Club Kawama Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Club Kawama reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 44 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Club Kawama  

Primera Avenida y Calle 1, Reparto Kawama, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"need to improve neatness"
Posted by: diamond on Jul 14, 2014
see all reviews

Club Kawama Reviews
Club Kawama Pictures and Information
Club Kawama Varadero Cuba

#5
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.4

Based on 48 reviews

Club Kawama Information


The Club Kawama breathes the atmosphere of a traditional hacienda, but it is actually an All Inclusive resort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Kawama Reviews

Club Kawama Review: 3.4 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  11
Average
  4
Poor
  6
Terrible
  10
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (17)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (10)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (3)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 48

"need to improve neatness"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  diamond  on Jul 14, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
11 people found this review helpful

Itís a nice place but I canít give more than a 3 rating because I believe that neatness is the very foundation of a good resort and this place didnít offer much of that. The place is really nice but I think the resort is old and in need of some renovations to make it more beautiful, the chef can be cleaner because they deal with food that will be eaten by people so their guests donít get sick over poor hygiene at the kitchen. The rooms are plain, small but clean to a certain level. Breakfast was pretty good and edible but every other thing brought or served at the restaurants I didnít really like much of anything and I am not a picky eater. The beach is really gorgeous and I would always just sit about and sun bath and swim most of the time as well as people watching. I hated the bug experience at this hotel because they usually come at from the evening, you should bring insect repellants and bug spray if you want to be comfortable. I usually just ate out at the pizza joint not so far away from the resort and it was a good alternative. I must say that the food is really below average and the breakfast was the only thing I liked, the lunch buffet was horrible and every other thing didnít go down well. The staff was nice and helped out when needed so there is no problem there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Home Sweet Home"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Down Michael  on Jul 23, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
84 people found this review helpful

Life is what you make it. I've camped lots and find the room conditions at Kawama more than adequate. What I love is the location, the closeness to the beach, and the staff who treat me like family when I treat them the same way. This is not a 5 star but for what I pay, I can afford to try out Salsa Suarez, Nino Pinto, Coral, Casa Des Artes, Varadero 60, etc. restaurants which are all better food than you'll find in your 5 star.

Room Number:
beach front

Room Block:
middle of the resort

Arrival:
The front desks at most of the resorts seem to get terrible reviews, as does Kawama. An immediate tip might go a long way, along with an introduction; to appear that you really do care that they are alive.

Rooms:
Basic but with a fridge which is really nice if you want your own special cold drinks or food.

Restaurants and Bars:
Plain, underseasoned and spiced by my standards, which is why I have recommeded several excellent restaurants. The Italian a la carte at Kawama is called El Rissolino and has always been my favourite. I really suggest taking your favourite salad dressings which you can keep in your fridge and you'll have a more enjoyable salad. The better drink mixes are in the smaller bars which you may have to hunt out and which have short hours.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
5 star beach and pool

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Resort has an older crowd and fewer activities but the repeaters know where to find what they need.

Other Comments:
It's like going to the cottage for us. We're at home minutes after we arrive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Teririble servise"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  not imp  on Oct 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Business | With friend
133 people found this review helpful

First of all it,s not a 4 star not even a 2 star...TERRIBLE SERVICE...WILL NOT EVEN GO FO FREE....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not bad for the money I paid"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brooks From Toronto  on Mar 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
177 people found this review helpful

I arrived there on march 05th, I would not say it was the worst hotel I have stayed in. Staff we're friendly except the front desk, the were RUDE, the wouldn't smile if thier life depended on it. Every body wants tips, so I suggested to change may be $20 paso in to one dollar bill for tips, it goes a logn way, as i notice you get better treatment when u tip. Food was in abundance but the same thing every day but definitley plenty of food, mostly rice and pasta, but they try to change the meat kinds with chicken and fish. No fatty food. May be that's why the Cuban people are so fit. they eat basic protien and esscential food. Now the pros and cons,
Pros- great location, just a walking distance to the beach, only $5 paso to down town and or the market, nite entertaiment was not bad,some staff are very friendly. Please give Hesus the Gardener a Hug for me. A beautiful human being. I had sand fles all over my legs and he went out of his way and got me a aloe vera leaf for my leg and he even rubbed it for me. I gave him one of my polo t-shirt and he was most grateful, he did not even ask for a tip, Cons- definitly take cash, don't depend on bank cards or credit card. Definitly not an American credit card. That's a Big no no. Never change currency at the front desk, they will robb you. just go to the next resort hotel next door, you get a much better rate. Cab drivers always trying to hussel you, never pay more than $7 paso to go down town clubbing,

Room Number:
3014

Arrival:
march 05th

Rooms:
very clean, quite, a little waking distance from the front desk and entrance

Restaurants and Bars:
mediocor

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very nice, watch out for sand fles

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
nightly entertaimnet was not bad. I enjoyed myself

Other Comments:
I would definitly stay at club Kawama, specially for the money i paid

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dump; Dump; Dump!"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Reg  on Mar 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
213 people found this review helpful

What a waste of money!!! Musty, moldy rooms. Food that I wouldn't feed a swamp rat. Probably the rudest staff that we've ever encountered. The desk staff are rude, inconsiderate and double rude! Make sure that you have zipper locks on your suitcases ...we had two six paks of lip gloss stolen as well as a bottle of Axe shower gel....second day there.Sand fles were rampant and we were told that they fog with diesel fuel vapour..can't confirm but it sure smelled like diesel.Make sure you hit the Cuban International Bank to exchange money before the closing day as the front desk wanted 15 cents on the dollar when the bank was closed. Better yet go to the International bank at 32nd and Veradaro....it's open every day...check the times.Air conditioner was plugged solid with dirt...I had to trouble shoot it for the maintenance staff before they could get it going.
This place isn't even a good deal when Red Tagged at $407/ person which is what we paid...the rooms made us and others sick almost daily.
If you do go here stay drunk...you won't notice how badly you're being screwed. I don't drink so I was AT A DISADVANTAGE.
We went here at the last minute for our anniversary...spend a little more and you'll have a good time at a better hotel.

Room Number:
2312

Room Block:
2300's

Arrival:
arrived 05 March 2012

Left 12 March 2012

We're both still sick and taking chlotriplon

Rooms:
Dirty...same hair that was on the floor when we arrived was there when we left. The rooms are dirty and moldy. The shutters on the bathroom door were caved in. Dirty hand prints all over the wall. I don't mind rustic but this was neanderthal.

Restaurants and Bars:
Terrible food...lots of people with diarrhea ....poor quality and no variety.

The coffee bar on the way to the beach was great, and so were the nmale and female bar tenders at the coffee bar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
One pool operating...beach was good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Drinking and snd skirt chasing if you're over 55. Probably so that you forget what you slept with.One dierty little creep keeps two hookers with him every week and two new ones the next week for a month at a time....wears a speedo with a 50" gut hanging out over it!

Other Comments:
Don't ever take your wife, kids or family here unless you want them to hate you .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Worst Ever"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Art  on Jan 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
204 people found this review helpful

The room 2003 was dingy, broken chairs and dresser. There was black mould in sveral places and when i coplained, they painted over it 2 days later with a different color paint. All the maid did was make the bed in the 2 weeks we were there. One pool and one resrtaraunt were closed, most of the beach chairs were broken and there was not enough of them.
The a la carte restaraunts were hit and miss as to their quality. The main restaraunt was filthy and the food was vile. Uncooked meat, the same food at breakfast lunch and supper, shortages of all dishes, cups, cutlery, lousy wait staff were the norm.
We asked to upgrade and they wanted $20 a night, then told us that there were no rooms availabe, then ignored us. Others who upgraded told us the rooms they were given were worse than what the gave up.
I travel extensively but this is the first time I have run into this problem. I dont know who rated this hotel but it should be revisited and downgraded if not torn down and rebuilt.
One final comment, there also was the smell of sewage everywhere.

Room Number:
2003

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
12 jan 12 to 26 jan 12

Rooms:
filthy dark black mould broken furniture

Restaurants and Bars:
awful, uncooked food poor presentation no plates cups glasses cutlery poorly made drinks, thrn no specialty drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
one pool closed the other needed cleaning due to the scum on the top of the water

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great daily excursions decent entertainment

Other Comments:
unacceptable even for a 3rd world country, its like once you get there, its to bad,cuz theres no where else to go, your at their mercy. I have pictures that can be emailed to interested parties.Rated as a 1 because i cant rate it any lower.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Beach"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Klaus  on Jan 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
188 people found this review helpful

This is the oldest resort in Varadero and needs major updates. The receptionist needs to be fired, lousy attitude and rude.The lobby area and pool were nice . Beyond that the old buildings and sidewalks need to be worked on , missing concrete on the sidewalks , and very poor lighting on the pathways, missing or broken lights everywhere. The food is typical, no carving stations and trying to get a spoon is like pulling teeth. The maintenance workers and staff in general were friendly and the maid service we received in our room was excellent , she had nothing to do with the room quality, she kept everything clean and did a great job.I have stayed at the Villa Cuba 4 times and it also is an old resort, but the quality of food,staff,rooms and grounds are far superior to this resort. I have learned my lesson, going back in March to Villa Cuba.

Room Number:
4603

Arrival:
Fast check in , only 4 people checking in. Receptionist had a lousy attitude, made you feel like you were a bother to her just being there.

Rooms:
Old and damp, Twin beds and hadn't been painted, or uptated in years. Bath towel were the size of a washcloth. The a/c worked and we had hot water and toilet paper , not like others we spoke to in the resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lousy service in the mess hall , the 2 restaurant , good service but food was so so.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches were great , but are everywhere in Cuba. Pool was great , but had a the hard plastic loungers around it , which broke your back if you stayed on them for any lenght of time. The bars were good ,and were served promtly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were terrible and loud. Recommend the Jepp Excusion, done it 4 times and it's always a great way to spend a day off the resort. Take the 5 Peco transtur bus all day and visit downtown and surounding area. Check out the park in downtown ( best place for a Pinja Colata)the pottery shop and fles markets a good for a day off the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disgusting"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Loreen  on Dec 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
195 people found this review helpful

Food was horrible - sour beans, uncooked meat, cat poop in the dining room for 2 DAYS after being told about it. One man was ripped off for his wallet - pick-pocketed actually by one of the security guards who was working with two others - one was the distraction, the other was a lookout and the third did the stealing. Another lady had her purse stolen right off her arm. I sat on the side of a chair in the lobby while waiting for the bus to take us to airport and the chair tipped over on top of me and all they did was laugh. No one came to see if I was ok. The paths are poorly lit wherever you go so be careful of the crooked and jagged sidewalks - they are hard on the toes when you can't see in the dark and dangerous to fall on. The International a la carte was awful - filet migon was like shoe leather and French onion soup was more like the juice in a can of Campbell's vegetable soup.

The beach was great except no one was the allowed in the water because of the intensity of the waves. All in all, this was the first and will be the last time I ever go there. If anyone tells you it's good, don't believe them. I have been to many resorts in Cuba from a 2 star to a 4 and this was the worst. Get ready to walk...a lot....
Maybe it's time to find a new destnation.....Cuba is not like it was...sad.

Room Number:
2316

Room Block:
19

Arrival:
Fast at check-in then downhill from there

Rooms:
Small - no light in the bathroom

Restaurants and Bars:
Worse food I've had and I'm not a picky eater - everything had green peppers in it - worse than a 1 star

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice beach and grounds but very dark at night - paths were not lit up and you can't see where you are going

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Boring

Other Comments:
Never again

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice beach, mediocre hotel, poor food, lousy service"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bernard Kleijn  on Nov 18, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
202 people found this review helpful

Imagine a beautifully located resort, right next to the beach. Could have been great were it not for the poor quality food (casa Particulares serve better!), not made tables yet queueing for getting one and the majority of the facilities being closed. Worst of all the lousy service: best example is probably the hotel manager who tried to dodge his responsibility by responding he "didn't work here" when asked why there were no cups, plates, bowls etc. during breakfast. An hour later he was acting busy again behind the reception desk.

Odd things like internet and a safe supposedly included but yet you have to pay extra.

The 'system', is surely to blame for many of these things. I'd say there are better options available for your money in the area. It's like the Cubans say: we pretend to work, they (the government) pretend to pay....

Room Number:
308

Arrival:
Reception was fine

Rooms:
Broken AC. Erratic availability of running water. Dirty bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Only good quality products available are coffee and rum. Food is tasteless and basic. Only two bars were opened; one didn't serve cocktails and the other didn't serve coffee so for some orders we had to go to two bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Fine and clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Plenty but (off the resort) expensive. Do it yourself!!!

Other Comments:
Come here for the beach. Don't try to dodge ill manored and cheap Europeans or boozing, annoying and noisy Canadians, because you can't.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hermoso"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Julian Justiz laza  on Nov 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
207 people found this review helpful

Bueno les dire q me encanto ese hotel y sobre todo las personas q trabajan hay son muy atenta y si borberia com mucho gusto las personas son muy hable y carinosas me encantaria q Se lo dejaran saver q les doy las gracias por ser tan enpeciales y q dios los bendiga viva cuba

Room Number:
1408

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
Fue fantastico

Rooms:
El cuarto me gusto es bien comodo

Restaurants and Bars:
La comida estubo buena solo q hay q poner mas pollo no como Carne pero lo demas estubo fantastico

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
La plalla wao hermosa y la picina es Un encanto

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Deberian poner Un poco mas de information de los eventos

Other Comments:
En mi criterio particular todo estubo de marabilla ya mi amistades quieren ir y darles la gracias por tanta ospitalida

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube