Villa Tortuga Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Villa Tortuga reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Islazul Los Delfines

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 14, 2014

Mercure Cuatro Palmas

4.2 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2014

Acuazul

4.1 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 14, 2014

Club Tropical

3.8 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

BelleVue Sunbeach

3.8 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Varadero Internacional

3.8 based on 94 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2014

Villa Tortuga  

Calle 9 e/ Bulevar y Ave. Kawama. Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"No lo recomiendo para nada!"
Posted by: NATALIA ELENA TORRES  on May 12, 2012
see all reviews

Villa Tortuga Reviews
Villa Tortuga Pictures and Information
Villa Tortuga Varadero Cuba

#2
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 76 reviews

Villa Tortuga Information


Villa Tortuga has vast open spaces and lush green gardens that perfectly contrast the turquoise blue of the sea.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villa Tortuga Reviews

Villa Tortuga Review: 4.1 of 5 76 reviews
Excellent
  30
Very good
  32
Average
  6
Poor
  8
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (25)
Party (3)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 76

"Nice Beach, Nice People but"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Anne  on Apr 29, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
993 people found this review helpful

Loved the location, staff were great, service so so, could be improved. We did lots of tipping because of their low wages but service training is lacking, rooms were not always cleaned, ants in the room and lights did not work. Steps down the bank to the beach would have been nice as we are seniors and it was hard to get onto the beach. Price was OK the food could be improved by having hot things hot and cold things cold. I ate lots and still lost 2 pounds, and thats a good thing. Not sure if I would go back or not, if anything was to bring me back it would be the people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disapointed"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  carol  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
410 people found this review helpful

We were told that it was better than Barlo vento unfortunately we do not agree. Food good for breakfast, horrible the other meals. meat overcooked, no variety, too too much cabbage. service uneven. smelly rooms.... noise ++++++ no disco so partying in lobby....

Room Number:
8203,8101

Room Block:
8

Arrival:
24/02/12

Restaurants and Bars:
uneven, no beer or wine in some, others only coffee...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
great

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Opinion"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lucrecia Ixcot  on Oct 19, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Guatemala
Visited on: Oct, 2006
4927 people found this review helpful

I was provided with an accomodations for a day because the flight was delayed but really the facilities are large and comfortable.

I could say, the service of the bar was very good bar because they have different nonalcoholic drinks. I cannot say the same of the restaurant. I receive a good treat but the food was bad, the fruit was fermented and I can say that the foods were of previous days.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No lo recomiendo para nada!"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  NATALIA ELENA TORRES  on May 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
401 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Llegamos con mi novio el 14/4 a este Hotel. Estuvimos hospedados en una habitacion superior. Antes de viajar lei criticas muy malas y por el contrario otras buenas, suponiendo que los viajeron somos muy exigentes a veces, decidi reservar igual. Por donde empiezo?
Atencion en la recepcion: Es buena cuando vas con una sonrisa ahora cuando vas a reclamar algo.. la cosa cambia.

Rooms:
Habitaciones: Demasiados insectos, arañas por doquier y una noche al levantarme para ir al baño chan! cucaracha!! las lagartijas se meten por debajo de la puerta, estuvimos tres noches con una dentro de la habitacion porque no la podiamos sacar y nadie se acerco a ayudarnos, en recepcion se rieron. Esta situacion en los otros hoteles donde fui no se presento. La caja de seguridad la tenes que pagar (cosa que no te avisan de ante mano) ademas estaba sin bateria, tuvimos que esperar que vaya el tecnico a arreglarla. Los toallones no existen, son toallas, si toallas, chicas, de mano, con eso te secas al bañarte. El deposito del baño quedaba perdiendo y la cadena era una cinta improvisada de hilo. La puerta de la habitacion no abria!! una noche estuvimos 45 minutos esperando para entrar, porque en recepcion no nos dieron importancia y el tecnico no llegaba. Mucha gente se quejaba, en algunas habitaciones rebalsaba el inodoro o se cortaba la luz!! habia un tecnico para todo el hotel y no daba a vasto!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Comida: HORRIBLE, horrible en serio. No habia variedad, las salsas estaban frias, teniendo all inclusive tuvimos que ir a cenar afuera!! Y en los restos a carta los platos ricos se acababan rapido.
Hay muyyy poco personal, entonces esperas muchiiisimo para que te den una hamburguesa o un hot dog.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
La playa es decente y la pileta tambien.
Nada del otro mundo, normal.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Actividades nocturnas es lo unico sobre lo que puedo opinar. Es pasable, un señor que canta todas las noches.

Other Comments:
Al segundo dia quise llamar a la agencia para que me cambien de hotel, la verdad, me arrepiento de haber ido ahi, no se lo recomiendo a nadie.
No vayan!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"beautifull but you have to consider a few facts ..."

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  steve  on Jan 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
222 people found this review helpful

staff : the batteries from the tv remote control were stolen in the room on the first day of our arrival. no hot water in the shower for the 7 days of our stay with just excuses an no other options. only hot water in the sink on rare occasions, same problem for several other visitors. very little english or french but enough to get around. most staff was kind but not all of them. so i have to give 2 stars out of 5 for that because we didn`t feel secure at all time for our belongings and because i had to take cold showers all week. that`s a lost to discourage many people ..

food: if you like or milk, beef, tomatoes, green vegetables or a coffee after your meal at the restaurant, don`t count on it.. it is as rare as finding water in the desert but most of it is rare in cuba anyways except for the coffee.. expect to have aldente pasta in oil for lunch, the same pasta re-heated in sauce for diner and sometimes the pasta from the day before in a mixture of sauce and cheese . the soups are all re-mixed with the addition of differents ingredients so nothing is lost day after day. on the other hand the fish, pork or chicken of the day is excellent. if you are vegeterian, avoid the place at all cost. the meals are very similar from one day to the next and from lunch to diner. i respect the fact that most cubans dont have access to those kind of meals but i`ve had so much better at other resorts in cuba. so for the food it`s 2 stars out of 5.

entertainment : it felt as if it was offered by high school students . the shows are repetitive. the same show was presented twice on the same week. many people watch the first few minutes and walk away.. if you like having a drink or two and expect to dance at some point during your stay, the occasions are rare. so many great artistic talents in cuba and it seems like they didn`t want to be seen at that hotel. a poor 1.5 stars for entertainment.

environment and others : the beach is beautifull and the installations are looking good as well. the toilets next to the beach are closed when the dining room is closed. you have to make sure that you reserve your a la carte diner days in advance or else forget about it. the exterior showers next to the beach don`t work . take your time to tour the site because you will not receive any informations at all about the installations on site. on our last day, since we have to check out at noon and leave the resort at 6pm, we were promised a room so we can wash and change. surprise.. i really did not expect the lady at the front desk to tell us in a very rude manner that they will not respect that engagement . it felt like she didn`t give a damn about anyone once they are to leave the premises. a bunch of us just had to change in the nearest outdoor bathroom and of course we could not get a shower before going back home for the long road to come. another 2 stars for that part of my personal evaluation.

Villa tortuga again, i`m

Room Number:
3301

Room Block:
no block names

Arrival:
december 31 2010

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good value for the money, mostly."

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Uli Locher  on Feb 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
222 people found this review helpful

This is a modest hotel which houses guests in 2 and 3 storey buildings rather than high-rise boxes. It is located in the part of Varadero that does not look like Miami Beach. As usual it pays to fight for a better room than the first one they assign you. We had a "superior" room right on the beach. Everything is clean and relatively quiet. The food is modest but ok but stay away from that wine! One problem, though: depending on the wind you can get the smell from an oil refinery into the room - which happened on 2 of our 5 days.

Room Number:
306

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No lo recomiendo"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vicky  on Feb 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
415 people found this review helpful

Si bien es un 3 estrellas deja mucho que desear. Las habitaciones no estan bien cuidadas, se nota el paso del tiempo y tienen pequeñas cosas que pueden repararse, salvo la humedad que parece que brota del todos lados. La comida del buffet pobre, sin variedad, sin gusto, de buffet internacional no tiene nada. Con las barras de los bares pasa lo mismo, no se si el personal no tiene conocimientos o es falta de ganas, pero ni un trago bien preparado, no tenian para hacer nada, lo que le pedias te decian que no habia. El personal de hotel bastante mal humorado te contestaban como si te hicieran un favor.
La playa bien, normal, incomparables con las del Cayo Guillermo, eso si...
No volveria

Vicky

Room Number:
6103

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not recommended/no recomendable"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Yazmin  on Sep 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
195 people found this review helpful

The hotel has a beautiful sea view but the food from the all inclusive system is uneatable, has not much variety of fruit and meat. We had to be switched twice because the first room smelled gas from the petrol plant in Varadero, and the second room had humidity on the air-conditioning wall. The snack bar closes at 11pm and the lobby bar offers only jam and cheese sandwiches after 11pm and no beer.
The hotel is a nice but old building without maintenance. The people from the reception are not friendly but for the chief who changed us the room until we were located in a nicer one. The last room we were transfered to had sea view, hot water and 220V plugs (the others didn't), the room phone didn't work and had never been fixed.
The hotel has cable tv and games in the afternoon.

Room Number:
214-2

Room Block:
214

Arrival:
Terrible! The bus driver did not know the hotel location and we checked in at 1:40AM instead of 11pm of the previous day. Besides, we paid for a plain ticket transfer and they took un by bus. The trip from Cayo Coco to Varadero lasted longer than Bs As to Cuba.

Rooms:
Untidy, smelly, old fashioned and lacked maintenance. Too many flies.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food is not good, not much variety of anything, the chicken overcooked, the fish tasted like dirty, the ice cream seemed raw, etc...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach, very nice swimming pool.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We got what we paid for!"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Daniela Lainez  on May 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Honduras
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
234 people found this review helpful

Overall the experience was good, the beach and pool area are really neat. the pool could be cleaner.
do not expect a lot from the food,it was a big disappointment.
Also make sure you check in after 4pm if you try to do it before you will have to wonder around without a room,and when they finally give you a room they are still cleaning it.

Room Number:
4105

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Premiere annee que nous reservions notre hotel separement (agreablement surpri)"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Pierre Bernier  on Mar 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Party | With Spouse/Partner
244 people found this review helpful

Nous avons fait afaire directement avec Cuba travel network via internet. Nous etions un peut craintif puisque nous avions réserver longtemp à l'avance,mais environs trois semaines avant le départ ils nous ont fait parvenir une confirmation écrite en réitérant le numéro de réservation ainsi que plusieur renseignements pertinents pour notre voyage et un numero de téléphone sans frais pour les rejoindre au besoin à la Havane ce qui nous a rasurés.
Lorsque nous sommes ariver à l'hotel nous sommes rester agréablement surpris du fait que nous étions seul à l'enrégistrement .

Room Number:
304

Room Block:
A

Arrival:
À notre arriver nous avons eu un service extrèmement courtoi en faisant affaire avec Marylène une personne très souriante très accommodante.

Rooms:
Nous avons obtenue exatement la chambre que nous avions demandé et nous étions heureux .

Restaurants and Bars:
Meme si cela faisait quatre ans que nous y avions pas été il est surprenant de voir que certain employés comme Peter au bar de la piscine nous reconnaissait. Au buffet qui étais très bon en passant nous avons obtenue un service extraordinaire avec Sandiego et Michel qui travaillais en équipe .

Other Comments:
Tous le personnel de l'hotel ont contribué à faire de notre séjour le plus agréable que nous ayons passés depuis que nous allons à Cuba.Nous croyons que Villa Tortuga se veut un hotel sans prétention mais très confortable au nivau qualité prix.Nous pensons sérieusement y retourner un jour.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube