Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Mercure Club Playa de Oro reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Mercure Club Playa de Oro  

Carretera Las Morlas, Km 12.5, Varadero. Matanzas. Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"wonderful is the word"
Posted by: dotman on Jul 23, 2014
see all reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews
Mercure Club Playa de Oro Pictures and Information
Mercure Club Playa de Oro Varadero Cuba

#11
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.8

Based on 38 reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Information


Luxury class hotel Club Coralia located in Varadero famous resort just on the beach with 2 buildings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.8 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  13
Average
  8
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (18)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
1 - 10 of 38

"wonderful is the word"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  dotman  on Jul 23, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
15 people found this review helpful

This resort has lots of ambience and it is fun filled and I had major fun while at this hotel. The place is also family friendly as I saw lots of people come with their families and they were all having a nice time. The hotel is surrounded by tropical garden and a long stretch of beautiful white sand pristine beach that makes the beauty go to a whole new level. In case you are wondering, it is an all inclusive hotel and I witnessed firsthand the variety of facilities they offer including restaurants and bars. The sport activities available were all fun and I took part in most of them. They have a kids section in the pool and it was lovely to see that kids were having as much fun as the adults and it made me think to bring my own kids here when next I visit because there will definitely be a next time considering how much I enjoyed myself here. They organized interesting and fun evening shows to keep you from being bored and it was all great. The hotel is located right on Varadero beach and for those people like me who love the beach more than anything; it is the perfect holiday spot. There is a nearby 18 hole golf course where golf lovers can tee up and have an amazing time. The rooms are spacious and clean and everything was standard and worked. With a beachfront location and nice staff, the holiday was a blast for me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Trip to Cuba Playa De oro"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  dave  on Apr 5, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Business | Family and Kids
40 people found this review helpful

I'll start by saying this is not a 4 star Hotel, 3 at best, however the rooms were nice and cleaned well, maid service was wonderful the beach was great but that is where it ends, the bar service was the worst I've seen in all my travels you could tip or not tip didn't matter I seen me wait in line all by myself and not be served for 10 to 15 mins. The pool bar and beach bar closes at 5pm leaving only one bar in the lobby for the night and then try and get a drink..not happining anytime soon....everyone was getting 4 to 5 drinks at a time because of this. and the food at the buffet never changed the entire 2 weeks i was there not even once, same thing every day and not very good beside that and I usually can eat anything.

Arrival:
good

Rooms:
Excellent

Restaurants and Bars:
Horrible

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Veradero Beautiful Beach"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carol  on Apr 4, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
40 people found this review helpful

Veradero is a beautiful beach and you can walk for miles.

Room Number:
2316

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
Arrived at the resort around 12:30 and had to wait 2 hours for my room. The resort was not full so not sure why I had to wait.

Rooms:
Room was on the 4th floor with not much of a view, could see alittle of the pool. It was very quiet. The room was clean and had some upgraded features. The only complaint would be the pillow.............or what they put there as pillow.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lobby Bar - had good entertainment in the evening. I am not much of a drinker but would like a glass of wine which they ran out of every evening (or were too lazy to get from the buffet). Staff was friendly but sometime did not put the customer first.

Pool Bar - did not offer much of a selection of drinks and no drinks with fresh fruit nor did they have any wine. They also ran out of beer.

Buffet - food selection was terrible and tasted the same for breakfast and dinner. Did not go for lunch.

Beach restaurant - food was the best at lunch, at least you could get cooked chicken.

A la Carte restaurant were okay...........just okay but better than the buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach - was amazing...............beautiful and could walk for miles if you wanted. Swimming was awesome.

Pool - was the best I have seen at any resort. It was great for kids, seniors, handicapped and had a sections for the young adults.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were terrible.... The staff was not visible or did they follow any schedule. Hit or miss if an activity would be held.

Other Comments:
This resort could be amazing if they put some time and effort into fixing up the problems.

Food - needs to be improved.

Bars - need to be improved and upgraded.

Animation Staff - needs to be visible and timely.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"28/ 01/ 2014"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  jean  on Aug 23, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
110 people found this review helpful

Send me your rate all include for 2 weak (14 days)

Room Number:
1

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
28/ 01/ 2014

Rooms:
1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Won't be back !"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cynthia  on Feb 2, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
140 people found this review helpful

Just returned from Playa D'Oro and we were really disappointed. Our room was very dated and old with old, faded bedspread, queen-size sheets on a king-size bed and big rusty chips in the bathtub.There were 2 english channels on TV but didn't mind that.The food was the worst of any resort we've stayed at (although they made delicious bread and the ice cream was a hit). The buffet entailed very long line-ups so that food was cold by the time you went back to your table. Coffee cups and glasses were in such a limited supply that getting a tea or coffee took resourcefulness on our behalf. Both my husband and I ended up with a mild gastro on 5th day that lasted 3-5 days.The entertainment at night, the house band and the dancing lessons were 'things the resort did very well'.The beach was lovely but beach chairs at a premium- people were getting up early to reserve with a towel.We made an international call to home and were overcharged despite having timed the call ourselves.(2 CUC/Min) The 2nd time we called home,we commented to the staff that we had been overcharged by 6 minutes and miraculously, we were charged correctly. Overall, this is not a 4-star resort but closer to a 3 star. It is in desperate need of renovation and better food. The staff were friendly especially if you tipped them so that they would recognize you next time. Otherwise, service was very sluggish.

Room Number:
2022

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great trip and great bargain!"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  mattycam  on Oct 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
171 people found this review helpful

My family who consists of myself,spouse and 9 year old child stayed at this resort from Sept 6-13/12. We stayed in one of the renovated rooms and we were very impressed. Prior to staying at this resort, I read a lot of mixed reviews so was not sure what to expect. The rooms are very clean, we did not see any bugs or mold. We had an air conditioned room and there were about 20-25 channels on TV (granted most were spanish). The hotel staff are great and worked hard to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one.

Due to the time of year that we chose to vacation, there was not much for kids to do in terms of a kids club but my 9 year old still had a blast! He went to the pool and beach which was great because the weather is so hot. We found the resort to be quiet in Early September as well it is on the outskirts of Veradero and not downtown so if you are looking to relax and just "veg out", that is the best time to go.

We found the food to be good. I know many people are not satisfied with the food but we went prepared knowing that we are in a 3rd world country where their resources are limited. This resort had 1 buffet and 2 a la carte restaurant. We ate at all 3 and were able to find food that we liked as well as try new things. Our son is a picky eater and he was full everyday because there is something for everyone. The food ranged from international to cuban. They also had stations where the food was prepared in front of you. Yohandri was one of our waiters at the a la carte restaurant and he was fantastic and really took pride in his work.

A trip to Cuba is what you make it. This is my 2nd time travelling to Cuba and the 1st resort I stayed at made this one look like The Marriott. This was the 1st trip for my son and spouse and they loved it. For all 3 of us the trip worked out to be $492 each (kids stay and eat free so we just paid the airfare for our son) so we really can't complain. If you have high standards in terms of comfort and food then I would recommend a more lavish trip; Cuba is not the place for you.

Room Number:
1328

Room Block:
4th floor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I had a great vacation"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lilly  on Mar 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
203 people found this review helpful

Simply loved everything, from entertainment, food, people..AWESOME BEACH, Great weather

Rooms:
OK

Restaurants and Bars:
Great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Wonderful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Aqua gym and night live music were my favorites

Other Comments:
I hope to vsiit again

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My first trip to Cuba"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Mar 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
237 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
2110

Room Block:
not sure

Arrival:
The front desk people were professional but not overly friendly or welcoming, But all others were very friendly.

I have nothing to compair it with but I really liked this resort. It was small and very easy to manover. I would definitely go here again but if I go back to Cuba I want to try different places.

Rooms:
Although the rooms were dated and tired, they were clean and comfortable. And I was only in them to shower and sleep. And I slept like a log. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but we were there early and then the room we were brought to wasn't ready and it was one bed and my friend and I did NOT want to share a bed. lol The room comes with a large bottle of rum and water. I didn't use Cuba water for drinking or brushing teeth, as some did. Just refill the water bottle in the bars or the main restaurant.

Restaurants and Bars:
I was told the food was not good in Cuba and it WASN'T but you will find things that are tolerable. I liked the omelets for breakfast and surprisingly the pasta wasn't bad. I like my bacon very well cooked so I brought some to the omelet chef and asked him to cook it more for me. We brought peanut butter(thank goodness). The beach restaurant was the best place to eat. It's open everyday for lunch and for reservation at night. I heard also it's open all night for snacks. The pool bar had hot dogs, hamburgers and ham and cheese sandwiches. With fries. Very friendly staff. Tip well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Mojitoes at the beach bar were great. All drinks and booze were plentiful. They'll pour the rum or whatever till you say stop.

The beach was beautiful! Lots of chairs and shade. But we went first thing in the morning 7/8 am before breakfast to place a towel on your chair. The guys that work at the beach are great. They see you looking for a spot and help you out. Tip well! Pool was great.

I found the beach very windy and I thought it a bit annoying till it wasn't there one day and then it was TOOOO HOT. So I enjoyed the wind. :) The ocean was amazing, like being in a wave pool. It was clean and you could walk far out it would get deep and then shallow.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I was told by Friends to bring clothes and stuff you have and don't want any more to leave for the maids. Which I did but if I go again I would do it differently. I think the maids have thee PRIME job and do quite well. We went on the jeep safari and went right into the country side where farmers live. They live in small shacks, no running water. The kids come out to wave and sweetly beg. Women holding young babies. I would bring most of my stuff there to give away. Money would be good too. ALSO went on the Habana excursion and went to a market there. There were children and one lady with 3 shoeless children begging there. I wish I'd have brought something. Stuff or money.

In the lobby they had a band play every night from 7:30 to 8:30pm. It was GREAT, they encourage people to come up and learn the moves. I only wish it was longer than an hour. At 9:30 they always had a great and different show a night in the band stand.

On the beach during the day they had games to play and taught dance moves.

Other Comments:
There were A LOT of French people from Quebec.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great stay but not a 4 star"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Mar 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
237 people found this review helpful

This was our 4th time to Cuba, second time to Varadero. We arrived from Halifax late in the evening (11pm) and were checked in right away. The front desk experience was professional, but not overly warm and welcoming.

We were surprised and a little disappointed with the condition of the room. It was very dated and in need of renovation especially the bathroom and beds. Nevertheless, the room was very clean and everything (door, safe, patio, TV, etc...) functioned properly.

The grounds and other buildings were also dated and tired. The layout of the resort is great and its fairly small which we liked. It just needs some renovations to spruce it up.

That said it didn't stop us from having a great holiday. The staff were very friendly and professional. The beach was fabulous (get there early to get a good spot). And overall, we were impressed with the food quality and selection. We didn't spend much time by the pool or the pool bar.

I can't say we would go back there again. However, if renovations were performed to the rooms, grounds, and buildings we would definitely consider going again.

Room Number:
2307

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
We flew Sunwing from Halifax to Varadero. Arrived at the hotel at 11pm. We didn't like arriving so late, we lost a day on our vacation and it was disorienting trying navigate the resort in the dark. We would opt for the early morning flight next time.

Check-in was smooth and efficient. The staff were courteous but not overly welcoming.

Rooms:
Room was in need of renovations. Everything was well used, but functional. The safe was simple and easy to use. There was a bottle or rum and water provided. It would have been great if the water was replenished each day.

The room was very clean and each day we had some kind of creative towel decoration on the bed.

Restaurants and Bars:
There was 1 buffet restaurant, and 2 a la carte restaurants. The buffet restaurant had a good selection of food and we found it to be good quality as well. Actually the food was better than expected and better than other hotels we stayed at in Cuba. They made all the bread there fresh each day.

The International restaurant was kind of pathetic. The service was great, but the choices were limited and the restaurant itself needed upgrades. The portions are small so if you're hungry plan to go to the buffet to "top-up".

The Cuban restaurant on the beach was better than the international. Again the service was excellent. It had better choices than the international restaurant.

We mainly had drinks from either the beach bar during the day and lobby bar in the evening. The mojitos at the beach bar were great!! Drinks at the lobby were good too as was the coffee. The staff at both bars were fantastic, very friendly, and entertaining.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Didn't visit the pool much.

We spent most our time at the beach which was fabulous. Plenty of chairs, but get there early if you want a sun umbrella. Keep in mind we were there at peak time in March.

The grounds were simple, but could of used some extra staff to keep it tidy. The resort layout is very compact which we like.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did a day excursion to Havana and loved it. The tour guide was very informative and entertaining. Highly recommend the Havana tour.

There was a great band that played Cuban music every evening in the lobby. The entertainment staff encouraged people to get up and dance. There were daily activities on the beach coordinated by the staff like dance lessons, volleyball, etc...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best vacation of all Caribbean holidays"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Mar 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
220 people found this review helpful

First time travelling to the Caribbean solo and what a positive experience. The resort of Playa De Oro could not have been a better choice. It is clean, beautiful grounds, wonderful pool, the beach and sunsets are breathtaking, and the staff are beyond friendly. They make the stay so very pleasant. Close to the town of Varadaro, 10 peso taxi ride to town, lots of shopping and browsing and 10 peso ride back to the resort. Money well spent. Never hasselled by vendors on the beach or in the town. Both environments are very safe for a single woman. The food is a bit bland, but bring your own condiments and jazz it up. I had no problem with the water, salads, pasta, fish and veggies. I have developed a fancy for cafe au lait and pina coladas! I am only back to Canada 3 days and already miss the island so much I have my travel agent organizing a return to the sunshine in May. It will be my very favourite vacation spot in the Caribbean hopefully every 4 months.

Room Number:
1138

Arrival:
February 28-12

Rooms:
1

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet, International Restaurant at the resort, beach restaurant, pool bar, lobby bar, beach bar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
miles of soft, white sand, lots of shady places out of the sun, beautiful 4 sectioned pool, grounds with lovely flowers, plants, palms, mowed grass, paved sidewalks,

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube