Villa Tortuga Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Villa Tortuga reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Islazul Los Delfines

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 14, 2014

Mercure Cuatro Palmas

4.2 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2014

Acuazul

4.1 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 14, 2014

Club Tropical

3.8 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

BelleVue Sunbeach

3.8 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Varadero Internacional

3.8 based on 94 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2014

Villa Tortuga  

Calle 9 e/ Bulevar y Ave. Kawama. Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"No lo recomiendo para nada!"
Posted by: NATALIA ELENA TORRES  on May 12, 2012
see all reviews

Villa Tortuga Reviews
Villa Tortuga Pictures and Information
Villa Tortuga Varadero Cuba

#2
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 76 reviews

Villa Tortuga Information


Villa Tortuga has vast open spaces and lush green gardens that perfectly contrast the turquoise blue of the sea.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villa Tortuga Reviews

Villa Tortuga Review: 4.1 of 5 76 reviews
Excellent
  30
Very good
  32
Average
  6
Poor
  8
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (25)
Party (3)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
With Group
11 - 20 of 76

"Good place for leisure with children"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Timur Zhizhin  on Nov 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
193 people found this review helpful

I stayed there for 7 nights with my son.Very quiet place,friendly staff, clean rooms. We arrived at 5 pm and got our room without delay. The room was clean, but the palm tree outside closed the most the sun, so it was a little dark. All facilites were close to the room. The beach was the most remote - 50 m ahead. The food was simple but good, everything was fresh, tableware was clean. My son didn't like local cola and juice, but the icecream and cornflakes were prime. All nautic eqipment on the beach were free. We liked pedal catamarans, I wanted to sale a windsurfing but the waves were to big for me, and I had to look after my son - he could't wait on the beach too long. Bar worked 24 hours, the rum was exellent. The night show was good, but we usually went to bed after 8 pm. After lunch we used to go along Varadero streets, made a lot of good pictures with oldtimer cars and buildings.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great!!!!!"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Yaima Diaz  on Oct 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Party | Family and Kids
179 people found this review helpful

Beautyfull beach, great hotel

Room Number:
9103

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
Oct 19, 2011

Rooms:
great

Restaurants and Bars:
great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
great

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not recommended/no recomendable"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Yazmin  on Sep 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
196 people found this review helpful

The hotel has a beautiful sea view but the food from the all inclusive system is uneatable, has not much variety of fruit and meat. We had to be switched twice because the first room smelled gas from the petrol plant in Varadero, and the second room had humidity on the air-conditioning wall. The snack bar closes at 11pm and the lobby bar offers only jam and cheese sandwiches after 11pm and no beer.
The hotel is a nice but old building without maintenance. The people from the reception are not friendly but for the chief who changed us the room until we were located in a nicer one. The last room we were transfered to had sea view, hot water and 220V plugs (the others didn't), the room phone didn't work and had never been fixed.
The hotel has cable tv and games in the afternoon.

Room Number:
214-2

Room Block:
214

Arrival:
Terrible! The bus driver did not know the hotel location and we checked in at 1:40AM instead of 11pm of the previous day. Besides, we paid for a plain ticket transfer and they took un by bus. The trip from Cayo Coco to Varadero lasted longer than Bs As to Cuba.

Rooms:
Untidy, smelly, old fashioned and lacked maintenance. Too many flies.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food is not good, not much variety of anything, the chicken overcooked, the fish tasted like dirty, the ice cream seemed raw, etc...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach, very nice swimming pool.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I had a wonderful time in Villa Tortuga"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  LIZA  on Aug 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
236 people found this review helpful

I would stay again in this villa the people that work their mayed you feel welcome rooms were very clean my kids loved the buffet excellent food the only thing i think needs improvment are the sodas water and juice other wise everything els is good.

Room Number:
6201

Arrival:
10/8/11

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Me gustó"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sara  on Jul 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) PERU
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Party | With friend
232 people found this review helpful

Me gustó el hotel porque a pesar de ser de tres estrellas tiene buena ubicación ya que está cerca a la playa, no como otros! el personal muy amable, todo limpio. La comida no es muy variada!
Sí volvería a ir al mismo hotel! me encanta Varadero!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I like the Tortuga."

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Georges Royer  on Jun 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
230 people found this review helpful

Overall this is a nice hotel, well situated on 1st avenue. I have been there before and decided to return to it because I liked it. It has a beautiful swimming pool, an exercise room, a shop, a bank (CadeCa).
Service at the reception was friendly and efficient. I had booked a room from Canada -one grade up from the standard room. For $45.00 per day I had an all inclusive package which was well worth it. The room was clean as well as the bathroom; the air conditioning was working (which is not always the case in other three stars hotels).
I found the beach very good and well kept. Naturally, I wished the tourists would throw their plastic cups in the garbage containers that are available.
My only negative comment is for the restaurant. There was a lot of cuban food (rice and beans) because on that particular week-end there were 81 Cubans guests at the hotel and only 18 Canadians. I was expecting more of the local fruit, some fish and salad. What the Cuban call "ensalada" is not what north americans call "salad"; I have not seen lettuce anywhere and have seen very little green vegetables- which should be part of a healthy diet.
Overall, I like the Tortuga and will be back, as I go to Cuba 2 or 3 times a year to relax, to visit with friends and to bring presents to my "adoptive" children.

Room Number:
1209

Restaurants and Bars:
The bar at the swimming pool was closed, perhaps because it was the low season!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Calidad/precio genial"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  manuel fernandez rosales  on May 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: May, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
268 people found this review helpful

Muy buena situación, tiene maletero, piscina, internet, bar estupendo en la playa el personal es muy amable y servicial y la calidad del buffet muy buena para este tipo de hotel,atención en el buffet muy buena, variedad en las comidas y muy caseras y cubanas,

Room Number:
105

Room Block:
Playa

Arrival:
Sin probmeas, luego cambiamos de habitación porque queríamos una cama de matrimonio pero resultó que en la nueva habitación la cama era mucho peor y cambiamos a categoria superior frente a la playa también, Todo correcto

Rooms:
Las habitaciones están bien correctas para mi gusto falta mas limpieza y desinfección a fondo y con productos de limpieza adecuados. En esta última habitación la mampara de la ducha no cierra bien y cuando nos duchamos el agua de desparramaba por el suelo, habría que cambiar por una barra con cortina,

Restaurants and Bars:
Servico y calidad buenas, a veces faltan algunas bebidas normales, La piña colada natural buenísima y el servicio todo muy bueno,

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Todo correcto falta iluminación por la noche en el área de piscina, demsiado oscuro no se ve bien,

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Buena pero el show se repite todas la semanas lo mismo cuando pasas 3 semanas esta uno ya cansado de ver lo mismo, deberian cambiar algunas canciones o algo nuevo, pero en general es muy buena, tanto los juegos como cantantes y shows

Other Comments:
Hotel de tres estrellas pero muy bueno en general y siempre atienden las sugerencias del cliente y se desviven por complacerle,

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We got what we paid for!"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Daniela Lainez  on May 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Honduras
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
234 people found this review helpful

Overall the experience was good, the beach and pool area are really neat. the pool could be cleaner.
do not expect a lot from the food,it was a big disappointment.
Also make sure you check in after 4pm if you try to do it before you will have to wonder around without a room,and when they finally give you a room they are still cleaning it.

Room Number:
4105

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great staff and great location"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bill and Lela  on May 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
224 people found this review helpful

Tortuga is a smaller (225 rooms) no frills basic hotel at Calle 8 near the markets at Calle 13 and 17. The hotel is an older resort . It is well maintained and very clean. The A/C worked fine, lots of hot water, and the food was good. The beach was very good and quite wide at Tortuga. The pool is quite large and the entertainment at night was good. The staff was excellent. They were very friendly, couteous and provided very good service. Our favourite waitress is Yuly who has become a very good friend. We would recoomend Tortuga to any one who is looking for a very nice economical vacation. It is the friendly staff that really makes us want to keep going back to Tortuga

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Nice Holiday at Villa Tortuga, Way to GO! Love Cuba and it's hospitality!"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joanis Maurice-Pierre  on Apr 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
226 people found this review helpful

It was a nice quiet relaxing holiday in a good location by the ocean with good facilities, very pleasant staff, good food, good variety (but at times lacking a bit of spicies) but overall I ate very well, lots of fresh fruits!
It's always a pleasure to be back in Cuba, love that beach, Varadero, cool long walks along that most beautiful ocean side, great place to escape! :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube