Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Mercure Club Playa de Oro reviews


Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Mercure Club Playa de Oro  

Carretera Las Morlas, Km 12.5, Varadero. Matanzas. Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"Infested with locals harassing tourists"
Posted by: pDs on Jul 19, 2015
see all reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews
Mercure Club Playa de Oro Pictures and Information
Mercure Club Playa de Oro Varadero Cuba

of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.8

Based on 40 reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Information

Luxury class hotel Club Coralia located in Varadero famous resort just on the beach with 2 buildings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


Best Deals

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Reviews

Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.8 of 5 40 reviews
Very good
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (21)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
11 - 20 of 40

"My first trip to Cuba"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Mar 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
327 people found this review helpful

Room Number:

Room Block:
not sure

The front desk people were professional but not overly friendly or welcoming, But all others were very friendly.

I have nothing to compair it with but I really liked this resort. It was small and very easy to manover. I would definitely go here again but if I go back to Cuba I want to try different places.

Although the rooms were dated and tired, they were clean and comfortable. And I was only in them to shower and sleep. And I slept like a log. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but we were there early and then the room we were brought to wasn't ready and it was one bed and my friend and I did NOT want to share a bed. lol The room comes with a large bottle of rum and water. I didn't use Cuba water for drinking or brushing teeth, as some did. Just refill the water bottle in the bars or the main restaurant.

Restaurants and Bars:
I was told the food was not good in Cuba and it WASN'T but you will find things that are tolerable. I liked the omelets for breakfast and surprisingly the pasta wasn't bad. I like my bacon very well cooked so I brought some to the omelet chef and asked him to cook it more for me. We brought peanut butter(thank goodness). The beach restaurant was the best place to eat. It's open everyday for lunch and for reservation at night. I heard also it's open all night for snacks. The pool bar had hot dogs, hamburgers and ham and cheese sandwiches. With fries. Very friendly staff. Tip well.

Mojitoes at the beach bar were great. All drinks and booze were plentiful. They'll pour the rum or whatever till you say stop.

The beach was beautiful! Lots of chairs and shade. But we went first thing in the morning 7/8 am before breakfast to place a towel on your chair. The guys that work at the beach are great. They see you looking for a spot and help you out. Tip well! Pool was great.

I found the beach very windy and I thought it a bit annoying till it wasn't there one day and then it was TOOOO HOT. So I enjoyed the wind. :) The ocean was amazing, like being in a wave pool. It was clean and you could walk far out it would get deep and then shallow.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I was told by Friends to bring clothes and stuff you have and don't want any more to leave for the maids. Which I did but if I go again I would do it differently. I think the maids have thee PRIME job and do quite well. We went on the jeep safari and went right into the country side where farmers live. They live in small shacks, no running water. The kids come out to wave and sweetly beg. Women holding young babies. I would bring most of my stuff there to give away. Money would be good too. ALSO went on the Habana excursion and went to a market there. There were children and one lady with 3 shoeless children begging there. I wish I'd have brought something. Stuff or money.

In the lobby they had a band play every night from 7:30 to 8:30pm. It was GREAT, they encourage people to come up and learn the moves. I only wish it was longer than an hour. At 9:30 they always had a great and different show a night in the band stand.

On the beach during the day they had games to play and taught dance moves.

Other Comments:
There were A LOT of French people from Quebec.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great stay but not a 4 star"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Mar 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
307 people found this review helpful

This was our 4th time to Cuba, second time to Varadero. We arrived from Halifax late in the evening (11pm) and were checked in right away. The front desk experience was professional, but not overly warm and welcoming.

We were surprised and a little disappointed with the condition of the room. It was very dated and in need of renovation especially the bathroom and beds. Nevertheless, the room was very clean and everything (door, safe, patio, TV, etc...) functioned properly.

The grounds and other buildings were also dated and tired. The layout of the resort is great and its fairly small which we liked. It just needs some renovations to spruce it up.

That said it didn't stop us from having a great holiday. The staff were very friendly and professional. The beach was fabulous (get there early to get a good spot). And overall, we were impressed with the food quality and selection. We didn't spend much time by the pool or the pool bar.

I can't say we would go back there again. However, if renovations were performed to the rooms, grounds, and buildings we would definitely consider going again.

Room Number:

Room Block:

We flew Sunwing from Halifax to Varadero. Arrived at the hotel at 11pm. We didn't like arriving so late, we lost a day on our vacation and it was disorienting trying navigate the resort in the dark. We would opt for the early morning flight next time.

Check-in was smooth and efficient. The staff were courteous but not overly welcoming.

Room was in need of renovations. Everything was well used, but functional. The safe was simple and easy to use. There was a bottle or rum and water provided. It would have been great if the water was replenished each day.

The room was very clean and each day we had some kind of creative towel decoration on the bed.

Restaurants and Bars:
There was 1 buffet restaurant, and 2 a la carte restaurants. The buffet restaurant had a good selection of food and we found it to be good quality as well. Actually the food was better than expected and better than other hotels we stayed at in Cuba. They made all the bread there fresh each day.

The International restaurant was kind of pathetic. The service was great, but the choices were limited and the restaurant itself needed upgrades. The portions are small so if you're hungry plan to go to the buffet to "top-up".

The Cuban restaurant on the beach was better than the international. Again the service was excellent. It had better choices than the international restaurant.

We mainly had drinks from either the beach bar during the day and lobby bar in the evening. The mojitos at the beach bar were great!! Drinks at the lobby were good too as was the coffee. The staff at both bars were fantastic, very friendly, and entertaining.

Didn't visit the pool much.

We spent most our time at the beach which was fabulous. Plenty of chairs, but get there early if you want a sun umbrella. Keep in mind we were there at peak time in March.

The grounds were simple, but could of used some extra staff to keep it tidy. The resort layout is very compact which we like.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did a day excursion to Havana and loved it. The tour guide was very informative and entertaining. Highly recommend the Havana tour.

There was a great band that played Cuban music every evening in the lobby. The entertainment staff encouraged people to get up and dance. There were daily activities on the beach coordinated by the staff like dance lessons, volleyball, etc...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best vacation of all Caribbean holidays"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Mar 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
266 people found this review helpful

First time travelling to the Caribbean solo and what a positive experience. The resort of Playa De Oro could not have been a better choice. It is clean, beautiful grounds, wonderful pool, the beach and sunsets are breathtaking, and the staff are beyond friendly. They make the stay so very pleasant. Close to the town of Varadaro, 10 peso taxi ride to town, lots of shopping and browsing and 10 peso ride back to the resort. Money well spent. Never hasselled by vendors on the beach or in the town. Both environments are very safe for a single woman. The food is a bit bland, but bring your own condiments and jazz it up. I had no problem with the water, salads, pasta, fish and veggies. I have developed a fancy for cafe au lait and pina coladas! I am only back to Canada 3 days and already miss the island so much I have my travel agent organizing a return to the sunshine in May. It will be my very favourite vacation spot in the Caribbean hopefully every 4 months.

Room Number:

February 28-12


Restaurants and Bars:
buffet, International Restaurant at the resort, beach restaurant, pool bar, lobby bar, beach bar

miles of soft, white sand, lots of shady places out of the sun, beautiful 4 sectioned pool, grounds with lovely flowers, plants, palms, mowed grass, paved sidewalks,

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good location, but lacking in many basics so be aware."

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Margetson Penny  on Jan 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
264 people found this review helpful

This was our first time to Cuba and we really did enjoy the country, the people and the experience. We stayed 3 nights at the Internacional, and what other folks had said in previous reviews were pretty accurate. I would NOT give this 4 stars by any means. I say that because we stayed an equal amt of time in Trinidad, Cuba and our 3 star hotel there, the Ancon, was much much better for essentially the same price.
Staff at Internacional were okay, but not going out of their way to be friendly.
Room was clean. We did have an issue with the strange bedsheets......Kingsize bed with, at best, queen sized sheets.....
Weather didn't cooperate- very windy so no swimming in the ocean....
Lovely beach to walk.
Pool was nice and refreshing and the food there at the grill was much nicer than at the trough.....which is what we ended up calling the cafeteria buffet.
But - it is what it is and this is Cuba.
Will go back to the country but probably not that area of Cuba. Habana, Vinales, Trinidad - now that was Cuba.
All inclusives are great for many folks, but we decided we were not those travelers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I want to go back!!"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane  on Jan 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
243 people found this review helpful

We went as a group of six. We left Ottawa Ontario via Sunwing, which I have nothing but positive comments for. We were offered champagne, free headsets, onboard movie, free meals and were quite comfortable too (except for the crying and screaming kid sitting in front of us).

Room Number:

When arriving at the resort, our rooms weren't ready, as we arrived too early. The personnel stored our luggage in a secure room, while we went to one of the many restaurants for eats and drinks. We loved it all right away!

The staff were amazing, always helpful and spoke English, French or Spanish with us, our choice - not theirs.

Our rooms weren't the worst I've slept in, but could certainly use an upgrade. Besides, we were only in our rooms to sleep and shower, so who cares? None the less, they're are soundproof, therefore no matter the amount of late partying at night, no sound bothered us. In each of our rooms, we received a large bottle of rum and bottle of water. Each room had a safe and refrigerator, which they don't stock. This is not a problem, since we had all the coffee, juice, soft drinks or booze at the bars.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were fine. We never went hungry. The food was more than plenty and there was enough variety to not get bored night after night - so ignore all the negative comments you read on rating sites. We always had all the drinks we wanted, the way we wanted them. They were really not measuring the amount of liquor they added to the glasses :-D
If you are a coffee lover, you'll thoroughly enjoy theirs! I recommend the lobby bar for cappucino, espresso, café au lait, etc etc.. simply endless and simply the best!

The beach was breathtaking, and plenty of chairs for everyone. Access to the beach bar was reasonable. Before going to Varadero, I read many complaints about sand flees, not true, unless you stand on dried up seaweed - which were cleaned up daily. I would recommend that you bring your own beach towel but they also loan them with a $10 refundable deposit.
From the beach, you can access many other resorts which are all within walking distance. We visited many of them. I must say that by far, Playa de Oro offers the best pools. Our grounds were better than some and comparable to others - you won't be disappointed. What I also noticed, was that Playa de Oro always has employees at all locations of the resort. Some of the others were like a ghost town.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved it"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeysabelle  on Jan 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Party | Family and Kids
236 people found this review helpful

Well i read the review of people who stayed there and how they complaint about everything there. I really enjoyed my time there.The hotel staff was super nice. The waitresses remembered who you were every time you came in and got your table ready. Our waitress was Liz and she was fantastic, every morning she had my orange juice and my parents coffees ready for us. The maid left us flowers and made amazing bed designs. I enjoyed every moment. Yes they don't speak english that well but hey they are still learning and they are nice with you. The food was amazing i never had cuban food and its nice and salty. The pool was clean and alcohol all day was amazing. They had volleyball and dance lesson everyday. We went on the catamaran and they help you figure it out. We rent a nice car for 300 for a week, we went all over the place and one of the staff members took us around town we paid him. If you leave them a tip they love you. People got to think its a poor country can't expect 100 % like canada and the states are like. They get paid only 30 Dollars a month and they more then 5 people in a house. If your reading this be thankful for what you had. I did this trip with my parents to enjoy it.

Another thing that is great is think about the people who don't have anything, maybe leave something for them. We left our waitress 100 dollars when we left and my family and I left almost all our clothes there. So if you go there bring stuff you don't want and just leave it for them.

Enjoy your trip there cause i sure did this is my 3rd years in this hotel , and going again. I didn't like the other hotels i went too they were poor looking compare to this one.

Room Number:

Room Block:
2 building

Kinda bad, we had to wait in the airport for 3 hours to get our bags and it was super warm in there. But they you get on a bus with a tour guide and they speak english and show you around

We read the review about cockroaches so we know about that we slept with the light on and we never seen a bug since we were there. They don't like the light. But the beds are nice and the washroom is beautiful. They give you 4 Towels and if you need a new one you can tell them. They come make your bed every morning and then on top of that they leave you flowers and nice things.

Restaurants and Bars:
I love the food it was different, Im not there to et american food, I'm there to try new kinds of food. But they still had a buffet a supper time. They have 4 restaurant one at the beach it was cuban food, one by the pool who was italian , a buffet and the internation it was classy

Beach was beautiful walking on it and watching the sunset, The pool was nice they have activite duren the day in the water and they play music, Sometimes they have water shows it was like cirque du soleil but in the water it was amazing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First time & not the last time"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  karl  on Sep 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
218 people found this review helpful

We just had our first vacation together in Playa De Oro and have nothing but positive comments. On arrival, we did not like our room and the hotel had no hesitation to move us to a much better room at no additional cost. The staff in all areas of the hotel were very helpful whenever we needed assistance. We are now looking forward to coming back next year.

Room Number:

Not happy with room but we were accomadated with much better room

Very clean and spacious

Restaurants and Bars:
You will never starve at this hotel. Lots of variety in all our meals.

Pool jacuzzi was not functioning but the pool itself is great. Grounds were well maintained

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities via our flight agent (Sunwing)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great experience"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kris  on Aug 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) SLOVENIA
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
268 people found this review helpful

I had a really great time in this resort. As newlyweds we had 2 extra romantic cubanian dinner, champagne in our room, seaview (without extra charges).... very nice personal.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"...Terible resort"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wendell  on Aug 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
222 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon here, this resort is lacking in many ways ..
When we arrived after flying all night we were told our rooms arent ready for another 2 hours. The front desk staff dont care and generally ignore you when you approach. Our room was dirty and needed fixing, and rarely did we get a full supply of towels (even after tipping) Food was god aweful, the "buffet" was hot and smelled horrible every meal.
All drinks were made the cheapest way possible, they werent enjoyable in the least.
... Pool was nice, thats it ...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
go on a moped, escape the hotel!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great relaxing time"

Mercure Club Playa de Oro
User Rating:  Mercure Club Playa de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barbara  on May 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
303 people found this review helpful

This is my first time going to Cuba. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I made lots of friends in the employees as well as the other guests. Traveling with a slight handicap everyone was so helpful. The food was good, the place was clean the beach was gorgeous with that lovely ocean water, the pool was lovely and the weather and entertainment was great. I am hoping that I can go back again next year.

Room Number:

I arrived to find out sunwing had left their guests with a bottle of rum, coke and a beer and our beach towels

Restaurants and Bars:
Staff was very pleasant and the food was good with lots of variety.

gorgeous and lots of chairs

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
entertainment showed us the Cuban culture

Photos: http://facebook

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube