Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Mercure Club Playa de Oro reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 44 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 35 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 30, 2015

Mercure Club Playa de Oro  

Carretera Las Morlas, Km 12.5, Varadero. Matanzas. Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"Infested with locals harassing tourists"
Posted by: pDs on Jul 19, 2015
see all reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews
Mercure Club Playa de Oro Pictures and Information
Mercure Club Playa de Oro Varadero Cuba

#11
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.8

Based on 40 reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Information


Luxury class hotel Club Coralia located in Varadero famous resort just on the beach with 2 buildings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.8 of 5 40 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  9
Poor
  1
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (21)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
1 - 10 of 40

"Infested with locals harassing tourists"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  pDs  on Jul 19, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2015 | Leisure | With friend
7 people found this review helpful

i have been to this resort in 2014 and had an amazing time. Went back this year and had the worst vacation. Was full of locals that followed you and even was almost attacked by one in the ocean.
Went into town to local bars and they are taking advantage of tourists charging 10$ entrance fee!
Will never return again!

Arrival:
July 6,2015 to July 13,2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the top 2 best trips of my life"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Monica  on Apr 20, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2015 | Leisure | With friend
42 people found this review helpful

This resort was amazing the staff was so friendly they became like family, even the people visiting were friendly. I had so much fun that I'm going back in May for more.

Arrival:
Great

Rooms:
Pretty good

Restaurants and Bars:
Good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great fun

Other Comments:
I love all the people there, thank you to all the staff for being amazing, love and miss you all!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"wonderful is the word"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  dotman  on Jul 23, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
78 people found this review helpful

This resort has lots of ambience and it is fun filled and I had major fun while at this hotel. The place is also family friendly as I saw lots of people come with their families and they were all having a nice time. The hotel is surrounded by tropical garden and a long stretch of beautiful white sand pristine beach that makes the beauty go to a whole new level. In case you are wondering, it is an all inclusive hotel and I witnessed firsthand the variety of facilities they offer including restaurants and bars. The sport activities available were all fun and I took part in most of them. They have a kids section in the pool and it was lovely to see that kids were having as much fun as the adults and it made me think to bring my own kids here when next I visit because there will definitely be a next time considering how much I enjoyed myself here. They organized interesting and fun evening shows to keep you from being bored and it was all great. The hotel is located right on Varadero beach and for those people like me who love the beach more than anything; it is the perfect holiday spot. There is a nearby 18 hole golf course where golf lovers can tee up and have an amazing time. The rooms are spacious and clean and everything was standard and worked. With a beachfront location and nice staff, the holiday was a blast for me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Trip to Cuba Playa De oro"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  dave  on Apr 5, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Business | Family and Kids
113 people found this review helpful

I'll start by saying this is not a 4 star Hotel, 3 at best, however the rooms were nice and cleaned well, maid service was wonderful the beach was great but that is where it ends, the bar service was the worst I've seen in all my travels you could tip or not tip didn't matter I seen me wait in line all by myself and not be served for 10 to 15 mins. The pool bar and beach bar closes at 5pm leaving only one bar in the lobby for the night and then try and get a drink..not happining anytime soon....everyone was getting 4 to 5 drinks at a time because of this. and the food at the buffet never changed the entire 2 weeks i was there not even once, same thing every day and not very good beside that and I usually can eat anything.

Arrival:
good

Rooms:
Excellent

Restaurants and Bars:
Horrible

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Veradero Beautiful Beach"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carol  on Apr 4, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
113 people found this review helpful

Veradero is a beautiful beach and you can walk for miles.

Room Number:
2316

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
Arrived at the resort around 12:30 and had to wait 2 hours for my room. The resort was not full so not sure why I had to wait.

Rooms:
Room was on the 4th floor with not much of a view, could see alittle of the pool. It was very quiet. The room was clean and had some upgraded features. The only complaint would be the pillow.............or what they put there as pillow.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lobby Bar - had good entertainment in the evening. I am not much of a drinker but would like a glass of wine which they ran out of every evening (or were too lazy to get from the buffet). Staff was friendly but sometime did not put the customer first.

Pool Bar - did not offer much of a selection of drinks and no drinks with fresh fruit nor did they have any wine. They also ran out of beer.

Buffet - food selection was terrible and tasted the same for breakfast and dinner. Did not go for lunch.

Beach restaurant - food was the best at lunch, at least you could get cooked chicken.

A la Carte restaurant were okay...........just okay but better than the buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach - was amazing...............beautiful and could walk for miles if you wanted. Swimming was awesome.

Pool - was the best I have seen at any resort. It was great for kids, seniors, handicapped and had a sections for the young adults.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were terrible.... The staff was not visible or did they follow any schedule. Hit or miss if an activity would be held.

Other Comments:
This resort could be amazing if they put some time and effort into fixing up the problems.

Food - needs to be improved.

Bars - need to be improved and upgraded.

Animation Staff - needs to be visible and timely.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We spent 7 days in Mercure Playa De Oro"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Zee  on Nov 28, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
64 people found this review helpful

We decided to go to Varadero and spend 7 days on the beach so for us it was not big importance of the hotel as we love the beach but anyway it is nice to have good hotel with good food specially when you travel with kids! This hotel did not disappoint us but it is not 4 star hotel it is more like 3 star hotel and there is many things that we liked about hotel and some that we did not like! So lets review this hotel.

Arrival:
Arrival was smooth and we did not have any issues!

Rooms:
Rooms were clean but kinda old and outdated! Washroom really need update as well as bathtub that is very old and not appealing at all. Rooms are noisy and you can hear sounds from people walking in the hallway and this is the biggest part that we did not like in this hotel! For example at night at 2 am people would walk drunk and be loud and wake us up while we sleep .. in the early morning people that wake up early would walk by room and talk and we could hear everything in our room so we had problem to sleep!

Restaurants and Bars:
When in the restaurant was inspector to check on the hotel everything was so perfect and immaculate otherwise cooks that make pasta or BBQ are so slow and we had feeling that they do it on the purpose and that they do not care about huge line-up!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is why we came many times to Varadero and in front of Mercure Playa De Oro beach is perfect! We don't hang out on the pool too much but Mercure Playa De Oro has very nice pool!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Night entertainment was nice I even participated during magic show and it was so much fun! Entertainment folks speak many languages English, Itaian, German, Russian of course Spanish and sometimes can be bit boring that they have to translate for everyone in the hotel but show time at night was fun!

Other Comments:
Would I come to Mercure Playa De Oro again! Probably yes but with hope that I will be able to sleep normally at night.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"28/ 01/ 2014"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  jean  on Aug 23, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
186 people found this review helpful

Send me your rate all include for 2 weak (14 days)

Room Number:
1

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
28/ 01/ 2014

Rooms:
1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Won't be back !"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cynthia  on Feb 2, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
214 people found this review helpful

Just returned from Playa D'Oro and we were really disappointed. Our room was very dated and old with old, faded bedspread, queen-size sheets on a king-size bed and big rusty chips in the bathtub.There were 2 english channels on TV but didn't mind that.The food was the worst of any resort we've stayed at (although they made delicious bread and the ice cream was a hit). The buffet entailed very long line-ups so that food was cold by the time you went back to your table. Coffee cups and glasses were in such a limited supply that getting a tea or coffee took resourcefulness on our behalf. Both my husband and I ended up with a mild gastro on 5th day that lasted 3-5 days.The entertainment at night, the house band and the dancing lessons were 'things the resort did very well'.The beach was lovely but beach chairs at a premium- people were getting up early to reserve with a towel.We made an international call to home and were overcharged despite having timed the call ourselves.(2 CUC/Min) The 2nd time we called home,we commented to the staff that we had been overcharged by 6 minutes and miraculously, we were charged correctly. Overall, this is not a 4-star resort but closer to a 3 star. It is in desperate need of renovation and better food. The staff were friendly especially if you tipped them so that they would recognize you next time. Otherwise, service was very sluggish.

Room Number:
2022

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great trip and great bargain!"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  mattycam  on Oct 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
250 people found this review helpful

My family who consists of myself,spouse and 9 year old child stayed at this resort from Sept 6-13/12. We stayed in one of the renovated rooms and we were very impressed. Prior to staying at this resort, I read a lot of mixed reviews so was not sure what to expect. The rooms are very clean, we did not see any bugs or mold. We had an air conditioned room and there were about 20-25 channels on TV (granted most were spanish). The hotel staff are great and worked hard to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one.

Due to the time of year that we chose to vacation, there was not much for kids to do in terms of a kids club but my 9 year old still had a blast! He went to the pool and beach which was great because the weather is so hot. We found the resort to be quiet in Early September as well it is on the outskirts of Veradero and not downtown so if you are looking to relax and just "veg out", that is the best time to go.

We found the food to be good. I know many people are not satisfied with the food but we went prepared knowing that we are in a 3rd world country where their resources are limited. This resort had 1 buffet and 2 a la carte restaurant. We ate at all 3 and were able to find food that we liked as well as try new things. Our son is a picky eater and he was full everyday because there is something for everyone. The food ranged from international to cuban. They also had stations where the food was prepared in front of you. Yohandri was one of our waiters at the a la carte restaurant and he was fantastic and really took pride in his work.

A trip to Cuba is what you make it. This is my 2nd time travelling to Cuba and the 1st resort I stayed at made this one look like The Marriott. This was the 1st trip for my son and spouse and they loved it. For all 3 of us the trip worked out to be $492 each (kids stay and eat free so we just paid the airfare for our son) so we really can't complain. If you have high standards in terms of comfort and food then I would recommend a more lavish trip; Cuba is not the place for you.

Room Number:
1328

Room Block:
4th floor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I had a great vacation"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lilly  on Mar 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
276 people found this review helpful

Simply loved everything, from entertainment, food, people..AWESOME BEACH, Great weather

Rooms:
OK

Restaurants and Bars:
Great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Wonderful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Aqua gym and night live music were my favorites

Other Comments:
I hope to vsiit again

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube