeners and cooks.

EXCURSIONS
We did the 2 hr horse back riding which was fantastic. We took knapsacks full of goodies to give out along the way as we rode through the mountains. cost - $15.00
We did the snorkel excursion through Marlin on a catamaran where we were out on the water for 4 hrs, fished and snorkeled...saw great sea life and caught 5 fish. A very fun trip - cost $45
We also did the dolphins which was the highlight for some - took the bus and watched the show and swam with dolphins for $55.00

NEW YEARS EVE CELEBRATION
This was a special night for them where they roasted a pig, decorated the dining room , had fancy desserts, served champagn, had nice appetizers.
We took horns and glow stick and hats and were glad as they did not have any of this.
The entertainment was the same dancers as the other nights..and at NYs there was a count down and more champagne.

Other Comments:
CLOSING SUMMARY
We would return to this hotel for the weather and the people. The food is basic but still good and no one went hungry or got sick. If you are looking for a no fuss resort with great weather then this is the resort for you. If you are looking for 5 star dining and fancy accommodation this is not the place for you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"just average if not terrible"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  simpson  on Sep 11, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
275 people found this review helpful

The hotel wasn’t terrible but it wasn’t up to what I had in mind while going to this resort so I can safely say it is just average, nothing special about it. The price was cheap so I couldn’t complain much, I probably got what I paid for was my summary and I had to live with. I had my credit card with me, visa card precisely but they don’t accept that so I had to go change some money and had cash so that problem was solved. The food was alright, nothing extra good just on the average, it was ok. The room I booked had a terrible smell like something had died in it and when I complained, I was moved to another with odor but not as bad as the first so I had to manage. The bathroom was dirty and unclean, cleaners didn’t do daily cleaning. The pool was dirty because throughout the 4 days I stayed there, it wasn’t clean and the water turned green I think, I’m pretty sure people will fall sick from swimming in that pool, i never tried to. There is a nice beach in front of the resort, for me that was the only nice thing about the resort. You can take a walk across the resort and go sightseeing so the whole of your holiday isn’t messed up. You will find sculptures and some nice things across and around the resort. I am saying this so you are not disappointed when you visit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enjoyable Snorkeling and Stay"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Art  on Feb 9, 2015  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
237 people found this review helpful

The last time were we’re at The Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales was Jan 2012. I Knew I would return but only if the price was right. Well the price was right. Getting through the airport was uneventful and I even had time to exchange the cash I would need to cover us for our stay. I read previous comments about cash not always available at the front desk which was true, so I was glad I did.
For context we are retired empty nesters in our early 60’s and have enjoyed many trips to Cuba all at various AI’s ranging from 3 Star to 4 ½ Star. This trip (Jan 7th to 21st 2015) was our 4th to the Santiago de Cuba area which is usually warmer and dryer than other parts of Cuba. The weather we had was great during the day and only on a few evenings did we have to worry about rain. For us snorkeling and being on the beach is most important and we did both daily. At the start of our stay it was a bit windy and the water was rough but because the beach is sheltered by the reef, it really didn’t affect the swimming or snorkeling. Caution though, even on the best of days you need to be careful at the opening to the outside of the reef as the current is very strong and swimming to the other side is not recommended by the lifeguards. The beach is shared by both sides of the resort and is fairly large but between the coral, rocks and sea urchins water shoes are highly recommended. We found the snorkeling very good, with a wide variety of fish, some of which we’ve never seen before. If you like to snorkel you won’t be disappointed, and you don’t have to go very far and be very deep.

Arrival:
The scenic ride from the airport to the hotel takes about an hour. For those who are not aware, Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales is basically two resorts operating as one. They each have their own front desks for check in, money exchange, etc. but you have access to the all the facilities on both sides. The walk between the two is only 5 minutes. We requested and got the Los Corales side as we preferred the feel of that side based on our previous trip. The check-in process was chaotic as two busloads got there at the same time. The three people on the desk did their best to process us all but it didn’t help when others would cut in and interrupt the staff.

Rooms:
Our room was on upper level facing the sea and even though it was relatively close to the main stage everything was usually over by 11pm. The room was clean, well kept and quite comfortable. We had one issue at the beginning where there was no hot water or pressure so we mentioned it at the front desk. Later that afternoon it was been fixed but we had to be careful as the water was much hotter, a problem we were happy to deal with.

Restaurants and Bars:
The service we received at the buffet was very good, another improvement, and a definite improvement in the food. Yes it could be repetitious but there was always enough variety and choice that was tasty enough for us. On the grill there was usually beef, pork or chicken as well as fish. However not a lot of variety in the fruit and vegetables but at least it was consistent. And yes they did refill the dishes. Sometimes with better food than what was started with. One time I went back for an extra desert and saw breaded deep fried shrimp (yep I took some) so I’m not sure why some people thought they needed to attack the buffet as if it was the only food available or their last meal. The volume of food some people took was unbelievable, which leads to a fair amount of waste. There seemed to be an attitude of entitlement that we noticed here more than any other resort we’ve been to, from where people sat at the buffet (and don’t dare take their spot!) to the beach where if you sat where some other people wanted to be, they would crowd you out. On the other hand, we also met some very nice people there too.
There are two a-la-carts. The Seafood is located on the Carisol side and the Cuban on the Los Corales side. Both were quite enjoyable and saved us the trouble of fighting with the hungry hordes that attacked the buffet as soon as it was opened.
There is no beach Ranchon. Unfortunately Hurricane Sandy took care of that and its replacement appears to have been abandoned. So at the lunch hut close to the beach you could get a hot dog or the Cuban version of a hamburger (which we had once). We decided the buffet was better. While we didn’t try the Carisol side, there were Pizza’s as well as the usual selection at the buffet. We did walk through a couple of times and the food looked pretty much the same as what was available on the Los Corales side.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools on both sides are nice and appear to be well maintained however we tried to spend as much time on the beach as possible so I can’t say too much about them. The grounds also appear to be well maintained however leaving the droppings left by the horses and donkeys that wandered around the resort I don’t think is a good idea, especially when trying to deal with the flies around the buffet. Allowing them extra places to breed just doesn’t make sense.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The evening shows alternate between the two resorts and the few we watched were entertaining including the water ballet which is done once a week. For us it’s a shame the shows aren’t a little earlier as we tend to fade by the end of the day being up early and at the beach most of the day. On a few occasions very talented local musicians played in the buffet and a-la-cart. As to the bars, we’re not big drinkers but needed to be flexible in our choices as our first wasn’t always available due to lack of mint, soda, juice, once even milk for the coffee. Can’t blame the people behind the bar but there seemed to be a supply issue.

Other Comments:
I admit I was reluctant to return but the weather, the snorkeling, the improved food and the wonderful service we received from the staff made me glad we went. Make no mistake; this is still a 3 star resort but definitely an improved one and one that I would recommend so long as you aware of what you are getting and can be flexible. Don’t forget the bug spray and bring cash as credit cards are difficult to use. You may also want to check the phone number of the resort when you get there to make sure it matches the one you left at home for emergencies. In our case, the one provided by our carrier (Sunwing) in our itinerary was incorrect. I also found out my cell phone (Bell) didn’t work either. Fortunately there was internet (sometimes).

If you look up my channel on YouTube (MrJarArt) I have some older videos on this resort (not much has changed). A newer one will be posted in the near future as well as an updated snorkeling vid.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect weather, pleasant hotel"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  eeeefarm  on Jan 30, 2012  >  12 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
373 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
123

Arrival:
I travelled to Carisol Los Corales with my snorkel buddy and her husband. We had visited Bucanero last January, so we knew in advance the weather would be perfect, and we were not disappointed. Wonderful, warm sunshine every single day! The bus ride to the hotel was picturesque, and check in went smoothly. We stayed at the Los Corales side and began our week in the 500 block, which we found somewhat noisy at night. The next day we changed our rooms to the 100 block, which was much quieter.

Rooms:
The rooms were very nice, although I found the beds a bit hard for my comfort, a usual problem for me in Cuba. Other than that, everything about the room was good. The A/C worked well, although it was a bit noisy but since "white noise" helps to cover exterior noises, I didn't find it objectionable. The shower always had great water pressure and lots of hot water. One minor problem was the transference of noise between bathrooms. You didn't have much doubt about what your neighbour was doing next door, which was esthetically displeasing, since it is a good bet he had the same information about you!

Restaurants and Bars:
A nice advantage of having two hotels to choose from is using the facilities of both. We alternated between the buffets, and had lunch at the pizza/pasta restaurant at Carisol most days. Good pizza! We skipped the beach restaurant except for a couple of orders of banana fries, since they only had hamburgers and hotdogs on offer, plus a small salad bar.

The buffets were typical for a Cuban 3 star resort. I am primarily vegetarian, and I found enough to eat. Disappointingly, the bread and buns were sometimes stale. Freshly cooked omelets were great at breakfast, however, and ice cream was available most nights. We did the "Grill" a la carte one evening, and it was wonderful! Our other a la carte reservation got mixed up, leaving us looking for an empty table at the buffet an hour after it opened, a task which proved almost impossible. Other than this one glitch, things went pretty smoothly and I was satisfied with the restaurants and service. The coffee bar and the lobby bars were both good and appreciated.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach. Nice white sand, if a bit coarse and shelly. Not a swimmer's beach, but very good for snorkelling. The reef protects the beach very well, so even when the ocean is rough it is possible to get in for a swim or snorkel without difficulty. There is a small sandy area where you can take a dip without encountering sea grass, but the rest is mostly grassy and shallow. In the mornings it was usually calm enough to venture outside the reef to snorkel, although we were cautioned about current in the channel on an outgoing tide, since people sometimes run into difficulty with this. It was definitely there, but posed no problem for us, although I would not have wanted to venture outside without fins. The snorkelling was quite good off the beach, and there is the option of going out with the dive boat or the Hobie, or of course with a paddle boat as well. Sailing was excellent, since it was possible to get out on very windy days. We had several memorable sails on the windy afternoons.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did a walking excursion that included a short boat ride and a visit to a crocodile farm and lunch at the restaurant there. This was quite enjoyable. The walk took us up through the pass behind the resort and down to the lagoon for the boat ride.

Other Comments:
I enjoyed my week at Los Corales, and I will be returning to this resort. It is a good option in this area of Cuba.

Photos: http://s11.photobucket.com/albums/a179/eeeefarm/Los%20Corales%20January%202012/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Getaway"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  eeeefarm  on Apr 10, 2015  >  12 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2015 | Leisure | With friend
252 people found this review helpful

This was an interesting trip. My friends and I had originally booked Farallon del Caribe, and were informed the day before our departure that Farallon had been closed and we would be moved to Marea del Portilla. This was unsatisfactory to us, and led to a scramble to decide on an alternate destination. Of the choices open to us (trips leaving the next day that were in our price range) we chose Los Corales, as we had been there before and wanted to enjoy the snorkelling again.

Room Number:
E3

Room Block:
Bungalow E

Arrival:
After the usual delay waiting for everyone to board the bus, our trip to the resort was uneventful. We checked in at the front desk and received our room keys. As we had all booked oceanview bungalows, we were anxious to see where we had been placed, especially with the last minute booking. I found I had been assigned to A4, which was not to my liking, due to proximity to the parking lot. I asked to change, and was given E3, not a direct ocean view, but partial. Still preferable to me than being next to the parking lot. My friends were happy with their room, but not with having to share a key! The fourth member of our group lucked out with a fabulous second floor room with amazingly large balcony! (B5)

Rooms:
My room turned out to be just fine. The buildings are old and have dated furniture, but are comfortable enough. A bonus for me was that the shower had great water pressure and plentiful hot water all week long, whereas my friends had less water pressure and lukewarm water much of the time. The TV in my room had poor reception and I didn't bother with it, preferring to read a book. I liked my room location, and I would book a bungalow again. They are quieter and more private than the regular rooms.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant was fine for breakfast, as long as you were there early. None of us likes lineups, so we were always ready as soon as the chef started cooking eggs. Most mornings I had an omelet, and sometimes toast. There was generally some fresh fruit, usually pineapple and watermelon, sometimes other choices. Juice was available as well.

At lunch I tended to order pizza and perhaps pick up something else from the buffet. I found the desserts inexplicably had an "off" taste to them, as if an ingredient was past its "sell by" date. A little musty tasting, so I avoided them most of the time.

In the evening we ate at the a la carte. Both Cuban and Seafood were housed in the same outdoor room, and we alternated. We kept asking about booking, and they kept allowing us to do so, and as it turned out we never ate supper at the buffet. The grilled fish at the seafood a la carte was excellent! I was so impressed I had it twice, cheating on my normal vegetarian diet.

Red wine was in short supply, and I had white on occasion. A couple of times we bought our own bottle or red to enjoy with dinner.

The bars were adequate, and one is open all night for restless sleepers and early risers seeking coffee. Vodka was in short supply at times, which annoyed one of my travelling companions who prefers it. There was always cerveza, which was generally what I was looking for, and the Cappuccinos were fine as well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach at Los Corales has stones and broken shells, and isn't kind to bare feet. The ocean has a lot of seagrass, with a couple of sandy entry points. We were there for the snorkelling, and were not disappointed! The sailing was also lots of fun, and we went out most days. There are no "towel games" going on, as there were always lots of chairs and shade available.

The pool was fine to cool off in, which we did on a few occasions. It was clean and clear, but the lining has seen better days.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Snorkelling and sailing, as mentioned, were our main activities. One day we did a private tour to Havana in an open jeep. What a blast! We had lunch at an excellent Paladar and had a generally enjoyable time looking around and doing some shopping.

I booked a massage on the one rainy day we had, and it was excellent value for money. 10 CUC/30 minutes.

Other Comments:
The staff was generally very good and helpful. One bartender was the exception. She was rude and often away from her post, and generally unhelpful when present. Other than that, I had no complaints about service.

This is a comfortable resort in a good location. The weather is generally reliably warm and usually dry, although it did rain a couple of times during our trip, but not enough to spoil the fun.

Photos: http://s11.photobucket.com/user/eeeefarm/library/Los%20Corales%20March%202015?sort=6&page=1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice hotel"

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
User Rating:  Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Stewart  on Nov 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
263 people found this review helpful

After a long hard working year I decided to go on a vacation in Cuba. My travel agent suggested me to visit hotel Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales. When I first saw the hotel I was thrilled. But I didn’t jump to a conclusion, because I was fooled by the look of some hotel before. When I entered the room, I saw that there are two twin beds (even though I asked for a room with one bed, but they said that they don’t have that kind of a room). The bed was really comfortable and I really felt rested when I woke up. Nevertheless, the room was very clear, which is always a plus when it comes to hygiene. There was an air conditioner which was working perfectly, and you can have a nice cool room in only a minutes. I saw a telephone in the room, but didn’t need it, so I don’t really know if you can make international calls. The satellite TV was working just fine, so every time I stayed in the room, I was watching some interesting shows on it. Now, the bathroom, it’s not the best bathroom in the world, but it was ok. It was clean and it had hot and cold water whenever I needed. The balcony was big enough for the whole family, and it has a wonderful view. What I'm very surprised, is that the hotel has housekeeping, so every time I went out of the room there was a lady changing sheets, cleaning the room, and when I get back it’s all nice and clear. The employers were simply amazing. They will not let their guests down for sure. I am kind of disappointed by the restaurant. I think that they need to include something more on their menu, like various national cuisines. The bar is working just fine, every time you need a drink they are open. There is a very nice pool outside of the hotel, in fact the pool it’s divided in two parts. One is for the children, and the other it’s for adults. This hotel may not be the best hotel in the world, but it’s worth visiting.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube