Club Kawama Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Club Kawama reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Club Kawama  

Primera Avenida y Calle 1, Reparto Kawama, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! DO NOT GO HERE!"
Posted by: Dasha on Apr 13, 2017
see all reviews

Club Kawama Reviews
Club Kawama Pictures and Information
Club Kawama Varadero Cuba

#5
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.3

Based on 55 reviews

Club Kawama Information


The Club Kawama breathes the atmosphere of a traditional hacienda, but it is actually an All Inclusive resort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Kawama Reviews

Club Kawama Review: 3.3 of 5 55 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  7
Terrible
  12
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (24)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
1 - 10 of 55

"No estube en mi vida en un restaurant tan malo"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Antonio  on Jul 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
262 people found this review helpful

El hotel Club Kawama una gran porqueria no tenian ni almohadas el sitio y la playa preciosos y los empleados muy buenos en especial Rey & Felipe (el canario ).pero lo tienen todo abandonado,Mi Sra no quieria ni entrar al restaurant pues le daba asco, solo tomaba te de manzanilla en fin un frascaso no se lo recomiendo a nadie ,Pensamos regresar a Cuba pero no a ese hotel...

Room Block:
41

Arrival:
Febrero 2010

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Worst Ever"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Art  on Jan 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
329 people found this review helpful

The room 2003 was dingy, broken chairs and dresser. There was black mould in sveral places and when i coplained, they painted over it 2 days later with a different color paint. All the maid did was make the bed in the 2 weeks we were there. One pool and one resrtaraunt were closed, most of the beach chairs were broken and there was not enough of them.
The a la carte restaraunts were hit and miss as to their quality. The main restaraunt was filthy and the food was vile. Uncooked meat, the same food at breakfast lunch and supper, shortages of all dishes, cups, cutlery, lousy wait staff were the norm.
We asked to upgrade and they wanted $20 a night, then told us that there were no rooms availabe, then ignored us. Others who upgraded told us the rooms they were given were worse than what the gave up.
I travel extensively but this is the first time I have run into this problem. I dont know who rated this hotel but it should be revisited and downgraded if not torn down and rebuilt.
One final comment, there also was the smell of sewage everywhere.

Room Number:
2003

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
12 jan 12 to 26 jan 12

Rooms:
filthy dark black mould broken furniture

Restaurants and Bars:
awful, uncooked food poor presentation no plates cups glasses cutlery poorly made drinks, thrn no specialty drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
one pool closed the other needed cleaning due to the scum on the top of the water

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great daily excursions decent entertainment

Other Comments:
unacceptable even for a 3rd world country, its like once you get there, its to bad,cuz theres no where else to go, your at their mercy. I have pictures that can be emailed to interested parties.Rated as a 1 because i cant rate it any lower.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Club Kawama"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brian Gormley  on Nov 25, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2005
3923 people found this review helpful

July 2001, on honeymoon, room great (14), weather great, people lovely and service terrific although food was a bit below average.

Jan2005, looking for some winter sun, room awful (above shop), paint peeling on walls, air-con not working and bed-linen very tired looking. Weather was poor, (nobody's fault). Food was awful, ended up eating bread and butter most days when burgers and hot dogs weren't available. Didn't like sharing the dining room with what appeared to be off duty staff either. Not at £1000 per week. Put me off Cuba for a while.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DO NOT GO HERE!!!! HORRIBLE!!!"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Carla  on Jan 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
251 people found this review helpful

I have been to Cuba 4 times. Every time was fantastic....until this first night in Jan 2011. The hotel is in ruins. The pictures that they have posted must be from when the hotel was first built. I was fooled by the pictures. Do not do the same. The resort is not well maintained. Everything looks as though it is falling apart. Our room was by the lobby and the smell of sewage was so bad that I swear I could taste the fumes. I did not sleep a wink that night. My mom's room was on the total other end of the resort and smelled of gas fumes from the oil pumps nearby.

It's also lacking in security. A waste high chain-linked fence was what separated you from anyone walking onto the resort and security guards were scarce. Most resorts have staff only areas that have the workings of the resort and the garbage areas etc. We had to walk through garbage smell and sights to get to our mom's room.

Last but not least the food was terrible. There was a very small selection and most of it not appetizing.

I have been to many countries and trust me I am not a lush that needs all sorts of special comforts and such but I was truly shocked by this place. There was not one smiling person walking the grounds and many people were trying to change rooms because of the smells. We took it a step further and switched hotels completely.

I strongly recommend finding another place. As cheap as it is you will still not get what you paid for.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Il peggiore Hotel di varadero"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  fernando demasi  on Jun 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
234 people found this review helpful

Hotel da dimenticare, Ho passato con la mia famiglia 8 notti da incubo. pessimo servizio, pessima cucina, pulizia inesistente, spiaggia sporca,animazione improvvisata, camere che puzzano di umidità, se volete un consiglio non andateci o vi rovinerete la vacanza.

Arrival:
21/05/2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a nice place to stay"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Apr 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
236 people found this review helpful

We did not have a good experience at this resort. I am not a fussy person and I understood that we where going to Cuba and it is not Canada, but this resort was not clean and most of the staff where not friendly. We arrived late at night around 12:30am and when we finally got to our rooms as we had to wait to get checked in with the unfriendly front desk staff. The room was not clean.It was filled with mosquitoes and smelled very very musty. The air conditioner didn't work and the bathroom was very dirty and the shower was broken. We stayed up most of the night trying kill the hundreds of mosquitoes. The next day I complained and we switched rooms. The next room was not much better but the shower and air conditioner worked. The air conditioner dripped water though. We asked to have this fixed but it never was. We had to continuously ask for toilet paper and clean towels, which we only got half of the time. There were a few of the staff that were friendly and tried to help but most of the staff where not friendly. I was sick for a few day vomiting and headache and thought it was just the traveling and being in a different country until I heard other people in the lobby of the resort talking about getting sick from the fumes in the rooms. Even the HR person of the hotel wasn't friendly and didn't want to help when she had several complaints from people getting sick. On a positive note the pool was nice and the beach was excellent. The nightly entertainment was one of the best entertainmet I have seen on a resort and I have been to three previous to this. I have never writen a review and I usually don't complain but I felt if I could help someone have a better vacation by not choicing this resort it is worth me writing. This resort is like going camping.Please do not choice this one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disgusting"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Loreen  on Dec 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
306 people found this review helpful

Food was horrible - sour beans, uncooked meat, cat poop in the dining room for 2 DAYS after being told about it. One man was ripped off for his wallet - pick-pocketed actually by one of the security guards who was working with two others - one was the distraction, the other was a lookout and the third did the stealing. Another lady had her purse stolen right off her arm. I sat on the side of a chair in the lobby while waiting for the bus to take us to airport and the chair tipped over on top of me and all they did was laugh. No one came to see if I was ok. The paths are poorly lit wherever you go so be careful of the crooked and jagged sidewalks - they are hard on the toes when you can't see in the dark and dangerous to fall on. The International a la carte was awful - filet migon was like shoe leather and French onion soup was more like the juice in a can of Campbell's vegetable soup.

The beach was great except no one was the allowed in the water because of the intensity of the waves. All in all, this was the first and will be the last time I ever go there. If anyone tells you it's good, don't believe them. I have been to many resorts in Cuba from a 2 star to a 4 and this was the worst. Get ready to walk...a lot....
Maybe it's time to find a new destnation.....Cuba is not like it was...sad.

Room Number:
2316

Room Block:
19

Arrival:
Fast at check-in then downhill from there

Rooms:
Small - no light in the bathroom

Restaurants and Bars:
Worse food I've had and I'm not a picky eater - everything had green peppers in it - worse than a 1 star

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice beach and grounds but very dark at night - paths were not lit up and you can't see where you are going

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Boring

Other Comments:
Never again

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Camping would be more comfortable than staying in the rooms."

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mss. K. Kay Allen  on Jan 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Jan, 2011
248 people found this review helpful

As the scent of sewage wafts through the room, we tried to decide how to get some sleep. The room was amp and cold and springs in the mattresses had to be covered with newspaper so that you didn't get stabbed or scratched in the night. The one pillow policy smelled of mould and mildew and the one blanket each was not enough at night. The room was always full of mosquitoes because of the holes in the ceiling and when you took a shower (you would never dream of sitting in the bathtub), the water came out from under the tiles encircling the tub and flooded the bathroom. The water was always lukewarm, never hot at any time of day or night. The TV worked on and off and when we asked to have it fixed four separate times, the girl at the front desk finally said that she was going to tell me the truth. Tip or no tip they did not fix TV's once they were broken. They didn't replace mattresses. That is the way it is. There is no point in discussing the food as these people have never left the country and haven't got the slightest idea on using spices or presenting the food in an appetizing way. Entertainment starts four hours after supper and with the vast amount of mosquitoes doesn't make standing around very appealing. The entertainment only lasts 45 minutes anyway. I could go on and on but it was the worst hotel and the worst vacation I have ever been on. Don't go there no matter what. It isn't worth it even if it was free. I paid $1,300. per person in January 2011. Good grief!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dump; Dump; Dump!"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Reg  on Mar 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
408 people found this review helpful

What a waste of money!!! Musty, moldy rooms. Food that I wouldn't feed a swamp rat. Probably the rudest staff that we've ever encountered. The desk staff are rude, inconsiderate and double rude! Make sure that you have zipper locks on your suitcases ...we had two six paks of lip gloss stolen as well as a bottle of Axe shower gel....second day there.Sand fles were rampant and we were told that they fog with diesel fuel vapour..can't confirm but it sure smelled like diesel.Make sure you hit the Cuban International Bank to exchange money before the closing day as the front desk wanted 15 cents on the dollar when the bank was closed. Better yet go to the International bank at 32nd and Veradaro....it's open every day...check the times.Air conditioner was plugged solid with dirt...I had to trouble shoot it for the maintenance staff before they could get it going.
This place isn't even a good deal when Red Tagged at $407/ person which is what we paid...the rooms made us and others sick almost daily.
If you do go here stay drunk...you won't notice how badly you're being screwed. I don't drink so I was AT A DISADVANTAGE.
We went here at the last minute for our anniversary...spend a little more and you'll have a good time at a better hotel.

Room Number:
2312

Room Block:
2300's

Arrival:
arrived 05 March 2012

Left 12 March 2012

We're both still sick and taking chlotriplon

Rooms:
Dirty...same hair that was on the floor when we arrived was there when we left. The rooms are dirty and moldy. The shutters on the bathroom door were caved in. Dirty hand prints all over the wall. I don't mind rustic but this was neanderthal.

Restaurants and Bars:
Terrible food...lots of people with diarrhea ....poor quality and no variety.

The coffee bar on the way to the beach was great, and so were the nmale and female bar tenders at the coffee bar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
One pool operating...beach was good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Drinking and snd skirt chasing if you're over 55. Probably so that you forget what you slept with.One dierty little creep keeps two hookers with him every week and two new ones the next week for a month at a time....wears a speedo with a 50" gut hanging out over it!

Other Comments:
Don't ever take your wife, kids or family here unless you want them to hate you .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not for couple - only for cuban family"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  yasmin merhav  on Oct 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ISRAEL
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
314 people found this review helpful

If you are not a cuban - club kawama is not the place for you.
a lot of nose, uncleaned, basic services, simple rooms, the main restaurant
is messy and a lot of big cuban noise families
the food is basic the pool is jammed
the room wase always full of musskittos and you can see ther blood on the walls!!!!
the room wase not availablle till 16:30

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube