Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)  

Carretera Las Morlas Km 14, Varadero, CUBA
(Varadero Maps)

"very good"
Posted by: gracielabagnasco on May 14, 2016
see all reviews

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Reviews
Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Pictures and Information
Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Varadero Cuba

#30
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.7

Based on 18 reviews

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Information


Beach-front All-Inclusive resort in Varadero, Hotel Aguas Azules is situated on the best virgin beach in Varadero and idyllically located in a natural and ecological setting, 14 km away from town centre and only 40 km from the international airport in Varadero.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Reviews

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 3.7 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  4
Average
  3
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (11)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 18

"very good"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  gracielabagnasco  on May 14, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2016 | Leisure | Solo
41 people found this review helpful

la verdad que tantoo yo como mis nietos (3)lo pasamos estupendamente, volveria encantad.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What a nightmare!!"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carl  on Jan 10, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
72 people found this review helpful

What a horrible vacation we just experienced at one of your Varadero destinations, the Aguas Azules resort. Since arriving there on January 2, everyday we complained about water leaking from our toilet which would spread all over the bathroom floor and everyday they said they'd fix it but never did. One day my wife approached someone who said he worked there and assured her that he'd make sure the problem would taken care of, but he too failed to deliver. Ends up the guy was the new hotel director. Incompetent, or what.
When we finally got an "engineer" to take a look at the problem, he blamed on the chamber maid. Our chamber maid was a wonderful woman who was also frustrated that everyday she cleaned up the mess, call for maintenance to fix the problem and they never did it.
One day I cleaned up the water with our towels, and within minutes I started seeing water seep out of the base of the toilet and start to spread throughout the bathroom via the tile grouting. I photographed it on my iPhone and showed it to the front desk clerk and engineer, and was assured the problem would be resolved the next day while we were on a tour. Didn't happen. On Friday (January 8) maintenance finally checkout the toilet and claimed it couldn't be fixed because they didn't have a part. For the first time it was suggested that we change rooms but said since we were leaving the next day, that we'd manage the problem for one more day with the towels. As part of an apology for all that we went through, the customer service agent said she'd send a bottle of rum to our room. It never arrived either.
We liked the resort so much last year that we decided to come back this year. That won't be the case next year and it's too bad because the staff continue to be wonderful people. It's management that needs to work on their customer service skills. Adios Aguas Azules, FOREVER!!👎🏼👎🏼

Room Number:
A1302

Room Block:
Bungalow

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place to be"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eric  on Oct 19, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
176 people found this review helpful

This is a truly great place to stay at. I have been there twice so far and all that I can say is – this hotel is amazing!! First of all, all the employees are very nice and kind, and they are there to serve you 24 hours a day. There is no problem with the language because most of them speak English good enough so they can understand what you want and how you want it.
Another positive thing is the fact that the rooms are really great condition. The hygiene standards are great in the rooms and in the entire hotel too. My wife and kids were so satisfied with the hotel that we extended our visit for five more days.
From my perspective as a family man this was a great city and hotel to spend your vacation and do all the family activities that you can imagine without being worried about something. But it is important to mention the fact that there is disco at the hotel so I guess that this place would be attractive to the young people too. As far as I could see this disco was one of the best in this place so most of the tourists and locals wanted to get in and party hard.
All the other facilities that are in this hotel were truly amazing with high quality and affordable prices if you have in mind the fact that this hotel offers you only the best. It would be nice to know that huge part of the facilities that are in the hotel are free for the guests so you don’t have to worry about spending extra money on such things.
I would personally recommend this hotel at any time of the year if you decide to visit this place. It is a nice and safe place with great location that can offer you the right services for a perfect vacation. No matter if you are traveling with your family or friends this hotel can there for the joy that you and your closest ones need.

Room Number:
874

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would Not Recommend! "

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melanie  on Dec 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
279 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this resort at the same time last year and had no problems. This year however, was completely different.

The good:
We loved the beach and most of the staff were very friendly. The buffet has a huge selection: I don't know what people expect food-wise! We didn't expect to eat like we do at home. If you're expecting steak though, you won't find it. Every meal had several different types of meat, vegetables, fruit, interesting pickled things as well as cold cuts, cheeses, bread and lots of desserts. Still, there were lots of people who seemed to think the only edible food was the rice, pasta and bread. There is a really nice hike within walking distance of the resort that has interesting cave/limestone formations that I'd definitely suggest.

The bad:
The sand flies were horrendous: we were itchy from daily bug bites and came home with dozens and dozens of welts. One of our beds was broken. The water pressure in the shower is nearly non-existent at best but if you plan to have a hot shower first thing in the morning or right before supper, forget about it. Our toilet never seemed to want to flush properly and stopped working altogether during the last few days of our stay even though a maintenance guy came to fix it twice. The worst part though was the discovery that things went missing from our safe, which was paid for at an additional cost and card-locked.

I've read lots of reviews that mention the rude front receptionist but we found all the front desk people pleasant and helpful. We saw them put up with a lot of rude hotel guests though and my thinking is you get what you give.

I really wish I had better things to say about our visit this time, but the theft from our safe pretty much wrecked our trip. The cat feces in the hallway (that didn't get cleaned up for three days) was pretty gross too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disapointed and will never return"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  DAVID  on Dec 6, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
244 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1402

Arrival:
930pm no elevator, nobody to show me how to find my room, nobody to assist with my luggage

Rooms:
my garden view room appeared clean only balcony was too small to sit on and was filled with dirt and weeds, i overlooked the service shed, tv broke down and was never repaired, mini fridge not turned on, no water supplied in room nor bottle of rum in the room as advertised on arrival, despite do not disturb sign the cleaning woman still entered the room, water glass on counter not exchanged for a clean one all weeek

Restaurants and Bars:
main buffet was closed, small one open, typical Cuban food which was only ok by other cuban resorts standards i have been to, the service in the buffet was very poor but the attitude of the staff was very good, could only get a morning coffee in the buffet

most bars and a la carte restaurants were closed, service in the bars was good if you kept tipping

when i tried to book an a la carte i was told they were full, i checked and found out i was lied to, the PR department sorted out the problem, the rest of the time the resort kept changing the sign up location and guests were very frustated. the service in the a la cart was good, even though the waitress poured the bottle of wine into my full soup bowl, best food was hamburger and fries at beach bar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautifull beach due to mother nature, lifeguards were visibly present at all times and i personally witnessed them saving a male in the ocean thar was doomed to die, excellent job, highlight of the hotel, their profrssionalism

pools: main pool closed for repair, hot tub open but not heated and no circulation until management were asked about it, the hot tub strangely got a little warm but still no water jets, the secondary pools were clean but really cold

grounds were not maintained, grass and weeds visibly long throughout the resort, the lazy river streams surrounding the courtyard, were shut off, no circulation and covered in green slime

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
on site activities were obviously scaled down, my only off site trip was booked through my agent not the resort so that turned out o.k.

Other Comments:
i had an enjoyable time but only created by the other guests and not due to the effort of the resort.
the resort looked very tired and needed MAJOR Bwork. there are too many places to go to i would definitely not return here

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay away from this place"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  JUAN FRANCO  on Apr 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
362 people found this review helpful

Yo hablaría del muy poco variado buffet, del barato producto que usan para los cocteles (ni siuiera ron habana que cuesta 5 dolares la botella), de las filas para el bar de la playa y que solo tengan perro o hamburguesa de snacks, de los restaurantes cerrados, de que no ofrezcan internet gratuito, De la pésima señalización para todos los dormitorios y zonas del hotel en general.

Room Number:
2211

Room Block:
?

Arrival:
The place is packed from the beginning. Check in took us a long time, specially because the guy who's in charge of storing the luggage, disappears quite frequently and sometimes you have to wait for him 20-30 minutes.
Good thing: they let us check in before their time which is awfully late: 3 PM.

Rooms:
They are normal, clean, that's it. It was the "less worse thing" of the hotel.

Restaurants and Bars:
There is no variety whatsoever in their buffet.
Quality of cocktails is awful. I know it's an all inclusive hotel and you cannot expect something somehow decent, but the drinks were disgusting.
Snack bars only offers 1 kind of hamburger and a hot dog using the bread used in hamburgers. They were awful too.

Every time there was a long line a wait of at least 10-15 minutes at the snack bar or the bars. In all of them!

There are 4 or 5 restaurants, but you can mainly use 1 because the other 3 or 4 you gotta have a reservation. In other places I've been, the exception is that you only have to make reservations in 1 out of 5 restaurants. They offer a seafood restaurant but it was closed at the time of our visit, and that's one of the main reasons we were looking forward to go.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Loud music all the time, like a spring break in Panama Beach.

Other Comments:
Only hotel in cuba that charges for the use of the internet.

It was so hard to get oriented in the hotel. You get no directions on how to find your room or anything else.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not the greatest"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tamara  on Nov 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
372 people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to this resort and we were disappointed. The 1st visit 2 years ago was very nice.
Although the food choices somewhat expanded, the recycling of food was obvious.
Fruits, like the pineapple was never ripe. However, we managed to keep our tummies full.
The A la carte restaurant – don’t bother. The 1st time we were there we were pleased but the food had been rather awful this time.
There was a shortage of some sort everywhere: straws in the bar, wine, juice etc. Since the bungalow area was mostly closed since they were preparing for high season, we stayed in the main hotel. The hallways are dark and did not see a vacuum in more than a month or even more. Really hard to tell.
Although our maid, Elizabeth kept the room clean –there is only so much you can do with leaking faucets and small ants crawling everywhere. We were bitten, but I think we got the sand flies bites – we thought maybe fleas, but this was common to other areas of Varadero, even Jamaica – as per my friends travelling the same time period.
The staff at the beach grill/snack bar were the best. They were pleasant and swift. The staff at the lobby bar moody but overall very nice.
The entertainment was almost none existent and often guest were the ones to provide the entertainment.
Word of advice to the management – little steps will go a long way. Vacuum the hallways, clean up the foot prints off the walls & what’s with the unripe fruits in the buffet? It would only go to waste as it is sour and hard.
Although the beaches are just beautiful, the water warm we would not go to this resort again. I wish I didn’t go back as I would’ve had only good memories. Now it is time to explore elsewhere

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Great Value"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Keri  on Aug 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Business | With friend
397 people found this review helpful

This place had big beautiful grounds with easy access to a glorious beach. The staff was pretty good (except the nasty girl doing a la carte restaurants). The food was adequate - stick to the buffet - at least you have some options. The bar staff was excellent. The drinks were pretty basic and the pina colada weren't that great, but I stuck to wine spritzers and had a great time. They many pools were beautiful... except the 'quiet' pool was a bit green... a little more chlorine might have fixed that. Our room was clean and our housekeeper was great. We left her lots of treasures throughout our trip and I am sure that helped. Friends in another room had an ant issue and a fight with their housekeeper, but we were fine! I would definitely stay there again. There were many renovations going on while we were there, but they were very discreet and over the course of our week, the place was looking very fresh. The pool chairs seemed new and the grounds were spotless. I think it would be hard to beat to for the price! I highly recommend the Havana Tour that includes the stunning Tropicana Show. The Dolphin excursion is just sad - those poor things are captive in a concrete square in the middle of the ocean. Boo.

Room Block:
Near the Quite Pool (awesome location)

Arrival:
We arrived and were transported to our hotel smoothly... late a night, but ok.

Rooms:
Clean, large, two double beds - just what we wanted.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beaches and pools

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Place"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alejandro  on Aug 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
425 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Hotel on July/2012;I checked In late without any trouble,I complained about the Air Conditioning not cooling enogh:right away I was offered other room if after one hour I was not satisfied whit it.(at the end the A.C. was fine.)The food in the Buffet is O.K.,the Restaurants(50 % of them are closed because low occupancy)are O.K. too,but you have to realze that going to Cuba always something is missing. The service from all employees in the whole Hotel is Five Stars.The beach, Varadero Beach has won the title "The Best Beach in the World",and is well deserved,white and clean sand,clear water,the beach never crowded.Finally as a Cuban Born it is a shame the infamous popularity the cuban residing in The U.S.A.and other foreign countries have won for not leave the Tip after services are rendered,otherwise delivering a lot of complains about everything,like if we were Kings where we live;please everywhere the Tip goes by some % of what you expended,it wont hurt your pocket leaving at least one C.U.C.Any way they will bring you the best service they can without asking nothing,but gratefull if you do.My best wishes for all friendly employees at "Aguas Azules".

Room Number:
2407

Arrival:
07/12/2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An old review but hopefully helpful!"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Martin  on Jan 23, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
486 people found this review helpful

The hotel itself was average...as were the rooms. It's basic but clean. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate with us and we ended spending a good amount of time in the room...Thankfully they DID have HBO and CBC from Edmonton!! This resort doesn't have much to do if you're not at the beach or the pool...bring books, cards, or something else to entertain yourself with in case it rains! That said, the beach was outstanding (best I've seen in Cuba) and the pools were clean. The evening shows were quite good though and the dancers were outstanding! The food was average for Cuba...lots of local fare and pizza and pasta. There are a couple of snack bars open throughout the day too for sandwiches, burgers, or omlettes. As this was our only experience with this hotel, we're not sure if the following comments are the norm or the exception!! A LOT of young people (mostly from Quebec, not a big deal as I was born in Quebec) who were very loud, obnoxious, and rude (very big deal!!). Limited drinks: mojitos (they didn't seem to have much mint available - maybe 1/4 of the time), margarita (not like they are here!!), pina colada (not at all bars and the ones that did were weird!!), no fresh juice...tasted like Tang. But...they never seemed to run out of beer (if that's your thing!). Tipping seems to be a hot topic in Cuba...here's my two-cents: The drinks are included...but tip a peso every couple of drinks. You'd likely be doing it here...so what's the difference? As for our maid, Magdalena...she was fantastic! We left her "stuff" as opposed to money. She loved the bottle of perfume and guys sports stuff. If you don't want to leave "stuff", tip them a peso at least! They work hard for you...and if you need something...ask them...if something isn't right...tell them! Our experience was that all the staff wanted to make your stay as nice as possible! Good value for the money...but too bad it rained ;( We'll splurge on our next visit though to avoid the young partiers!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube