Club Kawama Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Club Kawama reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 44 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 35 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 30, 2015

Club Kawama  

Primera Avenida y Calle 1, Reparto Kawama, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"worst vacation ever!"
Posted by: angie on Mar 1, 2015
see all reviews

Club Kawama Reviews
Club Kawama Pictures and Information
Club Kawama Varadero Cuba

#4
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.4

Based on 52 reviews

Club Kawama Information


The Club Kawama breathes the atmosphere of a traditional hacienda, but it is actually an All Inclusive resort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Kawama Reviews

Club Kawama Review: 3.4 of 5 52 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  13
Average
  4
Poor
  6
Terrible
  11
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (21)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 52

"worst vacation ever!"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  angie  on Mar 1, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2015 | Leisure | With Group
3 people found this review helpful

Put it this way, tenting in a tropical storm would be better than this place. Toilet paper & toilet seats are hard to come by
Staff is ignorant, maid only made our bed all week. Bed bugs. If you don't drink I feel sorry for you as being drunk is the only way to get through the stay at his place. On a positive note, if you are looking to lose weight this is definitely the place to go as once you smell the od ours in the restaurant s, you will never want to eat. The tour operator for Hola sun will lie to your face and tell you that you did not talk to her ever when you really did. First time buying water for my friend and myself we went to the front desk as we were told to do. Asked for two bottles of water and she charged two cucs per bottle and pulled them from under the desk and off we went. The next time I went back to the front desk I was given a reciept and paid two cucs for two bottles and was told to go to the bar to collect my water. Bottom line is the cost of the water is truly one cuc and unfortunately a corrupt employee scammed us.Such a sad experience.

Room Number:
1917

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
What activities????

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shirley and Ron  on Feb 12, 2015  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
12 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Kawama on the first week of January 2015. We were in one of the older rooms and loved it at that end of the resort -right by the pool there. The rooms were clean and the maid was fabulous and could not do enough.We asked her about a school in the area where she lived and one day took a taxi there through the countryside to the school.The teachers were so happy with the supplies that we took to them for the children. We found out were over 400 children attending and how much it meant to them for having these extra gifts.Our maid met us before we left and had invited us to her place but we had to leave then and would do that on our next visit.
Back at the resort we had so much fun with the people staying there and the staff.Every staff going by had a hola of welcome for you.While at the pool one of the gardeners came along and asked if we would like a coconut to drink out of. Then they were gone appearing not long after with coconuts off of the trees-had cut the top off and put a straw in it for us. It was so refreshing. Then they went back to tending the gardens and keeping them looking so nice. The pool was kept very clean and many days out there we spoke with the attendant working on it to keep it clean. They did not have their hands out but were truly interested in conversations we had.
People have complained about the cups from the bars -but the easier thing to do is take your own sippy cup that they will put your coffee or drinks into and then there is not all the waste either for the garbage.
Instead of money for tips I take bags of candies and put a bowl full out at the end of our meals for the staff.At the bar and for our I will do the same.
Then before we leave we give stuff to them. We had not been here previously so the staff did not know we did this and did not have their hands out but were just happy to have us talking to them and exchanging stories of our interests and families.
The beach is beautiful and there and at the pools are plenty of chairs.
We had a really good time..Take bug repellent as this was the only problem-
those pesky mosquitos.
We are looking forward to a return vacation to Kawama.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a fantastic time with fantastic service!"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christine  on Jan 16, 2015  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
22 people found this review helpful

Where to begin?? How about with the warm, friendly welcome from the front desk staff? Or the upgraded room? Or the well-maintained grounds???

We traveled as a family of three, two adults one 13 year old boy. We had booked two rooms and were put in bldg. 3, upper level. GREAT location! We were steps from the beach, buffet, and bars.

Food: I loved it. My husband adored it. My son was even very happy, and tried a lot of new things we've never seen on a hotel buffet before (vieja ropa, rabbit, paella). We were sharing the hotel with lots of Cuban guests, so we did have to learn to be very assertive at mealtimes, but it worked out well. :o) We had great service from the waitstaff at ALL meals. Prompt arrivals of water and juice, and coffee as well. Wineglasses were refilled a little too frequently, but at least we weren't driving! We only ate at the Italian a la carte, and we were a bit disappointed with it, but now we know to just skip it next time.

Grounds: Beautifully maintained. Lovely new pools, dogs and cats for entertainment.

Location: Super. Bank is just right there by the shops. Only one person allowed in at a time, so wear a hat, bring water, and don't forget your passport! Little shops sell beach toys, groceries, rum, and TuKola...also ice cream, if you haven't had enough at the hotel. You can walk to markets and restaurants with ease.

Bars: there were a few bars in operation while we were there. The one at the far end of the resort, with the little restaurant, was a cash bar for some reason. I'm not sure if that is a permanent change or what...The bars included in our stay were the lobby bar, the beach bar, and the pool bar. Drinks were consistently good, and the service was pretty friendly, depending on the bartender. The coffee at the lobby bar was delicious, too.

Front desk: We had NO issues with the front desk ladies. They made change for us whenever they could, and they always had smiles for us.

We were very pleased with our stay, and hope to get back SOON!

Room Number:
306/307

Room Block:
3

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"small rooms"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joshua  on Nov 10, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
33 people found this review helpful

The Club Kawama is one of the nicest hotels in this city. This year I brought my kids with me on the vacation in Cuba. My wife did some research and she said that there are plenty of people that are very satisfied with the hotel condition. Well, that was the only info that we need to start packing our bags. We needed this vacation after the long working days back in Canada. We needed some free family time so we can enjoy together in the vacation. Exactly that is what happened.

The hotel looks nice even from outside and gives you feeling that everything is going to be ok. Not long after the arrival at the hotel Club Kawama we get our rooms. The rooms were fully functional and everything seemed clean and nice. The air-conditioning was working great all the time and we didnít have any complaints about that. Even the view of the surroundings is great, at least from our room was great. It is very easy to notice that the hygiene standards are high and that the hotel is trying to keep them that way. The only thing that was bothering us was the fact that the rooms were some kind of small. Like there is no place where to put your bags and all the other stuff. But that is only one thing that is kind of a negative.
The food was great me and my family like it a lot. To be honest, there were few times that we were asking for a second portion. So huge thanks to the chief and all the people responsible for the food department.
All in all Club Kawama hotel is a very nice place to stay and if you have in your mind the fact that it has great conditions the price is affordable. If you are in this area and you are looking for a nice place to stay then you should definitely take a look at this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"need to improve neatness"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  diamond  on Jul 14, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
37 people found this review helpful

Itís a nice place but I canít give more than a 3 rating because I believe that neatness is the very foundation of a good resort and this place didnít offer much of that. The place is really nice but I think the resort is old and in need of some renovations to make it more beautiful, the chef can be cleaner because they deal with food that will be eaten by people so their guests donít get sick over poor hygiene at the kitchen. The rooms are plain, small but clean to a certain level. Breakfast was pretty good and edible but every other thing brought or served at the restaurants I didnít really like much of anything and I am not a picky eater. The beach is really gorgeous and I would always just sit about and sun bath and swim most of the time as well as people watching. I hated the bug experience at this hotel because they usually come at from the evening, you should bring insect repellants and bug spray if you want to be comfortable. I usually just ate out at the pizza joint not so far away from the resort and it was a good alternative. I must say that the food is really below average and the breakfast was the only thing I liked, the lunch buffet was horrible and every other thing didnít go down well. The staff was nice and helped out when needed so there is no problem there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Home Sweet Home"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Down Michael  on Jul 23, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
108 people found this review helpful

Life is what you make it. I've camped lots and find the room conditions at Kawama more than adequate. What I love is the location, the closeness to the beach, and the staff who treat me like family when I treat them the same way. This is not a 5 star but for what I pay, I can afford to try out Salsa Suarez, Nino Pinto, Coral, Casa Des Artes, Varadero 60, etc. restaurants which are all better food than you'll find in your 5 star.

Room Number:
beach front

Room Block:
middle of the resort

Arrival:
The front desks at most of the resorts seem to get terrible reviews, as does Kawama. An immediate tip might go a long way, along with an introduction; to appear that you really do care that they are alive.

Rooms:
Basic but with a fridge which is really nice if you want your own special cold drinks or food.

Restaurants and Bars:
Plain, underseasoned and spiced by my standards, which is why I have recommeded several excellent restaurants. The Italian a la carte at Kawama is called El Rissolino and has always been my favourite. I really suggest taking your favourite salad dressings which you can keep in your fridge and you'll have a more enjoyable salad. The better drink mixes are in the smaller bars which you may have to hunt out and which have short hours.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
5 star beach and pool

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Resort has an older crowd and fewer activities but the repeaters know where to find what they need.

Other Comments:
It's like going to the cottage for us. We're at home minutes after we arrive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Teririble servise"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  not imp  on Oct 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Business | With friend
161 people found this review helpful

First of all it,s not a 4 star not even a 2 star...TERRIBLE SERVICE...WILL NOT EVEN GO FO FREE....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not bad for the money I paid"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brooks From Toronto  on Mar 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
205 people found this review helpful

I arrived there on march 05th, I would not say it was the worst hotel I have stayed in. Staff we're friendly except the front desk, the were RUDE, the wouldn't smile if thier life depended on it. Every body wants tips, so I suggested to change may be $20 paso in to one dollar bill for tips, it goes a logn way, as i notice you get better treatment when u tip. Food was in abundance but the same thing every day but definitley plenty of food, mostly rice and pasta, but they try to change the meat kinds with chicken and fish. No fatty food. May be that's why the Cuban people are so fit. they eat basic protien and esscential food. Now the pros and cons,
Pros- great location, just a walking distance to the beach, only $5 paso to down town and or the market, nite entertaiment was not bad,some staff are very friendly. Please give Hesus the Gardener a Hug for me. A beautiful human being. I had sand fles all over my legs and he went out of his way and got me a aloe vera leaf for my leg and he even rubbed it for me. I gave him one of my polo t-shirt and he was most grateful, he did not even ask for a tip, Cons- definitly take cash, don't depend on bank cards or credit card. Definitly not an American credit card. That's a Big no no. Never change currency at the front desk, they will robb you. just go to the next resort hotel next door, you get a much better rate. Cab drivers always trying to hussel you, never pay more than $7 paso to go down town clubbing,

Room Number:
3014

Arrival:
march 05th

Rooms:
very clean, quite, a little waking distance from the front desk and entrance

Restaurants and Bars:
mediocor

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very nice, watch out for sand fles

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
nightly entertaimnet was not bad. I enjoyed myself

Other Comments:
I would definitly stay at club Kawama, specially for the money i paid

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dump; Dump; Dump!"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Reg  on Mar 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
240 people found this review helpful

What a waste of money!!! Musty, moldy rooms. Food that I wouldn't feed a swamp rat. Probably the rudest staff that we've ever encountered. The desk staff are rude, inconsiderate and double rude! Make sure that you have zipper locks on your suitcases ...we had two six paks of lip gloss stolen as well as a bottle of Axe shower gel....second day there.Sand fles were rampant and we were told that they fog with diesel fuel vapour..can't confirm but it sure smelled like diesel.Make sure you hit the Cuban International Bank to exchange money before the closing day as the front desk wanted 15 cents on the dollar when the bank was closed. Better yet go to the International bank at 32nd and Veradaro....it's open every day...check the times.Air conditioner was plugged solid with dirt...I had to trouble shoot it for the maintenance staff before they could get it going.
This place isn't even a good deal when Red Tagged at $407/ person which is what we paid...the rooms made us and others sick almost daily.
If you do go here stay drunk...you won't notice how badly you're being screwed. I don't drink so I was AT A DISADVANTAGE.
We went here at the last minute for our anniversary...spend a little more and you'll have a good time at a better hotel.

Room Number:
2312

Room Block:
2300's

Arrival:
arrived 05 March 2012

Left 12 March 2012

We're both still sick and taking chlotriplon

Rooms:
Dirty...same hair that was on the floor when we arrived was there when we left. The rooms are dirty and moldy. The shutters on the bathroom door were caved in. Dirty hand prints all over the wall. I don't mind rustic but this was neanderthal.

Restaurants and Bars:
Terrible food...lots of people with diarrhea ....poor quality and no variety.

The coffee bar on the way to the beach was great, and so were the nmale and female bar tenders at the coffee bar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
One pool operating...beach was good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Drinking and snd skirt chasing if you're over 55. Probably so that you forget what you slept with.One dierty little creep keeps two hookers with him every week and two new ones the next week for a month at a time....wears a speedo with a 50" gut hanging out over it!

Other Comments:
Don't ever take your wife, kids or family here unless you want them to hate you .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Worst Ever"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Art  on Jan 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
229 people found this review helpful

The room 2003 was dingy, broken chairs and dresser. There was black mould in sveral places and when i coplained, they painted over it 2 days later with a different color paint. All the maid did was make the bed in the 2 weeks we were there. One pool and one resrtaraunt were closed, most of the beach chairs were broken and there was not enough of them.
The a la carte restaraunts were hit and miss as to their quality. The main restaraunt was filthy and the food was vile. Uncooked meat, the same food at breakfast lunch and supper, shortages of all dishes, cups, cutlery, lousy wait staff were the norm.
We asked to upgrade and they wanted $20 a night, then told us that there were no rooms availabe, then ignored us. Others who upgraded told us the rooms they were given were worse than what the gave up.
I travel extensively but this is the first time I have run into this problem. I dont know who rated this hotel but it should be revisited and downgraded if not torn down and rebuilt.
One final comment, there also was the smell of sewage everywhere.

Room Number:
2003

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
12 jan 12 to 26 jan 12

Rooms:
filthy dark black mould broken furniture

Restaurants and Bars:
awful, uncooked food poor presentation no plates cups glasses cutlery poorly made drinks, thrn no specialty drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
one pool closed the other needed cleaning due to the scum on the top of the water

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great daily excursions decent entertainment

Other Comments:
unacceptable even for a 3rd world country, its like once you get there, its to bad,cuz theres no where else to go, your at their mercy. I have pictures that can be emailed to interested parties.Rated as a 1 because i cant rate it any lower.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube