Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Mercure Club Playa de Oro reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Mercure Club Playa de Oro  

Carretera Las Morlas, Km 12.5, Varadero. Matanzas. Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"wonderful is the word"
Posted by: dotman on Jul 23, 2014
see all reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews
Mercure Club Playa de Oro Pictures and Information
Mercure Club Playa de Oro Varadero Cuba

#11
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.8

Based on 38 reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Information


Luxury class hotel Club Coralia located in Varadero famous resort just on the beach with 2 buildings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.8 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  13
Average
  8
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (18)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
11 - 20 of 38

"Good location, but lacking in many basics so be aware."

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Margetson Penny  on Jan 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
216 people found this review helpful

This was our first time to Cuba and we really did enjoy the country, the people and the experience. We stayed 3 nights at the Internacional, and what other folks had said in previous reviews were pretty accurate. I would NOT give this 4 stars by any means. I say that because we stayed an equal amt of time in Trinidad, Cuba and our 3 star hotel there, the Ancon, was much much better for essentially the same price.
Staff at Internacional were okay, but not going out of their way to be friendly.
Room was clean. We did have an issue with the strange bedsheets......Kingsize bed with, at best, queen sized sheets.....
Weather didn't cooperate- very windy so no swimming in the ocean....
Lovely beach to walk.
Pool was nice and refreshing and the food there at the grill was much nicer than at the trough.....which is what we ended up calling the cafeteria buffet.
But - it is what it is and this is Cuba.
Will go back to the country but probably not that area of Cuba. Habana, Vinales, Trinidad - now that was Cuba.
All inclusives are great for many folks, but we decided we were not those travelers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I want to go back!!"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane  on Jan 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
214 people found this review helpful

We went as a group of six. We left Ottawa Ontario via Sunwing, which I have nothing but positive comments for. We were offered champagne, free headsets, onboard movie, free meals and were quite comfortable too (except for the crying and screaming kid sitting in front of us).

Room Number:
2144

Arrival:
When arriving at the resort, our rooms weren't ready, as we arrived too early. The personnel stored our luggage in a secure room, while we went to one of the many restaurants for eats and drinks. We loved it all right away!

The staff were amazing, always helpful and spoke English, French or Spanish with us, our choice - not theirs.

Rooms:
Our rooms weren't the worst I've slept in, but could certainly use an upgrade. Besides, we were only in our rooms to sleep and shower, so who cares? None the less, they're are soundproof, therefore no matter the amount of late partying at night, no sound bothered us. In each of our rooms, we received a large bottle of rum and bottle of water. Each room had a safe and refrigerator, which they don't stock. This is not a problem, since we had all the coffee, juice, soft drinks or booze at the bars.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were fine. We never went hungry. The food was more than plenty and there was enough variety to not get bored night after night - so ignore all the negative comments you read on rating sites. We always had all the drinks we wanted, the way we wanted them. They were really not measuring the amount of liquor they added to the glasses :-D
If you are a coffee lover, you'll thoroughly enjoy theirs! I recommend the lobby bar for cappucino, espresso, café au lait, etc etc.. simply endless and simply the best!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was breathtaking, and plenty of chairs for everyone. Access to the beach bar was reasonable. Before going to Varadero, I read many complaints about sand flees, not true, unless you stand on dried up seaweed - which were cleaned up daily. I would recommend that you bring your own beach towel but they also loan them with a $10 refundable deposit.
From the beach, you can access many other resorts which are all within walking distance. We visited many of them. I must say that by far, Playa de Oro offers the best pools. Our grounds were better than some and comparable to others - you won't be disappointed. What I also noticed, was that Playa de Oro always has employees at all locations of the resort. Some of the others were like a ghost town.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved it"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeysabelle  on Jan 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Party | Family and Kids
215 people found this review helpful

Well i read the review of people who stayed there and how they complaint about everything there. I really enjoyed my time there.The hotel staff was super nice. The waitresses remembered who you were every time you came in and got your table ready. Our waitress was Liz and she was fantastic, every morning she had my orange juice and my parents coffees ready for us. The maid left us flowers and made amazing bed designs. I enjoyed every moment. Yes they don't speak english that well but hey they are still learning and they are nice with you. The food was amazing i never had cuban food and its nice and salty. The pool was clean and alcohol all day was amazing. They had volleyball and dance lesson everyday. We went on the catamaran and they help you figure it out. We rent a nice car for 300 for a week, we went all over the place and one of the staff members took us around town we paid him. If you leave them a tip they love you. People got to think its a poor country can't expect 100 % like canada and the states are like. They get paid only 30 Dollars a month and they more then 5 people in a house. If your reading this be thankful for what you had. I did this trip with my parents to enjoy it.

Another thing that is great is think about the people who don't have anything, maybe leave something for them. We left our waitress 100 dollars when we left and my family and I left almost all our clothes there. So if you go there bring stuff you don't want and just leave it for them.

Enjoy your trip there cause i sure did this is my 3rd years in this hotel , and going again. I didn't like the other hotels i went too they were poor looking compare to this one.






Room Number:
418

Room Block:
2 building

Arrival:
Kinda bad, we had to wait in the airport for 3 hours to get our bags and it was super warm in there. But they you get on a bus with a tour guide and they speak english and show you around

Rooms:
We read the review about cockroaches so we know about that we slept with the light on and we never seen a bug since we were there. They don't like the light. But the beds are nice and the washroom is beautiful. They give you 4 Towels and if you need a new one you can tell them. They come make your bed every morning and then on top of that they leave you flowers and nice things.

Restaurants and Bars:
I love the food it was different, Im not there to et american food, I'm there to try new kinds of food. But they still had a buffet a supper time. They have 4 restaurant one at the beach it was cuban food, one by the pool who was italian , a buffet and the internation it was classy

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was beautiful walking on it and watching the sunset, The pool was nice they have activite duren the day in the water and they play music, Sometimes they have water shows it was like cirque du soleil but in the water it was amazing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First time & not the last time"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  karl  on Sep 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
195 people found this review helpful

We just had our first vacation together in Playa De Oro and have nothing but positive comments. On arrival, we did not like our room and the hotel had no hesitation to move us to a much better room at no additional cost. The staff in all areas of the hotel were very helpful whenever we needed assistance. We are now looking forward to coming back next year.

Room Number:
2201

Arrival:
Not happy with room but we were accomadated with much better room

Rooms:
Very clean and spacious

Restaurants and Bars:
You will never starve at this hotel. Lots of variety in all our meals.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool jacuzzi was not functioning but the pool itself is great. Grounds were well maintained

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities via our flight agent (Sunwing)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great experience"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kris  on Aug 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) SLOVENIA
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
238 people found this review helpful

I had a really great time in this resort. As newlyweds we had 2 extra romantic cubanian dinner, champagne in our room, seaview (without extra charges).... very nice personal.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"...Terible resort"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wendell  on Aug 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
195 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon here, this resort is lacking in many ways ..
When we arrived after flying all night we were told our rooms arent ready for another 2 hours. The front desk staff dont care and generally ignore you when you approach. Our room was dirty and needed fixing, and rarely did we get a full supply of towels (even after tipping) Food was god aweful, the "buffet" was hot and smelled horrible every meal.
All drinks were made the cheapest way possible, they werent enjoyable in the least.
... Pool was nice, thats it ...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
go on a moped, escape the hotel!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great relaxing time"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barbara  on May 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
279 people found this review helpful

This is my first time going to Cuba. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I made lots of friends in the employees as well as the other guests. Traveling with a slight handicap everyone was so helpful. The food was good, the place was clean the beach was gorgeous with that lovely ocean water, the pool was lovely and the weather and entertainment was great. I am hoping that I can go back again next year.

Room Number:
116

Arrival:
I arrived to find out sunwing had left their guests with a bottle of rum, coke and a beer and our beach towels

Restaurants and Bars:
Staff was very pleasant and the food was good with lots of variety.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
gorgeous and lots of chairs

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
entertainment showed us the Cuban culture

Photos: http://facebook

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a great time,"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Louise  on Apr 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
167 people found this review helpful

1st visit to Cuba.Can hardly wait to go again. The beach and the ocean were so beautiful!!! Staff were friendly and accomadating.We loved every minute of our vacation. Stop being so fussy!! People are poor in this country yet happy. Count your blessings and enjoy the tropical climate and the warm hospiltality. Our t.v sucked and bring toilet paper but all in all a positive experience,enjoy !!!

Room Number:
2232

Restaurants and Bars:
Al la cartes were not great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Totally awesome!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Olga  on Mar 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Party | Family and Kids
199 people found this review helpful

Останавливались в этом отеле на неделю.Моя оценка- слабая "четверка".В основном из-за питания.Фруктов почти не было,Хотя свежие соки утром были каждый день.Коктейли на пляже вообще не понятно из чего делали,в баре у лобби было получше.Зато везде был отменный кофе,просто сказка.Вкусно готовили обеды в ресторане у пляжа.Номер был хороший,убирались тоже хорошо,анимация отличная.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Where do I begin??"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jocelyn  on Mar 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
201 people found this review helpful

Lets start - Would I return - NO, not to this resort, I try not to be to fussy but come on, at least cook the food your serving...If you are looking for cooked food GOOD LUCK, if and when you got cooked food, it was great even the taste was not to bad.. 1.5 stars
Beach - Awesome - 5 stars forsure
Weather - Awesome - 5 stars - beautiful everyday - we only had one hour of rain and then it cleared away and it was hot, hot, hot!! :)
Staff - 3 stars(some were friendly - some were not)I guess we got spoiled in DR and Mexico, we sure as hell didn't get spoiled here :0(
Room - 2 stars - need alot of updating thats forsure but at least we had a bed and the safe was working for our pastports which was awesome:)
Evening shows - 2 stars - not that great
People we met there - 5 stars
Dolphin show - 5 stars - that was awesome
All in all we made it work, would I go back...no unless it was the only warm place on earth and had no other choice, up to you if you go but you can't say I didn't tell you what to expect.

Can't say I would go back to this resort, there is little to do

Room Number:
2328

Arrival:
3 stars

Rooms:
2.5 stars

Restaurants and Bars:
2.5

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
5 stars

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
my choice - I didn't participate in any activities - went there to relax and I did, my 6 yr old had a blast in the pool, learned how to swim pretty good, met some other kids and played with them, that in itself was a blessing

Other Comments:
Never thought I be happy to be back to the cold and snow, but a week here was long enough...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube