Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Mercure Club Playa de Oro reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Mercure Club Playa de Oro  

Carretera Las Morlas, Km 12.5, Varadero. Matanzas. Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"wonderful is the word"
Posted by: dotman on Jul 23, 2014
see all reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews
Mercure Club Playa de Oro Pictures and Information
Mercure Club Playa de Oro Varadero Cuba

#11
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.8

Based on 38 reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Information


Luxury class hotel Club Coralia located in Varadero famous resort just on the beach with 2 buildings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.8 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  13
Average
  8
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (18)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
1 - 10 of 38

"Disappointment"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  george  on Feb 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
192 people found this review helpful

This resort sucks i will never go back the food was the same all week
the rooms were nice bathroom door wont close staff not friendly at all
the rooms had cockroaches beach was dirty bar staff not friendly when they
say all inclusive its not

Room Number:
1009

Arrival:
slow

Rooms:
nice

Restaurants and Bars:
offal

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
none

Other Comments:
upon arrival all restaurants were closed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not Worth It...."

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Terri  on Oct 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
239 people found this review helpful

I have visited Cuba 17 times and I have never stayed in a 5* resort, because I don't feel its necessary in my opinion for me anyway.....
I always read reviews with an open mind. I realize people have different tastes and opinions but this was beyond taste or opinion. First the good things: The rooms are clean, hot water all the time, lots of towels etc.and the beach is the best!! The Shows were very good too!
Now the bad: Pool was dirty (black scum on the sides of the pool, nice pool but dirty. No swim up bar, food was ok but never changed, they watered down the wine...and they admitted it after we asked them, they run out of something at the bar and then thats it, you don't see it again for days. One day they only had gin at the pool bar...no rum or vodka. (they did find some Rum about an hour later but, come on!!!!! The bathrooms are very far away from the beach, one near the pool bar and the other at the lobby, it smells like sewage all the time. The snacks that are supposed to be 24 hour are hard to find and not very good when you do find them. Coffee is usually good in Cuba, we got a different tasting cup of coffee every day!! Most of all there were very few staff members that were friendly...and I know they are always friendly!!
I will never return to this resort. We didn't pay that much because it was Oct. but we have been to the same rate resort and it was 100 times better than this.
I don't like to write a poor review but people should know!
Terri
Ontario

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"...Terible resort"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wendell  on Aug 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
195 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon here, this resort is lacking in many ways ..
When we arrived after flying all night we were told our rooms arent ready for another 2 hours. The front desk staff dont care and generally ignore you when you approach. Our room was dirty and needed fixing, and rarely did we get a full supply of towels (even after tipping) Food was god aweful, the "buffet" was hot and smelled horrible every meal.
All drinks were made the cheapest way possible, they werent enjoyable in the least.
... Pool was nice, thats it ...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
go on a moped, escape the hotel!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not even concider this hotel!! "

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marci  on Jan 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
334 people found this review helpful

We went expecting a nice family vacation. We were disgusted to say the least. I read a few reviews before we left and thought people were just being fussy. The people that wrote the reviews were being kind. We got there expecting a nice room, as we booked a 41/2 star, which I realize now seems to change after Christmas. It is now a 3 star some places and a4 in others. I was shocked at the upkeep of the rooms .

Your Arrival:
On arrival we got there excited. We arrived at the hotel and the staff seemed indifferent and not really willing to smile. We were given our bands and keys and since we were on the second floor we took our own bags to the room. When we got in our room we were shocked!! Our kids hotel room door didn't even open all the way, and their bathroom door didn't close!! The walls were dirty and it smelt musty. The beds were hard and cheap almost child size. My husband and I didn't even have a bed together which we asked for. We asked for a different room the next day, which they did for us but it wasn't much better but at least we were all together in what they called a suite. But then we had to ask for 2 beds for our kids (they are adults) because there was only 1 king bed in the suite.

Rooms:
We had soap and towels when we arrived but not enough. And our towels were almost plastic. They seemed almost synthetic, not really sure how to explain it , but they didn't dry you at all. You were still wet afterwards. We never did get more soap after we ran out. We kept asking but it never materialized.

Restaurants and Bars:
Don't even really want to go there but the food was horrible except fot the bread and pineapple which I pretty much lived on the whole trip. There are no peanuts chips or anykind of snacks. Half the time they run out of fries at the snack bar which is the only place to get them. The so called burgers are really soft gooshy pork burgers and they only give you half a hotdog in your bun. Other than hotdog burgers and fries there is no other snacks chicken strips don,t exist there. You can't buy any of this stuff in stores either which are almost non existant. People this is a communist country and is a place you don't want to go. I feel sorry for the people there they are unhappy for a reason.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches were beautiful. Grounds also very nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Some good snorkeling and water activities, but we didn't even get lucky with the weather, it was 18 and very windy. Never go the week after Christmas either because it,s alwas cold that week they say.so we came home without a tan as well because it was so windy on the beach we couldn't go there.

Other Comments:
Trip to Havanna was good because it makes you appreciate everything you have at home. The poverty was increadible, and living conditions deplorable!!!!! In conclusion, I myself wouldn't go there and if you do bring your own snacks, towels, drinking cup (plastic or tin drinking thermos) toilet paper candy and little gifts for the kids there as well as pencils and any good cheap little things you can afford for them We also left magazines for the maids. Bubble gum and left over halloween candy etc,, you get the idea. Oh and the drinks are not good. Don't expect coke or any americanized pop or anything else for that matter they don't have it. Only rum and vodka I barely drank. You can find a good mohito in Varedero at the El Rancho. And if you feel really starved you can go to the Plaza America for Pizza (thin crust) The place is called Pizza Nova

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"pregi e difetti"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  allegranzini paolo  on Dec 8, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Dec, 2007
277 people found this review helpful

sono stato due volte in questo hotel il pregio maggiore è la vicinanza con L'Havana il servizio lascia un po a desiderara ma il personale è simpatico e disponibile soprattutto Stefano il cuoco per me un amico essendo io essenzialmente carnivoro lui mi faceva trovare sempre una bistecca.L'hotel è sempre pulito mentre l'animazione non sempre presente

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"February 2008"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  C.D  on Feb 20, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2008
963 people found this review helpful

I just got back from Cuba, after a week at the Hotel Las Morlas. For those who are looking for A la carte food, this is not the place. The buffet offered lots of variety and there was a “pasta bar” where you can make your own pastas. The service was excellent with a very friendly and respectful staff. They don’t try to ‘sweet-talk’ you like I’ve seen in other places. This place is very clean, except for the pool. Of course the beach and ocean are marvelous and beautiful to look at. If you want to go to Varadero, to the market, you can walk (about 30 min), go in bus or take a cab. The nature and sun are great. This hotel is a 3.5 star, but it is really good.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Won't be back !"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cynthia  on Feb 2, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
130 people found this review helpful

Just returned from Playa D'Oro and we were really disappointed. Our room was very dated and old with old, faded bedspread, queen-size sheets on a king-size bed and big rusty chips in the bathtub.There were 2 english channels on TV but didn't mind that.The food was the worst of any resort we've stayed at (although they made delicious bread and the ice cream was a hit). The buffet entailed very long line-ups so that food was cold by the time you went back to your table. Coffee cups and glasses were in such a limited supply that getting a tea or coffee took resourcefulness on our behalf. Both my husband and I ended up with a mild gastro on 5th day that lasted 3-5 days.The entertainment at night, the house band and the dancing lessons were 'things the resort did very well'.The beach was lovely but beach chairs at a premium- people were getting up early to reserve with a towel.We made an international call to home and were overcharged despite having timed the call ourselves.(2 CUC/Min) The 2nd time we called home,we commented to the staff that we had been overcharged by 6 minutes and miraculously, we were charged correctly. Overall, this is not a 4-star resort but closer to a 3 star. It is in desperate need of renovation and better food. The staff were friendly especially if you tipped them so that they would recognize you next time. Otherwise, service was very sluggish.

Room Number:
2022

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Where do I begin??"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jocelyn  on Mar 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
201 people found this review helpful

Lets start - Would I return - NO, not to this resort, I try not to be to fussy but come on, at least cook the food your serving...If you are looking for cooked food GOOD LUCK, if and when you got cooked food, it was great even the taste was not to bad.. 1.5 stars
Beach - Awesome - 5 stars forsure
Weather - Awesome - 5 stars - beautiful everyday - we only had one hour of rain and then it cleared away and it was hot, hot, hot!! :)
Staff - 3 stars(some were friendly - some were not)I guess we got spoiled in DR and Mexico, we sure as hell didn't get spoiled here :0(
Room - 2 stars - need alot of updating thats forsure but at least we had a bed and the safe was working for our pastports which was awesome:)
Evening shows - 2 stars - not that great
People we met there - 5 stars
Dolphin show - 5 stars - that was awesome
All in all we made it work, would I go back...no unless it was the only warm place on earth and had no other choice, up to you if you go but you can't say I didn't tell you what to expect.

Can't say I would go back to this resort, there is little to do

Room Number:
2328

Arrival:
3 stars

Rooms:
2.5 stars

Restaurants and Bars:
2.5

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
5 stars

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
my choice - I didn't participate in any activities - went there to relax and I did, my 6 yr old had a blast in the pool, learned how to swim pretty good, met some other kids and played with them, that in itself was a blessing

Other Comments:
Never thought I be happy to be back to the cold and snow, but a week here was long enough...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good location, but lacking in many basics so be aware."

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Margetson Penny  on Jan 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
215 people found this review helpful

This was our first time to Cuba and we really did enjoy the country, the people and the experience. We stayed 3 nights at the Internacional, and what other folks had said in previous reviews were pretty accurate. I would NOT give this 4 stars by any means. I say that because we stayed an equal amt of time in Trinidad, Cuba and our 3 star hotel there, the Ancon, was much much better for essentially the same price.
Staff at Internacional were okay, but not going out of their way to be friendly.
Room was clean. We did have an issue with the strange bedsheets......Kingsize bed with, at best, queen sized sheets.....
Weather didn't cooperate- very windy so no swimming in the ocean....
Lovely beach to walk.
Pool was nice and refreshing and the food there at the grill was much nicer than at the trough.....which is what we ended up calling the cafeteria buffet.
But - it is what it is and this is Cuba.
Will go back to the country but probably not that area of Cuba. Habana, Vinales, Trinidad - now that was Cuba.
All inclusives are great for many folks, but we decided we were not those travelers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great stay but not a 4 star"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Mar 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
228 people found this review helpful

This was our 4th time to Cuba, second time to Varadero. We arrived from Halifax late in the evening (11pm) and were checked in right away. The front desk experience was professional, but not overly warm and welcoming.

We were surprised and a little disappointed with the condition of the room. It was very dated and in need of renovation especially the bathroom and beds. Nevertheless, the room was very clean and everything (door, safe, patio, TV, etc...) functioned properly.

The grounds and other buildings were also dated and tired. The layout of the resort is great and its fairly small which we liked. It just needs some renovations to spruce it up.

That said it didn't stop us from having a great holiday. The staff were very friendly and professional. The beach was fabulous (get there early to get a good spot). And overall, we were impressed with the food quality and selection. We didn't spend much time by the pool or the pool bar.

I can't say we would go back there again. However, if renovations were performed to the rooms, grounds, and buildings we would definitely consider going again.

Room Number:
2307

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
We flew Sunwing from Halifax to Varadero. Arrived at the hotel at 11pm. We didn't like arriving so late, we lost a day on our vacation and it was disorienting trying navigate the resort in the dark. We would opt for the early morning flight next time.

Check-in was smooth and efficient. The staff were courteous but not overly welcoming.

Rooms:
Room was in need of renovations. Everything was well used, but functional. The safe was simple and easy to use. There was a bottle or rum and water provided. It would have been great if the water was replenished each day.

The room was very clean and each day we had some kind of creative towel decoration on the bed.

Restaurants and Bars:
There was 1 buffet restaurant, and 2 a la carte restaurants. The buffet restaurant had a good selection of food and we found it to be good quality as well. Actually the food was better than expected and better than other hotels we stayed at in Cuba. They made all the bread there fresh each day.

The International restaurant was kind of pathetic. The service was great, but the choices were limited and the restaurant itself needed upgrades. The portions are small so if you're hungry plan to go to the buffet to "top-up".

The Cuban restaurant on the beach was better than the international. Again the service was excellent. It had better choices than the international restaurant.

We mainly had drinks from either the beach bar during the day and lobby bar in the evening. The mojitos at the beach bar were great!! Drinks at the lobby were good too as was the coffee. The staff at both bars were fantastic, very friendly, and entertaining.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Didn't visit the pool much.

We spent most our time at the beach which was fabulous. Plenty of chairs, but get there early if you want a sun umbrella. Keep in mind we were there at peak time in March.

The grounds were simple, but could of used some extra staff to keep it tidy. The resort layout is very compact which we like.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did a day excursion to Havana and loved it. The tour guide was very informative and entertaining. Highly recommend the Havana tour.

There was a great band that played Cuban music every evening in the lobby. The entertainment staff encouraged people to get up and dance. There were daily activities on the beach coordinated by the staff like dance lessons, volleyball, etc...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube