Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)  

Carretera Las Morlas Km 14, Varadero, CUBA
(Varadero Maps)

"very good"
Posted by: gracielabagnasco on May 14, 2016
see all reviews

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Reviews
Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Pictures and Information
Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Varadero Cuba

#30
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.7

Based on 18 reviews

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Information


Beach-front All-Inclusive resort in Varadero, Hotel Aguas Azules is situated on the best virgin beach in Varadero and idyllically located in a natural and ecological setting, 14 km away from town centre and only 40 km from the international airport in Varadero.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Reviews

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 3.7 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  4
Average
  3
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (11)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 18

"greetings and thanks"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sra. MORELLA RIVERA SANCHEZ  on Jan 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Venezuela
Visited on: Jan, 1998
747 people found this review helpful

I must say that off all the hotels I have stayed at this has been the best, and more than anything of the work of Mr. Juan Fleitas who I have fond memories of. Please pass on a warm greeting to Juan. He is what makes a hotel great. Morella.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"review of any years ago"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  DieterThiel  on Sep 30, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Sep, 2005
1626 people found this review helpful

Dear Friends,Buenos Dias Amigos! Any Years ago we stay in Club Amigo Varadero Hotel. It was by the big Hurricane. And now we come back on Oktober the 30th 2005 by LTU. At this time we had the Room with the Balcony and the view to the Bar at Swimming Pool,I think it was in the second Floor. Hooping that we can get it back at this Time. See you at Oktober,we are happy to can come back. Many Greetings from Berlin Germany. Hasta la Vista.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great the cuban people"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rami Ron  on Aug 28, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2007
1903 people found this review helpful

The service I received was better than what I expected, cuban people is quite friendly specially the chefs from the restaurants, friendly and quite helpful, at the karaoke the atmosphere was nice and at the beach they were quite professional. I hope to come back and not only for three days, I think to be at least seven days, thanks Club Amigo Varadero and greatings and love to my brothers from the cuban people.
Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"PREGUNTA"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Anaiza Kajale  on Aug 30, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Venezuela
Visited on: Aug, 2008
276 people found this review helpful

Ante todo reciban un cordial saludo de mi parte, el escrito es para solicitar si esta en sus manos dar informacion sobre un grupo de turistas venezolanos convenio VENETUR y el gobierno venezolano TURISMO SOCIAL que estan desde el miercoles 13 de agosto del presente año y que no han podido regresar por motivo del mal de eleva. y que porfavor le digan que estamos todos bien aqui. Sus nombres son: Petra Urrutia C.I. 6.005.411, Bertha Martínez C.I. 2.588.920, Maria de la Cruz Soto. le agradecere su ayuda ya que estoy preocupada. mi correo es anaiza1@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"AGRADECIMIENTO A UNA DE SUS EMPLEADAS"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rodrigo Grisales Rivera  on Sep 8, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: Sep, 2008
297 people found this review helpful

Buen día, este es un mensaje para Elvia Perez Berian. De Rodrigo Grisales Rivera y Fanny Domínguez de Cali, Colombia. Recibimos por primera vez su carta de agradecimiento y sus postales. Mil gracias. Nos tiene enormemente preocupados el paso del huracan Ika y estamos rogando al altisimo la libre de todo mal y peligro, rogamos que su mamá y familiares también se mejoren. Nos ha dado mucha alegría volver a saber de usted. Siempre amigos, Rodrigo y Fanny. **Favor confirmar el recibo de este mensaje por parte de la señora Elvia a la dirección karolita2205@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mrs"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Esperanca  on Feb 19, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) ANGOLA
Visited on: Feb, 2009
763 people found this review helpful

My daughter and me, we had a such fantastic holiday in hotel, everything was great. Well done Club amigo varadero Regard Esperanca Baptista

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Endroit formidable"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jean Ducharme  on Sep 22, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Sep, 2009
459 people found this review helpful

Mon épouse et moi avons été très agréablement surpris de ce magnifique hôtel qui est réellement un 4 étoiles. Le site est beau, bien aménagé, propre et le personnel très gentil et affable. Nous avons logé dans un appartement style bungalow propre, climatisé et bien meublé avec une belle grande chambre à coucher avec TV, un salon, une salle de bain complète, un coffret de sureté (payant) et un petit refrégérateur. La piscine, les restaurants, les bars sont à proximités et la plage à moins de 5 minutes de marche. La plage est belle avec du sable blanc très fin, une eau de mer cristaline et de confortables chaises longues avec des parasols fixes en toit de chaume. Les repas buffets offrent une nourriture variée et excellente ainsi que du bon vin. Nous n'hésitons pas à recommander cet hôtel à tous ceux qui veulent passer de belles vacances dans un site enchanteur.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great family time. the beach way better than punta cana"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  MAGS  on Dec 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
558 people found this review helpful

We all liked this resort, beach and pools all where great. food was ok nothing special burgers at the beach bar and pool where very good. my girls 13 and 14 had fun walking around by themselves. As parents we felt it was a lot safer then in when in punta cana. Cuban people are sometimes said to be snoby, i totally disagree. they are polite and respectful. They do not beg or make you feel uncomfortable. Shopping in the markets was fun no one pulling you into their stalls and bugging you to buy something.

Arrival:
ONLY DISAPOINTMENT WE HAD ASK FOR ROOMS BESIDE EACH OTHER, DID NOT HAPPEN. WHAT PISSED ME OFF THE MOST, WAS THERE WAS A ROOM RIGHT ACROSS FROM OURS THAT WAS EMPTY. THEY LIED AND SAID IT WAS NOT. THE NEXT DAY WE MET A GREAT FAMILY, THE PARENTS HAD THAT ROOM AND ALL OF THE KIDS WHERE DOWN THE HALL. WE HAD ARRIVED AT 10AM THEY ARRIVED AT 10PM. THERE WAS NO REASON WHY THE FRONT DESK COULDNT HAVE GIVEN US THE ROOM CLOSEST TO OUR ROOM

Rooms:
CLEAN, BIG, NICE BATHROOMS. WE HAD A HUGE BALCONY TO HANG OUT ON AND READ, PLAY CARDS OR PEOPLE WATCH.

Restaurants and Bars:
THE FOOD WAS THE SAME MOST DAYS, WE ALL FOUND SOMETHING TO EAT AND NEVER WENT HUNGRY. POOL SIDE BAR HAD GOOD CHIPS AND BUGERS AS MENTION BEFORE. GRIILED CHEESE WAS NEVER THE SAME TWICE BUT ALWAYS GOOD MY KIDS SAID.
BAR TENDERS WHERE ALL FRIENDLY AND MADE WHAT YOU ASKED FOR ALSO ENJOYED TRYING THE DRINKS THEY MIXED UP FOR ME. HUSBAND STUCK TO CRYSTAL BEER AND WAS QUITE HAPPY. THE GIRLS LOVED THEIR BLUE LAGOONS AND OTHER VIRGIN DRINKS ( I THINK ALCOHAL FREE)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
GREAT, CLEAN LOTS OF BEACH CHAIRS. BAR CLOSE BY ALL THE POOLS OR ON THE BEACH. EMPLOYESS DRAGGED THE CHAIRS TO THE SPOT ON THE BEACH THAT WE WANTED. LOTS OF SPOTS TO CHOOSE FROM. IN PUNTA CANA IF YOU DIDN'T SAVE YOUR SPOT THE NIGHT BEFORE IT WAS HARD TO GET A GOOD SPOT. SAME AS BY THE POOL LOTS OF CHAIRS TO LIE DOWN AND RELAXE, SHADE FOR THOSE WHO DONT WANT THE SUN.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
GREAT FOR THE ACTIVE VACATIONERS, OUR YOUNGEST PLAYED BEACH VOLLEYBALL EVERY DAY AND MET SOME OTHER TEENS BY JOINING IN AT THE POOL SIDE GAMES. NIGHT SHOWS STARTED LATE, THEY WHERE FUNNY AND THE STAFF DID A GREAT JOB.

Other Comments:
BRING TRAVEL MUGS ONE FOR HOT DRINKS AND ONE FOR COLD. RINSE WELL BEFORE BED AS SWEET DRINKS ATTRACTS ANTS FAST INTO YOUR ROOM. THE CUBANS LOVE GIFTS AS WELL ALL DO. WHEN EXCHANGING MONEY ASK FOR SMALL CHANGE FOR TIPS. OTHER THAN THAT IT IS A GREAT PLACE TO RELAX AND HAVE A FEW DRINKS.
IF YOU EXPECT A FANCY RESORT WITH EXCELLENT FOOD YOU BETTER GO TO EUROPE. THIS IS A POOR COUNTRY AND THE PEOPLE WORK HARD TO PLEASE US. WE WENT HERE FOR A INEXPENSIVE FAMILY TRIP AND GOT WAY MORE THEN WE PAID FOR.


Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent vacation - met expectations!"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Melody  on May 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
532 people found this review helpful

I spent the end of March at Aguas Azules with my children (8&11) and met up with a friend and her children (13&16). It was a direct flight with Sunwing vacations and it went smoothly. This is my first all inclusive vacation and it filled the bill exactly as I had hoped. Lots of sun and rum and activities. Nobody went hungry and our rooms were fantastic for sleeping and bathing. We both had pool views which was nice for the age of my children. I felt safe and would let my children explore a little on their own around the hotel grounds.

Your Arrival:
Arrival was the worst part of the trip. It was almost midnight before we got to the hotel and there was only one clerk and one bell boy working the desk. A flight had come in about an hour before our bus load and wasn't quite through the check in process and some of them were getting a bit testy. We were just getting through the check in process around 1 am and another bus was pulling in. I was a bit disappointed to discover that people that had been upgraded to the resort at the last minute were getting bungalows and our parties had always been book for this resort and didn't even have rooms in the same building. With a little bit of discussion my friend was able to get two rooms in the same building on different floors. It worked for us because originally the clerk wanted us to move rooms in the morning - it already was morning!!!

Rooms:
Spacious and clean. I had a hard time turning down the air conditioner and needed an extra blanket. Lots of towels and towel art. Plenty of water pressure and hot water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent coffee at the bar in the morning. Pedro made the best mojitos at the pool bar! No slushie type drinks but I wasn't looking for them! Always found something to eat at the buffet. Did burgers at the beach one day and two of the six in our party were sick to their stomachs and I know mine was a little off that evening too so we stayed away from the burgers. Did not enjoy the Cuban a la carte but did like the seafood a la carte. Kids usually got the pasta at lunch and I usually grabbed eggs at breakfast. Never went hungry but never went for seconds.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was fantastic! Always could get chairs and shelter and the bar/grill right there was great. Pool was great too! Sometimes had to work at getting chairs around the pool but always managed. The water features were being cleaned and painted and we always had to make some comment about them on our way too and from the beach. There was a tree that had a few cats under it all the time that we wouldn't let the children touch or feed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did one excursion and loved it. Snorkled in the reef with lunch at the beach and swam with the dolphins. It was an excellent day. Would possibly do the just snorkelling excursion if I went again. The excursion was well planned and the staff was very professional. Would like to do Havana but didn't feel like two hours on the bus each way this time around to hear my children complain that they would rather be at the beach or pool.

Other Comments:
I knew it was a great vacation when on my second morning my 11 year old said "Mom, this is the best vacation ever!" The hotel met my expectations and I would have spent more money staying at home for a week with little day trips. I will be going back next April...I may try a different resort just to see what else is offered but would have no problem going back here! I did leave tips and small gifts in the room and with the staff. I did bring a bottle of ketchup, peanut butter and granola bars. We didn't use the ketchup but the peanut butter was popular a couple of mornings and the granola bars we gone by day six.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasant stay for a 3 star hotel"

Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero)
User Rating:  Aguas Azules (Formerly Club Amigo Varadero) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kae  on May 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
482 people found this review helpful

We got what we expected for the price we paid. We went with open minds, this was not a 5 star hotel so don't expect it to be.

We had good time, weather was fantastic.

We plan on going back again next year. Hoping to try one of the bungalows next time.

If you are friendly to the staff and locals...they will be the same to you.

Your Arrival:
We arrived late at night. Front desk staff were efficient. Got group put through quickly. If you wanted somebody was there to take your bags to your room (for small tip and he remembered you rest of the trip and always spoke to you). Was nice to have 24 hour bar there to catch a drink . It was far enought away from the rooms that it was not distrubing to people.

Rooms:
Room was clean. They seem to be renovating slowly. Only some have balconies, would have been nice to have one. Everyday there was some figure/character (basket, elephant, swan) left on your bed or fresh flowers from the many gardens. No fridge. Bottled water left. Towels somedays looked like they had seen better days but were clean.

I left tip on day one, mid-week and final day. Also left some small items (tooth brush & paste, nail polish, body lotions throughout the week). Left all toiletries at end of trip.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was ok. Could always find something to eat. But like most buffets, had a tendancy to be bland. They need to add a table full of different spices so you can season to taste. We ate at all four al a carte restaurants - Seafood one was not good, Italian was ok - good portion, entertainment was good. Cuban restuarant was excellent meal. The BBQ was the best. They (resort) should really try to expand their buffet to the BBQ area - open air eating, light lunchs. The hamburgs at the Trindad bar and beach bar were tasty.

Bring an insulated mug/cup.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was one of the best on the strip. Clean, lots of loungers. Pools were clean, warm enough but refreshing. Again lots of loungers around.

Somebody fell in hot tub (younger guess that had a bit too much to drink)and split their head....drained and closed for rest of our stay. But it really was more of a lukewarm tub than a hot tub.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Took bus into town a couple of times. $10 peso and you had full day pass. Buses were frequent. They could be crowded if you were travelling at peak time. The flea markets were clean, vendors changed daily. Prices were good but you could always haggle down a few pesos. Vendors were friendly and not rude of pushy - would greet you but waited for you to approach them.

The activities on the resort were well run. Always something going on at Trinidad bar area later in afternoon (Salsa lessons, games). Staff were fun and inviting.

There was always an evening show or performance. Did not attend any however could hear it from my room.

Other Comments:
Bank on site to exchange money. Fair exchange rate. Not well advertised but you can use a credit card to get money if you take your passport for ID. Don't buy too much because rate to sell it back was very low.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube