Club Kawama Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Club Kawama reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Club Kawama  

Primera Avenida y Calle 1, Reparto Kawama, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! DO NOT GO HERE!"
Posted by: Dasha on Apr 13, 2017
see all reviews

Club Kawama Reviews
Club Kawama Pictures and Information
Club Kawama Varadero Cuba

#5
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.3

Based on 55 reviews

Club Kawama Information


The Club Kawama breathes the atmosphere of a traditional hacienda, but it is actually an All Inclusive resort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Kawama Reviews

Club Kawama Review: 3.3 of 5 55 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  7
Terrible
  12
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (24)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
21 - 30 of 55

"Best visit to Cuba ever!!!"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Miranda  on Jun 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
240 people found this review helpful

The thing that really makes this resort is the staff. In particular Dina and Juan Carlos the wait staff and Renee the assistant manager. Being a single mother and traveling with a young child with special needs alone can be intimidating. The staff treated me well and were great with my son. I had no problem getting help or information and they always had a smile on their face.

When we first arrived the air conditioner was broken, they had it fixed right away. Every day the entertainment staff were swimming, dancing or teaching Spanish to my son. The food isn't amazing, but you can always find something and Kiki's which is just down the street has awesome food and is super cheap, we went out for dinner and paid 12 pesos tip included. Anyways, if you have ever been to Cuba you know that you don't go for the food. The bed was a little hard but I always bring my own pillow so I was fine. The maid that did my room every day has to be the nicest woman I have ever met. My son helped her clean every day and she taught him a few Spanish phrases.

Ultimately, I have never had a better vacation. A lot of people forget when traveling that they aren't in their home countries. Accommodations, star ratings, food, and service will be different. If you embrace the culture, the people and go with an open mind to have fun you definitely will. I am returning in November to Kawama, it was just that great!

Room Number:
301

Room Block:
Que?

Arrival:
The front desk staff are female and not my favourite, however they are quick and get you off to your room right away. Never exchange your money at the front desk, go to the bank. If you go out to the road from the lobby and make a right it is a 60 second walk and the rate is always better.

Rooms:
Room was good, we were right off of the beach. My air conditioning was broken but Roberto the maintenance guy had it fixed pronto. He was awesome and has a son who lives in Canada, we ended up bringing back a letter for him.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only ate at the buffet on the resort. It was ok, I always found something I liked. The restaurant down the street (3 minute walk) is cheap and has great pizza and pina coladas.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Only 1 of the pools were open due to renovations but it was super clean and had a children's area which was nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were plenty. Boating, dancing, volleyball, pool games. I however avoided them because I had a child with me and most participants had been into the rum.

Other Comments:
If you go tell Renee Miranda says Hola!!! He will help you with anything. My son got a bad sun burn the last day and he made sure we had water and aloe for the burn. The other manager went to the drug store for Tylenol too.Oh, and the waitress brought our dinner to our room because we hadn't made it to lunch. I couldn't believe the kindness and generosity I experienced while there. Make sure you tip!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Il peggiore Hotel di varadero"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  fernando demasi  on Jun 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
234 people found this review helpful

Hotel da dimenticare, Ho passato con la mia famiglia 8 notti da incubo. pessimo servizio, pessima cucina, pulizia inesistente, spiaggia sporca,animazione improvvisata, camere che puzzano di umidità, se volete un consiglio non andateci o vi rovinerete la vacanza.

Arrival:
21/05/2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a nice place to stay"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Apr 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
236 people found this review helpful

We did not have a good experience at this resort. I am not a fussy person and I understood that we where going to Cuba and it is not Canada, but this resort was not clean and most of the staff where not friendly. We arrived late at night around 12:30am and when we finally got to our rooms as we had to wait to get checked in with the unfriendly front desk staff. The room was not clean.It was filled with mosquitoes and smelled very very musty. The air conditioner didn't work and the bathroom was very dirty and the shower was broken. We stayed up most of the night trying kill the hundreds of mosquitoes. The next day I complained and we switched rooms. The next room was not much better but the shower and air conditioner worked. The air conditioner dripped water though. We asked to have this fixed but it never was. We had to continuously ask for toilet paper and clean towels, which we only got half of the time. There were a few of the staff that were friendly and tried to help but most of the staff where not friendly. I was sick for a few day vomiting and headache and thought it was just the traveling and being in a different country until I heard other people in the lobby of the resort talking about getting sick from the fumes in the rooms. Even the HR person of the hotel wasn't friendly and didn't want to help when she had several complaints from people getting sick. On a positive note the pool was nice and the beach was excellent. The nightly entertainment was one of the best entertainmet I have seen on a resort and I have been to three previous to this. I have never writen a review and I usually don't complain but I felt if I could help someone have a better vacation by not choicing this resort it is worth me writing. This resort is like going camping.Please do not choice this one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A little old fashioned but amazing. "

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Theresa  on Mar 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
251 people found this review helpful

People need to realize they arent in canada. However Kawama is absolutely a fun place to go. It is not brand new by any means it just celebrated its 80th anniversary not that long ago. The things that made my trip are the staff. They are so friendly and each time I have stayed they have remembered me even if I did not remember them. They are hard working people that are there from sunrise to sundown most of them. The maids make sure to keep your rooms clean but please tip them. Its how they make a living. The food isnt the best but its not anywhere. I do suggest though if you are having a hard time to go to KiKis it is an awesome little restaurant or there are lots of cafes there. The nightly shows are awesome and one of my favourite things about it is the one band they have. Very good they play sundays and thursday nights. All i have to say a vacation is whatever you make it. If you are a person that nit picks about everything this isnt the resort for you. But it is a great atmosphere and you will never find any nicer of staff. It is definately a great place to go. :)

Room Number:
215

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
The ladies at the front desk arent overly friendly but they are prompt and get you in as quick as possible.

Rooms:
They are average rooms for a hotel. They arent fancy but lets be honest who goes to cuba for the room. There is one outlit that all your plugs can go into

Restaurants and Bars:
the buffets are good you can always find something you will like. The a la cartes are amazing I suggest you check them out.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"OLA!!! Can't wait to go back...."

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jo  on Mar 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
269 people found this review helpful

I went for a week stay at Kawama with a friend, and it was both of our first times in Cuba despite being frequent travellors. We had a wonderful time in the country and at the resort, the Cubans are so lovely. We went with open travelling minds, because many people often forget that you are visiting a developing foreign country. The resort facilities and buildings are kept clean although they are older. This was the original resort built in Varadero so it has a very large prime beach location, far far nicer than the beachers at the 5 star resorts on the secluded end, which some don't even offer their own section of beach. The hotel staff were friendly and gracious when accepting gifts and tips, and always remembered those hotel guests who left them the smallest of gestures (a peso or Dollarstore gift item). The club activities were really fun, from aquasize in the afternoon, to spanish and salsa lessons, to the evening dance and singing acts (which were stunning). The food was Cuban buffet food, maybe not what we're used to in our over-processed diet, but they do the best with available resources. It broke my heart to see all the food going to waste on plates from guests or people commenting negatively to the food staff, so shocking. For a change go to KiKis just off of the resort; the meal for 2 of us was always under $20, and that included a starter, a large entree and a few drinks. Try the mojitos and pina coladas off resort a few times - they are made fresh and delicious. The alcohol was great at the resort too, endless supplies of everything. The Cristal Cuban beer is delicious, and so too is the rum obviously. Do a few tours and get off of the resort, Cuba is very safe, especially compared to Toronto and other major Canadian cities. There are beautiful markets within walking distance with local crafts; the markets in Varadero are much nicer than Havanna as you will not get hasselled by the vendors as it's geered for tourism to the T. There is a double decker bus for tourists that runs from 9am to 9pm everyday, and it's $5 a person and you can use it all day and hop on and off... There are also horse drawn carriages, bubble taxis and retro car taxis, which were all really fun but pricey is used all the time. The dance clubs are great, Club Havana and Club International are good times for young people. Cubans aren't allowed to enter a hotel night club on their own, so they wait outside to go in with people. We had no problem signing them in, they are polite and kind and just want to dance and talk to the tourists - and they are GREAT dancers! Go and enjoy your trip, I promise you'll want to go back!

Room Number:
2909

Room Block:
29

Arrival:
So easy, we went to our alloted Nolitours bus off of the plan and our Cuban rep met us with a comedy/info session on our ride to the resorts. Make sure to tip them at least $2!!!

Rooms:
Older, but kept clean. We always left the made little gifts so she'd leave us blanket and towel creatures, so fun. We also brought ant traps, raid spray and citronella candles, but never needed any of them. Kept our air conditioner on all the time, and curtains closed throughout the daytime sun to keep it cool. Water pressure and water temp were just as good as here at home, the water heat is solar powered so obviously in the evening it is cooler, it's not rocket science for those that complained. The rooms are musky and damp, which is beyond their control, it's a humd island and those are their living conditions, which is why leaving the air conditioning on helped. You need a plug converter for hair curlers and straightners, there was a hairdryer. Bring your own face towel, they don't have them. They have toilet paper as well, but you might want to bring more because they don't offer paper or soap in toilets off of the resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints, just make sure you tips with little gifts or pesos!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful!!! Little wild cats and dogs are so cute and friendly and add to scenery, I know they bothered some people, but come on, really? The beach I will always have dreams about, it's gorgeous. One day we did have jellyfish, but the lifeguard got everyone out of the water and no one got stung. The pools are clean and well kept, and are very refreshing. You will have to go early to grab a beach or pool chair... They fill up quickly and people just go down and set their beach bags on them before breakfast to hold them for the day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never Go To Club Kawama"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  chantelle  on Feb 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
263 people found this review helpful

when me and my family decided to go to cuba for our very first time we decided to try club kawama (very bad choice). the food was horrible at the buffet and while i was there i lost 8 pounds! we had a problem with our room, and may i note a big one to, and the repair man didn't even come to see the problem for 2 days. when he did come he smashed a huge hole in the side of the tub, told us he could do nothing then left us in a torn apart bathroom. several times we went to our rep and she did nothing about just lloked at us like some kind of pack of animals and then walked away. we met many people when we where down there and they also had other problems such as mold, ants, and no hot water. i will never go back to club kawama again for any reason. and did i forget to say that everyone there was rude and did nothing at all, and on the last day of our vacation i smacked my head of a shade that was hanging that i did not notice. i started balling because i got an instant headache, also my lips split and i was bleeding everywhere cuz they where chapped badly from the sun. when someone came to help we asked them for a first aid kit and they responded with a "we don't have one" i was shocked and that pushed me over the edge, i could say much more but the bottom line is never go to club kawama even if its the last thing you ever do!!!

Arrival:
okay, could be alot better though

Rooms:
horrible wish i never went there

Restaurants and Bars:
the food sucked i got sick one night of it

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very good, only thing that was

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
appropriate, not alot though

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DO NOT GO HERE!!!! HORRIBLE!!!"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Carla  on Jan 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
251 people found this review helpful

I have been to Cuba 4 times. Every time was fantastic....until this first night in Jan 2011. The hotel is in ruins. The pictures that they have posted must be from when the hotel was first built. I was fooled by the pictures. Do not do the same. The resort is not well maintained. Everything looks as though it is falling apart. Our room was by the lobby and the smell of sewage was so bad that I swear I could taste the fumes. I did not sleep a wink that night. My mom's room was on the total other end of the resort and smelled of gas fumes from the oil pumps nearby.

It's also lacking in security. A waste high chain-linked fence was what separated you from anyone walking onto the resort and security guards were scarce. Most resorts have staff only areas that have the workings of the resort and the garbage areas etc. We had to walk through garbage smell and sights to get to our mom's room.

Last but not least the food was terrible. There was a very small selection and most of it not appetizing.

I have been to many countries and trust me I am not a lush that needs all sorts of special comforts and such but I was truly shocked by this place. There was not one smiling person walking the grounds and many people were trying to change rooms because of the smells. We took it a step further and switched hotels completely.

I strongly recommend finding another place. As cheap as it is you will still not get what you paid for.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Camping would be more comfortable than staying in the rooms."

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mss. K. Kay Allen  on Jan 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Jan, 2011
248 people found this review helpful

As the scent of sewage wafts through the room, we tried to decide how to get some sleep. The room was amp and cold and springs in the mattresses had to be covered with newspaper so that you didn't get stabbed or scratched in the night. The one pillow policy smelled of mould and mildew and the one blanket each was not enough at night. The room was always full of mosquitoes because of the holes in the ceiling and when you took a shower (you would never dream of sitting in the bathtub), the water came out from under the tiles encircling the tub and flooded the bathroom. The water was always lukewarm, never hot at any time of day or night. The TV worked on and off and when we asked to have it fixed four separate times, the girl at the front desk finally said that she was going to tell me the truth. Tip or no tip they did not fix TV's once they were broken. They didn't replace mattresses. That is the way it is. There is no point in discussing the food as these people have never left the country and haven't got the slightest idea on using spices or presenting the food in an appetizing way. Entertainment starts four hours after supper and with the vast amount of mosquitoes doesn't make standing around very appealing. The entertainment only lasts 45 minutes anyway. I could go on and on but it was the worst hotel and the worst vacation I have ever been on. Don't go there no matter what. It isn't worth it even if it was free. I paid $1,300. per person in January 2011. Good grief!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Value"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Down Michael  on Dec 7, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010
459 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have stayed at Kawama in January 2007-2009 and 2010. We return because of the cost compared to the location. The beach is gorgeous and the hotel is spread out over a long stretch of it and is a a few minutes walk to a couple of markets. The food is not spiced or seasoned very much on most Cuban all inclusives but the food in the many Varadero restaurants is more to Canadian tastes. The buffet food has improved and the location of it on the beach means a beautiful view with your meal. The Italian a la carte is our favourite. We miss the beach barbeque which hasn't been there the past couple years. The hotel being older warrants bringing room air fresheners with you and the no see ums are out in the evening. Some people are more affected than others by them, so bring bug repellant. In reading a hundred reviews of Kawama on tripadvisor and selloff vacations.com the consensus is that a Cuban 3 star is a 2 star anywhere else and that experienced Cuban travellors who pay less than $750 a week are pleased with this resort. I look forward to returning in 2011.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Visita a Varadero en el Kawama"

Club Kawama
User Rating:  Club Kawama Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sra. Dulce Mariana Cabanes Izarra  on Oct 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Venezuela
Visited on: Oct, 2010
718 people found this review helpful

as instalaciones del hotel, excelente, los bares muy buena atencion, la enfermeria con mala atencion,y la comida repetida muchas veces fria y con demasiadas moscas y mosquitos (aunque la atencion de su gente muy buena), los show y animacion maravillosas (saludos a la negrita, diganle que es Dulce, la mama de Jean David, la de la cartera amarilla) ...Si mejoran la comida, volveria...Mis saludos desde Valencia-Venezuela...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube