Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)  

Carretera Las Morlas Km 14, Varadero, CUBA
(Varadero Maps)

"Would Not Recommend! "
Posted by: Melanie  on Dec 27, 2012
see all reviews

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Reviews
Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Pictures and Information
Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Varadero Cuba

#32
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.8

Based on 16 reviews

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Information


Beach-front All-Inclusive resort in Varadero, Hotel Aguas Azules is situated on the best virgin beach in Varadero and idyllically located in a natural and ecological setting, 14 km away from town centre and only 40 km from the international airport in Varadero.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Reviews

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 3.8 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  3
Average
  3
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (8)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 16

"Would Not Recommend! "

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melanie  on Dec 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
102 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this resort at the same time last year and had no problems. This year however, was completely different.

The good:
We loved the beach and most of the staff were very friendly. The buffet has a huge selection: I don't know what people expect food-wise! We didn't expect to eat like we do at home. If you're expecting steak though, you won't find it. Every meal had several different types of meat, vegetables, fruit, interesting pickled things as well as cold cuts, cheeses, bread and lots of desserts. Still, there were lots of people who seemed to think the only edible food was the rice, pasta and bread. There is a really nice hike within walking distance of the resort that has interesting cave/limestone formations that I'd definitely suggest.

The bad:
The sand flies were horrendous: we were itchy from daily bug bites and came home with dozens and dozens of welts. One of our beds was broken. The water pressure in the shower is nearly non-existent at best but if you plan to have a hot shower first thing in the morning or right before supper, forget about it. Our toilet never seemed to want to flush properly and stopped working altogether during the last few days of our stay even though a maintenance guy came to fix it twice. The worst part though was the discovery that things went missing from our safe, which was paid for at an additional cost and card-locked.

I've read lots of reviews that mention the rude front receptionist but we found all the front desk people pleasant and helpful. We saw them put up with a lot of rude hotel guests though and my thinking is you get what you give.

I really wish I had better things to say about our visit this time, but the theft from our safe pretty much wrecked our trip. The cat feces in the hallway (that didn't get cleaned up for three days) was pretty gross too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disapointed and will never return"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  DAVID  on Dec 6, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
72 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1402

Arrival:
930pm no elevator, nobody to show me how to find my room, nobody to assist with my luggage

Rooms:
my garden view room appeared clean only balcony was too small to sit on and was filled with dirt and weeds, i overlooked the service shed, tv broke down and was never repaired, mini fridge not turned on, no water supplied in room nor bottle of rum in the room as advertised on arrival, despite do not disturb sign the cleaning woman still entered the room, water glass on counter not exchanged for a clean one all weeek

Restaurants and Bars:
main buffet was closed, small one open, typical Cuban food which was only ok by other cuban resorts standards i have been to, the service in the buffet was very poor but the attitude of the staff was very good, could only get a morning coffee in the buffet

most bars and a la carte restaurants were closed, service in the bars was good if you kept tipping

when i tried to book an a la carte i was told they were full, i checked and found out i was lied to, the PR department sorted out the problem, the rest of the time the resort kept changing the sign up location and guests were very frustated. the service in the a la cart was good, even though the waitress poured the bottle of wine into my full soup bowl, best food was hamburger and fries at beach bar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautifull beach due to mother nature, lifeguards were visibly present at all times and i personally witnessed them saving a male in the ocean thar was doomed to die, excellent job, highlight of the hotel, their profrssionalism

pools: main pool closed for repair, hot tub open but not heated and no circulation until management were asked about it, the hot tub strangely got a little warm but still no water jets, the secondary pools were clean but really cold

grounds were not maintained, grass and weeds visibly long throughout the resort, the lazy river streams surrounding the courtyard, were shut off, no circulation and covered in green slime

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
on site activities were obviously scaled down, my only off site trip was booked through my agent not the resort so that turned out o.k.

Other Comments:
i had an enjoyable time but only created by the other guests and not due to the effort of the resort.
the resort looked very tired and needed MAJOR Bwork. there are too many places to go to i would definitely not return here

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay away from this place"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  JUAN FRANCO  on Apr 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
181 people found this review helpful

Yo hablaría del muy poco variado buffet, del barato producto que usan para los cocteles (ni siuiera ron habana que cuesta 5 dolares la botella), de las filas para el bar de la playa y que solo tengan perro o hamburguesa de snacks, de los restaurantes cerrados, de que no ofrezcan internet gratuito, De la pésima señalización para todos los dormitorios y zonas del hotel en general.

Room Number:
2211

Room Block:
?

Arrival:
The place is packed from the beginning. Check in took us a long time, specially because the guy who's in charge of storing the luggage, disappears quite frequently and sometimes you have to wait for him 20-30 minutes.
Good thing: they let us check in before their time which is awfully late: 3 PM.

Rooms:
They are normal, clean, that's it. It was the "less worse thing" of the hotel.

Restaurants and Bars:
There is no variety whatsoever in their buffet.
Quality of cocktails is awful. I know it's an all inclusive hotel and you cannot expect something somehow decent, but the drinks were disgusting.
Snack bars only offers 1 kind of hamburger and a hot dog using the bread used in hamburgers. They were awful too.

Every time there was a long line a wait of at least 10-15 minutes at the snack bar or the bars. In all of them!

There are 4 or 5 restaurants, but you can mainly use 1 because the other 3 or 4 you gotta have a reservation. In other places I've been, the exception is that you only have to make reservations in 1 out of 5 restaurants. They offer a seafood restaurant but it was closed at the time of our visit, and that's one of the main reasons we were looking forward to go.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Loud music all the time, like a spring break in Panama Beach.

Other Comments:
Only hotel in cuba that charges for the use of the internet.

It was so hard to get oriented in the hotel. You get no directions on how to find your room or anything else.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not the greatest"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tamara  on Nov 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
204 people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to this resort and we were disappointed. The 1st visit 2 years ago was very nice.
Although the food choices somewhat expanded, the recycling of food was obvious.
Fruits, like the pineapple was never ripe. However, we managed to keep our tummies full.
The A la carte restaurant – don’t bother. The 1st time we were there we were pleased but the food had been rather awful this time.
There was a shortage of some sort everywhere: straws in the bar, wine, juice etc. Since the bungalow area was mostly closed since they were preparing for high season, we stayed in the main hotel. The hallways are dark and did not see a vacuum in more than a month or even more. Really hard to tell.
Although our maid, Elizabeth kept the room clean –there is only so much you can do with leaking faucets and small ants crawling everywhere. We were bitten, but I think we got the sand flies bites – we thought maybe fleas, but this was common to other areas of Varadero, even Jamaica – as per my friends travelling the same time period.
The staff at the beach grill/snack bar were the best. They were pleasant and swift. The staff at the lobby bar moody but overall very nice.
The entertainment was almost none existent and often guest were the ones to provide the entertainment.
Word of advice to the management – little steps will go a long way. Vacuum the hallways, clean up the foot prints off the walls & what’s with the unripe fruits in the buffet? It would only go to waste as it is sour and hard.
Although the beaches are just beautiful, the water warm we would not go to this resort again. I wish I didn’t go back as I would’ve had only good memories. Now it is time to explore elsewhere

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Great Value"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Keri  on Aug 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Business | With friend
233 people found this review helpful

This place had big beautiful grounds with easy access to a glorious beach. The staff was pretty good (except the nasty girl doing a la carte restaurants). The food was adequate - stick to the buffet - at least you have some options. The bar staff was excellent. The drinks were pretty basic and the pina colada weren't that great, but I stuck to wine spritzers and had a great time. They many pools were beautiful... except the 'quiet' pool was a bit green... a little more chlorine might have fixed that. Our room was clean and our housekeeper was great. We left her lots of treasures throughout our trip and I am sure that helped. Friends in another room had an ant issue and a fight with their housekeeper, but we were fine! I would definitely stay there again. There were many renovations going on while we were there, but they were very discreet and over the course of our week, the place was looking very fresh. The pool chairs seemed new and the grounds were spotless. I think it would be hard to beat to for the price! I highly recommend the Havana Tour that includes the stunning Tropicana Show. The Dolphin excursion is just sad - those poor things are captive in a concrete square in the middle of the ocean. Boo.

Room Block:
Near the Quite Pool (awesome location)

Arrival:
We arrived and were transported to our hotel smoothly... late a night, but ok.

Rooms:
Clean, large, two double beds - just what we wanted.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beaches and pools

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Place"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alejandro  on Aug 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
241 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Hotel on July/2012;I checked In late without any trouble,I complained about the Air Conditioning not cooling enogh:right away I was offered other room if after one hour I was not satisfied whit it.(at the end the A.C. was fine.)The food in the Buffet is O.K.,the Restaurants(50 % of them are closed because low occupancy)are O.K. too,but you have to realze that going to Cuba always something is missing. The service from all employees in the whole Hotel is Five Stars.The beach, Varadero Beach has won the title "The Best Beach in the World",and is well deserved,white and clean sand,clear water,the beach never crowded.Finally as a Cuban Born it is a shame the infamous popularity the cuban residing in The U.S.A.and other foreign countries have won for not leave the Tip after services are rendered,otherwise delivering a lot of complains about everything,like if we were Kings where we live;please everywhere the Tip goes by some % of what you expended,it wont hurt your pocket leaving at least one C.U.C.Any way they will bring you the best service they can without asking nothing,but gratefull if you do.My best wishes for all friendly employees at "Aguas Azules".

Room Number:
2407

Arrival:
07/12/2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An old review but hopefully helpful!"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Martin  on Jan 23, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
302 people found this review helpful

The hotel itself was average...as were the rooms. It's basic but clean. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate with us and we ended spending a good amount of time in the room...Thankfully they DID have HBO and CBC from Edmonton!! This resort doesn't have much to do if you're not at the beach or the pool...bring books, cards, or something else to entertain yourself with in case it rains! That said, the beach was outstanding (best I've seen in Cuba) and the pools were clean. The evening shows were quite good though and the dancers were outstanding! The food was average for Cuba...lots of local fare and pizza and pasta. There are a couple of snack bars open throughout the day too for sandwiches, burgers, or omlettes. As this was our only experience with this hotel, we're not sure if the following comments are the norm or the exception!! A LOT of young people (mostly from Quebec, not a big deal as I was born in Quebec) who were very loud, obnoxious, and rude (very big deal!!). Limited drinks: mojitos (they didn't seem to have much mint available - maybe 1/4 of the time), margarita (not like they are here!!), pina colada (not at all bars and the ones that did were weird!!), no fresh juice...tasted like Tang. But...they never seemed to run out of beer (if that's your thing!). Tipping seems to be a hot topic in Cuba...here's my two-cents: The drinks are included...but tip a peso every couple of drinks. You'd likely be doing it here...so what's the difference? As for our maid, Magdalena...she was fantastic! We left her "stuff" as opposed to money. She loved the bottle of perfume and guys sports stuff. If you don't want to leave "stuff", tip them a peso at least! They work hard for you...and if you need something...ask them...if something isn't right...tell them! Our experience was that all the staff wanted to make your stay as nice as possible! Good value for the money...but too bad it rained ;( We'll splurge on our next visit though to avoid the young partiers!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great family time. the beach way better than punta cana"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  MAGS  on Dec 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
314 people found this review helpful

We all liked this resort, beach and pools all where great. food was ok nothing special burgers at the beach bar and pool where very good. my girls 13 and 14 had fun walking around by themselves. As parents we felt it was a lot safer then in when in punta cana. Cuban people are sometimes said to be snoby, i totally disagree. they are polite and respectful. They do not beg or make you feel uncomfortable. Shopping in the markets was fun no one pulling you into their stalls and bugging you to buy something.

Arrival:
ONLY DISAPOINTMENT WE HAD ASK FOR ROOMS BESIDE EACH OTHER, DID NOT HAPPEN. WHAT PISSED ME OFF THE MOST, WAS THERE WAS A ROOM RIGHT ACROSS FROM OURS THAT WAS EMPTY. THEY LIED AND SAID IT WAS NOT. THE NEXT DAY WE MET A GREAT FAMILY, THE PARENTS HAD THAT ROOM AND ALL OF THE KIDS WHERE DOWN THE HALL. WE HAD ARRIVED AT 10AM THEY ARRIVED AT 10PM. THERE WAS NO REASON WHY THE FRONT DESK COULDNT HAVE GIVEN US THE ROOM CLOSEST TO OUR ROOM

Rooms:
CLEAN, BIG, NICE BATHROOMS. WE HAD A HUGE BALCONY TO HANG OUT ON AND READ, PLAY CARDS OR PEOPLE WATCH.

Restaurants and Bars:
THE FOOD WAS THE SAME MOST DAYS, WE ALL FOUND SOMETHING TO EAT AND NEVER WENT HUNGRY. POOL SIDE BAR HAD GOOD CHIPS AND BUGERS AS MENTION BEFORE. GRIILED CHEESE WAS NEVER THE SAME TWICE BUT ALWAYS GOOD MY KIDS SAID.
BAR TENDERS WHERE ALL FRIENDLY AND MADE WHAT YOU ASKED FOR ALSO ENJOYED TRYING THE DRINKS THEY MIXED UP FOR ME. HUSBAND STUCK TO CRYSTAL BEER AND WAS QUITE HAPPY. THE GIRLS LOVED THEIR BLUE LAGOONS AND OTHER VIRGIN DRINKS ( I THINK ALCOHAL FREE)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
GREAT, CLEAN LOTS OF BEACH CHAIRS. BAR CLOSE BY ALL THE POOLS OR ON THE BEACH. EMPLOYESS DRAGGED THE CHAIRS TO THE SPOT ON THE BEACH THAT WE WANTED. LOTS OF SPOTS TO CHOOSE FROM. IN PUNTA CANA IF YOU DIDN'T SAVE YOUR SPOT THE NIGHT BEFORE IT WAS HARD TO GET A GOOD SPOT. SAME AS BY THE POOL LOTS OF CHAIRS TO LIE DOWN AND RELAXE, SHADE FOR THOSE WHO DONT WANT THE SUN.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
GREAT FOR THE ACTIVE VACATIONERS, OUR YOUNGEST PLAYED BEACH VOLLEYBALL EVERY DAY AND MET SOME OTHER TEENS BY JOINING IN AT THE POOL SIDE GAMES. NIGHT SHOWS STARTED LATE, THEY WHERE FUNNY AND THE STAFF DID A GREAT JOB.

Other Comments:
BRING TRAVEL MUGS ONE FOR HOT DRINKS AND ONE FOR COLD. RINSE WELL BEFORE BED AS SWEET DRINKS ATTRACTS ANTS FAST INTO YOUR ROOM. THE CUBANS LOVE GIFTS AS WELL ALL DO. WHEN EXCHANGING MONEY ASK FOR SMALL CHANGE FOR TIPS. OTHER THAN THAT IT IS A GREAT PLACE TO RELAX AND HAVE A FEW DRINKS.
IF YOU EXPECT A FANCY RESORT WITH EXCELLENT FOOD YOU BETTER GO TO EUROPE. THIS IS A POOR COUNTRY AND THE PEOPLE WORK HARD TO PLEASE US. WE WENT HERE FOR A INEXPENSIVE FAMILY TRIP AND GOT WAY MORE THEN WE PAID FOR.


Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent vacation - met expectations!"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melody  on May 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
344 people found this review helpful

I spent the end of March at Aguas Azules with my children (8&11) and met up with a friend and her children (13&16). It was a direct flight with Sunwing vacations and it went smoothly. This is my first all inclusive vacation and it filled the bill exactly as I had hoped. Lots of sun and rum and activities. Nobody went hungry and our rooms were fantastic for sleeping and bathing. We both had pool views which was nice for the age of my children. I felt safe and would let my children explore a little on their own around the hotel grounds.

Your Arrival:
Arrival was the worst part of the trip. It was almost midnight before we got to the hotel and there was only one clerk and one bell boy working the desk. A flight had come in about an hour before our bus load and wasn't quite through the check in process and some of them were getting a bit testy. We were just getting through the check in process around 1 am and another bus was pulling in. I was a bit disappointed to discover that people that had been upgraded to the resort at the last minute were getting bungalows and our parties had always been book for this resort and didn't even have rooms in the same building. With a little bit of discussion my friend was able to get two rooms in the same building on different floors. It worked for us because originally the clerk wanted us to move rooms in the morning - it already was morning!!!

Rooms:
Spacious and clean. I had a hard time turning down the air conditioner and needed an extra blanket. Lots of towels and towel art. Plenty of water pressure and hot water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent coffee at the bar in the morning. Pedro made the best mojitos at the pool bar! No slushie type drinks but I wasn't looking for them! Always found something to eat at the buffet. Did burgers at the beach one day and two of the six in our party were sick to their stomachs and I know mine was a little off that evening too so we stayed away from the burgers. Did not enjoy the Cuban a la carte but did like the seafood a la carte. Kids usually got the pasta at lunch and I usually grabbed eggs at breakfast. Never went hungry but never went for seconds.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was fantastic! Always could get chairs and shelter and the bar/grill right there was great. Pool was great too! Sometimes had to work at getting chairs around the pool but always managed. The water features were being cleaned and painted and we always had to make some comment about them on our way too and from the beach. There was a tree that had a few cats under it all the time that we wouldn't let the children touch or feed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did one excursion and loved it. Snorkled in the reef with lunch at the beach and swam with the dolphins. It was an excellent day. Would possibly do the just snorkelling excursion if I went again. The excursion was well planned and the staff was very professional. Would like to do Havana but didn't feel like two hours on the bus each way this time around to hear my children complain that they would rather be at the beach or pool.

Other Comments:
I knew it was a great vacation when on my second morning my 11 year old said "Mom, this is the best vacation ever!" The hotel met my expectations and I would have spent more money staying at home for a week with little day trips. I will be going back next April...I may try a different resort just to see what else is offered but would have no problem going back here! I did leave tips and small gifts in the room and with the staff. I did bring a bottle of ketchup, peanut butter and granola bars. We didn't use the ketchup but the peanut butter was popular a couple of mornings and the granola bars we gone by day six.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasant stay for a 3 star hotel"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kae  on May 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
359 people found this review helpful

We got what we expected for the price we paid. We went with open minds, this was not a 5 star hotel so don't expect it to be.

We had good time, weather was fantastic.

We plan on going back again next year. Hoping to try one of the bungalows next time.

If you are friendly to the staff and locals...they will be the same to you.

Your Arrival:
We arrived late at night. Front desk staff were efficient. Got group put through quickly. If you wanted somebody was there to take your bags to your room (for small tip and he remembered you rest of the trip and always spoke to you). Was nice to have 24 hour bar there to catch a drink . It was far enought away from the rooms that it was not distrubing to people.

Rooms:
Room was clean. They seem to be renovating slowly. Only some have balconies, would have been nice to have one. Everyday there was some figure/character (basket, elephant, swan) left on your bed or fresh flowers from the many gardens. No fridge. Bottled water left. Towels somedays looked like they had seen better days but were clean.

I left tip on day one, mid-week and final day. Also left some small items (tooth brush & paste, nail polish, body lotions throughout the week). Left all toiletries at end of trip.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was ok. Could always find something to eat. But like most buffets, had a tendancy to be bland. They need to add a table full of different spices so you can season to taste. We ate at all four al a carte restaurants - Seafood one was not good, Italian was ok - good portion, entertainment was good. Cuban restuarant was excellent meal. The BBQ was the best. They (resort) should really try to expand their buffet to the BBQ area - open air eating, light lunchs. The hamburgs at the Trindad bar and beach bar were tasty.

Bring an insulated mug/cup.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was one of the best on the strip. Clean, lots of loungers. Pools were clean, warm enough but refreshing. Again lots of loungers around.

Somebody fell in hot tub (younger guess that had a bit too much to drink)and split their head....drained and closed for rest of our stay. But it really was more of a lukewarm tub than a hot tub.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Took bus into town a couple of times. $10 peso and you had full day pass. Buses were frequent. They could be crowded if you were travelling at peak time. The flea markets were clean, vendors changed daily. Prices were good but you could always haggle down a few pesos. Vendors were friendly and not rude of pushy - would greet you but waited for you to approach them.

The activities on the resort were well run. Always something going on at Trinidad bar area later in afternoon (Salsa lessons, games). Staff were fun and inviting.

There was always an evening show or performance. Did not attend any however could hear it from my room.

Other Comments:
Bank on site to exchange money. Fair exchange rate. Not well advertised but you can use a credit card to get money if you take your passport for ID. Don't buy too much because rate to sell it back was very low.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube